All

Melia Vacation Club Cozumel Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 51 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.9 out of 5
"This was our 7th stay at the Melia and it is without a doubt the best resort on the island hands down." – phillipjohnpassiton
42 out of 56 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Outside pool area Feeding fish down the beach from Melia sunsets Our room Where I want to be see the water color.... Sunset on the beach at Melia not the greatest beach.... the wildlife

All Melia Vacation Club Cozumel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 51 reviews. Sort by
July 30, 2010
Well worth the trip.

This resort was perfect for what my new bride and I were looking for. It was low key and not a night life spot. All of the employees were more than willing to help you with any matter. The water right off the beach was a little murky, but a mere 2 minute walk provided clear water, fish and coral. The food was great and the drinks were strong. Nightly piano entertainment during happy hour was the perfect way to set the mood for most evenings there. If you are looking for a low key resort where you can relax by a quiet beach than this place is for you.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2011
A bit of Paradise

My husband and I recently took advantage of the amazing deal offered for the all-inclusive Melia Cozumel vacation and had an amazing time! It was even better than we expected. Of course you can read the negative reviews and get worried, but if you are happy to get away at a fair price, this place is wonderful. We met people that have been going every year for the last 12 years, and we plan to be repeat customers as well! The resort is gorgeous, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the drinks are amazing (try a dirty monkey:)), and overall it was a great time. I read reviews of the rooms being damp and musty, and they are to an extent, only because it is really hot outside and the air conditioning has to work so hard! If you want your swim suit to dry out, sit it on your balcony. And my honest opinion, I didn't go there to spend time in my room...so I could really care less about that. They are clean and the bathrooms are gorgeous! I spent all of about 1 hour awake in the room and it was perfect. I came to Melia to experience the beach and atmosphere, not hang out in a room! The snack bar has the greatest burgers I've ever had! Chips and guac...YUM! The breakfast was always outstanding! Sometimes dinner options weren't exactly what I would want to eat, but it was always good and filling! Just left more drinking room I guess! Very family friendly, but also perfect for the couples that want to relax. Melia is very laid back and quiet during the day, perfect to relax. Take advantage of what they offer and you will love it as we did!!


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lafayette, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 4, 2015
Will definitley return here

We stayed 5 days at the Melia in Cozumel. It was one of the best vacations we have been on and we travel often so I can say that with assurance. The Melia is small but beautiful. They had 3 restuarants but we only went to 2. Their Buffett was absolutely delicious every single night. They had a chef that would prepare steak, chicken, pork chops, salmon, scallops, etc on the grill at your request with both lunch and dinner. Their beach lunch menu was more than great with the nachos and other good options. The service was amongst the best I've experienced. Someone waiting on you even at the buffet which I am not accustomed to. Their kids pool looked like a delight although my kiddos did not come on this trip. They also had an adults only pool with swim up bar and again, always exceptional service. Cozumel was an absolute blast and I recommend renting a jeep and taking in the island. Driving here is the easiest of any island I've been too and the locals are as friendly as those at the resort. We will absolutely return to Cozumel and the Melia.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2016
A good deal

My wife and I went for our anniversary and we were pleasantly pleased with the Melia resort. It is a very family oriented resort. The staff and the cleanliness should get a 5 star rating. Our room was big enough and very clean and had a hot tub on the oceanfront porch. The resort is very laid back and relaxing. You don't have to go out at six in the morning to reserve your beach chair. I would go again especially if I had young children or grandchildren. The poolside bartender William is creative and funny. All most all good. The only negatives could just be my personal opinion. I like cold airconditioning and they just didn't seem to have it. Not in our room or the nice dining room. The food was alright. It was good but not great. That was just our opinion. I give the overall resort experience a 3.8 stars the staff 5 stars Cleanliness 5 stars Food 2 stars Beach 2 stars Pool 5 stars

Where I want to be the wildlife
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 7, 2011
Melia was Wonderful

Wonderful staff, food, beach, and snorkeling (when you walk a ways down the beach and let the current take you back to the Melia). My husband and I stayed at the Melia for our Honeymoon and loved it! There was so much to do in town and at the resort (entertainment at night through the resort was so fun). The all inclusive was wonderful, its the way to go and well worth it. If we go back to Cozumel we will stay at the Melia!!

Sunset on the beach at Melia Feeding fish down the beach from Melia
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2014
not too happy

My husband and I have stayed at all inclusive resorts in Cozumel, Cancun, and Jamaica. So far, Melia has been disappointing. While the staff is friendly for the most part, there is no outside wait service, unlike their neighboring resort, el cozumeleno, where we stayed last year for pretty much the same price! We had to switch rooms the first day because the room they had us in reeked is smoke smell. The food is not impressive.. Just something to keep the hunger away.. Drinks are fine. We made a massage appt, which they forgot! At least once they got started, the massage itself was good. The lobby is warm with no air circulation! It's tolerable at night though, when the lobby bar opens, and wi-fi is free in the lobby. We regret not returning to el cozumeleno. Will not recommend to a friend.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2014
good deal great beach

after arrival we only had one problem our room was above AC units and the noise was unbearable. the staff did a vey good with giving options we upgraded for a reasonable cost and the new room was terrific. ocean view very nice, I would give this resort a solid 7 and we would go back. Note: be aware Melia does try to sell memberships, this is the new catchword for timeshare. simply say no.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: vancouver BC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 1, 2012
Disappointed in Melia Cozumel

We visited Melia Cozumel from 6-17 thru 6-24 and we were pretty disappointed. The hotel refused to honor the upgrade we received from Cheap Carribbean when we arrived. The front desk people (exept for America) were rude and obnoxious. They must hate their jobs. Also, we could never get change for our bilg bills for taxi rides or tips. The beach was wide and had beautiful whote sand, but a lot of seaweed and therefore, the water was brown for most of the week. The food is only good if you like mess hall food. The grill was good, except birds live there and pooped in the soup andsalad whle we were there. The cafe Paradiso was a nice dinner place, but by our last evening, they were going to serve the same food for thethird night in a row. We ended up eating in town. Cozumel is a nice island; the people are really friendly and the shopping is wonderful! The Melia is a third rate hotel and they don't appreciate your business. Plusses are the location and the cleanliness of the room. That's about it.


9 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh,
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2015
THUMBS DOWN

Travel date: July 11th - 17th, 2015 THE GOOD: The staff was nice, helpful. Our room was clean, organized, comfortable, well taken care of. THE BAD & UGLY: When one decides to go on an island/caribbean vacation, one usually wants the basics to be met if nothing at else. How disappointing?! THE FOOD selection was horrible. I ate only not to starve. THE mixed DRINKS, alcoholic & non alcoholic, were disgusting. I don't know what kind of syrup they used but it they all have the after taste of the liquid grape tylenol. My friend asked the bartender to recommend a drink and that looked like anti-freeze and probably had the same taste, if only we knew. Better off drinking your liquor straight. THE BEACH! Uh...saddening. Murky, murky, murky! Seaweed overload! But, thanks to the neighboring resort for putting up that boarder because at least we could crash over there for some blue water beach swimming. THE POOL. The pool was small and......grimy. There was a yellowish oily film floating all around. We reported it to the front desk immediately! Not that they did anything about it. I don't know how they clean their pools, but they need a new procedure. The thought I was left with: Im never go back to this resort. Never. What a waste of money that I could have put towards booking with a different resort.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2011
Sorry to say......

Sorry to say was let down with this resort.Loved the people dislike the resort. Did'nt have all the extra's that are advertised for things to do.Diffentily not a place to take the kid's.North end of the island very windy and the beach area not the cleanest. The aea in the was is always covered by sea weed so the water looks like the mississippi river.Down the beach at the next resort totaly clear.But if your only planning on drinking by the pool and plan on going into town for the night life .... well then i guess it's ok.Personally i'd stay at the other place's we have stayed in cozumel before going here again. Unless i was giv'in a free trip there ,then maybe and only maybe would i go back there.For a 7 day stay.... i moved us out to anther resort after day 4.... ya another resort all 6 of us . But again the people working there ....GREAT folks !!!!!!!!!!

see the water color.... not the greatest beach....
7 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: IOWA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year