All

Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Puerto Vallarta Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 42 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
3.5
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.5 out of 5
"Only 1 elevator was working. Maintenance kept making noise outside our toom. Had to go and complain during day so that we could sleep. They went back to work the next 2 days.... not happy" – tejana
31 out of 49 (63%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Dinner @ Vitrales Italian Restaurant View ferom room View from room lobby sunset Beach Wedding

All Melia Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta Customer Reviews

1-10 of 42 reviews. Sort by
July 31, 2010
Great Experience!!

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon, and it was amazing! In the notes section, I told them it was for our honeymoon, so when we got there, they had upgraded us to a beachfront suite (we had purchased the cheapest room), and had a complimentary bottle of champaign waiting for us, as well as the room and bed scattered with rose petals. The room was very clean, and the bathroom and shower were amazing - large and beautiful! All of the food we had was very good! The Italian restaurant that requires a reservation was not great, but it was decent. The best was the Mexican restaurant for dinner - AMAZING FOOD! The service was excellent, especially since the waiters were receiving no tips. They always offered to push my chair in for me and lay my napkin on my lap - I was spoiled! The all-inclusive drinks were also very good, they used medium- or high-quality alcohol, and never skimped on it. All of the staff was very friendly and would even remember your face and what you typically liked to drink. They really made an effort! The pool, which is supposed to be the largest in Puerto Vallarta wasn't that large, but it was big enough. It did get a little more crowded during the weekend, though. Everyday they had fun little games you could play for a chance to win prizes, and the shows they had every night were decent, especially for being free. The beach was beautiful, with the only downside being the people trying to sell things, but most of them were nice and wouldn't bug you too much if you said no. I highly recommend not buying from them, though, as their goods are usually over-priced. For shopping, go into town to the market. Never take the first offer, they always start high. The city of Puerto Vallarta is very pretty, especially the boardwalk along the beach. There are many art sculptures that are a lot of fun and very beautiful. If you do go into town, don't take the bus - it only costs about $10 for a taxi, and it is much quicker. Definitely make sure you pay for transportation to the hotel ahead of time, and in the airport, don't talk to anyone offering free rides. They will try to sell you something, and waste an entire day of your vacation.


28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bloomington, IN
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 13, 2016
Sept 3 through Sept 10th, 2016

Day 1 The first impression is the biggest and most important. Well not here... Check-in: "you are at the wrong hotel" Check-in: "you cannot upgrade, we are full" Concierge: "I need to speak with you both in order for you to get a map" Concierge: "no, you can't make reservations for dinner until 9 a.m. every morning (this gets even better later on) Concierge: "You need to go to front desk to get wifi codes" Front Desk: "You need to go to lobby shop to get wifi codes" Room smells musty and moldy. We eventually became desensitized to it after a day. The beds do not come with fitted sheets so get accustomed to your feet hitting the original mattress pad because you will move a lot in an uncomfortable bed all night. Bring your own pillows as these pillows wouldn't even be sold in a discount store. Day 2 Concierge: "Dinner reservations at 6:15 p.m. at LaPalapa" (sign outside of this restaurant states (Open 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.) Had buffet dinner again. Day 3 Front Desk: "The pool sticks and balls are by the pool table" after checking, they were wrong. Front Desk: "Please return pool sticks and balls when you are done." Concierge: "oh no Senior, no more reservations" (This is the norm response from them.) Day 4 No issues. Actually got to have a dinner reservation success and was pleasant. Day 5 Coffee shop states hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. We have learned that they stroll in around 8:30 a.m. All start times seem to be an approximate here. While attending the 8:30 a.m. coffee start, my girlfriend decided to wait to make reservations for dinner again (3rd time) at 9 a.m. After waiting for 25 minutes, got in line (2nd position). The concierge accused her of butting in line and told her to get to the back of the line. She was so upset that we never attempted to make reservations for the remainder of our stay. The buffet got old real quick. Letter on door stating our "loan" amount needs to be paid down for charging to our room. After spending 20 minutes with the front desk trying to apply some coupons and pay the amount down, was told the "Supervisor" said I could pay at the end and that no coupons were applied at this time. ugh... Day 6 Treadmill shuts down around 3.25 miles to 3.5 miles. This is the 2nd time this has happened. The other treadmill is unplugged and broken. Just part of the ritual at Melia. Day 7 Best day ever! I know I'm leaving tomorrow. Day 8 Anxiety running high because I have to deal with front desk. Believe it or not, it went smooth and I got my coupons deducted from my bill. I tipped her $5 and told her I really thought this was going to be difficult. Will I go back, definitely not. I can tell you that we did enjoy the physical layout of the resort along with the trees/plants and animals. The wellness center was the best part as the staff was so nice! The pool and the beach views were spectacular! Don't expect any great dinners as we only were able to make 2 reservations (only ate once) out of our entire stay. I'll admit we gave up on them around day 5...was tired of hearing "ohhhh noooo, Senior." I didn't feel welcome and it seemed as though the staff wasn't excited to be there, either. If you are choosing between this hotel and another one...and you love hotels that have great hospitality, this one doesn't have it. Hope this helps. FYI: The Chihuahua's expression in the photo I attached says it all.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2010
Like a cruise ship on land

