All

Oasis Tulum Resort Reviews

Mexico | Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 42 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.3 out of 5
29 out of 51 (57%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The bugs that greeted us in our room View from the room View of the beach Soo pretty! Gorgeous Beach! Beach Our very dirty fridge View of one of the pools

All Oasis Tulum Resort Customer Reviews

11-20 of 42 reviews. Sort by
June 25, 2013
Beautiful Resort with Pros and Cons

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Oasis Tulum for 7 days this month and absolutely loved our stay! There were definitely a lot of positives about the resort and unfortunately a few negatives as well, I'll start with the positives. First and foremost - the entertainment staff at Oasis Tulum is beyond top notch. Rai and Hector truly made our stay so much fun with beach and pool volleyball, snorkeling and giant jenga, we honestly miss them already and would come back to Oasis Tulum just to see them again! The beach was pristine and extremely well kept as were the pools. As for our room we went with a garden view room and it was beautiful and extremely comfortable, the housekeeping staff kept it very clean and was timely each and every day. Now for some unfortunate downsides. One of the reasons my boyfriend and I chose to stay at the Oasis Tulum was for it's advertised all inclusive package which, as on the Oasis Tulum website, mentions it includes "9 restaurants including 2 buffets, specialty a la carte restaurants and snack bar", however this claim was simply not true. A lot of the advertised restaurants are on the GRAND Oasis Tulum side of the resort which are NOT included in the Oasis Tulum all inclusive package. You can visit these restaurants if you so choose however you have to pay an additional fee, I believe the rate was something like $30 per person for one dinner at a Grand restaurant or an $80 day pass per person to use any Grand side accommodations. This was extremely disappointing to me and frankly it's false advertising. Additionally, it may have been because it was not peak season but the restaurants and bars were all extremely understaffed and service could be extremely lengthy, we learned to be prepared for 2 hour lunches. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay at Oasis Tulum but are a bit frustrated with the way the resort was falsely advertised and with management. I believe we would stay at the Oasis Tulum again (as I mentioned just to see some of the staff again, you can tell they really care about their jobs and their guests) since we really enjoyed the beautiful beach, pools and room!

View of one of the pools View of the beach
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24

August 9, 2013
awesome vacation

the oasis tulum was a wonderful get away my husband and I stayed a week at the grand oasis and loved every minute of it! we booked the shopping tour to playa del carmen and that was awesome the guide was helpful and very nice. we also went to tulum and coba ruins the guide was informative and fun to talk to and Charlie the cheap Caribbean guide at the oasis is the best!!! he was there every morning making sure all the excursions went off without a hitch. We can't wait to go back!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Best Snorkeling, Worst Amenities

The snorkeling is awesome! The room was the most filthy room we've stayed at- more like one star creepy hotel.. Restroom STINKS! Really-really bad. Everywhere in the building smell of mold.. Food is same as in most all-inclusive resorts (not very good), just smaller than usual amount of choices. For resort this small they could do much better food- wise. Management is lazy- we had some clothes blown away from the balcony- the wind was super strong that day. We were on the tour all day and when we got back and discovered the missing items, went directly to the front desk. They "filed" the claim, but nothing happened. So, we had to do our own investigation, bugging all the staff around our building and finally recovered two of the three missing items, the third one was never returned to us, so I'm guessing one of the stuff members decided to keep it.. makes me so mad! And management did NOTHING to help us! Also, the resort is divided into two areas- Oasis Tulum and Grand Oasis Tulum. The Oasis is more like one-star hotel and Grand Oasis somewhere between 3-4 star. But, we were there for snorkeling, and it was fantastic! If you don't care about food, pools or the room, but want to be super close to the ocean with reef just a short swim from the beach- this is a good place to stay. Otherwise- stay away!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 29, 2013
veryrelaxing

We booked this trip with CheapCaribbean. Everything worked out great!!We are going to book again with them. Oasis Tulum was not for night birds, one bar stayed open till 1am. everything else closed at 10.No big deal to us we like to watch the sunrise and watch the turtles & baby turtles right on the beach! It was great. The free snorkeling was fun, 3 times a day, the reef was not far right off the beach, we saw so many beautiful fish. The free show was good,the food was very good, the staff were very nice and worked really hard. The resort is very tropical not so modern, that, we really like,we get modern all day long in the states we wanted something different. it was just what we were looking for, very relaxing & peaceful.Lots of little towns close by, so we got to see some of the local people. This vacation was great because you can do as much as you want or as little. We are planning another trip with CheapCaribbean but if we go back to Mexico we will return to Oasis Tulum. Thank you CheapCaribbean for a GREAT vacation


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Va
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2013
Depends on what you're looking for!

If you want a quite resort/family atmosphere okay choice, but if you want party, shopping, going out/adventurous not the place. First we thought we were getting All-Incluesive but there is two types of All-Incluesive here. The white band which is offered on here and it is only for some of the restaurants, bars, not mini bar in room and select Alcohol (well/cheap kind). Then they offer you $80 person per night extra to get the real All-Incluesive Black/grand band ($320 extra a person for us). It's hard to get bottle water to bring to beach before 10 am because none of the bars open till 10am and restaurants don't have bottle water. The travel to the hotel form airport over an Hour incase you didn't know and that is extra cost cheapest we found was $60 per person for round trip. All activities min 20 minute travel time if not an hour from hotel. Things that are good about resort was Charlie the person you book trips very friendly and helpful. Rai and Hector for entertainment, sand volleyball and snorkeling(free snorkeling at resort very nice!) Miguel the beach bartender who was awesome!! Room views beautiful and the actual look of the resort gorgeous! Majority of the staff was alway nice and helpful. Luckily we went end of august early sept which was slow season so it wasn't busy. No lines at the resort and plenty of spots on the beach. Only down fall we did get some rain in the early mornings and night time, but didn't really interfere with our beach time. DO NOT FLY SPIRIT!!! Horrible airline for international flights! They Charge for EVERYTHING!! You don't even get a Complementary drink on the flight $3.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2013
If someone offered this for free, I'd say NO!

By far this is the worst resort ever! A group of my friends and I stayed at the oasis tulum this past weekend and we all agreed that it was disgustingly horrible. Not too sure where to start. We arrived to a very damp room. Within the first 2 minutes of being in the room we had to call room service and ask them to remove bugs. The room is damp. Leave you clothes out in the closet and they will be wet by the next day. The food was atrocious. The service was horrible. We called for days about getting new wash rags. We NEVER received them again after the first day of being there. Eventually we were told there were no more wash clothes and we would have to do without. Lady in the gift shop have us the wrong change. When I went back to her for her to correct it, she gave me half US, half pesos. She then told me she didn't have any US and I'd have to go to the front desk to get it changed over. The front desk lied to me and told me the money was worth less than what it was so that they could gain a profit. Probably the most shocking was the fact that the oasis tulum staff stole my friends sunglasses. After complaining 2 days in a row, down to the second we were about to leave, the glasses were finally given to my friend after the staff denied having them. You couldn't PAY me to stay here again. It is a dirty, dated resort with horrible food and staff that probably hate their life because they work there.

The bugs that greeted us in our room Our very dirty fridge
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 13, 2014
Snorkling was the best

