All

Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort and Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 17 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.8 out of 5
"Great experience and service, the hotel is a bit outdated but who cares you are in paradise!!!!" – M4Montalvo
14 out of 19 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Pueblo Bonito Rose Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 17 reviews. Sort by
April 27, 2011
Tip well and you'll have a good trip.

My sister and I recently took a 7 day, 6 night vacation to Cabo and we stayed at Pueblo Bonito Rose. The rooms were very nice and room service was excellent. We chose to go with the all inclusive package and found many benefits and draw backs to all inclusive. The benefits were that the the food was excellent, in certain restaurants. We loved Cilantro's at PB Blanco. They serve up the best fillet mignon I've eaten in a long time. Rose's sushi bar had some good sushi rolls. I really appreciated the spicy tuna roll. I wasn't a fan of some of the appetizers though. The shrimp cocktail was chopped up shrimp mixed with a bowl of cocktail sauce. There was so much cocktail sauce that you couldn't appreciate the shrimp. I think that Rose's location was perfect for our trip. It's only three doors down from some fun beach side bars, such as the Mango and the Office. It's only a 5-10 minute walk from downtown, and a $10 cab ride to main dock. The service at Pueblo Bonito Rose was good, as long as the staff knew that you tipped well. Even though my sister and I had all inclusive, we found that we had to tip extra well in order to have the servers serve us well. If you didn't hand the servers a good tip, you wouldn't see them for up to an hour sometimes. We would sit on the beach or by the pool and wonder when our server was coming back. We did tip really well at the beach front bar and the staff would remember us and serve us well. We ended up each tipping around $150 each for an entire weeks worth of tipping at Rose. I found it frusterating that you had to sign a bill everytime you needed to leave a bar or restaurant. Even though we were all inclusive, we had to wait up to a half hour sometimes to get our bill to sign it. I figured that if Pueblo Bonito Rose staff had our room number and our all inclusive braclet numbers, then we should be able to get up and leave after drinking on the beach or eating at a restaurant. Nothing was ever a 'quick drink' or a 'quick snack/meal' before going out for the day. We ended up buying breakfast at the deli two different mornings because we didn't want to have to wait for the staff to get around to having us sign our bill, or having to wait to order our morning coffee's. If you don't have any plans, then waiting is just fine and kind of nice, but don't expect prompt service. Although the service wasn't quick and prompt, everyone was very friendly at the resort and we found a lot of servers that were our 'favorite!' After being at the resort for 3 days, the computer system started flagging us as customers that had only paid for 3 days of all inclusive. We paid for all inclusive for our full stay, so on 3 different occasions the wait staff made me walk all the way to the main lobby to clarify my reservations with the front desk. After clarifying with the front desk, I would have to walk all the way back to the restaurant or bar and sign my bill. When I checked out, there were many meals and drinks that were charged to my account and the staff had to remove them because I was all inclusive. I never ended up paying extra, and the Rose staff was very nice to me, but I found it frusterating and annoying that I had to keep dealing with computer gliches that they were experiencing. Overall, Rose was a nice resort and I enjoyed my time there. As a younger person (I'm 26 and my sister is 24), I would suggest a different resort with younger people. Rose had a lot of returning customers that were couples in their 50's-70's. There were also a lot of families at the resort. They had activities at the pool to keep kids entertained and there was even a more shallow end of the pool for kids. The Rose resort bars and restaurants are not open past 11pm, so if you want to stay out late then you head downtown. The resort is very quiet at night and security keeps the resort safe. Room service is open until 2AM, and if you're all inclusive it's only a $5 charge for room service. Even though you pay $5, you can order whatever you want on the menu. We found it fun to order breakfast and sometimes late night meals to the room. They will only bring you a limited amount of alcohol with each delivery, but it is excellent service. Room service is delivered quickly (actually more quickly than the service is in the bars, restaurants, or on the beach), and many of the food items are very tasty! We had a lot of fun at PB Rose. My only thing that I would do different was that I would only pay for a couple days of all inclusive because then you feel like you have to stay at the resort and eat/drink your money's worth and you feel bad leaving to pay for a meal or drinks outside of the resort.


195 of 200 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 24, 2013
Last day treatment ruined whole experience. . . .

I have stayed at many all inclusive resorts all over Mexico and have never experienced a situation as we did our last day at Bonita Rose. I was traveling with my family of 7 people and on our last day we asked the front desk if we could leave our bags with them, and while we waited the 2 hours before leaving for the airport we planned to go have a leisurely lunch. With our all inclusive bracelets still on, we proceeded to Cilantros restaurant for lunch. We all ordered and the waiter came back and said " you have been cut off" . Frustrated, embarrassed and hungry we asked how much if we paid cash. We were told $40. We asked numerous times to confirm this price and we were reassured. The bill came and the total was $195.00 USD! This whole afternoon left a bad taste in our mouths for the Rose and all agreed we will not return.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Placerville, Ca
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 11, 2014
Pueblo Bonito Rose

First trip to Cabo. All very simple. Direct flight from Denver (2 1/2 hours). Had arranged transport to the hotel through Cheap Caribbean so we avoided all the "sharks" at the Cabo airport (and saved a lot of money over taking an airport cab). About a 30-40 minutes to the hotel in a nice air conditioned van. The service at the PB Rose was very good and while the dining options were limited (two main restaurants between the Rose and Blanco) the food was good. The rooms were comfortable, air conditioning worked well (the fans are somewhat noisy but this provides some good "white" noise for sleeping). Visited for a week over the Labor Day Holiday so the resort was fairly quiet - never had a ploblem with getting a pool side chair or a seat at dinner. The hotel sits right on the beach with an easy walk to the marina (15 minutes down the beach or 10 minutes via some side roads). Used Cabo-Adventures.com for some excursion (snorkeling, ziplining, swim with dolphins) - good company who picks you up right at the hotel - all very easy - we booked all of this on-line before our trip. One recommendation: when you check in to the hotel you will be asked to visit the Pueblo Bonito Sunset Resort in exchange for vouchers and/or a tour. This is a time share presentation to sell you a timeshare at the Sunset. We received $150 worth of vouchers and a sunset cruise from the marina. Hold out for more money! Like all timeshare presentations it's a hard sell but you get a free breakfast out of the deal and can then hang out at the sunset resort.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 25, 2012
time share at airport

