All

Now Jade Riviera Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 352 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"Staff was amazing and very attentive. Food options were great." – Washy
350 out of 406 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from our room Salmon in CinCin restaurant. View from pool area. 2 words: All Inclusive View from the room The main pool from our hotel room. The view behind us was breathtaking! Birthday decorations Balcony view June 20th 2016 The beach in front of Now Jade. It's all this beautiful! Tub full of yellow fluid Pool cabana decorated View from our room The beach at Now Jade. Seaweed the court yard area View of wetland from room balcony. Beautiful!! serenity View from the suite balcony private anniversary dinner on the beach View from our room. adult only pool area The beach at dusk! Pool This the view from our room View from room 8210 Quiet adult pool for preferred club This was our oceanview The Fine Mexican Restaurant on The Resort

All Now Jade Riviera Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 352 reviews. Sort by
February 4, 2011
Awesome in most ways

Our first trip to the Caribbean ever was to the Now Jade Riviera Cancun, in Riviera Maya, about 40 minutes south of Cancun. It was an awesome vacation, and a great way to spend the money we had saved for so long. This is a review, so I'm intentionally being critical, but keep in mind that overall it was a fantastic, fantastic experience. It started imperfectly--we had reserved a king bed, and they gave us two fulls instead. This is a big deal, because I'm a big guy, and my wife and I don't sleep well in a small bed. I don't know how this usually works, but I think a king reservation should be guaranteed, and this place doesn't guarantee it. Subsequently, we started the vacation with our blood boiling. They told us that they could probably move us in the next day or two, and fortunately, they moved us to a king before that first night was out. If they hadn't this would be a very different review. The room was beautiful, and while it looked out directly over a patch of vacant dirt about the size of 2-3 football fields, we could turn 45 degrees to the left and see a beautiful view of the beach and ocean. I guess that's the difference between the "ocean view" and "ocean front" rooms. The bathrooms had 2 sinks, a great walk-in shower, and a huge jacuzzi tub. Big windows everywhere, and since our room didn't face the pool or other rooms, we could leave the windows open--it was like showering and hot-tubbing outdoors! The more expensive "preferred club" rooms actually have the jacuzzi on the balcony, but at $130 PER NIGHT EXTRA, we were very happy where we were. The king bed was extraordinarily comfortable--quite a surprise. Almost every inch of the resort, including the rooms, have floors of polished marble or other stones--this makes the place fairly treacherous if you have wet feet--which we did for most of the week. Be careful. I should say the that entire property is immaculate, and cared for by a 24 hour ARMY of friendly and helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful everywhere you look. Gorgeous design throughout. You can find people scrubbing the grates around the pool at midnight, and squeegeeing water out of walkways all day long--they mean business. The restaurants were fantastic. Really. We did not expect such great food almost across the board. We had one meal where the service was slow and the food was overcooked, but I think that might have been an unusual staffing problem. Every other meal all week long exceeded our expectations. For example, the Asian restaurant was on a par with something like P.F. Changs. We didn't expect that level of food or service at an all-inclusive. I asked a waiter to help me decide between two dishes on the menu, and he brought me the one he liked better AND had the chef make me a smaller portion of the other. Awesome. Room service, while 24 hours, was disappointing. The menu is limited, and it takes a long time, so the food was cold both times we ordered anything. The weather was overcast most of the week, so the pools were kind of on the colder side, but they were beautiful and immaculate. The service at the swim up bar (all the bars, really) was very friendly, if a bit busy. You do need to stake out chairs early as they can get scarce later in the morning. Same at the beach. They're big on service--having bell-boys move your luggage, getting you a cab, etc. If you feel the need to tip at a place that advertises "all gratuities included", you'll be reaching for your pocket a lot. I did not feel that need except for our favorite bartenders (who really did a lot of work for us!), and everyone was still very friendly. The beach was pretty, although quite rocky. You'll be walking on a nice soft sand-bar, and your next step will be another foot down onto big rocks. Fun if you want to have a little adventure, but less so if you just want to wade a bit. Pet peeves (other than the full-beds thing) were the lack of free internet access. There are ZERO areas for free internet access. They have a cafe with terminals that are $4 for 15 minutes. You can also get wireless in the rooms, but the costs range from $4 for 15 minutes to $77 for the week--PER DEVICE. That means that if we wanted to have internet for 2 laptops and 2 smartphones for the week, it would be an extra $308! In 2011 that kind of thing should be free. Same for the phone service that was $1 per call locally, and $3/minute internationally. Maybe not free, of course, but there is no reason for them to stick it to people who already spent thousands to be there. Also, the promotional vouchers could only be used on obscenely high priced stuff--for example, $40 in wine vouchers could only be used $10 at a time, and the cheapest bottle is $18 for what would be a $4-$5 bottle locally. Hence, we drank less wine, and more mixed drinks. Their loss. The spa voucher was for $30 off the $180 massage. Big deal. Now it's a $150 massage. Still nearly twice what we'd pay in Philly. In the end, it's about how good you feel about the money you spent when you're going home, and in spite of some of my cranky comments above, we would definitely go back, and if someone was asking where to go in the Riviera Maya area, we would definitely encourage them to try the Now Jade.

It's all this beautiful! 2 words: All Inclusive
53 of 54 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 2, 2011

When we arrived we thought we were in the middle of nowhere! Didn't realize it would cost us $50.00 per person one way to Cancun. Write up was a little misleading as to other entertainment distances. We ended up renting a car so as not to be "trapped" The hotel personnel kept telling us that they had everything we needed, there was no need to leave. I beg to differ. Apparently this is a "buy in" hotel, they encourage you to take a 90 minute tour...which ended up being 3 1/2 hours long and the word NO doesn't seem to exist. When I booked this vacation, I wanted a vacation not people trying to sell me something With that said, the hotel is very nice, restuarants have impeccable service and the spa is wonderful. If you want to stay in a hotel and only explore the hotel grounds, this hotel is for you. If you want to explore the area, plan on renting a car, at a cost of $45.00 a day. This is the only way you can visit Cancun, Playa Del Carmen or even Puerto Morelos, unless of course you have unlimited money for cab fare. Our next vacation will be more centrally located, where there is bus service or things to do in walking distanbce. Prior to this visit, we stayed at Iberostar Toucan, much easier to navigate around the area.


56 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Eastern North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2011
Not all its cracked up to be...

I am one who reads reviews about everything no matter what it is... I read rave reviews about NOW Jade on several different websites and was appalled when I arrived. There is no way in H - E- double hockey sticks that this place deserves top notch ratings... it is mediocre at best. The food was just OK... nothing to write home about or recommend to ANYONE... the services was lax as some of the servers were ignorant and rude. There were some excellent servers on the beach but that was about it. The room was very nice if it was not raining in our room and termites didn't line the wall in the bathroom and the balcony door. The balcony did not have a cover over it therefore when it rained it poured all over everything. So much for enjoying a rainy day on the balcony... The tub filled with yellow fluids. It seriously looked like urine. I let it run out, then tried it two more times. It continously came out yellow and left a nasty residue in the tub... so much for soaking in the tub on a rainy day or a romantic night... The entertainment was good. I at least enjoyed that. The property... well, lets say, it looks like a wild fire went through most of the landscaping. Absolutly ugly. The beach was full of boulders. Not easy to enjoy unless you went past the resort ropes at the other end of the beach. Beautiful, was able to enjoy the water without worrrying about stepping on rocks or falling into big boulders. I could not believe this place was the same place other people were talking about. NOW or NEVER JADE... I say NEVER Jade... Very disappointed customer

Tub full of yellow fluid This the view from our room
33 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Glenside, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2013
Great experience

My husband and I travel to Mexico every year for our anniversary. We decided this year we wanted to try a smaller, more intimate resort. We booked the Preferred package for the upgraded options and room. I would say this was worth it. The room was huge and the view was gorgeous. We had requested a king size bed and upon check-in there weren't any available. The staff moved together two full size beds and you couldn't even tell the difference. The bathroom had two sinks, huge shower w rainfall shower head. There was also a separate room with a toilet and sink. Two huge closets separated the bedroom and bath. In room safe was self-programmable. Balcony with jacuzzi was beautiful. Maid service did a great job every day. The room service food was really good too, particularly the fajitas! The buffet for breakfast had a wide variety of food choices. Best scrambled eggs out of all the resorts we've been to. The dining choices for the evening were nice as well. We dined at the French, Italian and Japanese restaurants. But be warned, order something off of every part of menu as portion size is small! I can honestly say my husband and I liked the food at this resort the best. With the Preferred package we had our own private "lounge". Different snacks were provided throughout the day, along with premium liquor. Rooms in Preferred Club also had free WiFi in room. Adults-only pool was gorgeous, with infinity design and hammocks. Drinks weren't bad and the resort had Corona. Beach was a little smaller, but we never had a problem getting lounges in the sun. We are also gym junkies, the fitness center has the basics and got the job done for the week. The Spa was also great. We had massages and facials. Staff was really nice in general. Overall, we will most likely travel to this resort or a sister resort in the near future.

Balcony view
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Reading, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2017
Wedding and vacation

For a quick guide, here are my pros and cons, I will go into greater detail below. I traveled to Now Jade with my family for my symbolic wedding. I had 36 guests. Pros: Smaller resort, great food, beautiful views, lots of activities, great kids club, separate pool for preferred members adults only for a quieter afternoon. Cons: THEY DO NOT ACCOMMODATE LARGE GROUPS WITHOUT CHARGING YOU FOR A RESERVATION AT RESTAURANTS. The nightly entertainment was hit and miss, some nights were excellent and others poor. Varying prices for spa treatments depending on who you purchased from. Amstar issues. Guests approached about time shares. FOOD: Overall the food was excellent. The desserts were not great, but that's pretty typical of all-inclusive resorts in this price range. The hibachi grill had amazing fish! The French restaurant was my favorite, try the salmon! I really have nothing bad to say about the food. Some places were better than others, but within my large group there was no consensus on the best place. All places were liked for different reasons. For lunch, the Castaway restaurant has a good selection with the best fish tacos ever! SPA: The spa was really nice. It has a unique sequence of amenities for you to use. The massages were pretty good. It's a great set up and very relaxing. ROOM: The rooms on the regular side are a good size, they have everything you need. The preferred rooms are larger with more ammonites, like a clothes steamer and sunscreen. The shampoo/conditioner are poor quality, definitely bring your own. The shower water never went cold (at some resorts during high use, the water gets cold). We had an ocean front room and it was beautiful!! Very quiet too. The bed was on the harder side, which my husband likes. If you have a preferred room or privileges, you have a pillow service which is nice. Room service was prompt and had a nice selection. ACTIVITIES: The daily activities were a lot of fun. Many of my guests played beach or pool volleyball everyday. We all went in the ocean and enjoyed the waves. I attended the wine tasting, tequila tasting, and yoga. All of these were great. The yoga was a mix of intermediate to advanced which I thought was different. I was happy with it, but that's not for everyone. The night club was fun, pretty good music. The football on the big screen was a big hit with my guests. They loved it. First off, although I booked 6 rooms at the exact same time, we were all placed in different buildings. Some rooms were upgrades and others weren't, which was fine. Next, we had a handicapped guest with us and although we requested a handicapped room, one was not available at the time of check in. One cool thing is that since we were such a large group (17 flying together), we were given our own bus to transport us to the resort. It was awesome! The biggest issue I had with this resort is the fact that they are trying to get you to spend more money every second of your stay. We brought a large group due to the wedding and each night we wanted to have dinner together. At this resort, if you want to make a reservation for more than 10 people, they want you to buy a bottle of wine that costs upwards of $50. These bottles of wine are $8-$10 at Costco in the states, so it's not like you are getting something fancy. You are just being gouged to sit by your family. During some nights even smaller groups of people were being charged a bottle of wine to sit at the hibachi grill. One night we decided to just all get separate tables at the same restaurant and they literally put us throughout the entire restaurant instead of one area. Finally, on the last night there, I was so fed up that I went to one of the resort managers. He arranged for us to have dinner on two separate 10 top tables at the same time that were near each other. By then, many of my guests had gone and we were down to about 20 people. The coupons are very limited, in fact they are a joke. I was able to use the $10 off a bottle of wine when I made the buy wine reservation, but that's about it. The other coupons are a complete waste because you can't combine them or use them with any other deal. Also, we were told that if we booked a bunch of spa treatments at the same time we would get a deal so in total we booked 14 massages. Then, a few days later my mom was approached at the pool with a good deal for the spa. Turns out this random guy walking around was able to give her an even better deal for booking one more massage then the deal she got when she booked 14!! It was about $20 cheaper. We told the manager about this and were given a partial credit for the original charges. All of this running around to try and get your money back is not what you want to be doing while on vacation. Not-t0-mention, the feeling that you've been ripped off in the first place. The scuba diving adventure through Amstar. This was a complete nightmare! In fact once we got home we realized we had two nightmares with Amstar, the other regarding a deep sea fishing trip. First, about the scuba, my husband booked scuba diving for himself and our daughter. They went to the morning training and were told to wait at the beach to be picked up by the boat. The waited for 2.5 hours and were never picked up. When they finally went back to the Amstar desk, they were told the trip was cancelled. This was the day before we were leaving so we could not reschedule. I requested a full refund and they offered us half of our money back since they did the training. I was really upset with this because you would never do the training if you couldn't dive! Also, my husband and daughter essentially wasted an entire day on the even that never happened. Amstar gave us the run around and said they weren't able to refund us, so I'm currently working with my credit card company to get money back. The deep sea fishing trip was planned and paid for during the trip. 6 of my guests were planning on going inclined the handicapped individual. After booking the trip Amstar realized that the boat did not allow handicapped individuals on it so they said they would refund the trip. Everyone was disappointed, but we got over it because we got our money back...or so we thought!! Once home the credit card statement clearly showed the charges without a refund. Once again, here we are doing work to get money back for adventures that did not happen. The wedding: this was by far the best part of the vacation. It was perfect! The day was seamless. I loved every part of it. The food was amazing. The decorations, the staff, the DJ.. I can't say enough. It was everything I wanted and more. My hair and makeup were perfect. They have this down to a science. I did have pricing issues and some communication trouble leading up to the wedding, but once it was happening, it was amazing.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 19, 2015
Great value and experience

This was a lovely resort with very friendly staff. I enjoyed how the staff got to know my family and children and pay attention to small details. We stayed in a preferred room and it was awesome. The Balcony overlooking the ocean and garden was a nice detail. The facilities were clean. I was mildly disappointed that the pools close at 7pm because I would have loved to sit by the pool and swim in the evening. Also, it seems that there truly need to be more pool chairs and policing of people who just reserve their seats when they don't use them for hours. However, we did ask the concierge about the reserving of seats by the pool and they gladly helped us when we noticed chairs being vacant for well over an hour. The adult pool was simply relaxing, but difficult for me to go to because my children couldn't go there and they are "tweens" so not interested in the kids club at their age. The beach access was nice and the lounge chairs under the palapas on the beach was relaxing. Great beach bar service. Unfortunately, we were there when there was a lot of seaweed on the beach, so getting to the ocean was interesting. My children loved the ocean as it is swim-able. The restaurants were decent. A nice variety. I wish we knew about some of the restaurant dress codes prior to packing because we were not able to enter a few due to no pants for the boys in our group. We didn't anticipate having to wear pants in 90 degree humidity. We used the spa services and they were clean and nice too. I booked ahead of time because I wanted to ensure there were services available during our trip. It was my first time visiting an all inclusive and I enjoyed the experience. it was so convenient, the nightly shows were entertaining for the family, the staff respectful and clean.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 19, 2012
Great Resort!

Spent four fantastic nights (May 8th - 12th 2012) at Now Jade. Enjoyed every minute. The food was above avg for an all inclusive resort. The infinity pool overlooking the beach was awesome. We were treated like royalty. The evening entertainment was great too! I will voice two small dissappointments that we had no problem avoiding but some may not. The beach was small and the water had quite a bit of seaweed (since the pool was literally on the beach we had no issue with the seaweed). In fact every morning the staff dug several pits and buried the weed. Secondly the resort has a problem with birds around the outdoor oceanfront dinning patios. That was easily avoidable since the dinning room had floor to cieling windows with the same great view of the Caribbean. The past three years we've been to Dreams Cancun, Secrets Santuary - Cap Cana (unfortunately this is no longer a Secrets property) and Zoetry in Punta Cana. The Now resort was as good (service) and even better (food) that the others at a lower price. Highly recomend!

Great Resort!
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Enfield, CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2017
Beautiful Resort, Attentive Staff

We stayed at the Now Jade for a short trip (March 20-23, 2017) with our friends. When we first arrived, we had regular suites, which were very nice, large and beautiful. After our friends had an incident that required some attention on the part of the staff, we were absolutely blown away by how attentive and graciously the resort responded. Both our friends and ourselves were upgraded (complementary) and given VIP privileges. The resort manager, Felix, was beyond kind - I cannot say enough wonderful things about him! He went above and beyond for us, and we were truly left impressed with the resort, their staff, and the stellar customer service they offered us again and again. To get into specifics about the resort, I'll try to be as helpful as possible. We travel 3-6 times a year on average for both work (I'm a photographer) and pleasure (work hard, play hard). This trip was just myself, my husband, and our two friends (another couple). We are all parents but left the kids at home for this one, but easily would return with kids. Here are the specifics: BEACH: Yes, part of the beach is rocky, but not all of it. There is more than enough white sand for scores of people and children to enjoy, and the beach is well-maintained and lovely, and the water is crystal clear. The small area with rocks is actually extra pretty IMO, and would be very fun for kids to look for small fish, crabs, and shells in safely. POOLS: Pools are gorgeous and located just off the beach with an amazing view and lots of lounges to enjoy. Adults only pool is quiet, and the perfect place to relax with a book. The main pool is lively with music and activities, but it is large enough that you can easily go to one part of it to relax in quiet peace while it is lively and fun elsewhere. There is also a very nice kiddie pool (YAY for parents, you will love it). FOOD/DRINK: We have been to many all-inclusives, and I really like the food and drinks at the Now Resorts best (we have stayed at both the Jade and the Sapphire). Lots of dining options, including gluten-free options. We were always asked if we had any dietary restrictions or allergies before each meal. We also love the coffee cafe, which offers Starbucks-style beverages. 24 hour room service is also available. TO PREMIERE VIP OR NOT? We absolutely enjoyed our VIP perks, and the views from our rooms were fabulous. The pool is lovely as well, but if you are traveling with children, you won't be able to use it (and even so, kiddos and teens would probably enjoy the livelier main pool). For an adults only trip, I would do the upgrade - for a family trip, I think it would be personal preference. You would have to be rather spoiled and entitled not to have a good time on either side IMO, as the resort is lovely and offers so much either way. ROOMS: We got to experience every level on our short little trip, from a basic suite to a premiere suite to the extremely nice governor's suite (umm, it's pretty fabulous!). All the rooms we saw were lovely, and had plush robes, hairdryers, stocked fridges that were frequently refilled, and basic toiletries in them. I forgot to check in the first room, but the premiere side rooms also had fabric steamers (kinda nice if your clothes get wrinkled en route). ;) I really mean it that ALL the rooms are very nice, and the upgraded rooms are just extra-extra nice, or in the case of the governor's suite, super extra amazing nice. It's all good. OVERALL: We are already planning a return trip with our children and look forward to going back. We usually like to mix it up and try different resorts, but we just really love this one, and the service sold us for life. If you are considering it in the running for your next vacation, I would encourage you to book it!

adult only pool area View from the suite balcony
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2011
Best Vacation

I have traveled a lot of places, taken cruises and stayed on resorts alike. For my wife and I, this was the best by far. We'd go back immediately if we could. Whether you want to go out, or stay in-- this is a great place pampered. The food was fantastic-- probably our favorite was the Asian, but honestly they were all good, including the buffet. We read complaints about the beach, so we were a little concerned. I couldn't find one thing wrong with the beach-- it was beautiful. Pointless complaining as we saw it. The room was beautiful, and we loved being able to call in room service at anytime. We ordered food one night at midnight, just so we could-- it was nice to feel spoiled for a week. Great Place, worth more than we paid. Hope this helps someone.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 23, 2016
Ok, needs improvement

5/14-21/2016. Arrival in Mexico was horrible there are very long lines for customs and immigration. Overall the resort is nice with great service but it is not very big. I would recommend a view of the ocean or pool on the fourth floor. The resort was under construction and they need to improve the connection between the pools so that people can swim between the pools. In my opinion do not upgrade for VIP it is not worth the price. The Resort's entertainment was very underwhelming they need to expand their entertainment for the night and day. The main pool only has one swim-up bar and it becomes very congested with the people in the pool. When the cement around the pool gets wet it becomes very dangerous and slippery. The Japanese restaurant was horrible and there is no air conditioning inside. The buffet was good. The service is great. I was offended when I arrived. the resort tries to sell you a timeshare. I do not want to be bothered with timeshare real estate purchases on my vacation. I would recommend finding another Resort. there are much better ones available for a similar price and the food and entertainment are much better than other Resorts.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Sterling Heights, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year