All

Renaissance Curacao Resort and Casino All-Inclusive Reviews

Caribbean | Curacao Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 31 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.3 out of 5
"The Hotel is in an excellent location and Cheap Caribbean took care of everything to a tee....Excellent Job" – gorparty
35 out of 38 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Room View a view of the fabulous pool from the fort next door. Infinity Beach

All Renaissance Curacao Resort and Casino All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 31 reviews. Sort by
December 16, 2010
Best Thing was the Location

The location of this hotel is probably the best on Curacao. It's right near downtown Willemstaad and there is a lot of shopping/restaurants within close walking distance. Other hotels I'd seen looked pretty isolated. When we arrived at this hotel we had to wait in line forever to check in while other guests stayed at the desks complaining about god knows what. Everytime you had to go to the desk for anything, you waited for a long time while the person kept going out to the back office etc. For example, it took me nearly 15 minutes of standing/waiting to get a bottle of Advil there. We had a 'resort room' which basically overlooked an empty hallway leading to a function room. The room itself was ok, but there was no natural light and no view which was a bummer. One good thing about this place was the infinity pool. It looks just like your on the beach/ocean. They did a good job with it. We spent a lot of time there. We never actually ate inside the hotel but outside, in the Rif Fort area there were a lot of food options. Overall the place was pretty average, but I think it would be worth it to stay here for the location alone.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lowell
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 6, 2012
never again

Every year my family and I clebrate together for a week somewhere tropical - and all inclusive. We have LOVED the all inclusive resorts until this experience. I would never recommend this resort and can not beleive it was a Marriott property. The service was terrible. We checked in on Dec 23-there was no conciere in the hotel until our forth day- and then only was there for 4 hours. There was no sign for the conciere and we had to ask a few times before even finding her desk. Once we did find her - all she did was push a book in front of us- we had to pay a portion to her in CASH-they would not take my credit card-then pay the balance at the tour (which the tour informed us we had been over charged by the conciere and to get a refund from her) When the bus picked us up no one spoke to us or looked at our paper work to make sure we were on the correct bus. The hotel chose this week in their prime season to do maitanence- we had a note under our door that we might experience noise while they were cleaning and doing maintanence on the exterior of the hotel and the pool might be closed for the next day. All inclusive was very vague- we were told not everything was included in all inclusive but none of the employees seem to be aware what was or was not included. Instead of having wrist bands to identify us as all inclusive we had to wait for a check to bill to our room (service was soooo slow) Not many resturants were included. The buffet was always understaffed. Only one person to work the (morning) egg station- when they ran out of something no one was working it at all-the same was true in the evening when it became the pasta/carving area, one to none would be working it. Go to Breezes Resort instead !


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: phoenix
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 14, 2012
All Inclusive Plan

If you go to this resort and don't purchase the all inclusive plan, you are throwing money down the drain. Everything is very expensive down there. The all inclusive plan is absolutely the way to go, especially if you like to enjoy some cocktails while vacationing. I only wish the plan included more places to eat. The resort should work out deals with the restaurants that are located within walking distance because there are quite a few around the resort.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Best Location on the Island

Renaissance Curacao is the best location on the island--central to all activities. All-Inclusive is the way to go. The buffet had wide variety of outstanding food (not your typical buffet.) Omelet bar and pasta bar were super. CRU Steakhouse (part of all inclusive) was also outstanding. The rooms were gorgeous and very clean; oceanfront is worth the extra money to enjoy the ship activity and the ocean breeze from your balcony. The man-made beach is very nice and you will appreciate it even more after visiting some other very rocky beaches on the island. The entire staff was extremely friendly and paid attention to detail; restaurant and bar staff knew us by name after two days. I highly recommend this resort and plan to stay here on future visits.


15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Woodbridge, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 10, 2011
Wonderful experience

We enjoyed our visit at the Renaissance Curacao Resort. The room was very comfortable and relaxing. The infinity pool and beach area is amazing! I was so surprised that the "beach" is on the second floor with a sand bottom salt water pool. We spent most of our time enjoying the beautiful view from our beach chairs while watching the boat activity on the ocean. The location is excellent with so many stores and shops within walking distance. We walked everyday through the Rif Fort next door and over the pontoon bridge. Great variety of places to shop and eat. People were so very friendly within the Renaissance and in the town of Williamstad. We will certainly think of returning.

Wonderful experience Wonderful experience
8 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fairhope Alabama
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 18, 2013
Great Trip to Dutch Caribbean

I would definitely stay in this hotel again! The salt water infinity pool was absolutely awesome. The staff was very friendly. I would recommend getting the all inclusive package. This package works differently than other resorts that are all inclusive, since the property is not 100% all inclusive. I found it a bit confusing at first. Make sure you know which drinks are included. The location of this property was perfect for me as I enjoyed roaming around Willemstad.

Great Trip to Dutch Caribbean
6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami Beach, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 23, 2011
Curacao Otrabanda

This is a lovely brand new hotel. Our room faced the driveway, but for the price I did not complain. The room was large and clean, all of the amenities were up to US standards and the staff were always willing to be helpful. The restaurants were expensive, and lunch did not start until noon, which was difficult for the kids. The poolside restaurant was the best deal, as well as the most tasty. The hotel is located adjacent to the Rif fort, which is a colonial stone fort remodeled into a tourist destination, with multiple bars and restaurants. From there is was a short walk to the Queen Emma bridge, across to the Punta -the tourist center of Willemsted. We spent most days taking this walk. The 400 year old Jewish Synagogue and the Slave museum were within easing walking range and very worth seeing. The pool is at the same time of the greatest benefits as well as the greatest drawback to this hotel. This is a huge salt water pool, with a sandy bottom, and an infinity edge facing the ocean. In effect, a beach. The drawback is that there is no beach. In fact, the good beaches and watersports are on the North side of the island, and if one is looking for a water based vacation, a hotel on the North is preferred. Another drawback is the lobby casino -it is so smoky that walking through the lobby or going to the indoor restaurant was bothersome. In all my family and I had a wonderful stay here, and I would recommend it to you as well.

a view of the fabulous pool from the fort next door.
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 21, 2012
Curacao trip

We stayed at the Renaisson's Resort and Casino - All Inclusive. The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable. We'd upgraded to a 4th floor, poolside room which seemed to be a good choice. The second floor rooms are on the way to the pool and the Expresso Cafe, so that hallway is congested. I was not very pleased with the "All-Inclusive" part. There were only 3 real eating restaraunts in the complex. There's the one at the pool, the Nautilas, a buffet in the hotel itself, and Cru, a higher-end restaraunt across the way. It was Restaraunt Week on the Island, so both the bar and Cru were apparently booked full in advance - although we got a 6:00 seating one night. Then they only had one selection. Every restaraunt prepares one menu for the week. So that left us with the Nautilas. It was not very good. Even the food ordered from the menu seemed like that had some very second-rate chef preparing it. Also, be aware that not all brands of alchol are available to you as All Inclusive guests. Also, a lunch box for taking with is consided room service and is not covered. Any time you just want a snack, you have to order from a menu - no grab and go here. I would not recommend going without all inclusive however because all food and drink is pricey since you're on an island. I don't think we were excesive in our consumption - we're 50, not 20 - and still for the 5 days we were there our tickets totalled close to $1000. Just for food and drinks, wow. It was an okay vacation, but nowhere near fantastic. Oh, rent a car. There's a Budget at the hotel, and parking is free. It's the best way to see the island and the beaches. Also, I thought the Ostrich Farm was worth the go...check for 2 for 1 coupon in the Budget Coupon book.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Central Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 1, 2012
Dining LImited for all inclusive

We found that being able to dine at only 3 restaurants in the resort was very limited. Too many deep fried foods. Cru Steakhouse had three selections on the menu. Steak, Chicken or Red Snapper. The restaurants were very pricey, for example lunch for 4 was 228. plus tip and that was fried foods. I would not recommend all inclusive as there are excelent restaurants in the area that are not as pricey.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Virginia
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Great location, great service and amenities.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year