All

Platinum Yucatan Princess Adults-only Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 173 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.2 out of 5
"we truly had a great time. the service was perfect and the staff adorable. we had time to relax, exercise and eat. i think i will go back in a hearbeat." – cabiria
159 out of 193 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Very clean beaches and resort altogether the view from my balcony Junior deluxe suite Spring hibiscus risotto and la bruschetta-amazing! Tulum View from 3rd floor room View from Skylights View from the room Best location on the beach! View from the room Standard room foam party Beach view View from 3rd floor of 3000 building ahhhh! Room view The beach View from Honeymoon Suite Pool view Looking in from the back patio area Beach View From Skylights Beautiful Room with a view Beach French restaurant Beach view beach Our swim out suit

All Platinum Yucatan Princess Adults-only Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 173 reviews. Sort by
February 2, 2016
Wonderful Experience

I just returned from this resort. We had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding. The food on the buffet was about as good as any all-inclusive as I have been to. The Japanese restaurant (Tao) was outstanding. If I have to be picky the only complaint that I have is that the water is very rocky just a few feet out from the beach which makes it very difficult to enjoy the ocean., but they have plenty of space on the beach itself to sit and plenty of pool space as well. I would definitely recommend this resort for a couple to get away and relax.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 15, 2015
Pros and Cons

This was our first trip to the Riviera Maya and overall it was a good experience. We will not be visiting the Platinum Yucatan Princess again but did enjoy our stay. Pros: -Airport transfers scheduled through CheapCarribbean were easy, safe, and convenient even though we did not book airfare through them -Swim out suite at the resort was AWESOME! The main pool and pool bars got a little loud and crowded so it was nice to have a more private experience and waitress bring drinks -Everything about the resort is beautiful. If you like the clean, modern look everything from the rooms to the restaurants to the pools exude that. We really enjoyed the in-room soaking tub and extra large 2 head shower. -The employees are very friendly, helpful, and hard working. -Most of our restaurant experiences yielded good food presented beautifully. -Dessert at the restaurants were tiny but good so we usually went to the buffet later to sample multiple goodies Cons: -This was our honeymoon so we didn't mind just relaxing in the pool the whole time, but other than that there was not much to do at the resort. Everything fun like excursions cost extra so be prepared to spend that money if you want to actually DO something. -The beach is terrible. I thought I wouldn't care that much, but in the end I did. The workers try hard to cover the seaweed, but burying it creates this huge barrier between the beach and the ocean. When you climb over it, there is nothing but more seaweed and rocks blocking your way into the ocean. Laying on the beach was nice, but the water wasn't so clear and blue to look at thanks to the sand mound, seaweed, and rocks. The online pictures provided by the resort are very deceiving. We walked a little ways to the resort to the left (you have to navigate around a rocky point area) and the beach there was MUCH better. -The food at the buffet and through room service is just okay and sometimes sub-par. The room service menu is VERY limited and the food most likely is just taken from the buffet and brought to you. Sometimes it was cold but that's what happens for the convenience of them bringing it to you. The buffet food often looked recycled from previous meals. We avoided the hot dogs at all costs thanks to other reviewers. There is no reason to go to the buffet for dinner since the other restaurants were so much better. -We considered the food at most of the restaurants pretty fancy and varied which is good for most guests. We had to stick to La Bruschetta and Rodeo Grill because we don't like sushi or things we can't pronounce. Others might love it! But GO EARLY regardless of where you decide to eat. When we went around 6 the service was good. Any later than 7 and we waited forever for food. Overall the experience was...nice...good...but certainly not WOW! or AMAZING! If you want a relatively cheap adult vacation with ok food and a really pretty pool then this is the place to go. Being young honeymooners who just paid for a wedding, we couldn't afford anything else. We don't regret going but will try somewhere different next time.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34

February 24, 2017
Great place to relax!

