All

Riu Bachata Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 110 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.9 out of 5
"the staff at Rui Bachata is awesome, I have been there 4 times now. I feel like family. I strongly recommend this resort." – chiropractor
99 out of 130 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunset on the overlook Beautiful hotel rooms and the green plush scenery n windy breeze! Christmas Tree great times. The View Wali Beautiful ocean view across from our room! Happy people!! Riu Bachata beach This is the resorts beach very private

All Riu Bachata Customer Reviews

1-10 of 110 reviews. Sort by
April 9, 2011
Great Value Resort!

This was an amazing vacation! I am an avid traveler and have been to a variety of locations. My boyfriend and I were searching for a fun, relaxing, clean and economical mini vacation to get away from the cold NJ weather. We found exactly that @ Riu Bachata in Puerto Plata, DR. Let's go through each category: Cleanliness The hotel was extremely clean. There were always employees picking up after guests, sweeping, mopping and ensuring that the entire resort was in top condition. My boyfriend and I were both impressed with how on top of things the staff were. Staff Extremely friendly and outgoing. We were looking to relax and enjoy one another's company so we did not engage with the activity staff but they were definitely friendly. The bartenders and waiters were all fabulous and went the extra mile to ensure that we had everything we wanted. Rooms Fantastic! We had a standard room with a king size bed. 2 points of advice: #1 you have to REQUEST a REAL king size bed- if not they will set you up with two pushed together full size beds and call it a "king". Call the resort ahead of time and request a real KING. They will be gracious and comply. #2- We decided to try out the the tipping factor with the housekeepers. We tipped mediocre the 1st night and our room was clean and average. The 2nd night we had no singles so we did not tip and they did not give us towels nor toilet paper until much later in the day. The 3rd night we tipped BIG to make up for the day before and they went all out. They put flowers around the room, made towel swans, did decorative things with the curtain and all over. IT WAS FANTASTIC!!! It was fun to see how the difference in tip made such a HUGE difference to the quality of your room. Activities There were so many activities to choose from! We relaxed on the resort and decided to do some outside tours. We took a $40.00 taxi tour of local Puerto Plata. It was great! For 40$ you get a driver and a guide, great service, 3 1/2 hour tour of the REAL Puerto Plata including local communities, the plaza, shopping district, tour the Brugal factory and a cigar factory. WELL WORTH THE MONEY!!!! The guides speak perfect english and are so knowledgeable. It was the BEST tour for the best value! We also took the catamaran "TIP TOP" tour and that was fantastic as well. We spent the WHOLE day on the water, sailing, snorkeling in two spots, lunch, music, liquor and great company. I highly recommend the TIP TOP catamaran tour. The only down side is it is a little pricey and the drive to the tour is 45 minutes in a packed van. Other then those two negatives the rest was fabulous! Dining The dining options are my ONLY complaint! The buffet is good the first night and afterwards it becomes bland. It is "themed" every day but it's basically the same options with minor twists. The restaurants were TERRIBLE, especially the italian spot. We were starving afterwards because it was not good at all. Also, this is NOT a 24hr All Inclusive- they stop serving at 3am. The only snacks available until 2am are hamburgers, hot dogs and fries. My boyfriend does not eat beef or pork so needless to say after a night at the club he was starving with no options. Highlights Staying at a Riu resort in Puerto Plata gives you access to 3 RESORTS plus a club and casino! It was a wonderful time and nice to have so many options amongst the 3 resorts. I truly recommend this resort for anyone looking to have a GREAT time in a clean environment on a budget! We were pleasantly surprised and it exceeded our expectations!! Enjoy your trip ;-)


73 of 75 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 25, 2012
Overall great trip!

