All

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 74 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.4 out of 5
"The moon palace had it all, great food and drinks, entertainment, and lots of places to lounge by the pool or hang by the beach." – ethnochica
77 out of 91 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 74 reviews. Sort by
April 13, 2012
Wonderful trip...best yet!!!

This is our 3rd trip to the area and this was by far the best resort we have been at. We were picked up in a timely manner at the airport and after the 10 min. trip to the hotel we were checked in and off to our room in under 15 minutes! Our room was great, with 2 kids on this trip it couldn't have been in a better location. We stayed in Sunrise and our building was right next to the pool/ kids club area. We had a "resort view" room but since we were on the top level we had ocean views from our balcony. Our room was nicely appointed...fully stocked mini-bar, large jacuzzi tub, hammock on the balcony. We had 3 restaurants to pick from in the Sunrise lobby as well as the outdoor palapa grills and buffets. The food was better than the previous places we have stayed and had large selections which was nice since we have 2 picky kids. The pools were nice, however there is a serious lack of seating in the pool areas. On our first full day at the resort we got to the pool area around 10:30 only to find that there were literally no chairs...LITERALLY! One really nice person from New Jersey gave us an extra one of theirs but that was all we had for four people for several hours until people started leaving to go to dinner. We later found out that people come down starting as early as 6am and put towels and such on chairs to save them until later in the a.m. when they have finished breakfast. So instead of getting to sleep in on vacay we were up each day at 6:30 to ensure we had chairs to sit in. The other negative in my opinion was the beach. There is a ton of seaweed. I know, I know, we are at the beach and sea weed is in the ocean blah blah blah... we are talking a serious amount of seaweed! Having stayed farther south in the past, we were used to the turquoise water and white sand so this was a bit of a shock. They did come down the beach to gather the seaweed but it was on the last day of our 8 day trip. Still, I don't think this is a deal breaker. The $1500 resort credit was nice, but don't be fooled, there is only so much that it could be used for. We don't golf, so that was out. The family pictures were a nice idea but we couldn't get a time because they were always booked. The spa was great, we had massages and it was very relaxing. We actually left with just over $700 in unused credits because most everything that costs money on this resort would not let you use the credits. Still, all in all we had a great time. The staff at this hotel are as nice as any I have ever met. They truly want to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible and there was never one rude person the entire stay. We will definitely be back.


45 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 14, 2011
Best Vacation Ever - Beyond Excellent!!!

Moon Palace looked just like it looked on its website! First let me say that the customer service and value we received by booking through CheapCaribbean.com was phenomenal!!! We stayed 6 nights for under $3,000 and that was with airfare, insurance, all-inclusive hotel (Moon Palace), and access to Sunrise and the Grand also under the all-inclusive umbrella of our plan! We had access to 16 restaurants, lots of pools, and all the bars and the food was absolutely excellent. CheapCaribbean's follow-through and assistance rendered was excellent! Now as for Moon Palace ... I have never received such wonderful customer service from staff and the people both on and off the resort! Karen at the pool was wonderful. She tended to us like we were royalty and even saved deck chairs for us since we went to the pool just about every day. Macedonio and Juan at the Moon Palace restaurant were wonderful - at the buffet we would fix our plates and then they would take them from us and walk with us to our table, pull out our chairs, and place our plate in front of us! It was glorious! Jonathan and Juan at the Mexican restaurant in Moon Palace were also wonderful with their service and responsiveness to our requests. Felix, Edouardo, and Nelson at the pool were wonderful entertainers cajoling guests to participate in games and playing the corn hole game with us. Our room had a wonderful, wonderful view and our housekeeping staff would clean our rooms in the morning and then return in the evening to turn the bed down and leave little chocolates - they even rearranged and changed the towels when necessary! We had a hot tub in our room also which was absolutely wonderful for soaking and watching the sunset! We plan on returning to the Moon Palace in Cancun again! I have never had such a wonderful vacation with nothing whatsoever to complain about! I love Mexico! Left to me we would return there every year!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbia, MD
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 4, 2015
The Good, the bad and the ugly

