All

Ocean Coral and Turquesa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 475 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"Very nice beach and pools. Very nice layout. Food is OK but the main drawback is that there is nothing to do at night." – ThomCT
436 out of 546 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Japanese sushi starter Silver, Privilege Lounge bartender Serene beach beach The ocean by Tulum View of the beach Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!!!!!!!!!! One of the loungers by the beach Our new friends Outside the lobby towards the pool beautiful sand Romantic dinner beach set up Beach Area Swimming with the sharks main pool, very nice Poolside cabanas On their beach Pool with Pool Bar 10-3 quick walk before leaving More cabana photos Main pool facing hotel Family pic. beach trash another view from deck Plastic beach trash Beautiful views One of the pools resort from the balcony View from our suite! Birthday special! beautiful architecture Jake at Coba view from our ocean view upgrade! family pool included too! View from Lobby ocean view from our room the beach at Tulum view from our room Just a little thirsty!!! LOL Karaoke night Arcangel's volcano at Sensai Main pool facing ocean resort in evening Mayan Ruins at Tulum pool and ocean view from deck from the lobby Pool Zip Line Selvatica Just Relaxin....... OCT

All Ocean Coral and Turquesa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 475 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2011
Disappointing Stay!! :(

We checked into a beautiful hotel with the intent of relaxing and enjoying a much needed vacation. To our surprise the Ocean Coral has two very different levels of guests, and make it well known from the start if you are not a "member", you are not a priority. Going into our vacation we had no idea the Ocean Coral was a "time share" hotel, and when we said "no" at the sales pitch we were insulted and treated very rudely. I can not say enough about the rude behavior and the demeaning remarks made by the salesperson and the concierge when we told them we had no interest in joining the hotel membership that was being offered to us. We were then referred to as "renters" and not "buyers". We were told we were going to be "plastic bracelet wearers" and not" Leather Bracelet Wearers" questioned over breakfast for an hour and then held in a room for over two hours while being insulted and talked to rudely. We finally said that was enough, and we were leaving, this is not something we had intended on for our hard earned money, and our vacation time was to precious to be treated in this manner. When we mentioned to the hotel personal that they kept us for so long, and talked to in such a demeaning way her response was, " Had ya in the handcuffs ehh?" I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, not even my worst enemy! You are called at the crack of dawn from day one to attend the "sales Presentation", if you dont attend the first day you are then left early morning messages, notes under the door, and additional phone calls, even stops in the lobby with reminders of how important it is that you attend. While at the meeting you are shown the "member" options, and told how if you are not a member you are basically not respected by anyone on the premises, not the other guests, not the staff, and certainly not the other members. You are given a bracelet upon your arrival, and if you are a plastic bracelet person, you are not the "high quality" clientele that 'deserves' their respect. My husband and I were appalled at the comments they made to us, and as we found out during our stay, to each and every guest that did not choose to purchase the "membership" We have been to other timeshare properties, and have never been treated the way we were at the Ocean Coral. The majority of the staff is hard working and polite, while the sales team and some of the management staff has the attitude that the "members" are the clients to attend to, and they over look the nonmembers. It is a nice hotel, with a great beach, But being pushed, and nagged at, and cut down and insulted on my vacation by the people I have paid to make my vacation fun and relaxing....is not a place I would ever go back to, nor would I recommend to anyone wanting an enjoyable vacation. Stay Away From the Ocean Coral & Turquesa!! They ruined our vacation!!


