All

Now Larimar Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 208 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.9 out of 5
"Very nice hotel layout, landscape, pools and beach. It would be very nice if see weed was cleaned out more often on the beach, but other words excelente." – Vitira
183 out of 243 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Butler Randy Now Larimar Main Pool Sunrise Beach Sunrise from Deluxe Garden View Rooms Cutting the Cake! Dining area beautiful view at the Now Larimar resort Water Sports the beach Now Larimar Beach Main Pool after foam party during water balloon fight Now Larimar Halloween Party Excellente!!! The Swim-Up Bar! Best Bell Boy Elvis Dinner at Japanese Place Romantic Dinner Saona Island Gala Caribe fun on the buggy ride

All Now Larimar Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 208 reviews. Sort by
July 11, 2011
A work in progress...

I've never written a bad review of anything and am usually easy to please, but I fear this place is not yet up to CheapCaribbean.com standards of excellence. This was our second time visiting the DR. Last time we stayed at a different resort down the beach and it was a great experience. This place is an ok value for the money, but you get what you pay for...we paid $2300 for 5 nights all inclusive--a great deal. I have never felt strongly enough about my stay anywhere to give it a negative review, but this place needs the feedback because there IS tremendous potential! The grounds and resort are really very lovely... Someone is slways cleaning, painting, gardening... the staff is 5 star! We got great service from everyone (except our maid -- we seemed to always be last/late). The pools were gorgeous and well maintained and the beach was beautiful despite the never ending battle against the seaweed. However, the food, drinks, and rooms are severely lacking in quality. The biggest disappointment was the unpredictable quality of the food. Many of the food items kept in the cooler (butter, desserts, etc.) have a very musty/moldy smell/taste that literally nauseating, so while the overall dining experience was nice, we found ourselves smelling everything before tasting it. Fully 1/4 of all food items were affected. If you count food as one of your adventures, you should consider bringing extra safety gear. The drinks are of course bottom shelf as with most sll inclusives, but here they are actually sub standard, no name brands. Mixed drinks lack flavor and the alcohol is rot-gut quality. If you want decent drinks you have to upgrade to "Preferred" and that will cost you. The rooms have potential as it appears they are still in the process of upgrading and improving them since changing owners. There is still a lot of work to be done, however. We had to be moved after our first night because the room (air conditioning) smelled excessively mildewy. It actually affected our ability to sleep that night and we both felt I'll the next day. Staff was great about changing us to a new room, but again, the smell was there, albeit less so. We opted to live with it. One last consideration about the room is definitely the lack of privacy of the bathroom. There is a huge opening between the room and the bathroom ( our second room had a window with a flower decal but it didn't make much difference). While there is a frosted glass door to the privy, it really does not offer much privacy.... It's more like an echo chamber. If you are there with a new love or have "issues" this might be a consideration. It's NOT romantic. Ultimately, the experience was good for the beautiful crystal blue seas and the lovely pools for lounging by... It is why we love the DR. Past that, however, I would not recommend it until they attend to these items and rise to the level of quality I expect from CheapCaribbean.com.


44 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Elmira, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2013
Fabulous choice

We just returned and had a fabulous vacation staying at Now Larimar. The staff and facility was wonderful. Food was good, nightly entertainment was enjoyable and visits to the Casino even went well. Good size resort, so you don't feel crowded but not too big that you have to walk a long way to your destination between room, pool, beach, dining areas and activity area. Suggest the upgrade to the preferred room. Beach was amazing - soft cool sand and bar service staff were available to meet your every need. High recommend this place. Note: you have to be stern with the representatives who are trying to 'sell' you on the time share options, so they leave you alone early in your visit.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2011
Now Larimar

Now Larimar is a gorgeous resort! I was very disappointed by the food. It was horrible and some restaurants were closed twice a week. The room service had a very limited menu and the mini bar did not have enough drinks.


50 of 58 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: CT
Age: 25-34

May 5, 2013
time share and safety nightmare

Was bombarded from the minute we arrived about meeting with a timeshare representative. Was turned off big time by this and took away from the relaxation of the resort while trying to dodge sales reps. Employees even got visibly and admittedly upset when we went with one rep over the other. I would had never gone to this resort had I known about this. We were also warned repeatedly about the safety of our belongings and realized after being there for two days that there had been toilet paper jammed in the door jam of our room door to avoid the lock from engaging. Due to this we did not allow housekeeping in our room the entire week we were there and had to call anytime we needed anything.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: fresno, ca
Age: 35-44