When you get off the plane you look for the bright orange shirts and Khaki pants. Unfortunatley it is confusing. You are looking for your transportation and have to go through at least 2 people at desks that you think are your transportation and they are time share people. Very annoying. When you check into the hotel they direct you to a lady who has a welcome package for you and it is also a time share person. Once you make it clear you are not interested, it is ok and we were left alone the rest of the trip. VERY hot in July. Take the 6.00 cab to town. Rooms were great and spacious and have nice kitchenettes.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Gatos, Ca.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 20, 2014
Over priced for value received

This resort is OVERRATED. Beds were awful, pillows were VERY lumpy. It was very clean. Service in the restaurants/bar was non existent. The free shows were no better than a high school talent show. Will not recommend.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Bellingham, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 14, 2015
Time to find a new spot

The resort was well maintained, but, lacked good food and the service was bad at best. The attention to detail and frequency of staff visiting was not good. We went there expecting the same service we have received in years past at Pueblo Bonito's resorts. Just not there. The maids were timely and very thorough. We had to service ourselves 95% of the time. Modano beach was good, but the Rose disappointed. Food was the main disappointment. Birds flying and fesces.....feeding out of the plates on the buffet line. As stated, time to find a new place.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Great resort, Not a good option for Alcohol

This resort was great, it had a beautiful pool, and a great beach. A lot of kids, but it wasn't an adult only resort so we weren't too surprised. Our stay was a short, so the food didn't get old but if we were there any longer, it seems the food would get pretty repetitive. My biggest complaint was that the alcohol was all watered down. We were there for a bachelorette party, and had several drinks, but did not feel any effects of the alcohol, even when we asked for shots. Everything else was great at this resort, but would not consider it inclusive of alcohol since it's basically water.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, ca
Age: 25-34

September 26, 2016
Beach

You must be a goo swimmer to swim I this beach. The water is very deep and the currents will drift you back to the ocean. The food is low quality, the room is very small and the beds and pillows are very old. The pool isnartow and vey old, noisy and crowded. For sure not a family place. This was my first time in Cabo and my last time. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.


4 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 20, 2016
A lovely resort

We booked an all-inclusive 5-day vacation at Pueblo Bonito Rose through Cheap Caribbean and we got a great deal. We were looking for something affordable and relaxing for my husband and I and our two 15-year-old boys. The Rose was perfect for us. If you're looking for an entirely updated super-luxury resort, this isn't it. If you're looking for a great location with great service and comfortable rooms, then you can't go wrong here. Check in was quick and easy. There was a brief push to take a time-share tour at another resort, but we weren't interested. If just having someone ask bugs you, then you have really thin skin. It was no big deal at all and no pressure. We had a junior suite for the four of us. It was roomy, clean, and comfortable. I was worried that the beds were listed as "double" and would be too small. But I think they were actually bigger than standard US double size- maybe they were what we call queen-sized. There was a balcony with a nice view of the pool and a narrow ocean view. The food was above average for an all-inclusive. Some good, some not-so-good, but plenty of choices and we didn't have any trouble finding things we liked. I think the best food we had was at the Mexican Fiesta night at the Blanco resort that's adjacent to the Rose. The show there was good too. We had no complaints at all about the Grill, the Sushi, or the buffet. The pool was large and lovely- the perfect temperature. There were plenty of lounge chairs. The grounds were lush and very well-maintained. The service was really quite good- I was worried about that given some of the reviews that I read here. The entire staff though was very friendly and available for whatever we needed. During lunch time, it took awhile for the orders to come out- but seriously folks, you have the Sea of Cortez right in front you- just relax and enjoy it! My husband and I brought about $90 US in singles and were generous with the tips. I think the staff really appreciated it. We travel a fair bit and a resort vacation generally isn't our thing, but the Rose was perfect for what we were looking for this time.


4 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 1, 2016
Just OK

Here's my honest review: For this to be the ONLY swimmable beach in Cabo, the sand was extremely course. The beds were comfortable and I enjoyed having a kitchenette. A few things that I didn't like were that the bath towels were very rough and also found that the maids forgot to restock the washcloths regularly. I also wish that we had been given robes as other resort chains offer. It would have been nice to have a swim up bar however that waiters are extremely helpful and pool service is great. The food options are extremely limited, however the BLT's at the Deli/Mart are the best! My biggest critiques which by far annoyed me the most were that facts that we had to wait to sign "the bill" after every meal /drink which became extremely cumbersome considering we were all inclusive guests. Not sure what the point of having different colored wrist bands if we still had to wait to sign the bills. Lastly, the most annoying thing was the fact that we NEVER had our drinks before or even during our meal at the buffet. The waiters (no matter) which section we were seated in never greeted us or even offered us water until we were almost done eating our food. This is never acceptable! I tried to get my own drink after waiting as long as I could take to be acknowleged, but the bartender insisted that I ask my waiter. I will say that the highlight of this resort is the Spa! Absolutely nothing bad to say about the service or the quality there.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year