All

Ocean Club West Reviews

Caribbean | Turks & Caicos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 33 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.9
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.5 out of 5
"Just a very good place and value. Great location run by nice people." – Builder1
37 out of 38 (97%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The beach Our view from unit E snorkeling Looking towards the fountain, and pool in the middle of the resort. Crystal Water at Ocean Club West Chalk Sound Celebrate we will, cause life is short but sweet for certain. Ocean Club West beachfront (Grace Bay) Nice day! Sapodilla Bay Windy day, still beautiful! Sapodilla Bay Extremely friendly staff at Ocean Club West OCW courtyard view from lounge chair

All Ocean Club West Customer Reviews

1-10 of 33 reviews. Sort by
August 26, 2011
Turks and Caicos

We have been several places in the Caribbean. Turks and Caicos is truly paradise! You can venture out in the evenings and it is safe. The restaurants are fabulous and the people are incredibly friendly. Great snorkeling, great diving and the most incredible water that you have ever seen. The European's that we met said this was much prettier than Greece. Instead of going to Greece next year we are coming back to Turks and Caicos!!!!!!

Turks and Caicos
43 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bryant, Ar.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 5, 2015
Go!

Condo was spacious, clean, modern. Stayed in 633. Partial ocean view, pool, garden. Screened in balcony. Beach and ocean water was perfect. Minor snorkeling off the beach. Everyday wading in the ocean we saw starfish, fish, and once live conch. Grocery store 8 minute walk. Restaurants were an easy walk. If you like conch - every style - walk to Caravel. Walk to main road, turn left, 1 block. Large servings, family setting, very good price (for the island). Couple small shops within 2 blocks. Pool mostly 2.5 to 3.5 feet deep. Some areas 4 to 5 feet. Nice pool area. Always lounges available with umbrella at beach and pool. Quiet, there were family's with children but the beach is so spacious you could always find quiet areas. Many times we were 100 yards from anyone else by walking short distances either way. Always breezy but less than Eagle Beach in Aruba. We have been to 10 islands and this is our favorite. Similar to 7 mile beach in Cayman. Swim area couple hundred yards off shore. Be prepared for island prices. Everything is imported. Expect at least 60% increase from what you may be paying at home but there are some bargains. Catch the duty free shop where alcohol is cheap. Lots of gecko's. There were zero bugs while we were there - Not a single one. Dinner for 2 at restaurant for us - 2 non drinkers - $100 except half that cost at Caravel mentioned above.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2013
easiest most relaxing vacation ever

I was a bit worried that this low key vacation would be shock to our usual fast paced crazy life. I knew the beaches and snorkeling were the best, but there aren't any waterslides, fast food restauraunts or kid clubs. :)It could not have been better, and it was just what we needed. We were brought to our 1 bedroom condo, and the windows were open, with an ocean breeze, and fresh flowers tucked into the towels. We loved the big space, and spent most of our time in the condo on the awesome screened porch. We went directly to the Seaside Cafe, and sat under an umbrella right on the deck on the beach. The light lunch we so delicious and fresh. We were amazed. No crowds, plenty of chairs on the beach and by the pool. We rented a car for a day to tour around a bit, and the front desk had it there in 1/2 an hour. It was fun to see other parts of the island, Chalk Sound, Coral Gardens and dinner at Turtle Cove (Sharkbite). The grocery store is a short walk, and we would got there daily to grab a few things, either walking or grabbing a bike. The gym it great for a resort gym. Has everything you need for a quick workout. We booked a snorkel adventure right at the resort in the dive shop. The staff is very low key, kind of quiet, but extremely helpful. There are no "sorry we can't do that". We had hoped to eat at Coco Bistro, but it gets really busy. They told us to come early next time. No problem, walked down the street and had a delicious dinner Cafe Ciacos. Bring a few kid toys for the beach, since they can't sit too long in a chair. The tap water if fine if you put pitchers in the refrigerator to keep cold and add some lemon. If motion sickness is a problem, be prepared if you snorkel or parasailing. Easiest vacation ever.

Chalk Sound snorkeling
17 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2013

Ocean Club West: Excellent service, very clean and well maintained. Good location with beautiful world renowned sandy beach Providenciales: Excellent boat scuba diving-- Dive Provo Dive Shop amazing operation in all respects No shore scuba diving Excellent snorkeling off Coral Gardens and Smith Reef Quiet and relaxing, 4 grocery stores and generic Price Club, no fast food chains Restaurants expensive Coco Bristo exceptional Consider unit with full kitchen (with oven) to do some meals in,


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 4, 2012
Very relaxing

Ocean Club West was one of the best vacations I've taken in a long time. Grace bay is beautiful and relaxing.The best snorkeling. OCW was at 33% capacity as we were there at the end of August, so my wife and I had the whole place to ourselves.The rooms were clean and the screened in balcony was great to just hang out with a glass of wine. We don,t usually repeat our vacations but if we did we would stay at OCW again.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 11, 2012
Very nice vacation

First off all the reviews about the cost of food were accurate. It's expensive; how anybody could be fat on this island chain is beyond me! Having opted for a condo did cut our food budget considerably. Leaving more money for all the snorkling trips we wanted! The Ocean Club West is a very quiet and peaceful location on Grace Bay and it opens upon some of the most beautiful white sand beaches ever! We were disappointed the non-motorized water sports shop had closed down until December; I guess when the "snowbirds" come back. All of the people that are associated with the resort are very nice and helpful with directions, recommendations for activities around the islands and such. If you want all-inclusive and have children The Beaches was highly recommended by many of the folks we picked up from there for snorkling. I realize this is another country but I think they should consider waiting until after Labor Day weekend to shut down alot of the restaurants and tours; some of us can't get away any sooner!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2013
Best vaca ever!!

My husband and I honeymooned in Cancun in Aug. 2011. The trip was.....lets just say we made the best of it and incidentally were in need of a honeymoon do-over. That is just what we did when we stayed at OCW in Feb. 2013. We almost didn't make it on this trip though! We are from the North Shore of Mass. and Blizzard Nemo hit us for the 2 days before we were set to leave. We were taking one flight out of Logan to Newark and then onto T&C, but the first flight was canceled aaaaand you guessed it! We didn't buy trip insurance! Our choice: either drive to NJ from Mass. Or don't go. So...we drove to Logan, rented a car, and drove 6 hours after the biggest snow storm we had seen in years. Lets just say Massachusetts, you win at snow removal. Connecticut, not so much. The moral of this story is folks: always buy the trip insurance!!! You don't want to have to end up doing what we had to! Anyway, we stayed for 7 nights and really had an amazing time. We stayed in a studio room with an island view. It had a kitchenette and washer and dryer which was very convenient and a great perk. There's a grocery store nearby and there are gas grills by the pool, which we used a couple times. Just be prepared to spend a lot of money on food, because even at the grocery store, it is a fortune! Apparently though, there is another grocery store closer to the airport, so you'd be better off having your taxi stop there on your way to OCW. The only bad thing was the bed. It was very uncomfortable. Too soft and wobbly, and the pillows felt like there was almost nothing under your head. I also woke up the first morning with bites all over my feet and worried it was bed bugs, but it wasn't, and I never woke up with any more bites. The beach is A-MAZ-ING!! There is a reason it has been rated as #1 in the world. The sand is like flour and the water is heavenly! Very calm seas. It's like you are in a swimming pool! EXCEPT for the first two days we were there. It was very rough seas and we think that was on account of Nemo. The temp outside is always about 80 and the water is cool and refreshing. The pool was great too, big and windy like a river. Overall the food was wicked expensive but it is delicious. We were there for Valentine's day and went to dinner at Opus, the restaurant at the sister resort and the food there was really good. REALLY expensive, but very tasty. OCW is nicer than the OC. It is obvious that it was the original resort and that OCW came later. It's older and dated and the layout isn't as nice. The pool didn't look as nice either. OCW is definitely smaller and more intimate. Not as many people. We met another couple and took some adventures on the Island. I definitely recommend the Snorkeling with Silver Deep, the ocean tour company at the resort. We saw so many cool fish, and I saw an octopus! We ventured out one night and had dinner at The Three Queens, a tiny restaurant across the island. It was probably the best food we had while we were there. And the cheapest. Fried lobster and conch, baked chicken, homemade cole slaw...delicious. Ask for Martha. Then we headed over to a bar down the street called Horse Eyed Jack's and had a blast with the bartender. She taught us all about conch. Ask for Ramona. There are nice shops down the street from the resort and great restaurants. We had Thai for lunch and it was great! There is also a great Italian Restaurant on the other side of the rotary (they call them roundabouts) and there is an amazing french bakery right across the street. We got ham and cheese croissants for breakfast! You can sign out bicycles and ride right down the street. Or you can always walk since it is so close. Overall, this really was a great trip. We couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon do-over. T&C is totally not commercialized (yet) and its so relaxing and fun!

Celebrate we will, cause life is short but sweet for certain. Looking towards the fountain, and pool in the middle of the resort.
9 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ipswich, Mass
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 23, 2013
Great, Quiet Resort

Casual elegance at this quiet resort (especially away from high season). It actually is at it looks................ We'd been there a number of years ago and it was pretty much the same but with WiFi and modern door locks (touch). Eating out is expensive but that's the same on all Caribbean Islands. Having a full kitchen enables you to either do as little or as much cooking as you like. Very close to the white, sugar sand beach. Can't recommend highly enough!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2014
Hotel was OK

The beaches and water were amazing and the best Ive ever seen. To compare, Ive been to the Bahamas, Cancun and Jamaica and this water was then best. I was very disappointed in the service and I won't be coming back. It just seemed to me that the staff didn't really care if I was there or not and almost seemed annoyed when I asked for anything so I just stopped asking for things. There are a ton of other options on this strip of beach that you can choose from and I would give them a shot before OCW if I were you. A big plus was that you could rent bikes from them and make a short cruise to the cool shopping are and grocery stores. You could catch a shuttle to the other Ocean club for free. We ate dinner at Opus at the other Ocean Club and it was a great time. Like everyone else says Turks and Caicos is very expensive whether you deice to use the kitchen and but groceries or eat out at the restaurants. Taxis are priced high too.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2016
You wont be disappointed

If you are looking for a nice place to stay with ready access to one of the most beautiful beaches on the planet, book a vacation at Ocean Club West now. The grounds and pool areas are lush, tropical and very well maintained. My stay there was the first week in August and there was no problem with the resort being crowded. There were always open chairs at the pool and on the beach itself. Ready access to beach towels. There was a nice mix of people staying there so you'll feel comfortable if you are younger, older, with or without kids. 10 minute easy walk to off site shops, restaurants and Graceway Gourmet IGA grocery store. Some sticker shock there as you might expect. In general, I found prices there 2-3x from what I normally pay. Ocean Club West is a little older than nearby resorts, but as stated, well maintained. The kitchen in my unit was well stocked with pots/plans and typical small appliances. Having a washer dryer in the unit was a great convenience. (Laundry detergent/ dishwasher powder were supplied). One of my few criticisms would be that the internet connection was spotty.and slow about 50% of the time. I would stay there again for sure and cant wait to back,


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year