All

Now Jade Riviera Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 330 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"the hotel is beautiful and food is great! MY room was beautiful bathroom seating area, but the mattress in the bed was hard! they need to spend money in getting mattress!" – ncprincess1
333 out of 382 (87%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Tub full of yellow fluid It's all this beautiful! Birthday decorations View from our room. Beautiful!! 2 words: All Inclusive adult only pool area serenity The Fine Mexican Restaurant on The Resort view from our room Pool private anniversary dinner on the beach the court yard area Pool cabana decorated The view behind us was breathtaking! The beach in front of Now Jade. Seaweed The beach at Now Jade. June 20th 2016 Quiet adult pool for preferred club This was our oceanview View from the suite balcony This the view from our room Salmon in CinCin restaurant. View from the room View from room 8210 Balcony view The beach at dusk! View of wetland from room balcony. View from pool area. The main pool from our hotel room.

All Now Jade Riviera Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 330 reviews. Sort by
February 4, 2011
Awesome in most ways

Our first trip to the Caribbean ever was to the Now Jade Riviera Cancun, in Riviera Maya, about 40 minutes south of Cancun. It was an awesome vacation, and a great way to spend the money we had saved for so long. This is a review, so I'm intentionally being critical, but keep in mind that overall it was a fantastic, fantastic experience. It started imperfectly--we had reserved a king bed, and they gave us two fulls instead. This is a big deal, because I'm a big guy, and my wife and I don't sleep well in a small bed. I don't know how this usually works, but I think a king reservation should be guaranteed, and this place doesn't guarantee it. Subsequently, we started the vacation with our blood boiling. They told us that they could probably move us in the next day or two, and fortunately, they moved us to a king before that first night was out. If they hadn't this would be a very different review. The room was beautiful, and while it looked out directly over a patch of vacant dirt about the size of 2-3 football fields, we could turn 45 degrees to the left and see a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. I guess that's the difference between the "ocean view" and "ocean front" rooms. The bathrooms had 2 sinks, a great walk-in shower, and a huge jacuzzi tub. Big windows everywhere, and since our room didn't face the pool or other rooms, we could leave the windows open--it was like showering and hot-tubbing outdoors! The more expensive "preferred club" rooms actually have the jacuzzi on the balcony, but at $130 PER NIGHT EXTRA, we were very happy where we were. The king bed was extraordinarily comfortable--quite a surprise. Almost every inch of the resort, including the rooms, have floors of polished marble or other stones--this makes the place fairly treacherous if you have wet feet--which we did for most of the week. Be careful. I should say the that entire property is immaculate, and cared for by a 24 hour ARMY of friendly and helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful everywhere you look. Gorgeous design throughout. You can find people scrubbing the grates around the pool at midnight, and squeegeeing water out of walkways all day long--they mean business. The restaurants were fantastic. Really. We did not expect such great food almost across the board. We had one meal where the service was slow and the food was overcooked, but I think that might have been an unusual staffing problem. Every other meal all week long exceeded our expectations. For example, the Asian restaurant was on a par with something like P.F. Changs. We didn't expect that level of food or service at an all-inclusive. I asked a waiter to help me decide between two dishes on the menu, and he brought me the one he liked better AND had the chef make me a smaller portion of the other. Awesome. Room service, while 24 hours, was disappointing. The menu is limited, and it takes a long time, so the food was cold both times we ordered anything. The weather was overcast most of the week, so the pools were kind of on the colder side, but they were beautiful and immaculate. The service at the swim up bar (all the bars, really) was very friendly, if a bit busy. You do need to stake out chairs early as they can get scarce later in the morning. Same at the beach. They're big on service--having bell-boys move your luggage, getting you a cab, etc. If you feel the need to tip at a place that advertises "all gratuities included", you'll be reaching for your pocket a lot. I did not feel that need except for our favorite bartenders (who really did a lot of work for us!), and everyone was still very friendly. The beach was pretty, although quite rocky. You'll be walking on a nice soft sand-bar, and your next step will be another foot down onto big rocks. Fun if you want to have a little adventure, but less so if you just want to wade a bit. Pet peeves (other than the full-beds thing) were the lack of free internet access. There are ZERO areas for free internet access. They have a cafe with terminals that are $4 for 15 minutes. You can also get wireless in the rooms, but the costs range from $4 for 15 minutes to $77 for the week--PER DEVICE. That means that if we wanted to have internet for 2 laptops and 2 smartphones for the week, it would be an extra $308! In 2011 that kind of thing should be free. Same for the phone service that was $1 per call locally, and $3/minute internationally. Maybe not free, of course, but there is no reason for them to stick it to people who already spent thousands to be there. Also, the promotional vouchers could only be used on obscenely high priced stuff--for example, $40 in wine vouchers could only be used $10 at a time, and the cheapest bottle is $18 for what would be a $4-$5 bottle locally. Hence, we drank less wine, and more mixed drinks. Their loss. The spa voucher was for $30 off the $180 massage. Big deal. Now it's a $150 massage. Still nearly twice what we'd pay in Philly. In the end, it's about how good you feel about the money you spent when you're going home, and in spite of some of my cranky comments above, we would definitely go back, and if someone was asking where to go in the Riviera Maya area, we would definitely encourage them to try the Now Jade.

It's all this beautiful! 2 words: All Inclusive
52 of 53 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 2, 2011

When we arrived we thought we were in the middle of nowhere! Didn't realize it would cost us $50.00 per person one way to Cancun. Write up was a little misleading as to other entertainment distances. We ended up renting a car so as not to be "trapped" The hotel personnel kept telling us that they had everything we needed, there was no need to leave. I beg to differ. Apparently this is a "buy in" hotel, they encourage you to take a 90 minute tour...which ended up being 3 1/2 hours long and the word NO doesn't seem to exist. When I booked this vacation, I wanted a vacation not people trying to sell me something With that said, the hotel is very nice, restuarants have impeccable service and the spa is wonderful. If you want to stay in a hotel and only explore the hotel grounds, this hotel is for you. If you want to explore the area, plan on renting a car, at a cost of $45.00 a day. This is the only way you can visit Cancun, Playa Del Carmen or even Puerto Morelos, unless of course you have unlimited money for cab fare. Our next vacation will be more centrally located, where there is bus service or things to do in walking distanbce. Prior to this visit, we stayed at Iberostar Toucan, much easier to navigate around the area.


56 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Eastern North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2011
Not all its cracked up to be...

I am one who reads reviews about everything no matter what it is... I read rave reviews about NOW Jade on several different websites and was appalled when I arrived. There is no way in H - E- double hockey sticks that this place deserves top notch ratings... it is mediocre at best. The food was just OK... nothing to write home about or recommend to ANYONE... the services was lax as some of the servers were ignorant and rude. There were some excellent servers on the beach but that was about it. The room was very nice if it was not raining in our room and termites didn't line the wall in the bathroom and the balcony door. The balcony did not have a cover over it therefore when it rained it poured all over everything. So much for enjoying a rainy day on the balcony... The tub filled with yellow fluids. It seriously looked like urine. I let it run out, then tried it two more times. It continously came out yellow and left a nasty residue in the tub... so much for soaking in the tub on a rainy day or a romantic night... The entertainment was good. I at least enjoyed that. The property... well, lets say, it looks like a wild fire went through most of the landscaping. Absolutly ugly. The beach was full of boulders. Not easy to enjoy unless you went past the resort ropes at the other end of the beach. Beautiful, was able to enjoy the water without worrrying about stepping on rocks or falling into big boulders. I could not believe this place was the same place other people were talking about. NOW or NEVER JADE... I say NEVER Jade... Very disappointed customer

Tub full of yellow fluid This the view from our room
33 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Glenside, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2013
Great experience

