All

Oasis Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 428 Reviews
Value
 
3.3
Service
 
2.8
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
2.7
Room Comfort
 
2.7
3 out of 5
"being our first all inclusive trip, all was great. no worries from the airport to the resort and back!!" – sr50
249 out of 502 (50%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the Balcony Leaking ceiling! Beach on the balcony of our room THE BEACH... the room on the 4th floor beachfront room view Mexican sunset this is what i have to put up in my hotel room for 2 nights before they have someone take it away! Our Beachfront View View from our room our beach oasis The unsafe broken slider door. Gorgeous! The ceiling is leaking! Bedroom stay here lol sheet rock falling from ceiling in lobby Luis was great!!! View of the Gulf from the beach outside the resort the resort territory pretty beach. note few chairs out by the water. Toilet and Sink leak Sunrise on last morning. one of the pool bars Our Room yellow water. ew. A beautiful beach Amazing colors at Oasis Cancun Beach The best ream!!! View from the balcony of our room You can see how dangerous for a girls trip to be if the DOOR WAS BROKEN INTO AND DOESNT LOCK! Water was leaking through the celiling as well towels tring to keep flood at bay!!! did not work at all collapsed the view from our room Water all over the room and we were on the 4th floor Roach outside the rooms CANCUN on the beach in front of the hotel

All Oasis Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 428 reviews. Sort by
May 26, 2012
Best vacation purchase ever

Don't listen to any of those bad reviews. After I booked my vacation package I found myself reading all about the horror stories others wrote about. I had a pain in the pit in my stomach worrying about it and thought, OMG what have I done?!?!?!? Use your brain and common sense. Don't book your vacation during spring break and hurrican season and you'll be fine. Spend the extra 5 bucks a day for a safe and secure your belongings. Don't be a road worrier and venture out on your own in unfamililar teritory unless you are with a guided tour and you'll be fine. We spend two days visiting the Mayan Pirimids and Temples in Tulum, Coba and Chichen Itza. We racked up about 300 miles each day and had the benifit of visiting other cities and villages beside Cancun which enriched the whole experiance. We had the best time of our lives. Non stop fun. Food and drinks were great. By the way, the drinks were not watered down. Besides, you can drink all you want, all day long, so what's the problem if they were? The nightly shows (free) at the grand Hotel next door were spectacular and better than some events I paid for in NY. Don't bother exchanging your money just bring a lot of singles ($1. bills ). About $200 worth. Or you can hit the bell hop for some at the end of the night. Take a bus up and down the strip into town instead of a taxi and stay out of the torist traps when shopping and you'll do great. Oh! One more thing... when you land at the airport in Cancun, Run... don't walk... staight to the bus (out side) that takes you to the hotel. Avoid stopping at those friendly guys at the tour kiosks near the exit. They trick you into believing they were sent to pick you up. They are looking to fix you up with l a time share presentation for discounted tours. They pocket the tour money you give them and They also make money if you show up for the presentation. You can alway figure out what you want to do after you've checked in and spent some time experiancing the whole place without presure. Now that I've learned a few things, I plan on doing this again real soon. Thanks Oasis! you'r staff works very hard and you guys didn't let me down.


497 of 504 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 8, 2012
AWESOME ALL-INCLUSIVE!!

I was a little skeptical of what this resort was going to be like after i read the mixed reviews on different people's experiences. But now that I'm back from my first awesome all-inclusive 6 day vacation at the Oasis Cancun I can write my own review.... This vacation was so great! We went the last week of October. The place was not crowded at all...it was perfect!! There is a young, upbeat, fun, vibe to the place. I wouldn't recommend it for old people or kids... mainly because there is fun music and entertainment going on all the time. The pool is large and there is plenty of room to grab your own spot; and the swim up bar is great! There are comfortable lounge chairs and private little bungalows on the beach and by the pool! The hotel is connected to the Grand Oasis hotel. They all share everything. The place is huge. You could an upgrade to a black wrist band if you choose to for more $$...which gets you into some more restaurants, but we thought the food was great so there was no need The rooms were good. They were clean...not dirty like others have reported. The beds were comfortable and the maid service comes everyday. The food - there is one large buffet and two nice restaurants (Mexican & Italian). And sushi made everyday by the pool. I liked eating at both restaurants...the food was so delicious!! We ate at the buffet for breakfast mostly and there was a sports bar that served.burgers and fries. The alcohol -anything you want!! (mixed drinks, shots, wine, and beer) And the drinks are not weak! The beer was Dos XX = so good!) It was all you can drink all day everyday! Had a buzz for six days straight! So great! There was one club which awesome too! Went on a fun snorkeling excursion and shopped around downtown Cancun. We felt safe the whole time. Overall an awesome all inclusive, you won't be disappointed!!


94 of 97 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 31, 2011
Fun Vacation, great price

There are good and bad things about this resort just like any other resort. I have been to a few all-inclusive resorts so I have an idea of what to expect, but overall this resort did meet or exceed my expectations. I just returned from the Oasis Cancun on 10/25/11 so this review will be based on this resort not being bombarded by spring breakers. From conversations with the bartenders the previous reviews during spring break are very accurate. If you like to party then this is the place to be during spring break, but I did not experience any of those problems during my stay. ROOMS: The rooms can be hit or miss. We happened to get lucky since they upgraded us to the pyramid rooms usually reserved for the black bracelets even though we still had the purple bracelets. The rooms are comfortable, but nothing fancy. We did not have any problems with our room, but my brother had to change rooms twice due to the A/C not working and other issues. I did hear from other guests that they also had problems with the A/C, but in all cases they were moved to another room by the resort. The resort does need some updating, but it is not nearly as bad as some of the reviews state. RESORT GROUNDS: The resort grounds are very nice, but this is a very large resort so expect to do some walking. They keep everything clean, and they have some beautiful landscaping. BARS: Without a doubt you need a black bracelet to have access to the bars that do not water down the drinks. There is a huge difference from one bar to another as to the taste of the drinks. I would say the sports bar is the worst for making drinks since even a simple Barcardi and coke tasted like water. The pool bars are decent, and a lot of fun. The drinks you get when eating at the restaurants are very good. The beach bars make decent drinks (thanks Carlos). RESTAURANTS: Even with a purple bracelet you have quite a few choices of restaurants to choose from. The buffets are ok, but they get a bit old if you eat there every day. I would rate the restaurants in the following order: Meat Restaurant, Italian Restaurant, Mexican Restaurant, buffets, and then the fast food at the sports bar. I did not go to the sushi restaurant so I did not include it, but my brother enjoyed it there. The service we received at the restaurants was excellent since the resort was not at capacity. BEACH/POOLS: The Oasis has a great beach and pool area. The beach surf is rough on some days, but most of the time it is not that bad. The pool area is great since they have one section that has the loud music which attracts the younger crowd, and they have another section that is quiet if that is what you are looking for. OVERALL: We had a great time, and the service was great. I would agree it makes a big difference as to the time of year you go especially at this resort, but we really enjoyed our stay at the Oasis. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes to get a drink, or to get into a any of the restaurants. The resort did have a very large group of medical students that came mid-week, but they were only allowed to eat and drink at very few selected bars/restaurants at the resort. We simply avoided the bars/restaurants on that side of the resort for the few days they were there which included the sports bar and the buffet, but they were fun to party with on the beach. I would recommend this resort, and I would stay here again but not at spring break. When we were there they had closed one of the buildings,and were doing renovations. That is probably where they need to put more focus on at this resort since some of the rooms do need updating and regular maintenance.

View from our room
30 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Maine
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 1, 2012
Great Place to Stay

This resort is a great place to visit and relax in Cancun. The beach is in excellent shape and well maintained. It is one of the few resorts in the area with palapas installed on the beach for the comfort of the guests. Large beach towels are provided with no headaches of exchanging a token for a towel. The employees were all very polite and helpful. The food was good, and the drinks are good and not waterd down. The pool is huge with areas of music and entertainment...as well as quiet areas where you can relax, read a book, and take a nap. The ladscaping and groundskeepers at the resort do a fantastic job of keeping this resort looking like a tropical paradise. Checking into the hotel was easy and reasonably quick. Checking out was even faster. The nightime entertainment at the resort was very well done and worth seeing. Keep in mind, this is Mexico. People in Mexico tend to move at a bit slower and relaxed pace than in the United States...lean back a little and relax with them while at the resort. Attention ladies...if you need wash cloths, take them with you...none are provided at this resort.


29 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 29, 2012
Know your Building

I arrived at the hotel, to be checked into a room that was adjacent the Coyote Loco bar in the "spring break" section of the hotel. Oasis Cancun has 4 sections to it, plus Grand Oasis. You don't know where you are going unless you have done this before. I checked in and the noise level was unbelievable. My room was no better since it was next to the spring break bar on the first floor. There was no sleeping that night, and finally there was a bit of silence around 7am the next morning. Luckily, the CheapCaribbean.com rep was there to help us secure a different room, that included having to upgrade to another building entirely, which we gladly did. The other hotel (to the right of the Grand Oasis if you are facing it from the street), was much quieter and is considered the 'family' hotel. Unless you are 18 - 24, I absolutely do not recommend using the two buildings to the left of the Grand Oasis (if you are facing it from the street). These are monopolized by the spring break crowd which is great if that's what you are there for. I went in January so I had no idea it would be that wild (this group were on a break from Canada). The hotel is fairly well divided once you know your way around, and kids and families generally steer clear of the drunk college crowd, and vice versa. The hotel itself runs extremely well given all the restaurant options. I'm not critical of the drunk crowd, but I am disappointed that the hotel staff did not seem to distinguish the difference between the guests. The website should be more specific about what you are booking and what you should book, depending on what you are looking for.


37 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charleston, SC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2016
For those who are willing to go with the flow

This is long, but worth the read.... First, cheapcaribbean.com was amazing with everything from the price to their customer service. We booked 2 days before departure, one friend never told me her passport still had her maiden name so we had to work feverishly to change it before departure. Cheapcaribbean helped me do that and our travels went without a problem. They arranged all the travel including transportation to the resort. Everything was so organized and easy to understand. Now on to the resort. When I was looking for deals I kept seeing pictures of the same resort listed, but with simple changes to the name...after my trip I realize these are all the same resort, but the name refers to the access you receive within the resort. We did the Oasis Cancun Lite package which I believe to be the lowest package. With this package we received access to almost everything on the resort except certain clubs and amenities. These things we did not have access to were not missed. Yes, we would have liked to be able to get into the Cabaret club, but we were able to find other activities to hold our attention. Check in did take a little while, maybe 20-30 minutes at most. I did not mind because when it was our turn I saw the level of service I was getting. The front desk was knowledgable about our package and the resort. We were all given wrist bands that let the staff know your level of access, the map they give you at check-in clearly outlines which spots you have access to. If they are not listed, chances are you don't have access. Again, these are few and you're not really missing anything. If you want full access then pay for the higher package. The room was what I expected. I read some reviews saying there was a window where the toilet was and no shower door. These were accurate. The window into the bathroom is frosted half way up so if you're going with people you don't want to see you peeing and pooping, then maybe get your own room. Also, the window looks right into the shower, which also is wide open for everyone to see. The door into the bathroom also opened halfway between the double sink vanity so you had to close the door to get to the shower side of the bathroom and keep it closed if more than 2 people were using the sink. These thing were inconvenient, but I was not in cancun to enjoy the amenities of the bathroom and bedroom. The room had 2 double beds pushed together, I'm guessing their version of a king or just to save space. The beds were actually comfortable. There was a small table with 2 chairs, a nice flat screen, and a balcony. The fridge has canned beverages including 2 bottles of water. Room service was not included, but I did order in one meal...4 extra bottles of water, a burger with fries, and a chicken sandwich with fries all for $12 US. I mean, you can't complain about that. They said it would be there is 45 minutes and they were right on time. The atmosphere at this resort is family friendly and loud fun. This is not a relaxation resort. There is another resort attached, same company I believe, you have access to their pool, but it is more relaxed and adults only I believe. Not sure if you can get drinks and food because once we saw it was lame we decided to go back to ours. The restaurants and bars do have specific operating hours, but they are clearly labeled on the map that is given at check in. I think it helps to plan your day if you wish to do that or you can just walk around and see what is open. The mexican restaurant is hands down the best! I am not a huge fan of mexican, but I had a chicken burrito and it was so delicious. The italian restaurant was good, but you will have your longest wait there. The buffet was good, nothing fancy, but there were some good options especially breakfast. The line for breakfast here will be long, but it moves quickly. The pool bar was our favorite spot! Humberto and Adrian were always on their game. Adrian makes the best long island iced teas! Humberto's were good, but Adrian's were amazing! There is only 1 beer selection and it's so hot out that you have to get extra ice in everything. One night there was a live band in the little cantina off the pool which also houses 3 food booths with food available all day and night. This was one of my favorite times because most guests were up dancing and singing and drinking in the mexican night under the mexican stars. Also, most of the nightlife doesn't get started until after 10pm so don't plan on getting the party started until then or after. From the cantina we went over to the cowboy loco or whatever it was called, there was a live band that would play a couple songs then go back to DJ and then back to the band. It was a fun mix, not sure if that's how it is every night or just the night we went. We danced and drank and then moved over to the beach party which actually was more of a party on the terrace by the stage they have. The dj was great, the night breeze was blowing as we danced and drank the night away. If I could offer any recommendations is would be to have more bartenders, the bartenders that were working were amazing and organized, but I bartend and the amount of customers waiting warranted more help. The star of the show was the beach and ocean!!! It was beautiful!! We had so much fun. There were some weird guys pettling their products, but just keep your down and don't engage and they will leave you alone. We did not do an excursions, nor did we go to the highly recommended Coco Bongo, we stayed at the resort and we had the best time! If there was anything I do regret is not going to Coco Bongo because almost everyone we spoke to went and recommended it, but there is always next time!


