All

Ocean Maya Royale Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 156 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
"Disappointed with the beach but the room was good. The staff was great and friendly" – KBender
151 out of 171 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Heaven!!! Panorama of the beach area Pool Area Coati lemur whisperer Pier looking back towards beach & Italian restaurant Beach/boardwalk Cabana view lobby of the hotel lemur @ Ocean Maya entrance of hotel Beach Chair Hotel Lobby Pool Double Room Pool Bar fountain to the lobby The main water feature view from the boardwalk the first day

All Ocean Maya Royale Customer Reviews

1-10 of 156 reviews. Sort by
May 3, 2015
Ocean Maya Royale Great Week at a Great Price

Since we got a killer deal to this Cancun destination from Chicago, I wasn't sure what to expect from Cheap Caribbean, but it was an amazing week somehow without a single mosquito in sight. This resort is spotless. The day before we left there was a guy windexing the glass on all the outside lighting. I'd never seen that before! There are tons of workers on the landscaping, spraying for bugs. This particular beachfront is plagued by tons of seaweed. I would complain if I didn't see 4 to 6 workers a day working for 8 hours trying to haul all the seaweed into wheelbarrows into trucks to be removed. If a pristine beach is what you are hankering for then this is not quite the right fit. Having said that, the see-through wind wall barrier provides a great haven on the beach. The chairs there and around the pool are realigned every evening. It was annoying that people would "reserve" loungers by the pool with their towels early in the morning even if they weren't using them until later. Also, make sure you keep track of your towel since there is a fee if you don't turn in your towel card at the end of your stay. Aside from that, the staff was tremendous. Almost everyone said hello or hola. There was the hardest working server bringing drinks to everyone around the pool and beach all day who smiled and smiled. There's a juice bar by the quieter pool which had a nice shallow ledge for lying partly in the water. The party/activity pool had the swim-up bar. You get to choose your level of involvement. The activity crew had sushi demonstrations, zumba, foam music party (yes, lots of foam blown into the pool), card games, skill games. We didn't get to kayak because the water was rough, but if you walk down to Tres Rios you can rent a two-person kayak to see the lagoon and two rivers complete with cenotes for $30 an hour. The bar in the lobby is open 24 hours (good for coffee too) and Olli and his crew will keep you laughing. They seem so disappointed when you order water. Get the Ocean Maya with mango, rum and blue curacao...you will not regret it. We enjoyed the Mexican buffet at Hacienda the most, but all their buffets were solid. The winners were anything you can get freshly made (omelettes, grilled stuff, pasta). Blue Moon was nice for a quiet sit down dinner and so was Yookosa for some teriyaki and sushi. Kids might enjoy the hibachi there. El Charro was good for burgers and sometimes had ribs or chicken grilling during the day. It was not my favorite, but we didn't go there for dinner. La Dolce was just okay for me since my shrimp wrapped in proscuitto was overdone and tough. Whatever restaurant, the servers were so friendly. Also, check out the coffee shop in the lobby. Oddly they are open from 4 to 10 p.m.ish. Their desserts seem to be a touch better than the buffets and the black coffee and chai tea were spot on....and very few people know it exists. My friend got a massage on the second floor of the hut on the beach. Wilfred did a good job. You can also get it in the spa above the main entrance. There are two secret jacuzzi's up on the balcony overlooking the main stage area open during the day. The shows were decent. The caribbean show and live music were awesome and got people moving. The live band also did the same. The Mexican show had a charro on horseback who did an amazing lasso show. They also bring in local artisans so you don't have to venture to 5th Avenue if you don't want to. We did not see the Michael Jackson review. The prerecorded DJ nice was good. All in all, great value. Relaxing. Tons of good food if you get the timing and selection right. Everyone seems to be chill and the staff work hard to keep you happy, full of food and drinks!


36 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

September 2, 2014
A definite must go!

I went with family and it was sooooo fun. There's always plenty to do, but we spent a majority of the trip relaxing by the pool. There were plenty of chairs on the beach and by the pool, but the pool one's do fill up faster than the beach ones. I marked off a little for the beach and pool because there wasn't much of a beach. However, the pools were so nice, it didn't bother me. Everyone was so nice and went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We did venture into town one day and if we stayed longer we would have gone back again. We tried the buffet, Mexican, and Japanese and were never disappointed. The food was amazing! Especially the Mexican restaurant. Seriously the best guacamole I've ever had! Wish I could have brought some back with me. Overall, if we're ever going to Playa del Carmen again, I would go back to the Ocean Maya Royale in a heartbeat! Little tips for your trip: ~Bring US dollars and Mexican Pesos ~The gift shop lady is kinda rude so beware ~Use the van from the resort to go into town the first time, but only if you want to stop at a few places along the way. If you get a cab into town, it's about $20 one way. ~Bring a kindle/ipad if you want to get online. They only had one working computer in the lobby.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2011
Great value, some minor issues

Overall the Ocean Maya was a great value; we definitely got more than we paid for. The staff was incredibly friendly. We actually met someone our first day there, just told him our names (didn't sign anything that he could look back on), and 4 days later he came up to us and referred to us by name. The staff greeted you anytime they saw you, even the ones not specifically in customer service. The room was nice. It came with a king size bed and a flat screen, and I really don't have any complaints about the look. There were a few things that weren't perfect. Several times during the trip it smelled like the septic tank was backing up. It didn't last long when it started smelling, but it was kind of rough. The beach left a little to be desired. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't phenomenal. They took a bus into Playa del Camen once a day, but it was only for a few hours and there weren't any additional times available, so you'd have to take a taxi if you wanted to be there any longer than 5 hours. Overall, I can't really complain. We paid a great price for a resort we normally couldn't afford. It was a very good experience and I'd definitely suggest it to friends looking for vacation destinations.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 25-34

June 29, 2011
A good first visit

My husband and I enjoyed our short stay (3 nights from 6/19-6/21) at the Ocean Maya. It recently went adult only, and argueably couples-only. For the most part, there were 2 groups of people - honeymooners and middle aged couples that were too aged to be at Cancun but still wanted the Cancun scene. There were also a few others like us who just wanted a nice beach vacation. When we checked in, the front desk told us that the hotel was about 85% full (I asked). Beach: white sand, aqua water. From May-Sept is the rainy season (as we found out), which made the surf rough like the jersy shore/virginia beach, but ocean temps were about 88 degrees farenheit. There was a section north of the boardwalk that had a seaweed/algae problem, but south of the boardwalk was beautiful as expected. There are few beach chairs that back up to the swimmable area of the beach, but plenty in the pool area and the boardwalk area. With a little resourcefulness we were able to get beach chairs right by the area we were swimming in. ;) Finding a chair was not much of a problem, but if the hotel was at maximum capacity, it would likely be difficult. Pools: Very nice features. The pool with the swim-up bar had loud party/club music and contests while the bar was open. The other pool was quieter but not at all quiet as the noise from the other pool carried over. Food: My husband and I enjoyed the buffet the best. We were both disappointed by the Japanese restaurant as the reviews had been so good. There, the only seafood offered was salmon and shrimp. We also felt the food was heavy, and at best a Mexican's attempt at making Japanese food. After this experience, we went to the Mexican restaurant which was still not as good as the buffet. The menus were confusing to order from at both restaurants. At the buffet, there were some Mexican staples along with food that most American and Europeans eat (ie. spaghetti, rice, chicken..). As expected, the Mexican staples were the best - the fajitas were incredible! I may never be able to eat one stateside again! Alcohol, Non-privledged package: Stick to beer and mixed drinks. Avoid the wine. The sparkling wine is a Brut and is just fine if that's what you like. My husband drinks Jamesons and found that the local Scotch (Presidential?) suited him well. Grounds: Very well manicured. It almost felt like the gardens at Disneyworld. You will see iguanas, mexican raccoons, and Yucutan Yaels (birds). Rooms: We were upgraded to a Privledge room. It was well decorated and very comfortable. The bed was adequately soft; I've slept in softer, but the bed hardness did not keep me up at night. The shower floor was not graded well, so water tended to seep out of the door and onto the bathroom floor, which was annoying but not devestating. Maid service was spot on, as I've found with travelling to most anywhere south of the US. Overall: I'd go back if I got another great deal, and so would my husband. About myself: This was my first resort stay. I've been to South America and Europe many times on camping and other eco-trips, but never stayed in "touristy" areas. I live in Baltimore city, and will eat out at 5 star restaurants about 1-2x month.


