All

Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 148 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4 out of 5
"Nice pool, beautiful beach, good drinks. food was meh...not terrible, but defiantly got bored of it after 6 days." – HeatherJ
126 out of 170 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pavlin's tail was gorgious Princess Resort Punta Cana: Beach, Resort Grounds, and Pool Sunrise Pool is awesome ! Great pool! Bathroom Lovely beach. Bedroom My friend Jose Punta Cana Dominican Republic the beach Life is a beach Beach view from the day bed View from our Suite Feels so good... What a view ! Bavaro Beach, close to the resort...

All Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 148 reviews. Sort by
July 15, 2013
Met our lofty expectations

This resort met all of our expectations, and exceeded many of them. For your convenience, I will list eachexpectation in detail: Pool: The pool was clean and situated at the center of all hotel rooms, which was nice becuase it made it a central place to be. Although it has some wear and tear, this does not take away from the experience. The swim-up bar is great and is situated at the center of the pool, therefore, you are at teh center of the excitement while there. The servers are, for the most part, friendly. If you tip early in your stay, you will receive better service without question. There are entertainers that organize and commentate drinking games and pool games every day, so it's always a fun place to be. Beach: The beach is beautiful and clean. There are security guards that walk it daily and nightly, thereby minimizing the foot traffic of locals attempting to hassle you. As a result, it is very safe. There is plenty of seating, however, if you want covered/shaded seating it is difficult to come by. There are roped off areas where you swim without worry of coral or seaweed. If you walk to the left about 300 yeards, there is some excellent shallow water snorkeling just off the beach. Look for the low hanging "photo tree" that hangs out almost over the water, and head out from there to find it. If you walk another few hundred yards down, there is a real cool market right on the water. Beware, however, the vendors are so overly aggressive that it is annoying and almost offensiive. Bottom line though - walk away. Whatever they tell you the cost is, slash it by 60-75% and that's what you can get it for. You just have to walk away, and after you are 2 steps out the door they will call you back and settle. Room: The room is clean and the housekeepers friendly. Again, tip early and you will be better served. Our room was very large for a standard room. Request the top floor and you will have elevated ceilings that add to the grandeur. All rooms look inward over the resort and have a balcony. For a view of the pool, request Building 5 first, then 4. Buildings 1-3 are further from the pool and beach. Room is stocked with soda and water daily. Drinks: I stayed at the Iberostar Riviera Maya last year and let me tell you, despite how much my family likes to drink, we had difficulty finding ANYTHING good to drink. Everything was loaded down with corn syrup, mixers weren't good, and the only beer available was low grade. This is not the case here, though! The drinks are excellent. Upon request, you can get higher shelved liquor like Jack and Beam. The mixed drinks are very good and bartenders will pour as much alcohol as you want in each. By far the best drink is the "Banana Mama." They blend an entire banana with pina collada mix and grenedine up for 2 drinks, so with each drink you are essentially consuming half a banana. Talk about hangover prevention! You can also get as much bottled water as you would like at all bars. There is a bar in the lobby, 2 bars on the beach, and a swim-up bar...plenty of options! Excursions: Excursions are readily available and relatively affordable. The average is about $100 per person per excursion. There are excursion vendors on the beach who will haggle you, but the safer option is to set them up through the excursion reps at the front desk area. I highly recommend the Marine Park excursion, which is a floating bar area out half mile or so from the shore. Within the park they have enclosures within which you can swim with sharks and rays. Around said enclosures you have phenomenal shallow water snorkeling. Other excursions we did were dune boogies for $90 each (worth it), and a Pirate Booze Cruise. There is also a PADI certified water sports shack on the beach...there you can set up snorkeling tours andeven get poolcertified for SCUBA. I am certified but my girlfriend is not, however, she was able to train in the pool for an hour, then we booked a 2-dive day trip to Catalina Island, which also included a beach lunch of pork, chicen, and lobster (at an additional fee). She received special attention from the Divemasters on her first dive, and was on her own the 2nd. Very cool option, $185 each. Food: The food is all in all not bad. There are 2 buffets that are open for all meals. They are the only breakfast options. We found the breakfast food better the earlier we ate. The fruit is amazingly sweet and fesh, as are the vegetables. Eggs, Milk and meats not so much, at the buffets at least. For dinner, however, there are 4 restaurant options at this resort, and none require reservations: seafood, italian, fondue, and tex-mex. All are decent, but needless to say seafood is the best. All require closed toe shoes and long slacks/jeans for men. There are 2 adjacent Princess resorts that most people's wristbands had access to. You have the option of dining at any of those restaurants, so long as you make the reservations a day ahead of time. Those restaurants include Italian, Mexican (excellent), Dominican (disappointing), Brazilian (okay), and Chinese. Ultimately, there is food enough for everyone to eat. Lunch options are buffet only; however, every 3 days they do a beach BBQ that is phenomenal. Service: Most employees are friendly, which sets a hotel apart from its competition. There were a few with whom we were unimpressed, but ultimately the service exceeded expectations. As I said, if you tip, you will see the reward. The same employees work 6 days a week and rotate throughout the different bars and restaurants, so they see you a lot and vice versa. We tipped regularly to those that served us well, and we could see the repercussions of such tipping. The last night, we were brough an off-the-menu fresh lobster plate from one of the primary servers with whom we had communicated the previous 6 days. Tipping, of course, is not necessary being that the resort is all-inclusive. But I recommend it. Just like bartenders, servers, cooks and housekeepers in the American service industry, these people support work for and appreciate tips. Have fun! I am an experienced all-inclusive traveler, and I'll be honest—it will be difficult for me to book with any other hotel if I ever rerturn to Punta Cana.


114 of 114 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 2, 2016
LOVED this place!

Punta Cana Princess was a FABULOUS choice for our vacation. We stayed for 6 days/5 nights in late January 2016. We were four, adult women who went for a getaway vacation away from cold New England. The restaurant food was good (not great). Stick with the buffet if you have a sensitive tummy. The food there IS great. Try the other restaurants in the sister resorts, too. The shuttle runs all day/night. The rooms were pristine... clean and beautiful. Our Building 4 room looked over the pool and was a short walk to the beach. Love the turn-down service! The activities put on by The Animation Team were on-going 18 hours a day. If you want to join in, feel free! ALWAYS a good time - especially the bubble-filled pool party! But, if you don't, you're not bugged to do so. The beach is SO peaceful. And the ever-pleasant Jose will keep your drink glass full right on the beach! But the best part of PCP (and you'll read this everywhere) is THE PEOPLE. From the maidstaff to the bartenders; from the grounds crew to guest services.... every, single staff member does their very best to make everyone happy. "Hola!" and a smile will happen literally dozens of times every day. Your wrist band identifies your country of origin. At first, I thought this was a "profiling" thing and got a little miffed, to be honest. But then, I realized that when you approach a staff member, they KNOW which language in which to address you. Also, when you see others with your color, you can speak to them freely in your own language. It's actually a pretty smart thing to do... There are SO MANY return guests here (this was our first time) because this resort is the absolute BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK in the Dominican Republic. We WILL be back... :)


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Amherst, NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 2, 2017
Good value for the money

