All

Oasis Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 37 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.3 out of 5
24 out of 45 (53%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View of one of the pools The bugs that greeted us in our room View from the room Our very dirty fridge Soo pretty! Beach Gorgeous Beach! View of the beach

All Oasis Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

11-20 of 37 reviews. Sort by
December 1, 2013
Oasis Tulum

Of the vacations that I've purchased through Cheap Caribbean, this was not the very best value, but overall was still a wonderful trip. The Oasis Tulum hotel has a ways to go to get itself out of the lower ratings of the resorts in the Akumal area, but they seem to be making an effort toward that end. The staff was friendly and helpful, and in their defense there just aren't enough of them to go around. The management needs to add a few additional hands to the food service and the maintenance crews. We had difficulty with the hot water in our room. The first night I showered the water switched from hot to cold to hot again and I thought it was just an effect of others in the building using water as well. The second night and thereafter until two nights before we departed the water was cold. The first couple of nights I thought that I was just choosing the wrong times to shower, but come to find out each room has an individual hot water unit. Once discovered that ours was no longer working it took a couple of days to get a new one to install. The first night they allowed us to shower in a vacant room, the second night they offered us a different room. Not wanting to move rooms within a couple of days of departure, they again allowed us to shower in another vacant room. The next day a new hot water unit was installed. This was an inconvenience, of course, but definitely not vacation ruined. And they brought us a plate of desserts and pastries and a bottle of wine to offer their thanks for our patience. As long as you aren't an habitual complainer and can go with the flow, the Oasis Tulum is grand. It's not as "spot on" as some of the other resorts in the area, but it is clean, the beach is one of the nicest I've been to and, hey, you're in the Caribbean! It would take much more than a lack of hot water to destroy that!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Ogden, Utah
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 18, 2013
Back in Mexico

Cancun is going down so we went to Riviera Maya . I recommend for every body archeological ruins of Cobe , Tulum etc but take trip from hotels and resorts of "Zona hotelara" . Tulum Oasis has the hard working staff but with a poor management ,


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: North Haven CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2013
If someone offered this for free, I'd say NO!

By far this is the worst resort ever! A group of my friends and I stayed at the oasis tulum this past weekend and we all agreed that it was disgustingly horrible. Not too sure where to start. We arrived to a very damp room. Within the first 2 minutes of being in the room we had to call room service and ask them to remove bugs. The room is damp. Leave you clothes out in the closet and they will be wet by the next day. The food was atrocious. The service was horrible. We called for days about getting new wash rags. We NEVER received them again after the first day of being there. Eventually we were told there were no more wash clothes and we would have to do without. Lady in the gift shop have us the wrong change. When I went back to her for her to correct it, she gave me half US, half pesos. She then told me she didn't have any US and I'd have to go to the front desk to get it changed over. The front desk lied to me and told me the money was worth less than what it was so that they could gain a profit. Probably the most shocking was the fact that the oasis tulum staff stole my friends sunglasses. After complaining 2 days in a row, down to the second we were about to leave, the glasses were finally given to my friend after the staff denied having them. You couldn't PAY me to stay here again. It is a dirty, dated resort with horrible food and staff that probably hate their life because they work there.

The bugs that greeted us in our room Our very dirty fridge
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 24, 2013
Good vaule for getaway

First time in Tulum. Previously, We had stay at Grand oasis Cancun in the past, we thought try somewhere else different. Our experiences at Grand Oasis Tulum was great for getting away from all the crowded resort and truly relaxing to just set by the beach. What a breath taking view of white soft sand in my feet and warm water that is so clear that I can see the corals and different species of fish just by standing on the gazebo in the water. I would definitely suggested to anyone that is looking for not so crowed resort. Still have all the fun activity that you can think of doing, I would recommend trying Jungle Mayan excursion. We really had a wonderful time. No matter if it did rain most of time we were there. But still had fun!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Fresno, Ca
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2013
Depends on what you're looking for!

If you want a quite resort/family atmosphere okay choice, but if you want party, shopping, going out/adventurous not the place. First we thought we were getting All-Incluesive but there is two types of All-Incluesive here. The white band which is offered on here and it is only for some of the restaurants, bars, not mini bar in room and select Alcohol (well/cheap kind). Then they offer you $80 person per night extra to get the real All-Incluesive Black/grand band ($320 extra a person for us). It's hard to get bottle water to bring to beach before 10 am because none of the bars open till 10am and restaurants don't have bottle water. The travel to the hotel form airport over an Hour incase you didn't know and that is extra cost cheapest we found was $60 per person for round trip. All activities min 20 minute travel time if not an hour from hotel. Things that are good about resort was Charlie the person you book trips very friendly and helpful. Rai and Hector for entertainment, sand volleyball and snorkeling(free snorkeling at resort very nice!) Miguel the beach bartender who was awesome!! Room views beautiful and the actual look of the resort gorgeous! Majority of the staff was alway nice and helpful. Luckily we went end of august early sept which was slow season so it wasn't busy. No lines at the resort and plenty of spots on the beach. Only down fall we did get some rain in the early mornings and night time, but didn't really interfere with our beach time. DO NOT FLY SPIRIT!!! Horrible airline for international flights! They Charge for EVERYTHING!! You don't even get a Complementary drink on the flight $3.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 29, 2013
veryrelaxing

We booked this trip with CheapCaribbean. Everything worked out great!!We are going to book again with them. Oasis Tulum was not for night birds, one bar stayed open till 1am. everything else closed at 10.No big deal to us we like to watch the sunrise and watch the turtles & baby turtles right on the beach! It was great. The free snorkeling was fun, 3 times a day, the reef was not far right off the beach, we saw so many beautiful fish. The free show was good,the food was very good, the staff were very nice and worked really hard. The resort is very tropical not so modern, that, we really like,we get modern all day long in the states we wanted something different. it was just what we were looking for, very relaxing & peaceful.Lots of little towns close by, so we got to see some of the local people. This vacation was great because you can do as much as you want or as little. We are planning another trip with CheapCaribbean but if we go back to Mexico we will return to Oasis Tulum. Thank you CheapCaribbean for a GREAT vacation


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Va
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2013
Disappointment

We stayed at Oasis Tulum for 4 days. We arrived tired since its so far from the airport, and we were excited to finally start having a good time. We went straight for the buffet since the 2 restaurants were by reservation only, and you have to make them early that morning to get in. To our surprise, we end up eating in the dark! The lights and fans were both off!! When we asked why the waiter said it had broken down 3 days ago. First of all, if the resort is that big you can't have the a/c AND lights not working! They ran out of sodas, beer that night. We headed to the piano bar only to be told we have to pay for our drinks! Apparently we had walked to the Grand side. After much discussion we decided to go ahead and pay. The bartender then informs us he can only serve us if he has permission from reception!! So we had to go ASK for permission to purchase drinks there! We ended up calling it a night. As the days went by it began to get better. They actually put drinks in our mini bar and changed our sheets (that were stained.) My cousin had an allergic reaction and started breaking out but they only have a first aid kit in the morning, and since it was 11:00pm it was no longer available, but he was more than welcome to call a doctor!!! I believe this place has poor management! The employees can only do so much, and they seem to not know whats going on there!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 9, 2013
awesome vacation

the oasis tulum was a wonderful get away my husband and I stayed a week at the grand oasis and loved every minute of it! we booked the shopping tour to playa del carmen and that was awesome the guide was helpful and very nice. we also went to tulum and coba ruins the guide was informative and fun to talk to and Charlie the cheap Caribbean guide at the oasis is the best!!! he was there every morning making sure all the excursions went off without a hitch. We can't wait to go back!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 29, 2013
Gorgeous Beach!

The beach and water were amazing, loved it! Free snorkeling with a guide and group, go as many times as you want. Sign up early at the front desk as they only take a certain amount of people at a time, go at 11am, 12pm and/or 5pm. They walk the beach with a different animal you can hold and take your picture, they also take a picture of your snorkeling group if you go out, you can go see the pics and purchase them in the photo shop, they are a little pricey. They have the parrots, monkey, iguana and toucan. There are two 'sides' to this resort, book the Grand Oasis Tulum. They also go on colored bracelets, we had beige and could go anywhere. The food wasn't too bad, buffet was average, Al Sur is NOT included but we paid for a meal and it was pretty good. Steak and lobster are also NOT included at one of the other restaurants. The places where you make a reservation had pretty good service, every where else....SLOW. I think they were too understaffed! Swim up bars didn't always have someone there, and they closed at 5pm. You had to be out of the pools by 8pm. Any places that stayed open late serving food closed at 10:30, One bar is open until 1am and another until midnight, but that is the latest. This is a quiet, calm resort without much nightlife. The nightly shows at 9:30pm were okay, I think the circus show was the best...There is a sports bar (1 pool table, 1 air hockey table and 1 ping pong table, pool, grill and bar), ask for a golf cart to take you there or walk it's down by the entrance. They don't really tell you where anything is unless you ask...Aside from service and things closing soo early, we did have a nice time and it was beautiful! Amazing beach!

Gorgeous Beach! Soo pretty!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 14, 2013
Very Disappointed, Very Misleading

Let me get the good part over quickly, Oasis Tulum has a pretty nice beach, the sister hotel, the Grand Oasis had a pretty rocky beach. My 18 year old daughter did the morning yoga and pilates and loved it, she got a good workout every day. So note that there is the Grand Oasis Tulum and Oasis Tulum, the renovated section is the Grand and the rest is the not Grand. The pictures in Cheap Caribbean don't make a distinction, in fact most of the nice pictures are from the Grand. We stayed at the not Grand. 14 Restaurants are listed, I counted 3 with a couple of bench/sitting areas where you can order various dishes at some times of the day. I think the Grand had one or two others but we were not permitted to enter there, not that there is anything really dividing the two areas. Apparently the Grand residents didn't think much of their part since they usually came to the not Grand for dining and sitting under the palapas at the beach. Only one pool bar was open, staffed by pretty inattentive bartenders. Oh, and when it was open, he doubled as the 'waiter' for the 'sushi bar'. Restaurant Service : In our one week stay we did not get a single order correct. Not one. I figured statistically, and by random chance we should have gotten a few right, but no, not one. They were seriously understaffed. Well we thought, tipping the staff (and nicely) should help the next time. It did not. The best of the 2 reservation required restaurants was probably the Italian restaurant, a few dishes were not too bad. The buffet was average, college dorm average (ok, maybe a step up from college dorm). We ate there for breakfast and half of our dinners. Lunch was spread around the outdoor seated 'restaurants' (the Chicken Place has decent burgers and sometimes wings, the Asian sitting area never served us, and I already mentioned the last 'sushi bar'). So now the room. Well we sprung extra for the ocean view. They didn't bother telling us that meant having no hot water and all the termites you can possibly want (hint they don't like bright lights, NEVER turn off the lights). The room has its own 'just in time' hot water heater. It usually decided to cut out and fill the room with suffocating gas/propane. Calling the front desk meant someone (with no English of course) came, banged on the pipes, looked at us like we were idiots and in great detail mimed and showed us how to turn the hot water tap on. As soon as he left, the hot water was gone and the gas was back. It was a pretty big room. Half of was a big empty space with no furniture. Since there were 4 of us we decided to ask for a rollaway bed to help fill the space - it was almost not painful to lie in. And did I mentioned the termites ? Cute little guys, the way they swarm along the door frames. In short, Avoid the Oasis Tulum and I would also suggest to avoid the Grand Oasis (but maybe they didn't have termite problems)


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year