All

Now Larimar Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 176 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4 out of 5
"Very nice hotel layout, landscape, pools and beach. It would be very nice if see weed was cleaned out more often on the beach, but other words excelente." – Vitira
159 out of 204 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Excellente!!! Dinner at Japanese Place Now Larimar Halloween Party Main Pool after foam party during water balloon fight Dining area beautiful view at the Now Larimar resort Now Larimar Beach the beach The Swim-Up Bar! fun on the buggy ride Now Larimar Main Pool Sunrise Butler Randy Water Sports Beach Saona Island Gala Caribe Sunrise from Deluxe Garden View Rooms Cutting the Cake!

All Now Larimar Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 176 reviews. Sort by
July 11, 2011
A work in progress...

I've never written a bad review of anything and am usually easy to please, but I fear this place is not yet up to CheapCaribbean.com standards of excellence. This was our second time visiting the DR. Last time we stayed at a different resort down the beach and it was a great experience. This place is an ok value for the money, but you get what you pay for...we paid $2300 for 5 nights all inclusive--a great deal. I have never felt strongly enough about my stay anywhere to give it a negative review, but this place needs the feedback because there IS tremendous potential! The grounds and resort are really very lovely... Someone is slways cleaning, painting, gardening... the staff is 5 star! We got great service from everyone (except our maid -- we seemed to always be last/late). The pools were gorgeous and well maintained and the beach was beautiful despite the never ending battle against the seaweed. However, the food, drinks, and rooms are severely lacking in quality. The biggest disappointment was the unpredictable quality of the food. Many of the food items kept in the cooler (butter, desserts, etc.) have a very musty/moldy smell/taste that literally nauseating, so while the overall dining experience was nice, we found ourselves smelling everything before tasting it. Fully 1/4 of all food items were affected. If you count food as one of your adventures, you should consider bringing extra safety gear. The drinks are of course bottom shelf as with most sll inclusives, but here they are actually sub standard, no name brands. Mixed drinks lack flavor and the alcohol is rot-gut quality. If you want decent drinks you have to upgrade to "Preferred" and that will cost you. The rooms have potential as it appears they are still in the process of upgrading and improving them since changing owners. There is still a lot of work to be done, however. We had to be moved after our first night because the room (air conditioning) smelled excessively mildewy. It actually affected our ability to sleep that night and we both felt I'll the next day. Staff was great about changing us to a new room, but again, the smell was there, albeit less so. We opted to live with it. One last consideration about the room is definitely the lack of privacy of the bathroom. There is a huge opening between the room and the bathroom ( our second room had a window with a flower decal but it didn't make much difference). While there is a frosted glass door to the privy, it really does not offer much privacy.... It's more like an echo chamber. If you are there with a new love or have "issues" this might be a consideration. It's NOT romantic. Ultimately, the experience was good for the beautiful crystal blue seas and the lovely pools for lounging by... It is why we love the DR. Past that, however, I would not recommend it until they attend to these items and rise to the level of quality I expect from CheapCaribbean.com.


43 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Elmira, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 9, 2011
Great trip at a reasonable price

Overall, a very nice resort including room, dining at sit down and buffet restaurants, bars, shows, etc. We upgraded to the preferred club which did provide upgraded liquor and beer selections (better scotch, aged rum, bottled corona, etc.), computer use, and a room close to the beach & pools. FYI, the liquor/beer selections at the standard bars & pools was good as well certainly when compared to other all-inclusives. We thought the preferred club was worth the additional money for the room location, jacuzzi tub on balcony, great check-in and check-out, computer access for free, and the semi-private pools/beach areas (I say semi-private as they only asked once or twice for our room number to confirm we were in the preferred club). If those little things don't matter to you then don't spend the extra money on the preferred club as we probably spent half of our time at the regular pool, beach, etc. anyway. On the negative side, this resort was more than a little pushy about their vacation club/timeshare options. Actually, if you negotiate quite a bit I would say it is a good timeshare opportunity (which my wife and I almost purchased after a 2 hour presentation) but we already have another timeshare and don't travel multiple weeks/year at this time. We did get and use the $100 spa voucher they promised but could not use it in conjunction with the other coupons as they said we could. We were only there for 4 days and spending 2 hours was not what we had planned for, but if you are going for a week and it is something you might actually be interested in or you just want the free $100 spa credit then do it; just be prepared to say no if you don't want it and you better have a back bone because they can be convincing and it can be a good deal if you don't have a timeshare and are going to travel each year. Looking back on it with only four days there, I would have skipped the presentation and just paid full price ($191) for the couples beach massage which was great! Also, we have traveled many places in the carribean, U.S. and abroad which all have differences when it comes to being approached by people selling stuff/services on the beach. The sales guys on the beach (just outside the resort property) are somewhat pushy and the shop owners down the beach they take you to are even pushier. However, if you like to negotiate you can get some good deals on liquor, cigars, shirts, gifts, etc. to take home or use there. Once again, don't entertain them if you don't want to negotiate and/or have a back bone to actually turn them down. This is an absolutely beautiful beach front location, good accomadations, good service, good food, good nightly entertainment in the theater or square, and it appeared to have a good kids club area which we didn't use because we left are kids at home with the grand parents for this trip. The casino is o.k. at best with blackjack, roulette, and slot machines (no craps tables), the sports bar with bowling alley is good, and the night clubl was good as well. I would recommend this location to any family, couple or friends seeking a very nice but still affordable getaway. It is not a five star resort but once again you are not paying for a five star resort either. Great place to relax or party as much as you want which is not always the case.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2013
Fabulous choice

