All

Pineapple Beach Club, Antigua Reviews

Caribbean | Antigua Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 15 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.6 out of 5
"We had an amazing time, the resort was great, food was good, and everyone was super friendly! We had a ocean view room with a great view but there were lots of steps! We definitely got our workout!" – Sunandtan
19 out of 19 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room View from our room

All Pineapple Beach Club, Antigua Customer Reviews

1-10 of 15 reviews. Sort by
January 31, 2017
Wonderful Week

The resort is nice, the rooms are clean, the staff is reasonably friendly, the food is good, there are ample beach chairs, and you can book excursions at the resort desk though Cheap Caribbean does not have a presence there. Now for details: Your first 3 nights at the Pineapple Beach Club you will be eating dinner at the buffet. That’s not all bad because the food is very good. The a la carte restaurants must be booked 2 days in advance and they fill quickly. So, on Day 2 you will book for Day 4 and so on. Only one a la carte restaurant is open on any given day. Don’t miss lunch at the Outhouse. The view is great while the ribs and BBQ chicken are satisfying. We booked a beachfront room because the cost increase over garden view was not that great. It was a good choice and our view was wonderful. The grounds are spacious, clean, and well kept. The water sports building has sailboats (2), paddleboards (3), kayaks, and one paddle boat. All use is included. BTW, beach towels are plentiful and simply picked up. There is a free WiFi hotspot near Reception. Otherwise, you’ll pay for WiFi in your room. $10/day, $30 for 4 days, $42 for the week. The excursion desk is located near the main restaurant, is staffed during daytime, and offers lots of excursions. We did Barbuda by catamaran ($150 pp w/lunch for 8 hours), Stingray City ($50 pp for 2 hours), and I dove at St. James Club ($120 pp for 2 tanks and equipment is included). All three were well run and safe. Because we had a car, we did our own island tour. There are several options to get to the resort. Our car cost $414 for a week plus $20 for a “license”, and we used $20 worth of gas at 12.50 $EC/gallon. You can get one day (or more) rental at the resort but you still have to buy a “license.” Being a former British colony, they do drive on the left hand side of the road and the drivers seat is on the right. Takes some getting used to. A cab, large and clean, costs $28 each way to/from the airport. A full day cab ride around the island is about $120. Now you know. Enjoy the beautiful Caribbean.

View from our room
32 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 30, 2017
Wonderful for couples; no kids.

The resort is nice, the rooms are clean, the staff is reasonably friendly, the food is good, there are ample beach chairs, and you can book excursions at the resort desk though Cheap Caribbean does not have a presence there. Now for details: Your first 3 nights at the Pineapple Beach Club you will be eating dinner at the buffet. That’s not all bad because the food is very good. The a la carte restaurants must be booked 2 days in advance and they fill quickly. So, on Day 2 you will book for Day 4 and so on. Only one a la carte restaurant is open on any given day. Don’t miss lunch at the Outhouse. The view is great while the ribs and BBQ chicken are satisfying. We booked a beachfront room because the cost increase over garden view was not that great. It was a good choice and our view was wonderful. The grounds are spacious, clean, and well kept. The water sports building has sailboats (2), paddleboards (3), kayaks, and one paddle boat. All use is included. BTW, beach towels are plentiful and simply picked up. There is a free WiFi hotspot near Reception. Otherwise, you’ll pay for WiFi in your room. $10/day, $30 for 4 days, $42 for the week. The excursion desk is located near the main restaurant, is staffed during daytime, and offers lots of excursions. We did Barbuda by catamaran ($150 pp w/lunch for 8 hours), Stingray City ($50 pp for 2 hours), and I dove at St. James Club ($120 pp for 2 tanks and equipment is included). All three were well run and safe. Because we had a car, we did our own island tour. There are several options to get to the resort. Our car cost $414 for a week plus $20 for a “license”, and we used $20 worth of gas at 12.50 $EC/gallon. You can get one day (or more) rental at the resort but you still have to buy a “license.” Being a former British colony, they do drive on the left hand side of the road and the drivers seat is on the right. Takes some getting used to. A cab, large and clean, costs $28 each way to/from the airport. A full day cab ride around the island is about $120. Now you know. Enjoy the beautiful Caribbean.

