All

Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 211 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.8
4.6 out of 5
"Great service, nice rooms, but pools and beach just average. Food was not as good as we hoped." – drindian
214 out of 242 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
LaPerla Pool Me on the beach We loved our Patio and used the Jacuzzi every night! Main pool on La Perla side at night LA Palpa resturant by the RS pool Beach view One of the lounges at night (La Esmeralda side) Royal Srvice pool Poolside at the Paradisus!! Bed First dinner. Salmon was amazing April 2017 April 2017 Paradisus Beach Special gift from the Paradisus to celebrate our anniversay!! Beach View Newly wed fun in paradisus playa del carmen View from entry area. Swim up to rooms. Paradisus La Perla 2016 Hotel View

All Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla Customer Reviews

1-10 of 211 reviews. Sort by
September 4, 2012
Beautiful Resort

My partner and I just spent 4 delightful days at La Perla. We had a swim-up suite and it was just wonderful.Decor at the resort is very modern. Check-in was speedy. We had one problem with our TV, it sort of blew up and we had a new one within 20 minutes. Also, the maintenance man showed us how to hook up the IPOD dock to the TV and with a flip of the switch on the wall in the bathroom (which we did not know about) we had music or TV piped through the entire unit. The Resort was not crowded at all and we never had a problem getting a Palapa (I think that's the word) bed at the pool. I also never had a problem getting a chair at the beach. The drinks were top notch, all top shelf. Also, not all vodka was visible at the bars. For example, they had Belvidere and Grey Goose which was kept in the coolers. Stop in the M Bar for a great martini. The restaurants also were not crowded. We ate at Fuego, Bana and Vento. I'd say in two of the restaurants we were the only 2 people. However, we did eat early, 6:00 pm. so maybe that had something to do with it. Or, it could be that we were there during hurricane season.Anyway, food was good. Breakfast buffet was standard. The Circus show was great and the Michael Jackson show was also pretty good. We also went to the Fire show at the Gabi Club which is the outdoor, sandy area near the entrance to the beach. The show was great. There was food and drink flowing freely during the show. All the dancers and performers were excellent. We would go back in a minute. Also, I'm a fanatic when it comes to beds and believe me, our bed and pillows were the best. If you like a firm bed, then you'll love these beds. We read complaints from people about the resort being across the street from the sort of run down section of Playa del Carmen but, once in the resort, you won't even know that it exists. The only way we knew this was by standing in the front lobby and looking over the wall. Otherwise, you're well away from the common streets. Highly recommend La Perla for a wonderful adult getaway.

Paradisus Beach LaPerla Pool
18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Umatilla, Fl
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 20, 2012
BEST VACATION EVER!

My husband and I recently got married and booked paradisus La Perla for our honeymoon and everything FAR exceeded our expectations!! MY biggest thing when traveling is that the room is clean, and our room was beautiful and completely spotless! There was a bit of a musty smell when we first went in, but after having the air on for about an hour it went away and never came back for the remainder of our stay. The pool was cleaned everyday, and was always inviting. The service by the pool was great, we never went without a drink! Everyone treated us like royalty, it was truly incredible. I have never felt so pampered. The food... holy cow, amazing. We are from Chicago so we do our fair share of eating at different places, and checking out new lounges ect... this place was incredible when it came to the food. Each restaurant had a FULL menu, and the options were very different from place to place. Each dinner we had seemed better than the last, and the service was always perfect. Even the breakfast buffet was really good food. Not greasy, mass produced buffet food like many places I've been. They have a smoothie station and an omlette station, both really nice. The snack bar by the pool has very nice food as well! I got a piece of fish that I was really happy with- it was fresh and prepared on the grill- very tasty! We participated in a wine and tequila tasting on the days it was not super sunny, and both were really fun! and tasty :-) The rooms have a double shower and double bathtub so it was perfect for us honeymooners! The rooms were cleaned daily. I did have to ask a few times to be brought more water on the second day (I drink a ridiculous amount of water!) but after that day they made sure to bring me LOTS each time they restocked our room. You get coffee in your room for the coffee machine each day. Black is regular, white decaf. The turn down service was really nice too, nice to come home to a fresh looking bed! We took a trip to Chichen Itza and it was amazing, but plan on getting back at least 2 hours after they say you will (We got back 3 hours late and missed our dinner reservations!!) Also, bring a snack, because you will be hungry by 9:30 at night (that's when we got back) Also, they don't stop frequently for bathroom breaks, so don't have your morning coffee is it's going to make you have to go... just FYI... there were some people yelling at our tour guide to stop 3 hours into the trip because they were going to loose it. I can't blame them! Our trip was through Olympus... maybe other tour groups have different arrangements and stay on time? All of the service staff was very kind and helpful to us. We never felt like anyone was being bothered by us asking a question. It was really nice. The entire place is like one big lounge. It's not really a party resort, so if you are a group of young college kids looking to get drunk and pass out by 2pm this probably isn't the place for you. Of course people were drinking all day and having a good time, just not a big party atmosphere. VERY relaxing though! It was raining one of the days we were there and we just wandered around with a glass of wine stopping at different lounge chairs for a rest (and a tiny nap) no one seemed to mind! One thing that was not super awesome was the beach. It's a bit small, and there was a tropical storm while we were there so a lot of seaweed washed up- but that was not the resorts fault! They cleaned it up quickly, but we could not swim in the ocean while we were there. But the sand was really nice otherwise, and I'm sure it's pretty at a different time of year. Overall, this place is the BEST!! I would love to go back, or to another one of their resorts around the world. I highly recommend this place for honeymooners and couples looking to get away. The Adult Only concept was well inforced and TOTALLY worth a bit of extra money. I thought that price was a little bit high when we booked, but when we got there I felt like it was a steal!! GO TO PARADISUS!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!


32 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2013
First Timer with plenty of cruises under my belt

My wife and I went for our 20 year anniversary. The facility was really nice on the northern end of Playa del Carmen (south of Cancun). It was clean and there were many dining options, lounge areas, etc. We had a great time and the staff was really nice. One side of the complex was for families (and kids) and the other was for adults only. Our room was a swim up one and well worth it! We swam/floated to the main pool with a bar! Awesome! They also had premium booze. Compared to the 4 cruises I've been on, this place was a better deal because of the booze being included, but not so much because the food offerings were not my cup of tea. The restaurants were pretty fancy for a simple guy like me. Looking at the menu of a couple of places and I wasn't watering at the mouth for them. The ones we did try were ok. The best one to me was Bana, a Hibachi/Sushi place (and I'm not a sushi guy). We tried a few others, but didn't care for them. Breakfast was fantastic, and the snack bar had good burgers and nachos. We used cheapcaribbean.com to book this and activities had included kayaking, snorkeling, etc. You *could* do those things, but not as provided by the resort. They were excursions you had to book and pay extra for. The Good: Bana restaurant, Swim up bar, FANTASTIC staff that worked their butts off to make our stay enjoyable! Lots to do in the area and great entertainment at night. The Bad: Dining fills up rather fast, and after trying to make a reservation at a nice restaurant, we were directed to the buffet on the family side by the pool (no reservation required, though they gave me one anyway). Don't plan on walking around directly outside the resort. It isn't the nicest looking area, but a cab ride will get you to the market in town. Tips: Bring a floaty. Bring tip money to get extra attention at the bar (trust me, it's worth it). Bring an insulated mug to keep your drink cold.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2015
Memorable Vacation!

I went to Paradisus for a mom-daughter getaway. The resort is amazing, and we loved the Perla side (adults only), though the entire resort (Esmeralda) was open to us too. We ate at a different restaurant every night, our favorite was Bana for Japanese/sushi. While crowded at the pool, we didn't have much of a problem getting seats. There was a posted sign that unoccupied chairs would be cleared of towels every 30 minutes, though we saw dozens of chairs "marked" by towels each day that never got cleared. Ivan in the pool area suggested great cocktails for us to try all week. The entertainment was great, from tequila and wine tastings to Elvis impersonators and magicians at night. It would be nice for the nighttime entertainment to last longer than 30 minutes - we missed most of it each night because it started at 8pm while we were at dinner. Service overall is great, I prefer all inclusives that include tips in the cost versus being obliged to tip for everything and having to carry a wallet around all the time. The rooms are spacious, with nice balconies, double rain showers and comfy beds. If I return I'd go for a swim up room with a hot tub.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 14, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon - great food, value and pools!!!

My husband has never been outside the States while I have lived all over the world - Paradisus La Perla was an excellent compromise for us and the perfect honeymoon! Cheap Carribean/Amstar small shuttle service was safe and easy to find at the Cancun airport and worth the extra money in order to get to our resort 40 minutes away very quickly without having to stop at 10 different other resorts along the way. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon and the entrance and lobby were gorgeous, hip, and smelled wonderful! The staff checked us in quickly and upgraded us to a SWIM UP SUITE #1037 which was the perfect location! We had a modest living room with TV (in order to update ourselves on the World Cup games!), a nice kitchen with stocked mini-frig and coffee pot, sink, and bistro table. Our bathroom was gorgeous and the bedroom had 2 double beds (which may sound weird for a honeymoon couple but we requested it - lol). The bedroom AND the living room had large sliding glass doors opening onto a beautiful tiled patio with another bistro table set AND a clean new hot tub/Jacuzzi tub outside. This was filled with a hot bubble bath covered in rose petals with bottle of champagne and plate of chocolate-covered strawberries our 2nd night there as a gift from the hotel to help us celebrate our honeymoon - very nice touch. The patio has steps into the "swim up area" where you have 4ft of pool water in a relatively secluded spot (Room #1037) back in the corner of the "moat" of pool that surrounds the resort grounds. Our spot had tile tanning beds and tables built into the 4ft of water (like all swim up suites) but as this room was in the corner - it was not only one of the most secluded suites but had immediate access by "land" to the small bridge connecting the room across the moat into the main pool area AND immediate access by "water" under another nearby bridge into the main pool area. Sorry for all the details but this made everything SO EASY for our stay! We loved it! We met some great new friends outside their swim up suites next to us too. FUN! Since Paradisus La Perla had a "family side" (Esmeralda) I was worried about too many kids etc while on our honeymoon but the center of the resort housed all the delicious restaurants and it SPLIT the resort completely so we never saw or heard any kids as they were on the complete other side with their own pool and rooms and restaurants. You could go to those family-friendly restaurants but children were not allowed on the La Perla side with the adults-only restaurants. From the center area, there was a wide boardwalk to the beach. NOTE: although I read reviews that the beach was swimmable, it was not while we were there. The weather was absolutely perfect but we decided to stay pool side instead of the beach; however we walked up the beach every morning before eating breakfast and it was wonderful to walk on! We even did the 30 minute HOT HOT walk down the beach to the town of Playa del Carmen to shop for souvenirs on "5th Avenue" (but took a $10 taxi back cause it was so HOT! - taxi was very safe!). Per the eating - the restaurants could not have been any better!! We LOVE trying different things and LOVED "Fuego" (adults), "La Palapa" (adults), and "Mole" (family-friendly) the best although the "Grill" was good for basic steak/potato kind of people. Also, we had the breakfast buffet at "Hadar" (adults) every morning - delish! Although we truly just wanted to relax and spent our 3 days pool side, the new friends we met did plenty of excursions and felt that seeing the ruins (all day excursion) was excellent. I had a deep-tissue massage by Miss Alma at the YHI Spa at the resort and it was an excellent experience for me. I recommend you go early in your bathing suit to partake of the 3 different outdoor pool temperatures then take clothes to change into in order to use the steam room/sauna/showers/and make-up table area in the locker room to get ready for the evening! The locker room had a very good hairdryer, brushes, mouthwash, q-tips, hand lotion, etc to get yourself ready. AVOID meeting the Amstar representative at 4-clock on the day of your arrival (although they tell you YOU MUST) because Paradisus connects you with a Concierge (we had Adriana Espinoza - great!) who handles everything for you and she set up our reservations for the stay, surprised us with the champagne and rose covered hot tub, scheduled my massage, AND confirmed our transportation back to the airport (so we did NOT have to meet an Amstar representative). However, the Paradisus Concierge person will ask to meet with you over breakfast or lunch in order to discuss the "MELIA Resorts points program" and give you a FREE massage (or something else you like!) but we politely declined this (and thus, paid for my massage). Adriana never asked us again and we appreciated her kindness because we have heard that at other resorts they can be quite persistent! ASK when you check in about complimentary COUPONS - you can get $100 toward a run upgrade, $50 off a massage, $10 off at the resort gift shop, and FREE premium bottles of wine at dinner etc. All good to have!!! ENJOY the free resort activities - tequila tasting, tango lessons, water aerobics - all super fun! THE POOL was beautiful and clean and refreshing and had plenty of towels, nice lounge chairs, shady palm trees or umbrellas, AND gorgeous comfy BALI BEDS - all included! OVERALL I rated the pools/beaches a 4 out of 5 only because the beach, while great to walk on and pretty to look at, was not swimmable. And I rated the service a 4 out of 5 only because 2 waiters were good but not great at dinnertime and our room was not cleaned daily although they did an excellent job after we called the front desk to request a cleaning. SERVICE-wise, we loved Christina Ortiz for pool-side service - she was wonderful and sweet and refilled our drinks constantly and even came over to our suite's swim-up area to check on us :) WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND that if you go, you take $100 in single-bills and tip our pool-side server $2+ at the beginning of the day then $1+ with each return service for drinks or $3+ for lunch so you get kind, efficient wait staff during your stay. We usually left $2-3 to our breakfast server and $5-6 to our dinner server. We also left $3 a day to housekeeping and $20 on the last day to our Concierge Adriana for her excellent service. We know this review is lengthy but we hope it helps someone! Ultimately, this location was in CST (i.e. close to EST) and the staff spoke English - all of which seems simple but helped my husband adjust to his first international experience. Still, the guests were quite diverse - GERMAN, SPANISH, FRENCH, AMERICAN and the resort very classy and hip - making the experience "international". Good Luck and Bon Voyage! --The Happy Couple


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Villa Hills, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 18, 2012
VACATION

MY FAMILY VISITED THE PARADIISUS PLAYA DEL CARMEN LA PERLA IN APRIL 2012,,,WE HAD A WONDERFUL STAY. AT FIRST I WAS A LITTLE WORRIED I COULD NOT SEE THE BEACH AS SOON AS I WALKED IN THE LOBBY,,,I WOULD SAY THE BEACH VIEW REALLY LACKS AT THIS HOTEL,,,FIRST WE WERE PUT IN ROOMS THAT WERE TOTALLY UNEXCEPTABLE I THINK WHEN I HAD A BREAK DOWN CRYING BECAUSE THERE WAS NO VIEW OF ANYTHING BUT BRUSH AND DIRT THEY UPGRADED US TO A POOL SIDE SUITE AT NO CHARGE,,,THOSE ROOMS WERE GREAT BUT STILL NOT A VERY GOOD VIEW OF THE OCEAN. SO MAKE SURE YOU GET A GOOD ROOM.THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING,,,THE SERVICE EXCELLENT,,,THE NO KIDS AT THE RESORT WAS THE BEST,,,,SO QUIET AND CALM AND RELAXING....TRIPS INTO PLAYA FOR SHOPPING WAS SAFE AND THERE WAS SO MUCH TO DO THERE. OH AND I MUST MENTION THE SPA,,,YOU HAVE TO GET A MASSAGE,,,WONDERFUL!!!OVERALL I WOULD GO BACK .


20 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: WICHITA FALLS TEXAS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2015
Modern, clean, beautiful resort

This resort was incredible. It met every need that we had. My boyfriend and I wanted to relax not party and we did just that. After insane spurts of me researching probably 20 resorts in the area I came across this resort and fell in love with the pictures. Also, reading so many other positive reviews was a plus for me as well. Before I do anything I do a ton of reading around. I was looking for a modern clean resort with luxurious rooms, good food, and great service; and this was the place for it! The rooms are GORGEOUS, the service is absolutely incredible, and the food is great. We enjoyed every part of our stay. Every employee went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied. The property is gorgeous and the staff all work their behinds off throughout the day to keep it clean, well stocked, and looking gorgeous. This is a MUST TRY!


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 7, 2017
Best All Inclusive Resort ever!!

Staying at the Paradisus LaPerla was the best decision we ever made. The resort is only five years old and is beautifully maintained and the staff is over the top and bends over backwards to meet your every request. I had some anxiety about booking the trip through a discount travel web site and thought that I might be assigned a room in a less than desirable location, but that didn't happen. We stayed at the LaPerla Resort right before Christmas (Dec 16-23) and had booked the Royal Service (which I highly recommend). We arrived later than expected because of airplane mechanical issues but the check-in process was excellent and efficient. A glass of champagne was delivered, our beautiful resort wrist bands issued, and we were off to our room and received an orientation on where everything was and how it worked by one of the members of the Butler staff. The Butler had such great customer service and saw that we were traveling with our college-aged daughter, that she automatically ordered additional hangars. The double wardrobes and large volume of drawers ensured that our clothes and all three suitcases were put away appropriately and out of eye sight. The Butler then booked us into one of the restaurants so we could enjoy a late dinner and a few drinks before heading back to our room. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at LaPalapa, the private Royal guest restaurant and met what would turn out to be the best waiter at the resort, Renau. We requested him every time we dined there and it turned out to be but one morning and several times that week for lunch. Our Butler, Napoleon, took care of our dining reservations for the entire week along with my husband's spa appointments. Napoleon also arranged for my husband's shirts to be steamed to remove wrinkles, delivered complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, and we even returned to our room on two separate occasions to bubble baths; one in our patio Jacuzzi and the other in the bathroom tub. The pools were fun and relaxing and the service staff at both of these locations were friendly and efficient. Every dinner restaurant was excellent and we even splurged and dined at the 5 star Passion restaurant (which has an additional fee of about $90/per person). The additional fee was well worth it and the entire experience was outstanding. My daughter commented that she loved the presentation and it was definitely "art!" The beach does have some rocks that you have to tolerate to get far enough out to enjoy the sand but walking along the beach is so beautiful and there is also a Royal section only portion of the beach. Another note is that the adults section of LaPerla is separate from the family section of LaEsmeralda and you really only experience the "child factor" if your dining reservations are on the early side. In fact, we only had a child nearby on two evenings when we opted for 7pm and 7:30pm reservations. After 8pm, the children and their families are restricted to the "family" restaurants. This was such an amazing resort that we never felt the need to leave and travel into town. As I mentioned, we have visited the Cancun area several times previously but this was the best all-inclusive experience in Mexico and we are already planning to return to this resort again next year. For comparison purposes, we had previously stayed at several Iberostar and Princess resorts. Those are great but the Paradisus LaPerla is spectacular! You will not regret staying at the all-adults resort, Paradisus LaPerla so book your reservation today!


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Louisville, Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 6, 2014
Beautiful resort; Disappointing Beach

We just returned from the Paradisus la Perla; the resort itself is beautiful - with contemporary furnishings and a modern vibe throughout the property. Our ocean front room was like an apartment; it was absolutely gorgeous. The restaurant options were excellent and the food and service of the staff was top notch. We had some wonderful meals . There are two areas that we were disappointed in. #1 is the beach. This was huge for us as the beach is such an important part of our vacations. The beach at this resort is small, but that's not the problem. There is so much seaweed in the water that you have to wade through, and the ocean area itself is rocky and completely unpleasant to navigate yourself into the water without stepping on rocks to get to a sandy spot. We were surprised that there had not been more customer reviews on this point as we do our homework on resort locations and this didn't surface as a major issue. It was to us. #2 is the atmosphere in/around the common areas of the resort. We like a happy, fun atmosphere. Other than the pool party (on the last day of our vacation) there wasn't even any piped music (other than elevator music) playing. Not at the pool in the afternoon, where most people gather, not in the main bars. This was a very sullen, quiet resort atmosphere. Too quiet. The resort was DEAD after 7pm. Too bad and a big miss for this beautiful place. The one show we went to was in an open air hallway location, and was so hot we left. Why there's no theater with A/C or even fans for comfort of the guests and performers is a complete mystery. Put on up where the Gabi club is - it's a perfect spot. Overall, the amenities/service/food/resort decor is fantastic. The beach, and atmosphere is a let down.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Arizona
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2015
Interesting Experience

The resort was fantastic overall with one exception, and it is a big exception. When we arrived we were told that La Perla (Adult Section) which is what we booked was completely sold out. We were given 2 options, stay at another resort 20 minutes up the road or stay but be on the family side of the resort. We felt this was a bait and switch as we did not get what we paid for. We chose to stay on the family side as we did not want to get bused to another resort and waste more time on a cramped van. Was this a resort issue or a CheapCaribbean.com who knows but we were not happy when we arrived. Further, the beach was dirty with seaweed and really was not enjoyable as we could not swim nor lounge on the beach due to those conditions. Just not a very nice beach. The resort did take care of us with the change and overall service was great. Will be calling CC.com to discuss in more details as well.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations