All

Ports of Call Resort Turks & Caicos Reviews

Caribbean | Turks & Caicos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 26 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4 out of 5
"Great value, clean, comfortable rooms. Pool good size with jacuzzi. Only negative is not right on beach and limited beach accessories. But, overall good experience!" – Atdharma
22 out of 26 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Ports of Call Resort Turks & Caicos Customer Reviews

1-10 of 26 reviews. Sort by
April 6, 2016
Lovely Little Resort

A lovely 3 star hotel,nothing fancy. Rooms have simple decorations, we had a comfy king bed.We were on the bottom floor in the East Wing, the windows didn't open they had screws in the windows to prevent them from opening, I am sure it is for security reasons, I would request a second or third floor room, since the windows do open. Note: they don't have an elevator at this resort. They serve a continental breakfast,boiled eggs, toast, crossiants, pastries, apples, sliced grapefruit, eggo waffles,yogurt, cereal, two different types of juice, coffee and tea. Staff is very friendly and helpful, Eveline always said hello to everyone each morning as she was working the front desk. Judiane was so kind in helping us book an underwater excursion. The beach is just a short 2-3 minute walk across the street and down a path and then you come to the most beautiful beach you have ever seen. Very clean beach, chairs and sun umbrellas a wait you. This is a great place to stay, this hotel is centrally located on Grace Bay, you have a several restaurants/cafes to eat within walking distance. You should try Caicos Cafe for dinner, there is also a great French bakery next door for breakfast or lunch items. Jimmy's Dive Bar had pretty good food. Had dinner at the Italian restaurant up stairs at Ports of Call center, it was pretty good. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy any lobster dishes since the lobster season was ending. We ate lunch at Danny Bouys, wouldn't recommend them, food was sort of bland. Just understand that everything is very pricey in Caicos. You can pick up a few groceries at the IGA store half a block from the hotel. They have a good selection of food, a 24 pack of Corona beer is $69.99!!! We enjoyed their ice cream shops, prices ranged from 5.25-7.00 for ice cream cones, waffles cones,or cups of ice cream. Scoops Ice Cream shop makes a great coconut ice cream, she makes waffles cones as you order so they are fresh. She has a dozen varieties of homemade ice cream flavors made on site.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake, Ut
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 18, 2016
Good Location, Would change a few things

My boyfriend and I traveled to TCI and this was our first time there. The positives of Ports of Call The resort was in an excellent location just a 2 minute walk from Grace Bay Beach which in my opinion was the most beautiful beach on the island. Also a short walk from the grace bay grocery store and anywhere from a 30 second to a 10 minute walk away from a bunch of different shops and restaurants along with rental places boutiques etc. I also really liked how when we first arrived in tci the front desk receptionist went through everything in detail as to when the pool was open and the beach shuttle etc. Another element I really like with was at the end of our welcome greet the bartender welcomed us to the island and resort with a complimentary rum punch, which was delicious. I really feel like the resort should continue to do that, it was very fun and welcoming. I really liked how at the end of our stay we had a later flight, so we were allowed to check out and the front desk lady said should would hold onto our suitcases and give us a place to shower if we wanted to spend our remaining time on the island at the beach. Which also was a very nice gesture from the resort and much appreciated. The resort was a good price in comparison to the other ones on the island. The maintenance crew did an excellent job fixing up our room each day. They weren't overly hassling us at 11 am either. Which was nice. Some things I would change, starting with the breakfast, which there was not enough options on the breakfast bar, it was absolutely pitiful. I do feel like the resort could have provided some more options to help enhance there breakfast bar. Being a business student I am fully aware the resort's aim is to make their customers happy and turn a profit. I feel like some budget friendly options that should be considered like bananas, mango papayas. Local fruits. Another thing maybe a waffle maker with the waffle mix. Some half and half for peoples coffee, instead of the powdered stuff. Maybe have one of the front desk receptionist in the evenings put together some breakfast sandwiches and get a small sandwich press, people can press there own sandwich in the am. Some sort of different baked goods. There are a multitude of local bakeries that I'm sure would love to partner up and have their product tasted by the resort guests. another thing i would change is the floors in the room, I really appreciated and from a business standpoint understand the need to conserve energy. and honestly like it. But when you exit the room and the ac unit shuts off the room does become very humid and the moisture in the air ends up on the floor. So when my boyfriend and I would arrive back to room after a couple of hours the room floor would have this slimy film on it. Some rugs would be good in the room to help combat this. Overall the resort was decent for the price we paid. We fell in love with TCI while there.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2016
Turks & Caicos

I was pleasantly surprise when we arrived to Ports of Call Resort in Turks & Caicos. It was clean, updated and wonderfull staff. The location was great, since only breakfast was included we had to eat out..Right.outside the resort and within walking distance were many restaurants and supermarkets. The resort provided free shudle to the beech, but it was less than 10 min. walk. Casino was also down the street and Casino provided free shudle . Yes I would liked to stay in the resort with beech front but what this trip cost us I must say over all for us on the scale 1-5 it was a 5. We walked all over, used taxi always fell safe. The beech was, water and sun set was beautiful.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fairfield County, Ct
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 3, 2015
Great deal for the price!

For the price we paid it was a great deal. It's a simple and quaint hotel but the beach is the same one everyone else uses, the beaches are gorgeous ! Turks is a quiet island with many good restaurants to eat at. Ports of call had breakfast included so that was a great deal as well. The rooms were basic nothing out of this world, but your usually not in your room much so it did it's duty. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Ports of call is in the best location for walking distance to all restaurants and supermarket, its in the heart of it all. We would def recommend this place to friends and family bc of the price. This was def a great pick


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bloomfield , NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 7, 2013

one off the best vacation off my life :) very nice clean hotel. I cant wait to go back


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: nj
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 22, 2014
Exceeded expectations

Ports of Call has designated blue beach chairs and umbrellas right on the beach, a 4 minute walk from the hotel or a 1 minute walk from the public parking just off the beach. I loved the jacuzzi, the hammocks, the pool and ping pong tables and the pool. The vegetation was lush and there is an ice cream place 30 seconds from the entrance. Breakfast was included, which is all I want a hotel to provide. There are restaurants within easy walking distance. Parking was abundant.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 17, 2014
Best time spent in the Caribbean

Best hotel for the value. This was my first time in Turks & Caicos. I traveled alone and was looking for a break from the fast pace environment back home in DC. I booked this flight last minute with little knowledge about TCI and the hotel strip layout. I took a chance on Ports a Call and it turned out to be the best decision. The hotel is centrally located and walking distance to everything. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Especially Martin the hotel manager and the front desk attendant ( I forget her name but she teaches a gym class on Thursdays, shes lovely too).... The pool and gym is small but it does the job. The rooms are large and comfy. Great cable television in the rooms. The humidity from outside caused the room to feel kind of damp. Mosquitoes seemed to love my room, I called the front desk and they solved the problem right away with some sort of spray. Overall, the place was clean, safe, and well serviced/attended. I would recommend this place to anyone coming in for a few days who just wants the sights of a beautiful beach and plans to spend little time in their hotel room.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 16, 2014
Ports of Call

This resort is very people friendly, close to the beach and all major places to visit on the island! Highly recommended and will visit again soon


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Erie, Pa
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 2, 2014
Good affordable option

Overall the hotel is a great option for TCI. Although it is not on the beach, it is close enough (5 minutes walk), and it is located near stores and restaurants. Excellent location for the price. Front desk: pleasant service, but somehow the front desk representatives could not multi-task, and were a bit slow. Room: we were upgraded for free, and the room was larger than expected. The queen bed was not queen, not larger than a double bed. Mattress was old. But overall it was comfortable. Bathroom was adequate. Breakfast: we can't complain when there is complimentary continental breakfast, given the prices of TCI in general. However, the breakfast area is quite small, and people gather all over the place to get food in the morning, and breakfast is from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. As I wonder who would get breakfast so early, it was clear that the majority of guests would go around 8:30 AM or so, making it quite crowded. Swimming pool/outdoors: nice pool, jacuzzi, table-tennis, and pool table as well. There is a convenient bar also. Parking is in the back of the hotel with easy access to the rooms. Beach: located in between a luxury hotel and a luxury condo building, the "hotel beach" is tended by a "driver-umbrella setter-waiter" throughout the day. Few beach chairs are available thou. Service: that is the point that the hotel needs some attention. The day we arrived there was not running water in the hotel, and we could not even take a shower (that was fixed a couple of hours later). Front desk had a matter of fact attitude about it. Ports of Call could really benefit from having more attention to details. Room was reasonably clean, no replacement of bath soap for a full week, towels were not folded, just left there and more towels were delivered. Stuff on the sink was always scattered and so were the shampoo bottles on the shower. At breakfast there was only one person helping, and he could not keep up with the demand, and even the trash bin was overflowing. Even with the above comments, we strongly recommend Ports of Call for the cost-benefit.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Near Boston, Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 16, 2012
Not on the beach.....

The biggest drawback was this hotel was not on the beach. While the walk is very short, you don't get the option to rent umbrellas or chairs. Grace Bay is a beautiful beach! The continental breakfast was adequate but could have offered more variety in pastries, juices, and fruit. Unfortunately, we did not have a room in the newly renovated section. No big deal really, as we were rarely in our room. The pool was dirty and needs a thorough cleaning!!! Yet it was refreshing to jump in after our morning dives. Just steps away from Close to Ports of Call restaurants and Dive Provo. I recommend Dive Provo and Upstairs Restaurant. The grill shrimp appetizer is excellent. There was an overall power outage on the island. The Ocean Club Resort cooks with gas. Great breakfast!!!! For a relaxing vacation, I recommend TCI !


9 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year