All

Occidental Tucancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 24 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.8
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"Hotel was very nice I've and a great value. Food was flavorless and beyond bland. I would stay here again, but bring more cash to eat off of the resort." – Jacobloki
22 out of 26 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from hotel. View from hotel.

All Occidental Tucancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 24 reviews. Sort by
April 4, 2017
March 2017

We did 5 days/4 nights (M-F) for just under $1400. It included the flight through Aeromexico (stopped in Mexico City then onto Cancun), the hotel (which was all inclusive - food and alcohol), and we got the extra $25 per person shuttle via amstar to and from the hotel. We initially got 2 double beds, but requested for a king size and got it with an amazing ocean view. It was really nice to open up the curtains every morning and sit out on the balcony with coffee and enjoy the ocean. The hotel still had some spring breakers but the noise didn't bother us too much. You can hear some construction and door slamming but it really wasn't bad at all. The hotel was nice and clean. We had room service daily and they restocked the fridge daily with beer, sofa, and water. It says most places use filtered water but we just went with the bottled stuff which you can also purchase at the gift shop. There are 4 places to eat. 2 are buffet style and 2 require daily reservations. The food is 3.5/5. I liked the Italian restaurant best. Drinks are super easy to get with many bars. There is also a snack shop located next to the lobby with breakfast foods, coffee, tea, and some finger foods. We did one excursion --the luxury sailing. It was $99 per person. We took the early option from 730-3p to Ilsa Mujeres. Beautiful beaches and water with lots of markets. The beaches around the hotel are beautiful as well with plenty of chairs to lay out on. We got burned after the first day so we tried to cover up more after that and use the giant umbrellas. Only once did we have an issue if someone stealing our giant umbrella when we took about a 10 min stroll on the beach one morning but they were happy to return it with some convincing. Bring plenty of after sun and sunscreen. All in all, great trip, great hotel, great price.

View from hotel. View from hotel.
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2017
Please read this if your under 30

okay it was my first time in cancun it was really nice at the olace i stayed at staff workers were awesome food was perfect and ut was really clean!!! But the only problem was there is nothing going on after 9 at the resort it gets really boring if your going to just relax and have time for your self its perfevt spot but if your going to hang out nd have fun with girls/guys its not thenplace to go.....


22 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ny
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 7, 2017
Great Experience

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights. We had a GREAT time. Employees were very helpful, extremely nice and polite. They were quick to assist us with whatever we needed. Our AC wasn't working the first day we arrived and we got a room upgrade at no additional cost. The balcony/ocean view was amazing, and the room was spacious enough for the both of us. Only downside about the room was that the toilets didn't always flush and the shower drain got clogged a few times(but it unclogged after 30 mins or so). Lastly the food was decent. The first day we were disappointed but the food surprisingly got drastically better after the first day! The seafood restaurant was our favorite place to eat. Also the indoor bar has 10x better drinks than the poolside bars. The beach was AMAZING!! Another perk was having someone come to our room daily to deliver sodas, water, beers etc. Right when you walk into the lobby you see the beautiful ocean view. The resort is well maintained and clean. Definitely book this hotel.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34

June 20, 2017
Great Place for Price

This place was awesome. The service was top notch. I was never disappointed with the food but wish there were more lunch options. The pools and bars and beach were all beautiful and so fun to hang out. My only complaints are that the sheets on the rooms were very scratchy. The rooms got very humid easily because they all had balconies overlooking the beach. I wish they would have more night life. They did have a show every night and that was awesome. But at 10 when it was over the place shut down. They should keep that room going with some dance music so people can hang out without leaving the resort. The resort offered transportation to and from the grounds to downtown Cancun for dancing and nightlife but I wanted to be able to stay and dance. Other than that it was amazing. And for the price it is unbeatable.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 25-34

