All

Occidental Grand Xcaret All-Inclusive Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 482 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"The only thing thing is the food is very repetitive, seems like you eat the same all the time. The Bed wasn't comfortable. Other than that I had a blast with my husband, I will go back!" – Cqueen
442 out of 557 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Xcaret Park Path past ruin. This is what they call the beach Great time with the fam in Riviera Maya Coati At the beach View of sea from rocky area the lobby area Overlooking the beach Climbed it... one of the pools The beach area Beach at Occidental Grand Xcaret Romantic Dinner on the Shore The 3 tier beach & lagoon Iguana Monkey Pool closest to our room Deer Grand Romance Desert Beach club view Beach Two macaws in the lobby Romantic Dinner on the Shore The village spiritual leader.. O2 Mexico - Whale Sharks are amazing animals In the pool

All Occidental Grand Xcaret All-Inclusive Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 482 reviews. Sort by
February 13, 2013
It was Ok...

Let me start off by saying that I used to think reviews like mine (what I'm about to leave) were nitpicky, but honestly, there are some good things about the place as well as things that can be improved. Because it was our honeymoon, we were given special wristbands which got us some special bennies (free bottles of booze, a Mimosa when we arrived, etc), which was pretty cool... but lord, that band was a curse too as every timeshare Rep they had hounded us til we broke down and took the tour. 90 minutes promised turned into three hours with a guy who missed his calling and should have sold Ginsu knives on late-night TV instead. DO NOT TAKE THE VIP TOUR! The rooms were very nice: no tub, but otherwise perfect: all rooms have either a balcony or patio, and the fridge is stocked daily. Maid service was great! There isn't much to do on the grounds of the resort: no snorkeling or jet skiing, and the beach is just a small cove. The guys passing out towels are also excursion reps: ya can't get a towel without hearing a spiel... we took one, to Isla Mujeres, and lord that was beautiful... all the same, though, it'd be nice if there was a little more to do... The restaurants... the a la carte (reservations needed) ones were worse than the buffet! The service in the two we tried was awful: you'd get one drink, but afterwards you had to find the waiter for a refill. We kept to the buffet afterwards: the food was better, and even though the service was still lousy we at least had more to choose from. The food was actually pretty good in the buffet... (Side note: service at the Beach Club buffet was always EXCELLENT! Best view too...) The grounds were very clean, and the people outside the restaurant were incredibly helpful: I lost my glasses one day, and the person at Guest Services found a place to get some made that day. Thank you Maria :) It was OK: I wouldn't hurry back to that resort unless there was a sale, and there are better choices up and down the coast.


194 of 201 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 15, 2013
Absolute Amazing Experience!

Read a lot of reviews before heading on vacation and boy were they off!! This is my 3rd all-inclusive and 3rd different resort and this was the absolute best hands down!!! They had something for everyone. 4-5 pools designed for the people that want to relax, or who want to have a few drinks, or who want to join in pool activities. The beach was awesome no problem finding 6 seats together. About 9 bars located all over the resort to get a cocktail or cold beverage. Rooms were clean and tidy, mini bar fully stocked every day, bed was a little stiff for my fiances taste. Greeted right when we got to the resort with some margaritas! We arrived at 1:00 check in was at 3:00. No problem they gave us our wrist bands and said the room would be ready at 3. We walked around visited the pool and beach. At 3 got our room keys and our luggage was taken to the room. Every building has your own conceirge to help book excursions or help with any problems you may have. Had a blast, restaurants and buffets were awesome everyone nice and polite. Had different contests and games through the day to keep the good times rolling. We WILL be going back next year!!!! Basically the resort has everything for a great time!!! If you are one of those people that only look for negatives and dont know how to have a good time, don't go to this resort...... or any resort for that matter, just stay home!!!


92 of 99 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Erie, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 26, 2013
one tequila...two tequila...three tequila...Floor!