Melia was a great place to spend a relaxing vacation last year (Nov 2009). The buffet and restaurants gave us enough variety while we were there. We ate well. The all-inclusive deal was great because it meant we need not leave the resort which was perfect for us because we had a 3-year-old in tow. We did spend one day going to town on the bus. Riding the bus turned out to be very economical and easy with a bus stop close to the hotel. Also across the street on the side where the boat slips are, there are many shops & places to check out. They are easy to miss because from the street it doesn't look like there is anything there except condominiums. There was a good dive shop within walking distance down the street where I could go for a day of diving. My wife checked out the spa next door which was a little more economical than the one on the resort. We didn't see much of the shows due to our toddler so I can't comment on the entertainment. Staff were generally friendly. They tried to interest us in the vacation club or whatever they call it but were still friendly when we refused. Pools were very nice. Plenty of shallow areas for small kids. We didn't spend much time on the beach.

Beach Wedding Dinner @ Vitrales Italian Restaurant
11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2015
Week In Paradise!

The Melia Puerto Vallarta was far more than expected. The property was absolutely lovely. The service exceptional and staff well trained and knowledgeable about their product and the area....very helpful. The food in th buffet area was very acceptable, however, the private restaurants were outstanding. Suggest everyone make reservations as the food was very good, plating was definitely artful and very tasteful. We were very pleased with the entire venue and would suggest it to friends. We also plan on returning.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Largo, Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2016
Worse Vacation to Mexico

I was extremely disappointed in the service at Melia In P V have stayed at over a dozen resorts between Mexico and The Carribean and never have I ever felt so unwelcome normally while walking around the resort the staff would say hello not at Melia the staff would just walk by and totally ignore us this was to be a special vacation for my daughter and I before she gets married instead when we're trying to be anywhere but at that resort the buffet had very limited selection I will say even though they only had two restuarants they were quite good the waiter at the Italian restuarant name Teddy was nice and Sylvia at the omelet station was nice upon arrival the safe did not lock we had to wait in our room an hour while the fixed it we did not want to take our passports with us yet we didn't want to just leave them in the room so we waited when we went to get towels for the beach the girl was putting on mascara and sighed like we were interrupting her the elevavator was out two days and we were on the six floor only other option was the service elevator on other side of the building the resort itself was nice and room were nice but the staff was not friendly most of the guest appeared to be from other parts of Mexico so we as Americans were truly outsiders lastly I paid for transfers on the ride from the hotel to airport was in a little compact taxi with no air that an employee of Amstar put us in I spoke with Lisa in your office and still waiting for respond


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles ,ca
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 29, 2016
Never Again!!!

Would not recommend this resort!! Terrible service, never got enough towels, the elevators didn't work to some floors, the air conditioning couldn't keep up with the hot weather. Only one restaurant was open at a time. The best meal was breakfast. There was a very small beach. The main common meeting room was not air conditioned and no ceiling fans. Not worth the money!!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Midwest Usa
Age: 55-64

August 4, 2016

We had a great time staying at the Meila. the view from our room was amazing and we always had something to do. Traveling by taxi was easy and we were close to all our destinations. The only complaint I would have is the concierge. The one gentlemen was very rude, when we turned down the time share offer. He then said that all the reservations for dinner were full. The guys assisting you with cabs were extremely helpful, and so were the bartenders. La Papalya was our favorite restaurant. The staff definitely were the best around!!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lincoln Nebraska
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2013
Fabulous Family Getaway

We were at Melia Puerta Vallarta from March 9-13 and had a blast. The room was spacious and pretty quiet. There was a couple evenings when the property next door played their music really loud but it was usually turned off by 11. As it was Spring Break we felt that was very courteous. My only complaint about the room was that the mattress was extremely hard. My husband said he didn't notice so maybe I was a little more picky in that regard. We ate at 2 of the 3 restaraunts requiring reservations and enjoyed them both. There was no problem making reservations at all. We needed to change our reservation at one place and the concierge was very helpful in securing us a new one with no questions asked. Although she only went one day my 2 year old had a great time in the kids club and actually went back 2 days in a row just to say hi to girls that worked in there. She had a lot of fun playing on the playground in the Flintstone zone. We had a great time and wished we could stay longer...we are planning to return soon.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, Tx
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2011
Fun in the sun

The Melia was a great place for families. So many activities for kids and a great way for parents to relax. Awesome food and a beautiful pool area. Thanks again.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: BC Canada
Age: 25-34

November 18, 2013
Affordable for Families

Overwhelming smell of sewage at times when walking through the indoor/outdoor corridors and the rooms and shops had a potent smell of mildew. We've stayed at other tropical humid places that also smelled of mildew so maybe this is unavoidable ? We had to keep the sliding door open because of the smell and then got eaten alive by bugs. The pool was huge and clean but needed work since the last time we stayed, 4 yrs ago. The pool had MANY missing tiles. The have a swim bar and a waiter that serves you at poolside.The food was just ok, typical buffet food. Don't count on authentic Mexican dishes. There are nightly shows that are similar to cruise shows, but are outdoors so wear bug repellent.The drinks were endless and the service was GREAT!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year