All

Paradisus Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 324 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"The service, amenities, spa and pool are very nice, a great place for young adults. The beach was wonderful." – Maxy
337 out of 381 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sushi at Bana Great view The beautiful beach was just a few steps out the door! Ocean view from room View from our room Lobby drinks Inside the resort Lagoon and Beach View from balcony View from our room SKY RIDER Laying on the beach. By avenue bar Center of Paridisus Phtotoshoot proposal on beach View from room Beach Our private cabana that looked out at the ocean Myan coffee View from room Jr Suite with ocean view Paradisus Cancun No words... sunrise view from our room View from room Amazing pool side service One of the atriums View of Royal Service Pool The Hotel room A little special extra Ocean & pool view from room Bali Bed with ocean view After they found out it was our anniversary, they decorated our room with rose petals! At ther Paradisus resort beache Bathroom (Jr Suite) At 5 am view of the beach Near the beach Our second view view from balcony and pool Poolside. Balcony view Beautiful Aqua beaches Our first view Paradisus offers a FREE photo session with the family conceirge service option Inside of the Main building PARADISUS

All Paradisus Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 324 reviews. Sort by
May 3, 2013
What a Getaway!

We just returned from our trip to Paradisus Cancun and can't stop talking about it. It was pure paradise! The pool setting was breathtaking - lounging under the palapas was so relaxing and we looked forward to it every day. Only problem was that we had to go down very early in the morning to get a palapa. The service at the hotel was outstanding. Everyone was so helpful, friendly and went out of their way for you. Mattress very comfortable. The atmosphere of this hotel we would describe as exquisite. Tropical plants everywhere, glass walls, but above all - immaculate!! Would recommend the Paradisus to all who want something special.

What a Getaway!
52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 14, 2013
Best Family Vacation We've Ever Taken!!

Before I give our review, first understand who we are so you can appreciate the review fully. We are a family of 4 (husband, wife, 19 yr old son and 12 yr old daughter) with upper-middle class status. We are your normal family...love sports, even in the nosebleed sections. We love to eat at Cracker Barrell and Outback, and spend money on the Melting Pot only 2 times a year for birthdays. Meaning, we like good stuff, but are REAL and are cautious on how we spend our money. We are NOT traveling snobs...but we sure do appreciate being spoiled. And being spoiled is something we DEFINITELY were on our trip to Paradisus Cancun!!! Beautiful hotel, BREATHTAKING views, incredible service, I could go on and on. I'll try to break it down for you: 1. Family Conceirge Service....GET IT! It's BEYOND worth the price! From having the most perfect location with the best view of the ocean, to having our own private bali-bed at the pool/beach perimeter, to having our own private cell phone to call our personal "butler" to handle all our reservations, etc., to our children even getting nightly milk and cookies delivered to them before bed....I cannot say enough about how incredibly spoiled we are were! Sitting on the bali-bed by the beach/pool and simply saying, "wow, a cheeseburger sounds great right now" and then BAM!!! Having one delivered to our bed...WITHOUT EVEN OFFICIALLY ORDERING IT!!! Juan was our pool concierge and he took care of every single need AND want each day we spent out there!! And Elena and Carla and Patti and Fernada were absolutely PERFECT in catering to our every needs/wants as our butlers. My daughter was absolutely amazed and said, "Mom, is that how princesses are treated? I can totally get used to this!" 2. Location...the beach was perfect! Seriously...perfect! We lived several years in Hilton Head Island, SC and Miami, FL and the waters here in Cancun were the best we've ever seen....and the beach, though not as soft as Carolina sand, was soft enough to be barefoot even for my tender feet. The waves were GREAT! Big enough for excitement, yet not dangerous (which we were worried about due to the storm that was just leaving the area - it rained our first day there) 3. Hotel...absolutely beautiful! First off, no matter where you walked, the hotel smelled like a spa. We were constantly inhaling to get a good "whiff" of the spa-like scent. The interior landscape and layout of the restaraunts with the fountains and ponds and fish...absolutely luxurious. The place is rather large, but the layout walkways made it very easy to get to wherever you wanted to get to. 4. Food...Vento and Fuego were by far the best places to eat. Absolutely couldn't go wrong with anything we ordered. And there were 4 of us and we made sure to order all differently and share, to get a taste of all of it. And every thing at both places were PHENOMENAL. The Market Grill and Naos were good to very good. Our only problem with Market Grill was our first day there, we waited 30 minutes for someone to come and take our order...and then another 30 minutes to get the food. But, it was very clear they were short staffed (maybe due to the storm that day they let people off?? I don't know). Market Grill was our least favorite from taste as well. But, still good. The buffet at Naos was very good considering it was a buffet. Nice variety, fresh food, we were very pleased...again, considering it was a buffet. Mole' was very good too. Not our favorite though. Vento and Fuego were the favorites of all four of us. 5. Hotel Room...this was the only thing disappointing for us. BUT, I need to tell you this so you'll know where its coming from. We are NOT traveling snobs, but we ARE sleeping snobs. (haha) We have temperpedic beds, AND due to a hysterectomy, I have night sweats and deal with the same hot flash-type stuff that menopausal women deal with. THAT BEING SAID...we all found the beds uncomfortable and had to sleep (all 4 of us) in separate beds to be able to maneuver ourselves into a comfortable position. Also, it was VERY WARM while sleeping, and they didn't have any fans available. The temperature was comfortable enough when awake, but when trying to sleep, we all were too warm to sleep in comfort. (so, bring a fan if you can). However, everything else about the room was awesome. ENGLISH TV channels (yay!) and a stocked fridge...fast service from maids, etc. for any need we had. We've been to Playa Del Carmen (Secrets Capri), Omni at Cancun in Mexico. We've been to Disney World, New Orleans, Memphis, San Antonio, and many other places in the states. And this was by far the best family vacation we have EVER taken. and Secrets Capri (in Playa) was the best Couples vacation we have ever taken. Both of those vacations were through CheapCaribbean.com ... THAT IS NOT A COINCIDENCE! We will always go through them for our vacations and will always recommend them. Thank you so much, Kelly and everyone else at Cheap Caribbean!

Paradisus offers a FREE photo session with the family conceirge service option
35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2015
UNBELIEVABLE - a real life paradise!

