All

Occidental Grand Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 140 Reviews
Value
 
3.4
Service
 
3.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.2 out of 5
"I thought that this Hotel was exceptional for the price that was paid. I would stay at this hotel again and would book thru cheap caribean.com" – kellyjo
92 out of 169 (54%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Reef Explorer Excursion bathtub water pouring from our ceiling Room Hotel Beach The Royal Club Beach View from room 26223 Our view. Bath was gross First view of pool exiting lobby Night entertainment 1st morning Excellent Caprese View overlooking the main pool bar fridge was a joke

All Occidental Grand Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 140 reviews. Sort by
September 1, 2012
Worst all inclusive I have ever stayed

Please read*** We are a mid 30's couple who stayed at occidental in august. We have been to many all inclusive resorts and by far this is the worst one we have ever stayed at. I wont put down the food or drinks here but the service and rooms were horrific. We were ready to come back after the 2nd day. Major issues are the room and lack of customer service to fix the issues. We are pretty laid back people but this resort really got to us. The good: Food and the pools are nice. The bad -everything else.We arrive and they gave us a room which looked like it was never cleaned and had the worst smell. We know from trvaleing before that there is a moist smell in room but this was pure mold. We asked for a room change which they ok'd so they drove me around to 4 different rooms. Each one geetting worse than the other. One floor was covered in water . So finally the guy at the desk said I can upgrade to an oceanview for half price. So we okd it,but it was the worst mistake ever. It was worst than our original room. Mold everywhere in plain sight, the fridge did not work, the a/c shut off and took a day to fix, our bathroom roof fell down on the 4th day and poor water from the upstair everywhere in our room, we called and said it was an emergency , they came 3 hrs later and plugged it up and the next day it did the same thing , the poor maid had to keep coming in and mopping for us and then she just gave us a hefty supply of bath towels to clean it up. We callled and called no one ever came. The bathroom had mold and the bathub had rust all over it. see pics below. I am warning you not to go there even thought the price seems nice.I have never had an experience like this. We felt like we got our vacation stolen from us an we waited all year for this.

bathtub water pouring from our ceiling
83 of 86 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2011
worst service

Only after hours of pleading and becoming ill from the broken a/c in our 1st room we were moved to 25-215. Unfortunately, that moved cost me $650.00, I left my Iphone in the 1st room (broken a/c) trying to get out of there so quickly. I never use my phone on international trips due to expense, but, did check a text message from my mother, while, attempting to go to bed in the overheated room= I know the phone was in the bed-last place we were before room change. I returned to the housekeeper who was there cleaning a nearby room with her supervisor to advise them of my dilemma, since, whomever cleaned the room had the phone. They both said no, in a tone as if I was bothering them, I was polite they were almost rude. The 8am concierge at the 24 bldg further advised me that I would “not be lucky enough to get a phone back”. I take trips every 3 months and I have never been unlucky enough to have possessions lost or stolen. I then sought help from concierge, front desk, guest services, security and again no help. It’s sad my phone was not returned by housekeeping, it’s even sadder no apology, no incident report, nor a follow up call back out of 7 employees. After finally giving up after 2days of no customer service and not wanting to further ruin my husband’s birthday. We went out on the resort for drinks- all watered down. I have done all inclusive at Princess Resorts in Riviera Maya- the service, drinks and amenities are 100x better. Needless to say I will not return and will tell all I know about my experience as they ask in excitement “how was the Dominican?” False advertised all inclusive - horseback riding, we asked and guest services advised there was none. ATM broken, WIFI charge, in room safe charge, in room fridge warm, white towels almost brown, a dingy robe you would not want to put on, store on the resort charge $16.00 US dollars for a can of off insect repellent, spa services uses 1.00 store products for $65.00 facial. Romance package we upgraded to- was a job in itself. Advertised in room massage was not in room, romantic dinner we did not get because it’s only offered on Sat and Tues. Only plus was the beach (that’s nature) and pools. All else need intense overhaul at best starting with customer service! With disappointment


44 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: houston, tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 29, 2012
Worst Room You could ask for

The vacation was a good deal, but once seeing my room i would not go back. My pillow case had someone elses blood on it. The ceiling was fallling apart. Our tv did not function properly and the room stank. The food on the buffet was not so aapetizing, but the other resturnants were very good. The steak house was exceptional. The pools were ok, after the natives cleared out. The water on this side of the island is not clear, so dont think it is. Service was average. Dont get roped into the "non time share discussion". Told would take 60 mins and took 3 hours. We walked away becasue it was very shiesterish. If you want nice room ask for the Royal lcub rooms they are gorgoues.


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2012
Attention to detail

Initially we believed that this resort was wonderful, however after comparing it to other resorts we found it to be only average at best. Based on its price point, we do believe we received our "moneys worth". There are superior resorts in the Dominican Republic and the old saying, you get what you pay for is quite appropriate in this case. We were NOT dissatisfied, we just questioned ourselves, should we have spent more money for a nicer resort from the start ? The people we must say were FANTASTIC in all three resorts we visited on a 11 day stay in this Island nation.


