All

Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 61 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.4
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.4 out of 5
"One of our best experience for a trip. The wedding venue was special and very accommodating. We would recommend this trip to everyone." – Aggie66
60 out of 71 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Coati? Bathroom Swim up Mediterranean Resturant Room service!

All Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda Customer Reviews

1-10 of 61 reviews. Sort by
November 10, 2014
Months later, I'm still waiting for 1K refund

Generally, we had a wonderful time, and booking through cheap Caribbean was very easy. I called back and had them add my daughter last min and they made it simple and easy. Now, this is our second visit to this resort. Upon arrival, the guest services desk checked us in and said, well, you can upgrade your room for 60 US total b/c we had our voucher. He swiped my card. We enjoyed our stay. Upon check out, the family was all packed in the transportation vehicle, and I want to check out. The front desk tells me I have to pay my upgrade fee. Which I was told was 60 and that I had taken care of. I didn't have my receipt handy and was going to be late. So I handed him my card to swipe again, come to find they charged me almost 1k (price was in pesos). The front desk said that I could call b/c and show I had duplicate charges and take care of it. I was expecting a 60 USD charge. Get home, see 1K on my statement. Contact the resort. Get a number of apologies with promises to see a refund within 72 hours. Multiple calls, emails later, here we are months later and no refund. I keep getting told someone is on vacation, etc. WHAT A JOKE. I WOULD NEVER GO BACK HERE. What a bunch of crooks. Travelers beware.


19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Reston, VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 20, 2012
Beautiful Resort

The property is beautiful. We did have some issues because I believe the property was just too new. After being open 5 weeks, there were some service and room issues. We took some issue that before we even checked into our room we were asked to sign up for a time to listen to their presentation on their"Club" program..like time share. We were not on this vacation because we agreed to listen to a time share presentation. Not good timing on the part of the resort. Let the guests experience the facility before asking them to sign up for something. Found that to kind of ruin our first impressions. We found issue with all the pools in the resort(with exception to the much upgraded areas) were too cold to swim in. We were surprised that the only way you could swim in the pool that was at all comfortable was to have upgraded our room. Pool temperature should be the same for everyone. We paid for an upgraded room to have the swim out of our room feature to find that we could not use it because the water was so cold. The grounds were beautiful and everyone who worked at the resort made us feel very special. The food was good but at times, think it was "too gourmet" for most palates and waiters had a hard time explaining what the dishes were because most were labeled with a Spanish name. ALthough it was an adventure in dining-maybe too much. Needed to give choices in all restaurants of something that is basic to appeal to everyone. I also feel that the "Coupon Book" that we received and was advertised was not it was talked about. We were told because of our 7 night stay we would receive an upgrade in our room upon check in. Well, you could upgrade, but you would use the coupon and then add at least another 800.00-not at all what we expected. They spoke of 200.00 in Spa coupons-but, you could not use them together-only 40.00 per service but the services were very costly and could not combine your coupons to take advantage of saving more-thus, no coupons were used.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 8, 2013
If you're a 'hotel snob' like me...

Not ever purchasing an all-inclusive nor ever using CheapCaribbean, I spent a good deal of time researching resorts & comparing notes with other websites, and I must say there is no doubt that I will use CheapCaribbean for future vacations. I really took a leap of faith selecting Paradisus La Esmeralda in Riviera Maya for my family. We selected the location based on pictures & reviews- that's it. And what's crazy, is that I have very selective taste; call me a 'hotel snob', but I will only spend my money on a new, modern, contemporary resort with top of the line service, accomodations, and cuisine. Paradisus Las Esmeralda was beyond my expectations- it was so amazing, and for the price point that CheapCaribbean provided, I can't be happier for the experience of a lifetime my family & I had. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to the best suite for an amazing deal, we had a personal concierge the entire time who made our dinner reservations, ensured the kids had a great time, and more! The pool area is outstanding! I laugh because I've never seen a poolhouse/restroom that's better than a master bathroom at home! The entire resort is filled with marble, amazing artwork & sculptures, and just the most modern amenities you've ever seen. From the private Jacuzzi on our deck, to the spa ( OMG- the spa!), the Michael Jackson performance, the food, to Karaoke night for the kiddos, all I can say is WOW- Outstanding! On our 1st night there,our kids (age 8&9) actually got up in the middle of dinner & asked to go to the kids club cause they were missing out on the fun! My husband & I had dinner alone for the remainder of the trip & with taking the kids, we didn't expect to have the amount of alone time we actually had! One thing I'll tell you, this is truly a place for those who just want to 'chill' & live luxurious- this was the most relaxing time ever. Enough said- if you prefer only the best on a reasonable budget, then Paradisus La Esmeralda is your best bet. Now, my husband & I are hooked to Melia Resorts-


