All

Memories Grand Bahama Beach & Casino Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Grand Bahama Island Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 47 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.7 out of 5
"Great destination! We enjoyed our stay. Excellent service and friendly staff." – Sscar
45 out of 58 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Memories Grand Bahama Beach & Casino Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 47 reviews. Sort by
June 6, 2014
Ready to go back already

My husband and I just got back and we miss it already! We are pretty easy to please and just wanted some R&R. Highlights: -People were so nice - workers and visitors alike -Beach is beautiful and not a ton of seaweed -If you are specific about drink orders, they can be strong (I'm a lightweight so I got tipsy off 2) -Beans cafe - went everyday, sometimes multiple times for a latte, a danish or ice cream -Probably timing of trip but nowhere on the resort felt crowded - always got a spot on the beach, no lines in buffet -Morning yoga by the beach Additional things: -Overall food was OK. Have I had better? Yes. Everything was fine but nothing was really memorable. -Not the spot for anyone who wants lively, nightlife, loud music


32 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 25, 2015
Less Than Satisfied

Checked in at 3pm. No towels in room. Called. Two BATH towels (only) delivered hour later. Next day, they left ONE BATH towel. No hand towels, no wash cloths, no tub floor towel. Called. They brought one. Water in minibar not replaced 2nd day. Called. Got water. Shower flow very low. Called. Next day no change. Called. Went to front desk. By end of day no change. Went to front desk, told to return to room and wait max of 30 mins. No show. Called at 45 mins. Told he'll be there in 5 max. After 10 mins called again. Said 5 more. After 10 maintenance man showed up saying "that's GOOD flow!". OK. Fine, it's the island, not USA. Housekeeping staff friendly and courteous in hallway. Always say hello. Bar staff not so much. Mostly, not always, act like they can't be bothered any more when they had you your drink. No eye contact. Too busy yakking with fellow tenders or dancing to music. Beach/pool chairs are WORST. Go out there at 9am and you won't find one open chair at pool or beach. All "reserved" (wisely) by others getting there earlier and putting towel/belongings on it. What happens in the BUSY season? I talked to the front desk mgr about my problems. He was diligent and took notes. 95% is good, but last 5% leaves bad taste. Upon checkout they said "goodbye." That was it. No survey. No, "How was your stay?" No feedback. They need some. BTW, food was good and steakhouse was GREAT. Never made it to Japanese because you have to stand in a line of 30 people at 9am to make reservation. No thanks, I'm on vacation and I don't do lines! Bathroom was dated. Crackerd tiles, missing caulk, tub dribbled continuously, toilet handle had to be held down to flush. "Entertainment" was a bust. Not worth going to. I'm not a picky traveler. 3rd trip to "all inclusives" in Caribbean. I won't go back to Memories GB.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rural Wyoming
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2014
Great Value, Service and Atmosphere

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Memories in Grand Bahama! I read reviews mentioning that the staff was not friendly and other odd complaints and we absolutely did NOT experience this at all! We were greeted many times throughout the day, servers and bartenders were very accommodating and professional and always willing to help. The pool was very nice and well maintained as well as the beach and there was options to paddle board, kayak and listen to fun music while enjoying the day. Our room was fine. It was clean and had everything we needed. We had the basic room and it was fine considering the price. There is a lot to do at the resort and there are many food options. You are also a two minute walk for Port Lucayan Marketplace that has bars, shops and restaurants which is great. The food, for an all-inclusive was so-so. It was not bad by any means, there were many options and the steakhouse and Japanese restaurant were great, just not a lot of local fare or fresh seafood, but for the value of the all-inclusive, I was not disappointed. I will say some of the staff goes a bit overboard with the "orientation" invite, which is a time-share sales pitch, which gets a little old. Overall, for the price we paid I was very pleased with our stay. Keep in mind a tip, a smile and positive attitude go a long way. I almost did not book here after reading the reviews and glad we did not let them deter us.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 5, 2015
Celebrated our 10 year anniversary!

I booked Memories Beach and Casino Resort, Grand Bahama Island for my husband and I's 10 year anniversary. We are not frequent travelers therefore I looked into tons of reviews of this resort. I saw mostly positive with some negative. My husband and I were really pleased with our experience. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The service we received at the bars and restaurants was really great. The staff really seemed to like their jobs. We tipped everyone who served us, and they seemed very grateful but didn't seem to expect it. The room we had was private and quiet, we got much needed rest. The housekeeping did a great job of keeping our room cleaned up. I don't believe this to be a "5 star resort" but for us, it was perfect especially for the value. We loved the Prop Club. It is a bar and grill right on the beach, included in the resort. The windows and doors were opened, the sea breeze was blowing in, and it was a wonderful retreat from the sun. We had drinks and food while still enjoying the beach. I would definitely book another trip to this same resort.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Missouri
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2014
Not all it's cracked up to be.

We travel to the Caribbean twice a year and we will not be going back to this resort. Service was poor, most of the staff was not happy to be there. The room was spacious but the bathroom was rally tiny. Maid service was horrible, the same hair from someone precious was never cleaned behind our door. One day during 10am-4pm the chose to have a power outage! As for location and the view the resort was perfect.


29 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 29, 2015
treat for your eyes and tastebuds

we recently had a large group that stayed at memories. were all in agreement that the beach was stunning and the food was some of the best weve ever had at an all-inclusive. we had no problem with our room or towels but other people with our group did. not sure why getting towels in your room was such a problem for some and I think by not having a consistency with pool towel cards people were hoarding the beach towels. most of the staff was so above and beyond with service and friendliness it was a pleasure!! Not sure of the price difference but Sands beer would be so much better then the Kalick (?) on tap! You will not be sorry if you choose this resort there are a few kinks they need to work out but they truly are so minor in the big picture. DONT miss the steak house it was one of the best meals ive ever had worth standing in line for. this one had something for everyone in our group. wish I was there right now!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: white lake michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 21, 2016

Returned 1-12-16, 6 nights . Staff were courteous & friendly the entire stay. Resort was well maintained & very clean Beaches & bars were all great. 2nd year in a row .Lots of things to do across the street at the Port Lucayn Marketplace & Marina


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: n.c.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 14, 2015
getaway with mom

It is a nice, small resort with a casino- which is exactly what I was looking for. It isn't fancy. It isn't rundown. The food was good. Drinks were fantastic. Small problems with housekeeping and restocking the room. Also, never did receive a safe after asking twice. Our room was ready upon arrival, and we were hours early. Airport transportation was efficient, nice, and informative. Had a great 6 day trip with my mom.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2015
Good Value Good Food Good Time

The Memories Grand Bahama has a lot of little perks that you might pay for at other places: free wi-fi throughout the common spaces and rooms, premium liquors, and a surprisingly consistent quality in the food at the main buffet. You don't have to make reservations for the specialty restaurants except for Nagano (the Asian place) but you do have to stand in line in order to get in. We went to the H Steakhouse one of the specialty restaurants. Because the kitchen got slammed with orders upon opening, the wait from appetizer to entree for us was 90 minutes and the steak I ordered as medium was well done, and then some. A disappointment to say the least. On the plus side the Peking Duck at Selections (the buffet) the same night was very good along with everything else I ate there. I heard the anti-pasta bar at the Bela Italian place was quite good as well as the other menu items. But pastas and pizzas at Selections were also great and without the line to get in. If you are a fan of frozen concoctions, be sure to pack your own straws or spoons. I assume the lack of straws is an eco-friendly policy. If you think the water slide in the sugar mill (splash zone) looks fun - forget it. They closed the slide last year after some one got hurt. The rooms are smaller and older than some resorts, but in pretty good shape. Water pressure can be quite low in the showers and tend to run pretty hot in the West wing of the hotel. Thursday night is Seafood night at Selections was the highlight of our stay and very popular with the locals, too. WE met several couples that night who live in Freeport. Selections offered a local dish (or two) at each meal. Sweet and sour fish for breakfast was a favorite. The Prop Club is the place to go when you need MAX AC. Always cool and a nice pub menu. Views of he ocean from their decks. Entertainment crew run many activities through the day, choose your poolside chairs according to how much interaction you want with their activities. The closer to the pool bar you are the more involved you are likely to become. Seats on the beach go faster than poolside, but you might find a couple chairs there as late as 11:00AM. If you like Spicy drinks the Caribbean Ginger Cocktail at the social bar is quite good! Great bartenders and talented servers that stop in to mix a drink for a diner and sing along or dance with the music. I found the pool bar to be understaffed the couple of times I went there. The servers are all nice, but they do seem to have limited resources from silverware to glasses which can take then 15 minutes or more to get back to you with whatever was needed. If you don't see something, just ask the staff. Everyone from wait staff to housekeeping tries to make sure guests have what they need to make their visit enjoyable.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 28, 2015
Highly recommend honeymooners

Overall, wonderful experience at the Grand Bahamas Memories Resort! Check in was a bit busy and was given the wrong room and forgot to give us our wrist bands and beach towel card. However, was corrected. The food was awesome and lots of choices. The nightly shows were entertaining. Highly recommend doing the glass bottom boat tour. Had a complimentary couples massage and dinner for two in the gazbo. Had an amazing time would go back and recommend others.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Kimball, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year