All

Ocean Riviera Paradise Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 30 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.3
3.9 out of 5
"Beautiful hotel and amazing staff! So friendly. However Since recently opening, short staffed. Could use more staff" – Stars1
22 out of 30 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach/Pools The Room

All Ocean Riviera Paradise Customer Reviews

1-10 of 30 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2017
The good and the bad!

I would have given this resort 5 palm trees but just couldn't due to some issues. I am not a complainer and vacation multiple times a year. I was there 4 days with my family, including young adults, then stayed 4 days for a girls' trip (that's where we had 3 in the room). For the girls' trip we upgraded to the 2 level room with the extra bath and huge upper balcony. Here's the good: spacious, beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, good food except Italian. The buffet was one of the best I've seen with fresh pressed juices. The Romantic Restaurant was the best food of all. Fun pool (we were at El Beso), great workout room, really comfortable bed, great balcony, good beach access, convenient trolley system. Here's the bad: tile choice in shower is very slippery when wet, don't plan to have a 3rd person sleep on the very uncomfortable sofa bed, 2 from our group got a bacterial gut infection that required antibiotics, many employees don't communicate in English at all, they played music over the loud speaker all night long and you could hear it from inside the room, beach bar and pool bar closes at 5:00, room cleaning was at all hours (one night they were cleaning when we got back from dinner), 2 beers in the room frig each day, no matter how many people are in the room. We liked to have a "happy hour" on our balcony before dinner and this made it difficult. Bottom line, I would go back but not with 3 in a room.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2017
Nice NEW resort

My husband and I are 45 years old. This was our first trip to the Caribbean since we were married at Sandals St. Lucia 21 years ago, so we had very high expectations. I'll break down our review into main topics for easy reading. 1. Check-in: No one spoke English. We were placed in the wrong room twice. I felt as if we were buying a car. The check-in clerk would disappear to a room with a door for 10 minutes or so, then offering another room. I was assured that we would love our final third room. We booked an Eden room due to its location closest to the beach. We were so excited to finally get to our room, only to discover our patio faced an old, run down house with a water treatment system in the back yard. We were disgusted and tired, but figured that we wouldn't be out on the patio much at all. So we let it go. So needless to say, the check- in process did not go so well, but we were determined that everything else would be wonderful. We didn't purchase the upgraded armband for special top shelf liquors. 2. Beach/pools: Beautiful sand and ocean. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach, but the staff works hard to remove it. It didn't bother us. Roped off area to walk in without stepping on rocks. We normally vacation in the Gulf of Florida and it was very comparable to that area as far as beach and water. There are vendors on the beach that do try to sale you things, take pictures etc. You do need to get out early to reserve your beach chair. The sand in the beach area were the chairs are needed to be cleaned. Pools were clean and nice. We visited in early March. The ocean and pools were chilly. 3. Bars: Slow service and we always tipped. They definitely need more bartenders. There are 3 pool bars,a beach bar and a main lobby bar. Pool bars close at 5PM!! Beach bar was open till 5:30PM. The lobby bar and piano bar were opened late. 4.Restaurants: The buffet was our favorite. We liked all the variety. The food was delicious. No complaints. As far as the specialty restaurants-- we tried Route 66, the steakhouse, Blue Moon and the beach restaurant Pez Vela. Pez Vela was very good, but none of the food was better than the buffet food. We feel like maybe it all came from the same place--the buffet! Enough said!! We loved the afternoon snacks at the El Beso pool. 5.Our Eden room, we discussed the balcony view above. The room was very nice and clean. The refrigerator was never cold from day 1. This was very irritating. The staff gives you 2 sodas, 2 beers and 2 waters per day. You can not get extras or make special requests. The shower had issues. It did not drain properly. We always placed a towel outside the shower door. Poor design I guess. 6. Overall, this is a new resort and there is room for improvement. We enjoyed our stay. Lastly, the night life was good. Always something going on in the main pavilion. The Michael Jackson show was very good. The entertainment staff was excellent ,but I don't believe that they were part of the resort. Finally, don't miss the crazy foam party at the El Beso pool Tuesday afternoon. It was amazing for sure!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ncholasville, KY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 29, 2017
Fantastic vacay

We loved the resort. It is brand new so has some bugs to work out. One suggestion we have is to not close the pool bars at 5. That was a big disappointment to us. But the bars and bartenders are all great. The ocean is wonderful and we had lunch everyday down at the beach. The room was comfortable and the balcony wonderful. The water park was fun for our grandson and gave us time to sit and relax. Overall very awesome resort!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 3, 2017
Pool Bars

The only negative I can think of is that the pool bars should stay open later than 5:00. The rooms were really nice along with everything else.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: VT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2017
new but not totally ready

Pretty place, food very good ,and people friendly.Beach extremely rocky, they do have a very small area where it is roped off to swim, and not as rocky.Three times we asked for wake up calls. Twice they were 20 min.late in calling us. Once for or excursion they never called.Not reliable.They are still working on the place. My husband asked a workman to stop hammering on the roof over us so we could sleep. The walkways have cement blocks that are broken or chipped and being replaced daily, throughout the resort.This resort is only 3 months old. Beds made up daily but twice trash can in room never emptied and it was full. .Place is almost too big for them to run properly.Everyone has to wear a wrist band so staff knows who paid for the better liquor,who can swim in specific pools and who gets a ride on a special shuttle. I had a cut on my foot on a rock in the ocean, the priority shuttle was empty and would not give me a ride to my room as I didn't have the right wrist band on. There wasn't any other shuttle around so I limped to our room. .No exceptions.Although this is a 5 star hotel I'd rather stay at a smaller place with 3 to4 stars and not be treated differently from guests with different wrist bands. Our room wasn't ready until 6 pm. We arrived there at 3pm.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 19, 2017
Great food beach not so good

The food was great and so were the pools and the room. The service was outstanding. However, if you're going for the beach this is not the place for you. Very rocky ocean bottom with only one small strip for sunbathing and one little strip of sandy ocean bottom. It was painful to go in the water. Also ordering shuttle from this agency meant waiting at the airport and getting to the hotel rather late and leaving very early for the airport so 5 days were really only 3.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64

March 29, 2017
Just average!

If you can get this trip for a value, then it's worth it. Breakfast and lunches were good, but the majority of dinners were awefu! Steakhouse.. I would have a more tender steak if I clipped a piece of my belt off and threw it on the grill. Except for lunch at the pool area for steak, stick to chicken and salmon on the menus. Ocean chairs.. you better be there saving your chairs no later than 7:30am! Or you maybe standing! We go to Mexico at least twice a year for many years, and this place is just average.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pottsville, Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2017
Lovely quick getaway

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ocean Riviera Paradise with my husband. The resort is brand new, so expect a few hiccups. However, there was nothing that ruined our stay or even inconvenienced us. The resort is decorated very tastefully. All of the restaurants are lovely and the rooms are very unique, spacious and comfortable. The beach is clean and beautiful, but the majority of the resort is not situated directly on the beach. It is very long and narrow with the lobby on one end and the beach on the far other end. There are little trolleys you can ride if the walk is too long, but we never took one. The food was excellent in my opinion. Typically when we travel, we try all of the restaurants. but this time we were really just looking to relax and mainly ate at the buffet. I never got sick of it and always had a good meal. The pools are very nice as well. If you are traveling with kids, the waterpark looked like a lot of fun and was practically empty. They also have a little playground and a decent looking kids and teens club. If you like to walk along the beach, you can go for miles each way without running into any barriers. We probably ventured at least 2 miles in each direction. I would not consider this to be a true 5-star resort, but it is very nice, and I would recommend it to a friend.

The Room Beach/Pools
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 9, 2017

We truly did have a great time. The accommodation's were lovely, but did have some annoying problems. The food was incredible. The staff were very friendly. What I didn't like. We had booked a room in the family area and were put in Eden accommodation's. I would have preferred my kids not be exposed to the sight of holiday makers sitting at a pool side bar all day. We didn't spend a ton of time at the pool for this reason. When taking a shower it had to be quick, if you were not quick there was water everywhere. We learned the hard way. On our first night we got woken up around 2 in the morning. Water was coming into our room under the door & needed to be mopped up. We reckoned that someone had, had a super long shower. I would recommend but also warm of problems.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: nh
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2017
Nice Resort, But Nothing Special

Stayed for a week with another family of four...Our kids were between the ages of 16 and 20. We had three rooms between the eight of us....all in the Privilege area, one swim-up and two junior suits. Nice resort but doesn't set itself apart from others we have been to, and we have been to many in this area and other parts of the Caribbean. Pros: Rooms nice and great beds Four Swim-up bars Great breakfast and lunches (sushi and crepes at pools awesome, lunch at the buffet also above average) Bartenders work very hard but are unstaffed lots of beach chairs, but people do get up early to save seats Privilege level alcohol choices pretty good Privilege lounge nice and good place to escape to that isn't busy Beautiful Decor The waterpark area looks fantastic for families with younger kids Privilege allows you to be able to make reservations in advance and avoid the lines (which look long)...We even email the resort the week before our arrival and made our reservations for every night of our stay...AWESOME Cons: Very little wait staff that take drink orders around pools or beach. Privilege night time dinner should have better decor...not near as nice as other restaurants around resort A La Cart restaurants menus options are great, but food is sub-par except for Japanese restaurant food is excellent Beach needs cleaned up Not great area for swimming in the ocean..much better at different resorts in this area. Some staff at the restaurants at night are less than friendly Probably shouldn't have a beer pong contest in the courtyard area of the hotel before the fire show....lots of little kids around at the time Would NOT waste money on swim-up room upgrade in Privilege area or not. Check in a bit slow, but room was ready


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Cedar Rapids, IA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year