It has been a while since I have had the opportunity to get away and this was also my boyfriend and I's first long vacation we were able to take together. We were looking online for weeks on Cheap Caribbean at the different hotel amenities and deals. I probably went back and forth through about 10 different hotels. We were nervous on the way to our hotel the first day b/c we shared a bus with about 10 others and we were the last to get dropped off. The other hotels were just "okay" so when we pulled up to Riu Bachata we were both pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and welcoming the hotel was. Everyone at the front desk was always smiling and willing to help you and answer questions. I was afraid that we'd get rainy weather but there were maybe 2 days that rained early morning around 7/7:30 Am for maybe 30 minutes then by the time you go have breakfast or go to pool it was clear skys and perfect lay out weather. things I LOVED: beautiful palm trees everywhere, nice pool, swim up bar which allowed you to make friends throughout the week- everyone gathers at the pool bar, the fact that there were a few different bars scattered around the resort was nice, LOVED the view off the pier where you can see all the mountains on the water...resort allows you to walk along this trail that gives you a fantastic view of this.. we watched the sunset every night and took amazing pictures. Beach was just okay. I love beaches but there wasn't that much room to lay out in the sun and it was a lot more windy on the beach verses the pool. We stayed at the pool every day. LOVED- Waterfall tour! I am NOT the athletic/adventurous type whatsoever but we heard great things about this tour. Ask about it and book it b/c it's the coolest thing I have ever done. They pick you up in a Safari truck with about 10 others, give you a full tour of DR and then take you into the mountains where you hike for 25 minutes to the first waterfall. You're wearing helmet, life vest and water shoes. I was terrified but you go with 2 guides and they help you every step of the way. We climbed up 4 waterfalls (indiana jones style) and then you can slide or jump down each waterfall which was amazing! Clean refreshing water. We brought a waterproof camera but they also video everything so you can by the dvd later which we did. Also LOVED that there was shopping ON the resort.. there's a little street that has about 10-15 shops...there were also about 10 huts on the beach where locals sold jewelry, t shirts, artwork etc.. very aggressive people so be prepared- but we got a few nice deals on some gifts. LOVED- bonfire on the beach Wed night. DIDN'T LIKE- limited restaurants (only 2) and repetitive food at the buffet. After the first 2 days you're already sick of the same things. Also didn't like that there was no place for any snacks in between the meals.....they needed vending machines! DIDN'T LIKE- night shows- pretty cheesy but it's where everyone gathers after 8 b/c there is no where else to go... bars are pretty crowded so that's good DIDN'T LIKE- Stuffiness in the room......our A/C wasn't working and they brought a guy into look at it 2x and still wasn't able to fix it. Thankfully there was a fan! Lastly- good to know- We bumped into a lot of people that were staying at the other RIU hotels and they said they liked Bachata the best....everyone seems to flock to Bachata.. I would highly recommend this hotel for beautiful, breathtaking landscape, and a great place to get some rest and relaxation by the pool!


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 25-34

February 6, 2013
Over booked the hotel! But worked out in the End!

Traveled w/ eight people Jan 31-Feb 4 2013.. When we got off the plan Olympus was waiting for us w/ bad news... They over booked Bachata and they were putting us over to their sister hotel Merengue. We were very upset .. We talked to the front desk and they blamed Cheap Caribbean (wasn't there fault) We heard the Merengue was out dated, had a horrible pool.... but the better beach!!....... Well...... we Loved it there!!! It was so nice!! The beach is amazing!! The rooms were exactly the same as the Bachata!! great mistake!! Food, service, grounds, beach excellent !! we were a three minute walk from Bachata so we went over a couple times and came right back to Merengue !! It was soooooo over crowded at Bachata....No room at the swim up bar or the main bar... (The beach at Bachata isn't nearly as nice as it is over at Merengue!) We were w/ eight and we came to party and know how, so it's not like we don't like crowds but that was horrible at Bachata. We will definitely go back to Merengue :) Couple more things....we have been to a lot of caribbean islands and this was the best food for a resort we've had. Definitely do the Paradise Cruse on the catamaran .. Not the speed boat:) Put a good tip in your fridge and you won't go w/o beer, soda or water the whole time your there:) and have fun!!! it's a resort not everything is going to be perfect


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New England, USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2010
A Place for Adults and Families

Riu Bachata provides a very pleasant vacation for adults and families. If you are among the young who are looking for a more uptempo place catering to 18-30 year olds other options may be better. However, if you seek a pleasant family or adult resort Riu Bachata may be just the ticket. There is a long and lovely beach with shade trees such as the ubiquitous uvas as well as some excellent palms. Be aware that the beach bottom can be a bit rough so bringing water shoes is not a bad idea. Ocean swimming was excellent, so I avoided the pools. The food is a bit better than most all inclusives with a nice variety of fish and interesting fruit drinks. I was there in August, so the menu may be somewhat seasonal. The dining room has good service with lovely views depending upon seating. People dressed a bit nicer at dinner than at other bargain resorts I have attended. Perhaps due to the greater formality in European management than American. Drinks are on the weak side which served a dual purpose of cutting down on the amount of misbehavior as well as serving as a refreshing compliment to conversation and food. Those who enjoy stronger drinks might bring their own. The rooms were adequate and pleasant. You might want to bring a washcloth which did not seem to be present though towels were clean and plentiful. Staff members were well-trained, polite, and efficient. The attractive lobby and public lavatories were clean and fresh. Riu Bachata is a lovely, scenic resort with well managed staff and good food. If your expectations are to have a pleasant, relaxing family or adult vacation with good dining, a fine beach, and superior management then you will not be disappointed.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kensington, MD
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Rui Bachata is awesome

the staff at Rui Bachata is awesome, I have been there 4 times now. I feel like family. I strongly recommend this resort.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: MI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2011
OK for the money

