All

Ocean Riviera Paradise Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 42 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.7
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.1
3.7 out of 5
"The only negative I can think of is that the pool bars should stay open later than 5:00. The rooms were really nice along with everything else." – Stickman
31 out of 44 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach/Pools The Room

All Ocean Riviera Paradise Customer Reviews

1-10 of 42 reviews. Sort by
February 5, 2017
The good and the bad!

I would have given this resort 5 palm trees but just couldn't due to some issues. I am not a complainer and vacation multiple times a year. I was there 4 days with my family, including young adults, then stayed 4 days for a girls' trip (that's where we had 3 in the room). For the girls' trip we upgraded to the 2 level room with the extra bath and huge upper balcony. Here's the good: spacious, beautiful rooms, beautiful grounds, good food except Italian. The buffet was one of the best I've seen with fresh pressed juices. The Romantic Restaurant was the best food of all. Fun pool (we were at El Beso), great workout room, really comfortable bed, great balcony, good beach access, convenient trolley system. Here's the bad: tile choice in shower is very slippery when wet, don't plan to have a 3rd person sleep on the very uncomfortable sofa bed, 2 from our group got a bacterial gut infection that required antibiotics, many employees don't communicate in English at all, they played music over the loud speaker all night long and you could hear it from inside the room, beach bar and pool bar closes at 5:00, room cleaning was at all hours (one night they were cleaning when we got back from dinner), 2 beers in the room frig each day, no matter how many people are in the room. We liked to have a "happy hour" on our balcony before dinner and this made it difficult. Bottom line, I would go back but not with 3 in a room.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2017
Nice NEW resort

My husband and I are 45 years old. This was our first trip to the Caribbean since we were married at Sandals St. Lucia 21 years ago, so we had very high expectations. I'll break down our review into main topics for easy reading. 1. Check-in: No one spoke English. We were placed in the wrong room twice. I felt as if we were buying a car. The check-in clerk would disappear to a room with a door for 10 minutes or so, then offering another room. I was assured that we would love our final third room. We booked an Eden room due to its location closest to the beach. We were so excited to finally get to our room, only to discover our patio faced an old, run down house with a water treatment system in the back yard. We were disgusted and tired, but figured that we wouldn't be out on the patio much at all. So we let it go. So needless to say, the check- in process did not go so well, but we were determined that everything else would be wonderful. We didn't purchase the upgraded armband for special top shelf liquors. 2. Beach/pools: Beautiful sand and ocean. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach, but the staff works hard to remove it. It didn't bother us. Roped off area to walk in without stepping on rocks. We normally vacation in the Gulf of Florida and it was very comparable to that area as far as beach and water. There are vendors on the beach that do try to sale you things, take pictures etc. You do need to get out early to reserve your beach chair. The sand in the beach area were the chairs are needed to be cleaned. Pools were clean and nice. We visited in early March. The ocean and pools were chilly. 3. Bars: Slow service and we always tipped. They definitely need more bartenders. There are 3 pool bars,a beach bar and a main lobby bar. Pool bars close at 5PM!! Beach bar was open till 5:30PM. The lobby bar and piano bar were opened late. 4.Restaurants: The buffet was our favorite. We liked all the variety. The food was delicious. No complaints. As far as the specialty restaurants-- we tried Route 66, the steakhouse, Blue Moon and the beach restaurant Pez Vela. Pez Vela was very good, but none of the food was better than the buffet food. We feel like maybe it all came from the same place--the buffet! Enough said!! We loved the afternoon snacks at the El Beso pool. 5.Our Eden room, we discussed the balcony view above. The room was very nice and clean. The refrigerator was never cold from day 1. This was very irritating. The staff gives you 2 sodas, 2 beers and 2 waters per day. You can not get extras or make special requests. The shower had issues. It did not drain properly. We always placed a towel outside the shower door. Poor design I guess. 6. Overall, this is a new resort and there is room for improvement. We enjoyed our stay. Lastly, the night life was good. Always something going on in the main pavilion. The Michael Jackson show was very good. The entertainment staff was excellent ,but I don't believe that they were part of the resort. Finally, don't miss the crazy foam party at the El Beso pool Tuesday afternoon. It was amazing for sure!!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ncholasville, KY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2017
Excellent! Four people who would definitely return