March 30, 2016
Returning customers

My boyfriend and I had been to this resort 2 years ago and decided to take his two children along this time as well. We usually never repeat resorts/tropical vacations but felt it necessary as we knew what would be available to keep the teen and young adult busy on their own. And we were well aware of what we could do to be on our own relaxing adult vacation as well and still have the kids with. It was everything we remembered and more. We booked multiple excursions through Cheap Caribbean agents on site, and they were worth it. The resort offered an array of different food options, from buffets to Dominican food to Japanese, Italian, French, Spanish etc. 24 hour room service rocked, (especially for the kids!) and at least one buffet was open 24 hours for those late night snacks if you were out and about. The nightly entertainment was incredible and geared toward all ages. If the kids were bored we told them it was their own fault. There was never a dull moment on this resort, even if it was a rainy day, they had an alternative schedule planned for activities indoors. Lovely lovely lovely!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Sobieski, WI
Age: 25-34

September 20, 2011
Now Larimar

I would recommend another resort....this was our third trip to the Dominican and by far the least accomodating resort. Service was good, but the resort was lacking. During huricane Irene, they still kept putting the itinerary under the door as if there was no torrential downpour..for 3 DAYS! We were not allowed to go near the pools and water, of course, but why would they send out the itinerary with activity times "poolside" with no alternate location...they even cancelled the magic show at night, there was nothing to do...nothing.... The "special" restaraunts we went to were bad..simply bad. We went to the Oriental and the Italian, and just quit trying after that....we went to Carnival buffet every night which was good..not great. You cannot go to the other sister resort...that's a falsehood. they DO NOT have the euro bungee....they DO NOT have ocean trampoline, it's on their advertising... I asked and no one knew what I was talking about..... They will accost you at every turn to sell you their club package...I'm on vacation, LEAVE ME ALONE! Everythign smelled bad. ..for 4 days. The room really smelled bad even before the rains...it was musty and mildewy. The bathrooms were just weird. really. When you step out of the shower, you were fullly exposed to anyone in the room...I had to yell NAKED!!! so my children would have to duck and cover until I got wrapped in a towel.


28 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 18, 2013
Good Value

I would recommend this resort if you are looking for a good value. The grounds, pool area and rooms are well maintained and clean. The food options are good, the food quality is average. Overall the staff is good and especially friendly. I would caution that when booking your room, note that the are 2 areas of the hotel...one which is included for a Cheap Caribben booking and the upgraded area. Upon checking in, you will be givein the option to pay $40 per day more for a room on the main side of the hotel. If not you will be stuck at the main enternace and will need to take a golf cart to get to the main lobby area, restaurants etc. The upgrade really only gets you a slightly better location the room is average. For an additional $40 you can get closer to the beach. Also don't be surprised that yo are locked out of certain eating areas unless you pay for the food upgrade. In all we felt that the hotel shoudl just charge a little more and allow guest to have a good room/location and eat where they want to. There are other hotels we have stayed at for the same price that were much nice and offered better value. The sun and beach will make up for anything lacking at the hotel!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 26, 2015
Had everything we wanted!

Chose NOW Larimar to celebrate a friends 50th BD as she had never been to DR. The resort was well maintained and the rooms were nice. The main buffet restaurant offered everything you could want so we ate there a lot. We also visited the Italian, French and Japanese restaurants. The ambiance was more private and the food was good. The beach had seaweed in the water but they constantly cleaned it up so it wasn't much of a problem. Pools were very clean. I had an excellent deep tissue massage at the spa. The nighttime outdoor shows and Casino(very small) were OK. The bowling alley was fun for us but do NOT go if you are a serious bowler as the lanes and balls are all warped! The disco was outdoors and it was way too hot for dancing except for the younger adults. I have stayed at another all-inclusive resort in DR and this one was comparable.

Had everything we wanted! Had everything we wanted!
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 31, 2016
Great Dominican vacation

We had a great time at the Now Larimar Punta Cana. I purchased the deal of fortune deal and received notification of this selection 4 days prior to leaving. Even though one part of the deal of fortune website says we will find out "within 7 days" prior to travel (meaning anytime up until the day of travel), there is another part of the website that was not updated and said "7 days before travel" (I even saved the screenshot). So I was nervous when I had not heard, and the staff when I phoned acted like I did not know to read and interpret English, which was rather insulting. Anyway, I did receive my confirmation and I did love the hotel. Positives: huge and gorgeous grounds. I enjoyed just walking around the pretty white washed covered walkways, which were also great for when you got the occasional tropical shower. The staff were by and large nice and very attentive. The only exception was the concierge, who was rude and acted like she ran the place. But the wait staff, housekeeping, bartenders, and everyone else were very friendly. The pools were beautiful and beautifully kept. It was not too crowded and we were able to lie in the cabanas due to their non-reservation policy (can't put a beach towel down very early and reserve one...which is fantastic and should be done at every resort!) The "preferred club" had an extra pool (no better than the regular ones and an extra beachside restaurant (again, really no biggie if you pass on this...the rest are all very nice). The swim up bar was awesome! The exercise programs at the gym and on the beach were great, too! The kids seemed to enjoy the kids club, although it did not seem like there very many children at the resort at all (may have been May timing). The wedding parties (several on the weekend) seemed a bit loud if you wanted to enjoy a quiet walk on the beach. The beach was beautiful and it was fun that kayaks and paddleboards were free to use. There is some seaweed here, but they do try and clean it up often. The sand and water color were amazing! I enjoyed trying many of the cocktails at the bars and they were always generous and happy to get another or offer water. Only once were they out of a particular alcohol. The staff was also very happy to give you extra water or mini fridge drinks if you wanted them. The food: The American restaurant was pretty good, but the bread was burnt which was an odd start as our first meal. The French was very pretty ambiance, and the food was fairly good as well. The japanese (ala carte) was very good and we kept going back to that as we enjoyed it so much. The tuna tataki was amazing! Everyone seemed to enjoy the tepanyaki, although we were not able to get reservations. Make sure you reserve many days in advance if you want to do that!! The international cafe was well stocked with every thing you could imagine! It is pretty much the only lunch place apart from the burger and hotdog place by the beach. I preferred walking down the Now Garden for the breakfast instead. I highly recommend this....only a few people go there and you can sit out in the beautiful gardens and enjoy the amazing coffee (they serve their cafe con leche with evaporated milk here, making it superior to all the other places to get coffee on the grounds). There is also a protected mangrove along the walk (you can also take a golf cart, but it's really not that far) with turtles and birds. The only negatives I can really think of are the musty smells in the hotel room that never seemed to dry out (mostly just the bathroom, but the room slightly in general). Also when it rains the tiles are very slippery. I think this would be a huge danger to kids who have a hard time not walking fast/running. Overall, the room was good/average, but the rest of the hotel was excellent. We also took a tour to the eco park and drove ATVs and swam in the lagoon. It was a blast! Anyway, would definitely stay again and highly recommend!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: south carolina
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 28, 2016
Fun in the Sun

Where to start? I think the best way to approach this is by category. Value: We tweaked the date reservation and flights to suit our budget. We found flying from Wilmington, NC instead of Myrtle Beach, SC (an hour and a half drive) saved us $150 per person. Preferred Option: Definitely the way to go if you can afford it, the room was better, but the restaurant options are out of this world. Plus you get to hang out at the better private pools all day! Service: The staff at Now Larimar are among some of the most helpful individuals on the planet. I have been to many restaurants stateside and only some meet the quality and courtesy of that at this resort. Beach & Pools: O.k. so the beach is a beach and there's going to be sea grass washed up. I don't need to go into much about that, except that the staff are out there before daybreak running the sand rake to do their best to remove most. The pools are fabulous, well maintained and great fun with the pool parties! As I mentioned before, the preferred pools are more private with better service but if you want to get down and have a bunch of fun with the kids, visit the large pool!! Dining Options: Now Larimar have really covered about all the options for dining, something for everyone. I have 2 young children and they seemed to be the happiest at the buffet because they just don't want to wait for food at the other "Menu" restaurants. That being said, we tried all the other restaurants out and each one offered a great meal and service. The breakfast at the carnival buffet was the only option I'm aware of, great food and more choice than you'll ever want. Room Comfort: I only gave this a 3 star, simply because the spa tub had a serious leak more than likely from the hoses that supply the jets. We did put a call into the front desk about this, but I really don't think that anything was done about it. This really didn't bother me too much because i'm a hot shower kind of guy anyway. The cleaning staff were very friendly and efficient, although their English wasn't the best (or my Spanish wasn't good!!!) Many people have been complaining about the smell in the rooms. Not much to worry about really. I'm sure a lot of it has to do with the narrow gauge sewer plumbing, but the idea is to be outside on your vacation anyhoo! The only thing that really irritated me about the room was the digital clock. I should have in hindsight double checked with my phone, but being a trusting soul, set my wristwatch to the room clock...bad mistake. The following day we were due to go on an excursion, but due to the error, we missed it and had to reschedule. My son had a double ear infection and couldn't go anyway so we managed to get a refund after a lot of wrangling. Well, my son's ear infection only got worse and spiked a fever, so we had to take him to the doctor on the resort. They told us that he could not fly, due to the air pressure on the plane could cause a bleed internally and damage his hearing. Not a good thing to hear when the flight home was in 48hrs! After a long conversation with the staff at cheapcaribbean.com we managed to get in touch with Delta airlines who very kindly rescheduled my wife's and son's flights for 2 days later for free!!!!. My daughter and I flew home on the original dates because the flights were fully booked as it was Christmas time. I didn't mind doing this because my wife is a seasoned flier! Now Larimar also kindly gave us a reduced rate on the same room and preferred status for the additional nights accomodation. I have to thank the staff from all the different parties involved in this little fiasco, they really pulled together to get us all home safely. We will definitely use cheapcaribbean again. Thanks you for a memorable vacation!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Myrtle Beach, SC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year