All

Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Nayarit Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 27 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.9 out of 5
"My husband and I had a great time visiting Puerto Vallarta it will be one of most memorable vacations!!!" – lovelee1
24 out of 34 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 27 reviews. Sort by
July 25, 2012
Great value

My 17 year daughter and I spent 6 days at the resort. We were greeted after getting through customs by timeshare people who said they were our representatives but they were not but kept us there for 1 hr trying to sell trips in lieu of time share appointments and telling us we had to stay there as they were waiting for other families to arrive for the shuttle bus to leave - this was not true and kept us back when we could of been at the resort well before the time we eventually arrived. When we arrived at the Hotel the reps were quite pushy about selling trips and having timeshare appts also and there we were again being kept back from beginning our vacation, the continued to call our room to make sure we attended time share opportunities which was not welcome - we just wanted to relax away from a phone ringing! - we are now wiser! However, we did enjoy our stay and the beach and food was nice - waves can be a bit aggressive so be careful as we saw many a person getting swamped! Downside was there was no enterainment after 10pm - the outside bar stays open but there is not alot else to do. You have to leave the resort to enjoy nightlife which we did do once but out of our comfort zone as we did not know the area and you fall pray to timeshare people and dodgy police! - so we would of liked to see more on the resort to do at night. Staff were friendly, sandy beach nice, rooms clean, child friendly,food readily available whenever you are hungry. Although they tell you you can drink the water - which I did alot i did return with a upset tummy which is ongoing! I would return to the resort but will be wiser about the time share vultures and the water!


52 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 24, 2013
Occidental Not So Grand

Outdated in need of repair. Food at buffett & Mexican restaurant was not very good especially dinner at the buffett. Entertainment is not very good. Mini fridge ia laughable with two beers, two soft drinks & four bottles of water. One paclket of coffee, really? No line on the clothes line in the shower. Restaurants open on alternate nights and service there was as bad as the wines they serve. No free Wi-fi, really? Good things: the staff at the reception and concierge desks.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 55-64

January 23, 2013
Great Hotel & Service

To sum it up, it was a great week in a nice hotel with a very friendly / helpful staff. I'd go again. Favorite: The area is friendly. You don't have to be locked in a resort. Jump in a cab and go explore. Malecon area was fun. Second Fav: The staff of the hotel was excellent. You did run into a bit of the time-share stuff, but they understood after after 2 or 3 "no thank yous" to let you be the remainder of the trip. Pros: buffet is actually really good (fresh fruit, hot grill, etc.), great bar staff, plenty of beach chairs, small mall/store area across the road, direct bus or taxi to downtown/malecon Puerto Vallarta. Cons: No real cons, just preferences. I like a swim-up bar. However, their setup allows you to walk 10 ft, grab a drink and step back in. The water/sand is not carribean blue/white in winter, however the waves were bigger and fun to play in.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 24, 2014
No Night Life at ALL

We stayed for 5 nights, Tues to Sunday in June 2014 in Nuevo Vallarta’s Just for beginners, if you want Night Life, then do not stay in Nuevo Vallarta. You want Puerto Vallarta . Very similar but 20 mins or more away and Taxis are crazy!!! Occidental Grand Nuevo Vallarta has No Night Life, after the 9pm show there was no music, no dancing. This place turned into a ghost town. The bars are nothing more then someplace to talk. Why no music or dancing??? Pool Closes at 8pm even though it was still light out and so HOT! They need to keep pools open till 11pm since it was so HOT!!! To many kids, even in Adult pool. WAY TO MANY KIDS!!! To many day time passes allowed on weekends. Place was packed with different color wrist bands. I paid top dollar for all inclusive but couldn't even get into buffet or restaurants. Buffet was a 20 min wait and Restaurants already booked by 10am. Reservations for Restaurants seems silly and just didnt work. Places were still left with open tables but they wouldnt serve you without reservation. Over all the place is below average. Do not book All inclusive. You will find yourself going out for food and night life. Way to many better places to stay. This place is set up for family's that let kids roam, poor food selection, no night life. This place is not walking distance to anything as well. Yes its next to Hard rock but you can not go there since its an All inclusive resort. They will escort you out. Beach is not safe, water was not clear. No swimming, no snorkeling, no surfing. Pretty pictures and walking on beach is all you can do. Now Puerto Vallarta was Awesome. Just need to book Adventure Tours and find other beaches to go too. Alot of night life in Puerto Vallarta on The Boardwalk too. Place seemed safe as well. I do recommend the Jungle/ Offroad Adventure Tour, Rythem of the Night was the MOST Romantic Dinner ever for us. Yelapa and Majahuitas Beaches was amazing too. So Stay in Puerto Vallarta and book Adventure Tours. You will have fun.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Diego, Ca
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 23, 2014
Best vacation ever

