All

Paradisus Palma Real Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 54 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.0
3.9 out of 5
"My wife and I had an amazing time! From the moment we stepped off the bus we were in heaven. Everyone was welcoming. I will definitely come back to this resort." – Pbooker
48 out of 69 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The beautiful lobby View from bedroom. Main entrance. What a beautiful view!

All Paradisus Palma Real Customer Reviews

1-10 of 54 reviews. Sort by
September 3, 2012
Not terrible, but could be better...

The short: The property, beach, and pool at the Paradisus Palma Real were all very nice, but the service and guest treatment were a bit inconsistent. The quality and customer service at the "WBA Collection" gift shop was horrible. Worst of all was the dreaded timeshare SALES PITCH. The long: We travel a lot to these types of resorts, so this review comes with a fairly good understanding of what an all-inclusive should and shouldn't be (and we're not at all snobby demanding types that expect absolute perfection). But we do expect good customer service though at a resort of this price range. We didn't opt for the additional VIP upgrades as many other reviewers did. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained. The pool is large, clean, and has nice in-water tile recliners which are great on hot days. There are also several covered cabana-style seating areas. You have to get to the pool early to get a chair though, as it seems to be common practice to claim chairs with a towel and then disappear to the beach all day. We've found this to be the case at many resorts though. The beach and water are picturesque (although the sand fleas were relentless). There is a well-equipped gym, and room outlets are the standard American type. Wifi internet is included, but is very unreliable and slow in the rooms. It did work better in the lobby though. Although we were under the impression we'd have access to the whole property, we found that about half the resort was restricted to VIPs and members only. This was not a terribly big deal but would have been nice to know in advance. The staff fell about 50/50 into two categories: the wonderful/friendly/accommodating and the angry/rude/inconvenienced. As a result, the service about half the time wasn't that great. This ranged from little things like the apparent interchangeability of coke and diet coke, to bigger things like sitting through an entire meal without drinks or a waiter (even after asking for one repeatedly). Much of the staff didn't accurately answer resort-related questions like where to book excursions or where to find a spa price list, and many staff didn't follow through with requests like checking with housekeeping for a valuable lost item. During our entire stay, we never had a waiter come to the pool or beach area to take a drink order, and most bartenders made it obvious that they didn't like making the drinks that required more work. Nothing atrocious, but definitely a lot of detractors from what could easily have been a great experience. Luckily, there WERE several fantastic staff members who did a great job (props to Samuel and Jendy at Bana restaurant and Juan at the Market Grille who treated us like gold). TIP #1: Avoid the "WBA Collection" gift shop !!! It's way overpriced (which was expected), but the clothing is VERY poorly made, and despite having a receipt stating exchanges are allowed for 30 days, they absolutely WILL NOT accept an exchange (even if your shorts come completely unstitched in multiple places the first time they're worn). The unbelievably rude manager Sabrine (think "Pretty Woman" snobby boutique owner) tried every trick in the book to avoid an exchange, including saying I had "improperly worn the shorts". She finally pointed to a completely undamaged area of the shorts and accused me of "sitting while wearing the shorts" to cause a scuff. Oddly enough there was no scuff... and I was unaware I couldn't SIT while wearing shorts!!! I felt like a character in a poorly-written Twilight Zone episode. Luckily there was a shopping center within walking distance that sold shorts that WERE designed to be sat in! TIP #2: DO NOT agree to listen to the "quick" timeshare spiel !! Not even for 5 minutes... it's a pandora's box of vacation-wasting time!! We were assigned a "personal concierge" who turned out to really be just a salesman for the resort's timeshare department. We were asked to participate in a 5-10 minute presentation as a "favor" to our concierge so he could get commission. We reluctantly agreed, but opted out after realizing it was actually a 2+ hour high-pressure sales pitch where you're handed off to multiple sales people who tell you how to fill out the forms in order to maximize their commissions. Then they scold you like a child when you tell them you're not interested and they act as if you owe them two hours of your vacation time. Of course we never saw or heard from our "personal concierge" again.. a little deceiving and a LOT annoying. This alone was enough reason for me not return to Paradisus. Although our stay wasn't terrible overall, I have to say we were a little disappointed in the resort and probably wouldn't recommend it to others. There were just too many instances where we were treated poorly... something that really should never happen in a resort of this price range. However, with some staff re-training and a few policy changes, it could be a fantastic place. After lowering our expectations we managed to have a great time nonetheless.


43 of 48 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 1, 2016
Nice but not intimate

First let me say that I am such a huge fan of the Caribbean, and it's people especially. I've traveled to a many an island throughout, and the people are genuinely as good as gold. That said, my wife and I felt like rockstars throughout our stay. First I'll highlight the pros, and then visit the cons. THE PROS: The resort is beautiful and a short 25 minute ride from the airport. The check in process is fairly efficient, and the people very welcoming. The resort isn't large and spread out, so moving to and fro was seamless. The aesthetics at night are exceptional. When the sun falls the lighting is really sexy throughout the resort. The food options were a solid 7.5/8 of 10, and I'm a huge foodie so... If it weren't for the shortcomings of the late afternoon buffet I would have probably gone 8.5/9 on the food. The main buffet which closes momentairly around 4p as they prepare the dinner menu has more choices than you can possibly eat in a weeks time, and is tremendously tasty. The Mediterranean restaurant was really good, as well as the hibachi. Our room, the one bedroom master suite was exceptional. It was quaint, but with tons of marble, and great character throughout, and a jacuzzi tub that comfortably sat two- I can't bring myself to complain. THE CONS: My new bride and I were off to celebrate our marriage and to honeymoon. However, the resort, in my opinion, as it is not an Adults Only establishment doesn't afford many opportunities or locations onsite for truly intimate and quiet moments to share with your spouse. There were children enmass. The children were well behaved and not obnoxious, however, out of respect for the families we had to avoid the long embraces, the intimate kisses, or the occasional but grabs as not to offend. Each day spent outside of our suite found us unsuccessfully searching for a place just to lay out, on the beach or around the pools, and simply be in each others arms. If you're traveling with your family then this place may be the perfect fit, but if quiet and intimate is the aim then this is definitely not the place for you. Also, the room that I paid for was sold/given out, and we were told that the room that we ended up in was much nicer, but I suppose I'll never know, but they did say that it was an upgrade. When I visit places near bodies of water my preference is to be able to view the beach from my room, and it didn't appear that very many rooms there afforded that option. Our suite overlooked a garden, which was fine, considering we didn't spend tons of time there. Be advised that you will be blindly lead into a 90 minute time share presentation under the guise of coming down to enjoy a breakfast reservation. The drinks outside of the main restaurant were C-. You could tell the difference in quality at the restaurants as I'd rate them an A. The secondary buffet attached to the Mexican restaurant almost ruined the trip for me as this was our first dining experience of the trip. This was our only food option as we arrived during a transition time for the restaurants, and the main buffet. The secondary buffet is open air like the main buffet, but with no bug repelling mechanisms and flies had free run of EVERYTHING on the buffet lines, and I do mean everything. I was shocked to see some people disregard this and chow down. Also, having to make reservations was a pain, but I do understand the reasoning, but unfortunately it forced you into meal times that you might not have preferred, but to ensure the sit down restaurant experience you had to secure what was available. All of this said... unless I'm looking for a destination to bring the family and it's little ones- the wife, and I wouldn't return to this particular resort. Again, the people and the scenery are exceptional, and the food pretty good, but it simply didn't meet the aforementioned particular need for us. Hope this helps.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Birmingham, AL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2011
Dominican Vacation

This hotel is advertised as Punta Cana, but is not actually in Punta Cana. The resort is nice, however the consierges are pushy and forceful in trying to get one to buy a timeshare. Overall the resort is nice, the beach is on the Atlantic Ocean side not the Carribbean side. Also there was a lot of seaweed that wasn't cleaned up from the beach. The food was sub-par and Americanized. Was expecting more cultural and ethnic food. Wait staff and cleaning staff excellent.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Laurel, Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
OMG! We had no idea we could be pampered so much!

The Paradisus Palma Real was an absolutely astonishing experience. The room was immaculate and the service staff was unbelievably courteous and well-trained. I have a slight walking mobility issue and within 1 minute of finding out about it, our room was moved to one right off the lobby on the main area where I would walk the least number of steps. The first day, a hotel maintenance guy overheard that I was looking for an elevator and he stopped what he was doing to escort us. Big smile and wouldn't even take a tip! The pool and amenities were again, fabulous. The staff was so wonderful. We enjoyed both taking it easy and taking part in a number of included activities--we felt like we the only ones there! The only thing that was not as remarkable was the food. Don't get me wrong--it was very good, just not proportionally incredible as the facilities and staff. That's fine! We managed to get through the week without falling into culinary depravity. However, I will say that the all inclusive drinks were top shelf liquors in abundance. There was always someone asking if we needed another. There's no doubt that we'll be back. It was an incredible value and a memorable experience. Thanks.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Greenville, SC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 23, 2013
Wonderful resort

We had a fantastic week at Paradisus Palma Real. The Royal Service option made it so easy to relax. Our butler Manuel did all of the work for us, making reservations for dinner at the specialty restaurants, golf tee times, beds at the pool and on the beach, and providing wine and cheese every afternoon in our room. The whole Royal Service staff was helpful and accommodating to all of our needs. Francisco at the pool and Winkin at the pool bar were especially friendly and welcoming. Great service from all of the staff. The garden view room was large and comfortable and was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff. The refrigerator was restocked every day. The Royal Service beach is beautiful and uncrowded. The pools are gorgeous. We ate at all of the specialty restaurants and enjoyed the food at all of them, as well as the huge buffet restaurant. Very good food and very good service.The Le Cirque troupe was our favorite evening entertainment. They were amazing. Overall this was a great resort and we intend to return.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: South Portland, Maine
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 1, 2015
Worth Every Penny

We had the most amazing time at Paradisus Palma Real. We purchased one of the cheapest packages; no royal service, no beach views, nothing "special". But our room was gorgeous, our walk through the gardens to get to the beach was to die for, and the service we received was impeccable. We had dinner reservations on two nights, and the food was delicious. The rest of the time we either ordered room service or ate at the buffet, and the food there was fantastic also. The ONLY thing I would change was that we agreed to listen to the time share presentation, thinking it would only take 1- 1 1/2 hrs of our time and it took 3 hours. It was a good presentation, the salesman was polite and not pushy, though we did not purchase. Outside of that (and that was by our choosing), we would not change a thing. We would recommend this to anyone vacationing in the Dominican Republic and would love to go back again!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44

April 20, 2011
Not the Best

Check-in was a VERY long process. Two men worked the 2 computers and the young girls stood around "assisting". None of the girls spoke English, not even a little. Even though I paid for the entire trip, the male on our trip was catered to. Our questions were ignored and barely any eye contact was made. We then were sent to the reservation desk so we could make dinner reservations for the 5 days we were there. Most of the restaurants were booked for the first 3 nights, leaving us VERY LITTLE CHOICE. Our first night meal at Aqua was awful. Although service was good, as everyone wants a tip, the food was terrible. Actually the best meal of the day was the breakfast at the Mixed Grill. The beach was nice, the room was beautiful , the gardens were exceptional and the Dominican people are very nice. I did not think the vacation was worth the cost. I was disappointed in not being able to make dinner res. thus having no choice or chance to experience the variety of restaurants. I was very disappointed that we were not told to do this ahead of time. We brought 400 in cash for 5 days and spent approx. 300 just on tips. We knew the people are poor but worked very hard and long and we appreciated that. The ocean water was cooler than Aruba and Turks and Caicos and filled with a lot of seaweed. The pool was one of the largest I have ever seen and was beautiful. There were always enough pool chairs and cabanas. I also had a good massage on the beach which was not expensive. I don't know if I would stay here again... it wasn't worth the money.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 12, 2013
Good and Bad

In appearance, this is really is a nice resort. Very nice pools and beach. Having the beds with tiki coverings over it by the pool and beach is very nice, and I noticed other resort nearby did not offer this. Dining was pretty good. Some restaurants were better then others, with the buffet being the only one I thought was kind of sub standard. The room's appearance is very nice. The grounds are well maintained, with good landscaping. The shows they offered were nice and enjoyable. The major issue with this resort is its need for skilled maintenance people for the machinery. As I have read in many other reviews, the first room we were given had a horrible mildew smell coming from the AC vent. I know this is a tropical area near the beach with high humidity, but this was overpowering. We had to stay in this room the first night as they said they had no other rooms which is kind of unbelievable with the size of this resort. This problem could be fixed if they performed the proper maintenance on their AC system and insert the necessary air filters to prevent the stench rushing throught the vents. The next day we were moved to another room on a different floor which was more tolerable, yet the mildew smell was still slightly present. The hot water is another major issue. Our first room with the horrible smell had hot water in the shower, but not in the bathtub. The second room had barely warm to luke warm water for the shower. The last 2 nights we had NO hot water, even after a maintenance person came to our room the first night we lost hot water. During checkout, a woman at the other desk was practically in tears because she had no hot water for days and could not shave her legs. I let her know she was not alone, and she was in a different building. I would also offer caution when signing up for the Olympus tours offered through CheapCaribbean. We felt like we were completely scammed with one of our tours. We specifically signed up for a small sailboat snorkeling excursion with a maximum of 20 people. The Olympus rep. assured us of the size. When we got there, there were over 60 people with no where to sit down on the boat. Music was blaring through the speakers the whole time, and it was not relaxing at all. We actually walked back to the resort as soon as we stopped at a beach for lunch as we had enough. We did not even want to stick around for lunch. The ocean spa excursion was ok, but we were sitting around doing nothing for quite a while, wondering why we paid all this money to sit around on a boat.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Savannah, GA
Age: 35-44

November 30, 2015
Heaven on Earth!

LOVED our stay at the Paradisius Palma Real. Resort is beautiful and clean. The staff is very attentive and pleasant. Can't wait to return. Great Deal!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 26, 2016
Best Vacation Ever

The Paradisus Palma Real resort was the best resort my family has ever been to. Our vacation in Punta Cana was one of the best we have ever had. We had so much fun there. We went to the beach every day, tried delicious new foods, recieved excellent service, did fun activities, I took my oldest duaghter to the most beautiful golf course we have ever seen there. I even took my girls to swim with dolphins. It was a dream come true. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone who is planning to go on vacation.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year