All

Occidental Caribe

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 427 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.5 out of 5
"Had to call everyday for towels and wash cloths that came every other day if lucky even had to call for toilet paper and water which you should not have to" – orich315
328 out of 510 (64%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach...just beautiful !!! Beach & Grounds view from my room view from room 2209 The wonderful beach Beach view Dinner at the beach French Rest This was our favorite place to hang out for breakfast and lunch. Very comfy rooms Paradise ! Poolside View from our balcony Bedroom Ire from our room Sunrise at the beach Yep, the cockroach! Soft sand beach Pool 1 Dinner at the beach Beach - VERY close to the hotel Punta Cana April 2013 Balcony View! Sunrise on one of our mornings Love my Dominican roots Told you it was like a postcard

All Occidental Caribe Customer Reviews

1-10 of 427 reviews. Sort by
August 4, 2011
Barcelo resort nice safe and comfortable.

I have been three times total to PC DR, different resorts, different tour companies. Barcelo was a very nice and comfortable resort. The food was better than my last visit. The room was very nice and the bed extremely comfortable. Service was good from all the help even if the didn't speak english they tried to serve your needs anyway possible. The resort was clean with one exception. Some slobs left their drink cups in bushes out in the center of the pool. Not somewhere I would expect the staff to always see. The rest of the place was constantly being cleaned, paint touched up, maintenance work being done etc. In contrast to one of the former resorts, this resort was being well maintained and the quality was very good. Atmosphere was good for families. Safe place to go. I diffinately got my monies worth. Always check with your cell provider before you go. You can rack up a data bill. Internent service worth paying for the week. If you go to any off rersort shops, learn to haggle prices. Its fun, expected and worth it. Take time to go on at least one off resort all day excursion and see the country. Very nice resort, the Dominican staff are great and the place is great to relax. Bring some ones, staff deserve tips and even a buck is well apreciated by them. Enjoy Barcelo at Punta Cana DR!!!


43 of 44 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 4, 2012
Fist Time in Punta Cana

We stayed at this resort in January 2012. Overall I loved my experience at the Barcelo Punta Cana, however the day of arrival our room was not ready by check in time and we had to wait almost three hours to make it to our room, in the mean time though we were able to leave our luggage with the bellhops and walk around the resort, with our all inclusive wrist bands, we were able to have a few drinks and eat while we waited. The daily housekeeping service is not great either, our room would get cleaned up very late in the day even if it was not ocuupied in the morning, The water pressure in the shower OMG!!! it was awful!! I felt like we were taking showers with a water gun, almost no pressure and we had to complain serveral times in order to get our hot water fixed as well! We were offered a different room but I didn't want to give up my room because of the Ocean view as well as the proximity of it to the beach!!! I was on the fourth floor in a corner room so perhaps the top floor rooms have less water pressure than the bottom ones. Aside from those three things everything else was GREAT!!!! the staff at the hotel was very helpful and courteous, the entertainers were amazing, the beach is INCREDIBLE!!!! and the food and drinks are abundant and never ending, They have different reservation only restaurants which I though were very good, specially their Japanese and Dominican Restaurants. I would go back to this resort but they better have my room ready on time and have proper water pressure in their showers. My experience was amazing, one of the best vacations i've ever taken in my life and highly recomend this resort to anyone!


79 of 85 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 25, 2015
Sorry I returned

Loved this resort when I visited it in May 2015. I loved it sooo much I decided to return this October. My daughter saved for months to go on this return trip with me. Upon arriving I could not believe my eyes. The main pool, swim up bar, restaurant on the beach were all closed for reconstruction. I paid the same price for half the resort. I asked to be transreferred to one of their other near by resorts, or an upgrade, or anything to make up for what I knew I was missing out on. The main response I got from everyone I tried to talk to, was they did not understand English. I stopped trying just because my daughter just wanted to enjoy the time we had together


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 5, 2010
Outstanding!

We were skeptical after reading so many negatives, but realize now, that you can't please all of the people all of the time. We did our homework and knew not to drink the tap water, knew that the beaches are Atlantic facing and have waves, knew that topless sunbathing is perfectly acceptable, knew to stay to the recommended resort vendors and knew to make sure all of our food was thoroughly cooked. The result was an unencumbered vacation with some lovely surprises. It's worth the time, money and effort to work with the Barcelo Guest Services directly and upgrade to the Premium Club. This resort does a great job of feeding the masses! The al acart restaurants have good food, the buffet is great, altho not recommended as daily fare. The beaches are phenomenal, the service is outstanding and the atmosphere is wonderfully Caribbean. It's not a 5 star resort, but way more than just mediocore....terrific value and a great place to be!! Thank you Cheap Caribbean and a special thanks to Denise for helping me to arrange our memorable trip!! Can't wait for our next one!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lehighton, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 16, 2014
Great Hotel

The Barcelo Punta Cana Resort was an excellent hotel all around. The check in was smooth and the room was clean and elegant looking. The King bed was one solid mattress and soft. In other hotels we have stayed in a king bed was two twin beds pushed together with a split down the middle and was rock hard. The buffet had several options each night and changed daily. The specialty restaurants did an excellent job of service with great wait staff, excellent food presentation, and tasted just as well. The pool and beach areas were cleaned and groomed daily. The one downfall was that the ran out of towels one day but had some within a half hour for us. Most of the staff spoke English and were friendly and willing to help. The checkout was just as smooth, overall a great resort. Well done Barcelo.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 35-44

