All

Presidential Suites Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 502 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
4.0
3.9 out of 5
"This resort is exceptional with the most spacious rooms and lovely decor. Very good drinks and beach service. Secure facilities with minimal vendor intrusions." – NCVAC
428 out of 558 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The beach Room door after repair Beautiful beach view View from our balcony Beach and ocean Beach area Beach Cocktail hour Walked the beach & found this beauty! Broken elevator Sun - Sand - ocean what else do u need?? Castelina & I! She was one of the entertainment workers & was awesome! Our trip to the Natural Pool PS beach pool at resort Roach.. I killed 2 out of 3 On the beach Presidential suites punta cana Bathroom door The bedroom I stayed in Beach Pool area PS bedroom Beach may 2015 Punta Cana Bar My last day. View while having my last breakfast at Decadence. Beach party and bubbles Beach at Presidential Suites, Punta Cana, DR Our view Early in the morning Sunset Edgar is the man! At dinner Punta Cana On the beach Room Robinson and Manuel Crystal clear water Relaxing day at the beach Fabulous Beach Amazing rooftop! NO WORRIES Beach cabanas

All Presidential Suites Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 502 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2014
This place is NOT a resort, a scam in disguise

After seeing an incredibly cheap price for the Presidential Suites in Punta Cana I decided to research if this place was any good. After some deliberation my husband and I decided to book this trip and take a chance. After arriving in Punta Cana we arrived at Presidential Suites to see a small condo-like complex. The whole "resort" is two condo complexes with pools in between them, two small restaurants and a small bar, and about a 100 meter long stretch of beach with beach chairs cramped in. After our 2 minute tour in a golf cart we went to our room which was in the back of the resort next to the employee entrance. Every morning at 6 a.m. we were woken up by the employees conversation, yelling, parking, etc. When we arrived we asked where the buffet was. The employees all were confused. It was about 6 p.m. and they said there was no buffet that you had to make a reservation at the restaurant between 9 and 10 every morning. We didn't understand this concept having been to all inclusive resorts before and always been offered a buffet option at any hour. After asking 3 or so employees we realized that there was a breakfast buffet from 7-10, a lunch buffet at 12-3, and you needed reservations every day to eat at the restaurant at night, either at 6:30 or 8:30. You were never guaranteed a spot at the restaurant and one night we were almost shut out completely but went and insisted on eating anyway. Their "late night snack menu" ran from 5-11 p.m. but was not open when the restaurants were open, so it didn't make any sense. The buffet options when open were extremely limited. The dinner options at night were the quality of Golden Corral served in gourmet dishes. Also, food was recycled. If you saw a particular food at dinner the night before you would see it at dinner the next day. The menu also never changed. We ate at "Decadence" four times and it was exactly the same menu each time. And once you eat, your room number is carefully recorded and you can't eat there again even if you are hungry. We went to an excursion and came back to dinner at 6:30, ate, then were hungry again at 8:30 but nothing was open- snack bar was closed because of dinner hours. We went to bed hungry that night. The worst part of the trip, however, was the sales pitch that they give to EVERYONE coming to the resort. On the second day we were ushered into the "V.IP." lounge and warmly greeted by a nice local woman. She sat us down, started talking about the Dominican Republic, asked us about our life, family, etc. I was thinking this is so nice but where is it going? After a while I realized that this was no welcome reception but a sales pitch! A sales pitch that lasted over an hour and a half. Once I asked what she wanted exactly she escorted us upstairs to her manager Igor who then began to ask us personal financial questions trying to size us up. He "offered us" packages from $8,000 to $80,000 to become a "V.I.P" in their lifestyles vacation club which meant paying an upfront fee plus a fee for the resort, a fee for all inclusive, and still paying for your own airfare. After doing simple math in my head this "club" was just a huge scam. After saying I wasn't interested a couple times Igor was clearly annoyed and we left, feeling so agitated and uncomfortable. It should also be known that Igor made mention to us that they give these cheap deals to cheap Caribbean type of travel companies so they can use their customers for a "6 out of 10" closing deal. For the remainder of the trip we noticed EVERY incoming guest being ushered in and out of the V.I.P lounge getting the same sales pitch from morning to night. They even had people stationed on the beach to talk to people walking by to come into the resort. I mean following people down the beach and basically annoying everyone they came into contact with. This was so incredibly annoying to watch while we were on the beach. Any time we saw Igor he avoided eye contact with us, which was so unprofessional. Having declined the club our request for a different room because of the noise was declined despite noticing empty rooms. Our reservations in the morning for dinner were delayed having us wait for the V.I.P. members taking priority over ours, even causing us to be bumped out of an initial reservation made. We felt like second class citizens. Despite the lacking of the "resort" we had a good time. The water is beautiful and the sand is white and soft. We enjoyed the shark and sting ray snorkeling trip. My suggestion is if you book this trip look at it as a cheap way to get to Punta Cana and plan meals/excursions elsewhere. If you want the true, relaxing, resort experience spend the extra couple hundred dollars and go to a REAL resort. Lastly, the actual Dominican employees were great! They were very humble and made sure that we had everything we needed once we were in the restaurant or on the beech. We will go back to Punta Cana but never stay at a place like this again and if Cheap Caribbean is going to sell these type of all inclusive deals with vacation clubs like this we will not use them again. Everything was easy like before when we have booked other trips through Cheap Caribbean until we were ushered into their "club". Stay Away! Look at other resorts in that area the land is beautiful!


630 of 647 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 10 Contributor
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 2, 2014
Plusses and minuses

I booked air/land/airport transfers for two thru CC. The air and transfers were fine. The resport property had some notable plusses and minuses. First, I should point out that this is an all-inclusive beach resort, nestled in a long string of other resorts on the coast. There isn't a town there, and going to a beach resort is not my cup of tea to begin with. Booking was easy, the cost affordable, and it was available on short notice. Destinations with a towny feel elsewhere were booked or involved long fligt layovers, so we gave Punta Cana and Presidential Suites a chance. Plusses - very attentive and pleasant staff, excellent food, nice beach and pools, two Sundays and Christmas while here and a church within walking distance. Minuses - a 2BR 2BA apartment with absolutely no hot water for the entire duration of our stay. The water heater was new and there. It just hadn't been conncted properly, and our two requests to the desk for maintenance to put it into service yielded nothing. The resort had just opened under a new concept, maybe new ownership, and many many people staying at the same time we were had a variety of major complaints about their rooms and apartments. It kept the front desk busy with all the people rejecting the accomodations offered, and it kept the maintenance staff busy and looking the least happy of all on-site employees with their punch list that must have had a thousand items on it. Extra daily charge to use the room safe? That was a new one for me in a destination that caters to international travelers.


261 of 271 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 19, 2014
Hi pressure sales pitch !!!!

The resort is clean and located on nice stretch of beech. Service is fantastic with the exception of diner reservations for the two, out of three restaurants. The vacation club members have a first choice, and usually fill the available sits, so the rest of the folks eat in the main restaurant . The food is fresh and rather good. The worst part of the experience is the sales pitch which you, as a" special deal" price package must attend.This very unpleasant experience took four hours of the six day trip, and there is no word of this in trip contract. Bad, bad experience. Be prepared !! All the guests were very upset about it. We intend to seek compensation for the lost time from the booking agency. Besides the above mentioned problem this is a nice place and the value, overall,is good.


75 of 78 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Oxford Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 30, 2015
Great Resort.... minus the constant sales pitches

Overall, great experience. Resort was as expected per research before arriving. The beach was really nice, small, but nice. Pools were also decent. Best part about the beach were the cabana's they had available. Although they reserved many of the nicer beds for people they were pitching sales to that day. Food and dining options were subpar compared to other resort chains. Water went out for approx. 3 hours during our stay and elevator was out of service at least once a day (we opted for the stairs as we didn't want to get stuck in the small, cramped elevator). Staff was attentive, but the culture is just so much more laid back and slow in the Dominican. They will serve you better if you tip. Tips are both accepted and EXPECTED; which is only fair if you are being waited on.... but this did put us back about a 100$ over a 5 day period. The only reason I would consider NOT visiting the resort again is due to the sales pitches... We dodged a bullet for the first few days we were there (laid low) but as soon as they realized they hadn't pitched us a VIP & Timeshare they were on us like white on rice. I am a very direct person and immediately advised them not to waste their time because I wont bite. They continued to pester us daily, over the next 3 days and gave me attitude as I'd cut them off right away telling them to save their breath. Yes, I could have been nicer about it. But they too could have taken my first several "no's" and allowed me to better enjoy my vacation. Overall, it was a great place... minus the sales people at every turn and food options that could have been better and available during longer periods.


49 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rockford, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 21, 2014
Customer Service = 2 Thumbs Up!

My husband and I are both 31, and we visited Presidential Suites in Punta Cana in January of 2014. We paid for a 1 bedroom suite; however, we got a 2 bedroom. This was especially nice so that we could take showers at the same time (the master shower was kind of small for the 2 of us to fit at one time) - one in the master, and the other in the 2nd bathroom. The suite was super roomy; however, we did not spend much time in the room - we just showered and slept there. There IS free wi-fi in the rooms. We were pleasantly surprised by this. The food was delicious... breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks. We had the fillet several times during our stay, and each time it melted in our mouths. The wait staff was phenomenal. We loved that there were waiters outside on the beach from morning til night. Our favorite beach-side waiters were Domingo and Arismendi. They were fabulous. Our favorite drinks are the Banana Mamita and Planter's Punch. Yum! The beach... wow. The beach furniture sets the Presidential Suites apart from every other surrounding resort. People would walk past our resort up and down the beach and stop to ask questions about it because it looks so magnificent. My husband and I LOVED laying out on the beach in the beds provided. It was the most comfortable we have ever been while laying out. We enjoyed the nightlife (although it was not nearly as lively as larger resorts) - karaoke, dance parties, concerts. If you're looking for a large nightlife, this may not be the place for you; however, we love smaller, quieter resorts. So this was perfect for us. We would definitely stay at the Presidential Suites Punta Cana again.


97 of 104 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Germantown, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2015
Roaches. Khaki Shirts. Ground Transportation.

Title got your attention didn't it? I will address each one. But first.... I researched the heck out of this place before booking with Cheapcaribbean (CC) and was NOT disappointed. However, there were some questions I had beforehand, so I will try to address those and each issue. Arrival: If you booked ground transportation through CC, report to the Amstar desk after customs. Most likely you will be on a bus with a bunch of other folks, but PS was the first stop on our bus. 45 minute ride. Someone will probably come on the bus and say "Welcome to Punta Cana!"... and offer you a beer. $5 a bottle. Your call. Roaches: The resort is very, very clean and well taken care of. We had a couple of roaches in our room but we chalked this up to the tropical environment. Tips: $1 here goes a long way. We tipped $2 for bags, $1 for every round of drinks or so and did not tip at buffet meals. Service: The service at PS is exceptional. Of particular mention are Luisa, Sammy, and Theodoro. We stuck with Luisa the most of the trip, whether she was at the beach or the pool. We would tip well in the morning ($5 or so) and had good service the entire day. Cabanas/ Beach lounges: First come, first serve BUT they still reserve a few. Tip the towel fella well and he will "reserve" you a bed or chairs, etc. Food/Drink: The food is very good. Each night the buffet has a different theme. I found the seafood night to be the best. Times are posted on your restaurant sheet. If staying 5 nights, you have two reservations. I would show up at your appointment time and make reservations. We used both at Kimonos (but only used one, long story) and did not go to Basil Tomatoes. We are not big Italian fans, and the reviews were better on the Japanese. Drinks: Favorite- Sammy Sosa (mix of pina colada, strawberry daiquri, and blue curacao). Drinks are not very strong so if you want them strong, request an extra shot. They will also fill up your own cup. Entertainment: After spending full days in the sun, we did not partake in the evening's festivities.However, the beach activities during the day were nice (volleyball, spanish lessons, dance contest, foam party). Excursion wise, we did not book through the resort, we booked through blue sky. We paid $45 for a party boat but most likely would do this again. The flying inflatable raft (for which I am sure there is a more proper name) and the daredevil boat looked neat. Khaki Shirts: If you are not interested in buying a timeshare DO NOT talk to these folks. They will try any method possible for you sit down for "10 minutes". It was not worth a vip wristband for us to do this... one extra bar or something like that. These folks also pull people off the beach, who at times, were very ticked once they left the resort. If you are interested, great. If not, AVOID them and be very direct. Wifi: Access it spotty, dont count on it. $60 for access for the week. Safe: Definetely recommend. $20 Overall, GREAT resort and great vacation. If you do not know any Spanish, you will be fine. If you know a little, even better. Enjoy :)


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dalton, GA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 16, 2015
Fantastic Stay

What a great value, great rooms, service was top of the tree, from the front desk, room, restaurants, beach and the host and hostesses on the beach. upon arrival, we were served champagne with a toast, check in was quick, and straight to room to change and head to the beach. We got on the beach and stayed there until night fall. As we said the entire staff were very accommodating. I will recommend this to anyone. Presidential Suites resort did a great job making us feel welcomed and did a great job of it. Thank you all, we will be back.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cornelius, NC
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 29, 2016
Do not recommend

Presidential Suites is mediocre at best. While some of the service people, mainly at the buffet were nice and helpful (we did tip after every meal, I don't know how the experience was for those who did not tip), and our suite was large an comfortable, the overall experience was not what we expected. This place is not in Punta Cana itself, the "resort" is located in between a neighborhood street and a hotel that was in construction or being remodeling at the time of our stay. So our balcony view was to a construction site. The whole place is very small, it takes about a 2 minte walk from the entrance to the beach; there is a restaurant/casino (we did not go in there), one bar by the beach, a small locale for a Japanese food restaurant (accommodates about 20 people and the one time we were there the smoke from the grill was suffocating). The "Italian restaurant" is about 5 tables that are set outside the main restaurant, which is a buffet, every evening. There is a small spa (I got a basic pedicure and had to lift my legs and put it on the pedicurist lap for her to work), with a "convenience store" inside which consists of a glass shelf with basic items such as aleve and sunblock. The worst part was the sales. We didn't care the place didn't have a dance club and multiple bars because our intent was to relax on the beach (there is not much more to do anyway). The morning after our arrival, employees were waiting for us right outside the buffet and told us this other person was going to take us to an "orientation meeting". I immediately asked if that was a sales meeting, and the man said absolutely not, we just want to give you your welcome gift and to tell you where everything is. Sure enough was a sales pitch. They take you to a lounge that has 5 or 6 tables, and a very insistent sales person tries to sell you their $16,000 membership. It took us 45 minutes of polite -and finally not so polites "NO THANK YOU" and NOT INTERESTED to be able to get away. Then at the beach the sales person from the spa harassed us and at the lobby, the person selling excursions. On top of that, they allow vendors in their property who set tables right on the way to the beach. Since the place is so small and there is no alternate walk to the beach, you have to walk by these people who are aggressive merchants. To top it even more, this hotel does not have a private beach, so when we ventured a walk on the beach, there are lots of vendors trying to lure you to their stores (right next door from the beach are the back doors of multiple stores that can also be accessed by foot if you leave the tiny resort). There are also women offering you to braid your hair and "special" massages. We didn't ask what makes it special. The harassment from vendors inside the hotel and all along the beach (which is a public beach, so as you walk you will see multiple other hotels). Another guest told us he purchased a fishing trip from an outside business and on the day he was supposed to go, Presidential Suites personnel did not allow the shuttle to drive in to pick up the guest, who was waiting in the lobby, unaware the shuttle was there to pick him up. Another guest told us that on his first morning there, a fixture in his room fell on his head and he started bleeding profusely. He went to the lobby to complain about it, still holding a bloody paper towel to his face and one of the workers told him to follow him. Thinking he was going to get medical attention, he followed the man who took the guest to the lounge to the "welcome" sales pitch. I could not find a mailbox to send postcards back to the US, when I asked the receptionist at the lobby she told me she would mail them for me. The recipients never got them, so my guess is that my postcards were just discarded. The food is OK. It's not great, or anything out of the ordinary. We spent 5 days there and was no really much variety. The breakfast food was the worst, in my opinion. If you venture out (beware of vendors) there are a few small bodegas and local restaurants, but we did not try any. We asked what is there to do around and we were told that about 3 times a day a shuttle goes to the hotel and takes people to nearby shopping centers. The beach is rather small but they have beds with side tables and some have curtains you can close to have some shade and also a few lounge chairs. A couple of waitresses walk around taking drink orders and they bring them to you. If you pick a bed too close to the water though, the beach vendors will try to get your attention. We are never going back there. Friends told us about other resorts with private beaches, no vendors on site or on the beach, and no membership sales harassment. I would not recommend this place.


37 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 30, 2016
Worst Trip I've taken

Apparently the very long and detailed post I had about how awful this place was somehow violated Cheap Caribbeans policy. UGH Long story short I would never go back here or use cheap caribbean again Pros: Nice beach Cons: everything else this is a timeshare and you will spend a good deal of time in a presentation. Room Service Hard sales from resort and they didn't keep the scalpers away resort promised to change our room but everyday we went back to get it changed they said we had to wait "one more day"

Worst Trip I've taken Worst Trip I've taken
25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 16, 2014
Must Read

Prior to my wife and I arrived at Presidential Suites Punta Cana I had read reviews about the front desk not being very helpful and rude. But when we arrived it couldn't be further from the truth they answered every question we had and seemed very nice. The suites are very spacious and nice. The beach was beautiful, but too much sea weed was floating around to really enjoy it. There are a lot of cabanas and beach chairs to choose from. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The cocktails from the bar were nice. The food was mediocre, on the buffet the dishes didn't have a label. The dinner menu was the same the whole week. One night there was a cool Michael Jackson show. Overall its a small, quiet, laid back atmosphere. more like an apartment complex than a resort in my opinion. The neighboring hotels appear to be run down. I wouldn't recommend taking anything valuable with you. After we checked in to our room and we went to get something to eat after a very long day of traveling. We put all our valuables in a bag and put a LOCK on it. We went to the bar on the beach and ordered a couple burgers. We were gone about an hour. Upon arriving back at the room we had noticed that my wife's bag had been opened and there was a butter knife in her lugged which we thought was pretty weird. So I then unlocked the LOCKED bag only to find they had took my wife's shaving razor and opened a pocket on the side and sliced through it. They took all our cash, my wife's phone and charger, and three watches. We then went to the front desk and explained what had happened. We had to write a report and they said it takes 48hrs for them to do an investigation.They then went back to our room searched through all our stuff as if we had did something wrong. After that we asked for another room they gave us one. And we just really didn't feel safe after that. We went to see the guest services guy and he proceeded to tell us that they couldn't do nothing because they had no proof. I then asked to speak to the manager and he said they were in a meeting I told him I would wait. 40min later the guest services guy called us over to tell us that he had been authorized to give us an excursion and a 25min massage. Like that was enough to recoup our losses. We will not return, if you choose to go I would recommend you pay $20 to use the safe when you check in and as soon as you enter your room check and make sure all the windows and doors are locked, because ours was not.


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Kansas City, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year