All

Oasis Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 32 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.3 out of 5
21 out of 39 (54%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our very dirty fridge Soo pretty! View of one of the pools Gorgeous Beach! View of the beach The bugs that greeted us in our room

All Oasis Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

11-20 of 32 reviews. Sort by
August 29, 2013
veryrelaxing

We booked this trip with CheapCaribbean. Everything worked out great!!We are going to book again with them. Oasis Tulum was not for night birds, one bar stayed open till 1am. everything else closed at 10.No big deal to us we like to watch the sunrise and watch the turtles & baby turtles right on the beach! It was great. The free snorkeling was fun, 3 times a day, the reef was not far right off the beach, we saw so many beautiful fish. The free show was good,the food was very good, the staff were very nice and worked really hard. The resort is very tropical not so modern, that, we really like,we get modern all day long in the states we wanted something different. it was just what we were looking for, very relaxing & peaceful.Lots of little towns close by, so we got to see some of the local people. This vacation was great because you can do as much as you want or as little. We are planning another trip with CheapCaribbean but if we go back to Mexico we will return to Oasis Tulum. Thank you CheapCaribbean for a GREAT vacation


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Va
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2013
Disappointment

We stayed at Oasis Tulum for 4 days. We arrived tired since its so far from the airport, and we were excited to finally start having a good time. We went straight for the buffet since the 2 restaurants were by reservation only, and you have to make them early that morning to get in. To our surprise, we end up eating in the dark! The lights and fans were both off!! When we asked why the waiter said it had broken down 3 days ago. First of all, if the resort is that big you can't have the a/c AND lights not working! They ran out of sodas, beer that night. We headed to the piano bar only to be told we have to pay for our drinks! Apparently we had walked to the Grand side. After much discussion we decided to go ahead and pay. The bartender then informs us he can only serve us if he has permission from reception!! So we had to go ASK for permission to purchase drinks there! We ended up calling it a night. As the days went by it began to get better. They actually put drinks in our mini bar and changed our sheets (that were stained.) My cousin had an allergic reaction and started breaking out but they only have a first aid kit in the morning, and since it was 11:00pm it was no longer available, but he was more than welcome to call a doctor!!! I believe this place has poor management! The employees can only do so much, and they seem to not know whats going on there!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 9, 2013
awesome vacation

the oasis tulum was a wonderful get away my husband and I stayed a week at the grand oasis and loved every minute of it! we booked the shopping tour to playa del carmen and that was awesome the guide was helpful and very nice. we also went to tulum and coba ruins the guide was informative and fun to talk to and Charlie the cheap Caribbean guide at the oasis is the best!!! he was there every morning making sure all the excursions went off without a hitch. We can't wait to go back!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 29, 2013
Gorgeous Beach!

The beach and water were amazing, loved it! Free snorkeling with a guide and group, go as many times as you want. Sign up early at the front desk as they only take a certain amount of people at a time, go at 11am, 12pm and/or 5pm. They walk the beach with a different animal you can hold and take your picture, they also take a picture of your snorkeling group if you go out, you can go see the pics and purchase them in the photo shop, they are a little pricey. They have the parrots, monkey, iguana and toucan. There are two 'sides' to this resort, book the Grand Oasis Tulum. They also go on colored bracelets, we had beige and could go anywhere. The food wasn't too bad, buffet was average, Al Sur is NOT included but we paid for a meal and it was pretty good. Steak and lobster are also NOT included at one of the other restaurants. The places where you make a reservation had pretty good service, every where else....SLOW. I think they were too understaffed! Swim up bars didn't always have someone there, and they closed at 5pm. You had to be out of the pools by 8pm. Any places that stayed open late serving food closed at 10:30, One bar is open until 1am and another until midnight, but that is the latest. This is a quiet, calm resort without much nightlife. The nightly shows at 9:30pm were okay, I think the circus show was the best...There is a sports bar (1 pool table, 1 air hockey table and 1 ping pong table, pool, grill and bar), ask for a golf cart to take you there or walk it's down by the entrance. They don't really tell you where anything is unless you ask...Aside from service and things closing soo early, we did have a nice time and it was beautiful! Amazing beach!

Gorgeous Beach! Soo pretty!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 14, 2013
Very Disappointed, Very Misleading

Let me get the good part over quickly, Oasis Tulum has a pretty nice beach, the sister hotel, the Grand Oasis had a pretty rocky beach. My 18 year old daughter did the morning yoga and pilates and loved it, she got a good workout every day. So note that there is the Grand Oasis Tulum and Oasis Tulum, the renovated section is the Grand and the rest is the not Grand. The pictures in Cheap Caribbean don't make a distinction, in fact most of the nice pictures are from the Grand. We stayed at the not Grand. 14 Restaurants are listed, I counted 3 with a couple of bench/sitting areas where you can order various dishes at some times of the day. I think the Grand had one or two others but we were not permitted to enter there, not that there is anything really dividing the two areas. Apparently the Grand residents didn't think much of their part since they usually came to the not Grand for dining and sitting under the palapas at the beach. Only one pool bar was open, staffed by pretty inattentive bartenders. Oh, and when it was open, he doubled as the 'waiter' for the 'sushi bar'. Restaurant Service : In our one week stay we did not get a single order correct. Not one. I figured statistically, and by random chance we should have gotten a few right, but no, not one. They were seriously understaffed. Well we thought, tipping the staff (and nicely) should help the next time. It did not. The best of the 2 reservation required restaurants was probably the Italian restaurant, a few dishes were not too bad. The buffet was average, college dorm average (ok, maybe a step up from college dorm). We ate there for breakfast and half of our dinners. Lunch was spread around the outdoor seated 'restaurants' (the Chicken Place has decent burgers and sometimes wings, the Asian sitting area never served us, and I already mentioned the last 'sushi bar'). So now the room. Well we sprung extra for the ocean view. They didn't bother telling us that meant having no hot water and all the termites you can possibly want (hint they don't like bright lights, NEVER turn off the lights). The room has its own 'just in time' hot water heater. It usually decided to cut out and fill the room with suffocating gas/propane. Calling the front desk meant someone (with no English of course) came, banged on the pipes, looked at us like we were idiots and in great detail mimed and showed us how to turn the hot water tap on. As soon as he left, the hot water was gone and the gas was back. It was a pretty big room. Half of was a big empty space with no furniture. Since there were 4 of us we decided to ask for a rollaway bed to help fill the space - it was almost not painful to lie in. And did I mentioned the termites ? Cute little guys, the way they swarm along the door frames. In short, Avoid the Oasis Tulum and I would also suggest to avoid the Grand Oasis (but maybe they didn't have termite problems)


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2013
Oasis Tulum GRAN ONLY

There is a difference between oasis Tulum and oasis Tulum Gran. I would recommend only staying on the Gran side. We went for 7 nights for our honeymoon. We bought the package for oasis Tulum not realizing there was a upgraded side. When we arrived to our room is was awful, old, 2 double beds put together as a "king", lizard in bathroom, etx. This room was a exact image of a motel 6 maybe worse. So we complained and were not comfortable at all. They showed us the Gran side and we instantly paid for the upgrade! It was beautiful, so modern, view amazing, rooms so nice! The gran side included safe in room, mini bar, bottle waters, and about 5 more dining options. It is awesome!! Oasis is a very quiet resort. We thought it was perfect for our honeymoon! It's very secluded and gorgeous. We don't party so it was nice to not be around this environment. The service was exceptional! We were treated like royalty and known by name! I miss it already! :)


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2013
Beautiful Resort with Pros and Cons

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oasis Tulum for 7 days this month and absolutely loved our stay! There were definitely a lot of positives about the resort and unfortunately a few negatives as well, I'll start with the positives. First and foremost - the entertainment staff at Oasis Tulum is beyond top notch. Rai and Hector truly made our stay so much fun with beach and pool volleyball, snorkeling and giant jenga, we honestly miss them already and would come back to Oasis Tulum just to see them again! The beach was pristine and extremely well kept as were the pools. As for our room we went with a garden view room and it was beautiful and extremely comfortable, the housekeeping staff kept it very clean and was timely each and every day. Now for some unfortunate downsides. One of the reasons my boyfriend and I chose to stay at the Oasis Tulum was for it's advertised all inclusive package which, as on the Oasis Tulum website, mentions it includes "9 restaurants including 2 buffets, specialty a la carte restaurants and snack bar", however this claim was simply not true. A lot of the advertised restaurants are on the GRAND Oasis Tulum side of the resort which are NOT included in the Oasis Tulum all inclusive package. You can visit these restaurants if you so choose however you have to pay an additional fee, I believe the rate was something like $30 per person for one dinner at a Grand restaurant or an $80 day pass per person to use any Grand side accommodations. This was extremely disappointing to me and frankly it's false advertising. Additionally, it may have been because it was not peak season but the restaurants and bars were all extremely understaffed and service could be extremely lengthy, we learned to be prepared for 2 hour lunches. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at Oasis Tulum but are a bit frustrated with the way the resort was falsely advertised and with management. I believe we would stay at the Oasis Tulum again (as I mentioned just to see some of the staff again, you can tell they really care about their jobs and their guests) since we really enjoyed the beautiful beach, pools and room!

View of one of the pools View of the beach
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24

June 18, 2013
Summer vacation

It was a great and relax vacation. The food and service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful too. There were activities and entertainment everyday for everyone to enjoy. The location was really nice and secure private place. I would definately recommend to my friends to vacation here.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Il
Age: 45-54

May 31, 2013
What a Joy!

To start our trip off we ended up getting stuck in Philly as we missed our connector flight. US Airways was not the most pleasant to deal with but reclaimed a lot in the end. Cheapcaribbean ended up saving us in the end and got us our one night and one day back without moving our room and at no cost. The Resort was spectacular and simple. The beach and ocean were beautiful. The pools were clean and warm. Our room was amazing facing the ocean. The service was great, the employees are pleasant and polite. I would go back again in an instant. Thank You Oasis Tulum and Cheapcaribbean!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Massachsusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 17, 2013
Amazing!!!!

This hotel was wonderfull, we stayed with our friends group of seven, with three smaller children,. We loved every second of it and hated to leave. Everything was awesome. The people on here complaining about this place are crazy, what do you expect to get out of a buffet every day, of course there going to reuses some things, don't be silly. We spent the extra money to go to the greand side of the hotel, we got a smart car for free and could go to and ala carte restaurant we choose to., it was all amazing, they had a seven person table set up for us whenever we arrived anywhere,.the staff was wonderfull, bring several hundred in ones for tips and the staff will love you forever .,. Again cant say enough how wonderfull it was...,great yourselves and visit the grand oasis tulum.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year