All

Oasis Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 49 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.3 out of 5
"Great value but had to buy bottle of top shelf drinks terrible. Overall guiet relaxing spot." – Stefnj43
33 out of 60 (55%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The bugs that greeted us in our room View of the beach Soo pretty! Our very dirty fridge Gorgeous Beach! View from the room View of one of the pools Beach

All Oasis Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 49 reviews. Sort by
June 21, 2012
Better than expected

We were at the Oasis Tulum for 7 days/night June 7-14, 2012. We were concerned prior to departure with some of the online reviews of the resort and even thought of changing hotels. We stuck with the plan and are very happy we did. Every day we asked ourselves how anyone could not enjoy themselves at this hotel. Is it a budget property, yes. Are the rooms like every other hotel in Mexico and clean, yes. Is the staff nice, yes. Is the food good, yes. There are 5 restaurants but they alternate each evening so only 2 open for dinner, and only the buffet for breakfast and lunch. If you want a “cheap Caribbean” get away, with a beautiful beach, don’t hesitate to book the Oasis Tulum.


74 of 75 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2013
What a Joy!

To start our trip off we ended up getting stuck in Philly as we missed our connector flight. US Airways was not the most pleasant to deal with but reclaimed a lot in the end. Cheapcaribbean ended up saving us in the end and got us our one night and one day back without moving our room and at no cost. The Resort was spectacular and simple. The beach and ocean were beautiful. The pools were clean and warm. Our room was amazing facing the ocean. The service was great, the employees are pleasant and polite. I would go back again in an instant. Thank You Oasis Tulum and Cheapcaribbean!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Massachsusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 26, 2012
Great value

We went to Oasis Tulum for our honeymoon. We got an amazing deal on the flight/resort package and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to see how nice the resort was. Nothing felt over-the-top luxurious; if you want that you should pay a lot more and go to one of the luxury resorts. But it was all very nice and we felt plenty pampered. The staff was very helpful whenever we had questions. Our room was clean and everything worked properly. The pools were a bit cold, and even the "hot tubs" were really just "slightly warm tubs." But the beach was amazing - white sand, plenty of chairs and umbrellas, decent snorkeling. There were sea urchins in the bay, so be sure to bring water shoes (or just wear tennis shoes in the water). The food was just OK. We are vegetarians and had relatively slim pickings at the buffet and restaurants. I have other dietary restrictions, so I just brought some of my own favorite treats and staples and was fine. Even if you're not a vegetarian, don't come here if you're a foodie and want exceptional dining. But if you're looking for a quiet beach, nice service and a relaxing all-inclusive, I would definitely recommend Oasis Tulum.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34

September 2, 2015
Research!

The resort is beautiful. However, there are two sides to the resort. The "nicer" side is not included in this package, so you are excluded from a lot of the bars, restaurants, and pools that the resort offers. Call for an upgrade before you go - its $60 USD per night and it is 100% worth it. You only have access to one pool with this and it was really warm - not refreshing! That being said - the buffet which is available to both sides is very good, and the options change slightly every day so you won't get bored. The resort is overall beautiful and we had a great time.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Hartford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 1, 2015
Booked accommodations

We had intentionally booked an ocean front room as part of our vacation experience is seeing the ocean. When we checked in, we were presented a letter stating that we were being "upgraded" to a garden room.... It didn't sound like an upgrade to us, but it was a grand garden and not a standard garden. A garden view by any name is still a garden view, with 3 more restaurants we could eat at. Eating was NOT our main purpose for booking a trip to Mexico. After finally speaking with the night manager, we were assured that we would be moved to an ocean front room the next day-we were told there were none available. The next morning when we went to the front desk to find out which ocean front rooms we would be moved into later that afternoon, we were once again given the same song and dance, that we had been upgraded to a grand garden room.... The front desk clerk was very rude and would not allow us to finish a sentence without interrupting us. I spent my whole career in retail management in the U.S. One caveat I was taught early on in my training was the customer is always right. As a manger it was my job to turn an unhappy customer into a happy customer who would return many times. The front desk employees at this resort definitely diid not receive any customer service training.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Moline, Il
Age: 55-64

December 6, 2012
dont read bed revius for Oasis Tulum

Oasis Tulum very nice clean place to stay dont read bed reviews for Oasis Tulum i stayed from 11-26-2012 to 11-30-2012 great 4 days of my life .Food is great .Service exelence.This is very quiet place to be if you looking for night time party go to Concun Hotel Zone .Just wait when you see the BEACH wow .And make sure you take the long walk on this beach soo you can see resorts next to it and then you gone know how perfect Oasis Tulum is.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: chicago il
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2012
Great beach, bad hotel

The Oasis Tulum sits on a beautiful stretch of beach, but the hotel leaves much to be desired. The rooms provide minimal comfort, scratchy sheets and towels, no comfortable chairs, and only 2 pillows for sleeping. There is only about 3 English speaking channels on the TV to choose from (which we had to resort to watching TV because it rained a lot, and the hotel has NOTHING TO DO!). We also had our room broken into while we stayed there, and the hotel responded very poorly. They not only took no responsibility for the incident, their response to our room being vandalized was practically indifferent. The bar selection might have been good, but there was nothing around to tell you what they had or what they could make, a beverage list or menu would have been helpful. The food was good, and the service was good at the restaurants, but after being there for 7 days, the choices on the menus were minimal and repetitive. There is also a communication barrier. We were in Mexico, I get it, but much of the staff at the hotel speaks no English. There was no entertainment provided at the hotel, no shows, not much in the way of group activities, which makes for a boring stay when it is raining. And last, but not least, there is no shopping on site, only a small convienced/souvenier shop that is overpriced...and if you want bottled water, you have to buy it everyday because the hotel only provides 1 bottle of water per day in the room, even with 2 occupants! It got expensive to drink water! The closest shopping was in Tulum, which is 15 minutes away, that was a $50 cab ride, or Playa del Carmen, which was 35 minutes away.


24 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2013
Not the relaxing getaway I envisioned

Prior to departing for our trip, I read many reviews about our hotel going over the pros and cons. I was feeling optimistic because most of the more recent reviews were very good....well things went south fast... 1) Arrival We were the last ones on the shuttle to be dropped off so we had semi high hopes of a cool drink and possibly a towel when we arrives (because we saw this at the others). Nope. Nothing. We checked in, went straight to our room. 2) Room I did enjoy the walk to the room, lots of greenery, tall trees, big bushes, lizards and iguanas everywhere. The view of the beach was also wonderful from out patio. That is the extent of my satisfaction there. The room was not in the best of shape, cracks in all of the tiles, full kitchen (stove, cabinets, fridge, stove, etc) and there was one sink with limited counter space. We spent one night in the room, then my friend woke up to ants in her toothbrush, hairbrush, and all over both of our belongings. We were appalled to say the least. It's not like we left those items on the floor, they were on the bathroom counter. After that we packed up, went to the front desk and notified them we needed a new room. Preferably with no ants. The staff had the attitude of, too bad, get over it. I work in customer service and I know we wouldn't act like they did...ever. Eventually Roberto found us a different room and upgraded our bracelets to include some bars/ access to the Grand side. Well we moved to the new room which seemed a bit better, then about 1 hour later we were told by the maintenance man that we had to switch rooms because the a/c wasn't working. I went back up to the front and told Roberto this and once he confirmed this with the staff, he was very apologetic and took us to a nice room on the Grand Tulum side of the resort. This was much better, the room was newly upgraded with a great view from the 2nd floor. However, the glass patio door doesn't open anymore (apparently it used to, pre-renovation). The shower was amazing and I was very grateful to have been moved to this room. It almost made the 2 previous room switches and the 3 hours taken from our morning, excusable. Housekeeping also did a great job! 3) Bracelets/ Separate but not so equal Bracelets.... I understand the need for them, but at the hotel you had at least 3 different color options. We started with the purple bracelet which gives you the bare minimum access to a few restaurants, bars, pools, etc. HOWEVER, you cannot enter the Grand side of the resort or the roped off section of additional beach loungers/ chairs/ umbrellas. They have plenty of security to tell you to turn around because you don't have the other bracelet color. Well, with the tan bracelet we were upgraded to, we had access to the 2nd pool and we bar, roped off beach furniture, and Coffee and Me (which was a poor excuse for coffee and espresso drinks). If you have the black colored bracelet you basically have free reign and can go anywhere, do anything. 4) Bars So my friend has been to Mexico about 5-6 times previous, each time to an all inclusive resort in the Yucatan Peninsula area. This was my first all inclusive resort and first trip to Mexico. She spoke about how the waiters would make sure your drink never went empty by refilling it/ getting you drinks. This couldn't be farther from the truth at Oasis Tulum. No servers that I saw, drinks were not the best- especially if you wanted anything frozen, and the bars all closed by 5 pm I believe. Which doesn't SOUND so bad, but considering we were usually out on the beach or in the pool until right before dinner, we were severely disappointed. Also, only one of the bartenders was remotely friendly. The rest, not so much. 5) Food Food was so-so. I studied in Costa Rica for a month in 2011, had amazing traditional foods with my host family and at most places I went. Here, it seemed very flavorless, dry, and disappointing. Buffet was good in that they had many choices, however, quality wasn't great. I think there were only 2 meals in which I found something that was actually great/ good quality. We also preferred to sit in the outdoor seating which was lovely, minus the service. Again, I usually had to obtain our silverware from the waiters station and take charge of getting anything else we might need. It was really frustrating because I drink a lot of water and at lunch and dinner they don't have just plain ice water anywhere!! They have rice water, Jamaica water, carbonated water all available, but no plain/ safe water. There are also two restaurants you have access to with the purple or tan bracelets, they are La Sarape (I think) and an Italian restaurant. You MUST make reservations between the hours of 9-5 with the concierge (one person also in charge of handing out snorkel gear, making other reservations, going over issues, etc). She gives you a slip and if you don't bring that with you, then they will not let you in, even if there is plenty of seating. likewise, if you have a reservation for 8:15 but arrive at 7:30 and there are at least 10 (I'm not kidding you) open tables, you must still wait your turn. Lookout for the mad rush! Not. at all. I was so annoyed we just canceled our reservations. The food at La Sarape was okay as well, but similar to the buffet, not very exciting/ flavorful. They did have a small band serenading everyone which was fun. 6) Snorkel gear and hot tubs Snorkeling gear was all at the front office, with the concierge. Meaning you could only snorkel between the hours of 9-5 and on SEVERAL occasions the concierge would leave early, so we would be out of luck. You sign a logbook which was easy enough, but it was only at the one Oasis Tulum desk, not at the Grand Lobby. There was no cleaning of the gear or sanitizing when checked out or returned. My friend was also very confused as to why it was located in the lobby, versus on the beach with the towel hut. Also, the last day we were there, we wanted to snorkel for an hour or so in the morning. Finally gets to be 9 am, so I head on in to the lobby from the beach. Concierge is leaving when I enter, 2 people were already in line to speak with her. 1 couple made a dinner reservation when she returned and the other needed to access the computer. That was fine, but I literally stood there, trying to make eye contact with her as she was playing around for at least 5-10 minutes. Finally I got slightly in her walkway and asked for the snorkeling gear. Which was; surprise! In the other lobby since they didn't bring it over yet. So I followed her over there since that lobby was closer to our beach spot. When I got on the beach with the gear, found out one of the goggles she gave me didn't work. I was so unbelievably upset and just done with everything. I didn't even try to get another one and instead tried to enjoy my last few hours at the beach. Apparently, when my friend turned in the gear another guest had a broken goggle piece as well. Hot tub was mentioned because there are none at this place. Multiple small and round pools that look like hot tubs, but none actually are. And I know, it's not like you're often cold there, but at night we sometimes wanted to go swimming or relax in a warmer pool/ hot tub. Moral of the story, My friend and I went to Mexico (and chose an all inclusive) so we could relax for a few days in between working full time and school. This was not a relaxing hotel. The sand, beach, and animals were breathtaking. But this hotel... not even close. Think a lot before making a reservation at this establishment. Hopefully they will only improve.