I should preface this with my husband and I have been to several high-end all-inclusives in the Riviera Maya. A couple areas of improvement exist for this resort but if corrected the resort has the potential for 5*. I would give it 4.5* if I could as it deserves it. Overall, everything was excellent and we would not hesitate to return. We were a party of four and we all agreed. Checkin- I saw some folks with drinks and some without. We were without and not even offered a water. After traveling all day a water should at least be offered. An area for improvement. They made us come back at 3:00 for our room as they weren’t ready when we got there. We got our room key, went to get our bags and the bellhops insisted on bringing them. They put them on a shuttle and were in our room before we got there. We were never hassled once about a time share which was nice since other reviews said this was an issue. Our friends were never asked either. Room- Eden JS Even numbers face pool, odds have garden view (this is not the same for all buildings from what I’ve read). No real garden view for garden view rooms at this point. Really a wall and a service road. When the foliage grows in it will be more private. Air conditioning was inconsistent. Very cool one night and very warm another (towards the end of our trip). I think this may have been due to the high humidity our last three days there. Noise- some doors slammed, some were able to shut more quietly- from the outside. All doors shut quietly from the inside so there is no reason for door slamming when inside the room. We had two rooms (first room had 2 doubles and should have been a king). Couldn’t hear the hall noise and door didn’t slam. The next room we were in abutted out more into the hallway. This room we could hear the hall noise but never too early in the morning. People should be mindful when returning to their rooms late at night though after a few drinks. We didn’t have any flooding issues with the shower. There are 2 shower heads. One is a rain shower which comes straight down and another is a hand held. The hand held is what’s causing the issues for everyone. Just make sure it is facing the wall and not the shower door. No issues with water temp or pressure. There are no bathrobes or slippers in the room which would have been nice but not expected since this isn’t a 5* resort. Our friends were tipping their housekeeping and beverage staff daily. One day she didn’t tip the beverage staff and they didn’t refill her fridge. I was in the room when they were in the hall the next day and we told them it wasn’t refilled the day before. He gave us a hard time. Finally, he turned his attitude around and offered extra sodas/waters/coffee. I had heard this from other people before our arrival. We did not tip from the beginning and our room was always refilled, cleaned, etc. I read on another review that the balcony doors automatically lock when you go outside. This is not true. I also read that the doors to the rooms do not have locks on them, this is not true. I also read there is a huge gap under the doors. This is also not true. Restaurants- food was mostly excellent in all restaurants. Against my better judgement from reading other reviews and seeing pics we went to the steakhouse. A waste. Big disappointment. The best steaks are at Blue Moon and the buffets. Blue Moon is a nice night. I had the filet at Blue Moon which was cooked to perfection. Another night the salmon and it was awesome. Good lobster bisque and also the samosas are to die for! Bacon, cream cheese, scallion with a mango sauce! All the steak at lunch time is the most tender I’ve ever had. It’s a marinated hangar steak and is so delicious. Falls right apart. Can be found at all the buffets and beach bbq. Amaranto buffet was awesome! This was one of the best buffets we’ve ever experienced. Loved the Mexican breakfast- so many choices! Two omelette stations which go fast and lots of choices for fillings. Lunch buffet was awesome too with an excellent Asian station, sushi and made to order pasta station. My biggest complaint was that this buffet was only opened for lunch (always open for breakfast) the first couple days we were there and was closed for some reason the rest of the week (but they said only that week). After that we had to go to Villa Marina which is more scaled down buffet. Still good but a big disappointment after experiencing Amaranto. The Italian (La Toscana) was our favorite. The food was excellent with lots of variety. The salmon and lasagna Bolognese were my favorites. We ate there 3x and Blue Moon twice. Blue Moon is a nice night and has a nice menu. Excellent risotto at both restaurants. All the pools have their own snack bar which varies daily with shrimp/chicken/beef kabobs, calamari, fish, French fries, sushi, crepes (Eden), chips, guac, chicken tenders- which are fresh homemade panko crusted tenders. They were a big hit! I had the best calamari at the Daisy pool. It had some type of seasoning on it. Pez Vela is a scaled down buffet at lunch with fish, chicken, steak, burgers, dogs, salads, guac, chips, rice, fries, etc. Nice so you don’t have to walk too far for a snack. They also do bbq on the beach every day at lunch time which includes a big vat of paella which was better than any we’ve had a resort to date. It would have been nice if Route 66 was open for lunch. Alas, we never ate there since we wanted more of a formal meal at dinner time. Beach- The beach was expansive with plenty of loungers, palapas and umbrellas. Best place to sit (in our opinion) was between Pez Vela and the Privilege beach. Great ocean view (without being up front), next to the bathrooms, food, and bars and less crowded than the main area. Easy access to the Pez Vela bar or the portable bar right outside the Privilege beach. You’ll also get the music from Pez Vela. Perfect spot! Seaweed was never an issue. Best place to swim was to the right. Within a 5 min walk in front of Azul Fives. Crystal clear water. There is coral in front of our resort. You will need water shoes but the bottom does get sandy as you walk out. Clarity depends on how the wind is blowing. We preferred to take a short walk to the right. Guaranteed paradise! There are receptacle containers throughout the beach. I don’t know if people realize this because another review I read said there weren’t any. We saw several. The resort definitely needs to do a better job cleaning the beach up at the end of the day. I went out several mornings and water bottles, drink glasses and food plates were still out. Drinks- Pez Vela did a great job getting everyone in and out. There are two self-serve daiquiri/pina colada machines. If you are facing the bar, the one to the right has alcohol and the one to the left is virgin. I always got my pina colada then had them put an extra floater on top. There is also a gray bucket against the wall near the alcoholic pina colada machine which contains self-serve bottled waters on ice. We always grabbed a few on our way in to the beach. There are portable type bars strewn across the beaches so drinks were plentiful and within easy reach. Sometimes we got drink service on the beach. Depended on the day. Really not a big deal though since a drink was only a few steps away. The lobby bar was always busy and understaffed (as were most of the bars). Make sure to tell them what kind of alcohol you want in your drink or they’ll use well brands. Pez Vela at night was a nice place to get a drink and listen to some music. Never crowded and nice atmosphere. Entertainment- always something to do. This place had the most entertainment for all kinds of interests than any other place we’ve been. El Beso has a ton of entertainment during the day. My only complaint is that the piano bar didn’t open up until late. 10:30. It would have been nice to go to the piano bar for a drink before dinner. They have a daily activities guide which shows which restaurants are opened that day, activities, etc but you have to go to the lobby daily to get it. It isn’t left in your room at night. They don’t have turn down service at night but they could shove them under the room doors. Another area for improvement. Transportation- the trolley ran back and forth all day. Never an issue except for night. Service was less frequent. Better off walking. The walk from Eden to the restaurant area was only 5 min. May be slower for others depending on how fast you walk. I enjoyed the walk to/from breakfast and to/from dinner. Lunch time it’s pretty blazing hot so nice to have the shuttle. Taxi from resort for 4 people to Playa was $16 and a 10-15 min ride. On the way back I asked the taxis that were around town and it was $12 for 4 people. Overall, small areas for improvement and this could be a 5* resort. For the price we paid, the quality of food and service we got, we would not hesitate to return. The resort is beautiful, the staff work hard, the layout is nice. I was nervous but they've done a great job here! An awesome place! You won't be disappointed.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 29, 2017
Fantastic vacay

We loved the resort. It is brand new so has some bugs to work out. One suggestion we have is to not close the pool bars at 5. That was a big disappointment to us. But the bars and bartenders are all great. The ocean is wonderful and we had lunch everyday down at the beach. The room was comfortable and the balcony wonderful. The water park was fun for our grandson and gave us time to sit and relax. Overall very awesome resort!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 3, 2017
Pool Bars

The only negative I can think of is that the pool bars should stay open later than 5:00. The rooms were really nice along with everything else.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: VT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2017
new but not totally ready

Pretty place, food very good ,and people friendly.Beach extremely rocky, they do have a very small area where it is roped off to swim, and not as rocky.Three times we asked for wake up calls. Twice they were 20 min.late in calling us. Once for or excursion they never called.Not reliable.They are still working on the place. My husband asked a workman to stop hammering on the roof over us so we could sleep. The walkways have cement blocks that are broken or chipped and being replaced daily, throughout the resort.This resort is only 3 months old. Beds made up daily but twice trash can in room never emptied and it was full. .Place is almost too big for them to run properly.Everyone has to wear a wrist band so staff knows who paid for the better liquor,who can swim in specific pools and who gets a ride on a special shuttle. I had a cut on my foot on a rock in the ocean, the priority shuttle was empty and would not give me a ride to my room as I didn't have the right wrist band on. There wasn't any other shuttle around so I limped to our room. .No exceptions.Although this is a 5 star hotel I'd rather stay at a smaller place with 3 to4 stars and not be treated differently from guests with different wrist bands. Our room wasn't ready until 6 pm. We arrived there at 3pm.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Hampshire
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 19, 2017
Great food beach not so good

The food was great and so were the pools and the room. The service was outstanding. However, if you're going for the beach this is not the place for you. Very rocky ocean bottom with only one small strip for sunbathing and one little strip of sandy ocean bottom. It was painful to go in the water. Also ordering shuttle from this agency meant waiting at the airport and getting to the hotel rather late and leaving very early for the airport so 5 days were really only 3.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64

March 29, 2017
Just average!

If you can get this trip for a value, then it's worth it. Breakfast and lunches were good, but the majority of dinners were awefu! Steakhouse.. I would have a more tender steak if I clipped a piece of my belt off and threw it on the grill. Except for lunch at the pool area for steak, stick to chicken and salmon on the menus. Ocean chairs.. you better be there saving your chairs no later than 7:30am! Or you maybe standing! We go to Mexico at least twice a year for many years, and this place is just average.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pottsville, Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 2, 2017
nice place needs improvement

i booked this hotel last minute for my teenage son and his friend. i was nervous because the reviews were all over the place. first of all if you go here you MUST do the privilege. when we arrived we weren't told we had a separate checkin place for privilege and after waiting in line for 20 mins to check in i finally asked someone and was told i did in fact have a different checkin. that checkin was easy and nice (they brought us into a separate room.). i wish i had known earlier and not waited in the line. the hotel is very big and they have golf carts to take you around. the problem is you have to wait for them because they don't run frequently. if you buy into their hotel program they have many golf carts specific for these people. we ended up walking a lot because the wait was to long. the privilege has its own pool and beach area. another reason to do privilege because otherwise it is difficult to get beach and pool lounge chairs. by 8 am all lounge chairs are taken but not in those areas. they have many restaurants but the food isn't that good. the only place i found the food to be good was again in the privilege restaurant and they also have a gorg rooftop lounge. service at the hotel needs much improvement. we called for room service twice and it took hours. when we were checking out i requested bag pickup in my room twice in advance and they never showed up. also they are still working in the hotel and once my son turned on our sink in room only to have some sort of sludge come out. overall the place is nice. they just need to get their service together. for the price it was better than i expected.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 28, 2017
GREAT VACATION!

I was part of a group of women who stayed for 5 nights. We booked the hotel before it opened so we got a great price for our vacation. We stayed in April of 2017. The resort seemed to be understaffed but the staff they did have worked hard to make their guests happy. Pools were beautiful - the ocean was rocky, so if you want to swim bring shoes. There was also quite a bit of seaweed, the staff worked hard to remove it but the hotel could purchase some modern equipment instead of relying on manual labor. No complaints about the food - it was great. We loved the Asian restaurant. Rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in El Beso (adult only)...... we requested double beds............... come to find out all rooms in El Beso have king size beds only. But no worries as there was a pull out couch. El Beso was a great location and all rooms face the pool. we had a great view. We had a great vacation!! Don't let negative reviews scare you away - this is a beautiful hotel!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: mpls, mn
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year