All

Occidental Tucancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 12 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Had a great time. Facility was very clean. I think they need more dining options because we did have to wait for the buffet on several occasions." – Gramamf
11 out of 13 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from hotel. View from hotel.

All Occidental Tucancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 12 reviews. Sort by
April 4, 2017
March 2017

We did 5 days/4 nights (M-F) for just under $1400. It included the flight through Aeromexico (stopped in Mexico City then onto Cancun), the hotel (which was all inclusive - food and alcohol), and we got the extra $25 per person shuttle via amstar to and from the hotel. We initially got 2 double beds, but requested for a king size and got it with an amazing ocean view. It was really nice to open up the curtains every morning and sit out on the balcony with coffee and enjoy the ocean. The hotel still had some spring breakers but the noise didn't bother us too much. You can hear some construction and door slamming but it really wasn't bad at all. The hotel was nice and clean. We had room service daily and they restocked the fridge daily with beer, sofa, and water. It says most places use filtered water but we just went with the bottled stuff which you can also purchase at the gift shop. There are 4 places to eat. 2 are buffet style and 2 require daily reservations. The food is 3.5/5. I liked the Italian restaurant best. Drinks are super easy to get with many bars. There is also a snack shop located next to the lobby with breakfast foods, coffee, tea, and some finger foods. We did one excursion --the luxury sailing. It was $99 per person. We took the early option from 730-3p to Ilsa Mujeres. Beautiful beaches and water with lots of markets. The beaches around the hotel are beautiful as well with plenty of chairs to lay out on. We got burned after the first day so we tried to cover up more after that and use the giant umbrellas. Only once did we have an issue if someone stealing our giant umbrella when we took about a 10 min stroll on the beach one morning but they were happy to return it with some convincing. Bring plenty of after sun and sunscreen. All in all, great trip, great hotel, great price.

View from hotel. View from hotel.
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2017
Please read this if your under 30

okay it was my first time in cancun it was really nice at the olace i stayed at staff workers were awesome food was perfect and ut was really clean!!! But the only problem was there is nothing going on after 9 at the resort it gets really boring if your going to just relax and have time for your self its perfevt spot but if your going to hang out nd have fun with girls/guys its not thenplace to go.....


21 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ny
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 3, 2017

The resort is not terrible, but two big complaints; the restaurants and the harassing. The resort has 3 a la crate restaurants and one buffet for dinner. If you do not make reservations at the a la carte restaurants that morning that you can expect to wait anywhere from 15-45 minutes to get a table at the buffet. The buffet food is average at best. I have never been to an all inclusive that you have had to wait for a table in the main buffet. Also, the entire time they were trying to push their "vacation club". They roped us into meeting with someone about it on the first day and told us it would be 90 minutes. We spent close to 3 hours with them, even after I expressed I was not interested in it they would not let us go. Every time I went to make reservations they wanted us to sign up to go. I did not appreciate feeling like I was being pressured into signing up for something every time I talked to someone who worked in the resort. When you leave the resort so many people are trying to sell you things and are so pushy that when I am in my resort I would like to relax without that feeling.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Lexington, KY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2017
Excellent Vacation Place

The resort was very clean and roomy. We were taken care of by a designated person (Petro) all the way from check-in till check-out. By request, we were provided the view with the beach side so we were very happy with the check-in staff. The restaurants were nice but they lacked vegetarian options. However, the chefs were nice enough to make something up for us - particularly David from the Claraboya snack and lunch restaurant. The bars and pools were never overcrowded and were maintained very well. The bartenders were very nice and always smiling - in particular Jose at the lobby bar. We were offered the 2for1 spa coupon which was amazing. It is a little expensive but definitely worth every dollar. The things that we disliked in the resort and they can improve upon: - It is okay to offer deals for vacation club but it was made mandatory for us and we had to go through 90 minutes of presentation/discussion full of sales propoganda which we did not like at all. Despite of telling them that we are not interested, they kept forcing us more into it. It was a very uncomfortable experience. - For restaurants, it would be nice to show a green leaf symbol to clearly indicate what is vegetarian and what is not. They have sings for vegan food but not for vegetarian. - Their mexican restaurant could use some more authentic mexican dishes. We felt that the selection was not enough.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2017
Good but could be better

The resort is beautiful. It is well kept and clean. The ocean scenery is gorgeous. However the water is always rough as it faces the ocean. Our last day it calmed down a bit. The bars served the drinks rather light unless you asked for more. The food was NOT as good as other reviews made it sound. We are from Wisconsin so perhaps we are spoiled on our dairy products but almost anything dairy related was not good. Everything was cooked appropriate but lacked flavor. It was a major bust seems we chose this resort specifically for its food reviews. Room service was SLOW. It took over an hour to get my meal. At which point I fell asleep. Housekeeping was terrible. They left my room service food instead of taking it. Several days I left out dirty linen on the floor to be taken. It was not. The bed was always made but that was about it. The staff was very friendly. Quick to please. They did try to get us to attend a timeshare presentation. Didn't fall for it and just skipped out. Overall for the money spent it was worth it. Next time we will spend more and HOPEFULLY have good food. We were starving by the fourth day!


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hixton, Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2017
Overall a very good trip

The hotel was nice. The room was nice and clean, the AC was struggling to keep up. The cable selection was not good. The restaurants were average. We joked, nothing was bad, but nothing was great. from a 1-10 almost every dish served was a six. Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner it was a six. Which isn't bad. The several bars were good, the lobby bar was by far my favorite. The staff were awesome always ready to help. Special thanks to Señor Felix Yam one of the bartenders. Gave us great advice on local stuff and was just the nicest guy on the whole trip. The service guys at the front entrance were great and special thanks to Señor Will Alvarez who knew our names from day one. Took care of us when we needed taxis and when we were leaving. The front desk staff was nice. The pickup at the airport was easy. The tours were amazing, the hotel was very good. If we go back we'll definitely consider using cheap Caribbean again and the Occidental Hotel.


1 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 24, 2017
Outstanding Vacation

We stayed over the Valentine's Day week. My boyfriend and I had an amazing time! Drinks were great and food was very good. We love to cook real food and rarely eat out. The meals they cooked were top notch. All of the staff were wonderful. We never came across someone who didn't want to help us or who was unpleasant. We had a king sized room facing the ocean and the view was phenomenal! The beach and pools were very clean. The beach is beautiful white soft sand. They also had great entertainment in the night time in the theater. We are planning on coming back to this resort next time we visit Cancun!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 27, 2017

Had a great time. Facility was very clean. I think they need more dining options because we did have to wait for the buffet on several occasions.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New york
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2017
Better than expected, exceeded my expectations

Room was great, great job cleaning it, food was far better than expected, pools were actually open past 6pm. Great views from just about everywhere at this resort. The adult pools was layed back but fun. Bartender was on top of his game too. Max did a great job at the relax pool bar too. This resort was light years better than the Royal Solaris resort we stayed at last year. All the restaurants had great food and were easy to get reservations for. I would totally go back to Occidental Tucancun.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2017
Outstanding in every way.

Having been to Cancun a million times, I'm always eager to try a different hotel on the strip. What a spectacular surprise was this property. I have stayed in the best and unfortunately in substandard hotels, but I have to say the Occidental Tucancun was quite perfect on every level. It was lively and happy, comfortable and relaxing..what more can one want?


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year