All

Now Amber Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 106 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.4 out of 5
"SMELL STUFFY IN THE ROOM, POOR HOUSE KEEPING SERVICE. FOOD IS AVERAGE..." – JUANITOLUCAS
116 out of 130 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Standing in front of hotel Lobby view Roach in room Now Amber Luxury Room Room Like non stop selling? morning at the beach near hotel Moments Bar Lounge Sunset at Now Amber First view from our room when we arrived! Fabulous!! Beach area Heat rash from lack of air conditioning Now Amber Lobby Beautiful! Just one of many Beautiful Sunsets from our Room!! Loved it!! Lobby 3rd floor lobby area

All Now Amber Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 106 reviews. Sort by
August 11, 2012
Prepare to be spoiled...

Our Cheap Caribbean trip to "Now Amber" in Puerto Vallarta was only cheap in price! From the moment we landed at the airport we felt really taken care of and pampered. An air conditioned private car was waiting for us at the airport and even though the drive to the hotel was short we were given ice cold drinks for the drive. The hotel was breath taking. The lobby had an open vista overlooking the grounds and ocean, with overstuffed chairs and teak tables set amidst pools with "floating lanterns". Our check in was fast and we were in our beautiful room within minutes. The room was luxurious with a jaccuzi tub, two floating bowl sinks, a separate commode room and a shower big enough for two with a bathing bench, a tapestry pillow strewn lounging couch, elegant bed with silky sheets, comforter and amazing pillows, a full mini bar that was restocked every day for us, flat screen TV with all the channels including HBO, full coffee set-up, security safe, and more drawers and closets than you could use. Sliding glass doors opened onto our patio and swim up pool. We loved walking out the door and swimming 15 times a day! The grounds were beautiful with multiple pools and a beautiful beach, all with SHADE because they had thatched umbrellas on the beach and pool umbrellas every where. Waiters delivered anything you desired right to your lounger (we loved the amazing drink concoctions) and food and drink were always available. Elegant restaurants with amazing food, great entertainment all day and night...we felt completely pampered the entire time!!

Now Amber Lobby Now Amber Luxury Room
31 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 2, 2012
Wonderful resort

We stayed at the NOW because we got a great deal and with no kids we had full access to the Secrets Vallarta Bay right next door as well. We spent time at the Secrets all adult pool and had access to all their restaurants as well. The food, service, pools and accommodations were wonderful at both. If you love to see the mountains and the ocean it is a perfect spot. Very close to the airport so don;t waste vacation time getting there.


62 of 68 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Dallas TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2012
Great room, not so great food

Overall the room and grounds were beautiful and very comfortable. The staff is extremely cordial and attentive to your every need. Frozen drinks during the day by the pools were very weak and extremely sweet. Don't plan on catching a buzz in the mid day sun. The daily breakfast was excellent, the afternoon pool-cafe was poor at best. Dry Hot Dogs, runny nachos, and stale Hamburgers from a buffet visited by young wet kids all day. Suggest ordering from the menu, and don't expect too much. Fish tacos lacked fish, Fajitas tacos lacked any meat, however the Fish Sandwich was excellent. Be prepared to dress for dinner if you want to eat anything other than room service (which has an hour +wait time. No T-shirts, or shorts, or sandals allowed after 6:00pm. Should have been explained in the brochure so we could have packed accordingly. Very close to the sea wall and really nice beach. Great towels for daily activities by the pool and really cute waiters. SPA is expensive ($300+) compared to similar services I can get here for 1/3 the price. Beware--- Time share selling right from the start! IF you want your spa coupons, sit through the 90 minute timeshare presentation. What a waste and extremely high pressure selling going on. Nightly shows are presented in an outdoor (hot) theater that is really nice. the daily entertainment staff do the shows. Beautiful lobby area to enjoy drinks during the evening and watch and incredible sunset.

Beach area 3rd floor lobby area
23 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2012
Wonderful time

WE loved our stay at the Now Amber Hotel. The room was fabulous and the girls tried out the jacuzzi on the balcony. I loved the large tub. We ate well and enjoyed the shows. The Bob Marley drinks were really good. We were served on the beach without much of a wait. The only negative part is as a tourist you are bombarded by people selling their wares. This is true almost anywhere I suppose and was mildly annoying. Also do not stop in the hotel to listen to a time share pitch, keep going. I would go back to this Hotel anytime. We also loved our outdoor adventure excursion. Everyone agreed the best one we ever had.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Tx
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2016
I feel tricked

I did a lot of research before choosing the Now Amber. I thought that I would write a detailed report just in case anyone else out there reads as many reviews as I do before booking. We stayed for 6 days. I'll sum this up in one sentence: DO NOT GO If you are looking for peace, quiet, and relaxation, this is not the spot for you. They seem to be looking for a special kind of person. Someone who likes the beautiful ocean (but doesn’t care much to hear it), likes to party/drinks a lot of poor quality liquor, and appreciates the semblance of finer food and restaurants without the actual high food and beverage quality. Basically, this place is superficial. Beautiful in pictures, poor in quality once you get there and experience the details. Pros - Beautiful views. Sits in a beautiful bay. Nice beach. - Beautiful décor and very well updated resort, overall. The style looks so upscale and is wonderful to look at. - Palapas on the beach are a nice touch (despite noise from the pools) - Staff is good about clearing towels so you can more easily find a place to sit on the beach/by the pool - The Japanese/Teppanyaki place is tasty - The staff is amazingly friendly and very gracious - Tasty drinks (low quality liquor, though) - Salsa lesson was fun - Evening shows were great! - Rhythms of the Night is a MUST and was the highlight of the trip (not within the hotel, but worth noting) Cons - Men must wear long pants at ALL the restaurants, with the exception of the buffet. This is crazy on vacation and in a hot place like P.V. - Non stop noise. This is a huge con for us. Music, events, something is always playing noise which drowns out the sound of the ocean. We would hear the elevator music in the lounge while party music was going on below. It was too much at once. - There is no quality air conditioning anywhere except your room. I got heat rash from being there for the first time in my life. My husband and I regularly left restaurants covered in sweat. - The upgrade to the ‘preferred’ is not worth it. You won’t use the lounge enough to take advantage of the upgrade and the views from all the rooms are amazing. Besides, their ‘upgraded’ liquor is well level in the US. For example, Bacardi was the upgraded rum. - You cannot check in without a one hour pitch trying to get you to go to their ‘ownership’/timeshare presentation. Make sure you are not hungry when you arrive. You’ll be there a while. And they try to get you to pay a great deal more ($1k in our case) for an upgraded room before you even SEE your room. - If you go, it is NOT a 90 minute timeshare presentation. It is longer. We arrived at 5pm on a Sunday and didn’t start our vacation until noon the next day between all the pitches (plus sleeping and a one hour dinner). The ‘quality assurance’ person you speak to after the presentation does not do Q.A. They do sales. This was insulting to be lied to. - The sales tchotchke guys on the beach are non stop and the stationed ‘security’ person does nothing to fend them off. The two times I closed my eyes, I was woken by the sales people within minutes. I understand they are trying to make a living selling souvenirs, but I would love to enjoy a peaceful vacation on the ocean. - I didn’t like having to wait for all the restaurants to open for dinner - The food (teppanyaki place not included) leaves something to be desired. It’s ok. Not great. They tout the steak as amazing. It isn’t. I know what al dente pasta tastes like. Both times I had it, it was undercooked, not al dente. The buffet regularly had flies around. I guess no one is afraid of e.coli - The shower door leaves pools of water in the bathroom - I have been to Mexico multiple times. This was the first time I ever experienced Montezuma’s revenge. The staff swore it couldn’t be from the resort. This is impossible. They then tried to imply I had too much to drink. I had 1 and ½ glass of champagne and a glass of wine at dinner with multiple bottles of water before getting sick. I guess it could be a pro or a con: if you are a smoker, you’ll be in good company. The only place it was not allowed was in the rooms. Want to view the beautiful sunset from the lounge? Get ready for smoke! Want to hang out by the pools? Get ready for smoke! Think you’re safe by the ocean? No. Get ready for smoke! Ultimately, I feel deeply deceived. I have traveled to many places and this was the most disappointing vacation I have ever had. There were some highlights, but the cons far outweighed the pros.

