All

Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 156 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.8
4.6 out of 5
"Room,pool, facilities and service were excellent. We ate at all options and never found anything but average food. Beach was rocky and small. Compared to playa car , is was poor. Over-priced !" – Biglizard
156 out of 177 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Me on the beach View from entry area. Paradisus La Perla 2016 Paradisus Beach Hotel View Special gift from the Paradisus to celebrate our anniversay!! We loved our Patio and used the Jacuzzi every night! Swim up to rooms. Poolside at the Paradisus!! LaPerla Pool Royal Srvice pool Beach view Bed Beach View LA Palpa resturant by the RS pool

All Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla Customer Reviews

1-10 of 156 reviews. Sort by
August 20, 2012
BEST VACATION EVER!

My husband and I recently got married and booked paradisus La Perla for our honeymoon and everything FAR exceeded our expectations!! MY biggest thing when traveling is that the room is clean, and our room was beautiful and completely spotless! There was a bit of a musty smell when we first went in, but after having the air on for about an hour it went away and never came back for the remainder of our stay. The pool was cleaned everyday, and was always inviting. The service by the pool was great, we never went without a drink! Everyone treated us like royalty, it was truly incredible. I have never felt so pampered. The food... holy cow, amazing. We are from Chicago so we do our fair share of eating at different places, and checking out new lounges ect... this place was incredible when it came to the food. Each restaurant had a FULL menu, and the options were very different from place to place. Each dinner we had seemed better than the last, and the service was always perfect. Even the breakfast buffet was really good food. Not greasy, mass produced buffet food like many places I've been. They have a smoothie station and an omlette station, both really nice. The snack bar by the pool has very nice food as well! I got a piece of fish that I was really happy with- it was fresh and prepared on the grill- very tasty! We participated in a wine and tequila tasting on the days it was not super sunny, and both were really fun! and tasty :-) The rooms have a double shower and double bathtub so it was perfect for us honeymooners! The rooms were cleaned daily. I did have to ask a few times to be brought more water on the second day (I drink a ridiculous amount of water!) but after that day they made sure to bring me LOTS each time they restocked our room. You get coffee in your room for the coffee machine each day. Black is regular, white decaf. The turn down service was really nice too, nice to come home to a fresh looking bed! We took a trip to Chichen Itza and it was amazing, but plan on getting back at least 2 hours after they say you will (We got back 3 hours late and missed our dinner reservations!!) Also, bring a snack, because you will be hungry by 9:30 at night (that's when we got back) Also, they don't stop frequently for bathroom breaks, so don't have your morning coffee is it's going to make you have to go... just FYI... there were some people yelling at our tour guide to stop 3 hours into the trip because they were going to loose it. I can't blame them! Our trip was through Olympus... maybe other tour groups have different arrangements and stay on time? All of the service staff was very kind and helpful to us. We never felt like anyone was being bothered by us asking a question. It was really nice. The entire place is like one big lounge. It's not really a party resort, so if you are a group of young college kids looking to get drunk and pass out by 2pm this probably isn't the place for you. Of course people were drinking all day and having a good time, just not a big party atmosphere. VERY relaxing though! It was raining one of the days we were there and we just wandered around with a glass of wine stopping at different lounge chairs for a rest (and a tiny nap) no one seemed to mind! One thing that was not super awesome was the beach. It's a bit small, and there was a tropical storm while we were there so a lot of seaweed washed up- but that was not the resorts fault! They cleaned it up quickly, but we could not swim in the ocean while we were there. But the sand was really nice otherwise, and I'm sure it's pretty at a different time of year. Overall, this place is the BEST!! I would love to go back, or to another one of their resorts around the world. I highly recommend this place for honeymooners and couples looking to get away. The Adult Only concept was well inforced and TOTALLY worth a bit of extra money. I thought that price was a little bit high when we booked, but when we got there I felt like it was a steal!! GO TO PARADISUS!!! YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!


