All

Occidental Grand Cozumel Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 145 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.7 out of 5
"All in all very happy with hotel & amenities. Only con is no free Wi-Fi & overseas phone calls are very expensive, about $5.00-$6.00/min!!! Wi-Fi is $11.00/hr.!!!" – mushy
119 out of 164 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from the beach early morning beach and dock Out by beach Walkway thru the mangroves Our room Nice view Sea Turtle stop on Jeep Tour Beautiful beach None paying guest

All Occidental Grand Cozumel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 145 reviews. Sort by
July 21, 2012
Great Family Vacation!

I visited O.G.C. at the beginning of July for a week with several of my family members, and we had a really nice time. It was a little tricky leaving the airport because we were interrupted by people who were not with Olympus Tours that wanted to take us to our hotel, and they tried to be very convincing that they were the people we were to ride with. Make sure you communicate only with the Olympus Tours reps in orange shirts if you book with Cheap Caribbean. They were great! Upon arrival, we were greeted with champagne and had a smooth check-in. We had four rooms (not Royal Club) and all had A/C that worked well. One of the rooms had a minor maintenance issue which was repaired very shortly after a phone call to the front desk. We found the beds to be firm, which some of us liked and some didn't. Mattress toppers helped. The hotel was not at capacity and we actually wondered where everybody was because it seemed empty. We arrived on a Friday and then by Sunday, many other guests had arrived, although the resort was still never really full during our stay. That was nice because there weren't any long lines for food or drinks. We enjoyed the food at the buffet. None of us have expensive tastes or unrealistic expectations. (At home, we might eat out at a nice restaurant two or three times a month and saved for a year to take this trip.) At every meal, all of us found things we enjoyed and went back for seconds. We actually preferred the buffet to the two specialty restaurants which had long waits between courses with food that was only comparable. Service was good at both the restaurants and buffet. We mostly got our drinks from the bar near the beach and activity pool. Ibis (I think that was his name) and Alberto did a great job making drinks. Our favorites were the Bahama Mama, strawberry daiquiri, and passion fruit. They always had a smile and were genuinely very happy to serve us. Even though we didn't need to tip at the restaurants and bars, we did because we wanted to express our appreciation for such good service. We did notice that the alcohol content was weak, but we really didn’t care about that since our kids were always with us. The grounds were very well maintained, lush, and beautiful. We saw many interesting creatures which thrilled not just the kids but the adults, too. Large iguanas come up to the pools to sun themselves and relax with the guests. It was exciting to cross the bridge to the beach every day to see the many turtles rise to the surface. One day, a few of us saw a small alligator. We also saw a large sand crab with a nest near the edge of the water. One night, a couple of javelinas crossed our path on the sidewalk near the bridge. The beach took my breath away! The water is a very pretty color and so clear, even in depths of six feet or more. The sand is coarse but at least the beach is not very rocky. We played beach volleyball every day at the scheduled time, loved it, and made new friends. Although we didn't take time to use the kayaks and windsurfing on site, we did rent waverunners and had a blast. We snorkeled from the shore every day and saw various fish, a ray, a lobster, and a couple of us saw the barracuda that hangs around the area. We took a snorkeling tour with Dive Palancar and it was a very nice experience. We wished we could have stayed at each reef longer, though. In the evenings, the O.G.C. staff cleaned the lounge chair area on the beach and had the chairs restacked in order for the next day. I didn't like the way some guests brought food over and then left their trash, causing ants to invade near us. I think only drinks are permitted on the beach area for good reason: not everyone cleans up after themselves. The resort is quiet at night but the disco is open. I didn’t go, but other family members did and enjoyed Poker, dancing, and other activities. Others in my party also used the fitness center and had no problem with it. We rented a scooter one day and drove it to Chankanaab Park and to town and back, feeling very safe doing so. We watched the fire show one night and it was really fantastic to see how the enertainers worked with fire - wow! The maids did an excellent job cleaning the room each day. We just loved the towel animals they made and how fresh flowers were added to them as well as to the curtains. Our maid let us in the room a couple of times when we were locked out. We really appreciated that she recognized us and left her a tip at the end of the week for her assistance and service. My sister left a picture of their Canadian home in winter with all of the snow to share with her, which was a thoughtful idea. We met other Americans, other Canadians, and a few Europeans during our stay. There are bugs after dark, esp. on the beach, so we stayed away. That was really the only negative, which was just a minor nuisance. Shorter walks to the restaurants and to the beach would be nice, but the layout really wasn’t a problem for us. We also had to keep up with our towels or towel cards, which gets hard with kids. All minor issues. It was a great trip and we would love to come back. Many thanks to Ms. Cruz, the gentleman at the front desk (I’m sorry to have forgotten your name), Jesus with Olympus Tours (we appreciate your help so much with the flashlights and scooter rental!) Ibis, Alberto, and many others whose names I wish I could remember.


52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 18, 2012
Best bang for the buck

What can I say except my wife and I are glad we celebrated our 28th anniversary at the Occidental Grand Cozumel. We enjoyed the whole experience from the location to the extreme great personality of the whole staff. It is very quite and relaxing so if you're looking for a resort with a party atmosphere, this may not be what you want.The beach was awesome which we enjoyed because of the great snorkeling and the easy access to the beach club resteraunt. The grounds are kept up to such a high standard that we kept thinking we were at a luxury resort. Everything was great and I will recommend this resort to everyone. Like my self when you are reading reviews there will be some that are really negative but let me assure you that my wife and I will be back to this resort next year.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Deer Park, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 18, 2012
Wouldn't Return

The resort is pretty but has a lot of issues. We travel quite a bit all over the world and rarely, if ever make a request or complaint to the front desk. This resort was definitely the exception. The beach was beautiful and probably one of the best on the island. Lots to see snorkeling on the beach and the sand was great, unlike a lot of other beaches in the area that are very rocky. The lobby bar was great, staff was very nice and the drinks were good and a decent size. Never much of a wait to get a drink. The food was mediocre at best even in the specialty restaurants (of which there are only 2). The coffee was awful. In total we had 3 rooms (booked 2 and had to change one of the rooms). All 3 rooms had multiple maintenance issues. Rooms were not ready until after 5:00p despite the 3:00p check-in time. The safes in none of the rooms worked and we were not able to get someone to fix them until after we had hidden money stolen from our room. To which the resort had very little follow up other than the fact that we were told we should've called multiple times and waited in the room until someone came to fix the safes. One room had a door lock that eventually didn't work at all and the entire mechanism had to be replaced. This of course meant more time sitting in the room waiting instead of on the beach. The AC did not work for the last 2 nights we were at the resort. The staff told us for 2 nights they were having problems with the chillers in the building and it would be fixed the next day but it was never resolved. No apologies, no notification unless you complained at the front desk, of which we heard quite a bit. This resort was definitely a disappointment considering the price and our previous experiences traveling to this area.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, Georgia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 2, 2013
Beautiful Resort, Lots of Walking!

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Occidental Grand very much. The hotel and grounds are lovely and we enjoyed the wildlife and natural surroundings. The buildings are spread out which gives the resort an uncrowded garden feel but if you have difficulty walking you may want to stay elsewhere. We stayed on the top (3rd) floor and there is no elevator, at least in the building we were in, so stay on the ground floor if stairs are a challenge. The view of the adjacent jungle is beautiful from the top floor, however, making it worth the climb. The service was very good, everyone seemed eager to help. Avoid the "Vacation Club" sales pitch--we were gullible enough to go to their 90 minute presentation which took up 3 hours of our morning. It's no bargain. The food was good for an all-inclusive. The buffets had a nice selection and the food was generally tasty and well prepared. Even my picky husband was satisfied. The ala carte restaurants were nice and service was attentive. Make your reservations ASAP to assure you can use your ala carte meals! One evening that we had a reservation my husband wasn't feeling well so I stopped by the restaurant an hour before our reservation, asked if I could order our meals and take them to go. The maitre 'd took my order on the spot and they were delivered to our room in 20 minutes! The dive shop on the resort grounds is terrific! Dive Palancar took good care of us and we enjoyed being so close to all the best dive spots--no long boat rides required! Put on your gear as soon as you board the boat because you'll be to the dive site in 5-10 minutes.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Vicksburg, MI
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 25, 2016
Let Down

