All

Oasis Palm Beach and Spa Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 339 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.5 out of 5
"very nice facility but the buffet not so good, seafood restaurant was good, sushi was good, but not an excellent grade of fish" – sr50
266 out of 398 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lobby area Aqua Zumba class 2-24-14 view from bridge above embarcadero, Palm Oasis is on the right Good morning Cancun! Oceanview room Hotel from swimming area View from the beach to the pool (Grand side) Chichen Itza excursion Amazing beach Oasis palm lover A dance from one of the shows Oasis Cancun Balcony Resort from the scenic tower at Xcaret (next to the resort) Room Beautiful Mexico View from our Room

All Oasis Palm Beach and Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 339 reviews. Sort by
February 16, 2013
Great for a Cheap get-a-way

My trip was planned for a 5 day weekend get-a-way with two girl friends. We kept our eye's open on CheapCaribbean for the best deals. We were looking for inexpensive all inclusive, swim up bar, pool, night club (disco), and beach. No specific destination. Oasis Palm was what we chose bc it had what we wanted and we got a really good deal (~$615/person 5 days/4nights). I'm not going to lie, I was a little nervous when I read the reviews but I know that some people you can't please no matter what. We all had the mindset that this was going to be an average place and thats exactly what it was and it turned out to be a perfect Vacation for us! Checking is was pretty easy. They gave you a map of the resort. We weren't offered but after seeing the shared resort, I would suggest upgrading (I don't think its very much to upgrade). The house keepers really didn't impress me and I actually know they used my personal wash cloth (that i brought from home) to clean the sink area (weird and gross). I thought the food was average too. We never made any reservations for dinner but chose the different buffets each evening. They all serve the exact same thing. Its not "oh this is awesome" but we got our fill and the servers were very kind. The beach grill was an easy choice for the afternoon (serving fries, burgers, chicken nuggets, ect) but I liked the little taco stand better :) We ate at the sushi bar one day. I loved it but it could of been the tequila talking bc my friends were less impressed. The pool was freezing and mostly in the shade so we spent most of our time on the beach. It is a small beach so you do have to get there early to get a lounge chair. the ocean is very shallow in the roped off area that was safe to swim in but it was all we needed. they had a volleyball net set up in the water which was fun. I do have to mention that the concierge desk lady was more than helpful with us when we failed to contact the olympus rep to verify pick up times for our am flight. I would suggest to do a private transportation if you can (not a van or bus) bc we were picked up over 3 hrs before our flight bc the resort is one of the first pick up stops. I think its maybe a 20 minute drive normally. Night life on the resortwas good enough for us. We didn't want to leave the resort to go downtown to the clubs and we were all satisfied with the music at the disco. Different live bands played throughout the resort in the evenings. Overall if you are wanting a cheap and average vacation this would be a decent spot to visit.


223 of 228 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, Il
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 15, 2013
Wonderful fun in the sun

My wife and I enjoyed this trip. We went in January and it was about 80 degrees during the day. Overall one of the best cheapcaribbean trips we have taken (we have done about 5). We went for five days. We mostly stayed at the resort with only one excursion. We visited chichen itza (the Mayan ruins) and it was a nice excursion. We went for 3 jogs on three separate mornings which was nice. There are sidewalks on either side of the road but even better a concrete sidewalk away from the road with palm trees between the path and traffic. Cancun was clean and felt safe. Our typically day was to rise fairly early, go for a run and begin our day of lounging at the beach, eating, and drinks... All day long. A couple things to be aware of. You cannot check in until 3pm or later. So be prepared to change into your bathing suit (in the bathroom) after you get there and while you wait for your room. We got our purple bracelet immediately after we got there that allowed us access to most restaurants and all bars. We hit the bar and beach right away while we waited for our room. There were other colored braclets and I believe black was the best. We basically could eat at the buffet, there were 2. We had access to one sit down restaurant that was seafood fare. It was not impressive and we preferred the buffet. The cantina was a cool bar there. They made Mojitos and had an espresso/cappuccino/ coffee maker as well. We plan on going back to cancun someday and we would definitely stay here again. Make sure you upgrade to an ocean view! Very nice views of the beach and ocean!

Good morning Cancun!
37 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 22, 2012
Adequate for the price