Travel 1/15/2014 - 1/19/2014, avg temp 72F Room Comfort (Poor)- The room was gross and old - peeling paint, corroded metal in the bathroom, everything in the bathroom was just nasty. Stains on the floor. We had an ocean view room, but most of the view was blocked by overgrown palm trees. Dining Options (Poor) - When booking, there were no restrictions listed on the site. Upon arrival, we found that several of the restaurants were "Grand Only," which requires an upgrade, or $40 per person extra. Of the restaurants that were available, all required reservations and they quickly fill-up (like before 10am). At night, we walked by the restaurants that are "booked" and there is no one in them... made us quite mad. Beach & Pools (Average) - Pools were awful. Missing tiles. Debris floating and on the bottom. Never saw anyone cleaning during our stay. The BEACH was the ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS RESORT. I went on the snorkel tour everyday. Saw turtles, eel, and 2 rays. Bring your own snorkel gear or borrow theirs. Also saw kayaks, but didn't choose to take them out. Service (average) - Bar and restaurant staff were always friendly and quick. One man at the Mexican restaurant even let us wait for a few minutes to see if a dinner reservation would become available (which or course it did because the restaurant was empty). Front desk staff were not as friendly. Tours - I'd recommend the Tulum half day tour. Always ask for a deal. This was the first resort I went to in Mexico in 2010 and it has changed drastically for my return trip in 2014. Now after 4 trips to Mexico, this was by far the worst.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 22, 2014
Best 'Bang For Your Buck' Vaca You Can Ask For!

My fiancee and I fell in love with Oasis Tulum. We stayed at the regular resort (not on the upgrade side) and are so happy we did. We almost didn't go because we read some poor reviews. But they were all dead wrong. Room was clean, food was excellent, staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Best of all, and the reason we went, the beaches are AMAZING! If you snorkel, you have to go here. Fish, rays, and sea turtles, all 10 feet from the shore (no exaggeration). If you stay on the "cheap" side of the resort it's the best bang for your buck vacation you can ask for. If you really want to pamper yourself, go to the grand side. Either way, I'm jealous of the vacation you will have!

Beach View from the room
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34

June 18, 2015
Worst trip taken with Cheap Caribbean

We checked in at 4pm and were taken to our room; however, the room was in SHAMBLES - toilet was on the floor, the floor was covered with the toilet water, tools were on the unmade bed, windows and doors wide open. We walked back to the lobby and explained that the room was not acceptable. They told us to give them an hour and a half to fix it; again we explained we did not want that room as there was no way they could clean it to any level of acceptability. At that point, they started studiously ignoring us. We finally raised enough of a fuss to be "upgraded" to the Grand Oasis. By now it was after 9pm. They walked us over, gave us the key at the front desk, took us to our room and deposited us and our luggage at the doorway. We opened the door, water had come in under the door, flooding the front of the room and creating a horrible safety hazard. At this point we were exhausted and hungry so merely threw the beach towels down and went to dinner. Due to the bad storms, we had to continually put down towels to keep the floods from reaching too far into the room. I will say, the serving staff at the Grand were phenomenal - Jesus, Oscar to name a few. Drinks were fast flowing and good. Food was very tasty. The beach was gorgeous, they kept it very clean. Staff came and replenished drinks often. Beds were comfortable, A/C did a decent job. Housecleaning was on top of everything, replacing the wet towels for us. All in all, though, I would NOT recommend this place. There are other fabulous resorts in the area for a few dollars more, that will blow you away with their service.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Oasis Tulum 08-18-2014

This is my second trip to the Oasis Tulum. It is truly one of the most beautiful places on earth. The property has now been split into two resorts, the Oasis and the Grand Oasis. FYI! The non Grand rooms are pleasant enough, and the staff does an OK job. Our bathroom floor was not cleaned in the week we were there, and there was a babies crib in the hallway until we asked them to remove it. The water pressure was very low, and the hot water worked intermittently. When it did work there was the smell of exhaust in the room. The sink water also had a sewer smell to it more than once. The food is pretty marginal. I paid to eat in the Grand only restaurants, but they were no better than the others. If your looking for really good food and drink look somewhere else. The resort caters to a lot of European and Mexican guests, and we met some really nice folks. Be forewarned, there are a lot of smokers, and not much English spoken. All in all it wasn't a terrible week, but we also won't be returning.

Oasis Tulum 08-18-2014
3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year