All

Occidental Grand Papagayo All-inclusive Adults Only Resort Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 37 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.3
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.6 out of 5
"overal it's a nice trip, however, the dinning options are limited, we couldn't book any of the ONLY TWO restaurants. We got stucked with buffet breakfasts, lunches, and dinners." – JAKEJAKE
28 out of 41 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Playa del Coco, Costa Rica

All Occidental Grand Papagayo All-inclusive Adults Only Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 37 reviews. Sort by
December 29, 2012
PUSHY Sales People

Upon booking our vacation no where was it stated that we would be expected to sit through a sales presentation. Immediately upon our arrival at the Occidental Grand Papagayo we were registered in then met by Absadul. He asked if he could take us to breakfast the 1st morning. It's an all inclusive resort so we thought this a little strange. He then asked what kind of things we'd like to do while we were there. At this point he offered to have us driven down to town to shop, which was one of the things we had mentioned. We inquired about breakfast being a timeshare presentation. He assured us that NO it wasn't anything like that. Finally we agreed to meet him for breakfast. The next morning after discussion with the family we decided we did not want to do this. We met Absadul and told him that NO, in fact we had changed our mind and did not want to go to breakfast. He was adamant that we had agreed and proceeded to tell us that he would be in trouble with Michael, who at that very time walked by. I waived Michael down to tell him that we had changed our minds about having breakfast with Absadul and we did not want him to get in trouble. He waived his hand towards us and said no problem, like he didn't have time to for us. Absadul was obviously very dissappointed and sweating profusely. He proceeded to hound other "guests". We later find out that it's a "Vacation Discount Club" that they try to get you to buy into. This whole scenario got our vacation off to a sour start. We will NEVER visit an Occidental property again, for this one and only reason. Our maids did an OUTSTANDING job of cleaning our room. Fresh sheets and towels every day, Our whole floor was mopped every day. The ladies we saw worked all 7 days we were there and they started work about 7:00AM and were still there late into the evening. If you do not want to be hounded about their "Vacation Discount Club" presentation then please find a different resort to stay at!


59 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Kansas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 7, 2015
Nice resort, great vacay

Our stay at the Occident was nice, after reading other reviews was a bit nervous about the resort however once we arrived and was welcomed with a cool cloth and drink while we checked my nerves calmed. Once we were registered I didn't like the aggressiveness to attend the vacation presentation, part from this it was nice. The pool was extremly warm I assumed due to direct sun however there was a waiter available to take beverage orders. We stayed in building 16, great view of the ocean, great distance for walking to and from pool and beach If needed, there is quite a few stairs from the lobby to the pool however the view is awesome and there is a shuttle always available. The restaurant we rsvpd at the Italian and Oriental was tasty. There's also a buffet and snack bar available daily, no reason not to have a meal. The staff was excellent and the property is well maintained. The beach is a natural beach with lots of available lounge chairs, a tide schedule is given to guest which is a great need. I could go on however all went well for us, we really enjoyed our stay and the staff and guest.


26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Decatur, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 18, 2012
12/03/11 Vacation

For those with the negative reviews I read, I suggest you do more research on location prior to travel (both country and hotel). 2nd trip to Costa Rica and had no issues. Hotel met expectations - not over crowded, food OK to very good (sea food night the best and why I rate the food a "3.5" overall), service was courteous and responsive when requested, lots of wildlife (and for those complaining of critters - we are on a mountain in the rainforest above the ocean - you should expect this), room had no issues, and weather was perfect. Went to see the cloud forests, dry forests, mountains, volcanoes, birds and animals. Was not disappointed. Was not expecting long flat pristine beaches. The hotel is on a cliff over looking the pool and the pool overlooking the beach so what part of a descend to the beach was confusing in the hotel description and pictures to those complaining?? I enjoyed the walk. The beach at our hotel was great for shelling and snorkeling. Saw great sunsets from the bay and lots of dolphins. The only issue to note is the front desk did not know I could order a breakfast/lunch for early travel the next day. Customer service (separate office) provided this information. Left for a tour at 5:30 am and my meal was ready. I feel front desk should be made aware of all services available. Bottom line - went for the forests and wildlife and we got it!


25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Third Lake, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 11, 2014
Bad Place

I finally convinced my boyfriend to take a vacation, the first one in 15 years for him. I chose to take him to Costa Rica because I knew he really wanted to go there. We arrive at the airport in Liberia and found our shuttle service to the hotel. The shuttle service we paid for cost $180.00, I expected a nice shuttle ride to the hotel, it was horrible transportation. The driver was going to deliver us to the wrong hotel, thank goodness we questioned him on where he was taking us. We arrive at the hotel and was checked in fairly quickly. We took a shuttle to our room, the view was pretty nice, but it seemed like our building was under construction. We get in our room to discover that it was as hot as a sauna in there. I contacted the front desk and was told they would send someone to our room, mechanic came and said it was working properly. We went to front desk and had to complain hard to get a new room, the rooms are all set up that when door opens the air cuts off, this makes for a very hot room to come back to after a long hot day. The food here is horrible, the service is just as bad. The pool has no swim up bar, and the service to get drinks is non existent .. The pool closes at 7:00 p.m. nightly, which is early for an adult location. If you want a drink of alcohol, you will have to wait until 11:00 a.m., this is vacation and should be available. The beach is public and is not that nice. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone. We met another couple there that checked out 3 days early because they wouldn't fix their air conditioner and they found another hotel and incurred that fee on top of what they paid for the original hotel. Stay somewhere else.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Abilener, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 2, 2012
location is great

The hotel was only 20 minutes to the Liberia Airport and no traffic to deal with. It was also near several other beaches and places to go during the day. Cocoa Beach was only 10 minutes away for great Happy hour deals and the night life was awesome. Panama Beach, Hermosa Beach and Bonita Beach were 5 minutes away for different beach options. The monkeys and parrots and Pizotes(Racoon) were all over the hotel property which was cool.. Very relaxing vacation. We upgraded to the Royal Club and were glad we did. It entitled you to first choice dining options and top shelf liquor and free room service, Great ocean view from our room and nice room.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Rancho Santa Fe, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 2, 2012
Nice, but wouldn't go back

Occidental Grand Papagayo in Costa Rica is a lovely resort. However, food is not available after 9 or 10 at night and the only bar by the pool closes around 6, so if you are still swimming you have to climb 75 stairs to get drinks. At the buffet my husband and I would be almost finished eating when they would finally fill our water glasses. Beautiful resort, nice employees, but hours for food and bar service are not the best. I would not go back to this resort.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 2, 2010
Well worth the price

The staff was amazing, and the price was just about the cheapest around, if not the cheapest. It was well worth the money, and the resort, beach, and pool were great. But I still can't speak highly enough about the wonderful staff. If you're looking for a resort-style trip, I highly recommend this one.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Austin, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 20, 2012
A must destination :)!

We loved the Occedental Grand Papagayo, the food is really good so far it was the best food we had in all the all inclusives resort we have been. It's a small resort but the ambiance is really great, we had an upgrade to ocean view and that was really nice, we enjoyed the beautiful/amazing sunset everyday, a familly of monkeys were living their life on the trees in front of our terrace and we enjoyed them, they were quiet just eating and napping :), lots of birds, iguanas, long nose racoons. Nature is beautiful in Costa Rica. We didn't choose this resort for the beach, the water is not the turquoise blue, bring water shoes and a few local people used the beach but no a problem. They only have one pool but it was fine with us.The resort is located 35 minutes from Liberia airport. We booked the Canopy tour and the Arenal Volcano both a must to do. Dance at the disco place and also when they have live band coming to entertain. We loved the volley ball in the pool had fun playing with the team of the moment. There is lots to do in Costa Rica and the people are really nice....like they said...PURA VIDA! We could connected with the WIFI at the lobby and pool area which help to communicate with your family you can text, skype or facetime on your ipod, ipad or iphone. Definitely will recommend this resort.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 21, 2015
Great Vacation Package