Overall, the stay was a good value for the money as it was a good price for an all-inclusive, however, to someone "fussy" they would probably not be satisfied. For instance, the room did not have an iron..we had to ask for it. There was no coffee in the room to go with the coffee maker. We had to pay $3.00 for a small packet of coffee that made a pot. It took several phone calls and a note left (note, tip and our own pen (no hotel pen was there) were taken...pen not returned when we asked). The phone didn't work to contact the front desk but the phone did work because we got a call eventually about our request for coffee...at 10:30 at night. There were no washcloths or hair conditioner in the rooms...take your own. There was a dispenser in the shower with shampoo and soap. There was not an exhaust fan and the shower had peeling paint. At times my husband thought he could smell a sewage smell. The room was adequately clean but the bedspreads were somewhat old, worn and looked like they needed a good washing. TVs were older and not flat screen. Too many people in and out of the room in the course of a day: one time to make bed; one time to bring the towels; one time to bring the allotted two bottles of water; another trip in to eventually bring in coffee packet.. The safe cost $4.50 a day to rent. The hotel had computers in the lobby but the cost was $20.00 an hour to rent. Wi-fi was $5.00 an hour...bring your own laptop. A local internet cafe charged $2.00 for 10 minutes. The time share & add-on trip (sight seeing/tours) sales people were prominently located in the lobby. Our Olympus staff assigned to us (Carolina) was very aggressive and expected us to be there at an assigned time our first day there...apparently to get first crack at us to sell us side trips. We were exhausted and went to our rooms to nap. We got a phone call from her to ask us why we didn't show up. The alleged excuse was "I am your eyes and ears.." however, we had paid for the van ride both ways and that's all we really wanted from her. We made the huge "mistake" of talking to one of the other Oasis Palm sales people that sold time share and side trips. There was nearly a cat fight over this and they had a confrontation in front of us in Spanish., which we didn't understand! However, the pros were that the dining staff were always pleasant and helpful as were the bar staff. The food was good overall, but selection of main entrees was minimal. For handicapped people, there were several steps to get from the main lobby down to the beach area and the elevator did not go to the bottom floor. The steps did not all have hand rails. My husband had recent surgery and I asked for a first floor room but instead I got a 7th floor room quite some way from the elevator. The bottom line was that if you want an inexpensive vacation, the beach was adequate, the food was good, the wait staff was excellent, the computer "service" was a rip -off. (They say "Oasis loves u" but I complained to the concierge that I felt "Oasis doesn't love you if they make the computer so expensive" ), For our purposes, it was a good value if you don't mind the above issues.


48 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Tri-Cities, Michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 21, 2012
Resort great, rooms not so much

After reading the reviews of the Oasis Palms I had low expectations, but the price was right! I honestly have never eaten so well at a resort. No, it's not five star French restaurant, but it was some of the healthiest, tastiest food I've had in years. Everything was fresh and delicious. The nicer of the two buffet restaurants was fantastic! The other, more casual one was perfect for breakfast and lunch. Again, food fresh and delicious. The fresh made omelets were a great day starter. Fruit was fresh and clean. Noone in our party got sick the entire trip (9 of us!). The bars were friendly and fun. We especially enjoyed the friendly service from Carlos and Jorge at the beach bars. They gave us great info on where to go and which trips were good! The swim up pool bar COULD have stayed open a little later. Veronica in the Cantina was a dream! Remembered what everyone drank and was Johnny on the spot! The bad news about this resort is the room review. The HVAC system really needs an overhaul. The smell of mold and mildew in all rooms was nauseating. One room must have had a clogged filter and the floor was wet for the whole trip. Fortunately, we didn't spend much time in the rooms, so it was a minor inconvenience overall. Honestly, the staff was GREAT and we encountered none of the problems that people complained about. Yes, you get one towel at the pool, in exchange for your towel card, but at any point, you can exchange a wet towel for a dry one. We had ample towels in the rooms and got two bottles of water in the room each day. Purified water was available at all restaurants and bars at all times. We met many fun and happy tourists from all over the world and the only complaint that people consistently had was the smell in the rooms. Don't go in expecting a five star hotel, but it was clean (except for the HVAC system), friendly and fun! Certainly worth what we paid, and more!

Resort great, rooms not so much Resort great, rooms not so much
43 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Central Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 2, 2013
Bummed about rude front desk and BIG restrictions

I have been all over the caribbean and this was my 6th time in Cancun. The beach and pools were good and the food that we were allowed to eat was also good. The first thing when we got there the front desk was rude to us right away. We offered to tip and pay for an unpgrade which is what every website/review said we could do and they were not having it:( There are two sides to the resort and we were told MANY times by many different staff when we called weeks /days before we went and even when we got there that we would be able to eat at most of the restaurants. Then as soon as they checked us in and put our wrist bands it's like everything changed. Then we only 2 buffets that we were allowed to eat at. There was a little stand outside with popcorn and ice cream and I waited in line just to get an ice cream cone and was denied! OUR room was NOT good!!!! We were nice to the front desk people consistentely trying to upgrade because our room was just 2 beds put together, a 19inch tv from the 1990's and a shower that looked like it was going to fall apart. The all-inclusive drinks were limited you had to pay for many of the favorites. This was a busy time there were mostly families from Mexico and so the staff really catered to them and let us waiting/confused often..


