All

Occidental Costa Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 14 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4 out of 5
"Nice resort. The beach was very small and not in the best location. The pool, restaurants, and rooms were nice." – Lothar
12 out of 16 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from our room

All Occidental Costa Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 14 reviews. Sort by
January 3, 2017
Occidental Costa Cancun: Wonderful

We decided 5 days before Christmas to go to Occidental Costa Cancun. We couldn't have chosen a better place. We have never been to Cancun and this place made it a pleasure and a place to return. The room was wonderful, clean, roomy, and well kept with liquor, drinks, and towels! The service couldn't have been better. It seems that they couldn't do enough. The people at the check-in counter were more than helpful. They seemed to make sure that we never were waiting or in need of something. There were plenty of places to eat and drink. The food was always fresh and good. I loved the location of this hotel. It was on the beach, but right next door to ferry that takes you to islands around the area. This made it easy to get around. Also, for local tours, the buses stopped here. We didn't have to go to some other location to catch a bus. The price was extremely reasonable. Frankly, I chose this hotel because it was a lot less cost compared to other hotels. We were very, very happy. I would recommend and go back to this hotel.


28 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2017
Great time in Cancun

Resort is wonderful and the staff is outstanding. Exceptional service from all. Will go back each year!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Beloit, Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2017

My husband and I were vacationing at this resort the last week of February and were very impressed. We loved the location, which was a little north of the main hotel zone. The resort connected to the bike /walking path and we spent many mornings walking the pathway and saw many sites. We also used the work-out room which was very clean and had updated machines. The food was incredible and we were able to eat at each of the three restaurants. Our favorite was the Mexican and the manager there - Rebeca Chong was the best! She was a delight to meet - kind, friendly, fun and helped us with everything. Keep in mind that you have to get up and reserve a spot in the three restaurants by 7 a.m. or you may not get the time you would like reserved. The drinks were great. The shows that were organized were top-notch and the performers were incredible. Thank you Brandon and Jonathon! Our room was beautiful but we did have an issue with sewer gas smells in the morning. All in all, this was a wonderful experience and already planning for next year. We loved how cosmopolitan the guest were (from all countries) and loved the family atmosphere as well. Thanks to Amstar for taking great care of us from the pick-up/return at airport.

view from our room
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2017
Bad March Vacation

Had to move to new room it was so loud from street traffic, every night college kids in halls until 4:00 am making noise. The bar in the lobby was so loud from college kids you could carry on a conversation. Food was ok, service was very good by staff. The variety of food was poor. Housekeeping never followed through on requests. Beach was small, with very little swimming area, could not go for walk on the beach.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis Minneaota
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 12, 2017
Worst trip ever

No security. A guest I was with was attacked and nothing was done. I will never go back


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta,GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 14, 2017
Beautiful Resort

This resort is beautiful. The only complaint in reference to dining is that you had to stand in line beginning at 7a.m. every morning to make reservations for evening dining, otherwise you had two buffets to choose from. In passing those restaurants in the evening, there were numerous open tables, but were told there were no more available tables to reserve. :( Rooms: walls are thin. We had two evenings of interrupted sleep due to our neighbors being drunk, fighting, throwing things, hitting the walls. Both times security arrived at their door, calmed them down after about 45 mins the first time, the next time the neighbors would not answer the door and security had to bust their way in, again 45 mins of this. When I complained to the front desk the next morning they were very polite, but never offered any sort of compensation due to two nights of being up for hours. Excursions: This is handled on the second floor by the person assigned to us at checkin. We were misinformed on two of the excursions, I addressed this with the person assigned to us. The diving excursion they could do nothing about, the Adventure Park excursion, the girl ask that I give her two hours to check into it and she would call me. She never called.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2017

Nice resort. The beach was very small and not in the best location. The pool, restaurants, and rooms were nice.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 8, 2017
worst trip ever.

Terrible hotel. Rooms are old. No security at all. A friend got push down the stairs in front of security and nothing was done. I hate this place. Food is awful.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta,GA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2017
Great place to stay

First I'd like to say the beach and ocean at this resort is clean and beautiful


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Roanoke,Va
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2017
Nice

Everything was great except one thing. The cheap carribean representatives wanted us to meet with them at certain inconvenient times interrupting us being able to make plans wasting our precious vacation time . Just to try to sell us excursions. Or to confirm returning to the airport. Twice. I already confirmed when booking the trip. I dont get having to reconfirm multiple times. If there was a change they could leave us a message. Its not relaxing when people are constantly trying to sell you something you dont want. But other than that everything was perfect.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year