All

Playacar Palace Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 10 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.8 out of 5
"Great staff and service , Mateo rocked the vacation for our Group. Definitely an unforgettable experience. Close to 5th ave. for shopping. I would go back in a heartbeat." – Smiles2
8 out of 13 (62%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Playacar Palace Customer Reviews

1-10 of 10 reviews. Sort by
February 3, 2012
Best vacation ever

Let me start by saying that my husband and I travel for work and vacation. We have been to great locations - however our trip to Playacar Palace was the best vacation we have ever had. It is a georgeous location, great beach, wonderful food and the customer service is on par with US five star resorts. I can't thank you enough for recommending this resort...it is a wonderful memory for my husband and me. Happy travels The Stevensons


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Sacramento CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 14, 2013
15th Anniversary Trip

After spending our honeymoon at the Moon Palace in 1998, we decided to try another Palace resort for our 15th anniversary. We travel a lot and have been to many all-inclusive resorts as well as cruises. After doing some research, we decided on the Playcar Palace. All of the reviews we have read were excellent - and rather than go into those (you can read them yourself), we will just give an overview and then our thoughts. The resort is small and intimate, which is good for us. Everything was easy to find, the resort is kept very clean, and the location is superb. The restaurants were really good (compared to others we've been at). We ate one night at the Japanese restaurant, twice at the Italian restaurant (one night was a special "honeymoon" dinner not on the menu and set up for us by Mara - thanks, Mara!), one night at the Mexican restaurant, and a romantic dinner on the beach. The food was really good every night, as was the breakfast and lunch buffet and the snacks at the Aqua Bar. Our last night we ventured into town and ate dinner at the Blue Parrot - which I highly recommend (thanks Pedro and Manuel!). We cannot say enough about the entire staff at this resort. It has to be the best of any resort we have ever been to. From the management down to the maintenance people, they are fantastic and make you feel at home and like you are one of their family. We want to thank them personally here.... Thanks to David Rubio and Mara (management) for being so personable and attentive and making our stay so nice. Your staff is great and that starts at the top. Thanks to the bellman Manuel who spoke to us by name every day (after having a hard time with our last name). Thanks to the entire spa staff (we had the 80 minute couples massage and it's the best we have EVER had anywhere!!!) especially Guadalupe and Angel and Inocenta (who did my pedicure). Alma at the lobby and Luna Lounge was a delight and made our stay special. Dominico and David in the Italian restaurant were great and made our special dinner - VERY special! Cesar and Victor did a fabulous job with the entertainment all day. And the best for last - the bartenders and waitstaff at the Aqua Bar and around the pool. These people work VERY hard and are always happy. They love to laugh and joke around and made our trip one of the best we've ever had - Carmen (our new Mexican son), Roman (sexy man), Nora (don't forget the new rules), Perla (who remembers what you drink and brings it to you before you ask), Martha, Bernice, Leonardo (my little DiCaprio), Israel, Javier (who's always smiling), Angel, Roger, Francisco, and anyone we forgot - WE LOVE YOU GUYS!!!! In short - we HIGHLY recommend this resort and we would love to go back again - and probably will. It was one of the most relaxing, fun, and romantic trips we've ever taken.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Deptford, New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 29, 2014
Staff great

The hotel Playacar Palace was meant to be something special as a treat for our son who was going away to college. We did our research, read the reviews and felt it would be perfect. However, it is in fact a bit run down and scruffy. The inside is fine, the rooms are clean, the reception area nice enough, but outside is not. The lobby bar furniture is quite dirty, the cushions are stained and the area itself is totally white and very bland and unwelcoming. The pool is grotty. Tiles are missing, it was dirty when we got there mid afternoon and the pool bar was also uninviting, it looked like a concrete shack. There was an area along from the pool in front of closed off bedroom in need of updating which was awful, it could have been a really nice sitting area but it was neglected and bland. When you walked on the beach and looked back at the hotel, the roof was in need of lots of repair work and the paintwork was shabby. The staff however are fantastic, we explained our disappointment and they did not argue our points but found us a room at the Moon Palace in Cancun. We moved the next day and our holiday was what it should have been, The Moon Palace is something to be proud of, updating was going on in some of the rooms, but it was inviting, the pools immaculate, the room well kept and the grounds beautiful. What was a total disappointment, was put right for us. Thanku


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 21, 2016
DONT GO THERE!

Wow, where can I start? When we arrived we upgraded to the VIP ocean front room for $1500 extra dollars for four nights. That was fine but when we got to the room it was very small. $6500 for four nights is not worth it by any means. The first night we were very tired from traveling and we wanted to sleep. There was loud music coming from the beach. I went down thinking it was a disco. I arrived to party and every one was very drunk. I got sexually assaulted by a man and told him forcefully never to touch me again. I was on a phone call to my wife when a group of security guards came up to me. They physically pushed me out. I wasn't drunk I was just standing there. As you might imagine I was very upset. I talked to the general manager the next day and he didn't care at all I was assaulted because it turns out it was a wedding party and they didn't mind having an unhappy VIP guest because he went on to tell me how many rooms that party had booked. I felt sick and disgusted. The pool at the resort is small and shallow. There are no activities so we went out every day and night. The bar staff is unfriendly and there are only those restaurants on the whole resort. The only thing good about this place is the location but the Royal Playa Del Carman is better and they treat everyone with love and respect. They were booked so we tried this place. NEVER AGAIN! Also, when we left there was $1000 added to our room. I still don't know what for but we were in a hurry to leave so they did explain. Do yourself a favor and NEVER GO THERE. Even the general manager is rude so no wonder that his staff is terrible.


4 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 13, 2014
Not for families with toddlers

This hotel might be adequate for young couples, or adults in general. Not recommended for families. The beacj is not exclusive there are people passing by all the time from Playa del Carmen and going thru, and also the chairs along the beach are so far from the shore that one could not just relax on a chair and let their kids play on the sand. There is only one pool, and two restaurants mainly. The service people were very nice and accomodating, however, the reception personnel was not very friendly nor accomodating. In general it lacks, and I am not certain as to why a lot of people had given it 5 stars. Its far away from that status.


2 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 17, 2013
Awesome (even besides the heat)

This vacation was everything I expected. I couldn't believe the amount of food and drink consumed. I found myself wondering how the hotel even made a profit! All three dining areas, including the outside pool bar, were excellent. The staff went beyond. The only drawback was out of my control - heat in Mexico in July. PS: I didn't bring my kids, but this hotel is family friendly, and the kids looked like they were having an amazing time. Besides the beach/pool activities, the hotel hosts a show every night at 9.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 4, 2011
best hotel ever

had my wedding here in july 2010, and couldnt wait to get back in october 2011. had a great time, and the place has gotten better since then! they are perfect in every way.


1 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: chicago, il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 13, 2011
Everything a 3 star should be

My heading says it all. But, a little on the expensive side for what it is.


0 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2013
Best resort experience

Great staff and service , Mateo rocked the vacation for our Group. Definitely an unforgettable experience. Close to 5th ave. for shopping. I would go back in a heartbeat.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Antonio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 16, 2017
Best time ever

The Playacar palace was excellent! The rooms were very nice and the restaurants were great! The beach was beautiful! The staff was very friendly and always willing to help us. I can't even explain how well we were treated. It was just awesome!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Collinsville, OK
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations