All

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 49 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.2 out of 5
"Hotel was nice and close to airport. Private beach was a plus. Food was very good for a hotel. Don't recommend Delta airlines - lost our luggage." – beemer
50 out of 59 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
A grand entrance to the hotel by boat! How awesome! Who wouldn't want to be here! Doesn't get any better!! The private beach! Amazing adult side private island The Reason Happiness is...

All Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 49 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2012
Great Island-Wonderful hotel

Aruba is a safe and friendly island. It is very americanized. The enitre staff was friendly and always accommodating at the Renissance Marina Hotel. The location of this property was wonderful. It was in the middle of downtown. It was easily accessible, by walking, to restaurants, a grocery store and upscale and souvenier shopping. It was expecially nice to be able to view the cruise ships when they were in port. The hotel may be a bit older, however, it is being renovated. We stayed on the 4th floor of the Marina Hotel and had newly painted walls, new ceramic tile in the bath, and new granite counter tops in the bath. The room was clean and we had more than ample fresh towels throughout our stay. Your room key not only got you into your room, it allowed you to get on the speed boat to the private island (available from 7 AM to 7 PM daily) and also was able to charge any of our food and beverage,including Starbucks, purchased at the hotel. Each hotel room was equipped with a small refrigerator, good for keeping beverages cold. If I could offer a recommendation, it would be to replace the bath tubs--perhaps via a "bath fitter" measure cheaper and easier and also add a small microwave in the hotel room. If I were to return to Aruba for a future visit, I woud definitely stay at the Rensaissance Marina Hotel again.


26 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 20, 2012
Best Vacation Yet!!

This was the best vacation to date for my husband and me. This was our first time in Aruba and it will not be our last. The hotel was great but they do need to update there bath tubs. The Adult only hotel was wonderful as well as the beach. Although we did not purchase the all inclusive meal deal we found some great deals. We purchased some drinks out of the duty free store at the airport before we boarded the bus to go to our hotel. We ate over at the Market Place for breakfast, lunch and some nights for dinner at Cilo's, Casa Tua, The Pancake house, etc. Meals ranged from $6 - $15 a meal. They even had it where you could eat a 3 course meal for $28 at Cilo's and then watch a movie by taking your receipt. We did not use our cell phones at all over there but bought a calling card for $5 with 25 minutes on it to keep in touch with our family( they had plenty of pay phones over there). We rode the bus to Palm, Eagle & Moomba Beach it was only $1.30 one way. Overall it was a great trip and I look forward to going back. Whatever you do go see David at Casa Tua during Happy Hour in the Marketplace because he knows how to hook up some drinks and they were only $4.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Memphis,TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 21, 2012
Next to the Airport- Litterally

If you dont want to be direclty next to the airport watching planes come and go every day as you are trying to relax, do not stay at this hotel.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2011
Paradise vacation

Choosing this hotel was a great idea. The hotel has 2 sites walking distance from each other, one being family oriented. I traveled by myself, so I was interested to have a peaceful hotel and safe, easy to reach dinning options. The hotel has a private island were you can find 2 beautiful beaches, one is adults only. A boat comes and goes every 15 min between the hotels and the island. On the island you can go just with the room key and pay for the food and for the sports and sctivities with it. They have a little paradise, with clear turquoise waters and white sand beaches, flamingos and little iguanas which are friendly and always looking to share your lunch with you. The sunsets are gorgeous, a paradise in which you can relax and soak up the sun. The weather was perfect, with a breeze, the water is warm like a soup and very, very clean. There is much to do on the island if you are into activities. The area for the nightlife is 10 min cab ride, people are very friendly. The casino it is much fun, the bar( very friendly bar tenders and waiters), pool and restaurants are good, but food can be expensive. There are many excellent restaurants in walking distance, if you do not choose all inclusive you will have many options to delight your taste. I discovered a little dutch restaurant that is a gem(Que Pasa is 5 min from the hotel). About the hotel: rooms are spacious and clean with very comfy beds, the bathrooms are not updated, so they feel less then 4 star hotel, but they are clean. The service is very good, they will go out of their way to make you feel good. You will not go wrong with this hotel. At the ground level they have an exquisite selection of high end stores, good even for window shopping if not more, ladies you have to try the spa. It was one of the most relaxing vacations and I will return.

Paradise vacation Paradise vacation
11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2015
Aruba Vacation

In Aruba we Stayed in Renaissance Ocean Suite, Hotel is located in down town area, literally 10 min's from airport, Great Hotel at a great location. We got a ocean suite, with a beautiful ocean view, Loved it... Only hotel in Aruba with a private island with beautiful pink flamingos... WOW. It was very hot in Aruba so sometimes we would just sit in our room balcony and enjoy the ocean, sunset etc... it was just amazing... I did my reservation With Brandon Heath Beach expert from Cheap Caribbean he was very informational, Seem to know lot about Aruba, Hotels and Excursions in Aruba and he helped me in picking this hotel, getting me good flights and connecting flights etc. We had a wonderful time in Aruba.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 7, 2011
Sad, sad vacation

This is for the Adults Only Marina Hotel, maybe they have a different experience at the Suites. First there are no pictures of the Marina Hotel on the website, like that first picture you see when you go on the Renaissance website. The Marina Hotel is down and across the street from the property that's shown in that initial picture. There is no beach access at the hotel, except by taking a boat to the private island. The lagoon in that picture of the Suites hotel (you have access to both properties) is not that beautiful. It's pretty shallow, so probably good for kids and the water isn't as blue as the Caribbean Sea although that's where the water comes from (very strange). Let's get down to the details. I found mold in my room and the woman who answered the phone, she did not put me through to a manager when I initially asked. I found mold on a lamp and all she suggested was that they change the lamp. She then proceeded to give me attitude. I was then transferred to a manager at my request. To make a long story short the manager switched rooms but had no intention of giving me something in return for my troubles. When i asked she suggested a free breakfast! I told her what would satisfy me and she agreed. Bathrooms - Notice there are no pics of bathrooms on the website, it must be because they are super dreary. It's very dark, even with 3 lights. Taking a shower is like showering in a cave. The tubs porcelain is scratched away in many places, so the tub is the color of a mustard brown. Two out of the three rooms we saw had peeling wallpaper. Very small bathroom. Your knees hit the door when it's open and i'm only 5'3". On one day I was asking about going to other hotels to access their beaches. I also received attitude from the woman answering that question. The person to whom i complained gave the excuse that she's new. Beach - It is their own private beach which you take a boat to. The first day we got their they had no floaties and no towels. So what am i supposed to do? Take 45 minutes to go back to my hotel to get my bath towels? Ridiculous. They don't suggest that you get to the beach early because they run out of towels and floaties. It is a nice island - bring your insect repellent (they do have a store, but it ran out)! I had mosquito bites all up and down my arms and back. The water is beautiful and cool and clear. I was able to get towels and a floaty the next day and had a great time. You can snorkel also, even outside the barrier. They have flamingos and lizards which are fun to be around. The flamingos come right up to you, which is pretty cool. Also there are other big birds like cranes. The boat only runs from 7am - 7pm, so if you want to be on the beach in the evening forget it. You'll have to take a cab or rental car to other properties/beaches. The Blue Lounge was nice, that's also where there pool is. Smokers are allowed there, so as an asthmatic i couldn't use the pool the way i would have liked. The bartenders and waitstaff were wonderful and friendly. They come and take your order and deliver to you while you're lounging at the pool. The food is pretty good, beef with chimichurri sauce was always tender, the fried wings were delicious and a few of the other items were tasty. Stay away from the sushi (we had some tuna dish), it's not very fresh. Construction - They were working on the elevator and i could smell it in my room all day and into the evening. The final room i was in had an a/c unit that didn't work as well as previous rooms. We left it on 60 and that was just enough to be semi-comfortable (lowest temp setting available is 60). I was sick of switching rooms, so put up with it. Mattresses are hard and pillows are super soft. The pillows basically flatten out like a pancake. Not a problem for me because that's kinda how i have it home, but my sister woke up sore every morning and would keep waking up during the night to try to get comfortable. The Satellite TV resets itself every night around 3am. The woman lied (or didn't know) the first night we complained and said something is wrong when we saw it was out. Well, it actually resets itself daily! It makes more sense to reset in the afternoon, since you figure most people are out. If you're an insomniac who needs the tv to fall asleep to i hope you don't wake up around that time! It's not a quick reset, because i woke up at 2am with it out and it didn't come back on until after 3am. We only ate at the Aquarius restaurant and Blue, which is reviewed above. Aquarius brkfst buffet is a good bargain especially if you're hungry. They do have an a la carte menu. Aquarius dinner buffet is hit or miss at the cook station, where they have fresh fish, king crab legs, lobster, scallops, etc. cooked to order. The first night the cooked to order food was great (although he didn't understand the concept of just a little butter). The second time we went everything, except the lobster, was overcooked. The tuna was so overcooked it looked like a piece of land meat. So be sure to watch the food and tell him when to remove the food if it looks like it's going to long. I didn't get a new bowl because the wait is so long at certain times. The bell hops, boat driver and golf cart driver were all great. Waitstaff everywhere was great. So my lesson to you is-find out if hotel is under construction. Even if you get a recommendation ask if it's a beach front property. Bring your laptop so you can watch TV on that. Check for mold as soon as you get into your room. If they don't have pics of the bathroom on website beware! And if they have 2 properties make sure both properties are shown in a picture. We hadn't gone on a vacation in 5 years and i must say i would have rather stayed home then have gone to this hotel.


15 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 35-44

September 24, 2012
Great Vacation

I only have 2 complaints: 1. I didn't get maid service for two days, apparently they were understaffed and; 2. After giving a waiter at Blu $40 US$ for a $31.09 tab, he NEVER returned with my change. I guess he assumed he had earned a $9.00 tip. The boat ride to their private resort island beach was breathtaking and the adults only beach was beautiful! Pink flamingos and iguanas freely roaming peacefully. Service on the adults only beach was impeccable. Overall an absolutely wonderful trip!

Great Vacation Great Vacation
7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 20, 2011
Great Location and Private Beach

The Rennaisance is a great spot that is not too pricey. You can walk to some of the most recommended restaurants (Yemanja, Cuba's Cooking, Que Pasa) and it is pretty central to get to some of the other restaurants and locations on the island. The private beach was a great little boatride from inside the hotel (we stayed at the Marina). I would't recommend doing an all-inclusive here. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurants, but they looked a little depressing if you ask me. We ordered food once or twice by the pool and it was not great at all - and nothing very healthy to choose from. The rooms were decent -- nothing special, but they were clean and comfortable. We switched rooms while we were there because we wanted a window that opened to the outside. The basic rooms at the Marina face the inside of the hotel (and there is a roof over the top of the hotel -- so you are not looking outside). We switched to one that had a partial ocean view and it was a little more refreshing. Although, we could hear cars and at night it was very windy and blew through the glass kind of loud. Taxi from the airport waws $18 each way, so the shuttle is about the same price.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 13, 2011
Renassaince Aruba

Hotel room was nothing special. Was disappointed at quality of room as you could see it needed repairs. Had poor bar service as I had to remind the wait staff over and over again to get my drinks and very long waits for food. While the ammenities at the hotel were convenient the spa service was not that good. I had 2 massages from 2 therapists both were mediocre at best. Buffett style restaraunt was dirty. Floor had food and trash strewn about at times and no one from the staff attempted to clean up. The food was cold both times I went there to eat and it was expensive.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Princeton, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 24, 2012
Very accomodating

Good location, within walking distance to downtown with lots of shops and restaurants. After arriving at 1:00 am we checked in to the Marina side. We were not very happy with the room. The bathtub was gross. We walked around a bit & decided to talk to the front desk. They were very accommodating and moved us to another room. By 3 am this was done. It was an updated room & we were happy. Although your not in the room much, at least we were content & also gave us breakfast coupons. The hotels private island is beautiful with flamingos & iguanas. You can get towels & chairs there. There is a bar/food. The beers are pricey but you can get free beers in the casino. We thought the family side was nicer & a better view, nicer pool area, and another sandy beach with chairs. As two adults we would have stayed there. Didn't see the rooms though. We would definitely go back, but would stay up on Palm Beach next time. The center of Palm Beach with all the shops & restaurants is around Playa Linda, Radisson, etc. We also took the city bus & that worked out well. You don't need to take taxi's unless your in a hurry. Be sure to hit the Happy Hours when you can!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Eugene, Oregon
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year