30 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 4, 2012
Beautiful Resort

My partner and I just spent 4 delightful days at La Perla. We had a swim-up suite and it was just wonderful.Decor at the resort is very modern. Check-in was speedy. We had one problem with our TV, it sort of blew up and we had a new one within 20 minutes. Also, the maintenance man showed us how to hook up the IPOD dock to the TV and with a flip of the switch on the wall in the bathroom (which we did not know about) we had music or TV piped through the entire unit. The Resort was not crowded at all and we never had a problem getting a Palapa (I think that's the word) bed at the pool. I also never had a problem getting a chair at the beach. The drinks were top notch, all top shelf. Also, not all vodka was visible at the bars. For example, they had Belvidere and Grey Goose which was kept in the coolers. Stop in the M Bar for a great martini. The restaurants also were not crowded. We ate at Fuego, Bana and Vento. I'd say in two of the restaurants we were the only 2 people. However, we did eat early, 6:00 pm. so maybe that had something to do with it. Or, it could be that we were there during hurricane season.Anyway, food was good. Breakfast buffet was standard. The Circus show was great and the Michael Jackson show was also pretty good. We also went to the Fire show at the Gabi Club which is the outdoor, sandy area near the entrance to the beach. The show was great. There was food and drink flowing freely during the show. All the dancers and performers were excellent. We would go back in a minute. Also, I'm a fanatic when it comes to beds and believe me, our bed and pillows were the best. If you like a firm bed, then you'll love these beds. We read complaints from people about the resort being across the street from the sort of run down section of Playa del Carmen but, once in the resort, you won't even know that it exists. The only way we knew this was by standing in the front lobby and looking over the wall. Otherwise, you're well away from the common streets. Highly recommend La Perla for a wonderful adult getaway.

Paradisus Beach LaPerla Pool
18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Umatilla, Fl
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 7, 2017
Best All Inclusive Resort ever!!

Staying at the Paradisus LaPerla was the best decision we ever made. The resort is only five years old and is beautifully maintained and the staff is over the top and bends over backwards to meet your every request. I had some anxiety about booking the trip through a discount travel web site and thought that I might be assigned a room in a less than desirable location, but that didn't happen. We stayed at the LaPerla Resort right before Christmas (Dec 16-23) and had booked the Royal Service (which I highly recommend). We arrived later than expected because of airplane mechanical issues but the check-in process was excellent and efficient. A glass of champagne was delivered, our beautiful resort wrist bands issued, and we were off to our room and received an orientation on where everything was and how it worked by one of the members of the Butler staff. The Butler had such great customer service and saw that we were traveling with our college-aged daughter, that she automatically ordered additional hangars. The double wardrobes and large volume of drawers ensured that our clothes and all three suitcases were put away appropriately and out of eye sight. The Butler then booked us into one of the restaurants so we could enjoy a late dinner and a few drinks before heading back to our room. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at LaPalapa, the private Royal guest restaurant and met what would turn out to be the best waiter at the resort, Renau. We requested him every time we dined there and it turned out to be but one morning and several times that week for lunch. Our Butler, Napoleon, took care of our dining reservations for the entire week along with my husband's spa appointments. Napoleon also arranged for my husband's shirts to be steamed to remove wrinkles, delivered complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries, and we even returned to our room on two separate occasions to bubble baths; one in our patio Jacuzzi and the other in the bathroom tub. The pools were fun and relaxing and the service staff at both of these locations were friendly and efficient. Every dinner restaurant was excellent and we even splurged and dined at the 5 star Passion restaurant (which has an additional fee of about $90/per person). The additional fee was well worth it and the entire experience was outstanding. My daughter commented that she loved the presentation and it was definitely "art!" The beach does have some rocks that you have to tolerate to get far enough out to enjoy the sand but walking along the beach is so beautiful and there is also a Royal section only portion of the beach. Another note is that the adults section of LaPerla is separate from the family section of LaEsmeralda and you really only experience the "child factor" if your dining reservations are on the early side. In fact, we only had a child nearby on two evenings when we opted for 7pm and 7:30pm reservations. After 8pm, the children and their families are restricted to the "family" restaurants. This was such an amazing resort that we never felt the need to leave and travel into town. As I mentioned, we have visited the Cancun area several times previously but this was the best all-inclusive experience in Mexico and we are already planning to return to this resort again next year. For comparison purposes, we had previously stayed at several Iberostar and Princess resorts. Those are great but the Paradisus LaPerla is spectacular! You will not regret staying at the all-adults resort, Paradisus LaPerla so book your reservation today!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Louisville, Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 10, 2013
First Timer with plenty of cruises under my belt

