All

Ocean Club Reviews

Caribbean | Turks & Caicos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 51 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.4 out of 5
"This is a great place on Grace Bay. The room was clean and comfortable. This is a place I would tell anyone going to TCI to stay at and they would have a good time if you like the beach." – TCIlove
63 out of 67 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sailboat Grounds A view of the rooms, I building Part of the Room

All Ocean Club Customer Reviews

1-10 of 51 reviews. Sort by
May 17, 2011
great condo resort

We stayed at OC for 10 days. Could have stayed longer. This is a property with individually owned condo units so all rooms are not decorated the same. Our unit was lovely. It had a vaulted ceiling and granite countertops in the kitchen & bathroom. We really like having the full kitchen with a stove, fridge and dishwasher. We also like having a washer/dryer in the unit. We booked a junior suite(900 sq ft). I liked that you had options here. You can dine out or cook in your room.They also provide grills down by the pools. Only one problem during our stay, the a/c broke. However when I notified the front desk and they had someone look at it, they did offer us another room pronto, but we declined because with the screened in porch, we left our doors open all night and loved the breeze. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking a a quiet resort. The island itself is VERY expensive. For example, a package of english muffins was $7.25US. We did find a wonderful bakery called the Caicos Bakery. Fench bakers. The Graceway supermarket isnt far. Its by OC West which was also a nice resort. Taxis are very expensive in Proco. They need a public transportation system, like Bermuda or Aruba. Who wants to pay $30 for a taxi to dinner? The restuarants we wen to added 10% tax to the food plus tip. An average dinner out for two is about $100 plus tax and tip. Depending on what you drink. Alcohol is also very expensive if bought on the island. Buy at the airport if you can.

great condo resort great condo resort
43 of 44 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: northeastern pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2012
Best Beach Ever

We very much enjoyed our stay at Ocean Club. We went back & forth trying to decide whether to stay at Ocean Club or Ocean Club West and we made the right decision. Ocean Club is further down the beach and away from the "strip" of hotels & timeshares. The beach was very quiet and there was literally no one at the pools. The food at Ocean Club is fantastic! Be sure to use the free shuttle between both resorts. It allows you to visit the grocery store and other restaurants & shops in town without paying for a taxi. We will be back, but will extend our stay to 2 full weeks next time. We LOVED Grace Bay, and will return over & over again. There is no bluer water, and we've been to other caribbean islands and to Hawaii twice. Turks & Caicos' Grace Bay Beach is truly the World's #1 Beach.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Albany, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 21, 2012
My fourth Visit, and still a great place to go

I have been to many Caribbean islands over the past decade: Anguilla, Grenada, St. John, St. Lucia, etc. I have stayed in both super high end, and budget places. Ocean Club is the one place I have visited more than any other. It has an amazing beach, and great food options all around. The rooms are fine. They are clean, but nothing special. I choose Ocean Club because I would rather spend time on the beach than in the room. The value of Ocean Club is the beach. You can pay 2-3 times as much for resorts nearby if you need to, but I'd rather save the money. Just back last night, and we are already trying to figure out when we can get away again for a return visit.


51 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Massacuseets
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Relaxing and Rejuvenating

We had a wonderful vacation and found that our biggest decision of the day was whether to start at the pool or the beach...both were beautiful. The grounds were kept up beautifully. The staff was warm and welcoming especially the server at the beach restaurant/bar. This resort is a little older but our room was clean and had all the amenities you would need (full kitchen, tv, w/d, etc). Right outside the resort was a small convenience store which was great for water and small items. The fitness room was well equipt for a resort gym - though a walk on the beach was the preferred form of exercise. We will definitely return!