I hate writing reviews but promised myself that I would write one after this trip because when we were booking, I relied so heavily on others' reviews to make our decision. Paradisus Cancun was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT. Every single thing about our stay was paradise. I was continuously in utter shock at the fact we were there, that we were receiving this kind of service. Keep in mind that this was our first time travelling, anywhere really. Definitely our first trip to the Caribbean. I have nothing to compare this to, but I'm telling you - it was perfect. I couldn't, and still can't, believe everything we got was included. All inclusive -- I kept thinking I was being fooled, like surely they want me to pay for something. But that wasn't the case. It was unbelievable. I expected the drinks to be weak, for the service to be poor, for the food to be mediocre. I was so wrong! The drinks never stopped flowing (so long as we wanted them), and they were not weak! ;) The food (at the resort restaurants) was gourmet - superb! We spent a lot of time in the pool, near the swim up bar. Those bartenders are so much fun, and so nice. They made us all the drinks we could want, and kept us entertained. When we were out of the pool. lounging in the sun, wait staff came by to get us drinks so that we didn't even have to get up if we didn't want to. I'm not used to this kind of treatment, it was paradise. Even when we were down on the beach, lounging under the tiki like umbrellas (adding even more awesomeness to the atmosphere), wait staff came by to get us whatever we wanted. One thing I wanted to mention -- though I know I read this somewhere when booking -- tips and gratuity are NOT included here. It's all inclusive besides that. You are expected to tip your servers. Only negative thing I can say is about the Sunset Grill. It's the poolside grill. The food is not good... :( The burgers were gross. I am not a picky person but I could not force myself to eat those. The second time we tried eating there we ordered a pizza - they have a brick like oven they cook them in right outside --- so so so so gross! It tasted nothing like pizza! I realize that we were in Mexico and so I certainly won't hold it against them that they didn't cook great burgers and pizza. I'm just saying, if there was a negative - that Sunset Grill was it. They did have nachos and fries and lots of cheese sauce, and so that's what we ate when we didn't want to leave the pool. We ate at the Market Grill on our last night there -- and we wished we had found it sooner! My husband is a meat and potatoes kind of guy, so he was out of his comfort zone all week. That doesn't mean the food wasn't great everywhere - it was - and he enjoyed it. BUT -- it was when we made it to the Marketing Grill that he was in HEAVEN! They served us endless amounts of food that included LOTS of meat. It was really really great! Another favorite restaurant was Mole, the traditional Mexican cuisine. Because we're pretty simple people, our absolute fav was probably Blue Agave -- more like "fast food" Mexican (way better than Taco Bell... but nothing like Mole) -- no reservation required. YUM! Another complaint regarding food -- we were most looking forward to eating at La Perla, I believe the brochure said this was a steak place. It was closed the entire time we were there. And I think that was pretty common, like it's rarely open. I think they may have hosted some special events, maybe weddings, in there while we were there. That's the first place we tried to reserve as soon as we arrived but we were told they were closed all week. Bummer! A word to the wise - don't fall for the hotel's plea to tell you all about Club Melia (unless you're into that sort of thing I guess). They convinced us, they told us, it's just 90 minutes of listening to us and then they're reward us with free "gifts" -- we wanted the Bali bed for a day and a massage at the spa... they convinced us to sit through it. It's true, no obligation, but you have to listen to them go on and on and on... and then you have to say no a dozen or more times. It was awkward. Free gifts or not, it was 90 minutes of my vacation I wish I could get back. I could go on and on and on... seriously - everything about this place was paradise from the time we arrived until we left. Perfection! Just my husband and I went. It was family friendly, and there were plenty of kids, but not so much that it was annoying at all. We left 4 children behind at home so we sure didn't want to be watching other kids all day every day. It wasn't like that at all. However... when we return with our kids (and we seriously can't wait to do that), we will likely choose a different resort, one with more options for our kids.

Laying on the beach.
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pawnee, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 21, 2016
Amazing all inclusive!Good food/alcohol/beach/pool

