All

Palladium Vallarta Resort and Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 32 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4.1 out of 5
"The resort, food, staff, and cleanliness of the resort was great. However, the zoo smells awful while they have the irrigation system running." – Maryann9335
29 out of 36 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the adult pool! View from our room at sunset Heaven on Earth! View of the salt pool in the distance!

All Palladium Vallarta Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 32 reviews. Sort by
March 27, 2015
Blown Away!

My boyfriend and I decided that we needed an impromptu winter getaway and I started digging through the "Last Minute Vacation Deals" page on CheapCaribbean.com. "Last minute" was an understatement - we literally booked our trip only 11 days in advance, and we chose Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa based primarily on how reasonably priced it was for a 5 day/4 night all-inclusive package. We thought the price seemed almost too good to be true, and were half expecting to show up at a dumpy, run down hotel where we'd need to just try to make the best out of the fact that we were at the beach. WELL, our expectations could not have been further from the truth! I can honestly say that we were blown away by how nice the resort was upon arrival, and were continuously impressed throughout our entire stay by the hospitality of the staff and the quality of all of the various amenities at the resort! We absolutely loved the fact that the resort was designed to just sort of blend in with the jungle around it. It definitely took a day or so to get the lay of the land, but after that we really appreciated how even just walking from our room to breakfast in the morning felt like going on an exotic nature walk. The little zoo in the middle of the property was an unexpected surprise! It was fun to walk by and visit the monkeys, ostriches, peacocks, and other jungle critters. We really enjoyed all of the food options on site. The buffet spreads at breakfast, lunch, and dinner were always great. Of the a la carte dining restaurants, Viva Mexico is not to be missed - not only was the food delicious, but the outdoor seating area on a cliff overlooking the beach was truly spectacular. The Portofino Mediterranean restaurant had great food as well, though the bright lighting made it seem more like a cafeteria than a fine dining restaurant. Ambiance in the Bambu Asian restaurant was better, but this was our least favorite food (although I would probably chalk that up to us being picky New Yorkers). Unfortunately we did not get a chance to eat at the Ribs & More Steakhouse because it was closed on our last night, but that was our mistake for not paying closer attention to the restaurant schedule. I noticed that another recent reviewer mentioned a swim-up bar being a big missing feature, but that seems odd to me because there was most definitely a swim-up bar at the main pool during our stay! We spent quite a bit of time there each afternoon, and Alex the bartender became a very familiar and friendly face! The main pool tends to get a bit shady during the late afternoon, but at that time of day we would either head down to the beach or up to the adults-only pool area, which was in more direct sunlight later on in the day. In terms of other resort guests, I would say there was a fair mix of families with children and couples both young and old; so, probably not the resort for you if you are looking for a singles/party spot, but truly perfect for a relaxing getaway. I cannot say enough good things about the Grand Palladium Vallarta Resort & Spa! The weather was perfect, food was great, and atmosphere was exactly what we were looking for. All in all we had an incredible vacation and are already talking about coming back next year with friends!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NEW YORK, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
VERY NICE STAY

The lush gardens around the hotel buildings and pools made this vacation seem more exotic. No elevators, and we were on the 3rd floor, so got some good exercise as well. The staff were all very accommodating. Would recomend it to my friends.

VERY NICE STAY
16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 55-64

January 21, 2014
Great Deal & Great Resort

Got a great deal to go on a vacation with a college friend. Had wonderful weather, and lots of fun. Beautiful beach, got to see whales in January, the entertainment people were very friendly (Martin, Javier and Raul). They offered many activities to keep you busy, water aerobics, yoga, volleyball, basketball, bingo, etc. Prizes weren't all that great, but the activities were fun. If you are a younger person going here looking for a party, you might have to be more willing to step outside of the box and make it more fun on your own. Not many younger people, lots of families. Disco was fairly quiet ever night we were there. Maid service, Bar staff, entertainment and lobby staff were all very friendly. Wait staff in buffet style restaurants didn't seem interested in helping us (might have been because we are younger? But still), however the sit down restaurant wait staff was overly friendly and nice. Would highly recommend the Asian & Mexican restaurants. There are wild peacocks that roam the hotel grounds, which was fairly cool. One big missing feature is a swim up bar. Other than the few minor details everything was awesome and we had a wonderful time, I would definitely return.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Madison, WI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 13, 2015
Fabulous!

We had a FANTASTIC time and the service was good. The only reason I give 4 stars to service instead of 5 is we had a couple items disappear out of our room. Other than that, it was fabulous! Also, the food was AWESOME, The only reason I give 4 stars is we REALLY wanted to try the Mexican Restaurant on the resort and tried 3 different times to make reservations and they were either closed or to capacity already. We never did make it to that one....all other aspects of the trip and resort were awesome. Kudos to our bartender DANY who goes above and beyond to keep his guests happy...friendly and personable...very nice young man who does a great job! The resort was clean and staff was so helpful in scheduling cabs and helping you with anything. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone! And thanks CheapCarribean for making this trip go so smoothly with very little effort on our part .... I am recommending you to friends and already looking into our next trip! Plenty of entertainment for the entire family....


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 9, 2016
PARADISE

We went before Christmas knowing nothing about the place and we couldn't be happier. Everything was flawless. The best place: Zentropia. The Spa is like being in heaven and Alexandra is the angel of it. The staff was really kind and solicitous, the food was abundant and great. Alba, thank you. You run the place like anybody else I have ever seen.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 2, 2017
All you need to get away

Amazing service and staff! Russbell at the disco bar, Leo at the adult pool, and Javier at the main pool were always attentive and had the best drink concoctions. The hotel itself was shrouded in thousands of trees, plants, and flowers, giving you a sense of complete tranquility. The zoo was an added bonus because the animals were rehabilitated and not fit to return to the wild so it is more like an animal sanctuary than it is a zoo. The spa was a major highlight. Go with the deep tissue (Nayhili and Marta were fantastic) and enjoy the pool afterward. Food was good but not spectacular. Most of the buffets were ravaged by the time we arrived and offered little variety. Portofino and the Mexican cantina were our favorites (did not get to try Bambu- not opened on Saturdays). Room service is offered from 1-11pm and offered a different variety than the restaurants. The location is great. Far enough away from downtown and close enough to two beach towns, Punta de Mita and Saylulita. Get out of the hotel and visit the Mariettas Island for a day of snorkel, food, drinks, kayaks, and if you're brave enough, visit the secret hidden beach. But beware, it's difficult to get to and should only be considered for good swimmers. All in all, we have agreed to come back to PVR and this will be our hotel of choice!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2016
Beachside Getaway

The Grand Palladium was fantastic. I've been to Mexico a few times and this place topped the cake, our visit was all made by the staff though. The staff at the Grand Palladium go out of their way to ensure you have an amazing stay. Myself I suffer from food allergies and I was greatly surprised to learn on check in that they have 'allergy cards' that offers descriptions of your food allergy in both english and spanish so when visiting any of the restaurants I knew I could be guaranteed that the food I was eating would not cause any challenges. This was amazing and would be perfect for parents with children too. The location of the resort is just perfect, far enough away from the hustle and bustle to feel secluded and on a divine beach with waves, snorkelling and all the hire you can think of (included). You'll love the Grand Palladium!!


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Australia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 29, 2013
Unhappy guests

Just after finalizing my booking with CheapCarribean- I contacted the resort to let them know that I would like to reserve for 1King bed room suite. Well, as soon as we checked in we were booked in a family suite where there were parties day and night blasting with music. We went on vacation to getaway from all the hustle and bustle of life -- to find out we ended up surrounded with many screaming kids who pounds on our door. It was horrible! I contacted the front desk and security- and complained about this issue being not acceptable. But nothing was done! We were basically ignored and had to deal with all the rukus next door. (I mean literally music just like a CLUB except this was 24hours.) The beach and pool was the best thing that we liked about this resort. The restaurant/bar service and food were good--they were very friendly and prompt (In return, we were generous with their tips-they really deserved it!!). My husband and I have traveled to many All Inclusive--by far this is the worst we've ever encountered. I most definitely NOT recommend this for couples retreat -too chaotic!!


9 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: LA, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 2, 2017
Underwhelming

We have booked with Cheapcaribbean several times and have been very happy, we have always trusted their recommendation. We were a bit disappointed with this trip, we had to keep reminding ourselves that at least we were one a beach in Mexico. The rooms are nice and the food was decent, and we met a lot of nice people as well. Here are my concerns: Pools: Yes there are 4 pools, however... the salt water pool is built into the beach. So if the waves are rough, then you get tons of fish in the "pool". There is an adult only pool, so not a good choice if you have kids. That leaves the 2 other pools. They are both small and connected, so really only 1 pool with 2 entrances. The entire pool is 3 feet deep, so you really can't swim, just walk around in it. Really, you can't swim anyhow, because it's so small and crowded. Beach: The beach is super rocky, and basically not swimmable. They have an area roped off that is supposed to not have rocks or sea urchins, but that's not true. We paid extra for an ocean view room. Just a heads up, the ocean view rooms also overlook the adults only pool.....where topless is allowed. So again, be mindful if you have children. The service was average, the concierge and Ramon the pool bartender were very nice, but aside from them, I felt like I was an inconvenience to some staff (gift shop and beach activities). Also, none of the servers in the buffet really seemed to know which tables were assigned to them, so getting drinks and refills is a long process. The restaurants are only open for dinner, so the buffet is the only breakfast and lunch options, plus a small poolside snack place. There is a "zoo" in the middle of the property, which houses a couple of rescued animals (monkey, ostrich, peacocks, etc). Be prepared for a strong stench of feces, especially if the temperature is warmer. Since it is located in the middle, you will be walking by it several times a day, it's actually right in front of the buffet! We did enjoy the kids show at 8pm everyday, and the Serrano cream soup in the Mexican restaurant is amazing! I actually called Cheapcaribbean the day before we left, to make sure we had made the right resort choice, and I was assured we had. I wish I had trusted my instincts. We will definitely continue to use Cheapcaribbean, but we'll stick with AMR resorts from now on.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2015
What an awesome trip!!

Clicked on Cheap Caribbean looking for a quick cheap vacation in a hurry and got the deal of our lives! The service from start to finish was the best! Wide variety of food choices and everything was delicious! The resort was clean and vey well managed. The staff was professional from the bellman to the bartenders. I know where I'm going on my next trip to Puerto Villarata!

Heaven on Earth! What an awesome trip!!
4 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Palatine, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year