All

Ocean Riviera Paradise Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 95 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.5
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.7 out of 5
"Great atmosphere and lovely services. All you need and more. Great amenities." – TinaCt
63 out of 102 (62%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
New Bathroom Black Mold Dessert Beach/Pools The Room ADULT POOL PARTY Piano Bar Pool by the beach

All Ocean Riviera Paradise Customer Reviews

1-10 of 95 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2017
The good and the bad!

I would have given this resort 5 palm trees but just couldn't due to some issues. I am not a complainer and vacation multiple times a year. I was there 4 days with my family, including young adults, then stayed 4 days for a girls' trip (that's where we had 3 in the room). For the girls' trip we upgraded to the 2 level room with the extra bath and huge upper balcony. Here's the good: spacious, beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, good food except Italian. The buffet was one of the best I've seen with fresh pressed juices. The Romantic Restaurant was the best food of all. Fun pool (we were at El Beso), great workout room, really comfortable bed, great balcony, good beach access, convenient trolley system. Here's the bad: tile choice in shower is very slippery when wet, don't plan to have a 3rd person sleep on the very uncomfortable sofa bed, 2 from our group got a bacterial gut infection that required antibiotics, many employees don't communicate in English at all, they played music over the loud speaker all night long and you could hear it from inside the room, beach bar and pool bar closes at 5:00, room cleaning was at all hours (one night they were cleaning when we got back from dinner), 2 beers in the room frig each day, no matter how many people are in the room. We liked to have a "happy hour" on our balcony before dinner and this made it difficult. Bottom line, I would go back but not with 3 in a room.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 2, 2017
Excellent! Four people who would definitely return