My wife and I had a great time during our stay here. As soon as we made it to the hotel they carried our bags to our room and we were taken to speak to the manager and skip the wait at the front desk. The room was nothing to special, it was smaller than most we have stayed at in the states(Do not worry because you will spend very little time there). They have staff that work at the floor level of all the building and can get you headed in the right direction. I recommend scheduling you tours to everywhere you would like to go before you get there to avoid having to go to a meeting and listening to them try and sell you stuff. They had a trolly bus thing that took you around the hotel to from the lobby, pools, and "beach". The pools were huge and had plenty of room to have your own personal space(in the pool not the lounge chairs around the pool(they are packed early)) The "beach" was tiny and I put it in quotations because in reality the part of landscape next to the ocean is sharp sharp sharp rock(I thought it was amazing(but still not sand)).The "beach" they claim to have is dug about 100 yards in from the ocean and is so small that you almost brush shoulders to make it around there. The water does not have any waves(and it is not very deep), so I guess thats a plus if your bringing your children. There are plenty of places around the resort to sit around and meet all kinds of people. there are bars everywhere and waitress to bring you what ever drink you desire(be careful because they do not stop serving you). I gave the dinning options a four because the food at the buffets were absolutely delicious, however you have to make reservations to eat dinner at the majority of the dinning places there and a lot of times they book fast. I also gave the service a four because all the staff was great the whole time but when we were leaving we had to carry our own bags. It would not of had been a big deal but I mean if they carry your bags to your room they can take them back to the front when you leave. Bottom line they hotel was spectacular, if you go there you will love it and if you want to go to a sandy beach while your there the city if Play Del Carmen is a 8-10 Minute taxi ride away(there are taxies everywhere). If you would like to check out tulum take public transportation because its like an hour away. Good Luck. Hope my review helps someone! Just rememeber to familiarize your self as best as you can with the area before you go and your time there will be better spent.


72 of 77 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 14, 2012
Great Time at OGX

We had a great time at this hotel April 22-May3, 2012. It was a 50 minute drive from Cancun Airport. We used Entertainment Plus (USA Transfers) to/from the hotel and they were excellent. From arrival to departure at the hotel, everyone was friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was a standard room but was very clean with the minibar refilled daily and a very large shower with great water pressure. The concierge at the building was always helpful and friendly and they made our restaurant reservations - thank you Santos and Carl. The place is very large. There is a tram that takes you around which we found useful. Thank you Juan, the tram driver, who always waited for us when he saw us approaching. The Beach: this hotel does not have an ocean front beach but rather has a secluded lagoon which we liked a lot. If you are looking for pounding waves, this is not the place to go. The snorkeling is great right off the beach in the perfectly calm, clear water with plenty of fish. The bar service on the beach provided by Daniela and Ricardo was top notch! The buffets were ok, nothing spectacular, except for a few Mexican dishes at the beach buffet for lunch. The sit down dinners were very good and the staff was very attentive but you are limited to four nights per seven night stay in the specialty restaurants and you have to make a reservation. We saw Armando, the same head waiter, in two different restaurants and his attentiveness really made us feel special - thank you Armando! Xcaret Park: the park is connected to the hotel and is a five minute walk. The normal $100 ticket is discounted at the hotel for $79. Yes, we know this park gets great reviews but we could not see why. It was very expensive and once you got inside there were additional costs for many of the things you would have liked to do. There was a lot of walking around with not that much to see. The bat exhibit had no bats, the mushroom exhibit had almost no mushrooms, there were very few orchids in the orchid exhibit, there was one manatee in the manatee exhibit and so on. The butterflies, sea turtles and aquarium were nice. The snorkeling at the hotel was better than the park. The underground rivers had zero fish so I don't know why you snorkel and it so dark you saw nothing while wearing horrible vests which did not allow you to move very well through the water. They do collect all of your property when you enter the river, put it in a very large bag, lock it, give you the key and then transport the bag to the end of the river for you to pickup. If you did not buy the $119 ticket, then a buffet lunch is $30 ($30 for a buffet lunch in Mexico???). There is no water available in the park except for small bottles at $2.50 a bottle. The evening show gets great reviews but we could not see why. We left early, however, in all fairness, the Mexicans who are bused in just for the show loved it. If you have ever been to Disney, you will be disappointed. We would return to the hotel again particularly because of the lagoon.


54 of 58 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 21, 2012
AWESOME-

Awesome!!! Been to Hawaii, Japan,and Jamaica - I absolutely love this place... just bring your own beach towels and watch cloth.. Wach the time share people .. SAY - NO .... once you get off the plane keep going outside and fnd the taxi to take you to the hotel or if you purchase the service -look for them outside the building....do not talk to the people inside ..... SCAM When you get to the hotel - check in and head to your room, once again before you go to your room , you will be approached by the timesharer . get them to book your resturants get your tickets but say NO or you will get back to them to have breakfast. Go to EXCARET Park - get the multi day pass-$119..you can go to there park any time you want -lots to see and do but also there beach is wonderful !!!! We just got back - went in Sept and the weather was excellent and no crowds...LOVE IT!!! Oh the pictures do not do the place justice!! Going back next year.....


