All

Ocean Riviera Paradise Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 15 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
3.7
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4 out of 5
"Beautiful hotel and amazing staff! So friendly. However Since recently opening, short staffed. Could use more staff" – Stars1
12 out of 15 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The Room Beach/Pools

All Ocean Riviera Paradise Customer Reviews

1-10 of 15 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2017
The good and the bad!

I would have given this resort 5 palm trees but just couldn't due to some issues. I am not a complainer and vacation multiple times a year. I was there 4 days with my family, including young adults, then stayed 4 days for a girls' trip (that's where we had 3 in the room). For the girls' trip we upgraded to the 2 level room with the extra bath and huge upper balcony. Here's the good: spacious, beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, good food except Italian. The buffet was one of the best I've seen with fresh pressed juices. The Romantic Restaurant was the best food of all. Fun pool (we were at El Beso), great workout room, really comfortable bed, great balcony, good beach access, convenient trolley system. Here's the bad: tile choice in shower is very slippery when wet, don't plan to have a 3rd person sleep on the very uncomfortable sofa bed, 2 from our group got a bacterial gut infection that required antibiotics, many employees don't communicate in English at all, they played music over the loud speaker all night long and you could hear it from inside the room, beach bar and pool bar closes at 5:00, room cleaning was at all hours (one night they were cleaning when we got back from dinner), 2 beers in the room frig each day, no matter how many people are in the room. We liked to have a "happy hour" on our balcony before dinner and this made it difficult. Bottom line, I would go back but not with 3 in a room.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 29, 2017
Fantastic vacay

We loved the resort. It is brand new so has some bugs to work out. One suggestion we have is to not close the pool bars at 5. That was a big disappointment to us. But the bars and bartenders are all great. The ocean is wonderful and we had lunch everyday down at the beach. The room was comfortable and the balcony wonderful. The water park was fun for our grandson and gave us time to sit and relax. Overall very awesome resort!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 3, 2017
Pool Bars

The only negative I can think of is that the pool bars should stay open later than 5:00. The rooms were really nice along with everything else.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: VT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2017
Lovely quick getaway

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ocean Riviera Paradise with my husband. The resort is brand new, so expect a few hiccups. However, there was nothing that ruined our stay or even inconvenienced us. The resort is decorated very tastefully. All of the restaurants are lovely and the rooms are very unique, spacious and comfortable. The beach is clean and beautiful, but the majority of the resort is not situated directly on the beach. It is very long and narrow with the lobby on one end and the beach on the far other end. There are little trolleys you can ride if the walk is too long, but we never took one. The food was excellent in my opinion. Typically when we travel, we try all of the restaurants. but this time we were really just looking to relax and mainly ate at the buffet. I never got sick of it and always had a good meal. The pools are very nice as well. If you are traveling with kids, the waterpark looked like a lot of fun and was practically empty. They also have a little playground and a decent looking kids and teens club. If you like to walk along the beach, you can go for miles each way without running into any barriers. We probably ventured at least 2 miles in each direction. I would not consider this to be a true 5-star resort, but it is very nice, and I would recommend it to a friend.

The Room Beach/Pools
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 9, 2017
new but not totally ready

Pretty place, food very good ,and people friendly.Beach extremely rocky, they do have a very small area where it is roped off to swim, and not as rocky.Three times we asked for wake up calls. Twice they were 20 min.late in calling us. Once for or excursion they never called.Not reliable.They are still working on the place. My husband asked a workman to stop hammering on the roof over us so we could sleep. The walkways have cement blocks that are broken or chipped and being replaced daily, throughout the resort.This resort is only 3 months old. Beds made up daily but twice trash can in room never emptied and it was full. .Place is almost too big for them to run properly.Everyone has to wear a wrist band so staff knows who paid for the better liquor,who can swim in specific pools and who gets a ride on a special shuttle. I had a cut on my foot on a rock in the ocean, the priority shuttle was empty and would not give me a ride to my room as I didn't have the right wrist band on. There wasn't any other shuttle around so I limped to our room. .No exceptions.Although this is a 5 star hotel I'd rather stay at a smaller place with 3 to4 stars and not be treated differently from guests with different wrist bands. Our room wasn't ready until 6 pm. We arrived there at 3pm.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 6, 2017

Best food...no ocean view available...very nice staff...


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: missouri
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2017
Beautiful Resort/Poor customer seevice

The resort is absolutely beautiful! Food was great (except for Route 66 and room service), room service and the other customer service was not so pleasant, definitely needs some work. Some of the workers don't even want to bother helping or doing anything for you. Bartenders weren't always pleasant either and took awhile to get a drink. But the pools beaches and resort were beautiful! Would love to go back and hopefully they improve their customer service by then!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma
Age: 25-34

March 1, 2017
Beautiful resort but Service was not up to par

The resort is beautiful but the service did not match. The check in process is not organized & is much longer than acceptable. The rooms, pool, and beach are beautiful. Aside from better service, I would suggest they leave the pool bars open longer. They close at 5pm & the only bar available after is in the lobby which is at one end of the resort which is not convenient at all. They should have a bar that is open later at a more convenient location of the resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2017
ok

We stayed there from February 15th to February 22nd. the resort itself is brand new, clean and beautiful. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The buffet offered a wide variety of dishes and drinks and it seemed of a good quality. The pools were nice but the water was somewhat shallow. What threw us off is the beach. It was extremely windy, rocky, almost impossible to be in the water. We would not go there again.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2017
Lovely vacation

We had a great time at Oceans Riviera. There are 5 pools, the beach is nice (a little rocky once you get in the water), the restaurants are all good. The resort is definitely still working out some kinks. I didn't like having to sit for a presentation upon check in, which by the way we didn't check in until 5 p.m. BUT they upgraded us to an ocean view room, so I can't complain. The one thing I must complain about is the availability of chairs at the pools and beaches. They are hard to come by because people go out and save them with towels the night before. Sometimes they never come back for them so there are empty chairs in prime spots for hours. I feel like the resort should address this issue. The second thing I must complain about are the bars. They are WAY understaffed or the bartenders just aren't moving fast enough. There is no reason to stand in line for drinks for 30 minutes. And yet, I found myself doing that several times. We didn't get to eat at Sakura because they never had a reservation. Also the restaurants require you to walk up and put your name on list. It would be better if you could pick the restaurants you want to go to at check in or earlier in the day and them come back at that exact time. The entertainment was really good. Better than some resorts I have been to. Michael Jackson and Circus shows were stellar. The resort is VERY LONG! It takes a good 8-10 minutes to walk from Lobby to Beach. Overall 3 stars because of the major complaints above.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year