I should preface this with my husband and I have been to several high-end all-inclusives in the Riviera Maya. A couple areas of improvement exist for this resort but if corrected the resort has the potential for 5*. I would give it 4.5* if I could as it deserves it. Overall, everything was excellent and we would not hesitate to return. We were a party of four and we all agreed. Checkin- I saw some folks with drinks and some without. We were without and not even offered a water. After traveling all day a water should at least be offered. An area for improvement. They made us come back at 3:00 for our room as they weren’t ready when we got there. We got our room key, went to get our bags and the bellhops insisted on bringing them. They put them on a shuttle and were in our room before we got there. We were never hassled once about a time share which was nice since other reviews said this was an issue. Our friends were never asked either. Room- Eden JS Even numbers face pool, odds have garden view (this is not the same for all buildings from what I’ve read). No real garden view for garden view rooms at this point. Really a wall and a service road. When the foliage grows in it will be more private. Air conditioning was inconsistent. Very cool one night and very warm another (towards the end of our trip). I think this may have been due to the high humidity our last three days there. Noise- some doors slammed, some were able to shut more quietly- from the outside. All doors shut quietly from the inside so there is no reason for door slamming when inside the room. We had two rooms (first room had 2 doubles and should have been a king). Couldn’t hear the hall noise and door didn’t slam. The next room we were in abutted out more into the hallway. This room we could hear the hall noise but never too early in the morning. People should be mindful when returning to their rooms late at night though after a few drinks. We didn’t have any flooding issues with the shower. There are 2 shower heads. One is a rain shower which comes straight down and another is a hand held. The hand held is what’s causing the issues for everyone. Just make sure it is facing the wall and not the shower door. No issues with water temp or pressure. There are no bathrobes or slippers in the room which would have been nice but not expected since this isn’t a 5* resort. Our friends were tipping their housekeeping and beverage staff daily. One day she didn’t tip the beverage staff and they didn’t refill her fridge. I was in the room when they were in the hall the next day and we told them it wasn’t refilled the day before. He gave us a hard time. Finally, he turned his attitude around and offered extra sodas/waters/coffee. I had heard this from other people before our arrival. We did not tip from the beginning and our room was always refilled, cleaned, etc. I read on another review that the balcony doors automatically lock when you go outside. This is not true. I also read that the doors to the rooms do not have locks on them, this is not true. I also read there is a huge gap under the doors. This is also not true. Restaurants- food was mostly excellent in all restaurants. Against my better judgement from reading other reviews and seeing pics we went to the steakhouse. A waste. Big disappointment. The best steaks are at Blue Moon and the buffets. Blue Moon is a nice night. I had the filet at Blue Moon which was cooked to perfection. Another night the salmon and it was awesome. Good lobster bisque and also the samosas are to die for! Bacon, cream cheese, scallion with a mango sauce! All the steak at lunch time is the most tender I’ve ever had. It’s a marinated hangar steak and is so delicious. Falls right apart. Can be found at all the buffets and beach bbq. Amaranto buffet was awesome! This was one of the best buffets we’ve ever experienced. Loved the Mexican breakfast- so many choices! Two omelette stations which go fast and lots of choices for fillings. Lunch buffet was awesome too with an excellent Asian station, sushi and made to order pasta station. My biggest complaint was that this buffet was only opened for lunch (always open for breakfast) the first couple days we were there and was closed for some reason the rest of the week (but they said only that week). After that we had to go to Villa Marina which is more scaled down buffet. Still good but a big disappointment after experiencing Amaranto. The Italian (La Toscana) was our favorite. The food was excellent with lots of variety. The salmon and lasagna Bolognese were my favorites. We ate there 3x and Blue Moon twice. Blue Moon is a nice night and has a nice menu. Excellent risotto at both restaurants. All the pools have their own snack bar which varies daily with shrimp/chicken/beef kabobs, calamari, fish, French fries, sushi, crepes (Eden), chips, guac, chicken tenders- which are fresh homemade panko crusted tenders. They were a big hit! I had the best calamari at the Daisy pool. It had some type of seasoning on it. Pez Vela is a scaled down buffet at lunch with fish, chicken, steak, burgers, dogs, salads, guac, chips, rice, fries, etc. Nice so you don’t have to walk too far for a snack. They also do bbq on the beach every day at lunch time which includes a big vat of paella which was better than any we’ve had a resort to date. It would have been nice if Route 66 was open for lunch. Alas, we never ate there since we wanted more of a formal meal at dinner time. Beach- The beach was expansive with plenty of loungers, palapas and umbrellas. Best place to sit (in our opinion) was between Pez Vela and the Privilege beach. Great ocean view (without being up front), next to the bathrooms, food, and bars and less crowded than the main area. Easy access to the Pez Vela bar or the portable bar right outside the Privilege beach. You’ll also get the music from Pez Vela. Perfect spot! Seaweed was never an issue. Best place to swim was to the right. Within a 5 min walk in front of Azul Fives. Crystal clear water. There is coral in front of our resort. You will need water shoes but the bottom does get sandy as you walk out. Clarity depends on how the wind is blowing. We preferred to take a short walk to the right. Guaranteed paradise! There are receptacle containers throughout the beach. I don’t know if people realize this because another review I read said there weren’t any. We saw several. The resort definitely needs to do a better job cleaning the beach up at the end of the day. I went out several mornings and water bottles, drink glasses and food plates were still out. Drinks- Pez Vela did a great job getting everyone in and out. There are two self-serve daiquiri/pina colada machines. If you are facing the bar, the one to the right has alcohol and the one to the left is virgin. I always got my pina colada then had them put an extra floater on top. There is also a gray bucket against the wall near the alcoholic pina colada machine which contains self-serve bottled waters on ice. We always grabbed a few on our way in to the beach. There are portable type bars strewn across the beaches so drinks were plentiful and within easy reach. Sometimes we got drink service on the beach. Depended on the day. Really not a big deal though since a drink was only a few steps away. The lobby bar was always busy and understaffed (as were most of the bars). Make sure to tell them what kind of alcohol you want in your drink or they’ll use well brands. Pez Vela at night was a nice place to get a drink and listen to some music. Never crowded and nice atmosphere. Entertainment- always something to do. This place had the most entertainment for all kinds of interests than any other place we’ve been. El Beso has a ton of entertainment during the day. My only complaint is that the piano bar didn’t open up until late. 10:30. It would have been nice to go to the piano bar for a drink before dinner. They have a daily activities guide which shows which restaurants are opened that day, activities, etc but you have to go to the lobby daily to get it. It isn’t left in your room at night. They don’t have turn down service at night but they could shove them under the room doors. Another area for improvement. Transportation- the trolley ran back and forth all day. Never an issue except for night. Service was less frequent. Better off walking. The walk from Eden to the restaurant area was only 5 min. May be slower for others depending on how fast you walk. I enjoyed the walk to/from breakfast and to/from dinner. Lunch time it’s pretty blazing hot so nice to have the shuttle. Taxi from resort for 4 people to Playa was $16 and a 10-15 min ride. On the way back I asked the taxis that were around town and it was $12 for 4 people. Overall, small areas for improvement and this could be a 5* resort. For the price we paid, the quality of food and service we got, we would not hesitate to return. The resort is beautiful, the staff work hard, the layout is nice. I was nervous but they've done a great job here! An awesome place! You won't be disappointed.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2017
Large Resort w/Something For Most Everyone

