All

Paradisus Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 123 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"everything was good except the speacialty restaurants.. one of the restaurants we waited about 40 minutes for our food and finally decided to leave without eating. the buffet is your best option." – jadaf4i
104 out of 142 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
On the Beach Adult Pool Area buffet on the beach Babi Beach

All Paradisus Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 123 reviews. Sort by
September 8, 2012
2nd time

This is my second time to Paradisus Punta Cana. Ok let me breakdown what everyone would like to know: Grounds: Absolutely beautiful. Lush landscaping, manicured exotic plants, beautiful and clean beaches and pools. Staff: Very friendly and helpful. Not all speak English, but most understand what you are trying to say or they will get someone who does. Did I mention the men are gorgeous? Ok fellas, the women are beautiful too. Rooms: I stayed in a Junior Deluxe Suite like before. It is close to everything. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff keep it clean. Your bedding will be a bit moist, but that is caused by the humidity there (which by the way does something beautiful to your skin and hair). I love the double showers. Keep you bags closed though. I seen a huge spider in my room. Believe me that sucker was big!!! My sister sprayed our spider with FDS, SMDH. The private balcony is beautiful. Remind your housekeeper to restock your bar. The only thing I hate is the confusing light configuration. I have not found out how to turn some on while keeping some off. I am a little slow I guess. Food: Most restaurants were closed due to weather. But I always eat at the steakhouse anyways. It was open throughout my stay. I was not impressed with the buffet choices this go round. But it was cool. You can always find something to eat. From what I heard from other guests, the Japense and Chinese locations are great. I wouldn't know, because I never go. Everyone will find something they like. Don't mind the construction, they are rebuilding the grill. Negotiate all excursions. Don't settle on the first price they propose. Do go parasailing. I thought it was going to be scary, but it is not. Very cool. Tips: Bring $1 bills for tipping. No, it is not required, but these people work hard to please you. Ladies bring flat shoes!!!!! The resort is huge and has sealed stone walkways. Not good for heels. If you straighten your hair or curl it bring a nice holding hairspray, because the humidity can mess it up. Bring plastic bags to place your electronic devices in when you go on water excursions. Oh, don't worry about what the weather channel says. It will not rain everyday like it says. Even if you get some rain, it will clear up in a few moments. My trip was awesome and I will be back in December!!! Special thanks to: Guides: Jean Yves Batenders: Felippe Lorenzo Restaurant: Larry


35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Durham, Norh Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2011
Relaxing vacation

The resort was very nice, people were friendly and helpful. I would recommend getting a room in the reserve section. The regular room was not what we saw on the website, very dark, old and small. We ended up upgrading to the reserve.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 1, 2016
Food poisoning.

We arrived to the resort from the airport with no problems. All luggage in tow. We arrived to the Resort to wait over 4 hours to check in, which put us in our room at 6:30 p.m. We arrived at a little after 2:00 p.m. They just left us sitting in the main lobby area with 1 complimentary drink. Once we were in our room, we never met our Butler that we paid extra for and was told to eat at the Gabby Beach Restaurant which is a Buffet, I don't eat Buffet's. We ate and I became deathly ill. It was terrible, The worst food I have ever eaten in my entire life. The fruit is fresh and that was the only good thing they had. The Beaches are beautiful, and the resort is pretty. The room was O.K. and clean. We took cold showers every day. the Butler was a joke. They are supposed to set your dinner reservations and stock your fridge which does not cool. None of this happened. We ask to eat at restaurants and were told it was full. We are at Gabby Beach Restaurant twice. 13 restaurants on the resort. The food is bland and not good and it will make you sick. We were all sick throughout our vacation. I will never go back. Its a shame because the beauty is breathtaking. Everyone we talked to said they had a horrible experience checking in. Also, we paid extra for the Adult Only area. There were kids on the beach, and around us. We love Children, but we were not taking any of ours and paid more for Adult Only and did not receive this. Ridiculous. The up charges are not worth it.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Alabama
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 26, 2013
All-inclusive including frustration

The beaches, grounds, and pools at Paradisus Punta Cana are beautiful. And in general, the resort staff members that work in the restaurants are friendly and welcoming. When you consider the price of this resort, however, the service we experienced from the host and concierge staff was average/ mediocre at best. When we arrived two hours after the check-in time, for example, we were told to come back in a couple of hours as our room was still not ready. We were also informed that we would have guaranteed restaurant reservations for 3 of our nights at the resort. Making the reservations, however, was an incredibly frustrating process that required multiple back and forth phone calls and way too much time wasted in the room. Eventually, we were finally given 3 reservations at the most undesirable time of 9:45 pm, and the reservations hostess made us feel as though we were the nuisance. Although a beautiful place, if we were to return, Paradisus would not be our chosen destination.


19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34

October 22, 2016
First time but not the last

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at Paradisus! We had never been to an all inclusive and did not know what to expect . Our experience far exceeded our expectations. The resort is sprawling and breathtaking!! The staff is terrific and I cannot emphasize enough how great the restaurants and bars are . Royal service is the way to go . We loved the private beach , pool and our butler , Johan could not do enough for us . He sought us out each day to see how we were doing and could he do anything to make our day better . It was greatly appreciated . He even had a heart made of rose petals on our bed the night of our anniversary . The guests ranged in age from very young to people much older than us so we were made to feel very comfortable. The ecology trail was lush and well worth the walk . I treated myself to a luxurious massage at the beautiful spa . I highly recommend Paradisus . You will not be disappointed!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Absolute paradise (for the most part)

Dear fellow travelers, Let me begin my review of the Paradisus Punta Cana by prefacing it with the fact that I had read every review under the sun prior to departing for my trip on August 9th, 2009. The following review reflects reactions to those traveler reviews (i.e., accurate or inaccurate) in addition to insight not previously mentioned. Finally, it is only fair to present a disclaimer that my fioncé and I are not particularly picky people. If you get frustrated easily, the Dominican Republic may not be an advisable destination for your vacation. After all, as stated in many of the reviews, it is a third-world country. *Airport transfers* (not exclusive to the resort): If you book your trip through cheapcarribean.com, I suggest that you avoid the Turinter airport shuttle transfer and rather "splurge" on a taxi. After a long day of traveling, we waited an additional 40 minutes to leave the airport as other passengers had to board and re-board the small van (they shuffled passengers between two buses several times before departing). The upshot: The Paradisus Punta Cana is the first stop on the shuttle and the ride includes some helpful advice from a travel representative (e.g., don't drink the water!). Once you get to the resort, you are required to meet with a Turinter representative in the lobby the next day (she arrived 15 minutes late) to confirm the ride for the way back to the airport. Even though my fioncé do not get frustrated easily, this really ruined our mid-day "beach groove" and were unhappy with this mandatory meeting. If you do book a transfer with Turinter, find the number of the representative and call him/her instead of taking time out of your vacation to have a meeting. On the way back, our van came to pick us up on time and we were the only passengers. All in all, I get the feeling that this company is inconsistent and would recommend a taxi if you have the money. The grounds: Exquisite! We could not believe how beautiful it was upon arrival. Absolutely gorgeous and lush gardens, coy ponds, flowers, neatly-kept grass.... absolute paradise! The one caveat is that-- as mentioned by almost every traveler review-- the resort is very large and takes a long time to walk from place to place. We reserved a regular room and were located quite close to the beach, pool, and buffets. However, getting to the front lobby, gym, etc., required a 10 minute walk or a quick tram ride. However, trams and taxi-like go carts were readily available. The beach: Absolutely beautiful. The sand was smooth and the water was perfect. If not for our eyes burning, we could have swum in the water all day. It is quite refreshing to take a dip in the ocean after lying out on the beach for a half-hour. The waves were not too intense as mentioned in the reviews, but this could vary depending on the time of year. The ocean floor felt as if you were walking on a mattress comforter. The pool: The main pool was HOT and often crowded. We went in on the first day and never returned. My suggestion: go to the reserve pool. It is cool, quiet, and luxurious. Nobody will hassle you if you keep a low profile. The service: Contrary to many of the traveler reviews, we found the service to be excellent. Everyone was kind and greeted you with a smile. There was no significant language barrier, as most employees spoke English-- at least to the degree of comprehension. If you know basic vocabulary in Spanish (e.g., agua, leche, banos) then you should get by with no problem. Glasses of wine were refilled without asking and waiters were quick to take our orders. We never felt like we were waiting around for service. I happened to clog the toilet in the room on the first day we were there—10 minutes later, we had maintenance staff in our room to fix it. *Although tips are not required, we gave maintenance staff, some of the bar staff (after a heavy night of drinking), and the bellboys a few dollars. It really brightens up their day.* The rooms: Pretty good. Clean and comfortable (the AC kept us cool with no complaints). Our minifridge included some bottles of water and soda which were not replenished until the 3rd day we were there. We called the front desk about 6 times to get somebody to come replenish the water, but to no avail (we needed bottled water to brush our teeth—DON’T DRINK THE TAP WATER FOR ANY REASON!!!). However, we were able to get water from the bars to bring back to our room. The TV's come with an abundance of channels, including several premium movie channels in English. The food: Because we traveled during the off-peak, some of the restaurants were not open every night. We ate at Hibiscus (the buffet) the first night. The food there was manageable, but very greasy. It made both of us quite sick several minutes after we left. The same is true for the lunch buffets. We were able to eat at Dolce Vita, the Italian restaurant. You did not need reservations, but it got booked up pretty quickly. We didn’t have a problem getting a table on both nights that it was open. The food there was fantastic, the service was excellent, and the ambiance was romantic and serene. We sat on the water over squawking flamingos (don't feed them because they'll just want more). However, my fiance and I found the flamingos to be entertaining rather than irritating. The alcohol selection: Contrary to many reviews which said that only local alcohol was available, although not top-shelf, the bars serve American liquor (Jack Daniels, Absolute, Bacardi, etc..) However, the only beer they serve is Presidente and Presidente Light. This was a little disappointing, but there are worse things in life. The "fruity drinks" were delicious. Some reviews said that they were too sweet that they could not even drink them. This is absurd! Their special Paradisus drink was delicious and I highly recommend it (with or without alcohol). All in all, we had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. I highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a few quiet days on the beach. However, if you are traveling with your family, I would not recommend an extended stay unless you take advantage of the excursions (Zip-lining, snorkeling, hiking, etc.) because there is little to do around the resort.


30 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 2, 2011
Paradisus

A very well managed all inclusive resort with a gorgeous beach and a dozen different reataurants offering delicious and visually appealing food. The beach is large and private (where the beach chairs and lounges are) for the areas designated for Paradisus guests. The beautifully landscaped grounds are constantly being trimmed, and look beautiful. The place is large, but a tram will whisk you to any destination on the grounds in about 5 minutes. Their Dominican staff was polite, well trained, and very responsive to your needs. A couple personal notes: SCUBA diving is included in the all-inclusive rates, and is done from their Aquatic Center in 20 foot boats which take you out to a reef about a half-mile off shore. It is a 1-tank dive, and was in about 30 feet of water, with some nice coral, sponges, and small fish to see. If you stay in "The Reseve" area, I believe the rooms are a bit nicer, but don't let your room door slam when you leave your room. The doors are heavy, and are noisy for other guests if you allow them to close by themselves. All in all, a beautiful , very well managed resort which I would enjoy again in the future. It is probably the best on the island.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Arkansas
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2012
PARADISUS PUNTA CANA

THE FOOD WAS A WASTE EVEN WITH ROYAL SERVICE. THE ONLY DINING AREA THAT WAS WAS GREAT WAS FUEGO WHICH YOU CAN ONLY GO TO ONCE IF YOU STAYED 7 NIGHTS AND WAS ROYAL SERVICE. JAPANESE DINING WAS GOOD. SEAFOOD WAS HORRIBLE. THE LOBTSTER WAS SPREADABLE IT WAS SO OLD. WE ACTUALLY WENT OFF SITE TO EAT. THE CASINO IS SO TINY THEY SAY THEY HAVE POKER BUT IT IS ONLY 1 TABLE AND OF THE TIME MY FRIENDS WERE THERE (10 DAY) AND MYSELF 1 DAY AFTER IT WAS ONLY OPENED 1 TIME. SPENT ALMOST EVERY NIGHT AT THE HARD ROCK. YOU COULD BE THE ONLY ONES IN THE CASINO AT PARADISUS. I WILL SAY THE SERIVCE WAS GREAT EXCEPT THE LAST NIGHT/MORNING. I DIDN'T GET MY WAKE CALL OR MY ROOM SERVICE ORDER. IF YOU GO PAY THE EXTRA PRICE FOR ROYAL SERIVCE THE POOL IS ON THE BEACH AND THE BAR IS GREAT AND YOU GET THE COVERED AREAS WITH THE CUSHIONS AND BEDS. eXPECT THE RESORT TO BE LARGE AND HAVE TO WAIT FOR TRAMS OR CALL YOUR ROYAL SERVICE BUTLER TO PICK YOU UP TO GO TO THE MAIN AREA. BE CARE OF CAB RIDES ASK HOW MUSH OF THE ATTENDENT BEFORE YOU GET IN THE CAB FOR YOU MAY GET SCAMMED.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: DALLAS, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2015
Pushy in Paradise

The airline debacle to and from this resort is something to be reviewed another day. When we arrived to the resort, we were quickly greeted at the check in desk. We were assigned a concierge, who grabbed us a drink, and then...we waited. And waited. And waited. The concierge came back, and forgot the keys. He tried to tell us to meet him for a time share meeting, which we said no to, because we were there for a meeting. After arguing back and forth (language barrier didn't help), we finally got our room keys. This is a large resort, but we were willing to walk our luggage to our room, just so it was with us. A bellboy grabbed the suitcase, and that's when I lost my patience. Sensing and hearing that I was upset, we were placed in a golf cart with the luggage following. After that, we were able to relax. The pool and beach were a quick walk, and both were beautiful. Tips: towels are a pain to get. Topless happens. If you find someone in a towel hut, grab towels and never let go. The pool is a great size for the resort with a fantastic swim up bar. People reserve the shady cabanas and loungers early...do the same, or be disappointed in your seating options on the beach and at the pool. There are two buffets: Gabi Beach and Naos. Naos has a gauntlet of vendors in the main entrance, so sneak in through the back. The hot line breakfast items are better there. Gabi has an ocean breeze, bad music, and good fruit selection for breakfast. Make dinner reservations for your stay early on...its worth it. Finally...tip the bartenders, and you will be rewarded with better alcohol, generous pours and increased attentiveness,


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, D.C.
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 12, 2016
World-class Honeymoon Destination!

WOW! That's pretty much the simplest word we could sum up our honeymoon stay at Paradisus last week. The resort is absolutely HUGE and maintained better than any other residential, commercial, or type of property I have seen. There are always workers meticulously taking care of the gorgeous gardens and grounds they have there. They have golf carts constantly circling to take you to any part of the resort you need to go. We did the Royal Service which we usually don't do at these types of resorts. But this was well worth-it if you are a couple/adults only! You get VIP check-in and access to a very nice lounge. Our butler, Omar, was extremely friendly and helpful with assisting in making dinner reservations as well as asking what we would like in our mini-bar. The entire staff at this resort is the friendliest staff you will ever meet. They are funny and will go out of their way/above and beyond to ensure you are completely satisfied. The food is very good with a variety of options. Steak and Lobster were excellent!! We enjoyed La Palapa, Aqua, and The Grill the most. FYI a majority of the restaurants are outside so if that is not your thing then you might want to consider something else. However, I am always hot and thought I would hate this but there is a very nice ocean breeze at night and it ended up not being too bad at all. They invited us and other honeymoon couples to a special dinner on the beach which was like eating at a 5-star restaurant - very formal and professional in how they put this together! The rooms are very nice with breathtaking views. Cleaned well everyday! The nightly entertainment was fantastic! Lion King and Michael Jackson shows were phenomenal! If you are doing a plethora of research like I did for a trip to Punta Cana, strongly consider Paradisus. It is a huge, magnificient resort. The views are incredible and it's a great place to celebrate a special occasion.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Wales, PA
Age: 25-34