On the whole my family 2 Adults and three girls 16,18, & 19 had a very good time at Moon Palace. Although there are definitely some pros and cons for this huge hotel complex. The rooms are large and clean and well stocked. The hair dryers are excellent and they even provided hair straighteners in one of the rooms. There are large jacuzzi baths in the rooms and a small balcony with a hammock. The downside of this resort is the noise, the sheer size and the long echoing corridors meant that we were constantly woken with banging doors and noisy drunks either laughing or arguing at all times of the night. I had to call security one night at 1.45 am due to a mother hammering on the door trying to get into her childs room.......When I popped my head out of the door she was obviously drunk and told me to go back to bed as her child was lost! There was not one night that was quiet. I believe the restaurants at Moon Palace are better than most all-inclusive hotels I have tried. The breakfast buffet in the Sunrise section was good and plentiful and never felt crowded. You could choose to eat on an outside patio overlooking the resort rather than in the restaurant. The staff are super nice and efficient. The stand out restaurant for us was the Brazilian restaurant Arrecifes which was really good. Long waits but worth it! The mexican Los Caporales was pretty good too and both were in the Nizuc section of the resort. The pizza oven near the swing bar for lunch is a good option but again prepare for long wait times. There are two restaurants that you can book into, do this the day you arrive as they are full.....We got into the Italian option (dress code req) and it was lovely and worth doing. The other was Mayan cuisine which had no available space for us. The pools are huge and lovely but can get a little dirty, the winds are strong and people do allow their rubbish to blow around a little too much. The down side with regard to the pools is the seating. All the chairs were "claimed' by 7am. If you are not up and setting up camp you will be lucky to get a seat. One day our group left our belongings on our chairs whilst we went to lunch and came back to find people had moved our stuff and were sitting in them. This was not uncommon and happened to others. Poolside service is excellent and the staff bend over backwards to please you. The beach was of no use to me other than a walk. If you want a beach holiday this is not the destination to choose. It was full of seaweed and the seaweed washed up on the shore and left thick layers of it. You can visit the sister hotel and use the beach facilities, which we did and the beach there was perfect. The shuttles run at 12 and 2 and return at 4 or 6pm, you can get a taxi. The sea was warm, turquoise and quite rough the day we went but it was beautiful. The evening entertainments were very good and you can eat dinner while you watch. A magic show and fire show were the two free ones we watched. There is an Ice Show which you are given four free tickets for. If you need extra tickets you can purchase them. You can also upgrade them at a cost and move closer to the front. You are given resort credits to use and just pay the tax. This works out very well for some things but be prepared to be caught out on others. The upgraded wine and spa work out very well. We thought the dive was included but it wasn't and we ended up paying full price for it. The dive excursion was good though for beginners so I would recommend it. Room Tip: I'm not sure how to get a quiet room but I would highly recommend asking. This is a very noisy...


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 24, 2016
A wonderful experience

From the moment I arrived, I had a luxurious experience. The room was absolutely exquisite, complete with Jacuzzi and a cozy balcony. The service was superb -- I never lacked anything -- it was merely a phone call away. The food was marvelous and the variety of restaurants was more than adequate. And I really enjoyed the spa complete with a steam room and a massage that had me LIGHTLY snoring...lol. Some friends and I are considering visiting the Moon Palace Jamaica because we expect the same wonderful experience at any of the Moon Palace properties. I could gush on and on but simply said, I loved the Moon Palace and would love to return.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2015
Not what it seems

Overall extremely unhappy with this vacation. I'll give you a break down of the few pros and the many cons. My advice to you is to save your money and book somewhere else! Pros: Buffet was great. I love the guacamole and the many choices. The service was fair, though I wouldn't rave about it as other reviews did. The pools are large and quite nice, and since there is no beach to this "beach front resort" they better be because that is all you are going to get. The room that we had, which was an ocean front room, was spacious and fit our family of 4 well. We were taken care of daily with turn down and clean towels etc. The snorkeling excursion in the lagoon and caves was pretty unique and awesome, however freezing cold it was an experience for sure that I highly recommend. Now for the bulk of my review and stay, the cons: We did not get a discounted rate so let me start by saying our close to $6k trip was not what we expected. 1- this place is a time share! We were not aware of this, and when you arrive they will try to sell you on this, and if you don't want to talk then there is no problem because they will call your room every morning at 8am sharp to continue trying. Did I mention we paid close to $6k?! Why would I want to waste my family vacation being sold something? 2- Food was not what you think. First, the buffet was great so that is the one exception. For the restaurants you can plan to wait 2 hrs, yes you heard me correctly, 2 hrs which happened at the Brazillian steak house, the Sushi/Asian restaurant and the Mexican restaurant. No reservations are taken at this place which makes literally no sense to me. Who waits that long to go to a restaurant at an all-inclusive resort when you are there with your children? Unacceptable! Also, when we finally got in the seafood restaurant by the pool, they had no sea bass, the Italian restaurant was out of gnocci and prime rib, the Asian restaurant was out of shrimp and chicken. Can't speak to the Brazillian or Mexican restaurants because we never made it in to either one due to the waits. What a joke. 3- Premium liquor is not the same as what we expect. We did find two bars: one by the pool and one in the main building that had what we were looking for and the rest have a Mexican brand that they tell you is top shelf, but you never really know. 4- Room service took 1.5-2hrs. This is no joke, and for the record I ordered a pot of coffee which I like to have in my room and oatmeal. If you are hungry, walk the HUGE property to the extremely far away buffet and get yourself some breakfast it will be quicker. 5- The spa had literally no availability during our entire week long stay for a massage. This is apparently due to the free spa services offered here so it must fill up quick, however I am more of a "pay for a massage and relax on my vacation" kind of girl. I don't want free services that aren't actually free or available. 6- MOST IMPORTANT FACT FOR YOU TO KNOW BEFORE YOU STAY HERE, there is no beach! We flew in from Miami and our standards are pretty high as it is, however this "beach is more like a bog of stench. It is brown and full of seaweed and flies. There is a bay here so the water doesn't freely flow which means it stays and just gets stagnant. To the one or two people who we met that said they went in that scary stinky water said they wished they hadn't and showered immediately after. Yuck! Well it smells, it's brown and murky and is covered in seaweed so you are left sitting by the pool...or taking a bus with huge waits to the other property located about 30 min away to enjoy their beach and then wait to take a bus back again at the end of your day. Isn't that relaxing? I think not! The pools here are nice, but sadly for us that is not what we came here for. The review said to be honest and include only facts, I wish I had better things to say because honestly this was not the summer vacation our family thought we were going to take.

Not what it seems Not what it seems
9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 10, 2014
Best Family Vacation Yet

This place xceeded my expectations. It was beautiful, had plenty to do for the enire family and I couldn't have wished for more. I would recommend that you try to stay in the main hotel at either Sunrise or Nizuc for convenience of food and activities. The other buildings are nice but not as easy to get around quickly. There was never a wait in any of the restaurants whether we had a reservation or not and it didnt matter what time we went. Alot of food variety, we never ate at the same place twice. There is basketball, mini-golf, bike riding and many more things that the website does not tell you about. The evening shows were very entertaining. If I had to pick something to complain about I would say wearing a wrist band is a pain. I wish they could find a way to make them more convenient. Also, always having to carry a towel card was a bit of a pain but there are ways around it. The only other watch out is the staff trying to get you to go on a "tour" and offering you excrusions or upgrades to do so. This dies down on about day 3 but gets annoying.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 2, 2012
treated us like a king and a gueen

My last trip was to parta plata dm and i thought you could not be treated any better.well i was wrong.the people at moon palace treated my wife and i like we owned the place.with the $1500 crediit.the only think we took money out for was tipping and a water proof camera to use on the para sailing we did .(payed for with the room credit)the steak and lobster and champain dinner(payed for with the room credit) was fantastic.we did not have a single rude person on the whole trip..the only down side to the trip we only did 6 nights...if you go stay as long as you can!!


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: hasbrouck height nj
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 21, 2012
Wonderful Experience

To keep this short and sweet.... The people, food, and facilities were wonderful!! We were on our honeymoon and they made it very special for us.. There were plenty of tours and such to do but we never made it off the resort. We could have access the other Palace properties but once again, didn't make it. I highly recommend Moon Palace. I also recommend paying a little extra for pick up service... Only downer was the 6 hour lay over at miami airport.


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 25-34

April 11, 2016
Great resort, superb service

Pros: Very convenient to Cancun airport, excellent staff and service...very attentive, great food & variety, very clean resort, nice spa and golf amenities Cons: Far walk to room...the resort is very spread out (there are golf carts but not always around), couldn't get reservations at the restaurants that required them even though I had called before booking trip to be sure this wouldn't be an issue and was assured it wouldn't be), beach is full of seaweed (they do clean but it's still there), beds are extremely soft. Also, if you plan to use the resort credits be prepared to pay a 16% service fee out of your pocket.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44

July 30, 2010
Moon Palace - Worth every penny!

Really liked this property. The option of going to the different Palace properties was excellent. Palace owns so many different properties (and entertainment complexes) that they can offer very diverse packages at reasonable rates. I was very impressed. We had stayed at an IBEROSTAR Maya several years ago, and while the beach and wave pool were much better than the Moon Palace, the food and drink were not. We really enjoyed this property and will definitely be back.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Mitchell, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year