My adult family of 6 stayed at ORP (Eden) from June 1-10. For a point of reference, we've vacationed at over a dozen (different) AI resorts, mainly in the Riviera Maya; i.e., Ocean Coral, Iberostar Paraiso, Barcelo Palace, Palladium, Bahia Principe, RIU. We've enjoyed every resort ever visited, mainly because of extensive research beforehand. (Are we traveling alone? If traveling w/others, how many and what ages? Do we want a smaller, more compact resort or larger... quiet or active? Is it acceptable to be isolated or do we want to be in close proximity to a town/outside excursions? How's the beach?) This is our opinion - ORP is roughly 6 mo. old; They're still figuring a few things out. If we had to complain, we felt they could improve in these areas: *More personnel in restaurants and bars *Check-in, upon arrival, took 1 1/2 hrs. w/only 1 couple in line ahead of us. Ridiculously slow! *Inconsistency of alcoholic beverages from bartender to bartender *Customer service of a select few employees who were just not happy to be working However, none of the above came close to ruining our trip! Rooms - 3 standard (Eden section). All were lovely and cooled to everyone's satisfaction. Maid service was different for each room and was excellent! Restaurants - We found the food and service to be wonderful at Blue Moon, Italian and Teppanyaki. In our opinion, the main buffet was delicious and had more than enough options for breakfast and dinner. Our service at the buffet varied, but was good overall. The sushi and crepes were both a hit for a quick snack. FYI - We are firm believers in tipping. Most employees are very hard working and eager to please, and we feel good about showing them our appreciation. Pools - The majority of our time was spent at the El Beso (Adult) Pool, and we had a blast! Lots of activities to participate in, or just watch. Also loved the live poolside music. We had absolutely stellar poolside service by Marisol Cordova who was busy non-stop and always friendly and smiling. Ocean/Beach - We had no problem finding chairs. We generally use the ocean more to get our feet wet, than to swim in, so the rocks didn't bother us. But we do like to walk the beach, which you are able to do, in both directions. Entertainment Staff - Top notch. (Shout out to Oscar and Rihanna!) The entire team seems dedicated to making sure others are enjoying their vacations and seem to truly have fun at the same time. This resort is lucky to have you! In summary... We were looking for a lively (but not out-of-control party scene), larger resort w/several bars/restaurants, pool options, entertainment day/night and a sports bar/night club. The ORP had all of that, plus the added bonus of the ice cream and coffee shops. We felt that this resort offered tons of options w/something for most everyone. ORP was the perfect fit for our family vacation and we had a great time! We won't hesitate to recommend and will definitely consider a return visit.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 24, 2017
Take me back to paradise

My boyfriend and I decided it was time to take a vacation that wasn't geared around weddings or family events. A week at this resort was JUST what we needed! We stayed in the privilege area and enjoyed all of the perks! Our room was beautiful. There were some small cracks in tiles, and the cover on the bed off of our patio (we were on the ground floor) had a cigarette burn in it, but neither of those put a damper on our stay. We loved using the jacuzzi tub on the patio at the end of a full day of pool/beach drinking! The waterfall shower was amazingggg. The architecture and design of this resort was beautiful and really appealing to two creative city people. Room service was really slow and always arrived cold, but who really needs room service with all of the other food options?? We enjoyed the Privilege Chill out bar on nights that we wanted a more calm atmosphere, but loved that we could hang out by the lobby bar when we were in the mood to party! We also had a great time bouncing between the different pools/beach. We really were able to customize what we did each day! The foam party and the Friday afternoon pool party at the El Beso pool were so much fun and let us get a little rowdy in between all of our relaxing at the Privilege pool and beach area. The drinks were always delicious (although not always consistent). Some all inclusives stiff you on the alcohol but we NEVER felt that way with these drinks! The restaurants were all delicious too! Our favorites were by far Blue Moon, Sakura, and La Locanda! Breakfast at the main buffet was also great! So many options including fresh made omelettes, pastries, and a mimosa/bloody mary bar! The staff at all of the bars and restaurants were friendly and efficient and really wanted to make sure you enjoyed yourself. The pools were all very clean and we never felt like we had to fight people over lounge chairs. The beach is a bit rocky and had lots of seaweed but i'm not a big ocean swimmer so this didn't really bother me. We did go jet skiing and had a great time. Overall we loved our stay. It was a great mix of relaxation, partying and adventure! We have both agreed that we would definitely return!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 25, 2017
Long review of the ORP