21 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2012
Great beach, horrid service

Resort was clean, but service was horrid. Tried to charge me for prepaid room, then was not given suite that was paid for. Had dinner at chic resort and overall service was 100% different, by which I mean better. Beach was excellent and Cabana bar was good- still eat there if you go and say hi to Keone the hostess. But the surly service at the resort really was the worst. Spend the extra $1000 and stay somewhere nicer, you will be glad you did. I wish we had!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 23, 2015
Gorgeous Beaches

We, my husband & I, spent a week at Ocean Club East. Having been to many of the Islands in the Caribbean & Bahamas we loved the beauty & serenity of Grace Bay. The location of OCE was perfect!! Seemed like we are on our own private beach. The resort itself although older, was very well kept. The two pools were clean & spacious with plenty of chairs & tables. Our Junior Suite that overlooked the pool & gardens was large with a full kitchen, king-sized bed, good sized bathroom with a great shower. The hair dryer was fantastic!! The unit was nicely decorated altho dated & could use new appliances. The large screened in patio was great and we enjoyed many evenings sipping wine & enjoying the cool breeze. This unit - 9109 - could easily accommodate a family of 3 or 4 with a king sized pull out sofa bed. The furniture was very comfortable with a flat screen TV. I'd read reviews about the 1st floor being noisy, but we found it very quiet wouldn't hesitate to stay again. There is also a very nice tennis court, a decent gym with newer equipment, plenty of chairs, fresh towels & umbrella's on the beach and any water sport your can think of available for a fee. not a cheap fee either. The bikes they provide leave something to be desired. They need to be replaced. They're old, one speed and most are in disrepair. The shuttle was very convenient. It went back & forth to their sister property Ocean Club West every 15 minutes or so. OC West is located near the little town with shops & restaurants that we frequented most evenings for dinner. The grocery store around the corner was convenient & we shopped there a couple of times for beer & wine and other breakfast items we made each morning. They also have a prepared food section & we purchased "the special sandwich of the day" for a bargain....5.99$ Turkey or Tuna. They were fresh & hearty and a great buy for lunch. If you're in any kind of a hurry don't bother going there....they pretty much move in slow motion. There is no sense of urgency at any time not matter how many people may be in line. "on island time" is an understatement!! We just loved observing & were in no rush anyway so we had a fun time just being part of the experience. The Customer Service not only at the resort but everywhere in general was poor, poor, poor! I would suggest that every resort, hotel, restaurant, retail shop, taxi/shuttle driver, resort worker, bartender & server receive intense Customer Service training. You would think that for an island that receives the majority of their income from tourism would have great costumer service....nope, not there! Very disappointed overall & did not find the natives or the workers friendly or engaging at all. Other than Mama at Mama's Gift Shop in town!! She was fantastic & we went back to her shop at the end of our week , even though she was a little more expensive, for our token TCI t-shirts & sweatshirts! She was friendly and appreciative to have our business.....we found her refreshingly different!! Everything is expensive as is most often the case on an island. We shopped at the market a couple of times & had breakfast in our unit. We had dinner at Opus, the restaurant on the premises. It was very good and they had a very good guitar/singer on the night we ate there. We also had dinner at the Caicos Café in town that was very good, rather pricey but good, the Seaside Café at the sister property OCW was also very good. The Italian restaurant in town, Via Venitio (sp?) was excellent! we ate there twice and the customer service there was also excellent...the only place we ate at where everyone was nice, smiling and seemingly happy to have us there. We are not fussy folks & go with the flo. We're pretty easy going and understand that everyone has a bad day now and then. Our overall experience on TCI was good but with not so good customer service.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Newport, Rhode Island
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 29, 2016
Great deal!