First let me start by saying this is a beautiful resort with a great beach, and a fantastic scenery. The food was well above average for a resort, and the choices of dinning where very good. Day one, the check in: We got there around 7pm. When we arrived we were told that we had to walk across property to check in, not a big deal. When we checked in we signed a paper, got our keys, and that was it. No information, no map, nothing, just room keys. On the way back to get our luggage and park our rent car we were stopped and asked if we wanted to book activities. We sat down and looked through the books and said we would come back in the morning. We returned to our room, ordered room service and went to bed. Day Two: When we walked out of our room, there was a lady standing there telling us she was there to take us to breakfast and help us book the stuff we looked at last night. When we sat down the time share pitch began. I just listened and ate, and then another person came over and started trying to talk money and time share with his note pad out. After we said no, and about an hour went by, we were on our way. The rest of the day we did our own thing and messed around the island. Day three: In the lobby I asked a guy wearing an occidental shirt a question about where to make dinner arrangements. The answer I got was sit down and let me show you some discounts on other things. When I replied I'm not going to a 90 minute presentation, he just flat walked away. After leaving the lobby we went to the beach, where I was told I needed a towel card that I got at check In. Not a big deal, we walked over and got them, just part of the no information at check. Day four: Stayed to ourselves on the beach, went to dinner down town. Day 5, checkout: After waiting for 20 minutes for someone to come to the desk, we just sit our keys down and left. The couple also waiting said this is the biggest cluster of a resort we've ever been to. The overall experience was not good. I feel like I waisted my money and especially since I paid for all the upgrades to get a nicer room. This is probably my 25th to 30th resort trip, and the only one I have walked away from wanting my money back. We go to the island about every 4 to 6 months, I will not be returning here. Of all my trips this is the first review I've ever written, and the most disappointed I've ever been. Take care of your guest and stop worrying about selling time shares.


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 8, 2012
Vacation Paradise

Our stay at the Occidental was great. The grounds couldn't be more beautiful, the food was great --better than any cruise that we've been on --and the staff was terrific. Jesus and Daniel should both be promoted before they're hired on by another company. They do an exceptional job, tirelessly running events from morning until night. Also, we were very happy with the great snorkeling right off the sandy beach. We were most pleased with the service that we received from Cheap Caribbean. Our initial flight was delayed, causing us to miss our connecting flight. We thought that we would lose a day of vacation, but Cheap Caribbean made sure that our stay was extended a day at the Occidental and that our ground accommodations were taken care of with no extra charges. We were very impressed. Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased. If there was one negative, it was the musty smell of our room -- which was huge and very nice. But that's what you get when you stay in tropical paradise. It is a trade off that we would happily accept again.


16 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 20, 2012
Great Vacation

Our family of four spent the last week of July at the Occidental. The resort was absolutely beautiful and well maintained. The layout is unique with several smaller buildings that each have approximately 15 rooms each. There is quite a bit of walking involved no matter which bulding you are in. Ether closer to the beach and pools or to the buffet/restaurant. The resort never felt crowded. Plenty of chairs at the pools and beach. The beach was wonderful for swimming and snorkeling. Saw lots of pretty fish and even a stingray several yards from shore. Checking out snorkel equipment, kayaks, and sailboats was never a problem. The food at the buffet was good. We were all able to find things we liked at each meal. After about the 3rd night though it began to get a little tiresome. Even though they had a different theme each night, it was still basically the same food, just repackaged in a different sauce or cut. We were not able to eat in the restaurants however because my husband did not bring long pants. They are serious about this rule! The only downside was probably the location. It is a 20 minute taxi ride to town or you can rent a car. We did this one day and drove around the island. The east side is very pretty and worth the drive! We would definitly stay here again! It is beautiful and the people are very friendly and helpful.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City, OK
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 13, 2013