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: PHILLY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 10, 2013
Pretty Good Place

Our first impressions were incredible because It was very big and very nice. We just returned last week (July 2013) and had a great time. I honestly don't think we would return only because we would like to try different places. This resort was very clean and staff was wonderful! Our room was just okay. The view was not that great as it was of the lagoon running through the resort and completely covered by the big trees. With that said we didn't spend much time in the room at all. The Buffet got very old. They had the same food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We only ate there if we had to (it was the only food available at all times). The Beach Cafe was open for breakfast and lunch but they also had the same food. It was okay, though. It wasn't terrible or anything. The evening restaurants that you HAVE to make reservations for were great. What they don't tell you (or we didn't see) is that you only get to make three reservations. That's all. And…they fill up fast. We made reservations at the Steak House- our favorite - one morning and the earliest reservation they had was at 9:30pm the next evening! I would recommend making your "nice" dinner reservations as soon as possible. They tell you wine and lobster is not included but we were offered wine with dinner and were not charged. I was also told they do expect tips. We never felt like that, but did leave tips for the bell hop and at the "nice" restaurants. This company did a great job informing us to bypass all of the time share people on the property. We were warned ahead not to talk with them so we ignored them - even at the airport we were told not to talk to any people until we walked out! Thank you!! It's true! If I could give one piece of advice, it is to bring Off or other bug spray. There is water through the whole resort and mosquitos are bad! They sell Off and other brands but it is 9-10 dollars. There are plenty of bars throughout. It says there is a snack bar but we never found it (we didn't look either). But we didn't find ourselves to be hungry with three big meals a day. We actually came back without gaining a single lb too. I'm confident it is because the food was decent. Oh…another thing that is important to know, that we didn't care for…the walls are paper thin. I almost called the desk one day because the alarm clock next door went off for hours straight. As in, we left and came back and it was still going off. That was annoying. I could also hear the toilet flush, shower run, and baby crying next door. It was too bad, but annoyed me that I could hear it. Others warned us that it is not a "real" beach. It is a man made cove with the ocean about 100 yards out. That is real enough for me! I'll try and include a picture. It was super nice and better than a "real" beach because the sand was powder, not rocky like most American beaches I have been to.

Beach at Occidental Grand Xcaret
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 13, 2012
Everythiing Was Pretty Good...

This was our first time at an all-inclusive, so I don't have much to compare it to, but I'll give you the scoop on our trip. We booked the trip with Cheap Caribbean, which I was super happy about. It made coordinating the flight and the resort stay SO easy. I tried to do it myself for days, before I stumbled on Cheap Caribbean...it truly made everything so simple. Getting off our flight, we were naive and got pulled aside by one of the many men in white shirts and ties, offering us tips for staying in Mexico. They also are offering deals on excursions for a cheaper price than other companies. We thought they were trying to help us, but what it comes down to, in the very last sentence that they will quietly mumble and after they take your money, is that they are trying to sell you a timeshare. And, you will get the watered-down version of the excursion only after you spend an hour and a half listening to a presentation and meeting with their sales people. Anyway, some people might be interested in those things, but we weren't and felt pretty annoyed that they would take advantage of us new travelers. But, we learned a lesson, that counts for something! We thought the resort was beautiful. The grounds are pretty, the lobby is quite a site to see, and all the people were friendly. Our rooms were decent. I loved the never-ending hot water with good pressure and the maids always did a great job. We used the safe in the room, but beyond that, none of our other stuff was ever touched. My only two complaints about the resort... First, their beds are horrible! Seriously, it was about as good as sleeping on the ground. The pillows are nice, but my husband and I were moaning and groaning all night because of how hard the beds are. Plus, for some reason we were put on a full size bed, so we were in cramped quarters, as well. Also, it didn't help that I am 7 months pregnant, so I could feel the pain from the bed in my hips the entire day. They both felt bruised and they ached when I walked, I'm not even kidding. I highly suggest they at least by some pillow top, maybe memory foam covers for the beds. It would make their patrons so much happier! I noticed several people mentioned this problem in their reviews, as well. Second, the buffets. I would highly recommend taking the time to reserve dining at the specialty restaurants. They are much, much better than the buffets! There were a couple times where we found something at the buffet that was pretty good, but overall I was pretty bummed about the food. There is a TON to choose from, but lots of it is just a bin of random items mixed together, that don't really seem to go together. The labels are either non-existent or wrong, so most of the time you have no idea what is in front of you...which, usually means I'll pass. A lot of the food items seemed really watered down. They make crepes in the morning, which is awesome. But, the syrup is practically water, with no flavor. The orange, pineapple, and mango juice is all watered down, to the point where it's just kinda gross. The nacho cheese is also flavorless. At the specialty restaurants, the juice is much better. My suggestion to them would be to have section of the buffet always devoted to Mexican food, since we ARE in Mexico! Fresh tacos, enchiladas, rice, beans...things like that would be nice. (They do have a late night Mexican restaurant open upstairs, that is often much better than the buffet, with no reservation required.) Then for the rest of the buffet, properly label items and stay away from obscure mixtures, and don't water down the drinks and syrup! All in all, we still enjoyed our experience. And from what we heard from other guests, this resort is actually one of the best around, so maybe I shouldn't complain. :) We did a catamaran excursion to Isla Mujeres through the guy that gives you beach towels. It was great fun, and a pretty good deal. We also did an excursion to Tulum and a Cenote, both really awesome. It does get a little obnoxious always having people after you to book excursions and sit in on timeshare presentations. It's interesting how they will all bad-mouth the other companies. Once you book an excursion, you will be asked who you booked with from the other companies., and then be told that it was a big mistake. They all say that. We actually did our Tulum tour through Alma Tours (find it online.) They are an LDS based tour group, which suited us better. No drunk people, no bad-mouthing other tours, just great information with a competent guide. The flights to and from were pretty painless and this trip will be a great memory!


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Utah
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2012
All Inclusive is the ONLY way to go!!!!!

I want to thank Cheap Caribbean.com for one of the BEST vacations I have ever had. I've gone to St. Lucia , cruised the Caribbean, and spent time in Costa Rica for vacation and business. But overall this has been the most enjoyable and relaxing vacation I have every had! The hotel was great, the service and staff were very accommodating and very helpful!!!The food was delicious every time!!!The variety was good and the service was very good. Our room was wonderful and they even took care of my request for a king size bed! We asked for extra towels and before we hang up the phone they were knocking on the door! The entire resort was clean and neat! I would HIGHLY recommend the Occidental All Inclusive Vacation packages with CheapCaribbean.com.You guys have made vacationing simple, inexpensive and relaxing!!! Thank you...just what the doctor ordered!!!


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mableton, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 24, 2012

I was not impressed at all with this resort. Upon arriving at our room my girlfriend and I discovered we were given 2 double beds. I was told to call the front desk to get another room with a queen/king bed only to be told there where no other rooms available. Quickly after tipping the bell boy $20 he found us a room with a king size bed. The food was below average and the wait staff was terrible. It took over 2 hours to have dinner one night and we saw i waiter 2 twice. The only decent food was at buffet but the waiters bringing drinks were not attentive. The majority if the staff was rude and not willing to help in anyway by being dismissive and sayin they didn't not understand English. I know I'm in their country and I should speak their language but this is the first time I've ever had this issue at a resort. The beach area was very small and overcrowded. The drinks from the bar were good with generous amounts of alcohol. The beach chairs were weathered and worn out. Most needed to be replaced. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and house keeping did an excellent job! The actual mattresses were very uncomfortable and hard to sleep on. Overall I did not like this resort and I will not return. Also I would not recommend this resort to anyone. For a 6 day stay with airfare I paid a little over $1,600 for 2 people. Last year, for $300 more I stayed at a 5 star hotel and got much better service, excellent room and great food. If you are looking for a bargin resort deal be patient and wait for a better establishment.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Fort Worth, Tx
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 25, 2013
Winter Escape

We needed a quick escape for the family and our 3 year daughter wanted to go to the beach. This resort was perfect for us. They had a wonderful little beach cove for our daughter to play in. it was also next to Xcaret park (2 Minute walk). Daughter was able to get up close to sea turtle release, manta rays, and dolphins. Very relaxing trip and we all had a wonderful time. Only negative experience was related to the vacation property (time share) sales persons. They tended to be very pushy until you attended their sale pitch. After that and a talk with the general manager, we had no issues with sales persons.

Winter Escape Winter Escape
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year