All

Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 108 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"Nice food and very friendly staff in Casaba all you can eat ., in Punta cana princess. We book our trip with Cheapcaribbean . Nice beach and pool everything was great." – Hossi
96 out of 127 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our Suite Bathroom Bedroom Bavaro Beach, close to the resort... Feels so good... Princess Resort Punta Cana: Beach, Resort Grounds, and Pool My friend Jose the beach Life is a beach

All Punta Cana Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 108 reviews. Sort by
July 15, 2013
Met our lofty expectations

This resort met all of our expectations, and exceeded many of them. For your convenience, I will list eachexpectation in detail: Pool: The pool was clean and situated at the center of all hotel rooms, which was nice becuase it made it a central place to be. Although it has some wear and tear, this does not take away from the experience. The swim-up bar is great and is situated at the center of the pool, therefore, you are at teh center of the excitement while there. The servers are, for the most part, friendly. If you tip early in your stay, you will receive better service without question. There are entertainers that organize and commentate drinking games and pool games every day, so it's always a fun place to be. Beach: The beach is beautiful and clean. There are security guards that walk it daily and nightly, thereby minimizing the foot traffic of locals attempting to hassle you. As a result, it is very safe. There is plenty of seating, however, if you want covered/shaded seating it is difficult to come by. There are roped off areas where you swim without worry of coral or seaweed. If you walk to the left about 300 yeards, there is some excellent shallow water snorkeling just off the beach. Look for the low hanging "photo tree" that hangs out almost over the water, and head out from there to find it. If you walk another few hundred yards down, there is a real cool market right on the water. Beware, however, the vendors are so overly aggressive that it is annoying and almost offensiive. Bottom line though - walk away. Whatever they tell you the cost is, slash it by 60-75% and that's what you can get it for. You just have to walk away, and after you are 2 steps out the door they will call you back and settle. Room: The room is clean and the housekeepers friendly. Again, tip early and you will be better served. Our room was very large for a standard room. Request the top floor and you will have elevated ceilings that add to the grandeur. All rooms look inward over the resort and have a balcony. For a view of the pool, request Building 5 first, then 4. Buildings 1-3 are further from the pool and beach. Room is stocked with soda and water daily. Drinks: I stayed at the Iberostar Riviera Maya last year and let me tell you, despite how much my family likes to drink, we had difficulty finding ANYTHING good to drink. Everything was loaded down with corn syrup, mixers weren't good, and the only beer available was low grade. This is not the case here, though! The drinks are excellent. Upon request, you can get higher shelved liquor like Jack and Beam. The mixed drinks are very good and bartenders will pour as much alcohol as you want in each. By far the best drink is the "Banana Mama." They blend an entire banana with pina collada mix and grenedine up for 2 drinks, so with each drink you are essentially consuming half a banana. Talk about hangover prevention! You can also get as much bottled water as you would like at all bars. There is a bar in the lobby, 2 bars on the beach, and a swim-up bar...plenty of options! Excursions: Excursions are readily available and relatively affordable. The average is about $100 per person per excursion. There are excursion vendors on the beach who will haggle you, but the safer option is to set them up through the excursion reps at the front desk area. I highly recommend the Marine Park excursion, which is a floating bar area out half mile or so from the shore. Within the park they have enclosures within which you can swim with sharks and rays. Around said enclosures you have phenomenal shallow water snorkeling. Other excursions we did were dune boogies for $90 each (worth it), and a Pirate Booze Cruise. There is also a PADI certified water sports shack on the beach...there you can set up snorkeling tours andeven get poolcertified for SCUBA. I am certified but my girlfriend is not, however, she was able to train in the pool for an hour, then we booked a 2-dive day trip to Catalina Island, which also included a beach lunch of pork, chicen, and lobster (at an additional fee). She received special attention from the Divemasters on her first dive, and was on her own the 2nd. Very cool option, $185 each. Food: The food is all in all not bad. There are 2 buffets that are open for all meals. They are the only breakfast options. We found the breakfast food better the earlier we ate. The fruit is amazingly sweet and fesh, as are the vegetables. Eggs, Milk and meats not so much, at the buffets at least. For dinner, however, there are 4 restaurant options at this resort, and none require reservations: seafood, italian, fondue, and tex-mex. All are decent, but needless to say seafood is the best. All require closed toe shoes and long slacks/jeans for men. There are 2 adjacent Princess resorts that most people's wristbands had access to. You have the option of dining at any of those restaurants, so long as you make the reservations a day ahead of time. Those restaurants include Italian, Mexican (excellent), Dominican (disappointing), Brazilian (okay), and Chinese. Ultimately, there is food enough for everyone to eat. Lunch options are buffet only; however, every 3 days they do a beach BBQ that is phenomenal. Service: Most employees are friendly, which sets a hotel apart from its competition. There were a few with whom we were unimpressed, but ultimately the service exceeded expectations. As I said, if you tip, you will see the reward. The same employees work 6 days a week and rotate throughout the different bars and restaurants, so they see you a lot and vice versa. We tipped regularly to those that served us well, and we could see the repercussions of such tipping. The last night, we were brough an off-the-menu fresh lobster plate from one of the primary servers with whom we had communicated the previous 6 days. Tipping, of course, is not necessary being that the resort is all-inclusive. But I recommend it. Just like bartenders, servers, cooks and housekeepers in the American service industry, these people support work for and appreciate tips. Have fun! I am an experienced all-inclusive traveler, and I'll be honest—it will be difficult for me to book with any other hotel if I ever rerturn to Punta Cana.


112 of 112 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 2, 2016
LOVED this place!

Punta Cana Princess was a FABULOUS choice for our vacation. We stayed for 6 days/5 nights in late January 2016. We were four, adult women who went for a getaway vacation away from cold New England. The restaurant food was good (not great). Stick with the buffet if you have a sensitive tummy. The food there IS great. Try the other restaurants in the sister resorts, too. The shuttle runs all day/night. The rooms were pristine... clean and beautiful. Our Building 4 room looked over the pool and was a short walk to the beach. Love the turn-down service! The activities put on by The Animation Team were on-going 18 hours a day. If you want to join in, feel free! ALWAYS a good time - especially the bubble-filled pool party! But, if you don't, you're not bugged to do so. The beach is SO peaceful. And the ever-pleasant Jose will keep your drink glass full right on the beach! But the best part of PCP (and you'll read this everywhere) is THE PEOPLE. From the maidstaff to the bartenders; from the grounds crew to guest services.... every, single staff member does their very best to make everyone happy. "Hola!" and a smile will happen literally dozens of times every day. Your wrist band identifies your country of origin. At first, I thought this was a "profiling" thing and got a little miffed, to be honest. But then, I realized that when you approach a staff member, they KNOW which language in which to address you. Also, when you see others with your color, you can speak to them freely in your own language. It's actually a pretty smart thing to do... There are SO MANY return guests here (this was our first time) because this resort is the absolute BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK in the Dominican Republic. We WILL be back... :)


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Amherst, NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2012
Not very impressed

I was disappointed with this resort and am disappointed that Cheapcaribbean would recommend this resort to their customers. The food was absolutely terrible!!! The fruit they served was even bad....how do you mess fruit up!? The 24 hour snack bar closes for many hours at a time, so you really have to eat when they say, not when you want. We missed lunch and didn't get to eat until 7pm, so we were pretty hungry the first day. The staff was unfriendly, and very rude at times. I only came across 3 employees who were friendly to us. The rooms smelled really bad like mold the entire time we were there. My room kept losing power and it was so hot without AC, and they just kept coming back to fix it instead of changing our room. The toilet in my brothers room broke and the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking water all over. They did not have the bar open on their beach and didn't offer drink service on the beach or at the pool like the other resorts I have been to. The bar in the pool was nice but only one bar tender at a time, so in order to avoid waiting 20 mins for a drink you would have to go to a different bar for drinks. We also requested a room with a view of the pool or ocean and the view was of nothing but trees :( Not a deal breaker but still. The 24 hour all inclusive room service was terrible, the first two nights there they wouldn't even answer the phones, which was a problem with the other guests as well. The menu only offered 3 items that were included, the rest of the items had an additional fee. The drinks were ok, except that they only made a few select drinks. I asked for something other than the drinks listed on the menu and they declined. The liquor they used was fine, but they had better brands but always refused to serve them. They would say "oh I don't have any right now," or send us to one of the other bars. The non motorized equipment that was included was always broken or in use because they only had two of everything. They only had two pairs of snorkeling gear, for a resort that has over 500 guest rooms. It really didn't feel like an all inclusive vacation. The entertainment was not very good, and they didn't have things going on nightly, they rotated entertainment between their other sister resorts. The only thing we really enjoyed was the beach. The sand was beautiful, but the seaweed was so thick on the beach, they didn't really clean as often as they should. I would never go back to this resort, especially for the price.


69 of 84 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2013
Great stay!

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The beach was fantastic!!! Wake up early and claim your spot under a hut...well worth it. Although we did not spend much time at the pool it was nice. The room was adequate...we were not looking for anything fancy since we wanted to spend most of the time on the beach. The food was OK for all inclusive. We liked the buffet because it had more options. The omelets at breakfast were our favorite!!! I can't say enough how friendly the staff was. They were always wanting to help you whenever you needed something. I liked how they always looked like they enjoyed what they were doing too-always dancing and singing!!!! The only thing that turned us off was they locked us out of our room the night before we left and left a survey under the door. We immediately went to the desk and the woman told us it's all set just fill this survey out and bring it when you check out. Really??? You lock someone out of their room for a survey? It was not about the bill because we did not charge anything to the room and owed nothing. I just found that strange!!!! I would recommend this hotel. They treat you well and it's a great value and a beautiful beach! We would go again!!!!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 5, 2017
Nice spot

Decent food options, and at this particular resort, you don't have to make reservations to eat. If you leave and go to a sister resort (which you have access to) You do need reservations. I was staying in a platinum suite. Very nice, and clean. Cleaned and made up with new towels daily. The "mini bar" was stocked daily with a 1.5 liter water, a couple bottles of coke and sprite and 3 bottle of budweiser. There was also a bottle of dominican rum in the room to have. There are a lot of free options for room service as well (included with all inclusive) and it runs 24 hours. Everyone working there is nice, plenty of bars, beach is beautiful. I really enjoyed myself.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 27, 2017
Punta Cana Princess - LOVE IT! A must go to place

This was my 2nd time to Punta Cana Princess (which I just found out is part of the Princess Cruise Lines). The people who work at the resort are very friendly and accomodating. When we arrived at the resort I had asked for a 1st level/floor suite. It was a beautiful suite and the view was good but I actually prefer the 2nd floor. Ramone at the front desk called and asked me how I like the room (the one I picked out) and I said it was good. He said he wanted to make sure I had the best vacation and wanted to make sure all was good. I told him I had asked for the first floor but kind of think I would prefer the 2nd floor. He sent someone right over to show me another room and it was perfect for what I was looking for! Beautiful view of the pool area and ocean. They even waited for me to pack my things back up and they brought it all to the other room. Outstanding customer service and I cannot say this enough! Alexander in guest services. If you have any questions about anything or need anything from the pharmacy, transportation, reservations or even rum he is your man! He is so helpful and just did everything with ease. Luis. Oh, Luis! Big hugs everytime he saw us. Asked us if we needed anything. Very sweet man and also very helpful with anything we needed including rum punch! Jose my friend. Jose is the best bartender you will find on the beach. He will have another drink delivered to you just as you are about to finish your last one. Room cleaning. The ladies who clean the rooms do an excellet job and put little touches such as rose petals around the jacuzzi tub or flowers on your night stand. Room was very clean. Food: 5 restaurants on the property and you can also go to the sister resorts and go to their restaurants. We were happy with our choices at PCP so we mainly ate onsite.Nice buffets with lots to choose from or if you prefer, there are 4 other sit down restaurants for dinner.Animation: Can't forget about the animation team! They have activities al day on the beach and pool and nightly enterntainment whether it's a beach dance party or live band or a show. All excellent! Beach. OMG the Beach! You could walk for miles and miles on the beach. Beautiful water and nice sand. We spent many days on the beach or walking the beach. When you book excursions be sure to book them inside the resort lobby area or throuigh Cheap Carribean. Do not put excursions from anyone on the beach.

