All

Ocean Maya Royale Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 130 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"We loved it. A couple clunky things but the big picture was that we had fun, were taken care of and were accommodated. Beach is OK, the pools were very fun." – Remo
125 out of 142 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Chair Hotel Lobby entrance of hotel lemur @ Ocean Maya Double Room Cabana view Coati Heaven!!! view from the boardwalk the first day Pool Area lobby of the hotel lemur whisperer Panorama of the beach area Pool Bar fountain to the lobby Pier looking back towards beach & Italian restaurant The main water feature

All Ocean Maya Royale Customer Reviews

1-10 of 130 reviews. Sort by
May 3, 2015
Ocean Maya Royale Great Week at a Great Price

Since we got a killer deal to this Cancun destination from Chicago, I wasn't sure what to expect from Cheap Caribbean, but it was an amazing week somehow without a single mosquito in sight. This resort is spotless. The day before we left there was a guy windexing the glass on all the outside lighting. I'd never seen that before! There are tons of workers on the landscaping, spraying for bugs. This particular beachfront is plagued by tons of seaweed. I would complain if I didn't see 4 to 6 workers a day working for 8 hours trying to haul all the seaweed into wheelbarrows into trucks to be removed. If a pristine beach is what you are hankering for then this is not quite the right fit. Having said that, the see-through wind wall barrier provides a great haven on the beach. The chairs there and around the pool are realigned every evening. It was annoying that people would "reserve" loungers by the pool with their towels early in the morning even if they weren't using them until later. Also, make sure you keep track of your towel since there is a fee if you don't turn in your towel card at the end of your stay. Aside from that, the staff was tremendous. Almost everyone said hello or hola. There was the hardest working server bringing drinks to everyone around the pool and beach all day who smiled and smiled. There's a juice bar by the quieter pool which had a nice shallow ledge for lying partly in the water. The party/activity pool had the swim-up bar. You get to choose your level of involvement. The activity crew had sushi demonstrations, zumba, foam music party (yes, lots of foam blown into the pool), card games, skill games. We didn't get to kayak because the water was rough, but if you walk down to Tres Rios you can rent a two-person kayak to see the lagoon and two rivers complete with cenotes for $30 an hour. The bar in the lobby is open 24 hours (good for coffee too) and Olli and his crew will keep you laughing. They seem so disappointed when you order water. Get the Ocean Maya with mango, rum and blue curacao...you will not regret it. We enjoyed the Mexican buffet at Hacienda the most, but all their buffets were solid. The winners were anything you can get freshly made (omelettes, grilled stuff, pasta). Blue Moon was nice for a quiet sit down dinner and so was Yookosa for some teriyaki and sushi. Kids might enjoy the hibachi there. El Charro was good for burgers and sometimes had ribs or chicken grilling during the day. It was not my favorite, but we didn't go there for dinner. La Dolce was just okay for me since my shrimp wrapped in proscuitto was overdone and tough. Whatever restaurant, the servers were so friendly. Also, check out the coffee shop in the lobby. Oddly they are open from 4 to 10 p.m.ish. Their desserts seem to be a touch better than the buffets and the black coffee and chai tea were spot on....and very few people know it exists. My friend got a massage on the second floor of the hut on the beach. Wilfred did a good job. You can also get it in the spa above the main entrance. There are two secret jacuzzi's up on the balcony overlooking the main stage area open during the day. The shows were decent. The caribbean show and live music were awesome and got people moving. The live band also did the same. The Mexican show had a charro on horseback who did an amazing lasso show. They also bring in local artisans so you don't have to venture to 5th Avenue if you don't want to. We did not see the Michael Jackson review. The prerecorded DJ nice was good. All in all, great value. Relaxing. Tons of good food if you get the timing and selection right. Everyone seems to be chill and the staff work hard to keep you happy, full of food and drinks!


35 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

September 2, 2014
A definite must go!

I went with family and it was sooooo fun. There's always plenty to do, but we spent a majority of the trip relaxing by the pool. There were plenty of chairs on the beach and by the pool, but the pool one's do fill up faster than the beach ones. I marked off a little for the beach and pool because there wasn't much of a beach. However, the pools were so nice, it didn't bother me. Everyone was so nice and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We did venture into town one day and if we stayed longer we would have gone back again. We tried the buffet, Mexican, and Japanese and were never disappointed. The food was amazing! Especially the Mexican restaurant. Seriously the best guacamole I've ever had! Wish I could have brought some back with me. Overall, if we're ever going to Playa del Carmen again, I would go back to the Ocean Maya Royale in a heartbeat! Little tips for your trip: ~Bring US dollars and Mexican Pesos ~The gift shop lady is kinda rude so beware ~Use the van from the resort to go into town the first time, but only if you want to stop at a few places along the way. If you get a cab into town, it's about $20 one way. ~Bring a kindle/ipad if you want to get online. They only had one working computer in the lobby.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2011
Great value, some minor issues

Overall the Ocean Maya was a great value; we definitely got more than we paid for. The staff was incredibly friendly. We actually met someone our first day there, just told him our names (didn't sign anything that he could look back on), and 4 days later he came up to us and referred to us by name. The staff greeted you anytime they saw you, even the ones not specifically in customer service. The room was nice. It came with a king size bed and a flat screen, and I really don't have any complaints about the look. There were a few things that weren't perfect. Several times during the trip it smelled like the septic tank was backing up. It didn't last long when it started smelling, but it was kind of rough. The beach left a little to be desired. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't phenomenal. They took a bus into Playa del Camen once a day, but it was only for a few hours and there weren't any additional times available, so you'd have to take a taxi if you wanted to be there any longer than 5 hours. Overall, I can't really complain. We paid a great price for a resort we normally couldn't afford. It was a very good experience and I'd definitely suggest it to friends looking for vacation destinations.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 25-34

April 6, 2016
Perfect Vacation

Here are my top favorite things about the resort. 1# The food. I've been to a few all inclusive resorts, and have never been that impressed with the food. That was not the case here. My boyfriend and I consider ourselves "foodies" and neither of us could complain about any of the food. Everything was excellent. The drinks are also very good. They use good brands like absolut, stoli, bacardi etc. 2#The staff/service. Everyone is extremely helpful and polite. Rooms were cleaned and stocked daily. 3#The Facility. Beautiful resort, pools, and grounds. LOTS of wildlife including deer, friendly raccoon, birds, and coati (sort of like a raccoon). Things that weren't my favorite. 1# The "time share" sell. They wanted you to come to an hour meeting about their "club membership" or timeshare there. We didn't do it, as it's optional, but they would re-approach you a few times to try and get you to schedule an appointment. 2# The beach. The beach area is nice.. but there is not direct to the water per say. There is a deck with glass railings in front of the beach chairs with no access to the water unless you are in the "privileged" section of the beach, and even then it isn't a large area. you can walk down the beach to swim. Also, a storm prior had brought in tons of seaweed and dirt making the water brown. We did find a beautiful lagoon that was crystal clear 15 mins down the beach though. I opted for the pools on this trip. 3# The pillows. Either bring your OWN or you can upgrade from a pillow menu. The pillows on the bed were so lumpy I had to upgrade because my neck was so stiff. OVERALL, we loved our stay and will be coming back. :)

Perfect Vacation Perfect Vacation
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 27, 2012
Fantastic Vacation

We just returned from Ocean Maya Royale and it was fantastic. The room was terrific and very clean. We really liked that the resort was a series of small villas and not one huge mega-hotel. The amenities are top notch. It gave a feeling of being secluded in a tropical haven, not being cattle in a warehouse. There is plenty to do (activities, water sports, a little theatre, etc.), but there is no one on staff pushing you to do anything. If you want to borrow a sail boat-great (included), if you want to parasail-great (extra charge), if you want to do nothing but relax-even better. It is all-inclusive and you can dine when you want (no reservations needed), drink when you want (the main bar is 24-hours!) and coffee and snacks are always available. People did dress up a bit for dinner (slacks or nice shorts, which was nice). The Italian Restaurant was fabulous, the others were good, but not great. There are four bars at various times during the day, but no "nightclub", the front area providing nightly dj's or bands. The staff was always there when you needed them, and very accommodating. The beach is small but really nice, with plenty of lounges, hammocks and terrific cabanas to stretch out on a time. The swim up bar in one of the 2 pools was the hotbed of activity. There is a large whirlpool and four "whirl loungers" in the pool that were great. The spa was a great getaway and the massages were great, but a bit pricey. Overall, it is just a terrific place to relax. Oh, and the coate and iguanas are adorable. Highly recommended and we plan on returning.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2010
Great Vacation

We had a really wonderful family vacation at that Grand Ocean Maya. It was everyting we had expected. The rooms and grounds were clean and the service was great. We would stay here again but would enjoy exploring new places as well. Drinks were plentfiful. Bring your own cup as the ones they give you are small. Take a vacation here, you will enjoy.