We chose the Occidental Grand Papagayo for the all inclusive, adults only resort. If you are looking for a beautiful white sandy beach and huge pool with swim up bar, this place is not for you. The location is secluded, off the beaten path, and very nice. We chose to do full day tours every day, instead of relaxing by the pool/beach. We weren't able to take advantage of the pool when we returned from our tours since they closed the pool at 6pm. I found that very strange given the fact that this was an adults only resort. They upgraded our deluxe oceanview room to a royal club room, but we weren't allowed to take advantage of the benefits of a royal club member, since we didn't pay the difference in the upgrade. Strange! The food was very good, and there was a variety of it. We were only able to get reservations for the oriental restaurant, and that place was good. We stayed in building 6. It had a great view of the gulf and wildlife. The only negative feedback I have about the room is the 82 bed bug bites I received. I had about 7 bites on my legs when I left for the airport yesterday morning. I woke up thias morning back at home scratching all over, and counted 82 bites! ICK!! Very concerning to say the least. The staff were all great! Always greeted everyone around with smiles on their faces. They were very friendly. The nightly entertainment was fun. We played crazy games, had dance lessons, and listened to the one man band- forgot his name. We really had a great time celebrating our anniversary. We traveled with another couple who also enjoyed the resort. My friend got water in her ear after cliff jumping, and when she was having a hard time with it, the staff called a local dr who came to the resort and took care of her. That was very nice! All in all, it's a great place. If you are traveling to Costa Rica for the beaches, this is not your resort. Go look for a resort on the Carribbean side, which was told to me by several tour operators in the area. Pura Vida~


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Melissa, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 18, 2013
Not impressed with the facilities/food for the $$

Pretty location, very green and tropical. However, the facilities and food were below average. The bedrooms were very basic, less than the quality of a La Quinta or Holiday Inn from the United States. The toilets wouldn't flush and maintenance had to come out twice. The showers in the bathroom were cracked, stained, and moldy so we wore sandals to bathe in the shower. When we arrived to our room, our "stocked fridge" consisted of two bottles of water and the refrigerator was not working. We called for it to be fixed and for the alcohol to be put in there as we were told was part of the all-inclusive package. They did fix it, however we never did get our beer even when we called the service desk several times throughout the week. The luggage rack was broken, so we had no where to put our luggage other than the floor. We called to have it repaired which it never was. There was no coffee with our coffee pot, and no towels in the bathroom, both which we had to call the service desk for. The food was VERY limited in it's options as the buffet. Most of the food was dry or under-cooked (especially the rice). Typically just one or two "normal tasting" meat options. Also, we had looked forward to going to the restaurants (which out of the 4 they list online, only 3 are available to the general public). One is the Oriental, and the other is the Italian, and for both reservations are required. When we arrived there, we called to make reservations for the next couple days and were told that if you stay for at least 4 days, you can only go to the "special" restaurants twice. So since we were there 5 days, we ended up having to eat the same food at the buffet for 3 dinners. The service is good, everyone is very polite and very attentive concierge, bell boys, bartenders etc. The reason for the bad review is because I do not think the value of the resort is at all worth what is being paid. They tried to sell us their VIP time-share which they said we would always have a stocked bar, and no issues whatsoever in our rooms etc, but to me that service should be standard, and not just part of an "exclusive VIP membership." I have gone to other resorts, paid the same or less, and had much better facilities. This resort had nice trees, grass, and beach, but the facilities (one pool, one lobby bar, one pool bar, bedrooms, bathrooms) were very old and outdated for the price they were charging. The pictures on the website are very deceiving, and I would suggest to save the same amount you spend there for a better location


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year