When we booked this resort with Cheap Caribbean we had kind of mixed feelings since this was our first trip to Puerto Vallarta and using All inclusive option. We were pleasantly thrilled with the resort location, the beach and great view from our room. We were a group of 9 folks who were well treated from top management (Teresa, Director), to others; Yazmin and Mario in guest relations, Carlos and Benjamin in Bar lounge, Erik (waiter) and the Omelette lady in Buffet Restaurant. All the personnel at the resort were very friendly. We also dined at all the three specialty restaurants, the Royal club (7th floor), the Italian and Mexican. We attended couple of shows in the outdoor theater and it was great to see Mexican heritage dances. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and would return again.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: san francisco
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 2, 2015
Great Beach

This resort was nice, but on the small side. For the most part we had very good service in all areas including housekeeping, bar service, food service, and valet. The beach was very nice with quite a few chairs available. The pool was very nice and had a good selection of seating options also. Our room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed our towel oragami provided by the housekeeping service. The biggest disappointment was the dining options. There were only 2 restaurants and the buffet. There just wasn't enough variety for our liking. Overall, it was a good experience.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fresno CA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 18, 2015

The staff was very friendly and went out of there way to be helpful. The spa was small but the massages were very fairly priced. The food was limited, we wished there was a bigger selection. The pools needed to be cleaned more, often there was bugs, limbs, and leaves in the pool.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: st louis mo
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 23, 2017
Amazing. Better than we ever imagined

We booked this trip and weren't expecting much since we got it for such a steal. But we were AMAZED. The staff is phenomenal. They plan activities and good music by the pool. The drinks are great. So many options and the bar staff is so nice, especially if you tip them. The food was great. We were apprehensive with the buffet style, but the food is amazing. So much to choose for and delicious. There is also a snack bar with some great food (especially the fish tacos). The beach is clean with lots of chairs. They have free activities like body boarding and kayaks. The resort is so big. They have cute little open- room bars where you are basically sitting outside. Every view is beautiful. The rooms were large and the pillows are SO COMFY. Overall, I'm mind-blown with the experience! Definitely worth the money!


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34

May 8, 2014
Excellent place is Occidental Resort in Mexico

I was very happy staying in Occidental hotel resort. Everything was clean and neat, food was amazing and different every day. The personnel of the hotel was very nice, friendly and helpful. Reception area and hall after it was very nice area to rest, Ophelia and Anthony and Idaly was helping me with everything I asked. The pool are was also beautiful. Rodrigo and other people working for the restaurant were very nice. They smiled to me, welcomed me by name and were very helpful. The Dolphin and Adventure Place was very close to hotel, in about half mile. The Photograph guy was helping me beiong his duties to print some paper. Room service was excellent. Jack was offering a reasonable membership with hotel. He was concise, professional and not pushy at all. I'll consider that offer in about a year, and in general, enjoyed talking to him. I definitely come back as soon as possible. Highly recommend Occidental!!!!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Alameda CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2017
Occidental

The hotel is updated and clean. Mexican, Italian and Hibachi restaurants were outstanding. Snack shack by pool had the same thing everyday which was disappointing. Lobby bartender Carlos was accommodating. Beach was clean but color of water disappointing. We live close to Galveston Tx and the water looked about the same. Pool staff Johnathan and Sergio made the poolside activities very entertaining. Trip to Senor Frogs through hotel was very definitely a must if you want night time entertainment. This hotel does not have much to do after 10 p.m. The best part of our trip was the swimming with the sea lions.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations