All

Melia Vacation Club Cozumel Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 36 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.7 out of 5
"This was our 7th stay at the Melia and it is without a doubt the best resort on the island hands down." – phillipjohnpassiton
29 out of 40 (72%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunset on the beach at Melia Where I want to be Outside pool area the wildlife not the greatest beach.... Our room Feeding fish down the beach from Melia see the water color....

All Melia Vacation Club Cozumel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 36 reviews. Sort by
July 30, 2010
Well worth the trip.

This resort was perfect for what my new bride and I were looking for. It was low key and not a night life spot. All of the employees were more than willing to help you with any matter. The water right off the beach was a little murky, but a mere 2 minute walk provided clear water, fish and coral. The food was great and the drinks were strong. Nightly piano entertainment during happy hour was the perfect way to set the mood for most evenings there. If you are looking for a low key resort where you can relax by a quiet beach than this place is for you.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 26, 2011
A bit of Paradise

My husband and I recently took advantage of the amazing deal offered for the all-inclusive Melia Cozumel vacation and had an amazing time! It was even better than we expected. Of course you can read the negative reviews and get worried, but if you are happy to get away at a fair price, this place is wonderful. We met people that have been going every year for the last 12 years, and we plan to be repeat customers as well! The resort is gorgeous, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the drinks are amazing (try a dirty monkey:)), and overall it was a great time. I read reviews of the rooms being damp and musty, and they are to an extent, only because it is really hot outside and the air conditioning has to work so hard! If you want your swim suit to dry out, sit it on your balcony. And my honest opinion, I didn't go there to spend time in my room...so I could really care less about that. They are clean and the bathrooms are gorgeous! I spent all of about 1 hour awake in the room and it was perfect. I came to Melia to experience the beach and atmosphere, not hang out in a room! The snack bar has the greatest burgers I've ever had! Chips and guac...YUM! The breakfast was always outstanding! Sometimes dinner options weren't exactly what I would want to eat, but it was always good and filling! Just left more drinking room I guess! Very family friendly, but also perfect for the couples that want to relax. Melia is very laid back and quiet during the day, perfect to relax. Take advantage of what they offer and you will love it as we did!!


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lafayette, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 4, 2015
Will definitley return here

We stayed 5 days at the Melia in Cozumel. It was one of the best vacations we have been on and we travel often so I can say that with assurance. The Melia is small but beautiful. They had 3 restuarants but we only went to 2. Their Buffett was absolutely delicious every single night. They had a chef that would prepare steak, chicken, pork chops, salmon, scallops, etc on the grill at your request with both lunch and dinner. Their beach lunch menu was more than great with the nachos and other good options. The service was amongst the best I've experienced. Someone waiting on you even at the buffet which I am not accustomed to. Their kids pool looked like a delight although my kiddos did not come on this trip. They also had an adults only pool with swim up bar and again, always exceptional service. Cozumel was an absolute blast and I recommend renting a jeep and taking in the island. Driving here is the easiest of any island I've been too and the locals are as friendly as those at the resort. We will absolutely return to Cozumel and the Melia.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2011
Melia was Wonderful

Wonderful staff, food, beach, and snorkeling (when you walk a ways down the beach and let the current take you back to the Melia). My husband and I stayed at the Melia for our Honeymoon and loved it! There was so much to do in town and at the resort (entertainment at night through the resort was so fun). The all inclusive was wonderful, its the way to go and well worth it. If we go back to Cozumel we will stay at the Melia!!

Sunset on the beach at Melia Feeding fish down the beach from Melia
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2015
THUMBS DOWN

Travel date: July 11th - 17th, 2015 THE GOOD: The staff was nice, helpful. Our room was clean, organized, comfortable, well taken care of. THE BAD & UGLY: When one decides to go on an island/caribbean vacation, one usually wants the basics to be met if nothing at else. How disappointing?! THE FOOD selection was horrible. I ate only not to starve. THE mixed DRINKS, alcoholic & non alcoholic, were disgusting. I don't know what kind of syrup they used but it they all have the after taste of the liquid grape tylenol. My friend asked the bartender to recommend a drink and that looked like anti-freeze and probably had the same taste, if only we knew. Better off drinking your liquor straight. THE BEACH! Uh...saddening. Murky, murky, murky! Seaweed overload! But, thanks to the neighboring resort for putting up that boarder because at least we could crash over there for some blue water beach swimming. THE POOL. The pool was small and......grimy. There was a yellowish oily film floating all around. We reported it to the front desk immediately! Not that they did anything about it. I don't know how they clean their pools, but they need a new procedure. The thought I was left with: Im never go back to this resort. Never. What a waste of money that I could have put towards booking with a different resort.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 1, 2012
Disappointed in Melia Cozumel

We visited Melia Cozumel from 6-17 thru 6-24 and we were pretty disappointed. The hotel refused to honor the upgrade we received from Cheap Carribbean when we arrived. The front desk people (exept for America) were rude and obnoxious. They must hate their jobs. Also, we could never get change for our bilg bills for taxi rides or tips. The beach was wide and had beautiful whote sand, but a lot of seaweed and therefore, the water was brown for most of the week. The food is only good if you like mess hall food. The grill was good, except birds live there and pooped in the soup andsalad whle we were there. The cafe Paradiso was a nice dinner place, but by our last evening, they were going to serve the same food for thethird night in a row. We ended up eating in town. Cozumel is a nice island; the people are really friendly and the shopping is wonderful! The Melia is a third rate hotel and they don't appreciate your business. Plusses are the location and the cleanliness of the room. That's about it.


9 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh,
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2014
not too happy

My husband and I have stayed at all inclusive resorts in Cozumel, Cancun, and Jamaica. So far, Melia has been disappointing. While the staff is friendly for the most part, there is no outside wait service, unlike their neighboring resort, el cozumeleno, where we stayed last year for pretty much the same price! We had to switch rooms the first day because the room they had us in reeked is smoke smell. The food is not impressive.. Just something to keep the hunger away.. Drinks are fine. We made a massage appt, which they forgot! At least once they got started, the massage itself was good. The lobby is warm with no air circulation! It's tolerable at night though, when the lobby bar opens, and wi-fi is free in the lobby. We regret not returning to el cozumeleno. Will not recommend to a friend.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 15, 2014
good deal great beach

after arrival we only had one problem our room was above AC units and the noise was unbearable. the staff did a vey good with giving options we upgraded for a reasonable cost and the new room was terrific. ocean view very nice, I would give this resort a solid 7 and we would go back. Note: be aware Melia does try to sell memberships, this is the new catchword for timeshare. simply say no.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: vancouver BC
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 21, 2015
You get what you pay for

I visited Melia 5/15-5/19 which, as I was told by staff, is the beginning of their slow season. When we arrived, they were at 30% capacity so there wasn't a lot of people around, which has it's pros and cons. There are a lot of discrepancies in the information listed here and I feel I need to set the record straight so others aren't misled as I was. We did not stay in the high rise building (ocean view), which houses the time shares and "upgraded" rooms. We stayed in the back part of the resort. The rooms were clean and nice enough however the horrible musty, damp and moldy smell was overwhelming. By the end of our first night, all my magazine pages were crumpled up and our sheets were damp to the touch. We also had ants in our bed. This was not a particularly humid day/evening either...in fact I could breathe better outside than in our room (I'm an asthmatic). We turned up the AC but that didn't work. I don't believe it was operating correctly. So at 3am I went down to the front desk and requested to be moved. They were very accommodating and we moved to a better room in the same building where the AC worked and it wasn't quite as musty. As other reviewers stated, the beds are very hard. As for the beach, like others stated, there is a lot of swamp grass that flows into Melia's beach, making it murky and uninviting. We walked down the beach past the pier and snorkeled there and it was beautiful. If it had been more clear at Melia's beach, we would've probably hung out there more but since it was murky, we spent most of our time at the adult pool, which was great. The drinks were awesome and strong! As for the food....the information states that this place has 3 restaurants plus a snack bar. La Isla buffet was in the air conditioned building for the first few days we were there. Although they don't run the AC cool enough for me, it was tolerable. The food was ok. The menu didn't follow the literature that was given to us upon arrival so some nights we chose to have the buffet because it was our understanding certain food would be served that night and then it wasn't. At that point it was too late to eat at Cafe Paraiso because you needed to make reservations earlier in the day to eat there. The one night we did eat at Cafe Paraiso, it was delicious and the best meal we had during our stay. No live piano music as stated in the info. The La Iguana Grill steakhouse restaurant didn't exist at night-not sure if this was because of low capacity or for another reason. This place was used only for the snack bar during the day. Food was very good but the birds that kept flying around everywhere were both disturbing and not up to par with health regulations. Not only did they fly very close to your head, land on all the tables and squawk loudly, they were also flying around the food prep area, which is very disturbing. All they'd have to do is install a few large overhead fans and it would take care of this issue plus create a nice breeze for the diners below. On the last 2 days we were there, the La Isla buffet moved over to the La Iguana snack bar area. It appears they were doing some repair on the La Isla building. I'm not sure if this happens every year during this time or just as needed for repairs but it definitely took a very large buffet and diminished it considerably and put it outdoors with the nasty birds and no AC. As for the entertainment....apparently the day after we arrived, their "theater" area closed down for the "slow" season and this is where the nightly Club Fantasia was held. I specifically picked Melia because of the on site club/nightlife features so we wouldn't have to spend money to go downtown for entertainment. The only entertainment I was aware of the whole time I was there was the first night's fire show. After that night, we'd look for the nightly entertainment that was listed on our brochures and couldn't find where it was. Even the front desk clerk told us it was going to be held in a certain area and it was not. My guess is that when the "slow" season begins, they cut their entertainment in half. I understand why they have to do this but please don't list it as a year long amenity when it isn't. Also the best air conditioned place in the whole resort was the lobby bar area. The AC wasn't turned on during the day...only in the evening but it was nice because that was the only place you could get free wifi. You could NOT get free wifi in your rooms as is stated on this website- it's $10/day. There were also no laptops available for public use as is also stated on this website. Bottom line is, we got a great deal on this vacation and, in turn, we got what we paid for....a beautiful, well cared for resort with ok rooms, ok food and limited nightly entertainment. If you don't want to spend a lot of money, want a fairly quiet subdued environment and really just care about good drinks and pool area, this is for you. If you want better quality food, rooms that don't smell and better entertainment, then you should probably pass on this one. On the plus side, the staff was very nice and informative. They wanted to make sure we were taken care of. If I do visit Melia again, I would choose to do so earlier in May so that I could take advantage of all the resort has to offer before changing into the slow season. Some words of advice....bring bug spray/repellent to use at night and bring your own insulated drink glasses-the bartenders will fill them up with your drink of choice and you'll get twice as much vs. the glasses they give to you.

You get what you pay for You get what you pay for
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Louisville, KY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2016
A good deal

My wife and I went for our anniversary and we were pleasantly pleased with the Melia resort. It is a very family oriented resort. The staff and the cleanliness should get a 5 star rating. Our room was big enough and very clean and had a hot tub on the oceanfront porch. The resort is very laid back and relaxing. You don't have to go out at six in the morning to reserve your beach chair. I would go again especially if I had young children or grandchildren. The poolside bartender William is creative and funny. All most all good. The only negatives could just be my personal opinion. I like cold airconditioning and they just didn't seem to have it. Not in our room or the nice dining room. The food was alright. It was good but not great. That was just our opinion. I give the overall resort experience a 3.8 stars the staff 5 stars Cleanliness 5 stars Food 2 stars Beach 2 stars Pool 5 stars

Where I want to be the wildlife
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year