All

Palms at Pelican Cove Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Croix Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 25 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"Very nice hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice location on beautiful beach. Restaurant had good variety of food and specials and provided great service. Rooms were clean and well maintained." – Brian54389
23 out of 27 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from beach Shoreline at the Palms beach view from our patio The View Cay beach Crystal clear beach at BuckIsland View from our room Night snorkel Sunrise An Average Day View from Hotel Dining Area view from our room

All Palms at Pelican Cove Customer Reviews

1-10 of 25 reviews. Sort by
February 18, 2011
Fantastic and Friendly Place to Stay

We spent 5 nights at the Palms. We picked the Palms based on the reviews and frankly they did not exaggerate! Fantastic service, rooms, and staff! We felt that we were among friends. We went on both a day snorkeling tour with Chuck and Mitch and a night snorkeliing tour with Mitch. The snorkeling tours were fun and very informative, best ever! The food was great and we enjoyed the Jumbies dancing at the Wednesday buffet. The beach was absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed watching the Pelicans. Thanks to all at the Palms for the amazing vacation!!! We plan to return in the future.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 17, 2011
Best Vacation Ever

When friends ask us about our recent trip to St. Croix, we find ourselves saying over and over what a perfect vacation it was - more than we ever dreamed of. The Palms is the reason we had such a great week. My husband and I have three teens and we are not seasoned travelers. We chose the Palms based on the positive reviews over the past few years. We were delighted with the excellent service and atmosphere at the Palms. The rooms are clean, spacious and equipped with a refrigerator and coffee maker. Our rooms had sliding doors that opened to a patio and gorgeous beach. The trade winds and view of the Caribbean were absolutely magnificent. Comfortable lounge chairs were abundant. Arriving a day late due to airport issues in Miami, we were greeted warmly by the staff who helped us settle into our rooms immediately even though it was early in the day. By 2 pm, we were fitted for snorkeling gear provided by the Palms at no charge. Chuck, the owner, enthusiastically instructed us and took us out snorkeling right off the beach. We hadn't snorkeled before and it was an incredible experience to see the coral reef and all the beautiful creatures that inhabit it. An early evening swim in the fresh water pool next to the beach along with a delicious dinner at the open air restaurant were the perfect end to a busy first day. We ate several lunches and dinners poolside or in the open air restaurant. The food was consistently delicious and the servers were friendly and informative. On our second day, Chuck spent two hours helping us plan out our week. He and his staff made our reservations for golf at a local resort, an introductory scuba diving class at the pool, and snorkeling with Big Beard at Buck Island. In addition, we enjoyed driving through the rain forest and visiting nearby Fredricksted. We took a drive all the way to the east end to Point Udall. While we loved all of the activities and day trips, we treasured any and all time spent right at the Palms. We snorkeled twice with Chuck and then on our own daily. We even snorkeled in the evening. Mitch, our guide, did an amazing job helping us maneuver around the reef with our underwater flashlights. Chuck and his staff, especially Mitch, Julie, Pat, and Gus, were outstanding hosts. The housekeepers and grounds staff did a terrific job. In today's world, it is a real treat to feel the warmth and genuine kindness of total strangers. We appreciated the "good faith" atmosphere at the Palms. There weren't all kinds of signs with rules or charges for each and every item or service. If you needed to borrow something from the front desk, you were greeted with a smile. Our kids felt very at-home and so did we. Thanks to the Palms for a truly memorable week!


38 of 40 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: WI
Age: 45-54

April 20, 2011
Friendly Place, Not Crowded, Beautiful Beach

I've posted a thorough review on Trip Advisor. What I will summarize here is that the staff is friendly and goes out of their way to make you happy. The Palms is not overly crowded or too touristy. Food and drink are not too expensive but are wonderful. The beach is white sand with a reef right there to snorkel. Our room was modern and clean. I highly recommend this place for anyone who doesn't need the Waldorf Astoria, values relaxation, and likes getting what they are paying for. Thanks.

Sunrise An Average Day
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Grove City, Oh
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 15, 2011
Paradise at the Palms

As a scuba diver I have traveled all over the Caribbean for the past 15 years. The Palms at Pelican Cove was everything we could have wanted. The owner and staff were very friendly and made sure that our vacation was exceptional. It's nice to find a place that lives up to the ratings. I highly recommend this resort to everyone I talk to and we are already planning a return trip.

The View
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Valdosta, Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 5, 2011
Good Stay --- Amazing Snorkeling!

The location is beautiful and beach and reef are spectacular. We really liked the afternoon snorkeling trip with the owner of the resort. We've been all over the Caribbean and nothing compares to the snorkeling here. The food was OK, and the staff were friendly but, the resort was more than half empty which led to a sort of strange loneliness. Some of the other guests had children but, most didn't. The kids that were there were well behaved --- and I don't think that the owner would put up with the wild ones anyway. We initially didn't rent a car but, by our third day became tired of taxi's that charged over the government mandated rate. St. Croix is beautiful but, the whole island is kind of sad --- the locals talked about the cruise ships going other places and most things looked like they had not been updated since the 80's. Good news is that the rooms at the The Palms were recently remodeled. It rained for 6 out of the 7 days we were in St. Croix which really ruined our trip...outside of that if you just want to get away and not worry or spend too much I would recommend The Palms at Pelican Cove.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Eastern Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 1, 2013
Wouldn't go back

We were very excited, this being our first trip together, but other than mama G and one of our waitresses we didn't feel welcomed. We did see the attention other people got but we weren't one of them. Nobody went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Surprisingly even the bartenders who are suppose to be very friendly just acted very standoffish. The food was awful . My last night eating there I got lobster quiche, it was over cooked spongy eggs with stuff on top. That night there was a large party of people eating, so when i asked for salad dressing for my salad and another drink we didn't see our waiter till the end of our meal, which I did not eat anyway. My boyfriend ordered fried mahi mahi, what he got was some under cooked fish and some chicken that was suppose to be fish. The room was nice, loved the patio, housekeeping was excellent. The king size bed was the worst bed ever we ever slept in,had to take Tylenol to get up every morning. I recommend the garden view ,you were steps away from the ocean. Wish they had more entertainment at night, not much to do.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New hampshire
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 23, 2013
Gorgeous View

The room was a "garden view" however, when we got there, looked out to see a beautiful view of palms, sand and sea! So, to our delight, to pay extra for the Ocean View wasn't necessary. It was a quick walk to the shoreline, which was lined with palm trees. The water at some areas had a grassy entrance but just head down by the restaurant for a better entry point for swimming. They offer complimentary snorkeling gear and they have a large sign posted on the beach sharing the details of the fish and critters you might see. The water is gorgeous blue with small whitecaps in the distance making for ideal scenery for a vacation. The menu seemed a bit limited to me, and keep in mind, the islands sometimes run out of things, which happened to us a couple times, so don't get your heart set on one thing. The service was pleasant, at the restaurant, the bar and the front desk. There was security every night that was patrolling the area and never had an issue or felt concerned about our safety or theft. We went during the slow season (April) so was very quiet and can make for an intimate setting. Each patio had it's own beach chairs to lounge outside in the breeze and hear the ocean and still be close to the room if need be. Several beaches in St.Croix don't have the plethora of palms along the beach, but this one does which makes it a nice choice, while pelicans and shorebirds visit now and again to make for photo opps as well. Would recommend a rental car if you want to leave the hotel for more than a couple things. The town of Christenstead is not far at all and offers several options to dine along the beautiful turquoise waters. The view is great, with boats, seaplanes, and a nice dock to take a walk around to take it all in.

