All

Melia Nassau Beach Resort All-Inclusive Reviews

Caribbean | Bahamas - Nassau Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 494 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.8 out of 5
"Perfect for couples, older adults, and families. Perfect beaches, very relaxing. Very affordable, considering it's all you can eat and all you can drink. Pina Coladas and Daiquiris are noteworthy!" – KeKi
395 out of 556 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from Deluxe Pool View room This was outside the hotel at the pool and beach Sunrise from the Melia loved the fun in the sun Panoramic of beach Beautiful beaches Ardastra Zoo View from our room Sunrise from our balcony View from my Hotel room, poolside Quieter beach side Relaxing all day long loved the food Children playing in the clear turquoise waters. Downtown The gorgeous beach! Beautiful beach Our view from the balcony View from the room Girls off to their next sea adventure Sunrise Beautiful AM view View from Room view from our balcony View from my room View From Room Patio My balcony view chillin View from room View from our room The Buffet View from our balcony Tropical Rainbow View from our room. Panoramic of resort from beach Picture of the resort view from room Down the Beach Laying by one of the 5 pools to choose from Pool view Resort View from Water Wading pool Kayaking at Melia Super clear water. Cheers to Paradise! View from room beach view leanin after chillin Stavida bar at Melia We had a great time in the Bahamas! pool Relax Right up to the bar Room with a view A view form the room 736 View by day One of the lovely pools!

All Melia Nassau Beach Resort All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 494 reviews. Sort by
June 30, 2012
Worth Every Penny!

This vacation package was an excellent value - the Sheraton all-inclusive option is the way to go! The hotel was beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfortable (though not luxurious), the view from our 9th floor balcony overlooking the pools and the ocean was astounding, the service was EXCEPTIONAL, the staff was very friendly and eager to help and serve, any issues (and there were very few) were handled in a timely manner, the food was delicious and they offered a great selection ranging from healthy choices for the diet-conscious to indulgent choices for those that need to satisfy that sweet craving! The pools were spectacular; LOVE the swim bar! Alcoholic drinks are included in the all-inclusive plan and they are plentiful and STRONG! We were not disappointed with anything. The hotel is within a reasonable driving distance from the center hubbub of the town, and there is bus service available for only $1.25 per person. The locals enjoy visitors and are very friendly - eager to stop and talk. This vacation was everything I expected and more - I would definitely recommend this to a friend! Tip: It is worth planning/booking any excursions you'd like ahead of time - you will save money - waiting until you get there to plan an excursion does cost more.

Worth Every Penny! Worth Every Penny!
117 of 125 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: New England area
Age: 35-44

January 27, 2016
Very Poor Customer Service, just average

I'll keep this simple and write a list of pros and cons about Melia in Bahamas: Pros: close ride to and from airport near Atlantis & other resorts where you can buy day passes Free, descent wi-fi Starbucks on site beautiful beach plenty of beach chairs nice outdoor bar Cons: No customer service whatsoever the so-called "6 or 7 restaurants" on site were all booked solid upon arrival we were able to get one reservation at 830 at night...when we got there we weren't seated for another 30 minutes and food didm't arrive till about 1030 pm It was WINDY one day...they closed all outside bars and the one outdoor restaurant- when a guest asked if a server could serve the 20 of us drinks in the hot tub- their reply was "no they could catch a cold" no thermostat in room 70% of the time no one answers the operator line on the telephone to get information or any customer service you get a bracelet on arrival- if it is lost or stolen or breaks there is a $250 fine there are disclaimers on just about everything of what they can and will charge you for yes it is "all-inclusive" but on the menus at every restaurant is a section of what isn't included in the all-inclusive...and of course it is way better than anything else on the menu one of the restaurants is not part of the all-inclusive all bars are stocked very differently- you can get one type of drink at one bar and at another, they don't "carry that drink" you are allowed only one drink at a time...so if you decide to get out of the hot tub to get a drink for yourself and others b/c the staff will not go outside due to the wind- everyone needs to get out to get their own drink you are allowed ONE TOWEL and ONE TOWEL ONLY at all times..you get issued a towel card and have to turn it in when you get a towel.....but the towel station has very odd hours and most often you have to go back to your room with a wet towel and need to return it to this towel station in the morning to get another one property is outdated- 80% of the female public bathrooms do not lock at all so be prepared to be walked in on the main buffet (the only place that you can eat unless you book dinner reservations months in advance to your arrival date) has several missing lightbulbs/broken lightbulb and is not aesthetically pleasing At this buffet, if you would like something made for you at the smoothie station or ice cream station, there is usually no one there working it ...staff will let you stand there for 20 minutes and then when you ask if someone is working there you are met with an attitude in fact, one night a customer was so annoyed, he went back behind the kitchen and served everyone ice cream himself....in coffee cups b/c he couldn't find any bowls or anything to put them in e-mailed resort beforehand inquiring about meeting with an event planner to possibly to a destination wedding here- got no response (blessing in disguise)- upon arriving, was given an incorrect phone number of whoever is in charge of events- name didn't match the name given on voicemail, no one answered- no response...again, this was all upon arrival, after learning about the resort I would NEVER want to have a wedding here paid extra in advance to upgrade to the highest level room they have to offer- and it was average...again, freezing cold and no thermostat makes me wonder what their basic room is like I have traveled to many all-inclusive resorts...multiple ones in Antigua, St. Lucia, Dominican, Bahamas, etc and this was hands down the worst customer service I have experienced on a vacation Yes, the price is right- but that is for a reason..you are sacrificing any type of customer service whatsoever


36 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2012
Good Value

We went to Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort All Inclusive From July 11-15 and had a great time. The hotel is old and definitely needs some updating. The room was very clean with a nice view of the resort and beach. A little musty smelling but all beach resorts have some of that. The beds were not comfortable at all, hard as a rock and sheets were like covering with newspaper. The people working at the resort were over the top nice to us at all times. The food was good but only 3 choices to pick from with the all inclusive. Did an excursion to Sandy Toe Island, had a great time. The beach was very nice there, snorkeling was pretty good, thought we would see more fish, but not so many. People there were very nice too.We went into town on the 10 bus a couple times, had a blast at Senior Frogs. Did a horse and buggy ride around town which was fun. Over all I would recommend this resort to others, but very expensive if you don't go all inclusive.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Lancaster, NY
Age: 45-54

December 15, 2015
Best All Inclusive Enjoyed So Far

Better than the 2 Sandals I've been to!! Room view was amazing, and resort was not crowded. Stayed for 7 nights with my girlfriend! Felt very comfortable and service was great at times, and others was good enough. I felt I was one of the few who tipped which was greatly appreciated. Room was similar to any Hyatt resort. To note - all the airline crews appear to be staying here too, so it is the best around. All food was great, and breakfast omelets were made to order. Wifi was everywhere and down to the water so that was great for work connectivity. Spend most of the trip at pool, on beach or in room. Only downfall I saw was music was a tad loud in the lobby lounge, lack of water service at meals (continually having to ask) I don't think patrons want unique food choices at their buffet restaurant - mutton or lamb. Note - all restaurants were great !! Great for couples, families with kids and anyone who doesn't want to deal with the pain of travel and cost of food/accomodations in Hawaii, Miami, other locations and food and water was very safe. Glad I didn't go to Mexico, Punta cana and better than Jamaica which I loved. Melia did a better job than I expected, as I had stayed at their mexico resorts. Recommend getting the premium liquor package if you really want to party. Also, beach is the best, and I would much rather stay here than the Paradise Island resorts as they felt like Las Vegas to me. Recommend taking the $1 bus to town and exploring on your own during day. Walked everywhere there... Have a great trip!


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 7, 2015
Great Resort at a Great Price

I just returned from the Malia Nassau Beach Resort yesterday (12/4/15). This is the best all inclusive resort I have been to. The beach is spectacular as well as the pool. There are plenty of chaise lounges on the beach as well as by the pool. No matter what time if the day you go you'will always find a good spot. The room was very nice. It was clean and seemed to be newly renovated. Had a great ocean view with balcony. The food was good. The buffet had a great selection and was spotless. My favorite place to eat was the Tapas Lounge. All the help were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The Guest Relations Manager, Ashjuan wanted to make sure you didn't have any problems or concerns. This was one of my best vacations.