15 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Stafford, Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Ocean Maya

I went to this resort a few years ago, but I beleive they have been doing some remodeling. The resort was average, right on a pretty nice stretch of beach and about 30-40 mins from the airport. They had a large buffet and a few other restaurants. We went to the oriental, which was good, and one of the other restaurants. There is no swim up bar, which was a little disappointing. There is a bar by the pool, but it is super crowded. If you're not 23 and wearing a thong bikini, expect a wait. The rooms were of average- about a 2 star american rating hotel room. Something like a chain motel. They had older tvs with satellite and air conditioning. I've been to a alot of resorts in Mexico and this room was average- definitely not luxury. It is not advertised or priced as a luxury resort though. Not bad, just average! The best part of the resort had to be the beach. There are tons of palapas and chairs by the beach and it is a great place. Unfortunately, there is no drink service on the beach. You will have to go keep getting your own drinks. This is a solid 3 star resort. Like I said before, I think they may have done some remodeling and made some things a little nicer. If you can get a great price to this resort- go for it! Also, every resort has a time share. Don't fall for it or even go to the meeting. Don't waste a $200 day on sitting in a high pressure time share sale. There are some awesome places to go in the Riviera Maya area and you will want to try many of them. Cheapcaribbean has some good sales, so keep your eye out on the site.


17 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Estes Park, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 21, 2012
Pretty nice

When we got there our room wasn't ready, so we waiting 1/2 hour.Not bad. Our room was nice and clean. We had asked for a mattress pad and it was there. They had 6 pillows on the bed and most of them were pretty firm. The grounds are georgeous and well maintained. We only ate at the buffet and found enough to overfill ourselves each time. There are two pools, a quiet one and a party one. It was fun to sit in the quiet one and watch the contests going on at the party one. We found the drinks to be watered down. There were a couple that were not but it was very inconsistent. We went there just to get away and relax and we accomplished that. Our only real complaint was that we would leave our room for breakfast, around 7:30am, and put the clean our room sign out, but our room would never be cleaned until around 3:30. We would stop by the room a couple of times to change for lunch or get something and the cleaning cart would be in the same place all day long. Except the day we were checking out. Then they were there at 8:30 am....... But overall it was a nice place and there is a lagoon/river about a 15 minute walk along the beach from the resort and it is beautiful. The people were all friendly there. I would probably go again, but just know the few things that I mentioned.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Kentwood, Mi
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 25, 2014
Great value and service! Perfect for couples!

I can't believe what a great value the Ocean Maya Royale is! The service and the facilities are amazing! Marisela, Karolina, Oli, Ava and Ferni are super stars! This resort is perfect for a relaxing and romantic vacation for couples! I would definitely stay here again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 11, 2015
Beautiful resort, just a couple things

The resort, when we finally got there, was beautiful! The grounds were well kept, and the room was comfortable, spacious and modern. The pool area was a bit Spring Break like for our taste, but for some, that's what you might be looking for. There were beautiful beaches, with semi-comfortable beds to lay on. The evenings were full of fun, color, and music. We were there for our honeymoon, and really just wanted to enjoy each other, which we were able to do. We went on a Mayan Ruin excursion which had a great tour guide, and got us back in plenty of time to enjoy the rest of the day. We had just a few suggestions: • make sure you have bug spray, I got eaten alive, and the room wasn't sealed, so we were killing them left and right • make sure to book your shuttle from the airport with cheapcarribean and not the resort, we had an awful time trying to get to the resort • don't expect maid service every day, because we didn't get it • don't expect the mini fridge to be filled like they say, ours didn't get refilled once • definitely take advantage of the romantic dinner if it's your honeymoon. we upgraded to the one on the beach and it was totally worth it.

The main water feature Panorama of the beach area
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bloomington, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year