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 11, 2015
Beautiful resort, just a couple things

The resort, when we finally got there, was beautiful! The grounds were well kept, and the room was comfortable, spacious and modern. The pool area was a bit Spring Break like for our taste, but for some, that's what you might be looking for. There were beautiful beaches, with semi-comfortable beds to lay on. The evenings were full of fun, color, and music. We were there for our honeymoon, and really just wanted to enjoy each other, which we were able to do. We went on a Mayan Ruin excursion which had a great tour guide, and got us back in plenty of time to enjoy the rest of the day. We had just a few suggestions: • make sure you have bug spray, I got eaten alive, and the room wasn't sealed, so we were killing them left and right • make sure to book your shuttle from the airport with cheapcarribean and not the resort, we had an awful time trying to get to the resort • don't expect maid service every day, because we didn't get it • don't expect the mini fridge to be filled like they say, ours didn't get refilled once • definitely take advantage of the romantic dinner if it's your honeymoon. we upgraded to the one on the beach and it was totally worth it.

The main water feature Panorama of the beach area
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bloomington, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2016
Awesome Resort for a Great Value!

I did a ton of research on Cheap Caribbean for a ton of different resorts in Mexico, looking for a resort that wouldn't break the bank and had overall great reviews for my boyfriend and I for our first out of country trip together. I settled on the Ocean Maya Royale after lots of research and could not have been happier! The resort is really beautiful, tons of wildlife around (the coatis are adorable!!!), great outdoor space by the main building for relaxing with a drink in the evening, and live music, spacious newer rooms, large pools, and the dining options were great. Never had a problem getting into a sit down dining option, we tried them all and enjoyed them all. I recommend getting to the Japanese one early and reserving a spot for hibachi! The buffet is open late and has good options when looking for something quick. All of the staff went above and beyond to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves, we did a variety of activities, beach volleyball, archery, rifle shooting, an iron chef competition and jet skiing (jet skis are extra money). The bartenders are all great, Miguel at the top pool bar (not the swim up one) makes some mean off the menu cocktails that pack a punch. We stayed in the standard room, with a king bed. All rooms have a balcony/deck. The room was spacious, AC worked great, bathroom was new and clean, good water pressure. There is a decent sized safe in the rooms and a mini fridge that gets restocked every day with water bottles, beer, and soda. One downside of the rooms, lumpy pillows, only bothered me the first night, then I got used to it. Small price to pay for an otherwise great room. Overall we had a great time, we hung out mostly at the lower pool, with the bars. We did try out the beach, but usually just for an hour or two a day, the canopy beds were comfy and the water was nice, just not the nicest beach in Mexico, and we preferred the pool. We also booked our transportation to and from the airport on Cheap Caribbean as well and everything was great with them. Already looking into booking a trip back with another couple for next summer!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rockland County, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2016
Perfect Vacation

Here are my top favorite things about the resort. 1# The food. I've been to a few all inclusive resorts, and have never been that impressed with the food. That was not the case here. My boyfriend and I consider ourselves "foodies" and neither of us could complain about any of the food. Everything was excellent. The drinks are also very good. They use good brands like absolut, stoli, bacardi etc. 2#The staff/service. Everyone is extremely helpful and polite. Rooms were cleaned and stocked daily. 3#The Facility. Beautiful resort, pools, and grounds. LOTS of wildlife including deer, friendly raccoon, birds, and coati (sort of like a raccoon). Things that weren't my favorite. 1# The "time share" sell. They wanted you to come to an hour meeting about their "club membership" or timeshare there. We didn't do it, as it's optional, but they would re-approach you a few times to try and get you to schedule an appointment. 2# The beach. The beach area is nice.. but there is not direct to the water per say. There is a deck with glass railings in front of the beach chairs with no access to the water unless you are in the "privileged" section of the beach, and even then it isn't a large area. you can walk down the beach to swim. Also, a storm prior had brought in tons of seaweed and dirt making the water brown. We did find a beautiful lagoon that was crystal clear 15 mins down the beach though. I opted for the pools on this trip. 3# The pillows. Either bring your OWN or you can upgrade from a pillow menu. The pillows on the bed were so lumpy I had to upgrade because my neck was so stiff. OVERALL, we loved our stay and will be coming back. :)

Perfect Vacation Perfect Vacation
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Ocean Maya

I went to this resort a few years ago, but I beleive they have been doing some remodeling. The resort was average, right on a pretty nice stretch of beach and about 30-40 mins from the airport. They had a large buffet and a few other restaurants. We went to the oriental, which was good, and one of the other restaurants. There is no swim up bar, which was a little disappointing. There is a bar by the pool, but it is super crowded. If you're not 23 and wearing a thong bikini, expect a wait. The rooms were of average- about a 2 star american rating hotel room. Something like a chain motel. They had older tvs with satellite and air conditioning. I've been to a alot of resorts in Mexico and this room was average- definitely not luxury. It is not advertised or priced as a luxury resort though. Not bad, just average! The best part of the resort had to be the beach. There are tons of palapas and chairs by the beach and it is a great place. Unfortunately, there is no drink service on the beach. You will have to go keep getting your own drinks. This is a solid 3 star resort. Like I said before, I think they may have done some remodeling and made some things a little nicer. If you can get a great price to this resort- go for it! Also, every resort has a time share. Don't fall for it or even go to the meeting. Don't waste a $200 day on sitting in a high pressure time share sale. There are some awesome places to go in the Riviera Maya area and you will want to try many of them. Cheapcaribbean has some good sales, so keep your eye out on the site.


17 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Estes Park, CO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 26, 2016
Ocean maya Royale

The American Airlines (AA) flights to Cancun were timely on 12/11/16. Amstar picked us up and we got to Oceans Maya Royale (OMR) by about Midnight. We checked in and were shown a lovely room. Once we got comfortable, we went to bed. On Monday we explored and ended up deciding to eat dinner at the Mexican restaurant, Restaurante El Charro, beside the pool. We were shown to a nice outdoor table. A raccoon like animal settled in a few feet from the table. We were “introduced” to this brown animal as “Charley, our dog” by the very nice waiter. During our dinner, Charley was chased away from the restaurant by the waiter and another nice restaurant employee several times. We did not think much about Charley until later in the meal when Charley approached Kathy at our table. Before Kathy knew what was happening, Charley bit Kathy on the left elbow. Kathy jumped up and cried out. Several folks in the restaurant took notice. The waiter rushed to our table. By this time, Charley had run away. We requested medical aid as soon as possible. Before long, the Food Services Manager for the hotel showed up followed quickly by a person that performed first aid on Kathy. Kathy’s skin was broken in 2 places and a scratch between the 2 “bite” marks was apparent. First aid was given. The Food and Beverage Service Manager offered to take Kathy to an emergency clinic. Kathy decided to wait and see how the bites felt in the morning. We filled out an incident report (attached) but did not choose to sign it. On Tuesday morning, Kathy’s bite did not look infected from a layman’s point of view. We looked for the General Manager of the resort to discuss the situation. OMR’s Axia Arun, the General Manager, was called and we introduced ourselves. Ms. Arun, called in OMR’s Guest Service Manager Miguel Roman. Both were aware of the incident and were anxious to assure that all was well. OMR provided us with a copy of their internal incident report (attached). Kathy was told that a physician was due at the resort that morning and that he would be willing to examine Kathy. Kathy accepted the offer and when the Doctor showed up, we discussed the incident and the animal that inflicted the injury. The Doctor suggested that Kathy get a vaccination against diseases that this animal might carry. Unfortunately, the Doctor did not have the required vaccine and we would have to go to a local hospital for treatment. Kathy accepted the Doctor’s suggestion and Ms. Arun arranged for us to be taken to a local hospital for the shot. The Doctor arranged for Kathy to be greeted at Emergency and to be treated quickly. Ms. Arun was very concerned and after providing us with several alternatives, arranged for us to be upgraded to “Privileged” status and provided with an upgraded room with a nice outdoor hot tub. The status also provided us with restricted beach access and restaurant. Unfortunately, the new room was on the ground floor and the types of animal that bit Kathy were close by and required constant attention to keep them at a “reasonable” distance from us when we were outside on the private deck. According to Ms. Arun, these animals are protected by the government and OMR and resorts around OMR cannot take actions that might mitigate the risk. The next 3 days were spent without incident and with continued support from the great folks at OMR. The restaurants were all great. All in all, OMR’s strength is their personnel. At all levels the people did their best to make our experience a good one. The flights home were generally timely and we generally felt very good about our time in Mexico.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: Over 65

October 10, 2011
Total Relaxation!!

Ocean Royale was a wonderful get away for the money.. The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were very clean..The restaurnts were adequte The property was so well kept.. i would recommend and definately plan on a return trip.. Ocean Maya Royale.. PS..no kids was a bonus!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year