December 5, 2012
Good deal for the price

My husband and I have never been the all-inclusive types. We usually prefer rustic beach cottages and hanging out with locals. But we decided to try the resort thing for our 4 year old to have options and maybe other kids to play with. The beach and pools are awesome- the sand is soft and white and there's always something to do or watch while your lounge at the pool. The buffet was dismal- I could barely eat any of it, so on the bright side I hoped I would lose a few pounds :) but no such luck as I indulged in the tropical drinks quite a bit. No healthy options that kids might tolerate. The japanese restaurant was fun and the food was the best we had while there. The dominican spot came in 2nd. The french would scoff at what they tried to pass for their cuisine (hot and lumpy creme brule) and the italian was edible. Bare in mind, we're new yorkers and our palate my differ from the average visitor. I couldn't believe the piled high plates at the buffet. Gross! Staff were very friendly and engaging and the shows in the huge theater were fun. The casino is the devil, but aren't they all? The kids club was a nice option- our son went there a few hours one day so we could have a little time to oursleves. I was disappointed that they didn't do more activities with the kids, though. All the kids were crowded around the game cube when we left and they were still there when we returned several hours later. The ladies who worked there were friendly at least. Our first room had a broken tv and phone. They graciously moved us when asked. Conveniently located with a nice ocean view, but directly above the buffet kitchen- constant clanging of plates and silver ware. We tuned it out and like I said, we're from NYC. No biggie. Basically, this place requires easy going nature. If you're fun people, you will have fun. If you let every flaw stop u from relaxing and making the most of it, you most likely won't enjoy it. Don't expect fancy anything. For the price, it was a good time. By no means an upscale resort, but it does it's best. Skip any and all excursions unless you enjoy being coralled into money pits and spending $50 on a snow globe because you just got hustled. Relax and enjoy. Let the small stuff go.


19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 6, 2015
If only the bed was better...

I'd like to preface this review by saying I REALLY wanted to love this resort. My wife and two children (my 4yr old son and 9 month old daughter) just returned from 5 days at the Barcelo Punta Cana Resort. We selected this resort based on several factors - other reviews, hotel description, pictures from the website and other vacationers, and it's appearance of a kid friendly atmosphere. On many of these we were not disappointed, and upon reflection, my review is based on one overriding factor... the mattress was quite possibly the WORST I have ever slept on... in any hotel... in any country. Had it not been for this I would probably give the Barcelo 4 stars. On the the bright side, the staff were tremendously friendly and helpfull in all aspects of our stay. I would give them a 4 1/2 for service and friendliness. The beaches in Bavaro are fantastic! Generally mild surf and lots of white sand. The beach is a short walk from the main building, maybe a five minute walk including the time to find a place to setup camp. The kids pool is set right on the beach and between the two very large grown up pools - one with a swim up bar :) Great pools at the Barcelo! On the not so bright side, We checked in and where shown our first room, the sliding glass door to the patio was cracked from midway to the bottom of the pane. We were promptly switched to a new room. This new room had a broken towel rack (falling off the wall), not an auspicious start. We took the room so we could get to the beach. They were very prompt in repairing the towel rack. We didn't notice the other issues with the room until later that night and we'll come back to that later. When our luggage made it to the new room we changed and headed to the beach and pools. They didn't disappoint. Great pools and beach. Once again, the pools and the beach are the feature selling points for this resort. Since we didn't make reservations at one of the 7 upscale restaurants the first two nights, we headed to the buffet. Having stayed at other resorts in the DR before I felt I knew what to expect. I wasn't surprised. They were everything you'd expect from a buffet and worked great for our kids. That first night I encountered 'The Mattress'. It looked so inviting after a ten hour series of flights. I was sorely mistaken. It sloped from the headboard to the foot of the bed (not sure how) and then sloped from each side to the middle. The next day we tried to get a different room but were told they were booked. We decided to gut it out. It was only a 4 night stay after all. Ohhh what a LONG 4 nights they were. The pool lounge chairs were more comfortable than the bed! The sink in the bathroom didn't drain unless you pulled the drain-stopper from the sink (not attached to anything so it stopped the drain when in it's place). The climate controls were either full bore A/C or only fan. Couldn't adjust the temp at all. On the whole, we were seriously disappointed in the bed (PAINFUL to sleep on) but the staff and the beach/pools helped to offset this. I don't think I'd recommend this resort unless they do a little updating first.

If only the bed was better... If only the bed was better...
19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Denver, CO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 10, 2012
Fell in love with the oceanview suite

Our flight was smooth. Our check in a bit delayed but our room was well worth the wait. Oceanview with king size bed. View of the pool as well. Food was just ok and reservation were hard to get but overall our stay was pleasant.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bronx, Ny
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2012
The service was excellent

The service was excellent and the employees were so helpful and almost everyone could speak english! However, the people from other countries were very rude and would cut lines without even waiting. However, this is not the staff's fault and I would highly reccommend this resort. There was a show every night and the buffet was always open.


30 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: St. Paul, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Our Stay at the Occidental in the Domincan

We stayed at the resort for 7 days. The first day was pretty bad. We waited to get checked in for over an hour, mostly because of the people in front of us complaining. Our room ended up being the wrong room and very small. There were 2 adults and 2 children and only 2 towels. We tried working with the front desk, and had no luck. They were pretty rude and had no interest in making it right. So I called CheapCarribean.com, note this was on New Years Eve. By the next morning we had an appointment with the Hotel Manager which transferred us to a 2 room suite. So the remaining 6 days were phenomenal! CheapCarribean made it happen! Much Appreciated. The food is pretty good, but a little harder than most places to make reservations, but once you get it figured out, not too bad. The beaches and the pools are absolutely amazing. Been all over, and no beach compares in my opinion. Overall, we had an amazing time at this resort, first day was a little rough, but after that, no complaints!


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Granbury, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year