All

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 94 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.2 out of 5
"Great entertainment team. Amazing shows daily. Very friendly barmen in the lobby bar and in the beach restaurant" – LK11
69 out of 120 (58%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Room Reef Explorer Excursion View overlooking the main pool water pouring from our ceiling bathtub Excellent Caprese Bath was gross First view of pool exiting lobby The Royal Club Beach Night entertainment bar fridge was a joke

All Occidental Grand Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 94 reviews. Sort by
March 20, 2014
Great time!! Great value!!

We had lots of choices & are glad that we went to the Occidental Grand. We went with friends & we are divers. We requested a room near the beach & dive shop & near each other. When we arrived we weren't together but the staff especially Ruth ( check in ), Ingrid, & Cristina (Royal Club ) were SOOO helpful and nice that everything was perfect. Our rooms were next to each other.We stayed at the Royal Club which I highly recommend, since there are perks to staying at that area. We had a private section of beach with awesome cabanas, a superior restaurant right there, and a huge jetted pool! Samuel and Jesus (meow!) made our meals there really fun. We enjoyed the steak restaurant but the Oriental was a disappointment. The restaurant at the club was so good that after a day or 2 we ate there most of the time. The quality of the food, the staff, and the atmosphere were superior there. The buffet surely had a huge selection, though, Anyone who complains about the food there is crazy! We travel to the Carribbean often and the beach there is exquisite! The landscaping is beautiful and staff is constantly working to keep the resort clean & in good repair. We did 4 dives. Harold in the dive shop was very attentive. We went on a day trip to Catalina Island to dive on the Carribean side which I highly recommend for diving & snorkeling. The wall there was particularly nice. We had an excellent trip and for the price it was a fantastic deal!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Paltz NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 5, 2014
Buyer beware

Booked a trip thru cheapcarribean.com For 8 people including 4 kids under 7yrs old. when we got to the resort we were told that the hotel was overbooked and we would be sent to a different hotel for 3 days and then would have move back for the rest of the vacation . We practically begged them to let us stay the whole trip at their resort of the other but they would NOT accomodate. The shift manager promised to get in touch with us the next day at the hotel to help us but was never heard from again. Overall it took me 3 days to resolve my issue and needless to say was not able to enjoy our family vacation to the fullest.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston, ma
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 20, 2014
Heavy soliciting and poor plumbing

Beach is good except:: minor negative is waves, major negative is locals are allowed to walk between benches and won't let you to relax or to sleep - every minute somebody screams Oh, Smoky! or Siggarrooss !! etc. Food in all four restaurants is not eatable. Period.They use cheapest meet not chewable at all and call it tenderloins. The buffet is good, although the same meat is used too. The room we had was averaged except clock did not work and the coffee maker leaked, but the plumbing and bath tub was horrible: the enamel of the tub broke in a hundred spots, water stayed in the sink, bath tub faucet did not work, there was no way to fill the tub but using something like a sock, and every morning we had a leak from upstairs. Numerous requests to maintenance did not fix a thing. The good thing - the shower worked and we always had hot water.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Cherry Hill, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2013
Great city poor resort

I LIKED: The style of the room The beds were comfy. The beach at the resort. Club Mangu at the resort I DID NOT LIKE: Restaurant selection (redundant and mundane) (steakhouse was advertised on website and by cheapcaribbean but was closed) Horseback Riding (was listed by hotel and cheapCaribbean, that activity was removed from inclusive a year ago) Guest service (became annoyed with us because we pointed out misinformation from resort) one of the housekeepers took my cell phone charger from our room her personal use. GET A SAFE NEED TO KNOW Staff speak very little English. A lot of things are inaccessible to NON MEMBERS.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 18, 2013
Grounds pool and beach nice.. All else very poor

The good.. Pools, grounds, and beach The bad: Ridiculous restaurants and menus with no attempt to actually bring quality or authentic food. Advise to management, hire a consultant to get your restaurants and menus in oder and take some pride in them and customer satisfaction and experience.. I can find the same food at the buffet. Instead of having dozens of people out harrasing us and trying to sell is vacation packages and excursions put them to work keeping the chairs on the beach in order and functioning. You have one pool bar. Take some pride and renovate it .. Painted cement walls are not very good looking .. Some wood or babmboo walls behind the pool bar with neon light signs, a tv , and nicely stacked bottles does t take much effort, stop being lazy. Management also lies about the availability of restaurants and seating. When i arrived they told me i was no availabilty in oriental rest, and that steak house was closed due to renovation, only mexican and itailan option. Then they told me they will let me have oriental bit when we arrived at the oriental restaurant it was closed do to technical diff and they moved us to the steakhouse which was clearly not under renovations. Liars. Last thing.. Your liquor is horrible, prob the worst i have ever tasted and im not picky about liquor and wine .. I had to buy bottles at dinner cause i coudnt swallow the sour wine they serve for free