Cancun Airport For those newbies making their pilgrimage to Cancun, The Cancun airport is as follows. I know it doesn't sound logical, but fill out the customs and immigration forms BEFORE you leave the airplane, why you ask, well my newbie traveler to save time of course, and sign the "Departure" section of the form as well. After you arrive, you go through customs and immigration you get your bags and head outside the sliding glass doors ...NOW for the timeshare section....Folks my wife and I have been through the madhouse of the Cancun airport a few times and she has come up with a perfect way of dealing with the timeshare sellers right outside the sliding glass doors...keep your head down, and make the run to the exit... fast...DONT LOOK or TALK to anyone. if not they will get you and you'll be stuck for 10 mins trying to get yourself out of going to a timeshare meeting... Trust me when I say, you will still have the opportunity to be hit up by timeshare folks during your stay at the ORP (Ocean Riviera Paradise) Check in Upon arrival at the ORP, the first impression you may have is, where's the Mexican favor?? The lobby is quite modern looking and does not have any Mexican vibes but something right out of a metropolitan hotel. Check in wasn't until 3pm. Rooms The ORP is newly built and has that new car smell, so the rooms are in good order BUT you may need to have something fixed, so keep that in mind and don't come on here and complain that a tile is chipped in the hallway as they are still working out the glitches. The room numbers are in privileged building 5301,5302,5303,5304 in Eden building 4446 through 4458 all of these are front facing the ocean, the best swim out room would be el bezo 4146, also in the Eden building the rooms with even numbers face the pool and odd numbers the back of the hotel. The room was large very modern with nice furniture a massive bed, air condition ceiling fan, plenty of storage and plenty of outlets (plugs) and usb slots. Food There are so many options to eat at, we did not do privilege (we didn't see any difference during our visit, the longest wait we had at any restaurant was about 5 minutes, at every other place we were seated right away). We ate at the buffet mostly for breakfast and lunch, pretty basic choices but lots of fruit to choose from and we always found something different to eat. Awesome fresh juices at the main buffet. The main buffet has a lot of options and they do a great job changing up the selection on the theme nights. Each dinner had a theme; Mexican, Asian, Caribbean, etc. There are 7 a la cartes and 2 buffets to choose from , Steak House, Pez Vela on the beach, Margarita (Mexican), Route 66 a 50s diner served the late night crowd very well, BlueMoon, Sakura (Oriental), La Locoanda (Italian) and 2 buffets which have self serve mimosas. It seems that all the resorts are moving towards having a BlueMoon and Route 66 in every resort these days. The a la cartes are first come first served, except the Japanese teppanyaki style dinner show. It's the only restaurant that takes reservations. Beach/loungers We did not have any issues getting chairs since this place was about 40% full durning the week, weekends were at 80% full and we still did not have any issues getting chairs. Now for what everyone is wanting to know about. Seaweed and rocks. Yes, there is seaweed. The severity of it does depend on the weather. This did not impact our stay AT ALL . They have a tractor that goes up and down and clears it all away so in the afternoon the beach is clear. Guess what dear travelers??? Seaweed is an issue up and down the Cancun coast, but this should NOT stop you from going. Now for the bad part, rocks, yes there are rocks when you enter the ocean. Go to the right near the rope and enter there, less rocks to bump your feet on. Also this place, as most of Cancun and playa del Carmen, is not very good for snorkeling, so don't plan a snorkeling vacation here. Staff The staff work hard very hard at this resort, and we did not have any issues getting our drinks rather quickly. Louis at the main buffett was an excellent server who always had a spot for us waiting with morning mimosa. Pool They have five pools. One is each of the 4 buildings, not bad, cleaned every day and fairly good sized. The foam party is at El Bezo and is a lot of fun, if you haven't done it before and the kids love it. The fifth pool is very near the beach and does not have a swim up bar. We found that this pool was not clear and was cloudy all the time we were there. Each pool has a snack bar which served a decent selection of food like sushi, fish, chicken strips, kabobs and hotdogs. The snack bar at the Eden has crepes also. Oh and pools usually close around 5 each day and so do the swim up bars. Gym/Bowling Ally We are not hard core gym goers by any means but we did use the gym and found it enjoyable to burn off some calories that we had packed on eating so much here, so if you enjoy some exercise, this gym has decent equipment. The Gym is located near the Spa. Another nice touch was the Bowling Alley, it's near the sports bar and was fun to do and we noticed the families loved it with their kids. Also bring your own socks or its $2 to buy them in order to bowl. The bowling alley opens at 3pm, so be aware. Casino One of the first casinos we have ever seen in the Cancun area. In the DR they are at just about every resort and it seems to be catching on here in Mexico. The casino is relatively small in size around 8 table games (Blackjack, roulette), 3 video poker machines, 15 or so slots. Gift store In case you have never noticed ( or this is your very first trip), the gift shops at AI resorts are pricey for snacks ($14.00 for a bag of Lays potato chips), as all gift stores are in every AI resort on the planet, my advice is to bring several cans of potato chips or other snacks with you. That way you won't have to pay the high prices. Other items are reasonable such as photo frames for 10-20 bucks. Bars/Liquor As always folks, drinks are made by different people at the different bars, so inconsistently is on tap. So our advice, find a bartender who makes the kinds of drinks YOU like and try to stick with that bartender. But dear traveler, your thinking a mojito is just a mojito right? Wrong, find a good bartender who cares and stick with them....tips WILL help you find a good bartender. The ORP serves Sol and Modelo beer, Havana Club rum, which is one of my favorite rums. Nightly entertainment Nicely done I say, the entertainment staff do a great job of putting on the shows and really do seem to be happy and excited to do it.. Coffee shop- As I mentioned above, Mike's Coffee Shop has an amazing offering of lattes! It opens at 7:30am, wish it opened at 6am but, oh well....In our opinion one of the best highlights of this resort something we wished many resorts would do. Large seating inside as well as seating outside. At the coffee shop, you can also find tea, smoothies, and depending on what time of day it was they also had lite snack's and sweet treats.... I had at least 2 Mocha Lattes every day. This place also has used books that you can read if you have finished reading your book during your trip. As always, leave a book, take a book. Tipping. Folks listen up and pay attention to this part!! You spent MORE than a dollar getting here, in fact you bought 10 pairs of shoes, 6 swim suits, and 20 outfits all for a 7 day trip, so plan ahead and bring some tip money with you. We have always tipped and will always continue to tip. Some folks read the fine print in the travel papers where it says all tax's and tips (gratuities) are included, and they do not tip...EVER....and guess what, sometimes they get lousy service MORE TIMES THAN NOT. We on the other hand want the servers to know our name, and what we drink, so we do not stand in line, egotistical you say? Ok, but at least I'll have my drink before you. Shuttles-carts Shuttles run from at least 8 am until at least 10pm. We found that they need more shuttles to continually run up and down the main road. We often just walked because we didn't see any shuttles coming up from the beach. Overall a place to get away and relax,