We just returned and had a fabulous vacation staying at Now Larimar. The staff and facility was wonderful. Food was good, nightly entertainment was enjoyable and visits to the Casino even went well. Good size resort, so you don't feel crowded but not too big that you have to walk a long way to your destination between room, pool, beach, dining areas and activity area. Suggest the upgrade to the preferred room. Beach was amazing - soft cool sand and bar service staff were available to meet your every need. High recommend this place. Note: you have to be stern with the representatives who are trying to 'sell' you on the time share options, so they leave you alone early in your visit.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 27, 2011
Now Larimar

Now Larimar is a gorgeous resort! I was very disappointed by the food. It was horrible and some restaurants were closed twice a week. The room service had a very limited menu and the mini bar did not have enough drinks.


47 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: CT
Age: 25-34

December 16, 2011
Good Value, Inconsistent Service

First the positives: great pools, great beach, great bars. Food pretty good for breakfast and lunch (esp. at the beachside restaurant) but just OK for dinner. The "dress code" for the a la carte restaurants was a joke. Completely arbitrary. I was turned away one night for wearing sandals despite their own brochure, website and the posted list on the door behind the hostess that said sandals or sneakers are OK for men, but no flip-flops. Others were turned away for jeans or T-shirts. (lit says those are OK & I was admitted more than once in those.) Meanwhile you sit down in the restaurant next to folks in shorts or bikini tops. Very annoying. Most staff were very friendly and helpful, but a few were sullen and unfriendly. One bartender at a night event never said a word, just looked at me until I ordered, made a drink, handed it to me and turned away. Thanks! Lots of things in the literature are flat-out untrue. The spa and fitness center is closed for renovation. A few exercise machines have been stuffed in the theater building. Spa services are being conducted in emptied out hotel rooms (classy!). The advertised free wi-fi in Preferred Rooms is non-existent unless you yell and scream. I am self-employed and have to stay in contact with home (though I'd rather not) so I had to make a fuss, which makes everyone look at you like you're a crazy American who can't relax. That's doubly aggravating. Also, the Preferred check in person neglected to tell me about many features (vouchers, room service, events, etc.) that would have made the stay more enjoyable. She really dropped the ball on that one. Overall, though, a beautiful place and very good value.


32 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: NYC
Age: 45-54

September 20, 2011
Now Larimar

I would recommend another resort....this was our third trip to the Dominican and by far the least accomodating resort. Service was good, but the resort was lacking. During huricane Irene, they still kept putting the itinerary under the door as if there was no torrential downpour..for 3 DAYS! We were not allowed to go near the pools and water, of course, but why would they send out the itinerary with activity times "poolside" with no alternate location...they even cancelled the magic show at night, there was nothing to do...nothing.... The "special" restaraunts we went to were bad..simply bad. We went to the Oriental and the Italian, and just quit trying after that....we went to Carnival buffet every night which was good..not great. You cannot go to the other sister resort...that's a falsehood. they DO NOT have the euro bungee....they DO NOT have ocean trampoline, it's on their advertising... I asked and no one knew what I was talking about..... They will accost you at every turn to sell you their club package...I'm on vacation, LEAVE ME ALONE! Everythign smelled bad. ..for 4 days. The room really smelled bad even before the rains...it was musty and mildewy. The bathrooms were just weird. really. When you step out of the shower, you were fullly exposed to anyone in the room...I had to yell NAKED!!! so my children would have to duck and cover until I got wrapped in a towel.


25 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 22, 2016
Honeymoon Vca!

My husband and I stayed at the Now Larimar Resort in Punta Cana for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time! We vacationed the third week in June 2016 and had awesome weather! Prior to our trip, I read many reviews on various resorts and decided on Now Larimar because of the activities they had to offer and the numerous restaurants that were on the resort with good ratings. We upgraded our package to "Preferred" at the time of booking our vacation without exactly understanding what "Preferred" got us in the resort until we got there. Basically, the preferred status will get you two extra bars where you can drink, an extra restaurant where you can have breakfast/lunch, 24 hour room service (something we took advantage of!), a "preferred" private section on the beach, and an extra "preferred" private pool. We enjoyed the upgrade when we got there however, because this resort is a family resort, upgrading to "Preferred" does not exactly free you of the kiddos if that's something you are looking to do. We didn't seem to mind or have any difficulties with children being around considering that the resort is large enough to easily escape and find quietness or try to steer away from any loudness by switching pools. Now Larimar offers so many things to do to occupy your time if you are not the type of person that enjoys spending all of your days in the sun, at the beach, or in the pool. Every night, there was a different show that was put on by the resort's "entertainment team." They were fun and enjoyable for kids and adults, alike. There also is a "scores bar" on the resort with foosball tables, a bowling alley, etc. where the kids can play while mom and dad enjoy a cold drink. Additionally, the resort had a casino and many opportunities to take SAFE excursions off the resort with affiliated tour guides. My husband and I did two excursions including the side-by-side tours and ziplining. My recommendation is to sign up for those at the resort once arriving because the tour guides can provide you with the most accurate information regarding what type of excursion you will be embarking on verse adding it to your vacation package at time of booking. As far as the service at the resort is concerned, the workers and employees were all fantastic!! We were pleasantly surprised at how many workers could fluently speak Spanish, English, and several other languages! We did not have hardly any difficulties communicating with the staff and everyone we came into contact with was super helpful, caring, concerning, and aimed at fulfilling any needs we had. We also were given a "butler" at time of check-in that showed us around the resort and acted like our "right hand man" throughout our stay (See picture!). He was extremely helpful with providing information to us and he even decorated our room on two different occasions with real rose petals for our honeymoon! If I could highlight one thing about this resort, it certainly would be the people. Everyone acted like a family towards one another and treated us like their own family. My husband and I can not say enough about how kind and helpful everyone was throughout our entire stay.

Butler Randy Now Larimar Beach
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34

July 7, 2011
Now Larimar

My fiance and I visited Now Larimar the last week in June 2011. The resort was clean, the room was fine, and the staff were eager to please. Many of the guests were spanish speaking, with some german and russian mixed in. The english speaking guests were in the minority. Many of the staff had a hard time understanding what we were asking for and sometimes guessed what we needed, other times they asked another staff to assist, which was fine. The biggest issue was the quality of the food, which was really lacking. The cooking and presentation were good, but the overall quality of the meats, fruits and vegetables were really poor. The resort really needs to invest in higher quality foods to remain competitive. I had read some reviews prior to our departure that stated that the food had a plastic taste. I didn't notice this right away, but noticed a strange musty smell in all of the food serving areas. This sometimes seemed to seep into the food. For instance, I had cheesecake at one of the ala carte restaurants that seemed really good so I ordered it on the room service menu and when it arrived it was not edible due to the overwhelming smell/taste. I began sniffing all of my food before I ate it. Sometimes it was fine and others it had the bad smell/taste. The beach was really beautiful, but does have a lot of seaweed and no waves. So if your a bit funny about swimming with bits and pieces of seaweed and getting them in your suit, you may not like the beach. We also seemed to get the stomach bug by day 4. We still have it and aren't sure when it will go away. Overall we really liked the DR and enjoyed the people. We would definitely go back, but not to this resort.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wheeling, WV
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 30, 2011
Now Larimar

Overall, the trip was good to the Now Larimar Punta Cana. The pools, beach, and staff were great. The food was ok at best. The rooms smelled terrible! It was a mildew/mold combination. Which on a normal vacation this would not have been an issue, but since we were hit confinded to the room due to Hurricane Irine this was overwhelming.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Palo, IA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 18, 2013
Good Value

I would recommend this resort if you are looking for a good value. The grounds, pool area and rooms are well maintained and clean. The food options are good, the food quality is average. Overall the staff is good and especially friendly. I would caution that when booking your room, note that the are 2 areas of the hotel...one which is included for a Cheap Caribben booking and the upgraded area. Upon checking in, you will be givein the option to pay $40 per day more for a room on the main side of the hotel. If not you will be stuck at the main enternace and will need to take a golf cart to get to the main lobby area, restaurants etc. The upgrade really only gets you a slightly better location the room is average. For an additional $40 you can get closer to the beach. Also don't be surprised that yo are locked out of certain eating areas unless you pay for the food upgrade. In all we felt that the hotel shoudl just charge a little more and allow guest to have a good room/location and eat where they want to. There are other hotels we have stayed at for the same price that were much nice and offered better value. The sun and beach will make up for anything lacking at the hotel!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year