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicago IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 7, 2013
Just pay the upgrade or stay on the Riviera Maya

This started as one of the worst vacations ever. When we arrived at the Grand Oasis (wrong hotel but our Olympus driver didn't know the difference) the bellman manger immediately offered to upgrade us for $20 a person a night. We of course, had no idea what we were in for so we declined and traveled the extra 100 feet or so to our entrance to the Oasis Palm minus the Grand. That is exactly what it was all but Grand. The service at the concierge desk was horrible and rude (and I speak Spanish so there was no miscommunication). They informed us that we had to be off the premises exactly at noon on our departure day or we would have to pay a fine (our plane left at 4 p.m.). We were not offered an upgrade or explained any of our amenities (there aren't any) or services. Immediately another person sitting at a desk in the lobby (who works together with the bellmen at the other hotel) pulled us aside and tried to sell us all sorts of outside trips. He too was very ambiguous about the perks of this hotel. Our room was old as old can be with no bathtub, etc. We were given a very nice crib for our daughter though so we stayed. We went down for lunch and that is where the fun began. You can only go to certain restaurants within the resort based on the color of your bracelet, which is fine. I have been to other all-inclusives and understand this. The problem is that 3 or the 6 restaurants in the Oasis Palm section belong to the Grand Oasis. Why would you do that? Why would you continuously have to turn people away? if the restaurants are for Grand customers then put them on the Grand side. The pool on the Grand side is also only for Grand customers and to be honest is was empty most of the time because there is no entertainment there and it is in the shadow, so the water is extremely cold. We caved in and went back to the bellman manager to ask about the upgrade. Our concierge desk told us it would be $35 a night per person. When we got there the bellman manager radioed someone and said that we could no longer upgrade because we were only staying 2 more nights. I found it very strange that he radioed someone when were less than 20 feet from the concierge desk, so I made my way to the concierge desk at the Grand Oasis and what do you know, EXCELLENT and I mean EXCELLENT service and yes, we could switch and yes, we could examine both available rooms before making our decision and yes it was only $20 and yes, we could now use both pools, all snack carts and all restaurants (except the adult ONLY one, of course). Our bracelets were switched to black and like magic, everyone was falling all over us. The difference between the two sides is well worth the $20 but it broke my heart to have to stay and give these people my patronage but the trip was paid and there was not much more to be done. I read many reviews before we left about what to expect and yes, I was not expecting 5 star amenities for the price we paid but I was expecting courteous, honest service and not the rude and at times humiliating welcoming that we received. Despite the nicer service and room at the Grand, I do not recommend either places to anyone. There are very similar options that you can choose for the same price without having to put up with the rudeness. Go to the Riviera Maya. The drive is a bit longer but the prices are much lower and the service and treatment are out of this world. We go every year and will never choose this place again. Will still buy on Cheap Caribbean though.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: chicago, IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 22, 2015
Expensive For What You Get

There are important aspects of going on vacation, one of the most important ones are - you need to rest. Any stressful matter can be frustrating. We began our trip thinking "for the price we paid, this should be great". Keep in mind that our trip included myself, wife and our 2 young children, and our nanny. As soon as we arrived in the hotel which was at noon, we were told that we needed to wait until three in the afternoon to go to our room. Keep in mind we were traveling since six that morning and with a pack of hungry to feed and it was hot. This was only the beginning and the first impression is the one that stays. I brought this up to the staff, they completely ignored my request. Here are other items you can analyze from 0 to 10: Catered for a family vacation: 4 (compared to other hotels) Overall the food: 5 (nothing too special) Staff: 5 (friendly but could be much better) Beach: 8 (shallow water for kids is perfect) Pool: 3 (too crowded) Accommodations: 6 (shower was clogged, ripped curtains) Overall experience: I would not consider this a hotel or a resort but rather a family club. a LOT of locals come to the hotel on the weekend so the pool and beach area is flooded with people - not a good experience if you are looking for something more specific.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Leominster, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 29, 2012

We upgraded to the Grand Osasis Palm, and were glad we did. The only thing disappointing was that they had no balconies. But other than that, the rooms were clean and comfortable. We also had room service one evening, and the food was superb. The service everywhere (maids, waiters, bars, front desk, etc.) was fantastic. I would recommend taking $100 in 'ones' and tipping the staff throughout the week. They will go out of their way to please you.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Perrysburg, Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2015
Horrible Resort and Incompetent Managers!

My overall experience goes from mild to disappointed. Good: 1. Confortable room but not the best. 2. Check-in was smooth but slow 3. Walking distance to Isla Muyeres Ferry 4. The dining workers are the only enginne holding up this train wreck of a place Bad: 1. Hotel managers are very discriminatory and biased towards non-indigenous and non-spanish speaking guests. 2. Limited dining options 3. Outdated hotel ground and amenities 4. Food is very blend and lacks flavor in all the 3 dining options they have 5. Crowded beach and very clustered around the only one pool 6. Snack bar was serving burgers and fries that were not fully cooked 7. They charge you per day for keys to your room safe 8. You will have to request iron and ironing board daily 9. You have to pay daily fees to use sister hotel next door 10. Check-out was horrible and inefficient 11. Extra charges and fees for simple amenities such as WiFi 12. Managers and concierge stsaff lacks customer service and hospitality skills


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NYC Area, NY
Age: 25-34

November 23, 2012

The resort was lovely & we thought it was the best food we've had in Mexico ever! (This after 4-6 trips!)


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maryland-outside Baltimore
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year