We stayed in June 2016 for 6 nights. Weather was perfect even though it was reporting thunderstorms all week (we had rain for one afternoon). We stayed on the adult only side of the hotel in the royal service area. These are both HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! The hotel (cheapcaribean.com) did provide us with some vouchers as they advertised $1500 but these were just lots of small vouchers offering $50 off massage etc. Royal Service: The royal service includes a 'butler'. This is an assigned service person who will usually find you each day - sometimes at your room, sometimes see you at breakfast or the pool. He booked all our restaurant reservations (all but 2 restaurants need res). He also booked our cabanas by the pool for us. With royal service you get 2 cabanas per room per stay guaranteed - these are excellent and worth doing! Towels are included by the pool as to is sunscreen (which it seems you put on there by the pool). Our butler was Juan who was excellent! We didnt really take advantage of this all that much though to be honest. Breakfast was excellent! In the royal service there was a separate section where theres a help yourself bar! This bar has beers, champagne, wine and lots of good liquor - grey goose, good tequilas, hendricks etc...they are not watered down and yuo can make the drinks yourself or there is someone there offering help and suggestions- this yelp yourself is ONLY in the royal service. Other areas had bars that you ask for the drinks and they make for you - they are just as good and same liquors etc but they make them for you. The breakfast in the royal service was more like a mini buffet...eggs bene, sausages, breads and very good fresh fruits! (better fruits here that other area). Showers were the huge rain head showers. Balcony was nice and big (shame only one lounge chair and one normal chair) - would have enquired about room upgrade for Ocean view but the back (where we were) was just overlooking the tennis court. Private balconies with only the one above having a slight chance of seeing you. Restaurants: There are about 6-8 restaurants - 1 is paid because itsa 2x Michelin Star restaurant. All others are included: all of these are reservation except 2 which are buffets. Book your reservation 1 day in advance - the butler helps you with this. Recommended restaurants were: mole (Mx), fuego (Asian Fusion), Bana (Sushi), Grill Mrkt (was good for the brazilian night). not preferred restaurant: Cant remember name but was a taco place. Was Ok. Beach: beach is amazing! Aqua coloured water about 3 feet from the hotel - has many parasols on the beach - help yourself and there were enough of them - they have service guys bringing around waters and drinks too on the beach! Amazing! Bars: They have 2 main bars with 1 being a night club - was excellent fun! Entertainment: They have some entertainment each night at the Avenue Bar. They have a volleyball court on the beach and a couple of times per week there were entertainment guys there and just welcoming you to join in - fun. We did try and go to some of the events such as the how to make guacamole and there was just no one there at the time/place it was scheduled - not end of the world. Excursions/trips: We went with CheapCaribbean/Amstar and just found our rep (they are all in the same location on the 2nd floor) - these guys have all the trips and book it all up. We did 2: Xplor - this was ATVs, Zip Lining, Cave Swimming, Cave Rafting - for about $150 US. This was good fun but A LOT of people. Very touristy. We queued a little to get the zip lines and only just had enough time to do all the events. I loved it but be prepared to have a lot of tourists and a little waiting. Cave Swimming was the best. ATVs were OK. Zips was excellent - thru 2 waterfalls and a slide! 2nd trip: Chichen Itza Plus tour - about $107 (due to booked 2 tours at once). This is RECOMMENDED. It was with GoMexico. The initial checkin process to get onto the main coach that took us took about an hour and a bit of a hassle - but worth it once you have checked in and got boarding passes. Recommended hotel? Absolutely if you go royal service! This was a lovely place and what an all inclusive should be about. Tips: Bring lots of $1 US bills rather than large notes...you dont feel you have to tip but we felt like we wanted to a lot more than we could because we didnt have enough small bills. For 6 nights I wish we had about $30-$40 just for the hotel stay so prob best to leave these bills at the hotel, then out at night or by the pool just take 10 or so with you. US dollars are all good to use! Towels provided with a pool bag that you take take off site (and return). Towels by the pool too. Do the hotel transfers too - a tiny bit extra but well organised and makes it very easy - just do the shared though - private not needed.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Good value

We stayed at the Gran Melia Cancun at the end of February 2010, having booked it through cheapcaribbean.com at a fantastic price of $927 per person (7 nights all inclusive, including airfare from Connecticut). Considering what we received for our money, we really are in not much of a position to complain about it. The hotel is huge and, for the most part, beautifully decorated and arranged. The location, for us, was perfect. The beach in this area is about as good as it gets in Cancun, it is a short bus ride to where the nightlife and shopping is (bus stop right out in front of the hotel), and it is quiet enough at night so that you can get a good night sleep. They also seem to keep the younger party crowd to a small contingent. We met a lot of really nice people as we sat by the pool. I'm sure this isn't unique to this resort, but to get a good spot near the pool, you need to reserve your chairs early ... before 7 am is best. One annoyance was that some people would reserve early, then not show up until after noon ... no class! But, as I said, this isn't the fault of the resort. Overall, they keep the pool area very well maintained. During our stay, the beach area was very windy, so the pool area, which is surrounded by low windows, was much more pleasant. The food was good overall. We thought Tempo was the best restaurant, with Ku-Nah being a close second-best. The buffet was a little hit-or-miss with good grilled foods, but a rather weak selection. The breakfast buffet was great; we enjoyed it every day. La Perla offered a nice venue for lunch (although that is where I suspect I had my encounter with Mr. Montezuma ... beware the seafood salad!) As far as things to complain about, I have three things in order of annoyance level: (1) Hotel staffing. At times, the bars were woefully understaffed, with one bar tender trying to do the work of 2 or 3. I can't fault the workers for effort ... they worked their tails off. There just weren't enough of them. And, quite honestly, I probably wouldn't be in the best of moods either if I had to work as hard as they did. So, their demeanor was pleasant, but not overly accommodating. Be prepared for long waits at the bar and sometimes (oddly enough) at the dinner buffet. (2) Night time entertainment. At night, there was only one bar open which was flooded with patrons. Usually there was a singer accompanied by a keyboard player who supplied a sort-of karaoke style performance. It was cheesy, and it was the only "nightlife" available on the resort. Nothing else in the way of activities. I truly expected more of a 4-star resort. I've stayed at 3-star resorts with much more to do for on-site activities. (3) Cleanliness of the rooms. This was more a complaint of my wife's than mine, but we were somewhat annoyed at sand on the floor and water spotting in the bathrooms. We also a few tiny but persistent ants crawling around certain parts of the room. It was relatively minor, but something a 4-star resort should do better at. One of the persistent complaints in other reviews is the timeshare sales pitch. I have to say that our experience was quite inconsistent with that complaint. On the first day, I got a mild, very non-aggresive, plug from someone who asked me to come back later to talk about their vacation club. I knew what it was about, and of course didn't go back, and I was never approached again. Not even once. So, either I was lucky to be consistently overlooked, or they've toned down the sales pitches. I don't know. Overall, for the price we paid, we got incredible value for our money. Sure, they could do some things better, but we had a great time and would certainly recommend it.


24 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 31, 2010
Best Vacation Ever!

My boyfriend and I went for a short trip at the begining of August & couldn't have had a better time at the Gran Melia Cancun! We did the all inclusive which was a fabulous deal. The food throughout the resort was delicious and there was a great variety. The service of all the staff was top notch. They were there to help whenever you needed them & were constantly taking care of making the hotel as beautiful as possible. The pools and beach were gorgeous. We decided to upgrade to the Royal Service level when we got to the hotel. We loved our private pool area with cabanas. The cabana girls were amazing constantly bringing us cocktails & food or whatever we wanted. Drinks were delicious ( not skimpy on the booze!) The bed was the most comfortable I've slept in, in my entire life, and the balcony with the sunset in the background was wonderful. We had a wonderful romantic time at a gorgeous resort. I can't wait to go back again!!

The Hotel room Our private cabana that looked out at the ocean
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Springfield, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 29, 2015
Exceptional Service

This resort far exceeded my expectations. I must stress how impressed I was by the level of service my wife and I received during our 5 day/4 night stay in a Jr. suite Ocean view. We opted to upgrade to Royal service. It's definitely worth the extra money and i strongly recommend this upgrade. Our room was extremely comfortable and accommodating. The view was simply beautiful. We spent time daily admiring the view of white sand and blue/green water from our patio especially in the mornings where a breathtaking sunrise can be viewed. Our personal butler/concierge Galdino was EXCELLENT. He worked tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that our stay was memorable. He ensured we had reservations at one of the many restaurants on site. We received preferential reservations/seating(another perk of Royal service). I celebrated my birthday there and the entire staff was aware and all extended birthday well wishes. I received several birthday cakes. The breakfast service at the Royal service was well maintained and provided a certain level of exclusivity and much less "hustle and bustle" than the main breakfast area. They also provided snacks and top shelf liquor all day long. The pool service as well was excellent. All your needs are met by the pool concierge and pool staff. Daniel and Alexander were very good. Loved the cabanas(again another benefit of royal service). I must say Edier aka Eddie provided a level of service that was superior to all. He prides himself in personalizing his interactions. Additionally Rodrigo, Jorge, Moises all seemed genuine and all seemed to love what they did and also provided excellent service. We opted for a couples massage at the spa services on site and was extremely satisfied with our package. (Royal service members also get access to certain spa amenities.) Our package was additional. Veronica and her partner were excellent. They displayed a level of professionalism that eliminated any uncomfortableness and they were simply good at what they did. They incorporated wraps, massages, aroma therapy and body scrubs into the routine. I would definitely recommend people to at least check it out. The nightly shows were fun, interactive and provided variety and diversity. All in all my wife and I were very impressed with our overall stay here. We will definitely be returning next year and i'll be bringing more family to experience the superior service and first class amenities offered by the Paradisus Cancun.