Punta Cana Princess Resort and Spa (Adults Only) Cheap Caribbean made everything easy. Resort - The Resort is stunning. The grounds are well manicured and all the areas are very clean. The staff are all super friendly, hard working and at your service. I thought the gift Princess orange beach bag supplied to carry your stuff in to the beach was a very useful amenity. Room - The rooms are great. Almost all the rooms offer the resort tropical garden view with the pool running in the middle of the numbers 4000 and 5000 buildings. Very spacious and modern decor. Flat screen TV with plenty of options including adult. The bathroom was good a good size and I liked the toilet area in its own space with a door. The shower stall was perfect and had strong water pressure with a rainfall shower head. The jacuzzi tub was just outside the bathroom and I used it everyday. Amazing! The bed was king size but the mattress was hard. I asked for a topper or foam padding but they do not provide that or anything similar. Each room also includes a robe, slippers, cigars, and nice bottle of Dominican Rum. In the closet was a free safe to secure your valuables and a large 2 person umbrella which was used daily in the unexpected tropical weather, but not going to complain as it was over 80 degrees everyday. Beach - Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful. Plenty of seating and lounge chairs to relax and enjoy the amazing views or float your stress away in the ocean. Pool - The pool was perfect. The water was always a great temperature (not to warm or cold) and adequate seating available for guests. Jacuzzi - Just by the pool was a massage (fee) section along with a free jacuzzi and steam rooms. Odd for an adult resort to place restrictions on hours of availability. The Jacuzzi was only available until 5pm. I thought it would be open later as the evening is the best time to enjoy the heat of the water to relax before dinner. It's tropical so don't look for the water to be 104. Gym - The spa area out front is shared by the adjoining Princess Resorts. The gym is located in the same building and was perfect. It offered a treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, and weights. Everything you need for a travel workout. Bars - The resort had many bars; including a swim up bar in the pool. (Love that!!) The best was in lobby; reason being that that's where the higher end alcohol was offered. I am not a big drinker and if I do order alcohol, I enjoy "top shelf" such as Grey Goose, Patron, or Bombay Sapphire. Unfortunately, this resort only provided off brands and local Dominican choices. However, If you were VIP status, you could get their "top of the line" which consisted of Jose Cuervo, Smirnoff or Absolute, Jack Daniels and Tanqueray. Being an adults only resort, I would've expected the better choices in alcohol. Food - I admit I am a foody and often very critical. I believe life is about enjoying premium delicious food. That being said, I was not in jeopardy of gaining any weight on this trip. Most of the restaurants offered mass produced typical food. Breakfast is offered daily in buffet style and was very nice. They had an egg/omelet station with good choices of meats, potatoes, rice, beans, fresh fruit, pastry, and blended fruit juices. Lunch - The buffet usually offered a daily fish, salad, fruit, various breads and the staple of beans and rice. They have a pizza stand with different toppings, along with hamburgers, hot dogs and fries. They offer a really cool pasta stand where you pick out your favorite pasta, sauce, add-ins and cook it in front of you. They also provided ice cream with all the fixings, cakes, pastries and other nice desserts. Dinner - The Princess Resort offers several options for specialty dinning and they all serve the same wine options. I don't recommend the wine. Rio Grand (Tex-Mex Steakhouse) ... The meal was good and the ambience was nice with candles on each table. Mare Nostrum (Mediterranean) ... They started by serving a delicious shrimp appetizer in a red sauce. I had the salad appetizer which was crisp, fresh, and had a nice balsamic dressing drizzled over it. I ordered the seafood mixed grill which was amazing and included vegetables and mashed potatoes in the middle of the platter. The meal was decorated with lobster, mussels, clams, shrimp, and a squid cooked to perfection with a nice white sauce. I splurged and got the Crepe Suzette with ice cream and fresh fruit. Delicious and the restaurant was located by the ocean. This restaurant varies its meal menu depending on the time of day and is open 24 hours. This is a great convenience to have access to food during any hour. La Petite Fondue (Swiss)... Although a single traveler entering a restaurant where the menu reveals all the entree's are for 2 people, they welcomed me with open arms. The atmosphere and decor was a Swiss design, very traditional. They greeted me with a plate of delicious pate, meat, and cheese. I ordered the tuna tartar, but it was mainly filler with a tiny piece of fish that didn't offer much flavor but the filler. That was uneventful after looking forward to it all week. I also ordered the onion soup which was wonderful with the melted cheese on top. For desert, the waitress talked me into a chocolate fondue with an accompanying plater of fresh fruit for dipping. This was the first time I ever had fondue and it was impressive. Great choice to have at a resort. It's different to offer a Swiss food option. Well done! Punta Cana Princess Resort and Spa is a good value for the money. The beach is amazing and I enjoyed many walks along the water. When you book excursions be sure to book them inside the resort lobby area or throuigh Cheap Carribean... but not the free shopping tour which was a waste of time. They only offered cigars, souvenirs, chocolate, rum, and coffee. The items were very expensive and not a local authentic shopping area.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 5, 2017
Nice spot

Decent food options, and at this particular resort, you don't have to make reservations to eat. If you leave and go to a sister resort (which you have access to) You do need reservations. I was staying in a platinum suite. Very nice, and clean. Cleaned and made up with new towels daily. The "mini bar" was stocked daily with a 1.5 liter water, a couple bottles of coke and sprite and 3 bottle of budweiser. There was also a bottle of dominican rum in the room to have. There are a lot of free options for room service as well (included with all inclusive) and it runs 24 hours. Everyone working there is nice, plenty of bars, beach is beautiful. I really enjoyed myself.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 18, 2013
very relaxing resort

This was our 2nd time at this resort. It might not be for the younger crowd who want a non stop party, but for folks like us who just want to kick back and relax this is the perfect place. The staff are terrific, there was never a wait for food, the rooms are huge and the drinks are plentiful. No issues with finding chairs on the beach. The vendors can be annoying but a firm NO is all they need to leave.you alone. We will be returning next year.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: bowie MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2012
Not very impressed

I was disappointed with this resort and am disappointed that Cheapcaribbean would recommend this resort to their customers. The food was absolutely terrible!!! The fruit they served was even bad....how do you mess fruit up!? The 24 hour snack bar closes for many hours at a time, so you really have to eat when they say, not when you want. We missed lunch and didn't get to eat until 7pm, so we were pretty hungry the first day. The staff was unfriendly, and very rude at times. I only came across 3 employees who were friendly to us. The rooms smelled really bad like mold the entire time we were there. My room kept losing power and it was so hot without AC, and they just kept coming back to fix it instead of changing our room. The toilet in my brothers room broke and the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking water all over. They did not have the bar open on their beach and didn't offer drink service on the beach or at the pool like the other resorts I have been to. The bar in the pool was nice but only one bar tender at a time, so in order to avoid waiting 20 mins for a drink you would have to go to a different bar for drinks. We also requested a room with a view of the pool or ocean and the view was of nothing but trees :( Not a deal breaker but still. The 24 hour all inclusive room service was terrible, the first two nights there they wouldn't even answer the phones, which was a problem with the other guests as well. The menu only offered 3 items that were included, the rest of the items had an additional fee. The drinks were ok, except that they only made a few select drinks. I asked for something other than the drinks listed on the menu and they declined. The liquor they used was fine, but they had better brands but always refused to serve them. They would say "oh I don't have any right now," or send us to one of the other bars. The non motorized equipment that was included was always broken or in use because they only had two of everything. They only had two pairs of snorkeling gear, for a resort that has over 500 guest rooms. It really didn't feel like an all inclusive vacation. The entertainment was not very good, and they didn't have things going on nightly, they rotated entertainment between their other sister resorts. The only thing we really enjoyed was the beach. The sand was beautiful, but the seaweed was so thick on the beach, they didn't really clean as often as they should. I would never go back to this resort, especially for the price.


69 of 84 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2013
Great stay!

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The beach was fantastic!!! Wake up early and claim your spot under a hut...well worth it. Although we did not spend much time at the pool it was nice. The room was adequate...we were not looking for anything fancy since we wanted to spend most of the time on the beach. The food was OK for all inclusive. We liked the buffet because it had more options. The omelets at breakfast were our favorite!!! I can't say enough how friendly the staff was. They were always wanting to help you whenever you needed something. I liked how they always looked like they enjoyed what they were doing too-always dancing and singing!!!! The only thing that turned us off was they locked us out of our room the night before we left and left a survey under the door. We immediately went to the desk and the woman told us it's all set just fill this survey out and bring it when you check out. Really??? You lock someone out of their room for a survey? It was not about the bill because we did not charge anything to the room and owed nothing. I just found that strange!!!! I would recommend this hotel. They treat you well and it's a great value and a beautiful beach! We would go again!!!!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Very Average

We love Punta Cana & return yearly to stay at adult all inclusives. Bavaro beach is the best beach & Princess beach is the best of all. The resort is very well kept & the staff are quite friendly. However, we feel there are better resorts on Bavaro that pay more attention to detail plus deliver what they say! We had a few problems that took several visits to reception to get resolved over 3 days! The food is very average.The Animation staff workd hard & does a good job. The shows were not very good except the Circus show was excellent.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 12, 2017
Our second stay was even better than the first!

Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resorts for Couples is our new home for all future vacations. The staff and property are the best! We love the smaller size because you know the staff and they know you. Rooms are very comfortable, Beach and pool well maintained and great food!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Asheville , North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 27, 2017
Punta Cana Princess - LOVE IT! A must go to place

This was my 2nd time to Punta Cana Princess (which I just found out is part of the Princess Cruise Lines). The people who work at the resort are very friendly and accomodating. When we arrived at the resort I had asked for a 1st level/floor suite. It was a beautiful suite and the view was good but I actually prefer the 2nd floor. Ramone at the front desk called and asked me how I like the room (the one I picked out) and I said it was good. He said he wanted to make sure I had the best vacation and wanted to make sure all was good. I told him I had asked for the first floor but kind of think I would prefer the 2nd floor. He sent someone right over to show me another room and it was perfect for what I was looking for! Beautiful view of the pool area and ocean. They even waited for me to pack my things back up and they brought it all to the other room. Outstanding customer service and I cannot say this enough! Alexander in guest services. If you have any questions about anything or need anything from the pharmacy, transportation, reservations or even rum he is your man! He is so helpful and just did everything with ease. Luis. Oh, Luis! Big hugs everytime he saw us. Asked us if we needed anything. Very sweet man and also very helpful with anything we needed including rum punch! Jose my friend. Jose is the best bartender you will find on the beach. He will have another drink delivered to you just as you are about to finish your last one. Room cleaning. The ladies who clean the rooms do an excellet job and put little touches such as rose petals around the jacuzzi tub or flowers on your night stand. Room was very clean. Food: 5 restaurants on the property and you can also go to the sister resorts and go to their restaurants. We were happy with our choices at PCP so we mainly ate onsite.Nice buffets with lots to choose from or if you prefer, there are 4 other sit down restaurants for dinner.Animation: Can't forget about the animation team! They have activities al day on the beach and pool and nightly enterntainment whether it's a beach dance party or live band or a show. All excellent! Beach. OMG the Beach! You could walk for miles and miles on the beach. Beautiful water and nice sand. We spent many days on the beach or walking the beach. When you book excursions be sure to book them inside the resort lobby area or throuigh Cheap Carribean. Do not put excursions from anyone on the beach.

My friend Jose View from our Suite
15 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year