The Occidental has a very nice atmosphere. Nice beach line for walking a long way if you wanted. Nice snorkeling at the resort and nearby. Santos the bartender was the best, always a smile and a hard worker. Our biggest issue were the restaurants. The buffet was okay, you could always find something decent to eat. We tried to book a reservation at one of the restaurants and were always told they were booked. We would go by the restaurants and see tables open. Did we have to tip someone to get a reservation? Bottom line, the food was their downfall for us returning.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 3, 2012
Occidental Grand Cozumel

We vacationed at the Occidental Grand from Jan. 20 to the 27th. We have been to a number of resorts previous to this one. All over the carribbean. The people at the resort were Fantastic. Great Service, and always asking us if there is anything they can do for us. I was very impressed by the fact that everyone that I spole to on this resort spoke english. It reminded me a lot of Aruba. The food was great. We dined at the Royal Club as well as the Mediteranian and the Steak house. All three were absolutely fantastic. Because we stayed there for 8 days, 7 nights, we were only allowed to dine at these places three nights. Even though the buffets were good, I would have preferred to dine there more often. The buffet breakfast, and lunches were very good. Plenty of variety, and all the food was good. The beaches were beautiful! You could snorkel right on the beach, and every time I did, which was a lot, it was like diving into an equarium. Absolutely breathtaking! We also went on the glass bottom boak and snorkeled. WOW! That was awsome.The Sunsets were amazing also. The Spa was small, and cozy, and we did get a nice relaxing massage. They were very good and professional. The nightly entertainment was better than I've experienced in the past.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: RI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 4, 2013
Decent Place, pretty quiet. About a 3 star.

I will break it down in segments. We went on a 4 night stay from June 27 - July 1. We are frequent travelers. I travel every week for work, and then we go away every holiday. : Arrival to Cozumel: - We arrived a little early, everyone's luggage made it.We quickly found the prepaid shuttle company and were on our way. We had to drop people off at Secrets Cozumel on the way. It took about 45 minutes. Easy enough. Check In: - We got to the hotel around 1pm, and our rooms weren't ready, which was expected. The ladies went to the bar while the guys checked in. We checked in quickly, and were quickly steered to someone who would "give us a tour". This is where they try to setup a meeting the next day for some coupons or something and to sit through a timeshare presentation. We shooed them away. Everyone was very nice. I recommend to pack a bathing suit in a backpack so you can chill at the pool while your room is prepared. Room: - The room was nicer/bigger than we expected. The bathroom had a bathtub and separate shower. Yes, there are small bugs in the rooms, like small mites. The minibar was stocked, and the safe worked. The TV mostly worked, about half of the channels were fuzzy. An umbrella is provided in the room, along with a hairdryer. Drinks: - The draft beer is Corona. The rum/vodka/liquor was unrecognizable, but worked. I dont believe they watered it down at all, I personally watched them open fresh bottles. There were about 20 drinks on the menu and they will make whatever you want. If you like your drinks strong, just ask for a double or a triple. The pool bar sometimes took about 5-6 mins for a drink. I didnt see a pool waiter/waitress while I was there. Momosa's also available. The pool bar opened around 1015am. The lobby bar was nice, they will give you shots as well, just ask. Pool/Beach: - the pools were nice, sometime it would take to about 930am for it to be skimmed for bugs. The ocean was also nice, clear water, no big waves. Restaurants: - Only 2 reservation restaurants, were just OK. Its kind of weird because they have about 15 tables in there, and only about 4 are taken at any given time. The Mexican place had really good ribeye and filet. DO yourself a favor, walk down the beach to Alberto's. It was amazing. Charcoal grilled lobster. Cant say enough about Alberto's. Paid about $120.00 US for tons of beer and dinner. Last bit of advice - BRING BUG SPRAY. If you don't you will definitely get bit.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year