All

Renaissance Curacao Resort and Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Curacao Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 68 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"SERVICE WAS GOOD / NOT ENOUGH KNOWLEDGEABLE STAFF WHEN WE HAD QUESTIONS ABOUT THE ISLAND & ACTIVITIES / GOT A CHANCE TO CATCH PERCY SLEDGE IN CONCERT !!! AT THE AVILA HOTEL" – WRENCH
68 out of 75 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Rif Fort Grote Nip Beach Pontoon Bridge view from hotel room floating bridge into town Pool looking toward Caribbean View of the pool area beach was awesome! lagun beach, my favorite

All Renaissance Curacao Resort and Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 68 reviews. Sort by
March 11, 2011
Amazing vacation

Our room at the Renaissance was great. Awesome layout. Everything so close. The picture of the Renaisance doesn't do it justice. The Unesco World Heritage Site is indeed a treasure. And rent a car and drive to the National Parks on the western side. Not your typical caribbean island. We really enjoyed Curacao.


76 of 85 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 14, 2012
Impressed

The Renaissance Curacao is a very nice hotel in the perfect location. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice ( with the exception of one pool/beach bartender who was a bit surly) and very helpful. We didnt eat at the hotel as there were so many other options within walking distance. We did notice however that the breakfast buffett was busy everyday so it must have been good. Two things that really stood out at this hotel were the pool/beach area and the easy access to downtown Willemstad. The poo/ beach was something that we had never seen before and truly enjoyed. It is a very nice man made beach with a large saltwater, sandy bottom, infinity pool overlooking the ocean. It was amazing! I am not a big fan of swimming pools but I loved this one. You felt like you were swimming in a beautiful lagoon. It was great fun to swim out to the edge and watch the huge ships enter and leave the Willemstad harbor. They literally passed 300 yards from you. The hotels location is just adjacent to the Rif Fort area which is home to some very nice shops, restuarants, and bars. You pass thru the fort and you are steps away from the cool pedestrian pontoon bridge that takes you into the very picturesque town of Willemstad with its shops and restuarants. You never have a need to rent a car unless you want to go off exploring other parts of the island. One tip on the rooms.....do yourself a huge favor and spend the extra money that you save by not renting a car for an ocean front room. The interior rooms have a only one small window that looks directly into a large function hall. So your only view, when and if you would ever want to open the curtain, is of a huge empty room.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Daniel Island, SC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 12, 2013
Great Location

My wife and I just returned from a great week at Renaissance Resort and Casino in Curacao. The weather was spectacular and it was exactly what we needed...to get away from the stress of our businesses. Detailed review below... Location - You really couldn't ask for a better location. It is close enough to walk to downtown, and far enough away to avoid any noise or congestion from travelers. Adjacent to Riff fort gives nice dining options as well as a place to enjoy a cocktail. Service - This is really the only thing we felt could have been improved. This may be a bit unfair because i am basing it on the whole island experience and not just the hotel, however...Only a select few went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Hardly getting a hello from staff or even a smile. We rented a car for 2 days from the Budget in the hotel in order to do some exploring and neither the car rental or the hotel could offer a map without paying additional. Expect to wait for food no matter where you go on the island and do not expect to be offered a dessert menu or even another drink. Again, it was NOT EVERYONE we came across, but about 50%. I believe it is because gratuity is included most places you go. Pool - By far the best part of this hotel. Infinity beach & pool were so relaxing and gorgeous and as long as you don't mind a cruise ship off to the side blocking a very small part of your view, you will love it! The food at infinity bar was pretty good as well. we went and the hotel was only 60% full, so no issues getting lounge chairs, however we heard that at peak seasons you have to get up early to grab a location. Caino - By far the nicest on the island, however the staff outside of the girls who sign you up for the casino "rewards card" seemed miserable. The black jack dealers barely smiled and you almost felt bad for them, thinking they absolutely hated doing this for a living. They claim you will get rewards for playing black jack and after 6 hours of playing on day 1, I received ZERO points. Took until the final day after nicely asking several managers and over 20 hours of play, we received a free breakfast. Ocean View - beware of the "Ocean View." Our room 406 was ocean view but most of the view was blocked by a palm tree. Could see some ocean around tree, but the other view was blocked by cruise ship. Overall - This was an incredible vacation on a gorgeous island with perfect weather (even in the windy season). I would definitely recommend this hotel. We did go to a few other hotels and as gorgeous as the Marriott was the location of the Renaissance was priceless.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2011
Renaissance Hotel, Curacao

Awesome hotel with good service. Pool was great and their homemade beach. Pool hours were short and usually be closed by 7. you can't swim in the beach because it's too rocky. Otherwise great deal. Planning another trip to Curacao.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jacksonville, Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2013
Big Birthday Trip

I traveled to Curacao with 3 best girlfriends for my 40th birthday and we stayed at the Renaissance Curacao Resort and Casino. The resort was beautiful and clean. The location was fantastic with restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The area was a wonderful mix of old and new, with historical landmarks surrounding quaint shopping and dining areas. I would definitely recommend staying at the Renaissance Resort. We had a blast and had a hard time leaving!! The reasons I didn't rate the resort with 5 stars: 1) No wireless internet access in the rooms (we would have to go to the business area or pool area for this) 2) Service at the front desk was hit or miss with a few of the employees not being the most helpful or kind BUT most of the staff was incredibly gracious and appreciated our business. 3) Better healthy food options by the pool: smoothies (protein based NOT sugar/syrup) and vegetarian options (not just cheese pizza).

View of the pool area
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 30, 2011
Renaissance curacao,

Admitedly, we did not have good weather which is rare for this island. I'm sure this altered our perception of everything through out our stay. The hotel is beautiful. Everything is brand new and very modern. There are not many food options in the hotel itself, so I would not encourage travelers to do all inclusive unless it includes restaurants in Rif Fort. The gym is mediocre. the machines are all brand new, but are not good quality. We did have ants in our room, which was left unaddressed for 2 days and we were finally moved to another comparable room(not an upgrade.) Generally the rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are fantastic! The pool area is small since it is a man made beach, but for me it is sufficient. The water is very dark at this location which is a bit disappointing. The shopping is interesting for a day, but really nothing that sustains your for more than a few hours. Mostly stores that you could find at a decent local mall. the shopping in Punda and the floating market are over-rated in my opinion. Mostly junky stores and all the food/produce stands are exactly the same for blocks. We chose not to do all inclusive due to the proximity of many restaurants. Unfortunately, all business that are affiliated with Renaissance(all in rif fort) levy a 15% service charge and 3% tax. We were told this is NOT a tip. So all meals and purchases, already at "island prices," become essentially 30% more! By the end of a rainy week, where we were eating and drinking more than if it had been sunny, we were feeling the strain! I have never paid so much for meals at any other island. The restaurants in Punda and off this property are far more reasonable and still very tasty! Especially, the Grill King. Also, the Hotel Kuralanda, only a few blocks from the fort, had many dining options which looked fabulous, but on the pricey side. Unsure if the extra tax applies there. Inside Rif Fort, the indian place is great and the coffee shop offers a variety of great caffienated drinks at more reasonable prices than in Expresso cafe in the hotel.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: baltimore, md
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 17, 2011
Really neat island

Went there on a whim as the result of a great discount offered by Cheap Caribbean. Didn't know squat about Curacao other than it was supposed to hav some good snorkeling. What a refreshing island from the other Caribbean islands we have visited. Due to its Dutch heritage it is much more heavily European influenced than other islands. We stayed at the Renaissance right in Willamsted and really enjoyed walking the city with many sidewalk cafes, shops and historical sites to seel. At night there are many restaurants within easy walking distance several right on the ocean with marvelous views. Prices were very reasonable for both food and merchandise. Took a snorkeling trip and it was some of the best snorkeling we have done anywhere in the Caribbean. Will likely repeat and would highly recommend this island.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 10, 2011
Great vacation for a couple

My boyfriend and I went on this package and had a fantastic time. Its a great value, nice clean hotel and in the middle of lots of great sightseeing, restaurants, shopping, bars, casinos...etc. I wouod highly reccomend this trip for anyone.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 12, 2011
Renaissance Hotel

Overall I would recommend the Renaissance for other other travellers. Our room was great, the location is really convenient and the pools are nice. A few tips though: avoid catching a taxi immediately outside the hotel as the cab drivers tend to hike up prices for the hotel clientele. Instead, walk 5 minutes to the taxi rank by the footbridge in Otrabanda - you'll get a cheaper fare there. Also, I'm sorry to say that while most of the staff at the Renaissance were pleasant and helpful, Giovanni at the front desk was neither of these things.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 19-24

February 25, 2014
Last minute surprise

Usually we book our trips two months ahead. This time, on a lark, we booked this trip only one week in advance. Experience has shown that there is typically less accommodations available and higher costs with last minute reservations. This was our first booking with CheapCaribean and were we not only surprised, but delighted with the trip. Cost is always a factor when trying to package travel + hotel. Our savings with CheapCaribean equaled at least one night’s hotel accommodation for what we spent on travel + hotel. For such a great price we also received the most direct and shortest plane flights! We didn’t have to fly miles out of our way, extended airport layovers and arrive 24 hours later to get the best package price available. With a last minute booking we were not expecting a spectacular room at the Renaissance Curacao, just hopping that the room was not in a noisy location. When we travel, we don’t spend a lot of time in the room, mostly sleep and shower. Our room at the Renaissance was a knock out! On the second floor with an ocean view, large balcony and top end appointments: bedding with duvet and multiple pillows; built-in mini refrigerator and large safe; freshly fabric upholstered sofa and desk chairs; desk area with extensive communication jacks for a variety of personal electronics; built-in dresser with large and ample storage drawers; closet with wooden hanger, ironing board and iron; bathroom had granite top, modern top end fixtures, ample supply of towels, two bathrobes, hair drier and selection of soap, shampoo, etc.; balcony with two chairs and cocktail table. The quality of the room’s finishes were amazing. The fit and workmanship of the room's: painting, tile work, baseboards and casework were as we have never seen before. This was an extremely quiet room, even though it right across the hall from the onsite Starbucks shop. The entry door was extra heavy and designed to eliminate sound transmission. The Renaissance has two outdoor pools, one saltwater the other freshwater. Both are located on the second level. The saltwater pool is very unique, with a sand beach including palm trees, built atop shops below on the lower level. The saltwater pool has infinity edge on the ocean side which is indistinguishable while sitting on the manmade beach. There are plenty of lounge chairs, towel service and thatched roof palapas for shade. There is walkup or served at lounge chair bar service at the pools. The pool bar uses substantial acrylic cocktail glasses and mugs. Food services is also available at the pools, both bar and food can be charged to rooms. Since we did not use any of the Renaissance’s restaurants we cannot report on these or the onsite casino. There are an abundance of eateries within easy walking distance. Eating in Curacao is not cheap, even at the old open air market where many locals take their noontime meal. We did find one restaurant near by, the Anchor Waterfront Bar and Restaurant, with moderate prices and exquisitely prepared food. Shopping seems to be what Curacao is all about. Every high end shop one can think of is in the Punda part of Willemstad, across the float pontoon bridge from the Renaissance. The Renaissance is located in the Otrobanda part of Willemstad. If you are looking for better pricing, try shopping in Otrobanda, straight pass the floating bridge and turn left across from the ferry docks.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Fe, NM - Jaco, Costa Rica - Kazan, RU
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year