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: detroit
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2017
Nice NEW resort

My husband and I are 45 years old. This was our first trip to the Caribbean since we were married at Sandals St. Lucia 21 years ago, so we had very high expectations. I'll break down our review into main topics for easy reading. 1. Check-in: No one spoke English. We were placed in the wrong room twice. I felt as if we were buying a car. The check-in clerk would disappear to a room with a door for 10 minutes or so, then offering another room. I was assured that we would love our final third room. We booked an Eden room due to its location closest to the beach. We were so excited to finally get to our room, only to discover our patio faced an old, run down house with a water treatment system in the back yard. We were disgusted and tired, but figured that we wouldn't be out on the patio much at all. So we let it go. So needless to say, the check- in process did not go so well, but we were determined that everything else would be wonderful. We didn't purchase the upgraded armband for special top shelf liquors. 2. Beach/pools: Beautiful sand and ocean. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach, but the staff works hard to remove it. It didn't bother us. Roped off area to walk in without stepping on rocks. We normally vacation in the Gulf of Florida and it was very comparable to that area as far as beach and water. There are vendors on the beach that do try to sale you things, take pictures etc. You do need to get out early to reserve your beach chair. The sand in the beach area were the chairs are needed to be cleaned. Pools were clean and nice. We visited in early March. The ocean and pools were chilly. 3. Bars: Slow service and we always tipped. They definitely need more bartenders. There are 3 pool bars,a beach bar and a main lobby bar. Pool bars close at 5PM!! Beach bar was open till 5:30PM. The lobby bar and piano bar were opened late. 4.Restaurants: The buffet was our favorite. We liked all the variety. The food was delicious. No complaints. As far as the specialty restaurants-- we tried Route 66, the steakhouse, Blue Moon and the beach restaurant Pez Vela. Pez Vela was very good, but none of the food was better than the buffet food. We feel like maybe it all came from the same place--the buffet! Enough said!! We loved the afternoon snacks at the El Beso pool. 5.Our Eden room, we discussed the balcony view above. The room was very nice and clean. The refrigerator was never cold from day 1. This was very irritating. The staff gives you 2 sodas, 2 beers and 2 waters per day. You can not get extras or make special requests. The shower had issues. It did not drain properly. We always placed a towel outside the shower door. Poor design I guess. 6. Overall, this is a new resort and there is room for improvement. We enjoyed our stay. Lastly, the night life was good. Always something going on in the main pavilion. The Michael Jackson show was very good. The entertainment staff was excellent ,but I don't believe that they were part of the resort. Finally, don't miss the crazy foam party at the El Beso pool Tuesday afternoon. It was amazing for sure!!