260 of 274 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: MidWest
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 29, 2012
Very Clean but average

First off I must say we have used Cheap Carribean multiple times and have NEVER had a problem. We also have used Olympus Tours each time. I HIGHLY recommend adding them to your trip. It's as simple as it gets, they pick you up out front of the airport, they have a person on staff at your resort to assist in anything you need from excursions to rental cars and they provide you with the time of your pick up the day prior to departure and then obviously take you back to the airport. Excellent service. Travel dates: Nov 17-22, 2012 Rooms: Very clean and comfortable. Mini bar includes 2 beers, 4 waters and 4 soft drinks. Service: So so. Everyone is on vacation and there is no need for rush and the waiters/waitresses know that as well. They don't get in a hurry and we had to ask multiple times for refills. Pool and beach service wasn't any better. There was only two people servicing both areas so it was few and far between. Past experience at other resorts, the swim up bartenders introduced themselves and by the 3rd day knew your name and what you were drinking. Not here, you were new everytime you stepped up to the bar. Restaurants: Sensai was excellent as long as you get reservations for the hibachi, if not it's a very limited menu. Doors open at 6:00 but you have to be in line by 5:45 to make reservations as they only have 3 times for the hibachi and they have 3 hibachi tables. 6:00, 7:30 & 9:00. Ritrato D'Italia: Wonderful! Especially the lasagna. One of our 17 y/o boys had two entrees the food was so good. Hacienda Los Girasoles: Very disappointing. Ate there one night and wouldn't go back if I returned to the resort. Not good. RUTA 66: aka Route 66. Sports bar, wings, burgers etc, very good. Mike's Coffee: Very good coffee and bakery, downside it opens at 10:00 a.m. and by that time it's cervesa time! Casa Del Mar: ONLY place to eat breakfast. Food was ok, not great. If you want a prepared omelette, prepare to stand in line for 10-20 minutes. We did not eat dinner there so can't say. Villa Marina and Margarita Lounge: Buffet by the pool. Burgers, pizza, wings, fries etc. Food was very good. Only and I mean ONLY downside was that being it was outside, you had to fight off the birds and they would even land on the buffet and steal fries! Entertainment team works their butt off and they do a good job. If you want pool games stay close to the main pool because they don't announce upcoming games/contests at all pools. There is a large board with activities listed and times for each pool but if your like us we didn't wear a watch and lost track of time. The sport activities on the beach such as kayaking, windsurfing and catamarans are not included in the package as it's led to believe, there are additional charges to rent these. Internet service is free and available at Mikes Coffee and in the lobby area. They don't have access to a computer so you will need your phone, ipad or computer. Probably the best thing about this resort is the night activity. They center the activity around the swim up bar/poolside bar. Each night they had a DJ or live band. Great music and lot's of fun. The resort is probably 20 minutes tops from the Cancun Airport and 15 minutes from Puerto Morales if you want to go deep sea fishing or shop. Hope this helps.


61 of 65 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Fayetteville, AR.
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 31, 2011
Clean and pretty

we just returned from Coral and Turquesa in Mexico and have just a few items to share as a heads up for all travelers-be wary of what "all-inclusive" actually includes. Yes, the restaurant meals were included, BUT there were several items in each restaurant where there were upgraded fees to get perhaps what you really wanted to eat. The steak and fish place is a good example, 99% of the steaks offered were about $40. The wild salmon was included and delicious but if you wanted a good T-Bone or lobster tail,you would have to pay the hefty upcharge. As far as all the free drinks, yes,that was true, but you could only choose from about 5-6 level one liquors, not the level 2,(better stuff). That was belittling in our opinion. A big disappointment was not having room service as an inclusive perk. You have to become what is called a PRIVILIGED GUEST at a fee of $59 pp per night to get some things you would have thought would be standard inclusions.Make Sure you ask for a ocean view room or you may be looking at trees and bushes from your balcony, and just hear the sea. We upgraded our room immediately for only $25per night. That was not a bad deal. We did like the choice of pools, spa was lovely and service was fine. Buyer beware of hidden costs, I guess anywhere, but here for sure.