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 25-34

December 14, 2012
great vacation

This was my first vacation to cancun mexico and when i read the reviews i was kind of skeptical about going but there were a few reviews that were positive so we went and had a great time. First of all the staff at the resort was very nice and helpful anytime we needed anything they went out of thier way to help us.the cleaning staff didnt speak english so when we needed some thing we would call the front desk. we were going to purchanse a safe for $5 dollars a day but didnt nothing ever got missing. we didnt upgrade nor was we asked to but the next time i do think that i will because a couple we met said that they upgraded and they were switched to an ocean front and it was just a little nicer than what we had and they had excess to more resturants. We stayed a week and didnt get to visit all the restuarants that we could go to with our band so we were fine. The food was good depending on what restuarant you choose to go i was very satified if i tried something i didnt like, well i knew not to get it anymore. i dont recommend anybody use the atm machine to get money , they charge $14 in fees we found out the hard way after using it twice i recommend bring alot of dollar bills, a friend that we met brought $300 dollar bills for tipping and for going to the market at the market you can bargain and its better if you have small bills. we went to market 28 and its so many people selling things look around to get the best price.We also went to chichen itza i do recommend that you take that tour i also recommend that you wait until you get to the resort to get discount tickets i read a review that told me the same thing and didnt listen i paid a guy at the airport to take a tour got a better deal at the resort. The pool area was nice there was plenty of space by the pool the entertainment was good they had a night club at the resort we didnt go but a couple we met said that it was good. the beach was goreous and the weather was nice all week long. We will be returning hopefully next year one of the best vacations we have ever taken.

great vacation great vacation
16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: charlotte, north carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 13, 2012
Worst Resort Ever

Beautiful lobby and outdoor area. Beautiful view. Those are the last nice things to be said about this resort. Staff does not care about your comfort or convenience. In fact they seem to treat visitors through Cheap Caribbean as second class. Those guests with a different color wristband got much better treatment. Not one area in the hotel other than the rooms has air conditioning. Everything is very very far away from everything else on the resort. The restaurants have terrible food, and only one of them has air conditioning. Drinks served may as well be fruit juice. Room service is NOT included in the all inclusive. The rooms smell like mildew and have dirty and moldy bathrooms with peeling paint. I actually left Oasis after a single night to stay in a nicer one. This would have qualified as the worst experience I ever had at a roadside motel, let alone an expensive resort. Please spend whatever is necessary to stay at any other resort.


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 15, 2013
Good for young people

The resort is one of the cheaper all-inclusive in Cancun so as long as you taper your expectations you will not be disappointed, but you definitely get what you pay for. The grounds and beaches were beautiful although the hotel does not have nearly enough beach beds or chairs. You have to get to the beach by 7am to get a chair or bed. Also they run out of towels by 10am and then wont have any until after 12pm. The pools were really nice and it was fairly easy to get a drink anywhere you were in the resort. The food was just bad across the board so if you are expecting great meals, do not book this place. The service was pretty bad as you can tell the staff is dealing with unsatisfied customers and spring breakers constantly. For how much we paid I think it was a good value but if you want mid to high level service and food, i would book elsewhere. It is best suited for college students without a lot of cash to dump on a vacation.


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baltimore
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2012
Amazing vacation

Our vacation to Oasis Cancun Resot was AMAZING,,, we loved everthing about it,, the facility the beach the service and the food was wonderful.. I would do this trip all over again except that this time we would stay longer then our 4 night 5 days stay. Their is so much to do or you can do nothing at all,,, I would defitnetly go back,,, Thank you so much CheapCaribbean for making this trip a memorable one, *Trish N Tino*

the view from our room our beach oasis
18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year