20 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 1, 2013
Fun Vacation!

We had a great time at this resort. Snorkeling was great right off the beach, weather was fabulous, it was all we were hoping for. Reviews were spot on that we read. It was well worth the price paid. I can say that the tours everyone is trying to sell are cheap or even free if you get yourself there. Snorkeling with the turtles is free to the public if you find the beach access, the beach front Mayan ruins (Tulum) has a $6 usd adult admission (kids are free) and a $6 parking fee if you can't find the free lot! The tour prices aren't bad if you would rather not find it yourself, though. You can almost always talk them down a little, too.We enjoyed a fishing charter on a small boat right off our beach, caught a 40" Barracuda. Don't go if you are prone to motion sickness! We also found a less frequented Cenote (snorkeling cave) to explore. The kids loved it! I recommend getting the tulum area travel guide and reading it before you go. Have fun!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wilton, NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2013
Oasis Tulum GRAN ONLY

There is a difference between oasis Tulum and oasis Tulum Gran. I would recommend only staying on the Gran side. We went for 7 nights for our honeymoon. We bought the package for oasis Tulum not realizing there was a upgraded side. When we arrived to our room is was awful, old, 2 double beds put together as a "king", lizard in bathroom, etx. This room was a exact image of a motel 6 maybe worse. So we complained and were not comfortable at all. They showed us the Gran side and we instantly paid for the upgrade! It was beautiful, so modern, view amazing, rooms so nice! The gran side included safe in room, mini bar, bottle waters, and about 5 more dining options. It is awesome!! Oasis is a very quiet resort. We thought it was perfect for our honeymoon! It's very secluded and gorgeous. We don't party so it was nice to not be around this environment. The service was exceptional! We were treated like royalty and known by name! I miss it already! :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year