Shoreline at the Palms
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Mixed Feelings

Some things were good and we had situations that were not good. They are strict about the 3:00 pm check-in. That's ok, if the property is at capacity but not when they have room and you have been traveling all day. They do send you to the bar for a drink on the house of your choice--which was nice. The rooms do vary. The location is on beach front property and they have 2 buildings for guests. They are basically 2 stories with the 3rd story being a 2-bedroom suite ,I believe. If you have problems with steps/stairs, you will need to stay on the ground level--no elevators. They do have garden view rooms and you may see a little of the beach--these rooms are more private on the balcony due to the beautiful palm trees. They do have some units in the 2nd building that faces another condo property as well, still the beach in one direction. Be aware the queen bed that I saw in one unit looked more like a standard /double bed. We sleep in a queen and it was not the same size as ours. The beds were more firm than what we liked. So, I woke up but a back ache almost every day. The rooms are a good size with tile flooring, a mini refrigerator, a 4-cup coffee maker, and a desk/table with 2 chairs. A nice size TV but ours had a problem with half the picture being shaded. Tha a/c was really good, which was great because our room was very musty when we arrived. Free internet in the room was really nice and the speed was pretty good. They have a computer in the lobby for guests to use as well (just watch out for mosquitos.) The bathroom had two sinks and lots of storage/drawers. Plenty of towels (could use more softner though). Beach towels at the front desk. The room as I said, had a musty odor, which we did not like. As long as the a/c was on it was better but I did find mold in the room--which was not good. This was the bed pillows.............I did call the front desk and Cheap Caribbean rep about this problem. There was also a lot of dust on the lamp shades and one lamp itself, really needed cleaning. Very bad. I also reported this as well. Now saying all of this about the room, lets go to location. The location was good. You do have to drive through a community in order to get to the entrance. On the road, you have lots of speed bumps that are not painted well, so beware and drive slow. I did not find the personnel friendly. (except for Sierra and Mitch) I was a little disappointed in that. This was a very special celebration trip and there was not any acknowledgement of it. The beach was nice but was not a swimming beach. There were a few places that you could sit/play in the water. The beach could have been cleaner but they do like to keep it more natural. Lots and lots of plam trees and several different types of birds. They do not set the beach chairs out on the beach, but they are available stacked up for you. The pool was a good size but it was not in the best of shape. They realy do need to make some repairs in the pool but overall the area was nice. The pool had lots of flowers/trees around. They also had a bin with swimming accessories available. The resturant---we ate there on our last night. I would recommend it even though they didn't get my food right and just made a comment--well I guess the order just got mixed up, there were two going out at the same time! Did not offer to correct the problem. The food was good, especially the Palm Salad. The view was just awesome and the breeze was nice. They have an open area and one inside area. The prices were a little high but that was normal. They did have daily specials. If we go back, I would probably eat there a few more times. All in all, we made the best of our stay. We had some situations I wasn't happy about but then other reviewers seem to rate the resort pretty high. So, That is why I have mixed feelings.


11 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: TN
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Palms at Pelican Cove. The staff was very kind, always available (24 hours a day) and extremely informative! Whenever we asked about something on the Island they were always able to help give directions or information. The room was very clean, very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The pool was a nice size and had plenty of sun or shade. The beach was nice as well. You could always grab a palm tree somewhere for shade or stay in the sun. Snorkeling was very good right at the hotel! The food was excellent at the bar and restaurant! Portion sizes were big and cost was not that bad. We are not big eaters and a couple of times split a meal. Plenty to eat! We can't say enough good things about our experience here. We would go back in a heartbeat and are hoping to do so soon!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Perkasie, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 22, 2013
Nice Beach Front Rooms

This place was very friendly, and had amazing room/hotel staff. The beach views are awesome. I would highly recommend this resort. Take your bug spray though as I did get bitten up by mosqitos alot. And take your wallet and plan to spend $20 a meal every time you eat. However, the views, the service and the price/quality cannot be beat on this Island St. Croix. Glad that I went and wish I could have explored more on the Island. We did not rent a car...wish I would have. It was costly to run everywhere via taxi. Again don't let those things change your mind about the Palms Resort. It was truely relaxing and paradise...and If I ever visit St. Croix again I will not hesitate to stay at the Palms of Pelican Cove again and again.

beach view from our patio
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Enola PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year