My friend Jose View from our Suite
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 18, 2013
very relaxing resort

This was our 2nd time at this resort. It might not be for the younger crowd who want a non stop party, but for folks like us who just want to kick back and relax this is the perfect place. The staff are terrific, there was never a wait for food, the rooms are huge and the drinks are plentiful. No issues with finding chairs on the beach. The vendors can be annoying but a firm NO is all they need to leave.you alone. We will be returning next year.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: bowie MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2015
Good Vacation

Overall it was a good vacation, we (my beau and I) went over the Thanksgiving holiday(4 days). Booking thru CheapCaribbean we were upgraded to VIP, this was worth it. You got top shelf liquor, compared to the local stuff, plus VIP seating on the beach. You do need to learn basic Spanish before going because most employees only speak it. We did find the manager Paola, she was great. Ask for her if possible, she always has the correct information and get you where you need to go. The food at the resort was buffet and just average, a lot of choices but nothing excellent. Take advantage of the specialty restaurants on and on the sister properties. Worth it and they are free of charge. Also CheapCaribbean price matches so if you find a better deal be sure to write it down and mention while booking. Don't get the included transfers just cab it from the airport to resort, was about $40 each way total. The rooms were fine, there isn't much privacy with the bathroom/shower, just a frosted door. Could be a problem for roommates. If you run into Luis the room attendant, just give him a dollar to make him stop talking and you won't see him again. Also the bartenders love tips, $1 a drink is sufficient. I would go back to this place.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Toledo, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2016
An honest review by a satisfied customer...

I want to start out by mentioning that I read the horror stories that are posted online about Cheap Caribbean.... Our vacation experience was nothing like the stories we read. When planning, just BE SMART (call hotel and airline to confirm close to trip, be prepared with all of your vouchers, research hotels on their website before booking, use an airline you trust, etc.). We booked an all-inclusive trip to the Dominican Republic for May 2016. Booking online was easy and we applied our flights and transportation to the package, saving us money and making things very smooth upon arrival and departure. Then I read the horror stories.... reviews online are not in favor of Cheap Caribbean. So I called the airline, the resort, and the transportation company to confirm all of my information about my stay. This was about a week prior to leaving. I encountered no issues, but I would suggest doing this to everyone who books an all-inclusive, just to be sure! On the day of arrival, we easily found the transportation company at the airport (BE CAUTIOUS OF OTHERS OFFERING RIDES IN THE AIRPORT) and they very quickly and smoothly checked our name off the list, grabbed our bags, and escorted us to our shared van (air conditioned!). We were the last couple to be dropped off, but our day was not negatively affected by that, we just got to see more of D.R. Check-in at the hotel was easy (WITH OUR VOUCHER), however, we arrived about 2 hours prior to being able to get into our room. This was okay because free wifi is offered in the lobby and the buffet was open until our rooms were ready. We spend time checking out the grounds of the resort, which are absolutely stunning (see photo). Once our rooms were ready, our bags were delivered to us. This took a little longer than I had hoped for, waiting an extra hour to get down to the beach. Rooms were wonderful! Exactly like what is shown in the picture with luxurious yet comfortable accommodations. Mini-bar and room service included in our all-inclusive package. We were also greeted by a staff member who offered us free cigars and a bottle of rum (a nice welcome!). The beach property that the Princess offers has beautifully clean and white sand, clear ocean views, and two types of chair options (see photo). We found open chairs every day (and for a party of 6!) and there is staff who will assist in finding and moving chairs to accommodate your party. The bar is located right on the beach along with activities run by hotel staff (volleyball, dance lessons, archery, boccie ball, table tennis, etc.). Use caution on the beach -- activities are also offered by companies other than the hotel, which is not insured by the hotel (use at own risk). The water was clear except for seaweed on the day it rained. (Side note: The weather for the week we were in D.R. showed storms every day and it only stormed over night and one day. It is likely to sprinkle every day, but don't be put-off by the weather app on your phone. The sun shines every day in the Caribbean). For our trip, we spent the morning by the beach and the afternoons by the pool. The pool is absolutely the high point for the Princess Resort (see photo). Clean and clear water, a swim-up full-service bar, countless activities and entertainment, two chair options, and great staff. We were very impressed by the up-keep and management of the pool and its activities. There was always music and activities and one day there was a FOAM PARTY, which was very neat. Food: For lunch, we ate at one of the two buffet options each day. The buffets are not like any other buffet you've had before. Each day has a theme and the food is spectacular. We particularly enjoyed the omelet station for breakfast and the pasta station for lunch and dinner. These were made-to-order stations where you picked what you wanted and it was made right in front of you. The buffet has plenty of seating and more options to eat than you could ever complete (All delicious!). There were 4 restaurants on the resort other than the buffets. It is also an option to visit sister resorts (free transportation provided), but we chose not to explore that option. We tried only one of the options on our resort (the Tex-Mex), and while the food was what I would call "just-good," the sit down dinner was a different experience than the buffet. We were the first people to be seated for dinner service and we were still there for about an hour and a half. After that, we didn't stray away from our beloved buffet food, simply because we were enjoying the ease of the meal, that matched the vacation we were looking to have. We ate the late-night room service one night, and it was very quick and just as delicious. On day two, we were given an informational session from the company that serviced our transportation. This was to confirm our trip back to the airport, as well as to give us the "do's and don'ts" of the resort. I recommend attending this to all that have it available to them. She gave us helpful information as well as safety tips, letting us know what would be different about the sun exposure, food, and water in D.R. compared to what we are used to at home. We found this all incredibly helpful. Day time activities: One thing I found disappointing about the trip was the cost of excursions. Many were offered and they looked exciting, but the prices were incredibly high for what we had already paid to be at the resort. Because of this, we did not partake in any of the spa or excursions offered. Night activities: Each night, some sort of entertainment is offered in the lobby. During our stay, these included a live band, a comedy show, a circus night, and a Michael Jackson sing-along night. We did our best to attend these activities, but most of them started at 9:30 pm, when we were already exhausted by our full day in the sun. What we did attend was very fun and entertaining. The entertainment staff is definitely the best I have ever encountered. Departure: Our day of the departure went just as smoothly as our arrival. We got to the lobby earlier than our pick-up time, just to be safe. To our surprise, so did our transportation. They were easy to locate and we were the only travelers in our shared transportation, which was also nice. Our driver explained the airport to us and dropped us each at our respectable terminals. I would definitely recommend the Princess Resort and booking through Cheap Caribbean. But as I have stressed, BE SMART about your vacation. We were so pleased with our stay. See my photo below for views of the beach, resort grounds, and pool!

Princess Resort Punta Cana: Beach, Resort Grounds, and Pool
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Georgia
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2015
Exceeded ALL Expectations

To be honest with you all, this was our first trip to an all-inclusive, so we are unable to compare to other resorts. Speaking with guests from other resorts, our opinion is everyone has different expectations. Saying that, my wife and I would recommend this resort and will go back. We were looking for a smaller resort, adults only, 4 or 5 eating options and a good time. The staff from arrival to departure, sunrise to sunset were all VERY pleasant and accommodating. I wish I can remember all the staff names, a bid KUDOS to Luisa, our favorite bartender. Yes, we did have a few room issues that were taken care of within 10 minutes. In other reviews, we read negativity about seaweed, well there is seaweed in the ocean, our beach was cleaned every morning to clear the seaweed. Restaurants/bars: service, cleanliness and food was exceptional. In closing, from years of vacationing in the states, it's difficult to have a perfect vacation, this past week was PERFECT.

Exceeded ALL Expectations Exceeded ALL Expectations
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Apex, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year