19 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2012
Not a great experience

This was my first visit to Mexico and had high expectations after viewing the pictures online and reading a number of good reviews online. I would have given a couple of stars more but had to lower it for what I experienced. 1. The shuttle service was good. On our way to the resort we had to drop couple of others and two different resorts. Those two had very good entrances, the ones you would expect at a luxurious resort. I was expecting a similar feel but when we took a turn into the neighborhood of paradisus, I was a bit disappointed. It was literally a slum area. But when I reached the actual resort entrance, I felt a bit better. 2. Initially I booked a garden view room but later called in and upgraded to family conceirge so that my kids will be pampered with all the things mentioned in the website (about two months before the vacation). When I upgraded over the phone, I was told that it would be $100 per person per night and kids stay free. I received the email confirmation too but the actual numbers (an extra 1000 dollars for 5 nights) was not in the email content but in an attachment. There were three attachments in the mail asking for my credit card authorization something else. I didn't bother to open those attachments and decided to pay when I reach the resort (my bad). 3.At the check-in, I was told that my upgraded room was not available and they can upgrade me to a master suite and that would cost me $1200 US dollars. I remember my upgrade was about $100 US dollars and wanted to open my email. Somehow I couldn't open my email though I activated my roaming plan. Thanks to AT&T. i asked for an internet station so that I can check my email. There was no internet station. I told that my upgrade was about 600-700 US dollars (I vaguely remembered figures around 100 dollars). The receptionist, Alejandro said, its fine and since they couldn't provide me the room I booked, he would give me a master suite for just $600 dollars more. I thought it was a steal for the price and got the room. We were excited when we reached the room. Though it was not 100% ocean view that I was expecting, it was good. 4. Everything was good until i got a call on the 4th day of my stay from Alajandro that he made a mistake and I have to pay an extra 400 dollars. I was surprised and asked him why he couldn't tell me when I reserved the room, and what took him 4 days to inform me. I insisted on talking to his supervisor and spoke to someone called Jessica. She said it was a mistake and if I didn't pay, Alajandro would end up paying $400 from his pocket. I didn't want that to happen and went to the reception next morning and paid the amount. I felt she was a bit rude when she said that I'll not get a room for the price I paid. 5. On day four, we wanted to go to the beach and realized that the baby carrier was missing in the room. we were pretty sure it was in the room and filed a complaint for the missing carrier. The conceirge said that it could be just a mistake and would have mixed it up with the towel laundry. We felt bad when he came back with a security person and asked if he can check my baggage for the missing carrier. I was shocked and said I wouldn't allow as I take it as an insult. I didn't get the carrier back. We felt the pain when we had to run around with the baby in hand at the airport. 6. One day I woke up around 2 am and found a lizard in the rest room. I have a picture and a video of it. I am going to upload it soon. I 8 yr old would have freaked out if she saw it in the room. 7. Room service: We had to call more than once for toilet paper, shampoo and soap. Also, when we asked for bathing salt for the tub, we were told they are out of it. This is bad for a resort of this kind.


22 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia, US
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 24, 2013
good family place.

We stay in Esmeralda from July 16 to July 21. To anyone who would consider going there, please contact them, to confirm reservation, as CheapCaribbian suggest. I did not. So we had to wait for a room for a while, which was not fun after traveling for about half of the day. Positives: If you enjoy spotless rooms, and whole complex....... this is a place for you. Whoever runs the place, kudos to you because you really know what you are doing. At times it seemed that any time we step out from our room.........by the time we would be back, it was clean, reset. Staff: they try their best to help you with everything, friendly to guest, friendly to children, even the most spoiled bad behaving kids. Rooms. ( we stayed in family concierge suite)....... did not see any other rooms while in hotel......so my comment will be on what I have experienced. Very pretty, comfy, more than large enough even for family with several children. All of the children bath staff......they had it there for us ready to go....... we were very happy about it. They even had things that we did not thought off, like anti-mosquito cream Beach and Pools. Plenty of chairs, on the beach and at the pool sides. My only wish would be...........that water would be pretty blue. On food. One big miss for me........ (and I am sorry I am very picky about food and service in general)..... The Market, Brazilian grill....... at it current state.......would be better to change to some other style...... or change many and retrain cooks. I never heard of chicken parmesan as an option in Brazilian grill. We also visited vento, Asian restaurant, and mole. We like mole the most. Did not go to passion or fuego. The buffet we vey fair, I would even say good. Bars......... ( we were there with our son, and for our son)........so as far as we cared they were fine. I kind of liked swim up bar in the pool... I did a lot of research before we end up going to this hotel.......and I believe any family with realistic expectation will have good time with their children in this hotel.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lexington, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 4, 2012
Memorable family vacation

The following are the key reasons to my giving it 5-star rating. o The resort has very friendly and professional staff throughout. o Excellent choice of food in all-inclusive plan in many places in the resort o Very convenient access to the private beach which has plenty of umbrellas and chairs, with staff serving drinks and towels o Location to nearby attractions (Xcaret, 5th avenue, etc.) o The local tour company (in this case Olympus) that works here is also very good. In the 5-night stay, my wife and I, with two sons (20 and 17), had great time in the resort, on its beach, in various dining area, and in three places we visited (XCaret, Chichen Itza, and 5th avenue). Although our two rooms did not face the pool side (which will be a good thing), our two rooms were internally connected which turned out to be a great convenience while providing privacy to the two sides. The room is large and the amenity is very good. The resort lives up to its luxury rating.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Jose, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 8, 2012
Impeccable Service

We stayed here for my 30th birthday and everything about the experience was beyond exceptional. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly. We even had one staffer on the beach that went above and beyond to bring us chairs by carrying 5 beach chairs down the beach. The food was fantastic and the rooms were well kept and they came back nightly to do a turn down service. Would definitely stay there again!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Memphis, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2014
Marred experience

The resort was beautiful and well maintained. The food was good and the service was very good. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. The spa was fantastic...I had the best massage that I've ever experienced. Thank you Vanessa. The pools were nice, but the beach was fair. There was only one beach entrance, The property between the beach and the resort was a protected area lined with trees that blocked the view and any breeze that may have been stirring. Our ocean view room barely appeared over the top of the trees. Unfortunately, the following situation marred our overall experience. On our last day we noticed that the cups at the pool bar were not being cleaned properly. They were rinsing the cups with just water and serving drinks to the next customer. I found someone who looked important and asked that new cups be provided. We then went to another pool bar at La Perla where the experience was repeated. At that point I went to the front desk and discretely shared the situation. The service manager came out and spoke to me. He assured me this was not the normal practice and said he'd take care of it. He asked where my group was dining for dinner. I told him where and when our reservations were and he said that he'd stop by our table that night. Of course, he never appeared. We did go back to the pool later and noticed that the cups were being properly cleaned. However, at this point my urge for a tropical drink had diminished.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 12, 2014
Beware

We went to the Paradisus due to the reviews it got on Cheap Caribbean.com The resort is beautiful but we purchased a 1 bedroom suite that has "Ocean Front Views" the original room had no view of the ocean only of the other buildings, they moved us to a room that had partial ocean view but only 1 king bed so we had to alternate sleeping on the stone hard sofa between the 3 adults, we originally had 2 double beds. Room service usually took an hour once you placed an order and 2 of us got food poisoning from one of the resort restaurants on the last night we are there, still recovering. We paid $4500 for 4 nights, the ads for the rooms are misleading and false and the food is mediocre. I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone going to Playa Del Carmen Mexico.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Union, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 9, 2012
There must be better

We paid a lot of money for an all inclusive one week stay for our spring break. The first thing we noticed was the room had two full beds - not two queen beds like most resorts. We had to order a cot, they only had beds, which was fine - except now we had little room. Also, the room did not have a clock! The food was average at best. They need to bump the quality up a little. The one page sheet they handed out showing the names of the restaurants with a very brief description could be done much better. The pools were nice and the beach was nice - except you could not see the ocean from the resort. You had to walk a narrow boardwalk through a swamp to get to the beach. I guess I was expecting a dramatic view of the ocean from the resort. The service was very good. Very courteous and friendly. The front desk seemed to be lacking in judgement and decision making capabilities. Two examples: 1) Since the room did not have a clock I had to call room service for a wake up call. One day I called for a 7:00 am wake up call. They woke me up at 3:30 am. . 2) I had two swim suits stolen from our main floor balcony. No one knew what to do - so nothing was done. Yet they still charged me $10 for one lousy phone call I had to make.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year