All

Pelican Bay at Lucaya Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 20 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
20 out of 24 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our balcony 325 FROM WATER VIEW FROM 325 Stealing a kiss on pristine Xanadu Beach Freeport, Bahamas Dolphin encounter Great Diving

All Pelican Bay at Lucaya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 20 reviews. Sort by
June 14, 2011
I was not impressed

The Pelican Bay staff appeared to be very friendly and accomodating. The hotel was beautiful on the outside. The interior was also nice and our room had a great view of the pool area as well as the restaurant. The people were all very friendly. The food at "Sabor" was delicious but the portions were too small. It was difficult to find good places to eat in the Bahamas. Finally, we found a place called Caribbean Cafe that served delicious food. The plumbing system (toilet) at Pelican Bay was totally inadequate. Also, we were able to use the beach located across the street at the Radisson Hotel. However, we opted not to do so when we realized that the beach chairs were all locked up and it would cost us thirty dollars to rent one chair. There were two of us, so needless to say we made our way to the ferry that took us to Taino Beach where the seating was free.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Bronx, New York
Age: 35-44

January 13, 2012
Pelican Bay near Lucaya Market Center

We stayed at Pelican during the New Years. Pelican Bay is conveniently located near the Lucaya Market Center. You have access to several restaurants and shops. The front-desk was courteous and friendly. They were able to provide directions and suggestions for our stay. The room was well furnished, and provide patio views of Channel Bay. The hotel doesn't have a direct view of the sandy beach. Instead, it has a direct view of Channel Bay, where the boats regularly pass through. Pelican Bay is situated between 2 beaches. Taino Beach is on the east side of Pelican Bay. A boat taxi that docks on Pelican Bay will take you to Taino Beach Resort going through Channel Bay. It's about a 10 min boat ride and free ride for Pelican guest. The other beach is in front of the Ramada Resort, and is about 200 yards from Pelican Bay. The Ramada charges to access their beach front, but you can enter the beach front for free from the police station.


24 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Relaxing getaway, but you get what you pay for...

My husband and I purchased this $299 per person air inclusive deal from cheap caribbean and were very happy with the price. The weather in October was colder than usual in Freeport, but that didn't stop us from going to the beach. The Pelican Bay resort's breakfast was outstanding and the deck overlooking the bay was fantastic. We used the free ferry that dropped us off directly at the resort's pool. The room was a bit musty and the lighting was poor. We weren't too thrilled that the rooms didn't have a fridge and microwave that is coming to be such a standard in resorts these days, but we made do. We would purchase another cheap trip like this again, because it was a nice way to spend a few days. Thanks, CheapCaribbean!

Stealing a kiss on pristine Xanadu Beach Freeport, Bahamas
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2011
Decent Accomodation

I stayed in one of the cheaper hotel rooms, NOT one of the staterooms, so it is possible those are much, much nicer. Overall, it was quiet and comfortable, reasonably clean, a really good value, and it was on par with what I expected, but definitely no upscale resort room. I came to Freeport to do things, not sit in my room, so I was fine with sacrificing luxury for price. The bed was comfortable, a King, more than enough room for me and my guy. The sheets were very soft and nice, however there were old blood and bathroom stain remnants on the comforter, which was not changed out during all week long I was there. Considering that all the bedding was plain white, I don't see why they didn't manage to bleach it out. The mattress was a good firmness, but the pillows were pretty shot and should be replaced. Only the sheets were ever changed. The room was huge but spartan, obviously old, overall, but looked like some effort was made to maintain it. I would have liked if there was more effort made in cleaning the tile floors every day, there was always sand gunk getting on my bare feet. The TV was the old kind, small, with iffy reception. The bath is not too small, had the most toiletries of every hotel I have stayed at ever, and were a nice luxury brand. The water pressure was quite low, but the showerhead looked new. The temperature was very fiddly and I advise CAUTION - it consistently would go boiling hot about 3-5 min into the shower, no matter what I initially set it on, and I would have to keep nudging the lever more towards cold throughout my shower to keep it comfortably warm. And this is coming from someone who loves very hot baths, so you don't have to worry about getting enough hot water. The onsite restaurant had okay food, but very limited selection and very, very slow service like most Freeport restaurants. Don't bother with any of the desserts. The Taino beach pass is a bit misleading, you have to walk sort of across the street and through another property to get to the beach and it can be a bit confusing due to lack of signage. The pass is only good for one use. The beach did seem quiet and private however. And you'll be shocked how close it is to Pelican Bay, in reality. The 3 pools were reasonably clean, not overly chlorinated, and usually not too busy. The spa was not hot, barely warm in fact, and usually not actually bubbling, and I never could find a switch for it. Some advice on the nearby marketplace - avoid the center square and the straw markets unless you want to deal with pushy salespeople. We ate at most of the places there and the best service was at Island Java, Giovanni's, and Cappuccino's. The food at Zorba was good, but better order everything you need on the first go-around. Good luck getting drink refills at any place in Freeport. The food was better than I expected at most places but the service could be downright infuriating, even when expecting "island time".


20 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Reno, NV
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2011
Just OK

After reading the reviews here on Pelican Bay, my expectations seemed to be a bit too high after staying here. The rooms are nice and clean and it is near everything, but for next time, if I can get the same rate across the street at the Radisson (which I could have when I booked this trip but the reviews swayed me towards Pelican Bay), I might go that route instead.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York , NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 3, 2011
NICE PLACE....BEST LOCATION

LARGE ROOMS...GREAT LOCATION....SHORT WALK TO BEACH AND THE MARKET WHERE ALL THE DINING, SHOPPING, BARS, HARBOR, ETC. NEXT DOOR TO THE BEST DIVE SHOP. HARBOR LOCATION ON WATER, 600SQ FT ROOM W/DECK OR PATIO, NEXT TO THE MARKET AND CLOSE TO THE BEACH MAKES UP FOR NOT BEING ON BEACH YOU HAVE A 1/2 SIZE REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM, BUY RUM, OJ, PINEAPPLE JUICE, COCONUT WATER MIX YOUR OWN DRINKS. THIS STUFF IS ALL CHEAP AT THE DUTY FREE STORES. DRUG STORES ARE VERY LIMITED AND TWICE THE PRICE OF US. 10 OR 12 DINNING CHOICES IN THE MARKET, THE ONES WE TRIED WERE GOOD NOT GREAT. BIG DADDY CONCH FRY STAND GOOD LE MED WAS BEST OVERALL FOR ME, BREAKFAST (VERY GOOD W/ GOOD HARBOR VIEWS) LUNCH AND DINNER. LE MED PAN FRIED SNAPPER WAS THE BEST DISH ON THE TRIP.

VIEW FROM 325 325 FROM WATER
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: ST LOUIS
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 8, 2012
Enjoyable stay!

We stayed at Pelican Bay for four nights in one of the waterfront rooms. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and personable. We were provided a portacrib for our baby and were easily moved from a room with two doubles to a king. When we go back, I would like to try a stateside suite. While our room was perfectly comfortable, it was really just a hotel room with a balcony. The a/c was loud, and did not have a digital temp (although the room with two beds did). I believe the stateside rooms have thermostats. Our balcony overlooked one of the three pools and the water, but for some reason was not that inviting--perhaps the concrete floor or simple wooden table and chairs. A ferry is provided to Taino beach which is fast, convenient and fun, but when we went in late August, the beach was not that clear so we preferred the pools at Pelican Bay. We really enjoyed the food at Sabor--you could get a reasonably priced flatbread by the pool or more expensive fresh grouper. It is very close to the market which is basically stores and restaurants for cruise folks. Its convenient, but there is no grocery store and only one fruit stand. The restaurants were okay. You can also access the beach at the Radisson for free if you walk about 1/4 mile. I was glad I didn't pay for the Radisson because the beach was just okay. They are right by Unexsco which arranges dives and dolphin adventures. They are awseome and I would suggest both. Overall, a great stay. I'd like to go back for a week, hit the grocery store, and stay in one of the suites.

View from our balcony Dolphin encounter
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Durham, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
First Timer

The resort staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The property was very well maintained and groomed. We had a suite which was very spacious for 2. Only 1 of the 3 pools were open/functional. We were there with a large group for a wedding. We practically had to beg them to get the hot tub turned on and warm. You have to either go across the street to the casino or take a ferry over to get to a beach. Everything in the area was very over priced. It was almost $60 for a case of locally brewed beer and the same for imports like Budweiser, etc. The downtown was a short walk away but there was hardly anything of interest there. The food was decent we ate at just about every restaurant in the marketplace. The best restaurant by far was at the resort. Sadly this experience left me never wanting to venture to the Bahamas again I felt it was a very poor value. You could easily experience the same offerings in the keys.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: michigan
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great Place for the Value

This property was a great place to stay for the value. The pools are nice, but there is NOT immediate access to a beach from this property. They served a decent breakfast every morning, and food is within easy reach of the property. Literally about a 1-2 min walk and there are over 10 different food options. There is shopping and bars in the same area, and a casino across the street. I booked the hotel, and to date this was the best price I ever paid for a trip. Becuase the price was so low I was skeptical about the property, but once I got there everything was nice. The staff was nice, and the property was nice.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 9, 2011

great location. Next door to many restaurants and shops. Across the street from the beach. Must pay for chair on the beach side. try the chinese store in the international market - great deals on jewelry and robes.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: nc
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year