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Nj
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 10, 2013
You get what you pay for

The Dominican Republic is definitely the best "bang for your buck" as far as the Caribbean goes. The hotel was nice and clean. However on the third day of our trip two of us got food poisoning. There was another group at the hotel who also had a member get food poisoning. The beach was great, but being sick really ruined the trip.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34

October 29, 2013
VERY Dissappointed

Last year, we went to the Occidental Grand in Cozumel. So this year, we decided to go to the Occidental Grand in Punta Cana. We've been to Punta Cana a number of times, and the beaches there are beautiful. When we arrived, and checked in, the people at the desk were not as friendly as I usually expect. The first thing that turned me off to this place is that the resort charges you $25.00 for a lock for the safe. I've traveled with Cheapcaribbean since it has started, and this has never happened to me. Next, I requested a non smoking room, close to the beach. They gave us a room the furthest from the beach, and it absolutely stunk of smoke. The bed had a big burn mark on it also. I took a picture of it. The smell of the room was so bad that my wife had to spray the pillows in order to sleep. I complained to the manager, and the next day they gave me another room. During the week, I couldn't believe how the workers there would turn their heads the other way, and ignore you when you tried to get their attention. I found this very strange. I also found that other guest did the same. In the past, when I went to Punta Cana, the people there were always friendly, and helpful. During the week, I also noticed that most of the guest at the resort had blue wrist bans. The people of the United States all had red wrist bans. When I was walking the beaches and talking to vacationers from other resorts, they all had the same complaints. They mentioned the food being bland, and the workers not being friendly. Most of these people were from the United States. After talking to some people we met from Holland, I was informed that most of the vacationers in Punta Cana now are from Russia. This explained the reason why when you pass by someone at the resort, and said hello, they would just look at your wrist ban, and not even have a greeting. I found this to be a very strange, and unfriendly attitude. The beach, as I said, is beautiful. When on vacations previously, the beach venders were discouraged from coming up to the resort, and heckling the customers. Here, they didn't seem to care. I noticed two young girls being harassed by the venders for two days. I finally said something to the venders, and the next day to the security guard. Finally, for the last three days of our vacation, the security guards kept the venders away. With this knowledge, and way we were treated, I will not be going back to Punta Cana again. I would also recommend to Cheapcaribbean customers to do the same. The Occidental Grand in Cozumel was GREAT. Punta Cana, POOR.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New England
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2013
NEVER Again

Poor service, outdated facilities, poorly managed, tattered furniture, terrible, horrible, disgusting customer service, never received welcome fruit tray and rum, no free amenities, expensive Wi-Fi and safety box services, non working telephones, unsafe, no lifeguards present on the beach, robbed of cell phone and eye glasses, mini bar never fully replenished, no coke or ginger ale, food and local liquors are low quality. Bands are given to guests based on the packages they purchased. Had I known that this hotel used bands to differentiate levels of customer service, I would have either purchased the best package, or stayed at a true all-inclusive resort that treated all their guests with high level of customer service. I would not recommend this resort to a foe. A substandard resort on an unwelcome island. Go elsewhere and spend your money. This resort should be a 1 star motel.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York Metro Area
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 4, 2013
buffet was much BELOW AVERAGE

SO MANY GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS HOTEL. The staff was most helpful,eventhough few knew much English which may be because they have so many natuinalities including many Russians. Just sad the food was below average--eventought the "specialty restaurants were just passable. The "steak" regardless of when it was served was terrible-too much fat and gristle.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Memphis TN
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 3, 2013
1st and last time

Just came back from a 5day vacation in Punta Cana..staying at the Occidental. The resort itself was pretty basic; if your used to staying at the Wynn, Four Seasons or the Ritz Carlton..your getting the Best Western at the Occidental. The best thing about the resort was the concierge's, bartender, food servers. The first day at the Occidental we were bombarded by venders that were not on the outside but inside the resort that we spent the first day trying stay away from and instead of being able to tour around and get a look at the place. Oh and pool with swim up bar were under construction The bathrooms are very low budget, molded tubs, there is no such thing of extra towels or wash clothes; seemed like a prison system give 1 towel, you get 1 towel. The food at the resort was all over the place and I found myself eating fish and salad everyday. They offered 3 restaurants along with the buffet (Italian, Chinese and Mexican all menus and meal tasted like TV dinners). The best part of the trip was relaxing and not having to get up early and of course the friendships we made while there. Lastly, the excursions - I did a few but are all very expensive and a rip off- swimming with the dolphins $150 per person...Riding the ATV's $97 per person and they don't tell you that your riding in horse and cow poo and then they also stop several times in the heart of all these pan-handlers begging for money and your spending 15-20 minutes saying "sorry no money". Yeah, this was our first and last time in Punta Cana


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year