All

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 107 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.3 out of 5
"Beautiful resort, great service. Room not the best." – Whatnameisokay
76 out of 134 (57%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Reef Explorer Excursion Room Night entertainment Excellent Caprese View overlooking the main pool water pouring from our ceiling First view of pool exiting lobby Bath was gross The Royal Club Beach bar fridge was a joke bathtub

All Occidental Grand Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 107 reviews. Sort by
September 2, 2014
Exciting place would recommend going again

Your website has really changed to a five star traveling center. I really recommend now. It was really easy for my parents to travel there and visit the Caribbean.. Thank you so much. The hotel was great.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: atlanta
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Annoyed

Once arriving to the resort we were greeted with yummy pink drinks and friendly service! Upon check in the front desk informed us how busy the resort was and that they were even over booked. We were traveling with friends and asked to be roomed close to them, which initially we were 2 doors down. When we went to enter our room the housekeeper informed the bell boy helping us that our room was already in use. The bell hop then called the main desk and figured things out for us, and in turn our room was moved to a different floor further away from our friends. Once settled we went to explore and we're instantly bombarded with people in our face badgering us to buy their jewelry, products, etc. and they are extremely pushy and not very polite. After viewing a little bit of the resort we return to our building where we are greeted by a nice man that says he is here to help us, if we need anything let him know. He then tells us that to help him out we should attend this meeting and we can leave after breakfast, and that he will get a bonus for it. We weren't too keen on the idea but figured we would give it a try. Once at the meeting there are more pushy salespeople trying to sell you/explain to you that if you buy into their vacation club that you get way better service than you're receiving and for less price. Ugh. We learned very quickly to not stop when one of the sales people head your way and to just keep walking. The food is excellent, and the pool and beach are very nice also!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Hornell, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 12, 2014
Great Place to Stay!

The resort did meet my expectations for the money that I paid. Overall, the resort was a great.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bayamon, Puerto Rico,
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2014
Not what I expected at all

Ocean, weather, and beach were beautiful. The room was not cleaned properly, shower curtain and wall in shower had something that looked like blood stains. Lamps on wall falling apart literally. Customer service poor. Staff concerned only when you first arrive and trick you into a VIP breakfast stating you'll get a gift and denied that it was sale oriented, also saying 90 minutes total discussion about the resort. Lies.....it was all about buying into a VIP program,wouldn't let me go no matter how much I wanted to leave. Took over 3 hours of my life that I'll never get back. After I said no to their nonsense sales pitch They would walk right by me on the resort like I was invisible . Also staff would benefit from smiling and at least pretend like they like their job. Overall island is great not this particular resort. Made the best out of it and spent all my time on the beach. Also, entertainment awful. So pathetic .


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 21, 2014
Great Time!!

After reading many reviews, I was starting to get a little worried. My husband and I stayed for 5 nights and upgraded to Royal Club. The room was so nice. Clean and the air conditioner worked great. With the upgrade we got free wifi and lock to safe. Everyone was very nice and I did not encounter any rudeness. The food wasn't the highest quality but there was something for everyone. The restaurant for Royal Club was really nice. We ate at the steak house and that was pretty good. It was a great time and worth the money.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44

July 2, 2014
Worst vacation I ever had

A regrettable first impression of the Occidental grand Punta Cana has prompted me to write you. Though this historic property boasts an impeccable reputation, I was extremely unsatisfied with my experience so far. Its June 29, 2014 and I already feel the need to report such an experience. My name is Angel Fayson and my booking is for June 26- July 02. I ask that corrective action be taken. Outlined below are the reasons that the Occidental grand Punta Cana utterly failed to meet my reasonable expectations. 1. Thursday June 26, 2014 The guest room was the biggest disappointment. Room 11-105, I was disgusted to find a guest room with an odor. The floor and bathroom was very dirty and un-pleasing. The historical nature of the building does not justify such disrepair and lack of cleanliness. The mini refrigerator was not working. I called down to the front desk and reported the issue of the refrigerator and the floors at about 2 hours after check-in, so I would say around 5 pm. No one ever came to fix the refrigerator or clean the room. 2. Friday June 27, 2014 Me and my husband went down to the front desk to speak with someone about the issues we were having. Spoke with Reyne and we asked if we could change rooms and we were told we would have to pay to upgrade to a better room. We decided to upgrade to a Royal Club member. But then we were told that they didn't have any Royal Club member rooms available, but that they would have it available Sunday June 29 and that they would switch our bands so we can enjoy the benefits of being a Royal Club Member and give us a better room until Sunday June 29th, which we would then be moved to a Royal Club member room. We were moved to room 11-314. 3. There was a guy by the name of Jeffery #1 is what he called himself. He was stationed at the Concierge desk located on the first floor of our building. He keep following us around insisting that we had a free welcome gift. After multiple times of running into him and of him saying he wanted to schedule a time for me to pick it up, we finally schedule it for Saturday June 28. So at about 12:30 pm on June 28, we met him and he checked our Id's and jotted a few information down on a slip of paper and tried to get me to sign, I noticed that in order to receive a free gift, that I would have to sit through a 60 minute presentation about investing in timeshare. I told him that I did not want waste my vacation at a presentation. He stated that I would not have to sit 60 mins only 5 and then I could leave, and that.. If I could please assist him with the favor cause he really needed the commission. May I just say, very unprofessional. I was completely annoyed and just wanted he to leave me alone. So I went to the presentation and told the manager that we were being followed and lured into a presentation on false advertisement. 4. After a very annoying day, on June 28, 2013 Me and my husband book a tour to the Hard Rock Casino to gamble and visit a club by the name of Oro, we thought maybe a little outing would be a breath of fresh air. We were picked up at the front lobby at 11:20 pm on Saturday night. When we returned back to Occidental grand Punta Cana at about 3:30 am Sunday morning, the driver was stopped at the gate and was not able to enter to drop us back off to the front lobby. Everyone else on the tour bus that was staying at other locations in Punta Cana were all dropped off to the front lobby of their locations. But when we were getting dropped off, the employee at the gate (which I was unable to get his name) stopped the driver at the gate and the driver told us that he couldn't go in, and we had to get off there. When we got off the bus, we asked could he call someone with a golf cart to pick us up, we were told no. So we had to walk about 2 miles in the dark at 3:30 in the morning. Once we reached the front gate, we asked to speak to a manager, we spoke with Francisco. We asked him to explained to us why the driver could not drop us off where he picked is up at, and why the gate guard stopped him from coming through the gate, he states that he did not know why. So he called the gate guard on the phone and asked him why.., and then he told us that the gate guard stated that it was the driver and not him. At that moment I was very livid, due to the fact that I saw him stop the driver. Me and my husband told him that we would be back in the morning to speak with someone who would be able to explain the inconvenience of letting two of your guest walk almost 2 miles at 3 in the morning and put us in such danger. 5. June 29, 2014 After feeling like this vacation was a mistake and it could not get any worse, me and my husband visited the front desk to speak with some about the previous night, and also the see what time would we be changing rooms that we were promise on June 27. First we spoke with the manager of security about the previous night, we were then told that, the reason why the bus driver was denied access to drop us off at the front lobby is because after 11 pm, the club called Mangu, which is located on Occidental grand Punta Cana property opens up and everyone that passes through the gate have to pay 10 dollars. Which I was completely oblivious to understand, when I have seen multiple guest dropped off by taxi's and busses after hours. But at that moment I was drained and completely dissatisfied with Occidental grand Punta Cana hotel. So then I spoke with a gentleman by the name of Marcos, and I asked him when would our room be ready that we were promised, and then I was told to call the royal club desk and see if they have anything available. June 30, 2014 All of the lights cut off at about 11 pm, on June 29, 2014 there's no water, you can't flush the toilet and it's extremely hot everywhere. It is now June 30th the next day at 530 pm and still no lights, water, air! You take a moment and judge the experience. My stay at your hotel was the worst experience I have ever encountered while vacationing. There were other issues as well, such as, at the concierge desk not being knowledgeable of historical sites of interest in the area. I intended to address these issues before checking out because I knew I would be traveling extensively over the next few months and not have time to deal with this issue. So I am writing this email to inform to how upset and very disappointed I am. This was not what I expected out of such a reputable hotel and I would presume you agree that though unfortunate, my experience does not characterize your hotel in general. I did enjoy a wonderful meal at Las Reses and I had a great time at the beach. But this does not make up for the problems noted above. I expected the Occidental grand Punta Cana to surpass other Occidental properties but was greatly disappointed. I trust you can insure me that my experience was contrary to the high standards you insure for your guests. Respectfully, Sweetisyss


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Miami fl
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 29, 2014
Great views but bad service

Great view and very close to the beach. Room service was very good and quick but the constant bother of staff attempting to sell VIP or VACATION CLUB memberships was down right ridiculous!!! We had to walk around the resort with our heads down to not make eye contact the entire trip. I also was not informed that the room would charge to use the phone for a local call I made to confirm my shuttle ride reservations. (charged $16.00 upon check out). The selling of excursions, photos, souvenirs were very very aggressive!!! The service on getting things fixed was terrible as well. The toilet took 5 phone calls, two in person visits to (guest services) and 3 days to finally get working (very frustrating). The Air Conditioner was turned down to the absolute lowest setting 60 degrees but still struggled to keep the room cool the entire time. Food was great but again the service at "Le Buffet" was terrible, very hard to get someone to refill your drink of water without flagging someone down and then the staff seemed rude when they finally did come by to service your needs. Overall the service was annoying and terrible but the views and area were very very nice. I will not be going back to this resort as I think others are better quality and hopefully have better service.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas (United States)
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2014
absolutely beautiful, but a few issues

The resort was absolutely beautiful. The beach was breathtaking and the pools were huge. The only problem was the service and the food. The employees were very pushy and constantly pushing you to try to buy something or go on an excursion. It's hard to communicate with them as well if you don't speak English. Also, when we arrived, they had sent one of the couples traveling with us to another resort. When we confronted them about it, they gave us a lot of trouble. I went with a group of about 20 and everyone kept getting sick from the food.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 19-24

June 4, 2014
Worst trip thus far!!!

This was the worst all inclusive trip I have been on in years. The resort is very low class I think because it is a poorer country. Hardly any English speaking...even during events and service. There was no name brand liquor, such as Crown, Jack Daniels, etc., unless you belong to the royal club! Ice must be like gold, because they don't have hardly any...all drinks are warm, including the beer. The lights in the resort would just go out and stay out for periods of time. Water shut off one day while lathered in the shower! Several times they didn't even give us wash clothes in our room! Can't drink the water, but they limit the amount of bottled water they give you in your room. Had to have the repairman come to fix the air in our friends room...twice! Not much variety in the buffet meals... Everything is a haggle session...from excursions to souvenirs. We will never go back to Punta Cana!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 45-54

May 27, 2014
You get what you pay for

I just recently stayed at Occidental for the Urban Paradise...The customer service was not the best..for example, I had to practically beg the staff to clean the table off at the buffet, communicating with the staff was frustrating as they barely spoke or understood English, you are told not to drink the the water, however, you have 2 ask for bottle water to brush your teeth. The food was horrible with the exception of the oriental restaurant. The internet was $60 for week when other resorts offer it for free. There is a $4 a day charge for a lock to secure your valuables in a safe. On a positive note, the resort was very clean and most of the bartenders were great.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Newark, NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year