View from our room Buffet
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Staten Island, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2011
SHERATON NASSAU

The resort was absolutely beautiful. Very scenic. The grounds people kept the resort looking beautiful all the time. The lobby, resteraunts, clubs, and casino were always clean and well kept up. My kids enjoyed the resort immensly, as did I. The beach was kept up, and very clean. The only BAD things I can say about our trip was this. The swim up bar was not serviced to the satisfaction of the guests. You had to constantly CALL OUT to the bartenders to get them to come down to wait on you. They were more interested in chatting among themselves than to wait on their guests. The people of the Bahamas were not friendly enough for My taste. You had to force a conversation in order to engage a conversation with them. Other places I have visited, the natives came to you to say hi, or introduce themselves. I didn't get that WARMTH from the Bahamanina people. Other than those 2 complaints, the visit was very enjoyable. Thank you CheapCaribbean.


155 of 188 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Levittown, Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2013
Sheraton Cable Beach Non-Inclusive

I have no idea why they would call this package an "all inclusive". The bartenders immediately tell you everything that is not included and you end up drinking horrible swill Bahamian beer. No Heineken or Corona in the all inclusive package. The buffet is absolutely worse than any college cafeteria in the world. The better restaurant was closed Tuesday evening with no explanation so I fasted. The only decent food is outside near the pool featuring burgers and sandwiches. Who wants to pay an extra 700 dollars to eat cheeseburgers for 3 days. Do yourself a favor and avoid the all inclusive package and you will be money ahead. Go to local restaurants and avoid the buffet. It is below sub prime.


65 of 76 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Westlake, OH
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 1, 2015
Relaxing Beach Vacation at Melia

My sister and I stayed at the Melia during the week of June 22nd. We booked through Cheap Caribbean and didn’t have any issues. You can tell that the resort is older but it was perfect for what we needed… a relaxing beach vacation. First, the beach area is huge! As others have mentioned, there are only 8 umbrellas on the beach unless you upgrade to the Level which had a roped off section with about 15 umbrellas. I woke up around 6:30am each morning to grab two seats under an umbrella and didn’t have any issues. If you don’t need shade, there are a ton of seats both at the beach and at the pool so you can find a lounge chair at any time during the day which is great. The swimming area at the beach is big. The main pool is busy because it has the swim up bar, but we used one of the other pools during the day and it was pretty quiet. We bought rafts at 5 Below and packed them in our suitcase which I highly recommend as they don’t have any floats at the resort. I’ve also seen in previous reviews that they only allow you to take one beach towel at a time. This is true and annoying! I’d recommend packing a beach towel if you like using more than one. The water sports were a fun addition to the day as well. We tried kayaking, paddle boarding and snorkeling. You can snorkel right off the beach and see a few neat fish and the occasional sea turtle during high tide, but I’d recommend doing an offsite snorkel tour to see more sea life. In terms of food and drinks, we made dinner reservations for each night upon our arrival and didn’t have any issues with availability. We ate at the Aqua, the Italian restaurant, the first night and were not impressed with the food. The second night, we ate at Cilantro, the Mexican restaurant, and ended up liking it so much that we switched our reservations around to go back. The strawberry margaritas and chocolate mousse were delicious! The wait staff was great, especially Harry who remembered us when we returned and made sure that we were taken care of. We also ate as Estavida, which was supposed to be tapas although it was more like appetizers. The food was very good and it’s a nice place to go for a quick bite or drinks if you have a late dinner reservation. We had lunch at O'Grille one day, which was surprisingly good considering they only serve burgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken sandwiches and Caesar salad. The buffet was fine for breakfast and lunch and we found all of the bartenders to be friendly and pleasant throughout our stay. Overall, we had a great trip and will definitely be returning to the Bahamas!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 27, 2016
Nice hotel good beach and pool areas

Nice hotel with good beach and pool areas. Modern lobby and dining / bar options which then seems to fall a little short as you head out down the halls / rooms! Room was spacious as is bathroom, but some redecoration / repair needed. Pool and Beach areas nice (even though we visited a week after the hurricane) comfy loungers and most of the time enough to go around - the weekend got pretty busy! Bar staff by the pool / beach friendly and quick service throughout the day, unlike a few problems we ran into inside the hotel with the lobby bar closing early and the tapas bar not opening in the interim leaving us unable to get a drink on an All Inclusive Package! Dining options good although we were originally told we could only book each day and then missed out on visiting a restaurant as others booked days in advance - Over an hour wait for food in the Asian restaurant though, and that was just for sushi! Overall we had a nice stay, but the hotel could definitely make some adjustments to make it run a bit smoother. Wouldn't allow us to check in until 5pm, some not-so friendly staff, a few issues with minibar not being restocked and other small things that built up.


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: London
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 18, 2014
Worth the return

This was a girls trip 5 totaled, in our early to mid 30s. We traveled from 5/3-5/7. When I originally booked this trip I was told that this resort had just went under renovations, but after reading several reviews I learned that the Melia had just taken over what use to be the Sheraton, and renovations were underway. I was very skeptical about this resort after reading many reviews about the long checkin/checkout line, long wait for towels, all inclusive reciepts having to be signed and bracelets to be worn, bad customer service, and the wear and tear on the resort in general. However, I am glad to say that this resort was above my expectations. This is not a five star resort but easily a 3 1/2 to 4 star. Checkin: When we arrived there was approx four groups in front of us and three front desk clerks. I don't know how long we stood in line (approx 20 mins) as we were just excited to be in the bahamas, and glancing around the beautiful lobby was a great distraction. All inclusive: Yes we did have to sign a receipt after every meal or drink, but it was no big deal. I always made sure whatever drink I would order was included in the all inclusive. They also gave us these bracelets to wear to identify us as being all inclusive. We were told if we lost them it would be a $200 fee. So we had to sleep in them, shower in them, and swim in them. It wasn't a tacky plastic bracelet so I didn't mind. The drink option was good. However, we did get tired of the regular fruity drinks such as the bahamas mama or miami vice. *Try ordering a cable running, if you want something beside the normal fruity drinks.They had 3 restaurants, Indoor/Outdoor patio buffet, Indoor/Outdoor patio italian - dinner only upon reservation, and the outdoor grill. Breakfast was good, as they always had omeletes, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, deli meat and cheeses, potatoes, pancakes/french toast, and waffles. However, the breakfast did become redundit after 4 days. We ate lunch at the buffet once, which was good, and dinner once at Aqua which is the Italian restaurant. And we ate lunch twice at the outdoor grill. One night they had an outdoor bbq, that was great. We spent easily over $500 in food and drinks, so the all inclusive is worth it. The rooms: When we booked we asked for adjoining rooms on the higher floors. However, the closest rooms together they had was on the 4th floor, 2 doors over from each other. All rooms were pretty much an ocean view, however the rooms we were given 427/429, had a side building ocean view. One of the rooms weren't ready when we checked in at 1:30pm, so we were told to come back at 3:30. We later discovered that the second room had a king bed instead of two doubles. So we (3 girls) had to move to the 3 floor, which is the lobby floor. I was displeased at first because we was so far away from our other 2 friends however, our room was much better. Room 358 had garden, pool, and ocean view, larger balcony, and the room was in good condition overrall. Plus because we were near the lobby we had free wi-fi in our room. Customer Service: We had no problems at all. We didn't feel a need for everything to be rush like back home in Chicago. We were on vacation and felt that 10 mins was pretty good to wait to be seated or get drinks. At first we thought maybe we got good customer service was because we were five attractive women and most of the bartendars were guys, but we also received good customer service by the front desk clerks and waitresses who were mostly women. Complaints: My only complaints would be the towel service. We either never had any towels and had to wait several hours to receive them or we only had dry towels but no face towels. On the weekends is the worse, but the time the weekday rolled around we had plenty. Cons: There are safes in the rooms, no problem with thefts. Updated bathrooms, big enough for 2 people. 3 people fit comfortably in one room (Double beds big enough for 2 to share). Pool and beach was beautiful. I would definitely return to this resort in the future. I am sure this will be a 4 1/2 -5 star resort once the renovation is completed. Tips: Go to the fish fry, and eat at Oh Andros. The meal is about $30 but enough to feed 2 people. You can take the no 10 bus across the street from the resort which runs every 10 mins till 6pm for $1.50. This bus will also take you to the local market where you can do some shopping. Cabs are $15 for one person, and $3 for each additional person.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year