25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Detroit,Michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2011
Very Nice Vacation

My boyfriend and I had a great vacation at the Ocean Coral and Turq. We stayed six nights in mid June. First, our room stayed ice cold, which he loved. It sure felt good to walk in the room after being in the heat and humidity. The bed was too firm for me, but it sufficed. The bathroom seems outdated with unattractive tile, but at least everything worked. The maids were friendly and helpful, giving us more towels when we requested them and even finding another employee with a lighter when my boyfriend needed a light. The buffet was delicious with lots of choices. There was even caviar sprinkled on boiled eggs at one meal. The chefs made an effort to have the regular plus some exotic type items to choose from. Breakfast was really good every morning. We enjoyed champagne mimosas, and they also had several pitchers of freshly made juices, such as banana, coconut, honeydew melon, cantaloupe, and prickly pear. When the pitchers emptied, someone was right there blending the juices with fresh fruit as we watched. The line for made-to-order omelets was always long, however. I love fresh papaya, and we had it at nearly every meal in the buffet. The only fruits that weren't fresh every day were mandarin oranges, peaches, and pears. They were canned. There was always fresh fish and other meats at the lunch and dinner meals. The pools were nice, esp. the swim-up bar. The coffee shop made very good mocha frappes and after five p.m. each evening, offered delicious desserts. We tried the four specialty restaurants and all were good except the Italian. (We ate at the buffet after eating at the Italian restaurant.) Service was very good at all restaurants. The four pools were nice. They have what was jokingly called the "drunk" pool, which had the swim-up bar, music, and partying, then the "hangover pool, which was peaceful, the activity pool, and the kiddie pool. The beach was very nice, but there was a lot of seaweed, which they cleaned up each morning, but it didn't really help a whole lot. We enjoyed feeding fish in he water. We would wade in and toss tiny pieces of bread in the water. After a couple minutes' wait, fish would come and devour it, bumping into our hands and legs. We loved that! The resort grounds are very nicely maintained with diff. colored hibiscus flowers everywhere. Many of the trees have coconuts, and if it's time for a coconut to be cut down so it doesn't drop on a vacationer, the maintanance guys will give it to you. You have to be in the right place at the right time! The staff will cut the top and give you a straw. We took an excursion to Maroma Park to go snorkeling, and it was awesome! We also took the shuttle to Playa del Carmen to go shopping. Beware, the merchants are VERY pushy, but if you're assertive, you'll enjoy it. There are many Europeans that vacation at this resort, esp. Italians. They have their own separate theater at the resort. We watched one movie while there. Picture and sound quality wasn't great, but it was a nice escape from the heat when we wanted to unwind. Now, the only negative for us is that this is an H10 timeshare resort, and there are sections that are for the "privileged" guests. They wear special wristbands and recieve top shelf drinks, a special section on the beach, ocean view rooms, and reserved seating at the restaurants. Us regular folk don't, but we found the waits to be fairly short at the restaurants. The drinks at all bars were ok. My boyfriend stuck with Coronas and I drank Bahama Mamas and strawberry daiquiries. We're not big drinkers, though, so if you want the top shelf drinks and the other privileged things, you can upgrade, but it costs. Personally, we didn't think it was worth it, so we didn't do it. We did, however, participate in the "welcome package" and listen to a three hour presentation so we could receive the hotel credits, which we then used to buy our snorkeling excursion. We are just "regular Joes," but people who like things to be high class and complain about the simplest things might not have as good a time as we did. I'm a firm believer that if you treat people with respect and manners, most will strive to do the same, and all of the staff at the Ocean Coral did. (We observed some rude behavior and mistreatment of staff over stupid issues.) We are planning to come back next year with other family members!


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2013
Beautiful Resort & Lovely Staff

My husband and I just returned from a short stay (5 days, 4 nights) at Ocean Coral - way too short. We had a wonderful time! The resort was clean & beautiful (they were constantly working on keeping it that way!) and the staff was so kind. We upgraded to Privileged and we're so happy that we did. We spent most of our time at the beach in the shade. The Privilege beach was so calm and serene, especially compared to the "party pool". There was no need to get there early to save chairs - it was never full. We walked down around 10 or 11am every day and there were plenty of chairs and sometimes even the covered beds were still available. The beach drink service was wonderful - a bucket of water & beer upon arrival and the waiter checked back every 30 minutes. We ate breakfast at the Privilege Lounge every morning and tried a different restaurant each evening for dinner some with reservations, some without. We never had to wait for a table. Our room was modern & beautiful - ground level with jacuzzi & shower on our patio. I know that some had a hard time with the bathroom setup, but it wasn't a problem for my husband and I. I can see there being a privacy issue if you're staying with friends but for a married couple, no problem. Our mini bar was restocked every day with water bottles, soda & juice. The staff was very friendly and everyone was eager to help and make sure our stay was comfortable. We got used to luxury really quickly. :) Our butler, Rafael, was very friendly & helpful. Francisco, our friendly beach concierge, helped us with reservations and even offered us sunscreen and aloe (which we needed). Be sure to bring lots of singles so you can tip the staff. They work so hard to make your stay nice and they are very grateful when you tip them. We booked through Cheapcarribean and used Olympus tours for our shared transfer to and from the airport. The resort is about 20-30 minutes from the airport, but depending on how many resorts you have to stop at on the way to drop off/pick up other people it could take an hour. I think when we go back we will: 1) stay longer! 2) spring for the private transfer service or a taxi, 3) bring our own sunscreen & aloe (plan to spend $25usd/bottle in the resort shop). Overall, I really can't complain about anything. We had a lovely vacation and I can't wait to go back.


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Hope, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 27, 2012
Amazing Trip!

My boyfriend and I booked this trip last minute, and it was the best decision we made! While looking for a trip for the last week in August, we settled on Rivera Maya because it was the least likely to have hurricane season yet. This resort is beautiful!!! We upgraded to the priviligide option, and it was well worth it. We did an excursion to the ruins and didn't get back to the hotel until after 9 pm, so having the room service option was beneficial since everything else was closed until midnight( when the sports bar opens for food). The hotel staff all were amazing, and the bartenders at the pool bar was especially generous and friendly. I also loved that we could walk along the beach and into the town. It provided for something different to do without having to go very far; though there were days when we didn't leave the pool all day. I also loved that almost nightly, they release baby turtles that the resort has helped nest and protect into the water. Typically the kids get to release them, but we got lucky and were able to participate! Our room was clean and always well stocked. We honestly could not have asked for a better vacation at a better place. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would seriously consider going back on a future vacation ( which is surprising because I am very much a visit once and that's it kind of traveler). There are tons of options for every type of traveler- singles, couples, or families.


27 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 6, 2012
Upgrade to Privilege or spend time waiting in line

Traveled with a group of friends and had a great time. The best thing we did was upgrade to the Privelege level. If you don't udgrade, plan to have long waits every night for dinner and poor customer service. There are no restaraunt reservations unless you are a Privilege level guest, all others have a long wait for a table and must cue up at 5:30 to get their names on a "list". The minute we had the Privilege wrist band on our wrists, our entire experience changed for the better. The level of service improved dramatically. The beach was beautiful. The pools were also beautiful. The main dining buffet had tons of delicious options. There is something for everyone at this resort.


38 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 23, 2012
Changes in the Mayan Riviera....

Just got back from the Ocean Coral & Turquesa (OC&T) on the Mayan Riviera. This is my 3rd trip to that area and my 2nd in two years. The OC&T is a very nice, modern resort. Well maintained with 3 pools and a large beach. It was a great value in that 6 days, 5 nights cost us $1250 per person complete flying from NJ to Cancun. The airfare was $575 so the hotel with food was only about $100 per day. Can't beat that. I've been to 8 all-inclusives around the Carib and the food at OC&T was average except that it worked very well for us because they did have excellent fresh salad and fruit as we've gone to a more plant based diet this year. These Caribbean resorts seem to change hands quite frequently. 2 years ago we stayed at what was the "Paradisus Riviera" which has become the "Now". When we were there I instantly said it was by far the best all-inclusive food I had found. We rode to the airport with a couple who had just stayed there as the "Now" and they said the food was horrible. I love the Mayan riviera, but was VERY disappointed this time to see that the ocean is being abused. I love to snorkel and as soon as we got settled I grabbed my fins and went in. I soon realized that the previously pristine ocean now had many pieces of PLASTIC TRASH floating in it like cups and food wrappers. This was not a fault of the hotel, as we walked toward Cancun a few miles and found garbage in the water everywhere. I questioned hotel staff about it and noone admitted to knowing anything about it. I hope it's temporary. I researched it on the web and one site said it's from the cruise ships and is a chronic problem in the area. It wasn't like that 2 years ago, but someone should look into it. We still had a great time, but hardly anyone was swimming in the ocean. I attached a couple of pics.

