All

Renaissance St Croix Carambola Beach Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Croix Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 81 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.4 out of 5
"We loved the way the units were tucked in among the trees and shrubs. Everyone was very nice and helpful. It was a very relaxing vacation for us." – Flyersfan
86 out of 92 (93%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The Beach View of the resort from the top of the hill. Hotel beach picture we took chillin View from your private porch The resort (beachfront rooms) View of the hotel from the hiking trail King size bed in a renovated room. Our room on the beach Poor bat. Our view park of the main lobby/restuarant/fitness center/pool area View from room porch looking down the beach a peek at the ocean through the jungle graceful sea turtle on a dive View from our screened-in porch Buck Island Balcony Looking down on the resort Refrigerator Picture perfect looking out from breakfast at the Carambola Resort restaurant Sunset on private beach

All Renaissance St Croix Carambola Beach Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 81 reviews. Sort by
November 15, 2010
We Keep Coming Back

My wife and I were married on the beach back in October of 2009 and just came back from our anniversary trip this past October. Some things have changed since becoming a Marriot property but it stll retains it's remote, out of the mainstream feel that we really love. Being nestled between the ocean and the rain forest, they are totally self supporting so there may be times when the water or power goes out, but everyone just takes it in stride. Just kick back by the pool with a cold drink. If you want lots of night life you should probably pick a different resort or expect to drive a bit. If you want peace and quiet along with great snorkeling and diving right on site then the Carambola is the place for you. The renovated rooms are really nice and with a full kitchen you have the option to make some of your own meals or snacks. The screened porch is fabulous and we fell asleep out there on several night listening to the crashing waves. The on-site dining options are limited but the food is excellent and priced right. The staff will go out of there way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This also goes for the Sweet Bottom Dive Center located on the propety. Tony, Gwen, Ryan and the rest of the staff are first rate and lead us on some spectactular dives. They like the rest of the resort, they will bend over backwards to insure you have a great visit. I can't recommend the Carambola strong enough. It is a great destination as is the entire island of St Croix and we will be returning again and again.

View of the resort from the top of the hill. King size bed in a renovated room.
27 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Elgin, SC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 14, 2011
Beautiful & Secluded with a few minor drawbacks

Our stay here was certainly one we never forget, helps it was our honeymoon. It's location is on the north shore with excellent snorkeling right off of the beach and with a very friendly and helpful dive shop on premise. The pool was amazing for when you wanted a dip minus the salt and sand. There is a trail directly from the resort that takes you on a short hike through the rain forest to some really cool tidal pools. The food was great (but expensive). However, the service was sub par. It could have been an off night and it seemed like they were in the process of changing things so that might contribute to it. Everyone was extremely friendly and courteous. Our room was on the musty side and I think it could have benefited from a dehumidifier. They're in the process of redoing all of the rooms but the suite we got hadn't been serviced yet. I would request one of the recently refurbished rooms. Other than that the room are quite spacious and nicely decorated.

park of the main lobby/restuarant/fitness center/pool area looking down the beach
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Albany, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 8, 2011
Not a Great Experience

We had 3 power outages out of 6 days there and received no compensation. There is only one restaurant and bar on the property and they don't even have a Tiki bar by the beach/pool. Very disappointed as there was no variety of restaurants. The beach is nice but has no service for drinks/food. We had no towels on some days and the hotel told us they are in the washing machine. Service was terrible. I would not recommend this property. When we complained to the manager he seemed totally disinterested and told us he would get back to us and never did. The only person who was very helpful was Pearl at the front desk.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2011
The worst

This was the worst resort I ever been. Some of the rooms are being renovated but the rest of the rooms are horrible. In my room the refrigerator was rusted I had mold on the walls and the outside balcony looked like termites ate up the wood the shower was scary and I didn't even want to sit on the bed. The light fixture was hanging off the wall and the door to the room was half way off its hedges. The beach was dirty and the only activities the resort offer was snorkeling and diving. I'm very surprised that this was a marriott resort I'm pretty sure if the marriott knew this resort was like this they would remove their name. After I complained every 15 min they finally moved us to a renovated room. I met other couples who was also disappointed with this resort. If you are going to St Croix DO NOT stay here.

Refrigerator Balcony
33 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2011
Secluded in Paradise

We had an amazing time at the Carambola and in St Croix!!! Everyone was so nice and it seemed at times as if we had the whole island to ourselves. You will want to rent a jeep and explore the area and have to hike to the tidal pools! It is so beautiful and relaxing that we are coming back to have our wedding there next year!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010

We went in the off season to this resort. Upon arrival, we had just missed a tropical storm and found that not all of the resort had electricity. We we offered a room with air conditioner, or a room with no lights in the bathroom- we opted for the AC, and the lights came on later that day. Speedy service! (still no satellite tv, but in paradise, who needs it?) At first look, the room was lovely- clean, full kitchen, awesome linai. The trouble didn't come until the evening when we went to lay down to bed. I found a dead bat under my pillow! Not wanting to those guests that everyone at the resort talks about, we put the bat in a basket and walked it to the front desk, asking that our sheets and pillows be changed. Horror over, right? NO! Went back to the room, and tried to sleep, but I kept hearing high pitch noises. Finally, about 4 am I couldn't take it any more. I got up and started searching around the room. I found that there was a hole up near the ceiling in between the wall and a base board- all the noises were coming from there. We went the next morning to tell the front desk. They sent someone to our room while we were away for the day and found an ENTIRE nest of bats (the maintenence guy said at least 25) in our roof! They kindly moved us to another room. Similar to the one we were in previously, but I was surprised that they didn't offer us some sort of compensation. Maybe we were too nice about it.... That said, the pools were beautiful, the scenery, picturesque. It was a bit far away from everything else on the island, but the island is not known for its tourism. You either have to rent a car (and be comfortable driving on the other side of the road) or take one of their fairly unreliable taxi services (we waited a half hour for one before getting a phone call to say the driver was" off the island" and hadn't bothered to tell anyone at his place of work). There is a lovely natural "pool" a short hike from the resort itself, where the waves crash into rocks with a pool behind it where you can swim. The beach directly in front of the resort itself is a bit treacherous (sharp rocks in the water), but the resort has marked it clearly, and has created a sandy area a little further down the beach. We ate exclusively at the resort, given the limited options for going elsewhere- all the food was delicious, and we even met a couple who had bought a live lobster on their travels, and had the kitchen cook it for them. We tried to do cereal a couple of days for breakfast, but the dry items at the resort store were just as expensive as eating at the restaurant. Overall- it was a laid back vacation (save the critters)- which was what we were looking for. We wanted to sit on a beach for a week, and we did just that.

Poor bat. Picture perfect looking out from breakfast at the Carambola Resort restaurant
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34

November 15, 2010
No passport-just fun!

If you want to really enjoy St. Croix, then you need a balance of peace and excitement. Carambola gives you all that and more. From the minute you arrive there, everything you want is taken care of. The rooms are spacious and quiet and incredibly comfortable. We upgraded through Cheap Caribbean to one of the more modern rooms. We had a huge bathroom and a full kitchen. We had a porch that was perfect for reading or just napping. Outside of our room, was a beautiful view and a hammock for relaxing. Walk a few steps and you're on the beach. You can get snorkeling equipment or sign up for tours. The bar is extensive and easy to find. The drinks are incredible, but if you want to just enjoy a cocktail in your room, then head on over to the gift shop where you can buy Cruzan Rum and make your own. We did both. Breakfast is wonderful. The service is great and the food is perfectly prepared to your liking. The menu for lunch and dinner is varied and extensive. You will not go hungry. After all that wonderful food, you'll find hiking trails and hills to climb. The helpful staff will give you a map and make sure you know how to find your way back. There is also a great exercise room. If you need to keep in touch w/ people, there was internet in the office that was free to use. But our cellphones did not get service unless we climbed a very high hill. So, you get a work-out and then a reward. Every day, there was different Cruzan rum or soft drink available in the office. Great way to sample before buying. All in all , we had a wonderful time and were glad we purchased the trip through Cheap Caribbean. They took care of everything. Can't wait to go back.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Memphis
Age: 45-54

September 14, 2012
Wondeful Honeymoon

My husband and I just returned from an amazingly relaxing time at the Renaissance Carambola Beach in St. Croix. The resort is on a very secluded part of the island nestled between the mountains and the beach. The resort had amazing views and the villa-style rooms were perfect. The screened in porches were a wonderful touch. We were advised that the Friday night buffet dinner was not the best tasting food but we had a coupon from booking on Cheapcaribbean and so we tried it anyway. The food was fantastic and the service was great! Try the Caribbean pancakes and the French Toast! If you have the time, get a message from the spa right on the beach. That was a wonderfully relaxing experience. The resort is also very close a fantastic hole-in-the-wall called "Rowdy Joes". They have the best food on the island HANDS DOWN. Definitely for folks who want a quiet relaxing getaway. If you are looking for a place with night life, St. Croix is not the island for you. Try St. Thomas.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Alexandria, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 20, 2011
You forgot the renovation project

I enjoyed everything except the room, it was not up to my expectation for what we paid for it. There were little creepy crawlers in the room which they did come and spray, but they returned before my stay was over. I was so dissappointed that I will not return unless I am guranteed a renovated room. They were very nice. The staff was very friendly. The menu was very limited for a resort, but what was on the menu wasn't bad.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2011
What an amazing stay!

Some of the rooms are still being renovated, but the remolded ones are Amazing!! Some may worry about noise because of remodeling - don't. The crew was quiet and only there during the day; no dust and could hardly tell they were there. The rooms though are clean, comfortable, spacious, and we didn't want to leave. Double sinks, large shower with seating option, beautiful screened in patio... and so much more. The entire staff was friendly, courteous, and just made you feel welcomed. Rooms are cleaned daily, room service available, and their is a variety of food for all; everything I had I really enjoyed (and I'm a picky eater). There is a spa onsite with full services, there is a store with everything from food, to liquor, to gifts, to clothes, toiletries.. whatever you need - it was Very convenient. The beach was amazing; it is big enough so you feel like you have your own private space if you want it or you can go where more people are; it was a nice balance. The pool and hot tub were relaxing and you could sip drinks and just lay in the sun if you wanted too as well. I just have so many great things to say about this place. It's romantic, fun, cozy, peaceful... I would definitely go back.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations