All

Memories Splash Punta Cana Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 21 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.7 out of 5
"Julio is the Best!! Beach Massage was great! Diamond Club is totally worth it. We make an upgrade to the Royalton Hotel. Service was Wonderful !! But food not so good." – Zuva
18 out of 26 (69%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Memories Splash Punta Cana Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 21 reviews. Sort by
April 15, 2014
Great vacation

Memories Splash a great affordable, fun place to stay for families. Attached to this resort is Royalton. Seems more upscale but yet staying at Memories still able to use most of the amenities at Royalton. Great water park and the beach was perfect. Would definitely come back again. Caution travelers to Dominican in General, there is a $10/person fee just to go through the airport. Missed a day to go to "town" shopping because of a government strike but next day went for free via city transport with coupons off to their new shopping center.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 12, 2014
Not what we were expecting

When we arrived at memories splash it took an hour an a half to check-in, at this time NOTHING was explained to us about the resort. Upon arriving at our hotel room we did receive a call from our building manager who came to greet us and give us very little information about the resort. As we proceeded to dinner it started to storm so we used the umbrella from the hotel room, which was broken. We spoke to the manager about a new one... Which we never recived.... The food options on the memories splash side were terrible, it was food I wouldn't even expect my dogs to eat. However we had the option to go to the buffet at the royalton (which was included in the all inclusive pkg) this was our go to choice as the food was much better and again it was still included in our pkg. if we would've attended the other restaurants at the royalton we would have been charged. On another note don't be fooled by the amenities that are posted on the memories splash page as most of them reside at the royalton, to include the beach. The beach is segregated to 2 sides separating the different hotels... Not sure why it makes a difference when so much other stuff was shared. The rooms overall were ok for an international hotel room however our cleaning lady was far from up to par. She would get mad if we asked for anything or she hadn't got to clean our room by a specific time. And don't get in a rush or think your room will get cleaned in a timely fashion as we would have to extend our outings just to be sure we had clean towels to get ready in the evening. Not once while we were there was the floor, sink, or mirror cleaned; which made this below standard as we constantly had sand on our shoes. If you travel via Amstar the representative is at the royalton in the tour center (David) once we found him getting our excursanions and departure times was a breeze. However we asked several people including the front desk before we found out ourselves (by looking at a book in the social bar) that there was an actually rep Who could help us. Our overall experience was merely ok and for the amount of money spent that is unsatisfactory since all other reviews give this resort 5 stars. We won't be back again after the untimely and rude service we experience on our annual vacation. Good Luck and pay the extra money for a GREAT resort!


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 7, 2015
A-plus service

We recently travelled to Memories Splash in Punta Cana (there were 11 of us total in our group, ranging from 8 years old - 65 years old) and really enjoyed our trip. The resort was nice, we loved the pools with the swim-up bars and the entertainment team at the activity pool was amazing. The water park was awesome with 7 big water slides and a really fun wave pool. There were also smaller slides and a splash park for younger kids (none in our group used this part). The beach is at the sister resort (Royalton) which is just a 5 minute walk from Memories (or there is a tram you can take). The food was mediocre, some better than others. We found the room to be pretty comfortable (it was advertised by Cheap Caribbean as 2 queen beds but was actually 2 double beds). The A/C worked great. The resort was well laid out with everything being pretty easy to access from whichever building you were in. We were in building 6 and were very centrally located to everything. We went to several of the shows at the Royalton in the evenings and really enjoyed the Michael Jackson and Circus shows especially. What really made this vacation for us though was the service we received. Everyone we met at this resort was so nice and helpful, especially at the Selections buffet, the restaurants, and at the pool bars. And the activities staff were very fun and made sure we were all having a great time. The lifeguards at the water park were also very friendly and seemed to take their job seriously. The resort felt very safe, even for our children. We all had a great time!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: White Plains, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 17, 2015
Disappointed

The resort itself was very nice. The rooms were very nice and clean. The cleaning staff, the front desk personnel, and bartenders were excellent. The entertainment staff and general staff, not so much. Memories is joined to the Royalton Beach resort. What was not explained was that to get to the beach, you have to take a trolley ride (there was hardly ever a wait for the trolley) to the Royalton, but then you have to walk the length of the Royalton to get to the beach and that was not a short walk. Also the Staff at the Royalton in general are snobs. The beach is divided for the Royalton guests to be on a separate section of the beach away from the Memories guests. Memories guests are not allowed to use some of the facilities at the Royalton and all of the best entertainment is at the Royalton. If a Memories guest by mistake tries to enter a facility where they are not allowed, they are told in a very demeaning manner that they are not welcome there. Supposedly, in the near future the two facilities are to merge but that will not change the beach access. I spent most of my time at the pool, though crowded was very nice.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 3, 2015
Exceeded Expectations