My wife and I went for our 20 year anniversary. The facility was really nice on the northern end of Playa del Carmen (south of Cancun). It was clean and there were many dining options, lounge areas, etc. We had a great time and the staff was really nice. One side of the complex was for families (and kids) and the other was for adults only. Our room was a swim up one and well worth it! We swam/floated to the main pool with a bar! Awesome! They also had premium booze. Compared to the 4 cruises I've been on, this place was a better deal because of the booze being included, but not so much because the food offerings were not my cup of tea. The restaurants were pretty fancy for a simple guy like me. Looking at the menu of a couple of places and I wasn't watering at the mouth for them. The ones we did try were ok. The best one to me was Bana, a Hibachi/Sushi place (and I'm not a sushi guy). We tried a few others, but didn't care for them. Breakfast was fantastic, and the snack bar had good burgers and nachos. We used cheapcaribbean.com to book this and activities had included kayaking, snorkeling, etc. You *could* do those things, but not as provided by the resort. They were excursions you had to book and pay extra for. The Good: Bana restaurant, Swim up bar, FANTASTIC staff that worked their butts off to make our stay enjoyable! Lots to do in the area and great entertainment at night. The Bad: Dining fills up rather fast, and after trying to make a reservation at a nice restaurant, we were directed to the buffet on the family side by the pool (no reservation required, though they gave me one anyway). Don't plan on walking around directly outside the resort. It isn't the nicest looking area, but a cab ride will get you to the market in town. Tips: Bring a floaty. Bring tip money to get extra attention at the bar (trust me, it's worth it). Bring an insulated mug to keep your drink cold.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 18, 2012
VACATION

MY FAMILY VISITED THE PARADIISUS PLAYA DEL CARMEN LA PERLA IN APRIL 2012,,,WE HAD A WONDERFUL STAY. AT FIRST I WAS A LITTLE WORRIED I COULD NOT SEE THE BEACH AS SOON AS I WALKED IN THE LOBBY,,,I WOULD SAY THE BEACH VIEW REALLY LACKS AT THIS HOTEL,,,FIRST WE WERE PUT IN ROOMS THAT WERE TOTALLY UNEXCEPTABLE I THINK WHEN I HAD A BREAK DOWN CRYING BECAUSE THERE WAS NO VIEW OF ANYTHING BUT BRUSH AND DIRT THEY UPGRADED US TO A POOL SIDE SUITE AT NO CHARGE,,,THOSE ROOMS WERE GREAT BUT STILL NOT A VERY GOOD VIEW OF THE OCEAN. SO MAKE SURE YOU GET A GOOD ROOM.THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING,,,THE SERVICE EXCELLENT,,,THE NO KIDS AT THE RESORT WAS THE BEST,,,,SO QUIET AND CALM AND RELAXING....TRIPS INTO PLAYA FOR SHOPPING WAS SAFE AND THERE WAS SO MUCH TO DO THERE. OH AND I MUST MENTION THE SPA,,,YOU HAVE TO GET A MASSAGE,,,WONDERFUL!!!OVERALL I WOULD GO BACK .


20 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: WICHITA FALLS TEXAS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 14, 2014
Perfect Honeymoon - great food, value and pools!!!

My husband has never been outside the States while I have lived all over the world - Paradisus La Perla was an excellent compromise for us and the perfect honeymoon! Cheap Carribean/Amstar small shuttle service was safe and easy to find at the Cancun airport and worth the extra money in order to get to our resort 40 minutes away very quickly without having to stop at 10 different other resorts along the way. We checked in on a Saturday afternoon and the entrance and lobby were gorgeous, hip, and smelled wonderful! The staff checked us in quickly and upgraded us to a SWIM UP SUITE #1037 which was the perfect location! We had a modest living room with TV (in order to update ourselves on the World Cup games!), a nice kitchen with stocked mini-frig and coffee pot, sink, and bistro table. Our bathroom was gorgeous and the bedroom had 2 double beds (which may sound weird for a honeymoon couple but we requested it - lol). The bedroom AND the living room had large sliding glass doors opening onto a beautiful tiled patio with another bistro table set AND a clean new hot tub/Jacuzzi tub outside. This was filled with a hot bubble bath covered in rose petals with bottle of champagne and plate of chocolate-covered strawberries our 2nd night there as a gift from the hotel to help us celebrate our honeymoon - very nice touch. The patio has steps into the "swim up area" where you have 4ft of pool water in a relatively secluded spot (Room #1037) back in the corner of the "moat" of pool that surrounds the resort grounds. Our spot had tile tanning beds and tables built into the 4ft of water (like all swim up suites) but as this room was in the corner - it was not only one of the most secluded suites but had immediate access by "land" to the small bridge connecting the room across the moat into the main pool area AND immediate access by "water" under another nearby bridge into the main pool area. Sorry for all the details but this made everything SO EASY for our stay! We loved it! We met some great new friends outside their swim up suites next to us too. FUN! Since Paradisus La Perla had a "family side" (Esmeralda) I was worried about too many kids etc while on our honeymoon but the center of the resort housed all the delicious restaurants and it SPLIT the resort completely so we never saw or heard any kids as they were on the complete other side with their own pool and rooms and restaurants. You could go to those family-friendly restaurants but children were not allowed on the La Perla side with the adults-only restaurants. From the center area, there was a wide boardwalk to the beach. NOTE: although I read reviews that the beach was swimmable, it was not while we were there. The weather was absolutely perfect but we decided to stay pool side instead of the beach; however we walked up the beach every morning before eating breakfast and it was wonderful to walk on! We even did the 30 minute HOT HOT walk down the beach to the town of Playa del Carmen to shop for souvenirs on "5th Avenue" (but took a $10 taxi back cause it was so HOT! - taxi was very safe!). Per the eating - the restaurants could not have been any better!! We LOVE trying different things and LOVED "Fuego" (adults), "La Palapa" (adults), and "Mole" (family-friendly) the best although the "Grill" was good for basic steak/potato kind of people. Also, we had the breakfast buffet at "Hadar" (adults) every morning - delish! Although we truly just wanted to relax and spent our 3 days pool side, the new friends we met did plenty of excursions and felt that seeing the ruins (all day excursion) was excellent. I had a deep-tissue massage by Miss Alma at the YHI Spa at the resort and it was an excellent experience for me. I recommend you go early in your bathing suit to partake of the 3 different outdoor pool temperatures then take clothes to change into in order to use the steam room/sauna/showers/and make-up table area in the locker room to get ready for the evening! The locker room had a very good hairdryer, brushes, mouthwash, q-tips, hand lotion, etc to get yourself ready. AVOID meeting the Amstar representative at 4-clock on the day of your arrival (although they tell you YOU MUST) because Paradisus connects you with a Concierge (we had Adriana Espinoza - great!) who handles everything for you and she set up our reservations for the stay, surprised us with the champagne and rose covered hot tub, scheduled my massage, AND confirmed our transportation back to the airport (so we did NOT have to meet an Amstar representative). However, the Paradisus Concierge person will ask to meet with you over breakfast or lunch in order to discuss the "MELIA Resorts points program" and give you a FREE massage (or something else you like!) but we politely declined this (and thus, paid for my massage). Adriana never asked us again and we appreciated her kindness because we have heard that at other resorts they can be quite persistent! ASK when you check in about complimentary COUPONS - you can get $100 toward a run upgrade, $50 off a massage, $10 off at the resort gift shop, and FREE premium bottles of wine at dinner etc. All good to have!!! ENJOY the free resort activities - tequila tasting, tango lessons, water aerobics - all super fun! THE POOL was beautiful and clean and refreshing and had plenty of towels, nice lounge chairs, shady palm trees or umbrellas, AND gorgeous comfy BALI BEDS - all included! OVERALL I rated the pools/beaches a 4 out of 5 only because the beach, while great to walk on and pretty to look at, was not swimmable. And I rated the service a 4 out of 5 only because 2 waiters were good but not great at dinnertime and our room was not cleaned daily although they did an excellent job after we called the front desk to request a cleaning. SERVICE-wise, we loved Christina Ortiz for pool-side service - she was wonderful and sweet and refilled our drinks constantly and even came over to our suite's swim-up area to check on us :) WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND that if you go, you take $100 in single-bills and tip our pool-side server $2+ at the beginning of the day then $1+ with each return service for drinks or $3+ for lunch so you get kind, efficient wait staff during your stay. We usually left $2-3 to our breakfast server and $5-6 to our dinner server. We also left $3 a day to housekeeping and $20 on the last day to our Concierge Adriana for her excellent service. We know this review is lengthy but we hope it helps someone! Ultimately, this location was in CST (i.e. close to EST) and the staff spoke English - all of which seems simple but helped my husband adjust to his first international experience. Still, the guests were quite diverse - GERMAN, SPANISH, FRENCH, AMERICAN and the resort very classy and hip - making the experience "international". Good Luck and Bon Voyage! --The Happy Couple


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Villa Hills, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2015
A weird mix

We rated this highly but you should really know what you are getting...negatives first and then the positives. 1. THIS IS NOT ADULTS ONLY. We left our teens at home and did not wish to "feel guilty" by seeing others' kids. The shared part of the resort is full of kids and this includes most restaurants. However, there were NO kids in La Perla's pools and only a handful of Spring Breakers. 2. THE BEACH IS NOT PRIVATE. The resort is sandwiched between two beaches that many locals use. The crowds were family oriented and not problematic but there is a constant stream of people walking between the two public beaches. Also, the kids from the resort are on the beach, too. I would have been irate if I had purchased the special luxury upgrade that gets you the "upgraded and even more isolated beach" because it wasn't at all. Additionally, it is incredibly difficult to walk in the water as the ocean floor is incredibly uneven with tree bits sticking up unseen and there is no waves to play in. With that said, the white sand is beautiful and clean. The wind blows across the green water while the sun shines. There are plenty of beach chairs and great umbrellas. The staff even brought food and drinks to the beach occassionally and a bar and a grill are right at the end of the boardwalk. 3. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT! For some reason, our room was upgraded. All staff from the pool guy to the front desk to the waiters to the bartenders were pleasant and helpful. I even left my safe open twice and found it locked by cleaning staff with everything still inside. Manuel brought us drinks to our swim-up suite every 20-30 minutes while we were there. There was a mix-up with room service once and they didn't always replenish the mini-bar or towels but it was no big deal. 4. Bldg A and Bldg B don't get sun on their swim up suites until about noon. Bldg C, D, E lose the sun around 1:30pm. That is important info when choosing and deciding to purchase the upgrade to a swim-up. 5. WE DIDN'T GET ANY OF THE RESTAURANT RESERVATIONS WE ASKED FOR. I don't know how that was possible as the resort was hardly full. Luckily, we are easy to please. The food was good. Palapa was excellent. The service was good. The atmosphere was good. The bars made great drinks. 6. OUR ROOM WAS GREAT! We did get an upgrade to a 1 Bedroom Master Suite Swim-up . It was fantastic. Weirdly, one half of the bed was super uncomfortable, though. Morning room service on the porch was wonderful! 7. THE POOLS ARE FANTASTIC! We never tried those bed things by the pools but others seemed to like them. We LOVED the "recliners" in the pools, especially the one right outside our swim up suite! This is our 5th different Mexico All-inclusive (we have been to Secrets, Dreams, and 2 Riu's). This facility and staff were the best by far but I do think our view is a bit enhanced because of the great room upgrade we received. This was the worst beach by far (we like to swim in the ocean). The food was good and so were the drinks (I do wish our mini-bar was better). I would recommend Paradisus La Perla to others but we won't be coming back because of the beach and the cost (most expensive of the 5 resorts). If kids present and a less than average beach are ok with you then you should try it! Good luck.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bellingham, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2015
Blissful Honeymoon

My husband and I honeymooned at Playa del Carmen La Perla for nine fantastic days! The staff was superb and extremely conscientious and our room was amazing.We stayed in the Royal Service part of the resort and loved every minute! Our butler Lazaro Morales was the best! He was friendly, always had a smile on his face, accommodating and did something romantic for us each and every day we were there (wine a chocolate covered strawberries and a drawn bath with rose petals and champagne are just two examples). The food at all of the restaurants we visited was delicious and top notch. The resort and the grounds were immaculate. Staff was always working hard to keep everything pristine. My husband and I also have to commend Miguel, the personal trainer at the fitness center, for keeping the facility cool and clean. This resort is stellar and everything about it is superb. My husband and I recommend Paradisus Playa del Carmen to anyone looking for a relaxing top of the line resort. We can't wait to return : ) thank you Paradisus for a blissful honeymoon!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2015
Memorable Vacation!

I went to Paradisus for a mom-daughter getaway. The resort is amazing, and we loved the Perla side (adults only), though the entire resort (Esmeralda) was open to us too. We ate at a different restaurant every night, our favorite was Bana for Japanese/sushi. While crowded at the pool, we didn't have much of a problem getting seats. There was a posted sign that unoccupied chairs would be cleared of towels every 30 minutes, though we saw dozens of chairs "marked" by towels each day that never got cleared. Ivan in the pool area suggested great cocktails for us to try all week. The entertainment was great, from tequila and wine tastings to Elvis impersonators and magicians at night. It would be nice for the nighttime entertainment to last longer than 30 minutes - we missed most of it each night because it started at 8pm while we were at dinner. Service overall is great, I prefer all inclusives that include tips in the cost versus being obliged to tip for everything and having to carry a wallet around all the time. The rooms are spacious, with nice balconies, double rain showers and comfy beds. If I return I'd go for a swim up room with a hot tub.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2013
Great trip

I vacationed with my girlfriend April 7-12 at the Paradisus La Perla (Adults Only) and it was everything we expected and more. This resort is a mellow, laid back and very relaxing place. A perfect break for people who live hectic lives and want to unwind. Don't get me wrong its not a boring place there was plenty to do around the pool area. I was talking with people from all over the country by the swim up bar and having a great time, but I was also able to close my eyes and relax. My favorite part was that no matter what time I came down to the pool or beach I was able to find chairs and making dinner reservations was simple. The beach was definitely small and rocky so if your looking for a nice beach area just walk a couple of minutes along the beach and its much better. The only downside I had was that I booked the swim up room for La Perla, but when I arrived they told me they only had swim up rooms available in the family side, even though I had the confirmation printed out for the swim up room in the adults section. They claimed that people had to extend there vacation for medical reasons and that my room was unavailable ( I did not believe that at all). So staying optimistic they took me and my girlfriend to the family side and we immediately returned because they gave me a room for a family to vacation (ex. 2 double beds, swim up room located directly next to the kids pool etc....) not a romantic getaway. So they put us in a second floor suite that was awesome in the adults section with a great view, no complaints on that. Even though we did not get the room we originally wanted and booked we did not let it bother us, we still had an amazing time and would definitely return.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year