My wife and I stayed at the Platinum Yucatan Princess in Playa Del Carmen for 5 nights in February to celebrate her 30th birthday. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Upon arrival we waited for 15-25 minutes to be assisted at the front desk. This wasn't due to them being understaffed or slow, we simply had bad timing with our arrival and several people had just arrived before us. Once it was our turn and we began checking in, we were delighted to find out that they had upgraded us to a Deluxe from a Jr Suite for my wife's birthday. The Deluxe Pool Suite was fantastic! The one complaint that we have with the room, and we seem to run into anywhere, is that the bed simply doesn't compare to our bed at home. I'm still waiting for the day that these places recognize that they are using dated technology with their mattresses and need to invest in fixing that. Other than that though, the room was amazing. The pools were very nice and quite segregated. While the pools run around the whole property almost, they have several walk paths that divide them from each other. My wife and I personally would have preferred bridges going over the pool that would allow the pools to all connect like some other resorts have done, but this I'm sure is a matter of preference. The food was much better than past experiences at other resorts, and we were quite satisfied with the variety. My wife has celiac which will make her ill if she ingests gluten, and she had no problem finding safe foods to eat during the entire stay. The beach is a bit crowded, which I think just comes with the territory. The water itself is very clean, however there was a good deal of seaweed during our stay. That's a roll of the dice though, so take it with a grain of salt. The vegetation around the property is very lush and gives the feeling that you are deep in the tropics! As for entertainment, that is the other area that we feel the resort fell a bit short. It felt like a very tired schedule of shows and events that they have been recycling for a while. It seemed to be entirely aimed at older generations, while ignoring the fact that the resort had plenty of folks around our age there too(30s). So on some nights, we were either content to listen to the band play "oldies", or be left to our own imaginations for entertainment. To sum up our feelings on entertainment, it feels dated and needs a refresh. The service throughout the resort was fantastic. The one last thing that we would change there is that they have a rooftop, that appears ready to be used, that could be a great "sky lounge" type bar. We would love to have actually been able to make use of something like that. That's one of our favorite things about Secrets Aura in Cozumel. We will be returning to Platinum Yucatan Princess and we hope to see some progress towards improving the experience next time!

Great place to relax! Great place to relax!
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kyle, Tx (outside Austin)
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 1, 2015
Great resort!

Booked the resort along with pre-arranged transportation. Amstar transportation was waiting for us at the airport to take us to the resort. Probably had to wait around 5 minutes for the van to pull around once we stepped outside. They immediately shuttled us to the resort even though it was just 2 of us. They didn't make us wait to fill up the van, even though the drive was about 40 minutes away. We arrived at the resort before the 3 PM check-in time so the bell boys held onto our luggage. There are 2 separate lobbies for check-in. There was the "Lobby Deluxe" and the "Platinum." The Lobby Deluxe was the one we went to since we had the lower end services, but it includes the bar. They got us drinks while we were waiting to check-in. Friendly check-in services. Keep in mind they ask for your passport so they can make a copy of it. Once our room was ready (before 3 PM), the bell boys helped bring our luggage to our room. The elevator was a bit cramped, and smelled. Our room was on the second floor and had a view of the main pool. Room was very clean and modernly styled. The toilet is in its own room. There are 2 sinks, as well as 2 showers. The 2 showers are in the same room as each other and had the shower head both on the ceiling and one accessible on the wall. There was also a tub next to the 2 sinks. They have a mini fridge with free drinks that they restock every morning. You can drink all the beers, sodas, and waters in the fridge and they restock it free every morning. Mini fridge beverages only cost money if you ask for additional drinks beyond the daily restock. There's also a closet with a mini safe located inside. Room also included a couch, a small coffee table, and a small table. Also has a small flat screen that has an HDMI port (but no cables so bring your own if you plan on watching TV). Wifi was accessible throughout the entire resort, though it was pretty slow. We had a room with 2 full-sized beds. They had a king bed available the following day and offered to move us if we weren't happy with our first room. We were happy so ended up staying. There are multiple pools along the resort. The main pool has the loudest music, the most people, and the most planned activities. They have activities most peak hours of the day, such as volleyball in the pool, some friendly competitions, ping pong, etc. The other pools are less populated, and had softer music. You also have access to all the pools at the sister resort next door as well. The sister resort, though a 5-star resort, was a family resort. The pools were populated with families and included children, so the vibe at the sister resort was drastically different. I preferred our resort since it was mostly couples who stayed there. Most couples were probably 20s to 40s, though there were a few older couples as well. The food was great. I've only been to one other resort, but this resort blew the previous resort out of the water in regards to food. Rodeo Grill was open 24/7 and had hamburgers and hot dogs available 24/7 for snacks. However, it functioned as a steak restaurant at dinner time (get the rib-eye) and a buffet during lunch hours. There was another buffet restaurant on the other end of the resort as well that had a good variety of breakfast and lunch foods. Tao was a great Asian dinner spot. Needs reservations if you want to sit at the Hibachi table so definitely get a reservation (they start taking reservations at 6 PM at the restaurant). It also has a sushi bar with pretty decent sashimi. You also have access to all the restaurants at the sister resort so speak with concierge to make reservations there. The nightly activities were well done. Caught a show at the theater one night and they were fantastic. It was performers putting on a dance performance. They were all definitely professional dancers and put on one heck of a show (there was also a bar inside the theater). There was a foam party at the main pool on Saturday around 3 PM so definitely catch that party. The beach was disappointing. Went end of August 2015 and there were tons of seaweed washed up on shore, and all over the shallow parts of the beach. Made the water brown and murky by shore, and doesn't clear up till further out in the ocean. The seaweed also caused a stench that was rather putrid. It seemed like the beach may have cleared up closer towards the sister resort (which you have access to), but I never opted to make the walk that far. The drinks were pretty good. They have a variety of different drinks, from your regular mojitos and margaritas that you can get anyway, to a few special blended drinks. Most bars were pretty quick with service. Gave it a 4-star rating because the beach was a disappointment unless you traveled a good distance to the sister resort. Also only gave a 4-star rating for food since breakfast and lunch choices were rather limited. Dinner options are definitely 5-star though. Room comfort might be a 5-star for some people, but bed was a little stiff to my liking.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34

November 30, 2015
Unforgettable Trip!

We stayed at this resort for 8 day and had the best time!!!! The resort is located about 40 minutes from the airport. I rented a car and it was the best decision I made. There is free parking at the resort and it gave us the freedom to do day trips and go to Downtown Playa Del Carmen whenever we wanted to. Check in was easy and everyone was helpful and friendly. The building on the resort are spread out so when it comes to your room there are options. We had a swim out suite located on the main pool area. If you do not mind being around people all the time and don't mind noise these rooms are perfect. We walked around the resort to see other buildings and there are some great rooms that are more secluded and quite which would be perfect for a honeymoon or just a peaceful getaway. The rooms are very spacious and clean, probably the cleanest rooms I have seen at a resort. The cleaning people work very hard and never stop. The resort has many activities and shows each day/night. On Saturdays they have a foam pool party in the main pool and it was the best time. I would compare the food at this resort to any other all inclusive resort I have been to. The breakfast buffet was the best and I looked forward to that every morning. The buffet restaurant had the most options for dinner. the specialty restaurants had some good choices but the portions are very small. It was nice to sit and have a relaxing dinner but the food was average. The best dinner I had was at the Rodeo Grill. People said the Japanese restaurant was very good but I did not get a chance to eat there. Although they tell you that you do not need a reservation for the restaurants, I would suggest you put your name in at 6pm when they open for the time you want because you will either have to wait or you may not be able to get in. I read some reviews about the beach. Although I did not sit on the beach or go in the ocean, I did walk down a couple of times and the seaweed was clear and the beach was very clean. The resort works very hard to keep the beach in good order. Since I have been home, I have been looking to book a vacation for next year and am having a difficult time making a choice because I am comparing them to this resort. I would definitely visit this resort again and I only wish they allowed children because I would return every year! - WIFI worked well and it is free. - Staff is friendly and very helpful. - Night out at Coco Bongo is recommended. I got a table rather than general admission and it was well worth it! -Day trip to Tulum is recommended, it is absolutely beautiful! - If you like adventure I recommend Xplor park. We did it at night and it was so much fun! - Downtown Playa Del Carmen is safe to walk around and there are many shops and restaurants on 5th Ave to visit for a change of scenery.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Burlington, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 25, 2015
Best of Mexico so far

I've been to four resorts in Mexico. This one is the best without question so far. Great staff. Great Room. Great air conditioning. Great Food. Great bartender at the swim up bar. Great food. Did I already say that. It's because it's true. The beach is kinda small, but that makes it more intimate if you want to call it that. Lots of seaweed washing up, but this is an ecological issue along the whole coast, so don't complain about it. The resort has nothing to do with it. Enjoy the fact that you're not at work. :)


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 8, 2016
This resort was EVERYTHING!!!

This adults-only resort was EVERYTHING we needed and more!!! It was beautiful,modern,spotless,brand-new and terrifically staffed. The suite was HUGE and perfect for couples,the swim-out option was so worth it and there were plenty of activities to choose to do...or not!:-) We ate and drank like kings and even got engaged at nearby Tulum!!! I would only request better,faster wi-fi and more english-language stations on the huge flat-screen tv. Otherwise,the vacation and resort were FLAWLESS. My fiancé and I are already planning to return for our honeymoon!!!

This resort was EVERYTHING!!! This resort was EVERYTHING!!!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York,NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2015
House keeping stole our money!”

We immediately put the “Do Not Disturb” sign on our door when we arrived. We left it on the door the entire stay. We kept getting mysterious phone calls through out each day in our room, when we would answer they would hang up. One time this happened as we were about to leave the room. We walked out the door and there was a beverage guy standing there wanting to re-fill our mini bar. Later on we went to the gift shop and discovered our cash had been stolen from my husbands wallet. We rushed to the room to find that all of our stuff had been rummaged through. My wallet was torn apart with my social security card sitting right on top. They had stolen cash and checks. Besides the theft, the resort is beautiful, food was decent, beach was very small and impossible to swim in ocean. Water was rough and ocean floor was covered in sharp jagged rocks. You are confined to the pools. Taxis are a rip off. We were charged $100 for a 20 min drive.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 24, 2015
Great last minute vacation

Outside of a few technical glitches we encountered (presumably due to booking at the last minute) with regards to reservations this resort came in well above my expectations. The service, drinks, food, amenities and pool were all amazing. The only thing I would change was the beach itself. This was a quick getaway for relaxation only so I was more than happy to spend most of my time poolside, but if you are looking to have lots of beachside time, this may not be the place for you. The resort's entire beach was covered with seaweed which wasn't very appealing (to me) or encouraging for beach activities.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Princesss Yucatan Platinum

Do: Pay the extra for the platinum package the rooms are nicer they are way closer to the beach and the restaurants and wifi is free!! Beautiful rooms and a great resort overall: but if you came to Mexico to eat MEXICAN food you will be sadly disappointed I arrived on a Thursday and left on Monday and missed the only Mexican night! The only delicious food was the Asian tepanyaki and the French restaurant was ok too... Mostly buffet type food even on the beach...room service was very disappointing... the drinks were decent if you order the basics... but a lemon drop came out a green slushy haha(= the grounds were very clean, the beds are hard but I like a ridiculously soft bed... get a shower when others aren't because I hardly had hot water when I showered around dinner time(= Gorgeous gym and the spa was great! Had a great full body massage, they were very professional! Plenty of seating at the beach but if you want to get in the water you will want to go right down the beach to the next resort because the rocks will kill your feet! It really depends on what your going for but I would probably choose a resort with better rated food even if the rooms aren't amazing how much time do you spend in your room on vacation anyway!


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Idaho
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year