Staff, service and amenities were great. Plenty of options and certainly plenty of friendly staff everywhere we went.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2016
You get what you pay for

This resort was OK, but we also paid about 1/2 of what we usually pay for an all inclusive. I understood that, but I don't understand the substandard quality of food in the specialty restaurants, the overwhelming liability of very slick floor surfaces throughout the resort including in the rooms, around the pools and on the sidewalks (very slick when wet and slick enough that you had to walk carefully when dry); the low level of service by many of the employees. I often interrupted employees who were on their phones and they were not happy to help me. I asked many times for washcloths and finally received them on our final night. . Many employees have NO working knowledge of English and while I admit I know even less Spanish, I was surprised by this fact. After I slipped outside our room on a very slick floor, I had speak to three different employees before one understood me enough to try to fix the problem... his solution? Put up a hazard cone that said "slippery floor". Water was finally cleaned up several hours earlier. My daughter also slipped and has most likely cracked her tailbone because of slippery floors not being taken care of immediately .. For this reason alone, I would not return to the resort. The food in the seafood restaurant was not edible for the most part, but the seafood we sampled from the buffets was above average. "Catch of the Day' in the specialty restaurant was salmon...not a warm water fish. One would think the "catch of the day" would be a local fish even in the a 1 star restaurant. If you want an all inclusive with decent amenities at a reasonable price, Memories Splash is OK. If you are looking for anything above a standard vacation stay, find another resort.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: NG
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 27, 2015
Family vacation

Is beautiful place , nice water park , good show , excellent services in the food area, beautiful beaches and nice kid club, but four of us get sick with diarrea for three day I don't know from what

Family vacation
4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 25, 2014
Great combo - Memories and Royalton Punta Cana

Being able to stay at Memories Splash Punta Cana and have use of all of its pools, restaurants and facilities AND have use of all the Royalton pools, facilities and restaurants (2 for an additional fee of $10 per adult oer restaurant) was amazing. Memories itself is a great resort for families. Breakfast was good, service was fantastic. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The Royalton is amazing! The pools were great, the food was fantastic and the nightly entertainment was really fun. Our room was nice, although we had to go back and insist on having a King size bed, as per our reservation, but I was really disappointed in the room's bathroom. It was filthy and desperately needed an upgrade. The taps were rusted and falling out of the wall, and the cleanliness was well below par. We were only there for 4 days and I just didn't want to spend my time complaining so we put up with it. Great resort when combined with the Royalton.

Great combo - Memories and Royalton Punta Cana Great combo - Memories and Royalton Punta Cana
3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Canada
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 20, 2016
Disappointed