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ncholasville, KY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2017
Great food beach not so good

The food was great and so were the pools and the room. The service was outstanding. However, if you're going for the beach this is not the place for you. Very rocky ocean bottom with only one small strip for sunbathing and one little strip of sandy ocean bottom. It was painful to go in the water. Also ordering shuttle from this agency meant waiting at the airport and getting to the hotel rather late and leaving very early for the airport so 5 days were really only 3.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64

March 26, 2017
Nice Resort, But Nothing Special

Stayed for a week with another family of four...Our kids were between the ages of 16 and 20. We had three rooms between the eight of us....all in the Privilege area, one swim-up and two junior suits. Nice resort but doesn't set itself apart from others we have been to, and we have been to many in this area and other parts of the Caribbean. Pros: Rooms nice and great beds Four Swim-up bars Great breakfast and lunches (sushi and crepes at pools awesome, lunch at the buffet also above average) Bartenders work very hard but are unstaffed lots of beach chairs, but people do get up early to save seats Privilege level alcohol choices pretty good Privilege lounge nice and good place to escape to that isn't busy Beautiful Decor The waterpark area looks fantastic for families with younger kids Privilege allows you to be able to make reservations in advance and avoid the lines (which look long)...We even email the resort the week before our arrival and made our reservations for every night of our stay...AWESOME Cons: Very little wait staff that take drink orders around pools or beach. Privilege night time dinner should have better decor...not near as nice as other restaurants around resort A La Cart restaurants menus options are great, but food is sub-par except for Japanese restaurant food is excellent Beach needs cleaned up Not great area for swimming in the ocean..much better at different resorts in this area. Some staff at the restaurants at night are less than friendly Probably shouldn't have a beer pong contest in the courtyard area of the hotel before the fire show....lots of little kids around at the time Would NOT waste money on swim-up room upgrade in Privilege area or not. Check in a bit slow, but room was ready


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cedar Rapids, IA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 2, 2017
nice place needs improvement

i booked this hotel last minute for my teenage son and his friend. i was nervous because the reviews were all over the place. first of all if you go here you MUST do the privilege. when we arrived we weren't told we had a separate checkin place for privilege and after waiting in line for 20 mins to check in i finally asked someone and was told i did in fact have a different checkin. that checkin was easy and nice (they brought us into a separate room.). i wish i had known earlier and not waited in the line. the hotel is very big and they have golf carts to take you around. the problem is you have to wait for them because they don't run frequently. if you buy into their hotel program they have many golf carts specific for these people. we ended up walking a lot because the wait was to long. the privilege has its own pool and beach area. another reason to do privilege because otherwise it is difficult to get beach and pool lounge chairs. by 8 am all lounge chairs are taken but not in those areas. they have many restaurants but the food isn't that good. the only place i found the food to be good was again in the privilege restaurant and they also have a gorg rooftop lounge. service at the hotel needs much improvement. we called for room service twice and it took hours. when we were checking out i requested bag pickup in my room twice in advance and they never showed up. also they are still working in the hotel and once my son turned on our sink in room only to have some sort of sludge come out. overall the place is nice. they just need to get their service together. for the price it was better than i expected.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 29, 2017
Fantastic vacay

We loved the resort. It is brand new so has some bugs to work out. One suggestion we have is to not close the pool bars at 5. That was a big disappointment to us. But the bars and bartenders are all great. The ocean is wonderful and we had lunch everyday down at the beach. The room was comfortable and the balcony wonderful. The water park was fun for our grandson and gave us time to sit and relax. Overall very awesome resort!!


9 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations