All

Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino All-Inclusive Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 118 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.1
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.4 out of 5
"they had a private island, took a few minutes to get to the beach, but worth it. an adults only section and they had big rocks to keep out kelp and other unpleasantness - awesome." – BriardLover
119 out of 135 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
enjoying a drink by the pool & ocean View from our room aquarius seafood buffet my two handsome man Private island Flamingo Beach sampler platter from the adult only lobby bar Flamingo's sunset Private island (couples side) the private beach Private island at the renaissance the island Renaissance Island flamingo beach Love the flamingos! blue bar/adult pool area my husband and I at the steak house The beautiful but small pool lounge area Lots of iguanas

All Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 118 reviews. Sort by
January 4, 2013
wonderful honeymoon

I researched for weeks trying to find the perfect resort for our honeymoon and this is by far the best choice! We stayed in the adult only part of the resort, but were over in the main pool area and bar SOLE almost everyday. This place has amazing pools, great staff, and wonderful food. We did the all-inclusive package and let me tell you that is the way to go. Our meal bills were over $100 every night, not to mention $30 snacks and $60 lunches. Also, the drinks from all the bars were wonderful (and expensive) so we were very happy we chose the all-inclusive. Almost every night we would go down at 2am and get a filet mignon, baked potato, and mojito and listen to the wonderful musicians down by the casino. We really spoiled ourselves and it was great! The private island was amazing too. I loved the boat ride over to it, and also the restaurant on the island made it convenient to spend the whole day there. My husband and I will definitely go back, and I am hoping sometime soon!

enjoying a drink by the pool & ocean sampler platter from the adult only lobby bar
103 of 106 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Virginia Beach, VA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2010
Renaissance Aruba

This hotel is located in a small downtown area. Posh and well kept area, but the hotel has no beach front, so you take a small boat to a private island. It takes about 10 minutes boat ride to get to the island, and island is very nice. The boats run every 15 minutes, so no real wait to get too or from the island. The downtown area shuts down at 6:00, so no night lift to speak of. If you want a very quiet, relaxing vacation, this will be a good location for you. The hotel has two restaurants, and an outdoor bar area that also serves food. The food is very good, but you may want to go out one night for variety. This hotel has the option for "All Inclusive" - I would go this option, since a buffet breakfast is $50 for two, and the average lunch for two with a couple of drinks is $70, and dinner for same runs $150. If you order two beers it's $14 - if this paints a picture. The all inclusive includes most premium liquor (Jim Bean, Bacardi, Absolute, Smirnoff, etc.) but only includes one beer selection (Balashi - the local beer, but it's pretty good and always served in can - not draft). Overall, good place to stay. If you want to shift into low gear completely, it's a great place to stay. Cheers!


34 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 30, 2016
Very Enjoyable All Inclusive

The Renaissance is a great hotel to stay at in Aruba. My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 nights in August 2016 as a short end-of-summer getaway. The hotel is actually divided in two. The Ocean Suites is the more family-friendly and larger area right on the shoreline, while the Marina Hotel is more suited to adults and is located on the other side of the road and overlooks the marina. We stayed in the Marina Hotel, and that is what my review is about. The actual hotel is quite nice. A big open reception area with the Blue bar is set right behind the pool area. Check in was very quick and easy. The actual rooms are a little small but sufficient. The bed was very comfortable, we both slept soundly the entire trip. My only complaint is the bathrooms do not have actual doors, only sliding frosted glass, so privacy is bare minimum. Housekeeping was quick and efficient and did not disturb us at all. They were doing some noisy maintenance a couple of the mornings, but it was at 10am or so. The dining options were very good, overall. We ate at all the restaurants in the Marina Hotel. The buffet in Aquarius for breakfast and lunch was just alright, and the Steakhouse was good but not exceptional, but the bar food at Blue was delicious. The hot wings were incredibly addictive as a poolside snack. The late night restaurant was something we frequented a number of times too. Nothing like a 2am steak when on vacation... There is a boat that docks right in the hotel lobby area to take you to the island where the actual beaches are. Again, there is two beaches: one more family oriented and one for adults. There are flamingos and iguanas all around which is a nice novelty. The beachside bar on the adult side was quick with drinks but food takes a little while. Not bad unless you are very impatient about it though. We were drinking a lot seeing we were on the all inclusive plan. All the drinks were well made, but on the weaker side. I was ordering all my drinks with double alcohol in the end which they obliged without any issue, and it made them more to my liking. All the service staff were absolutely exceptional and friendly, they were a real highlight of the hotel. We did not have a single bad waiter or bartender the entire time. The casinos are small and typical of island gambling. We only visited them once and played some table games. I wouldn't suggest if you are a hardcore gambler; they are more for if you are looking to just have a bit of fun. There are a lot of very fancy high-end outlets in the Mall right below the hotel at the street level. Things like Rolex, Cartier, Dolce and Gabbana, etc. We did some window browsing as it wasn't really to our interest, but the options are there and they offer quite good discounts on luxury items. There isn't a whole lot around the place to see and do, so if you are looking for a lot of local spots or history you won't find it. It is very much a tourist island and that is what they specialize in. However, if you are just looking for a relaxing trip to lie on a beach or by a pool, I can strongly suggest the Renaissance and especially would suggest the all inclusive as you will get your money's worth (especially if you drink regularly).


41 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 2, 2012
Our All Inclusive trip

When we arrived at the hotel we were immediately told that since we had an all inclusive we had an inferior room & should upgrade for more money...I said no as we felt that we already spent enough for this trip...We got a horrible room, that had peeling wallpaper, water stains & a dirty bathroom...We complained to both hotel & maid to no avail.. The Aquarius restaurant was supposed to be buffet or from the menu..When we asked to order from the menu we were told that "all inclusive" couldn't do that..The buffet consisted of two kinds of food, fresh fish which was grilled to order was good, or standing dishes which were terrible... At the high end steak house all inclusive patrons could not order from regular menu and were only given three choices, although the food there was good... We felt that by being all inclusive we were treated as second class citizens... The beach was beautiful, and the people were very nice...


44 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Staten Island, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 7, 2011
Total relaxation

This was our 1st ever all inclusive experience. The service was outstanding. The food was 5 Star. Why would you ever want to eat anywhere else when the Aqarius or L G Steakhouse serve and offer the best food experience we've ever had. All you can eat lobster and crab at the seafood bar or steak, lamb, chicken with changes every day on other choices. We have been on 15 cruises and traveled all over the world. Most relaxing vacation we ever had.Food is very expensive if you don't do the all inclusive. Downside--- We ate and drank way to much........


27 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Marysville , Michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 6, 2015
Favorite Place

The infinity pool is warm and offers a great view of the marina and Caribbean. The lobby bar overlooks the infinity pool. The lower lobby has a boat that takes you to the resorts private island. A nice 20 minute boat ride. The island has a nice beach and the water is full of small fishes. There's a nice restaurant and bar on the island. Stay at the Casino/Marina, much nicer than the ocean resort across the street which you have access to their facilities. I recommend all inclusive.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Hunterdon County, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2011
Renaissance Aruba is Fantastic

We just got back from our 2nd Honeymoon at the Renaissance Aruba. We had the all-inclusive package at the adults only resort and can heartily recommend this to anyone. Upon recommendations of other travelers, we requested an upgrade once we got there. On the first night, due to a cancellation of a flight, the hotel was booked solid, but the reception manager was very friendly and said that we certainly could get an upgrade for the rest of our stay. When I checked the following morning, he had already blocked out a gorgeous room overlooking the bay. Because of all of the different choices of restaurants we did not have eat or drink outside of the resort as well. Furthermore, the resort is in the middle of Oranjestad, as opposed to the hotel district in Palm Beach, and was therefore much less commercial. Car rental was available at the hotel itself and was very affordable. The private island is amazing, there is also an adult only section there and the boat to the island pulls right up into the lobby. One slight knock was, and this is a very minor one, the free wireless internet connectivity in the lobby was slow; there is a paid option in every room, however. Also there was no non-smoking section in the bar or the lobby which took some getting used to. These are minor nits. Were we were to visit Aruba once more, we would certainly stay at the Renaissance again.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 3, 2015
Most Amazing Place Ever