Like non stop selling? Heat rash from lack of air conditioning
13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 1, 2013
Uneven experience

We really liked the Now Amber facility and our room. We did a number of activities and they were all fun and hosted by friendly, enthusiastic staff. The staff and service were truly EXCELLENT. The food choices were varied and good tasting. BUT, all four of us in our group got sick at one time or another, with two of us requiring a visit from the hotel doctor. We can only conclude that it was the food that made us sick. We never left the complex and ate all our meals in the hotel facilities. Needless to say, this put a real damper on our ability to enjoy our vacation to the fullest. Now Amber needs to review their food preparation and/or storage policies to keep guests from getting sick. We have been to other all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, including thru Cheap Caribbean, and have not gotten sick. We will probably not go to another Now resort.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 9, 2015
I hate all inclusives, but...

This one is exceptional. There is ample friendly staff, the rooms are luxurious, the attention to detail is great, the food fresh, and I would definitely go there again. After three mediocre and worse experiences, I had swarn off all inclusives, but our son wanted to go on a senior trip with his friends, so I agreed to suck it up and go here for him. What a fantastic surprise this was! Loved it! I would say not to expect any wifi that is reliable, except in the business center, and the lighting in the bathrooms is very dim, so bring a light if you need to see to put on makeup, shave, or put in contacts. Otherwise, I highly recommend this place. We stayed on the Secrets side, which is all 18+. I did visit the NOW side, which was chaotic because of all the kids. If you have a choice and no kids, Secrets is DEFINITELY worth it. I will definitely be returning here!


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 26, 2012
Great all-inclusive

A great all-inclusive that left nothing out. Great drinks, great service, and a beautiful room. My only complaint was about the check-in process where they tried to sell us every upgrade imagineable, but once checked in, the place was flawless.


14 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 19, 2012
AYE YA YAYE!

WOW, my first time at a all inclusive resort & it was awesome! we stayed at the Now Amber Preferred area, our room overlooked the pools & had a great view of the ocean. our balcony had a jacuzzi tub on it which was alot of fun! we used the pool at the sister resort just a short walk across the lobbies so we could enjoy adults only pool. we tried to eat at all the restaurants but didn't have enough time!. breakfast buffet at our resort was way better than at the sister resort, more options. lunch we usually ordered at the pool, along with lots of beers & top shelf alcohol. which was also the case of the mini bars in the rooms, which they restocked daily, alcohol included. all the "fancy" restaurants we had dinner at were spectacular! the benihana style restaurant i think was better than here in the states. the spa was to die for! definitely book when you arrive, because you will want to go back again before you leave! definitely arrive early for your appt to use the whirlpools & other things & also because they go pretty much on time for your allotted time. will 100% be going back, not sure when, but soon i hope! Cheap Carribean is the way to go!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 10, 2012
One of my best vacations ever

That's was WoW, gorgeous hotel and very comfortable and modern rooms, clean, peaceful. Relaxing atmosphere. Restaurants are great, (especially breakfast), Menu - choices are pretty good , but would love to see a bit more choices in future. Pools are nice, some in very convenient location to the lounge/bar. Beach has a paradise view, the only thing is: lot's of sales people come to you and offering to buy something, which is becomes a bit annoying, i hope beach security will look into it... Overall Great place to stay for the great price, it feels like all your heart desire is available to you.... I will definitely return!

morning at the beach near hotel
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year