Overall the hotel is good for its money . The food was good , but the bar service was bad . Driinks such as coktails where not good . You ordered one kind of coktail and after you ordered the same one , but they tasted completely different !! This happend on 5 occasions !! Also the bartender and waiters from the restaurant are kind of slow and not that motivated in my opinion.But remember that the food was good and a good variety ! The beach is nice , but the ocean has lots of small stones , so it hurts your feet when you go in the ocean . I recommend to use some surf / beach shoes to go into the ocean . The beach and pool chairs are kind of worned out and I hope they change them in the near future . The rooms are OK , standard average hotel rooms . but for the price of the hotel , I did not expect luxury rooms either. Day time animation for those who like that is OK and they offer plenty of choices . ( personal I dont like those animation teams ) . The hotel is perfect if you are looking for a nice beach vacation and do not want to spend to much on it .


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: USA / DR
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 21, 2012
Not Too Bad....But Understand What to Expect

Stayed for 3 days in July 2012. Property was very clean and well-maintained. Food was not too bad, and good variety/selection. Room size was good, but our room smelled like cigarettes. When called the front desk they did not want to move me and only sent housekeeping with air freshener spray. Beds were uncomfortable. Overall service was average. Drinks were third tier at best. Coffee was awful (tasted like stale instant or burnt wood...pick your choice) Day before checking out told the front desk I wanted to check out late because I was going scuba diving (with hotel affiliated vendor), and they don't get back till 12p (checkout). They told me it would be $50 extra, but we agreed they would be ok if I left by 12:45/1p. The boat was delayed getting back, and when I got to my room at 12:40 my wife was leaving the room with our bags. It seems they called at 12:25 and nastily said if not out in 10 min they would charge $50. Overall, an all inclusive that was OK for the money (if you didn't pay their published rates), and you understand that you're expecting average at best. Where they could have won a future stay was with service and amicability. Being I travel to Dominican Republic 2-4 times per year, would have been nice to have found a place I could go to again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Northern NJ, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 8, 2014
The Yeahs, the Nighs, the birds and the flies…

I am just returning from a trip to the Riu Bachata. We stayed for five days: 5/28-6/1. I travel a lot and I was less than impressed with this resort. But I’d like to start with the more positive things. First, the staff here is amazing (most of them)! They are attentive, courteous, kind, and really go above and beyond to make the guests feel welcomed. We had excellent service when at the buffet from Ramon, Olbrin, Araceli, and Jose. Waskar and Eridania at the front desk are two of the nicest people I met at the resort. They were both so helpful! The food in the buffet is OK, and there are always plenty of selections to choose from. Also, the drinks were made very well, and there are a few bartenders that I’d like to mention who provided GREAT service: Soly, Jose, Antonio, and Tulle. These guys, (and gal), were great – and kept the drinks coming! I travelled with 23 other women, so we were a very large group. We stayed in building 13. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were good. The pools are nice, and are well kept by staff members, and the beach is stunning. The in-room mini-bar was stocked with rum, Pepsi, Diet-Pepsi, and water; and maintained by the cleaning staff every two days. Since you cannot drink the tap water, it’s great that they give you liter-sized bottles of water. However, they only give you one – and you have to keep going to the front desk to get more (if needed). That sums up my “good portion” of this trip... For the buffet, despite any good food selections they had, it’s nearly impossible to enjoy your meal with the birds and flies! OMG! Once, while at lunch, the birds and flies were so bad, that I just left. I dumped my food and left hungry. It’s too much to try to eat with one hand, while using the other hand to swat flies, and your feet to try to scare away the birds! Just nasty! And you have to be careful of the buffet, as well. They do not have the best sneeze guards, so the food usually has a lot of flies around. I dined at the Italian restaurant, and it was horrible; but I blame that on me for thinking I’d get good Italian food in the Dominican Republic. I did not try the steak restaurant (Maracuya), but others in my party did and they said the food was really good. Although the pools and grounds are kept very well, the pool closes at 7pm and doesn’t open until 9am. I don’t like that it closed so early. Also, although the bartenders, (including my beloved Tulle), were excellent at their job, the fly situation behind the bar was DISGUSTING! There were flies EVERYWHERE! Also, the resort kind of shuts down at about midnight. That might be fine for some, but I was on vacation, and I didn’t expect to be forced to go to my room because there’s nothing to do after 12! There are no food selections available after 10p, except a restaurant at the Riu Merengue, but they only offer burgers, hot dogs, and fries (that are stale and left forever under a heat lamp). There’s one bar that stays open until 7a, but their drink selections are limited because they start shutting off machines and they don’t have a blender after 12! And the casino is a joke. Half of the slot machines are broken, the roulette and blackjack tables are worn and dirty-looking, and the staff are less than courteous. They don’t seem to care whether they have customers or not. The offer free Wi-Fi, but only for 90 minutes per day, and only in the lobby. Now the room situation was HORRENDOUS! Between the 24 of us women, (yup, 24 women), we had 15 rooms. I had a single, as did 5 other women, the other 18 shared (2 people per room). Although the rooms were nice and clean, it took me two days to get washcloths! Some of the other in my party didn’t get them until our third day there. Not only that, but half of the rooms did not have a working AC or TV. Now, the temps were in the 90s during our stay, so a room with no AC is NOT an option! And since everything pretty much shuts down at about 12, you need a TV to occupy your time. The beds are really low to the floor and sag in the middle. The showers are made awkward, and the step-in is really high. So BE VERY CAREFUL! This resort is in desperate need of an upgrade. Too many things are old and rundown, including the furniture. And there are no elevators! Although I really liked the staff at this resort, I will not return, nor will I visit the sister resort: the Riu Merengue. These resorts just did not offer the type of spot I like/need when I’m on vacation (without my children). The birds and flies were just too much, and there wasn’t enough going on to make the resort fun. My group did a few excursions while we were there, and I definitely had more fun off of the resort, than I did at it.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Central NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 25, 2016
Worst resorts I ever stayed