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tampa , Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 24, 2011
Occidental Grand Punta Cana

The resort was very nice. The rooms were large. However, our room had an extra bed. All of the staff were excellent and very helpful. The buffet meals were satisfactory. We were able to eat in the onsite restaurants for dinner on three of the six nights. The entrees were better, while the salads, soups, and desserts were the same. The most frustrating part was having to listen to the sales pitch for the Occidental Grand which took several hours even though we were not interested in purchasing a plan. Definitely go para sailing with the group at the hotel. It was a wonderful experience. Find out the prices before hand, so you can haggle over the final price.

Occidental Grand Punta Cana
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: western Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2012
Romantic,relaxing vacation-just perfect

We have been to Occidental Punta Cana 6 times now--we enjoy it so much we keep coming back! We have brought our adult children 3 times, came by ourselves twice and this time we came with another couple who are dear friends of ours. The beach is beautiful-kept so clean! We love the ocean, so we don't really spend much time at the pools. The staff are all so friendly and helpful-Raphael in the Italian Restaurant; Samuel, Jesus, Ippolito, Marino and all the other waiters in the restaurant; Teylor at the beach restaurant and the bartenders, especially at the NIcky bar--they all go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We continue to recommend Occidental to our friends. Thanks for a really great time!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Connecticut, USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2012
Best Vacation Of Our Lives

The vacation was amazing!! Well worth the money that we had spent. The resorts rooms were clean, a little out dated, but clean. THe beach was absolutely amazing, white sand and crystal clear water. The pools were warm and clean. The food was alright, a hit and miss, at some of the buffets. The service is outstanding!!! Everyone with a smile on their face and always a hello my family!! :) The party boat is a must!! We had an excellent time, highly recommend this resort to anyone!!! Great price !!! Thanks Cheap Carribean and Occidental Grand Punta Cana, for the vaction of a lifetime!!!!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lowell, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 12, 2011
Someone should teach a CUSTOMER SERVICE class.....

We had to be switched to this resort after we changed from one in Puerto Plato due to the airport we flew into. No one made us aware of the distance between Punta Cana and Puerto Plato, so the emergency agent was happy to help us find another resort and we paid the difference to be relocated. The resort was amazing but if you are American, the language barrier presents a HUGE problem and the level of customer service is not even comparable to what you would get here in the USA. They act as if they are assisting a relative and it's not big deal and they can take their time or talk on their cell phones before assisting you (which someone at the front desk did do), so get ready for that!


21 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: ATLANTA, GA
Age: 25-34

May 15, 2013
Tampa Bob

My wife and I had a great time, the staff is very friendly and attentive. The beach is absolutely beautiful. We bought the horseback riding, dune buggy and deep sea fishing excurtions. You do not have to experience the dune buggy and horseback riding choices as they cover most of the same trails. The dune buggy is the better choice. The two negatives about the hotel is that they allow approved vendors within the premises to panhandle their wears and we waisted 2 hours listening to a Vacation Club sales pitch. Besides the two negatives mentioned, I would recommend the Occidental Grand Resort.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tampa, Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 24, 2012
Occidental Review

Spirit air is very uncomfortable. There is NO LEG ROOM ! The representative from Olumpus Tours - Poli , was terrific. Made us feel at ease and was great at giving us our options and arranging for us to have a better room. He truly wanted our vacation to go well. So glad he was our rep. Our first night at the hotel - its so noisy and the bathrooms are old, very old , never updated. You hear the people above you , next to you and the people in the halls as well. People are shouting the hallways at 3am and pounding on doors. Felt like a college campus rather than a resort. After the first night they moved us to a much better room as far as noise and it was slightly nicer as well. The bathroom was the same and the toilets turned off when you jiggled the handle and after shower there you needed a mop for the floors.The beds in both rooms were like sleeping on the floor. The pools had children everywhere and people would just throw their stuff on the grass area around the pool since every available lounge chair had a towel on it meaning off limits to anyone else. Even though the people were not on the chairs most of the time. So the pool area was not to classy. People laying out where ever they could throw their towel . The best thing was that they provided hobie cats, wind surfers and kayaks and wind surfing lessons. That really was great and we spent our days doing that. As for the food , the buffet was actually quite good. The specialty dining rooms - steak house , oriental and italian were a big dissappointment. I did get an intestinal infection on my last night , no fun. The shows were not good on thurs and friday , but the saturday evening show was pretty good. As for service , 50% of the time they were not friendly and didn't seem like they knew what good service is. However, there were times when the service was excellent. We had nice time, and would definatley look for resort that comes with the water sports. I would also check the date of when the resort was built or updated. The fee of $1250 including air was fair , but honestly not a great deal. We have booked less expensive trips at far better resorts. By the way the transportation to and from the hotel was very good.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year