All

Oasis Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 44 Reviews
Value
 
3.4
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.3 out of 5
30 out of 54 (56%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View of one of the pools Gorgeous Beach! View of the beach Soo pretty! The bugs that greeted us in our room View from the room Beach Our very dirty fridge

All Oasis Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

11-20 of 44 reviews. Sort by
July 29, 2013
Gorgeous Beach!

The beach and water were amazing, loved it! Free snorkeling with a guide and group, go as many times as you want. Sign up early at the front desk as they only take a certain amount of people at a time, go at 11am, 12pm and/or 5pm. They walk the beach with a different animal you can hold and take your picture, they also take a picture of your snorkeling group if you go out, you can go see the pics and purchase them in the photo shop, they are a little pricey. They have the parrots, monkey, iguana and toucan. There are two 'sides' to this resort, book the Grand Oasis Tulum. They also go on colored bracelets, we had beige and could go anywhere. The food wasn't too bad, buffet was average, Al Sur is NOT included but we paid for a meal and it was pretty good. Steak and lobster are also NOT included at one of the other restaurants. The places where you make a reservation had pretty good service, every where else....SLOW. I think they were too understaffed! Swim up bars didn't always have someone there, and they closed at 5pm. You had to be out of the pools by 8pm. Any places that stayed open late serving food closed at 10:30, One bar is open until 1am and another until midnight, but that is the latest. This is a quiet, calm resort without much nightlife. The nightly shows at 9:30pm were okay, I think the circus show was the best...There is a sports bar (1 pool table, 1 air hockey table and 1 ping pong table, pool, grill and bar), ask for a golf cart to take you there or walk it's down by the entrance. They don't really tell you where anything is unless you ask...Aside from service and things closing soo early, we did have a nice time and it was beautiful! Amazing beach!

Gorgeous Beach! Soo pretty!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2013
Beautiful Resort with Pros and Cons

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oasis Tulum for 7 days this month and absolutely loved our stay! There were definitely a lot of positives about the resort and unfortunately a few negatives as well, I'll start with the positives. First and foremost - the entertainment staff at Oasis Tulum is beyond top notch. Rai and Hector truly made our stay so much fun with beach and pool volleyball, snorkeling and giant jenga, we honestly miss them already and would come back to Oasis Tulum just to see them again! The beach was pristine and extremely well kept as were the pools. As for our room we went with a garden view room and it was beautiful and extremely comfortable, the housekeeping staff kept it very clean and was timely each and every day. Now for some unfortunate downsides. One of the reasons my boyfriend and I chose to stay at the Oasis Tulum was for it's advertised all inclusive package which, as on the Oasis Tulum website, mentions it includes "9 restaurants including 2 buffets, specialty a la carte restaurants and snack bar", however this claim was simply not true. A lot of the advertised restaurants are on the GRAND Oasis Tulum side of the resort which are NOT included in the Oasis Tulum all inclusive package. You can visit these restaurants if you so choose however you have to pay an additional fee, I believe the rate was something like $30 per person for one dinner at a Grand restaurant or an $80 day pass per person to use any Grand side accommodations. This was extremely disappointing to me and frankly it's false advertising. Additionally, it may have been because it was not peak season but the restaurants and bars were all extremely understaffed and service could be extremely lengthy, we learned to be prepared for 2 hour lunches. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at Oasis Tulum but are a bit frustrated with the way the resort was falsely advertised and with management. I believe we would stay at the Oasis Tulum again (as I mentioned just to see some of the staff again, you can tell they really care about their jobs and their guests) since we really enjoyed the beautiful beach, pools and room!

View of one of the pools View of the beach
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24

August 9, 2013
awesome vacation

the oasis tulum was a wonderful get away my husband and I stayed a week at the grand oasis and loved every minute of it! we booked the shopping tour to playa del carmen and that was awesome the guide was helpful and very nice. we also went to tulum and coba ruins the guide was informative and fun to talk to and Charlie the cheap Caribbean guide at the oasis is the best!!! he was there every morning making sure all the excursions went off without a hitch. We can't wait to go back!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2014
Best 'Bang For Your Buck' Vaca You Can Ask For!

My fiancee and I fell in love with Oasis Tulum. We stayed at the regular resort (not on the upgrade side) and are so happy we did. We almost didn't go because we read some poor reviews. But they were all dead wrong. Room was clean, food was excellent, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best of all, and the reason we went, the beaches are AMAZING! If you snorkel, you have to go here. Fish, rays, and sea turtles, all 10 feet from the shore (no exaggeration). If you stay on the "cheap" side of the resort it's the best bang for your buck vacation you can ask for. If you really want to pamper yourself, go to the grand side. Either way, I'm jealous of the vacation you will have!

Beach View from the room
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34

May 12, 2014
Best Snorkeling, Worst Amenities

The snorkeling is awesome! The room was the most filthy room we've stayed at- more like one star creepy hotel.. Restroom STINKS! Really-really bad. Everywhere in the building smell of mold.. Food is same as in most all-inclusive resorts (not very good), just smaller than usual amount of choices. For resort this small they could do much better food- wise. Management is lazy- we had some clothes blown away from the balcony- the wind was super strong that day. We were on the tour all day and when we got back and discovered the missing items, went directly to the front desk. They "filed" the claim, but nothing happened. So, we had to do our own investigation, bugging all the staff around our building and finally recovered two of the three missing items, the third one was never returned to us, so I'm guessing one of the stuff members decided to keep it.. makes me so mad! And management did NOTHING to help us! Also, the resort is divided into two areas- Oasis Tulum and Grand Oasis Tulum. The Oasis is more like one-star hotel and Grand Oasis somewhere between 3-4 star. But, we were there for snorkeling, and it was fantastic! If you don't care about food, pools or the room, but want to be super close to the ocean with reef just a short swim from the beach- this is a good place to stay. Otherwise- stay away!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 1, 2015
Booked accommodations

We had intentionally booked an ocean front room as part of our vacation experience is seeing the ocean. When we checked in, we were presented a letter stating that we were being "upgraded" to a garden room.... It didn't sound like an upgrade to us, but it was a grand garden and not a standard garden. A garden view by any name is still a garden view, with 3 more restaurants we could eat at. Eating was NOT our main purpose for booking a trip to Mexico. After finally speaking with the night manager, we were assured that we would be moved to an ocean front room the next day-we were told there were none available. The next morning when we went to the front desk to find out which ocean front rooms we would be moved into later that afternoon, we were once again given the same song and dance, that we had been upgraded to a grand garden room.... The front desk clerk was very rude and would not allow us to finish a sentence without interrupting us. I spent my whole career in retail management in the U.S. One caveat I was taught early on in my training was the customer is always right. As a manger it was my job to turn an unhappy customer into a happy customer who would return many times. The front desk employees at this resort definitely diid not receive any customer service training.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Moline, Il
Age: 55-64

August 29, 2013
veryrelaxing

We booked this trip with CheapCaribbean. Everything worked out great!!We are going to book again with them. Oasis Tulum was not for night birds, one bar stayed open till 1am. everything else closed at 10.No big deal to us we like to watch the sunrise and watch the turtles & baby turtles right on the beach! It was great. The free snorkeling was fun, 3 times a day, the reef was not far right off the beach, we saw so many beautiful fish. The free show was good,the food was very good, the staff were very nice and worked really hard. The resort is very tropical not so modern, that, we really like,we get modern all day long in the states we wanted something different. it was just what we were looking for, very relaxing & peaceful.Lots of little towns close by, so we got to see some of the local people. This vacation was great because you can do as much as you want or as little. We are planning another trip with CheapCaribbean but if we go back to Mexico we will return to Oasis Tulum. Thank you CheapCaribbean for a GREAT vacation


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Va
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2013
Depends on what you're looking for!

If you want a quite resort/family atmosphere okay choice, but if you want party, shopping, going out/adventurous not the place. First we thought we were getting All-Incluesive but there is two types of All-Incluesive here. The white band which is offered on here and it is only for some of the restaurants, bars, not mini bar in room and select Alcohol (well/cheap kind). Then they offer you $80 person per night extra to get the real All-Incluesive Black/grand band ($320 extra a person for us). It's hard to get bottle water to bring to beach before 10 am because none of the bars open till 10am and restaurants don't have bottle water. The travel to the hotel form airport over an Hour incase you didn't know and that is extra cost cheapest we found was $60 per person for round trip. All activities min 20 minute travel time if not an hour from hotel. Things that are good about resort was Charlie the person you book trips very friendly and helpful. Rai and Hector for entertainment, sand volleyball and snorkeling(free snorkeling at resort very nice!) Miguel the beach bartender who was awesome!! Room views beautiful and the actual look of the resort gorgeous! Majority of the staff was alway nice and helpful. Luckily we went end of august early sept which was slow season so it wasn't busy. No lines at the resort and plenty of spots on the beach. Only down fall we did get some rain in the early mornings and night time, but didn't really interfere with our beach time. DO NOT FLY SPIRIT!!! Horrible airline for international flights! They Charge for EVERYTHING!! You don't even get a Complementary drink on the flight $3.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2013
If someone offered this for free, I'd say NO!

By far this is the worst resort ever! A group of my friends and I stayed at the oasis tulum this past weekend and we all agreed that it was disgustingly horrible. Not too sure where to start. We arrived to a very damp room. Within the first 2 minutes of being in the room we had to call room service and ask them to remove bugs. The room is damp. Leave you clothes out in the closet and they will be wet by the next day. The food was atrocious. The service was horrible. We called for days about getting new wash rags. We NEVER received them again after the first day of being there. Eventually we were told there were no more wash clothes and we would have to do without. Lady in the gift shop have us the wrong change. When I went back to her for her to correct it, she gave me half US, half pesos. She then told me she didn't have any US and I'd have to go to the front desk to get it changed over. The front desk lied to me and told me the money was worth less than what it was so that they could gain a profit. Probably the most shocking was the fact that the oasis tulum staff stole my friends sunglasses. After complaining 2 days in a row, down to the second we were about to leave, the glasses were finally given to my friend after the staff denied having them. You couldn't PAY me to stay here again. It is a dirty, dated resort with horrible food and staff that probably hate their life because they work there.

The bugs that greeted us in our room Our very dirty fridge
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 13, 2014
Snorkling was the best

Travel 1/15/2014 - 1/19/2014, avg temp 72F Room Comfort (Poor)- The room was gross and old - peeling paint, corroded metal in the bathroom, everything in the bathroom was just nasty. Stains on the floor. We had an ocean view room, but most of the view was blocked by overgrown palm trees. Dining Options (Poor) - When booking, there were no restrictions listed on the site. Upon arrival, we found that several of the restaurants were "Grand Only," which requires an upgrade, or $40 per person extra. Of the restaurants that were available, all required reservations and they quickly fill-up (like before 10am). At night, we walked by the restaurants that are "booked" and there is no one in them... made us quite mad. Beach & Pools (Average) - Pools were awful. Missing tiles. Debris floating and on the bottom. Never saw anyone cleaning during our stay. The BEACH was the ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS RESORT. I went on the snorkel tour everyday. Saw turtles, eel, and 2 rays. Bring your own snorkel gear or borrow theirs. Also saw kayaks, but didn't choose to take them out. Service (average) - Bar and restaurant staff were always friendly and quick. One man at the Mexican restaurant even let us wait for a few minutes to see if a dinner reservation would become available (which or course it did because the restaurant was empty). Front desk staff were not as friendly. Tours - I'd recommend the Tulum half day tour. Always ask for a deal. This was the first resort I went to in Mexico in 2010 and it has changed drastically for my return trip in 2014. Now after 4 trips to Mexico, this was by far the worst.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year