Plastic beach trash beach trash
38 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Saugerties, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 12, 2014
Fabulous Vacation Resort

My wife and I have just returned from a 12 day vacation at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa. We have nothing but high praise for the hotel, the staff and the hard working employees. My wife is handicapped and when I saw the size of the installation, I sent an e-mail months before our scheduled visit and the week before we left from home, I called and spoke to an English speaking staff member. In both of those contacts, I stated that my wife was handicapped and had hip replacements and when I looked at the span of the complex, I became alarmed that she would not be able to walk to all of the facilities unless she had a room in a centralized location near the lobby. I was assured that she would be well taken care of. When we checked in, I was overjoyed to see that they had honored my requests. Our room was 10 feet from an elevator. The restaurants and walk-up bar pool was a mere 100 feet from our room. My wife was assigned a handicapped room and it was huge. The floors were tiled and I did not want my wife to slip and fall if there was any chance of the floors becoming wet and slippery. I spoke to Manuel at the check in desk and I asked for a dehuidifier. I wasn't in my room for five minutes when a knock on the door came and there was the dehumidifire. That quickness did surprise me. However, that wasn't the only quick response to our needs. When we went into the shower that evening, the drain was not taking the water fast enough and it led to water spreadingon the floor and past the sink. I spoke to the guest services manager, Alejandro and he had someone sent right over to check out the situation. They developed a plan which added a barrier of towels to soak-up the water before it could spread onto the floor. The then cleaned out the drain and we had no more problems or worries about this causing any injury to my wife. The reaction time to our requests blew my mind. So fast and efficient service. The complex was great. Four pools, I believe, eleven restaurants and/or places to eat. The buffet amazed me with the amount of different items that were available for all meals. Beside's the variety, the food was great. The food at the other places were just as good. I would get up early and we were fortunate to get a prime location by the pool, which offered enough space so that my wife wasn't crowded or squeezed and she could navigate without fear of tripping over someone or something, The drink servers were readily available and on passing, they would ask if we wanted a drink. There was no skimping on the drinks nor was there any question about the superior quality of the drinks that they offered. The facility was spotless and beautifully manicured. In closing, I have to again acknowledge the help and concern that I received from Alejandro, the guest service manager. He would check with me periodically to see how my wife was doing and always stated, if we need anything, just get in contact with him. I also have to again state how highly I praise the employees. They were friendly, caring, very helpful and always showning us a big smile. I would not hesitate booking another vacation trip to Ocean Coral & Turquesa. P.S. Just to let Cheap Caribean know, we had torential rain all day on October 21st (our arrival day), October 22nd - on and off rain, October 31 (our last day) - afternoon rain.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2013
money well spent!

I just returned from 5 days @ Ocean coral. It was my second time in Mexico, and my first experience with an all inclusive. I was totally impressed with the property; value, professional & friendly staff,upkeep of the property. Also, I had heard semi-awesome reviews of restaurants at all-inclusive properties. However, this resort offered great options : Italian (top.notch), creperie (fantastic), Mexican & Japanese ...not to mention the always consistent buffet. One more must do-the spa! I treated myself to a.massage, and was extremely impressed. Ask for Claudia! Book your magical trip today...don't delay!

money well spent! money well spent!
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, ma
Age: 25-34