My husband and I travel to Mexico every year for our anniversary. We decided this year we wanted to try a smaller, more intimate resort. We booked the Preferred package for the upgraded options and room. I would say this was worth it. The room was huge and the view was gorgeous. We had requested a king size bed and upon check-in there weren't any available. The staff moved together two full size beds and you couldn't even tell the difference. The bathroom had two sinks, huge shower w rainfall shower head. There was also a separate room with a toilet and sink. Two huge closets separated the bedroom and bath. In room safe was self-programmable. Balcony with jacuzzi was beautiful. Maid service did a great job every day. The room service food was really good too, particularly the fajitas! The buffet for breakfast had a wide variety of food choices. Best scrambled eggs out of all the resorts we've been to. The dining choices for the evening were nice as well. We dined at the French, Italian and Japanese restaurants. But be warned, order something off of every part of menu as portion size is small! I can honestly say my husband and I liked the food at this resort the best. With the Preferred package we had our own private "lounge". Different snacks were provided throughout the day, along with premium liquor. Rooms in Preferred Club also had free WiFi in room. Adults-only pool was gorgeous, with infinity design and hammocks. Drinks weren't bad and the resort had Corona. Beach was a little smaller, but we never had a problem getting lounges in the sun. We are also gym junkies, the fitness center has the basics and got the job done for the week. The Spa was also great. We had massages and facials. Staff was really nice in general. Overall, we will most likely travel to this resort or a sister resort in the near future.

Balcony view
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Reading, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Wedding and vacation

For a quick guide, here are my pros and cons, I will go into greater detail below. I traveled to Now Jade with my family for my symbolic wedding. I had 36 guests. Pros: Smaller resort, great food, beautiful views, lots of activities, great kids club, separate pool for preferred members adults only for a quieter afternoon. Cons: THEY DO NOT ACCOMMODATE LARGE GROUPS WITHOUT CHARGING YOU FOR A RESERVATION AT RESTAURANTS. The nightly entertainment was hit and miss, some nights were excellent and others poor. Varying prices for spa treatments depending on who you purchased from. Amstar issues. Guests approached about time shares. FOOD: Overall the food was excellent. The desserts were not great, but that's pretty typical of all-inclusive resorts in this price range. The hibachi grill had amazing fish! The French restaurant was my favorite, try the salmon! I really have nothing bad to say about the food. Some places were better than others, but within my large group there was no consensus on the best place. All places were liked for different reasons. For lunch, the Castaway restaurant has a good selection with the best fish tacos ever! SPA: The spa was really nice. It has a unique sequence of amenities for you to use. The massages were pretty good. It's a great set up and very relaxing. ROOM: The rooms on the regular side are a good size, they have everything you need. The preferred rooms are larger with more ammonites, like a clothes steamer and sunscreen. The shampoo/conditioner are poor quality, definitely bring your own. The shower water never went cold (at some resorts during high use, the water gets cold). We had an ocean front room and it was beautiful!! Very quiet too. The bed was on the harder side, which my husband likes. If you have a preferred room or privileges, you have a pillow service which is nice. Room service was prompt and had a nice selection. ACTIVITIES: The daily activities were a lot of fun. Many of my guests played beach or pool volleyball everyday. We all went in the ocean and enjoyed the waves. I attended the wine tasting, tequila tasting, and yoga. All of these were great. The yoga was a mix of intermediate to advanced which I thought was different. I was happy with it, but that's not for everyone. The night club was fun, pretty good music. The football on the big screen was a big hit with my guests. They loved it. First off, although I booked 6 rooms at the exact same time, we were all placed in different buildings. Some rooms were upgrades and others weren't, which was fine. Next, we had a handicapped guest with us and although we requested a handicapped room, one was not available at the time of check in. One cool thing is that since we were such a large group (17 flying together), we were given our own bus to transport us to the resort. It was awesome! The biggest issue I had with this resort is the fact that they are trying to get you to spend more money every second of your stay. We brought a large group due to the wedding and each night we wanted to have dinner together. At this resort, if you want to make a reservation for more than 10 people, they want you to buy a bottle of wine that costs upwards of $50. These bottles of wine are $8-$10 at Costco in the states, so it's not like you are getting something fancy. You are just being gouged to sit by your family. During some nights even smaller groups of people were being charged a bottle of wine to sit at the hibachi grill. One night we decided to just all get separate tables at the same restaurant and they literally put us throughout the entire restaurant instead of one area. Finally, on the last night there, I was so fed up that I went to one of the resort managers. He arranged for us to have dinner on two separate 10 top tables at the same time that were near each other. By then, many of my guests had gone and we were down to about 20 people. The coupons are very limited, in fact they are a joke. I was able to use the $10 off a bottle of wine when I made the buy wine reservation, but that's about it. The other coupons are a complete waste because you can't combine them or use them with any other deal. Also, we were told that if we booked a bunch of spa treatments at the same time we would get a deal so in total we booked 14 massages. Then, a few days later my mom was approached at the pool with a good deal for the spa. Turns out this random guy walking around was able to give her an even better deal for booking one more massage then the deal she got when she booked 14!! It was about $20 cheaper. We told the manager about this and were given a partial credit for the original charges. All of this running around to try and get your money back is not what you want to be doing while on vacation. Not-t0-mention, the feeling that you've been ripped off in the first place. The scuba diving adventure through Amstar. This was a complete nightmare! In fact once we got home we realized we had two nightmares with Amstar, the other regarding a deep sea fishing trip. First, about the scuba, my husband booked scuba diving for himself and our daughter. They went to the morning training and were told to wait at the beach to be picked up by the boat. The waited for 2.5 hours and were never picked up. When they finally went back to the Amstar desk, they were told the trip was cancelled. This was the day before we were leaving so we could not reschedule. I requested a full refund and they offered us half of our money back since they did the training. I was really upset with this because you would never do the training if you couldn't dive! Also, my husband and daughter essentially wasted an entire day on the even that never happened. Amstar gave us the run around and said they weren't able to refund us, so I'm currently working with my credit card company to get money back. The deep sea fishing trip was planned and paid for during the trip. 6 of my guests were planning on going inclined the handicapped individual. After booking the trip Amstar realized that the boat did not allow handicapped individuals on it so they said they would refund the trip. Everyone was disappointed, but we got over it because we got our money back...or so we thought!! Once home the credit card statement clearly showed the charges without a refund. Once again, here we are doing work to get money back for adventures that did not happen. The wedding: this was by far the best part of the vacation. It was perfect! The day was seamless. I loved every part of it. The food was amazing. The decorations, the staff, the DJ.. I can't say enough. It was everything I wanted and more. My hair and makeup were perfect. They have this down to a science. I did have pricing issues and some communication trouble leading up to the wedding, but once it was happening, it was amazing.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 19, 2015
Great value and experience

This was a lovely resort with very friendly staff. I enjoyed how the staff got to know my family and children and pay attention to small details. We stayed in a preferred room and it was awesome. The Balcony overlooking the ocean and garden was a nice detail. The facilities were clean. I was mildly disappointed that the pools close at 7pm because I would have loved to sit by the pool and swim in the evening. Also, it seems that there truly need to be more pool chairs and policing of people who just reserve their seats when they don't use them for hours. However, we did ask the concierge about the reserving of seats by the pool and they gladly helped us when we noticed chairs being vacant for well over an hour. The adult pool was simply relaxing, but difficult for me to go to because my children couldn't go there and they are "tweens" so not interested in the kids club at their age. The beach access was nice and the lounge chairs under the palapas on the beach was relaxing. Great beach bar service. Unfortunately, we were there when there was a lot of seaweed on the beach, so getting to the ocean was interesting. My children loved the ocean as it is swim-able. The restaurants were decent. A nice variety. I wish we knew about some of the restaurant dress codes prior to packing because we were not able to enter a few due to no pants for the boys in our group. We didn't anticipate having to wear pants in 90 degree humidity. We used the spa services and they were clean and nice too. I booked ahead of time because I wanted to ensure there were services available during our trip. It was my first time visiting an all inclusive and I enjoyed the experience. it was so convenient, the nightly shows were entertaining for the family, the staff respectful and clean.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 17, 2012
Seriously? We kept pinching ourselves!

We enjoyed our trip to the Now Jade so much that we literally thought we were in a waking dream. From the variety and quality of food, to the friendliness and diligence of the staff, to the polished hallways and pristine grounds, and comfy, modern and clean rooms...I simply cannot say enough about this place. I do not want to be overly effusive since that might seem dis genuine, but I do hesitate to share my happiness for fear that others will soon find out our secret paradise and it will become too crowded! The scene was a mix of young couples, some singles in town for weddings, and older couples who seemed to be enjoying an anniversary. As a single who went with friends, we found plenty of people in our age bracket (30s) to socialize with. The staff at the swim up bar and water activities love their job, and it shows. The pool area is perfectly kept and maintained, and if you prefer a delicious poolside ceviche and hamburger, go to the adults only quiet pool. You can relax in hammocks in the water! If you are looking for a good day drinking party try the activity pool with the great DJ spinning top40. I cant believe the restaurants either. My favorite was Mercure, the French restaurant. There was literally foie gras on the menu! I did not expect this at an all inclusive. I am sad that I did not get to try the Mexican restaurant or the Spanish one, but this is just a reason to come back soon. The best thing is that even though we did tip our maid, and waitstaff, we were NEVER made to feel that we had to and they were always exceedingly grateful when we did. The no tacky bracelet or reservations policy for dining is a refreshing and mature departure from the cheesy all inclusive scene elsewhere. You will not find a cleaner, more modern, more focused hotel for this money. The only way I can thank the Now Jade for my experience is to write this review.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 19, 2012
Great Resort!

Spent four fantastic nights (May 8th - 12th 2012) at Now Jade. Enjoyed every minute. The food was above avg for an all inclusive resort. The infinity pool overlooking the beach was awesome. We were treated like royalty. The evening entertainment was great too! I will voice two small dissappointments that we had no problem avoiding but some may not. The beach was small and the water had quite a bit of seaweed (since the pool was literally on the beach we had no issue with the seaweed). In fact every morning the staff dug several pits and buried the weed. Secondly the resort has a problem with birds around the outdoor oceanfront dinning patios. That was easily avoidable since the dinning room had floor to cieling windows with the same great view of the Caribbean. The past three years we've been to Dreams Cancun, Secrets Santuary - Cap Cana (unfortunately this is no longer a Secrets property) and Zoetry in Punta Cana. The Now resort was as good (service) and even better (food) that the others at a lower price. Highly recomend!

Great Resort!
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Enfield, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2011
Best Vacation

I have traveled a lot of places, taken cruises and stayed on resorts alike. For my wife and I, this was the best by far. We'd go back immediately if we could. Whether you want to go out, or stay in-- this is a great place pampered. The food was fantastic-- probably our favorite was the Asian, but honestly they were all good, including the buffet. We read complaints about the beach, so we were a little concerned. I couldn't find one thing wrong with the beach-- it was beautiful. Pointless complaining as we saw it. The room was beautiful, and we loved being able to call in room service at anytime. We ordered food one night at midnight, just so we could-- it was nice to feel spoiled for a week. Great Place, worth more than we paid. Hope this helps someone.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 4, 2014
Now Jade Is Amazing and Must Stay At!

My Fiance is very allergic to shell fish and down. After narrowing down our trip to 3 Hotels the Now Jade was the only resort that responded saying they could and would be able to accommodate our needs. And let me say that they more then accommodated us and all of needs and wants. First, we arrived at the Now Jade a little before 10am and check in isn't till 3pm. They took our bags, got all our info, and basically said, put on bathing suits and start to enjoy our resort including all drinks and food even though we were not yet checked in. We grabbed a drink, yes it was 10am but we were on vaca!! and went down to the beach. It was beautiful and very well maintained. Took a stroll over to the pool and found everyone having fun in the sun. Went back to the beach and started taking in the rays. The waiter was very nice and made his rounds quicker then we could finish our drinks (it was this way at every part of the beach or pool for the 8 days we were there). We were able to check into our room earlier then expected and our bags were brought up very quickly. We then went down to the buffet which had a HUGE amount of food and was better tasting then any buffet we have had in the U.S. that's for sure. We were asked to call down to the conceirge every day so that her meals could be made seperatly to ensure that there wouldn't be any cross contamination. Every find dining was just that, 5 star. Every restaurant we went to knew what we needed and the staff put us at ease letting us know they knew about her allergies and that it wouldn't be an issue (and it never was!!!). Alejnadro was by far the best most over the top customer service I have ever had in my entire life. He made sure to find us every single day to make sure that every part of our stay was perfect. Thank you so much Alenjandro. So cut to the chase. If you decide to stay her you will be in for the best customer service you have ever had. What the hotel lacks, hot tub only, it more then makes up for by ensuring your stay is incredible and that you are truly on vacation. Thank you so much to everyone at the Now Jade for giving us such an amazing vacation. We will be back for sure and very soon at that (I have never stayed at the same resort twice. Now Jade will be our first and we are taking a group with us as well as getting married in March 2015). Cant' wait till March 2015. Thank you again Now Jade


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year