All

Mill Resort and Suites Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 21 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.4 out of 5
"great value for the price. Quiet, close to the beach without beachfront prices. Would definitely stay there again. Friendly staff." – ScubaLover46
18 out of 24 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
downtown Oranjestad island view from parasail

All Mill Resort and Suites Customer Reviews

1-10 of 21 reviews. Sort by
January 16, 2012
Great on a budget with no frills for sure

Resort was nice for a minimalistic hotel. The room was clean but the shower left something to be desired. Might be time for some new tiles and grout they just looked dingy and dirty. The bed was as hard as a rock and the room was cramped that you couldn't help but hit your shins on the corners of the bed while trying to get from one side of the room to the other. My husband left with some banged up legs... The restaurant was good with decent food and prices for lunch items. The frozen mudslides were GREAT at the bar. The beach portion of the Mill was a bit crowded with locals that could pay to rent chairs from the resort. The attendant was very nice...setting up your chairs in a spot that you picked out and then folding your beach towel into the chair so it would stay covered and not fly away, which was a nice touch. It was nice but we ended up spending more time at the pool. The pool was very nice and relaxing and clean. The pool/beach towels were good so I wouldn't bother packing your own from home. We wasted space in our luggage bringing ours and never used them. There was always someone to exchange your towels when you wanted a new one so that was a nice amenity. The staff was friendly and helpful even the late night staff when we asked where we could get something to eat at 3am, the security guard brought us over to the food window at the windmill nightclub... Overall a good hotel if you are looking for a bed and shower but not if you are looking for anything that is plush and luxury on your vacation.


33 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Halifax, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 10, 2015
Good Value and Loaction

We went to the Mill for our honeymoon the first week of August and we found it to be a nice and clean hotel in a great area of Aruba. There were way more pros than cons and we would recommend this hotel and would most likely stay there again. I didn't find that many of the reviews of this hotel were helpful or accurate, so here is our personal review of it: PROS: -VERY Affordable in comparison to other hotels in the area. The Mill was by far the cheapest out of all of the hotels at the time of our booking. It is in the best area of Aruba to stay for beach fun and local shopping and dining. The reason it is the cheapest is because it is not fancy or elaborate. But is IS clean, well-kept and everyone working there is so helpful and friendly. It is also not ON the beach, but the beach is across the street within a 5 minute walk. You can also access the pools and beaches of all of the other hotels on the strip....so there is really no reason to pay hundreds more per person when you have access to those hotels amenities. -Great location -Not too busy -Nice pool for kids and families -Good food at the restaurant -Nice bath-tub -Rental cars on-site -Concierge on site to help with excursions -Walking distance to all local shopping or food and CHEAP cab ride away CONS: -Room walls are thin...we heard a baby crying as if it were in our own room...and we are certain they would probably hear us. -Mostly families with children...not ideal for a romantic honeymoon...but not bad either. We were fine and had a lot of fun. Overall: Don't spend your money in aruba on a fancy resort. Stay somewhere like this and spend your money on excursions and food. The dine-around program was the best decision we have made!


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 25, 2011
The Mill - great value, great location!

I cannot say enough about the island of Aruba!!! If you ever get the opportunity to go, take it! Beautiful weather, gorgeous beaches, great shopping, incredible food, wonderful people! They do not call this "one happy island" for nothing. We did not run into a single resident who was not smiling, courteous, pleasant, and ready to help. I had read a number of reviews of this hotel that were less than complimentary - we did not have that experience at all. The room was always clean, although a bit on the chilly side - we had some A/C adjustment issues, but nothing to rant about, and certainly nothing I haven't run into at other hotels. One caution: if you stay at here, & want washcloths, bring your own!! No problem with towels, but no washcloths in sight. The staff were always smiling & pleasant, never surly. We didn't have any noise issues, unlike some reviewers, & there was music almost every night. The pool area is very pleasant, & is a great place to watch the antics of the resident iguanas and geckos! No worries about the water here. Aruba has one of the largest water treatment plants in the world. The water is very pure - better than I've had in many a US city. Food at the Mill is better than average, but just the single restaurant. Plenty of other restaurants nearby, however, in easy walking distance. If you're looking for glitz & luxury, you don't want to stay here; the Mill is a much smaller, quieter, unassuming place, with only 2 floors. If you're looking for total relaxation, away from the hubbub, yet close to everything, this is the place - a truly great value. Beach access is easy, albeit not right outside the door of the hotel. Leaving to come home was very difficult - and we'll be returning very soon! We can't wait!

downtown Oranjestad island view from parasail
18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis area, MN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 3, 2011

The Mill Resort in Aruba is on our list for places to return to! Upon arrival, the open air lobby and smiling faces were a great start to our mini vacation. The rooms were clean, inviting and in good repair. The staff was extremely accommodating. The pool area was nicer than those in the "high end" nearby mega-hotels and there were plenty of lounges available. The location was absolutely perfect: the beach was across the street and within a four minute walk we found more restaurants and entertainment of all varieties (from Senor Frogs to fine dining and everything in between) and for $2.60 you could travel roundtrip into town for shopping and dining on the public bus which was only a few minute ride. (As opposed to the $30 roundtrip taxi fare). If good service, great location and a welcoming room are the stuff good vacations are made of... this was definitely one! Thank you CheapCaribbean.com. Lin & Joel, NY


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Long Island, New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 8, 2011
Can't Beat the Price

We checked in for a Girl's Birthday Weekend at the Mills Resort on A Thursday afternoon. The lobby gives you a "welcome to vacation feel" and it opens to the bar and the pool area. We had ROH -Run of the House reservations and I was immediately upgraded to Junior Suite with a balcony. The room was great. The A/C was kind of loud but it worked and thats whats most important :) We ate breakfast a la carte every morning. Omelet, bacon or sausage, hashbrowns and toast $6! We also had a spa day (3) 1-hour massages and 30 minutes of reflexology $200! The beach was literally a 3 minute walk away across the street through the lobby of the Westin. And we caught a few cabs, but also the bus which is $2.30 round trip into downtown. Lots of restaurants near-by. It was a fantastic vacation! The hotel staff was ver accomodating and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Can't Beat the Price
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 7, 2011
Reasonable Aruba Option

I had a comfortable stay at that Mill Resort & Suites in Aruba. I stayed in a housekeeping unit with a small kitchen and dining room in one large room. The air conditioning was cranked up to a frigid temperature--a waste of electricity, but I was able to regulate it. The pool is excellent--warm silky water and, when I was there in late June, very quiet and serene. There is only one restaurant, and it is rather expensive; however the food and service are excellent. They have a featured meal every evening. I had a Mexican dinner that was delicious and authentic. The Mill also has a spa where I treated myself to an excellent facial. Cost was reasonable and service very good. One thing I discovered is the outrageous policy of how the 15% service charge is dispersed among the staff. I originally assumed I didn't need to tip much because of that service charge on food, spa services, etc. However, I learned that only about 3% goes to the employees and about 5% goes to Aruba taxes and the rest goes to the resort management!!! So the employees receive very little remuneration and that is dispersed among the 40 or so employees. The front desk service was, for me, perfunctory and lacking in enthusiasm. I did not feel very welcomed. As well, the travel information and arrangement bureau, although efficient, was not truthful with me. I took a jeep tour for which I was told I would not be exposed to off-road travelling. In truth, much of it was off-road over extremely rocky terrain. Uncomfortable in the extreme. I discovered later that the locals call this tour "Shake and Bake!" Indeed! The resort is remodeling, so I wouldn't be surprised if rates will rise. In general Aruba is a place to gamble. If you like that, fine; if not, it might not be your cup of tea. Beaches are beautiful, but crowded. The highlight for me was snorkeling and swimming among the tropical fish in the warm Caribbean waters.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Las Cruces, NM
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 19, 2011
AWFUL experience at The Mills, Aruba

Our room faced the dumpsters, might or well have no window/door. I would have rather had been in a room with no outside viewing. The place is run down. The walk to the beach is 15mins. The bbq food buffet was only chicken, sausage, plantains and flan. That's not a buffet. Super over priced! One the 3 morning we woke up and found over 100 termite flies all over the room! It was awful. So after much hassle we got a room change. Cheapcaribbean should never do business with a place like this, there was nothing peaceful about this experience and it ruined our entire trip.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: North Jersey, NJ
Age: 25-34

August 7, 2010
Really Good Hotel

I stood at the mill resort last year and I must say although its not an all inclusive hotel the rooms were very nice with a kitchen in it etc. all other hotels were near by accessable to all casinos the beach was incredible the staff was excellent.


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 8, 2016
solid, no frills

great value for the price. Quiet, close to the beach without beachfront prices. Would definitely stay there again. Friendly staff.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 20, 2015
Honest

This resort should be closed until it is completely renovated from top to bottom. Plumbing needs upgrading, the knobs on the faucets are difficult to turn. New mattresses need to be purchased the ones now are hard and thin. Wi-fi service should be free somewhere in the resort if not in the room then at least in the lobby or pool area. The one restaurant is the only option and food options were mediocre at best. The pool area was decent. Guests should be informed that a night club is next door and the music is loud and goes on until at least 6 in the morning. The cleaning staff should use cleanser on the sinks and shower tiles.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year