Each year my wife and I take a trip to get away from the phones and havtos of this world that we all need a break from. We love blue water and white sand, good food and friendly people and the Caribbean seams to be the place we find that. We have been to Dominican, Cancun, Jamaica, Bahamas, and St Martin, all of which have had mostly positives and met our criteria for a good get away. This year we chose Aruba, I had heard a lot of good things about it but I am always open to make my own conclusions. Let me say up front, The Renaissance was the best of the best. Every where we have been the people have been friendly at the resorts, some of the places the people outside of the resorts may or may not be as much. In Aruba, it is "One Happy Island", and that is what we found. EVERYONE! we met from the time we got off the Jet until the time we got back on to head home was friendly and welcoming you to there paradise. The Renaissance was the greatest example of this. I have never felt more welcome. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived.The lobby had a Bar/Restaurant called simply "Blue" where we had the best chicken wings ever while we waited for our rooms to be ready when we arrived, was waiting a problem? are you kidding? we had an hour or so before check in and it was awesome, they gave us our room# and code and we were in paradise so enjoy right? The three waitress that we had at "Blue" were like family from the time we met, helping us understand how things worked and relax into the island life, Elizabeth especially was amazing. The other Restaurants on the property, "L.G. Smith Steak & Chop House" is one classy place with great, great food and service. Their Filet Mignon is as good as I have had anywhere, and what ever you do don't miss the live Jazz music on Friday Saturday and Sunday. The "Aquarius" is a Buffet stile Restaurant that is no ordinary Buffet. You can order from a menu or go Buffet. We are not normally buffet goers, not at all but this is hard to beat. Every morning for breakfast I had a made to order omelet and my wife's favorite breakfast is eggs Benedict, and the fresh fruit was to die for. Dinner, you choose, Lobster tails, Crab legs, Shrimp, Scallops, Tuna, and more. You pick it they cook it for you while you wait. It doesn't get any better than that. Betty and Dorothy in particular but all the waitresses took amazing care of us. The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in away from home. Everything was clean and well taken care of through out the entire resort. The private island may be one of the most unique and awesome things about the resort. You get a short boat ride back and forth that is great, loved the flamingos on the island and the "Papagayo" bar and grill on the island has the best view, food and drink. We chose to go with the "All inclusive option" I highly recommend this, I'm on vacation, I don't want to think about price or worry about anything, definitely stress free way to go. We give Renaissance a 10+, I have NO complaints about anything, How could you? This deserves a return trip, See you in Aruba, We'll be back!

Flamingo's
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Va., USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2010
Our Christmas Stay

We had requested a room facing the ocean and paid for one. We got a room facing the interior courtroom with it's noise. They're private island was very nice, we got to hand feed flamingo's and I would have pictures had I not gone swimming with my camera in my pocket, whoops. Aruba is beautiful but expect high prices. Dinners ran $75-$200 for 2 people, drinks in a bar: $10 each. A 6 pack of beer in the grocery store, $25 US. Don't buy anything at the airport checkout and or watch charges to your credit card. We had a $600 charge for items we didn't buy. The company took it off but only after a drawn out time period.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Casper, WY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 16, 2012
Overall, great vacation

My husband and I recently stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Marina for a week during the first week of January. I wasn't sure I would like it because it was in the heart of town and it wasn't on a beach. However, the hotel overlooks the marina where all the ships come in, and beyond that the Caribbean. A boat runs every few minutes from the hotel to a beautiful island, which has two beaches, an outdoor restaurant, and beach equipment rental. The hotel is a nice environment because it is all adult, which is what my husband and I were looking for, and the pool was also adults only. A casino connects to the hotel, and there were two upscale restaurants, and a bar and grill. We could also use the facilities of the sister property, the Renaissance Ocean Suites, which is more suited for families. It has a very nice lagoon style pool, an outdoor bar and grill, and an open air restaurant. Buses were also available to go to the beaches on the island, which are all public. My husband and I did that one day, and really enjoyed it. Drawbacks--we did the all-inclusive and although the food at the hotel was very good, we didn't feel there was enough variety to offer to stay within the plan at the property restaurants. We ended up going to other restaurants around town several times, and spent a lot of extra money. I would not stay at the Ocean Suites because when we went over there to swim and eat, it was too crowded, and the service was poor. However, if we went back, we would seriously consider staying at the Marina Renaissance; it was a very relaxed, nice environment, and enjoyable vacation.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year