I have been in many different all inclusive hotels resorts, and this one is definitely the worst I had ever been. this doesn't meant all the staff or services were bad, it means that there are many workers who work very hard and do their best to make you feel important to their business versus others that not so much. 1) Lets start from checking in. People were very friendly and definitely give you a very good first impression. 2) Room. I was very disappointed with the room and its strong humid smell. 3) Restaurant. THIS IS THE PART OF MY VACATION THAT COMPLETELY TURN ME OFF AND SEE THIS HOTEL WITH DIFFERENT EYES, TO THE POINT ALMOST RIUN MY VACATION. MY FAMILY AND WERE TOLD IF WE WANT TO HAVE THE PRIVILEGE TO EAT IN THE RESTAURANT WE HAVE TO GET UP AT 6 AM AND MAKE A RESERVATION FOR ONLY ONE OF THE THREE RESTAURANTS WAS OPEN DAILY. IN FACT MY WIFE GOT UP AT 6 AM TO MAKE A RESERVATION JUST TO FIND A LONG SURPRISED LINE OF CUSTUMER WAITING TO MAKE A RESERVATION AS WELL. TO OUR LUCK THEY DECIDED THAT ONLY 40 PEOPLE WILL HAVE THE PRIVILEGE TO EAT EVERY DAY, AND OF COURSE WE AND ONE HUNDRED MORE WHO GOT UP SO EARLY DIDNT HAVE THE LUCK TO BE AMONG THOSE LUCKY 40 PEOPLE.. SOUNDED LIKE A JOKE TO ME. long story short, we made an appointment with the general manager to express our concern and find out where are the other three restaurants they advertised? if we cant eat in one we should be able to go to the next one. Not luck, waist of time after receiving a NOTHING I CAN DO FROM THE GENERAL MANAGER. Yep, very sad knowing they could at least provide me and my family with what we paid for. I was not asking for nothing especial. SO MY WHOLE WEEK WAS THE SAME BUFFET OVER AND OVER. NOT TO MENTION THAT BUFFET IN WHICH WE DEPENED ALL WEEK WAS VERY LIMITED. 4) Pool was great, even that I was drinking a water pina colada. Yes, the bartender got upset because I asked to put some ice in the juice. I have my kids drinking pina colada but they will only get a cup of pina colada juice, so I went to the pool bar to ask the bartender to fix it and he gave me a look that he didn't need to say anything, I totally understood his sign language. He served me a half of cup like I was getting it for free, at that point that was just drinks, not complain needed. Finally, I have not complains about everything else, but you guys will not see me or my family ever again there. .


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2011
Incredible Value!

I was very impressed with the overall vacation! Cheap Caribbean did a terrific job helping me choose Riu Bachata as our destination. The grounds were incredibly maintained, and pristinely clean. The rooms were well appointed, but I must say that the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in, it was almost rock hard! But that was our sole complaint. Our room had a beautiful view of the water, and we particularly enjoyed the sunset view. The food was lovely, (albeit not 5 stars), but very good overall, and we enjoyed a few pina coladas as well! It was a trip my husband and I both needed, and thoroughly enjoyed! I HIGHLY recommend the Riu Bachata, and we will definitely go back to a Riu resort, through Cheap Caribbean again in the very near future!

Incredible Value! Incredible Value!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hunterdon County, NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year