Exceptional Service Exceptional Service
13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Roosevelt, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 7, 2017
poor customer service

My family of 6 stayed here for 4 nights, 5 days. I booked2 rooms with 2 queen beds. I alos asked if we could have adjoining rooms. When I arrived the woman at the desk informed me they don't offer adjoining rooms so I asked for rooms close together. She said not a problem because the rooms are only 5 apart from one another. When we got to our rooms the rooms were on separate floors in separate pyramids of the hotel (lie #!). Then each room had 1 queeen bed!!! How do 6 people sleep ion 2 queen beds? I called the woman at the front desk & she said There is a pull out sofa bed or I can have 2 cots!!! I told her I didn't pay over $7000 for cots & I could have chosen a cheaper hotel if that's what I wanted,. The woman stated that only 1/2 of the rooms have 2 beds so we get whatever is available,despite what I booked. She then put a male supervisor on the phone who restated what the last person told me, however when I tried to speak he loudly said "CAN I SPEAK" I really feel I was treated unfairly. My trip was ruined because I had myself so upset, not top mention that there was a lot of wasted time trying to resolve this (2 days were used up oin this). I emailedthe hotel & I've not gotten a response! A sorry would have been nice! I'm also upset with Cheap caribbean that they didn't tell me about the room situation!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: sicklerville,nj
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 19, 2015
HEAVEN in Cancun

Paradisus We stayed for 4 days at Paradisus (5/15 - 5/18). We upgraded to Royal Service ($100/day), and it was worth the money! No lines for anything, the ultimate attention in service and Bali beds reserved in our private area of the hotel. What more could you want?! Day 1 we arrived around 10am after catching a 6am flight out of PHL. Getting up at 3am was not fun, but getting here and being in a Bali Bed by 10:30am made it all worth it! The amazing service began as soon as we upgrade to the Royal Service (RS). We were escorted to Pyramid 5, where our check in was completed while drinking a glass of champagne. Our butler, Pedro, was promptly assigned to us, and took care of arranging our luggage delivery to our suite. We ended up in a Jr Lagoon Suite, which, to be honest, more than met our needs. I had no intention of spending hours in our suite, my sights were firmly set on reserving our Bali beds by the pool for the duration of our stay. Don’t worry about sunscreen, as it is provided for you on the RS side. We ended up napping in our Bali bed before going to dinner at Market Grill, which is a Brazilian steakhouse. The RS side is much quieter and has a serene and peaceful quality to it. Do you like waiting in lines for breakfast lunch and dinner? No? Then upgrade. Do you want tons of people around you at the pool? No? Then upgrade. Do you want personal attention and preferential/special treatment? UPGRADE! I can't stress enough how amazing RS is. I'll never book just a standard room reservation here again. People that wandered over from the other side of the hotel to our side of the pool were discretely intercepted and sent back to their side (there are walkways connecting the two pools, but the gates were being upgraded during our stay, so there was no barrier to keep out the standard fee guests). The RS guys take the exclusivity seriously, and will maintain that status for the RS guests. Day 2 was spent in our reserved Bali bed ("Sebang") which was located near the stairs to the pool. This was my favorite Bali bed the whole stay. Breakfast was room service, which was right on time and good. We ate lunch at Market Grill, which was buffet, and ok. I preferred our lunch from day 1, which was served to us in the comfort of our Bali bed. For dinner we went offsite, which was fun, but if that's not your thing, there are plenty of options at the resort. Our butler, Pedro, was more than happy to book us onsite dinner reservations just in case we decided to not go off site. Day 3 we had breakfast down in the RS area, and there were only a handful of other guests with us. Cappuccinos were delivered to our table, and were delicious. Hit up the gift shop for a few souvenirs before heading to our reserved Bali bed ("Rembau"). This bed is directly across from the bar, with ladder access to the pool. Definitely bring flip flops as the pavement/stones get very hot to walk on. Had lunch delivered to our bed, and it was delicious - you can ask for off-menu items, and the RS side will do whatever they can to fulfill your request. Drinks were plentiful and cold. You can pretty much ask for anything and the RS guys will make it happen. Our butler had arranged for champagne and strawberries on our deck before dinner, which was sweet. Dinner was at Fuego, which was not bad, but not Peruvian like we were told. It’s ok, the steaks were good, and they went and got us ice cream for dessert. Day 4 was our last, sadly, but the checkout process was smooth and easy. We were given a small card after turning in our room keys, and this card was handed to the doorman on our way out to our waiting car service. Leaving was hard, but we plan to return in a few months! Thank you to Pedro in RS who was great!!! Daniel and Arturo by the pool were also awesome. THANK YOU!! TIPS: -Upgrade to Royal Service if you’re looking for peace and quiet. You are also given your own concierge, no need to go to the main tower to get something or have a request fulfilled. -If you are concerned about your view, get a room w/ an ocean front view. -If you are scent-sensitive, this place may give you a headache. They have aromatherapy in the pyramid, and also in your room (if requested). I loved it, but others may not. -AC did not make our room cold, however it was more than enough to take the humidity and heat out of the room. -Flip flops by the pool are a must! -Reserve your Bali bed a day in advance if you can, as the best ones go quickly. -Dress code is resort casual - no need for fancy dresses! -Order the Gold Margarita - it’s delicious! -Ask for a bucket of bottled water in ice as soon as you get to your Bali bed. -Tip $ - even if it’s only a dollar every few drinks. The little bit goes a long way! -Ignore the calls from the desk saying they have a “gift” for you - it’s just the Melia timeshare people looking to ensnare you into a sales pitch. I ended up just walking away, because I didn’t want to waste my vacation time on something I had no interest in. -WifI is good - was about 95% reliable out by the pool. There were a few times each day where a webpage wouldn’t load, or a message wouldn’t go through, but it still worked well. -Water - I had no issues w/ brushing my teeth or showering w/ the resort water. I did only drink bottled water, but neither my SO or I experienced any “stomach bugs” due to the water. -If you want to get off the resort, the doormen will get a cab for you within 2 minutes. You can also take the short walk to the street and catch the local bus (definitely an experience!). -The malls are not too far away, but not a reasonable walking distance - you will need a car/bus to get to either of the 2 shopping centers. ($10-14 USD one way). I love Paradisus!

HEAVEN in Cancun HEAVEN in Cancun
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Newark, DE
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 27, 2016
Family Vacation

We recently returned from our vacation to Cancun celebrating our son's 16th birthday. I was kind of skeptical booking a trip through Cheap Caribbean having had know previous experience with them. I must say I am EXTREMELY happy with my entire experience. Excellent and prompt customer service, and all accommodations/ requests granted with no problems. The hotel was absolutely gorgeous, staff very friendly and welcoming. Our only regret is that we did not book a longer stay!We definitely plan on returning to the Paradisus next year and look forward to booking with CheapCaribbean.com in the future.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NEWARK,DE
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations