All

Occidental Costa Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 30 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"The best part of dining was breakfast. You can't go wrong with an omelet bar. They served the same food everyday. They need more options." – Sweetlu
30 out of 37 (81%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from our room

All Occidental Costa Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 30 reviews. Sort by
January 3, 2017
Occidental Costa Cancun: Wonderful

We decided 5 days before Christmas to go to Occidental Costa Cancun. We couldn't have chosen a better place. We have never been to Cancun and this place made it a pleasure and a place to return. The room was wonderful, clean, roomy, and well kept with liquor, drinks, and towels! The service couldn't have been better. It seems that they couldn't do enough. The people at the check-in counter were more than helpful. They seemed to make sure that we never were waiting or in need of something. There were plenty of places to eat and drink. The food was always fresh and good. I loved the location of this hotel. It was on the beach, but right next door to ferry that takes you to islands around the area. This made it easy to get around. Also, for local tours, the buses stopped here. We didn't have to go to some other location to catch a bus. The price was extremely reasonable. Frankly, I chose this hotel because it was a lot less cost compared to other hotels. We were very, very happy. I would recommend and go back to this hotel.


28 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2017
Great time in Cancun

Resort is wonderful and the staff is outstanding. Exceptional service from all. Will go back each year!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Beloit, Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2017

My husband and I were vacationing at this resort the last week of February and were very impressed. We loved the location, which was a little north of the main hotel zone. The resort connected to the bike /walking path and we spent many mornings walking the pathway and saw many sites. We also used the work-out room which was very clean and had updated machines. The food was incredible and we were able to eat at each of the three restaurants. Our favorite was the Mexican and the manager there - Rebeca Chong was the best! She was a delight to meet - kind, friendly, fun and helped us with everything. Keep in mind that you have to get up and reserve a spot in the three restaurants by 7 a.m. or you may not get the time you would like reserved. The drinks were great. The shows that were organized were top-notch and the performers were incredible. Thank you Brandon and Jonathon! Our room was beautiful but we did have an issue with sewer gas smells in the morning. All in all, this was a wonderful experience and already planning for next year. We loved how cosmopolitan the guest were (from all countries) and loved the family atmosphere as well. Thanks to Amstar for taking great care of us from the pick-up/return at airport.

view from our room
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 20, 2017
You get what you pay for

Before arriving at this resort, I already was expecting average quality overall. I would recommend this resort to anyone who doesn't care about having fancy amenities and would like to save money. This place is a great stay if you have a budget and do not care about the other stuff that other resorts offer. PROS: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly!! And the resort was very clean! I overall had a great experience with not that much to complain about. CONS: As expected the food choices and fool quality were not that great. Having to making reservations for dinner was a bit inconvenient but the food was a little bit better than the buffet. The drinks were water-down, however this is good thing depending on how you look at it. Think about it, the bartenders make drinks and most of the time people do not finish their drinks and some people drink so much that they can potentially get alcohol poisoning. However, if you tip and tip well the bartenders will take care of you. We were also informed that we got a $500 resort credit to use towards the products that the hotel offer however it is only percentages of discounts that you can get added up to 500%. This was disappointing and not what we were expecting. The beach area and swimming area in the beach was pretty small. When we first arrived the front desk wasn't very informative. My friend and I had to ask various questions to get the information that we needed. You have to pay for wifi and it doesn't work in certain places. There is not much activities to do during the day and at night an if there is it is not advertised very well. People at the hotel tend to do their own thing which I didn't really like. The resort should find ways to make people socialize a bit more. Also it is not a party hotel so you can get in trouble for listening to loud music.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hartford, ct
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 27, 2017
Nice place

Rooms are nice and food is good. The beach although a bit small, sits in a cove so if you have children this is excellent due to small or little waves. The resort is a good size but only has one pool area (NO Swim up bar) and has nightly entertainment. I have stayed in Cancun over 10 times and this is only the 3rd resort I've stayed at more than once (all about the deals).Overall, I'd give this resort 3.5 or 4 stars.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 12, 2017
Worst trip ever

No security. A guest I was with was attacked and nothing was done. I will never go back


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta,GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2017
Bad March Vacation

Had to move to new room it was so loud from street traffic, every night college kids in halls until 4:00 am making noise. The bar in the lobby was so loud from college kids you could carry on a conversation. Food was ok, service was very good by staff. The variety of food was poor. Housekeeping never followed through on requests. Beach was small, with very little swimming area, could not go for walk on the beach.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis Minneaota
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 14, 2017
Beautiful Resort

This resort is beautiful. The only complaint in reference to dining is that you had to stand in line beginning at 7a.m. every morning to make reservations for evening dining, otherwise you had two buffets to choose from. In passing those restaurants in the evening, there were numerous open tables, but were told there were no more available tables to reserve. :( Rooms: walls are thin. We had two evenings of interrupted sleep due to our neighbors being drunk, fighting, throwing things, hitting the walls. Both times security arrived at their door, calmed them down after about 45 mins the first time, the next time the neighbors would not answer the door and security had to bust their way in, again 45 mins of this. When I complained to the front desk the next morning they were very polite, but never offered any sort of compensation due to two nights of being up for hours. Excursions: This is handled on the second floor by the person assigned to us at checkin. We were misinformed on two of the excursions, I addressed this with the person assigned to us. The diving excursion they could do nothing about, the Adventure Park excursion, the girl ask that I give her two hours to check into it and she would call me. She never called.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2017

Nice resort. The beach was very small and not in the best location. The pool, restaurants, and rooms were nice.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 4, 2017
Beach was not a real beach

First I want to say. This was a quick getaway for cheap. I wanted to relax on the beach. What was there was a lake with some fish some sand and seaweed on the resort. I wanted to say you get what you pay for. I discover a beach off the resort on my second day and spent the whole day there and loved it. It was the most best part of my trip. I loved the Mexicana restaurant I high recommended eating there everyday of your trip. As far as the bartender manager in the lobby. He was very rude .i requested a premium drink and because I had to pay for the drink he act like he didn't hear me and put just juice. I ask where was the liquor he responded that it would cost. I said that is fine with me and he walked away. I also made reservations to eat a the Mexicana restaurant .When I arrived the restaurant was closed. I was told to come back 3 times. I was told on the third time that they had an inspection. You have to wake up at 7am to make reservations for the 2 restaurants. I was disappointed because I am a vegetarian and that night I went to bed hungry. If I had limited amount of money to travel would I go again. Yes because the beach was so amazing off the resort. The ride services called Amstar was very unorganized they had me waiting outside for 45mins to got to the resort that was 30 minutes away. And they were 45 minutes late picking me up from the hotel to catch my flight back home. They have nothing to do with the hotel. So when I contact them for my ride to the airport. It was 3 hours before I got a straight answer.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new york,ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year