We stayed from October 6 through October 13. I had a family of four with a 14-year-old and an 11-year-old daughter. My sisters family joined us the second day with a 12-year-old son. Before arriving we knew we wanted to upgrade to the diamond club based on previous reviews. You should know that the current lobby at memories splash is under construction so they have a makeshift one set up. Upon arrival we were told it would be $55 per person per night to upgrade with one child being free. With taxes and everything we paid $1155 in order to upgrade our family for seven nights. My suggestion would be not to upgrade until the second day. Since we got there later in the afternoon the upgrade really did not benefit us the first night. The upgrade comes with a butler which we really didn't use. It is also my understanding that you cannot make dinner reservations at any of the restaurants unless you were diamond club. The butler does all of this for you. You get a bottle of liquor with the upgrade, which we just packed in our luggage and brought home. There is a special beach and small pool at the Royalton, for those that are in the diamond club. We really enjoyed this area. The only issue we had was getting someone to bring us drinks or take our food order. There were other families on the beach that seems to be getting waited on hand and foot. Our family on the other hand, although we were tipping 1 to 3 dollars every time was not getting consistent service. When we would walk up to the bar no one would make Eye contact with you. We would stand there for a minute to three minutes before anybody even asked what we wanted. Keep in mind this is when nobody else was at the bar. They were busy talking amongst themselves or cleaning and would not address you until they were done with their conversation or cleaning. Even after they took your order they would then go back to talking to their coworkers while make your drink. And this was at the diamond bars! There were several servers that I would recommend and that I feel like did an amazing job if only they had more like them. Jordy at the Royalton, Ramon, Christan & Angel were great! They were so engaging and entertaining. They need to move Jordy to a pool bar! There was also this bartender at the memories "fun" pool bar that was AMAZING! Although I never got a drink from that bar my family did and He was just entertaining to watch. You can tell that he loves what he does. Also, the little guy that did the aerobics at the activities pool at MEMORIES was awesome! So entertaining. These people I just named need to be training all the other people. Nathil, at the bakery in the Royalton, on the other hand was just rude. I am not sure she knows how to smile at all. Unfortunately, this was our experience with most of the people there. It was like you were putting them out if you had a question or wanted to get a drink or any kind of other service that was being offered. Surprisingly, the language barrier was a real problem. We went to the Dominican four years ago during the last election, we stayed at Dreams and had amazing service! The language barrier was not an issue and the people were so kind and good. It seems the Dominican has become more tourist and the majority of the people working there just acted like they were there for a paycheck. The diamond pool bar at memories splash was a joke the bartender that was there while we were there had a very flat affect, did not make eye contact and barely acknowledged us even being there. This pool also had very little premium liquor which was a big disappointment, since we paid for an upgrade to have premium liquor. Another thing they don't tell you when you upgrade is that you can use special golf carts to take you from one resort to the other instead of waiting on the tram. We figured this out towards the end of our stay and took advantage of it. Also, there are vendors that were there on Monday or Tuesday. They were very very pushy. At one point they even grabbed my daughters arm and pulled her towards them to look at some items on the table. I quickly grabbed my daughters other arm and looked the gentleman in his eyes and said do not touch my daughter. This was only after I had already purchased two bracelets (twice the price as they were in the Royalton gift shop) from another one of the vendors out there. The kids loved the ducks even though we have a farm with ducks already. They enjoyed feeding them bread and the peacocks were awesome as well. While we were there they had baby peacocks. The food was fine and after eating at the buffet at memories the first morning then going over to the buffet at the Royalton just to look at it we decided to do any of our buffet meals at the Royalton. It was much nicer than the one over at memories. We feel they could've had more options for restaurants. We enjoyed the waterpark and spent several days going over there. You should know before you go that there is no alcohol allowed in the water park area. The wave pool was much smaller than I had expected but the kids loved it! We were in building seven facing the activities pool on the second floor, We were happy with this location. Our final issue was the day before we left when we went to get our departure time through our Cheap Caribbean representative. We had forgotten about our 930 appointment they told us to come to the day after we arrived still set up transport to return to the airport. So, I went over the day before we were to leave to get my sisters families and our families transport arranged to return to the airport. The lady was very very rude. She was unable to find our names and asked if we came to our appointment after we had arrived. I told her no and she gave me a look of irritation and basically scolded us. She told me we had to of come to that appointment in order to set up a return and she wasn't sure what she was going to do now in order to get us back to the airport the next day. She told me I would have to come back and talk to her later that afternoon. I returned four hours later at approximately 1430 and another representative was there with her. They were able to give us transport times which were one hour apart from each other. We asked if there was anyway we could ride to the airport together since we were family and we were told there was no room left on the bus. We were going to have to go separately to the airport an hour apart. The part that made my sister and I very angry was that both our buses were completely empty and the only people that were transported on each of our buses was our families! We feel this was done as punishment for not having come to that meeting after our arrival. There is no other explanation since we specifically asked if there was anyway we could travel together and they checked coming back to tell us that both of our buses were completely full and there was no room to add three people to our bus. I do recommend when you get off the bus upon returning to the airport that you allow someone to take your bags. They take you around past the line and take you right up to a representative. We did get him a small tip after he put our luggage up on the scale. This saved us time from waiting in line Check our luggage.

Disappointed Disappointed
3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Memphis, TN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 1, 2016
Everything was great!

We went with 5 families. We were a bit nervous of not being on the beach and at a water park. The water park is a short walk and no lines! The beach is really a 5 minute or so nice walk or a few minutes on a train ride. We really enjoyed every thing about this trip. We'd go back!


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashua, NH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year