This resort is at the end of Grace Bay, at the far eastern point. It's very quiet as a result and more private which is fantastic. The little pool restaurant and bar is great. The grouper is A+ and drinks are good. The rooms are very spacious with huge balconies! We did rent a junior suite with an ocean view, and it was perfect for our needs. Full size refrigerator, dishwasher, washer and dryer, all dishes and cookware you will need. Awesome. It is a bit of an older resort and decor is from the 80's, but in all is in good condition. We rode the FREE bikes provided by the resort all over the island. It was totally safe! Bring your backpacks to ride bikes to the gourmet grocery store just a mile or so down the road. We had a full cart of groceries, and managed to get everything in our backpacks and one bag hanging on our bikes. Gotta recommend the gallon jugs of alkaline water (which are far more hydrating to boot) as they have an open handle that hangs easily from the bikes. We got 4 and hung all on 1 bike! These are much easier to transport than a flat of bottled water. Just bring a personal bottle from home to refill for the beach. The hotel offers free movies to rent and had a decent selection. Best part is it's located a half mile from the best restaurant in Turks and Caicos: Coco Bistro. We ate there twice. Ride your bike there! But be sure to keep your key or lock code so you can take them out after 6pm....we had 6:30 dinner reservations and the resort said they don't let them out past 6. We happened to still have our keys to the bike chains, so we grabbed them anyway. It was still plenty bright out so I didn't understand the policy anyway. Came back around 8pm and it was STILL light out. No biggie! Sorry resort, we were sneaky but it saved us a taxi ride and a decent walk in heals. :-) We will DEFINITELY go back here. Staff is super nice. *Doors have a vent opening on them (that you can close) so outside noises from your neighbors can be heard at times. Just a heads up


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2015
Lived up to expectations

This resort was of the kind that most units (or all, for that matter) are owned by other people and are rented out to the public. The resort is operated much like a regular hotel, you won't know the difference - room is cleaned everyday, towels are replaced, etc. The units have efficiency kitchens that guests are responsible to take care of. You may also use outdoor gas grills to cook your own food and eat by the pool or back in your room. Units also have screened-in balconies, however the one bed studios have a very small balcony barely big enough to have a very small table and 2 very small chairs and difficult to move around them. Other larger units have huge screened-in balconies or patios. All of the services people are friendly and helpful. Like with all islands, there are the selective lazy workers who act like you're bothering them if you ask a question or ask them to do something. Not the housekeepers, they were all very nice. The shuttle that goes between the Ocean Club East and Ocean Club West is hardly ever on schedule, not sure why they give you a schedule when they hardly adhere to it. Often times when Clifton is driving, he's late because someone has to go find him, usually at the bar on the phone or mingling with the staff. In fact, one time, he drive a van full of people from east to west with a mixed drink in the console. Apparently there are no open container or no drinking while driving laws. Other than that the trip was fantastic. Good resturants in the area, not a lot, but enough, and the food is very good. They use US dollars and most places include a 10% service charge (tip), so check for that because adding in your tip. I usually add a 20% tip but in this case added in 10% to total 20%, except the first night bc I didn't realize 10% was added in.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: boston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 8, 2014
Ocean Club

Room: Not completely outdated but not completely updated. Very clean though. Good maid staff. Plenty of space and storage. Lots of space in the kitchen. Screened in verandah was fantastic. (Could sit there for hours). Ocean View was well worth the upgrade. I can only imagine how awesome ocean front would be. Grounds: Not completely outdated but not completely updated. The second pool had a bit of debris in it but we did have it to ourselves which was great. The main pool was gorgeous and comfortable. Landscaping was just average. We were there in June and I believe the flowers had already bloomed. The palm trees and birds were great. Beach: #1 on the planet. If you haven't been here it's hard to explain how incredible this beach really is. Bath water you walk right into and you can be up to your neck and still see your feet. This end of the beach is away from the noise and has the largest deepest beach on grace bay that I've seen. Quiet and relaxing. Great location out of the 4 times we've been to TC Grace bay. Food: Cabana's Bar & Restaurant. Jeff & Rose are the owners and really make you feel at home. The food was terrific for each meal. Prices were incredibly reasonable for island dining. Couldn't have asked for a better setting. Staff was very nice. Drink selection was terrific. You could easily spend hours at the Cabana Bar & Restaurant. They even had take out if you wanted to relax on your verandah and eat. Overall: 4th time on the island and the best beach location. Most relaxing and great for families or couples.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 8, 2016
Room

When I booked the room I was told it was an ocean view suite. I could barely see the Ocean from my room. I could get a slight glimpse if i went to the far end of my patio. I felt this was a bit misleading.

Room
9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year