February 23, 2017
Excellent Vacation Place

The resort was very clean and roomy. We were taken care of by a designated person (Petro) all the way from check-in till check-out. By request, we were provided the view with the beach side so we were very happy with the check-in staff. The restaurants were nice but they lacked vegetarian options. However, the chefs were nice enough to make something up for us - particularly David from the Claraboya snack and lunch restaurant. The bars and pools were never overcrowded and were maintained very well. The bartenders were very nice and always smiling - in particular Jose at the lobby bar. We were offered the 2for1 spa coupon which was amazing. It is a little expensive but definitely worth every dollar. The things that we disliked in the resort and they can improve upon: - It is okay to offer deals for vacation club but it was made mandatory for us and we had to go through 90 minutes of presentation/discussion full of sales propoganda which we did not like at all. Despite of telling them that we are not interested, they kept forcing us more into it. It was a very uncomfortable experience. - For restaurants, it would be nice to show a green leaf symbol to clearly indicate what is vegetarian and what is not. They have sings for vegan food but not for vegetarian. - Their mexican restaurant could use some more authentic mexican dishes. We felt that the selection was not enough.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Toronto, ON
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2017
Good but could be better

The resort is beautiful. It is well kept and clean. The ocean scenery is gorgeous. However the water is always rough as it faces the ocean. Our last day it calmed down a bit. The bars served the drinks rather light unless you asked for more. The food was NOT as good as other reviews made it sound. We are from Wisconsin so perhaps we are spoiled on our dairy products but almost anything dairy related was not good. Everything was cooked appropriate but lacked flavor. It was a major bust seems we chose this resort specifically for its food reviews. Room service was SLOW. It took over an hour to get my meal. At which point I fell asleep. Housekeeping was terrible. They left my room service food instead of taking it. Several days I left out dirty linen on the floor to be taken. It was not. The bed was always made but that was about it. The staff was very friendly. Quick to please. They did try to get us to attend a timeshare presentation. Didn't fall for it and just skipped out. Overall for the money spent it was worth it. Next time we will spend more and HOPEFULLY have good food. We were starving by the fourth day!


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hixton, Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 3, 2017

The resort is not terrible, but two big complaints; the restaurants and the harassing. The resort has 3 a la crate restaurants and one buffet for dinner. If you do not make reservations at the a la carte restaurants that morning that you can expect to wait anywhere from 15-45 minutes to get a table at the buffet. The buffet food is average at best. I have never been to an all inclusive that you have had to wait for a table in the main buffet. Also, the entire time they were trying to push their "vacation club". They roped us into meeting with someone about it on the first day and told us it would be 90 minutes. We spent close to 3 hours with them, even after I expressed I was not interested in it they would not let us go. Every time I went to make reservations they wanted us to sign up to go. I did not appreciate feeling like I was being pressured into signing up for something every time I talked to someone who worked in the resort. When you leave the resort so many people are trying to sell you things and are so pushy that when I am in my resort I would like to relax without that feeling.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Lexington, KY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2017
Outstanding in every way.

Having been to Cancun a million times, I'm always eager to try a different hotel on the strip. What a spectacular surprise was this property. I have stayed in the best and unfortunately in substandard hotels, but I have to say the Occidental Tucancun was quite perfect on every level. It was lively and happy, comfortable and relaxing..what more can one want?


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 21, 2017
Occidental

Such a wonderful resort we stayed at. The staffing members are very friendly and helpful. The Mexican restaurant was super entertaining. The seafood restaurant was EXCELLENT!!!! I don't think I've ever had such good food. Unfortunately we were unable to make reservations for the Italian restaurant. The adult only pool is very quiet and chill, but the other pool had a bar right by it and has excellent entertainment. The beach is wonderful as well! So clear, but lots of seaweed. I came with a group of 12 so it was well worth being all inclusive.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 7, 2017
Occidental Hotel in Cancun

Really lovely resort with lots of facilities to include several swimming pools, the beach, one could walk for miles, excellent service by all personal. Good meals Very helpful staff. Would come back again with friends


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New YOrk
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year