All

Oyster Bay Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 13 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.5 out of 5
"I was happy with the choice of the hotel and after hearing the comments of other tourist staying in other hotels i was even happier that we pick Oyster Bay." – roger25
13 out of 13 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Dawn Beach at Oyster Bay Beach Resort Oyster Bay View from our room (room 1111) beautiful , with Saint Barths visible!

All Oyster Bay Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 13 reviews. Sort by
April 11, 2011
Best resort ever

From the infinity pool to the poolside bar and restaurant, everything was gorgeous, and great food also. I didn't like the oceanside restaurant much, Beau Beau's. Ocean swimming was super, clear aqua water, nice waves,and pkenty of fish. Views were spectacular from all sides, especially St. Barth off in the distance. Wonderful intimate resort with plenty of activities, island music, and relaxation!


106 of 115 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 55-64

April 2, 2013
Wonderful Beach Vacation

We were very happy with our entire experience at Oyster Bay. If was our first time in St. Maarten. We traveled around the island, but really enjoyed the beach at the hotel and pool. The views from the hotel and Dawn beach were some of our favorite. The dining options near the hotel were good and we also went outside the resort and had great options not too far away in Grand Case. We would recommend and come back to Oyster Bay Beach Resort. The hotel/room was very clean and nice. We made use of the safe when we left the room, just in case. The crowd seemed to be a little bit older or families, not a lot of young people.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 18, 2014
OBBR delivers again

This was our second trip to OBBR and the resort did not disappoint. If you're looking for a great place away from the crowds of Phillipsburg this is the place to be. Car rental onsite, 20 min by cab or driver from sxm, lots of restaurants near by, activities daily, trips to area places daily & friendly people.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Saratoga Springs, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 13, 2013
Great week in SXM

Our stay at Oyster Bay Resort started off a bit disappointing, with a small room overlooking the parking lot. Upon request, the front dest staff and manager upgraded us to a nicer room overlooking the marina....which was wonderful! All of the food options were very good. We ate at both Beau Beau's and Infinity and had great meals at both, be it dine in or take out. The other close food options (Daniels By The Sea/Busby's and Island Pizza) were great as well. It was also good to have an onsite grocery site (a little expensive, and a cash only policy), but once finding the Grande Marche supermarket (a short drive away), we were able to fill our in-room refrigerator with ALL of our essentials for the week. Kudos, also, to the housekeeping staff. Marie (our housekeeper) was delightful and very attentive to our daily needs. Loved the ease of travel around the island, and the activity staff were very accommodating with all of our "first timer" questions. We even were given a handmade map from one of the girls, which turned out to be very helpful. Also having our rental car company(Dollar/Thrifty) in-house was a plus. All in all, our time in Sint Maarten/St Martin at the Oyster Bay Resort was fantastic. Thanks to all the Oyster Bay staff for making our stay memorable.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bethlehem, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Great Resort, Friendly Staff, Horrible Beds!

Just got back from a week at Oyster Bay Beach Resort. We had a wonderful time, the staff was friendly, the food was great ( a little on the expensive side). Beau Beau's beach bar and grill proved to have great food at reasonable prices and is right on the beach. Don't miss Mama Pizza, it's not on the resort but is less than a mile a way, on the French side...best spaghetti and lasagna I have ever ate, period! And the prices are reasonable. The also have steaks and chicken, Linda will treat you like family! The only negative I can say about the resort is the beds...absolutely horrible!!!! These have to be the most uncomfortable mattresses I have ever slept on! There is only about a quarter inch of padding over the springs, you can actually take your fingers and feel out each coil in the mattress! We had to tak the comforter and place it over the fitted sheet and the sleep under the flat sheet and blanket, the additional padding afforded by the comforter helped some. I suggest you carry a foam topper if at all possible... Seriously, it's that bad! Come on Oyster Bay, such a great resort, spend a few dollars and upgrade these beds of nails ! I would go back in a heart beat, overall it's a fantastic resort with a great staff, I highly recommend it, just know the beds are horrible!

Dawn Beach at Oyster Bay Beach Resort View from our room (room 1111) beautiful , with Saint Barths visible!
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2014

I was happy with the choice of the hotel and after hearing the comments of other tourist staying in other hotels i was even happier that we pick Oyster Bay.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida Keys
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 18, 2016
Great trip - great value resort

I was a little nervous when I read some reviews on other sites about the oyster bay beach resorts after I already booked my vacation, but all that anxiety was gone once I got to the resort. Our room was really nice, on the 3rd floor corner with Ocean and marina views. We slept good on a pretty comfortable bed with the sound of the ocean waves in the background. Our room had a great kitchenette which we weren't going to use, but decided to cook breakfast in. Everything was there for us from pots/pans/plates to a new sponge and dishsoap! The beach was a little far from our room so we opted for the pool which was really great. The towels provided were luxurious and perfect size for our chairs. Umbrellas protected us from when it got too hot. The staff at the hotel were kind, especially the front desk staff and the concierge, but the staff at the restaurants left something to be desired. They add on a service charge so they know they are less likely to take really good care of you (bummer for them, we are really good tippers). We spent a lot of our time at Orient Beach and travelling around to different parts of the island so having a beach that had a lot of seaweed at our hotel was really no big deal for us. Overall, I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this hotel to people travelling to St Martin.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New york, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 12, 2013
Awesome experience

I normally don't do reviews, but this vacation was awesome in all aspects! People at the Resort are great, frindly, helpfull and have a great time making guest enjoy their stay! We got a room upgrade as soon as we got there, with a great view and kitchen. Everyone was just great! The resort is very nice, and confortable, in a very private part of the island! The beach party was very fun! Overall looking foreward to get back! Great experience!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2013
Great trip

Oyster Bay is a great place to stay. It is out in a quiet area, but accessible to what we needed. We had a great room overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. In fact, we seldom closed the curtains, b/c the view was so great. We are tired of the all-inclusives, so having a kitchen was great. We got up the first day and got a taxi to the grocery store. It was very nice eating some in and some out. The only complaint is a a small bug problem-tiny bugs, almost like sugar ants. The first couple days we couldn't place our food down for more than a couple seconds without being taken over, but it improved. The weather wasn't perfect. It did rain everyday, but we did get some sunshine everyday as well. They said the rainy season was supposed to be over, but we would be laying in the sun and it would start raining on us, but the sun would come back. We spent spent a day in Phillipsburg on the boardwalk. The beach was beautiful. We didn't like the crowds from the cruise ships, though. We also went to Marigot and took a ferry to Anguilla for a day. The beach was a little different...beautiful! I recommend a trip to St. Maarten and to Oyster Bay to everyone!!!

Oyster Bay
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 16, 2014
Great location. Terrible bed.

We spent one week at the resort and I had a couple of complaints. One was the terrible mattress on our bed. It was like sleeping on a bad sleeper sofa. After a sleepless first night, my husband went to the front desk for a solution. They offered to put a foam cover on the mattress. It helped somewhat. At least we could no longer feel the springs. We traveled with other family members and they did not have this problem. Their beds were fine. I'm wondering if maybe the resort is in the process of replacing the mattresses and we got one of the old ones. My other complaint is that our glass slider would not lock. Aside from those issues, the location was great and the employees were friendly and helpful. We tried all of the restaurants on location and everything was excellent. We would book here again.


4 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year