View from our room
17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 20, 2017
Great all inclusive

This resort is being redone. It was bought back by the original owner and being renovated. The beds in our section were not the most comfortable to sleep on but outside of that its I could overlook it because they were working on updating the units. It's clean and met our needs. The staff is wonderful. Friendly and always there to met your needs. The food was delicious. Loved Mary's outhouse and the pelican beach . There were many choices to eat at night. The beach is awesome. Loved snorkeling every day. Been to many islands and different resort chains. This is my most favorite and can't wait to go back


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Newton New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 23, 2017
pineapple beach club , antigua

Need more beach huts .Italian resturant should be open every day. All employees except one where you make dinner reservations wereWe would exceptional. Beach is A+ / hotel is A+ / room cleaning was A+ / We arrived late because of 5 hr delay about 11 pm hotel staff kept kitchen open so we had a late dinner That was great. We would highly reccomend it and would definitly come back.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 12, 2017

A wonderful place. Had a beautiful 5 night getaway. Very nice beach, lots of included water sports. You can snorkel right off the resort if you walk to to the far right of the cove as you face the ocean. This area is actually not part of the resort, but it is where the help at the water sport shack will tell you to go. Staff and service met all our needs. Stayed in a waterfront room which was only $100.00 more for the room upgrade for the 5 nights. This part of the hotel was quieter and more private than the beachfront units which had walkways in front of the balconies. So if you are looking for more privacy, and want to be right next to the ocean, the waterfront rooms are the way to go. You can hear the waves break from there. Lots of food choices at Pineapple Beach. The Topaz buffet restaurant has a different food theme for dinner every night so you shouldn't get bored by having to choose from the same spread every night. Plus, you do have two more upscale restaurants that you have to make reservations for at Guest Services. But, they are not both open every day. It is one or the other except for one day a week when I think they are both open. The snack bar is good for a burger, dog, nachos or an ice cream cone. Up above the resort, there is the Outhouse restaurant which you can walk up to. Ribs, barbecued chicken and cold beer up there. Ask the help for a piece of wood so you can inscribe your names on it and attach it to the Outhouse shack or tree there to leave your mark behind. There are hundreds of them everywhere you look. Have a great time! We did!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bucks County, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 26, 2017
Spoiled paradise

Everything about Pineapple Beach Club itself is a wonderful getaway. However our experience was spoiled by hassling solicitors on the beach. From what I gather they are not affiliated with the resort. One guy was great. He sold aloe vera and didn't hassle us. The excursion salesmen hang out all day right there on the beach with the guests going around sitting in your chair with you selling excursions. There is a guest services desk inside the resort so this shouldn't be necessary. One young guy came right up to our beach chair and begged for cash. We gave him cash and he wouldn't go away. My husband had to yell at him to leave us alone. He said, "This is the last day of our vacation. I gave you money. Walk away. I don't work for you." When you purchase a resort vacation you expect a resort environment. If we want to be with locals and do business with locals we can take a taxi or walk to the local public beach. I do not feel security should allow the locals into the resort to hassle customers. It is really a shame because again Pineapple Beach Club itself is fantastic.


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 15, 2017
Great value, great beach

Super laid back resort. Friendly staff and guests. The beach is gorgeous! Recommend an ocean front room.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago Il
Age: 35-44

May 18, 2017
Extremely low key

It was a very laid back, quiet resort. We knew this prior to booking but I didn't expect it to be quite this laid back. Music around the pool during the day would make a huge improvement to this resort. The dress code for the men was way too strict. There is nothing wrong with nice dress shorts. The requirement to have to wear long pants is ridiculous. The activities were all very good, but I think the activities people are so used to very little participation, and such a quiet atmosphere they are not very outgoing. Extremely friendly but just very mellow in comparison to other places we've gone.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2017
Honey Moon in Paradise

When first arriving at this hotel, my husband and I were a little nervous. We are used to staying at larger resorts with several restaurants, and marble flooring. This hotel took us a little time to warm up to it, but after the first 24 hours we were extremely happy with the choice we made to stay on this resort. Pineapple beach resort is very small, quiet and has a lot of charm. The beach in absolutely breath taking, and has beautiful white sand, and turquoise water. The room we stayed in was a beach front, and it was absolutely lovely. Only complaint about the room was the water pressure-but if thats the only complaint I'd say they're doing a good job. The food on the resort is great. The pineapple grill, the Italian restaraunt, marys-out house, the snack bar, and even the buffet all had plenty of food with tons of options. The drinks on this resort were very good. They used liquor brands that I actually recognized from the states. Overall I would say this resort is a hidden gem. I will say the place is a little tired, and could use some updating, but when you travel to Antigua you visit for the beaches, and the sun not how the hotel room looks. I would recommend this place and would stay here again.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Londonderry NH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 5, 2017
Nice but room for improvement

I recently came back from a 6-night stay with my husband. Most important for us when it comes to these sorts of vacations is the beach and water, so I'll comment on that first. The beach was absolutely pristine when we arrived, but seaweed came rolling in a few days later. There were crews cleaning it up ~ 24 hrs after it first rolled in. The ocean water is cooler than I or my husband expected. So cool, in fact, that I shrieked when first getting in and it took a while to get used to. Generally, I like the water to be warmer. The waves were quite mild, as Antigua is apparently surrounded by natural reefs that keep the water at the shoreline pretty calm in many places. The water started out crystal clear, but got "murky" as our stay progressed. Still a great beach, though! Overall, the resort itself has beautiful grounds with great views. Husband and I stayed in a beachfront room (#228). It was nice to be just a few short steps away from the beach. The food is overall decent but could use some improvement, as is usually the case with all-inclusives. Pros: Nice staff. Well-kept property. Beautiful views from the many hills on the property (including Mary's BBQ restaurant). And as stated, the beach was calm, with clear water much of the time. There is an assortment of non-motorized water equipment you can use for free. The Caribbean restaurant (Pineapple Grill) and the snack bar were pretty good. Cons: The beds are very hard, so sleep quality wasn't good. We also had to use pillows and bed sheets to block the bright resort lights outside our room door and bathroom window at night. There are fridges in the rooms, but the resort does not stock the fridges! There isn't beach or pool service (where waitstaff bring you drinks), though there is a bar nearby to both the beach and pools. There are two pools, though one is so small as to be pointless. But, we spent little time at the pools since the beach was so nice. Regarding the food, the buffet (Toscano) was hit or miss. There is minimal seasoning in some items that would have otherwise been pretty decent. The breakfast selection is pretty much the same each day, which we got tired of later in our stay. We didn't try the Italian place (open for dinner only) because we heard multiple bad reviews about it. It became frustrating to essentially have one limited breakfast choice and only two dinner choices-- the buffet (open every day) and Pineapple Grill (open only ~3 days/week). Also, there is free wifi only one place at the resort, and that was spotty. A point of note-- all Antigua beaches are open to the public. So while this resort is adults only, local families were not too far down the beach. They generally stayed in that area off the resort's property, but kids sometimes came down the beach onto the resort property to swim and enjoy the day. No one from the resort tried to stop them since, strictly speaking, the beaches are public. This wasn't a big deal, but the kids could be loud sometimes (as kids playing tend to be). Be sure to read the FAQs on the resort's website for some good info. I didn't before booking, so we missed the Wednesday night Caribbean party (as the husband and I arrived on a Thursday and left the following Wednesday). An overall nice stay, though if we go back, we'd consider going later in the summer when perhaps the ocean water is warmer!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations