All

Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort All-Inclusive Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 19 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.8 out of 5
"Excellent hotel with fantastic customer service. We will be back!" – feather
15 out of 21 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Amazing Views Trunk Bay at St. John's View From Room Infinity Pool with view of ocean St. Thomas Our room view

All Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort All-Inclusive Customer Reviews

1-10 of 19 reviews. Sort by
June 20, 2013
Awesome Trip

We purchased the All-Inclusive and it was so worth it. I must say the food had to be the best that I have ever had on a Marriott Property. Awesome Steaks and Great Lobster made the trip. The wait staff was amazing, you never had to wait on anything. There are several options for dinning and live music almost every night. The rooms were comfortable and most of all cool. I must encourage if you plan on staying at this property and you plan on eating and drinking, it is a must to purchase the All-Inclusive. It will be the best money you ever spent.


65 of 65 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brandon, MS
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 8, 2015
Get what you pay for..

Overall the Marriott property is beautiful. Our room was booked with a king sized ocean view. Arrived to find they had us booked for a double oceanview. The receptionist kindly changed it but much to our surprise our oceanview was an oceanview which also overlooked the employee parking and trash compactor. We could see the port where cruise ships came in which was neat and the ships are incredibly quiet. The receptionist did not know what was included in the all inclusive. Dining...you can chooses between the different restaurants for specific meals. Once the server knows you are all inclusive they immediately bring bottled water instead of tap (which actually tastes better-the tap water), telling you get whatever you want-app, dinner, drinks, dessert, wine. They do this to up the bill so they get tipped more, which in turn costs you more! Also must specify no top shelf liquor as that is not included. They are very, very sneaky. Very kind...but sneaky as to getting more money out of you. The food, EH. Nothing to write home about. Nothing outstanding. If you want a GOOD meal, grab a taxi and go down to Red Hook. Check out XO Bistro-Delicious! There are also many bars there as well. When coming back grab a taxi but be sure it says Taxi on the roof. It should only cost $10! Don't get taken advantage of! The food at aqua terra is typically buffet style and is probably 2.5-3 stars out of 5. Ordered chocolate cake for dessert and received a pre-plated chocolate frosting something. Partially frown and far too sweet, definitely NOT cake. Chicken was way too salty. We ate at Coco Joes - good for pool munchies and drinks. Waitstaff spoke very broken English which made it difficult. Ordered Eggs Benedict for breakfast and my eggs were more like hard boiled eggs. Just not good. The pools and beaches are definitely what saves this resort. The beach is gorgeous but a hike to get to and from, but worth the walk. The pools, there are 3 plus the spa pool which you can only access if you use the spa. We had massages which were great and pedicures which were also great. The spa on its own is definitely a 4 out of 5. The resort is non smoking so if you're a smoker there are only 2 spots on the whole property.. Overall we had a nice time on a beautiful island but in the future will not be staying at the Marriott but will oat likely be staying at the Ritz.


66 of 67 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 18, 2016
Communication

Trip was booked in July. At the time, all amenities looked fabulous. However upon arrival we find out we were there in the "off season". Some amenities that were advertised were closed. Example no breakfast room service at Morning Star (where we stayed) and no breakfast served @ Coco Joe's which is located at Morning Star. Staff was reduced and there were long waits at Frenchman's Reef restaurants. We paid a lot of money and should have received the service for which we paid. All of this should have been communicated at the time of booking. A dream vacation, where one is waited on hand and foot wasn't exactly what this vacation was. DO's - Infinity pool (beautiful pool and view) but watch out for Iguanas; they will jump up after food and some will bite. Do NOT feed the iguanas. - Frenchman's resort ferries to town shopping (be prepared; you will spend money!) - The Red Hook ferry to St. John's (awesome beaches) - The Cat (dinner cruise and light show) - The spa and their private pool for the day - Food was good; try all restaurants - Waking up to the sound of the ocean and roosters for our alarm clock *****During off season we had the place pretty much to ourselves.

Infinity Pool with view of ocean Trunk Bay at St. John's
25 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kentucky
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 10, 2012
Vacation

We had a great vacation at the Frenchman Reef!!! We went with 3 other couples to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversaries. We could not of asked for more. The room, food & service were excellent! I would recommend this resort to anyone.


105 of 115 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 16, 2015
Not quite what we expected

The hotel was nice, however the all inclusive pack wasn't what we expected. There is only 1 place to eat breakfast, only 1 place to eat lunch and 2 places to eat dinner. The dinner menu at the outdoor restaurant was much better, however you had to endure the mosquitos eating your bare legs while you dined. The service was fair at best. The big sticking point with us was the restrictions on drinks. All inclusive ISN"T! We didn't find out until we checked in that the drink selections available to us were very limited. If you are beer drinker, they limit you to Bud, Bud Lite, Miller Lite or Coors Lite. If you drink mixed drinks, well drinks only. Captain Morgan isn't even on the list. If you want something good to drink, don't forget your checkbook. The drink prices are very high. The cost of a double, is what I pay for the entire bottle here in the US. The rooms are just basic everyday Marriott rooms. Hardly worth what we paid per day. They were clean, the A/C worked and the bed was uncomfortable. Great relaxing vacation. When we go back, we will be looking at other options and locations.


32 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NC
Age: 35-44

October 3, 2014
Disappointed

Heard so many great things about this hotel. We were disappointed. No balcony, no hooks in room for towels, bathing suits, ect. Poor lighting. No full length mirror. Staff was cold and aloof (NOT what we have encountered on our 8 other trips to St Thomas). For the $$$ we will not be staying here again. On a positive note, the hotel and grounds where very clean!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 10, 2015
All inclusive Fsmily Trip

We stayed from 8/3-8/7/15 We did the all inclusive option with a waterview room The Hotel was beautiful and the views were amazing! Our room had a view of the ocean with a nice balcony! The all inclusive option was well worth it and I recommend it! The hotel food and beverages were very pricey! We were able to eat 3 meals and had unlimited alcohol and non alcoholic beverages without worrying about the price! The food was outstanding and you had 2 choices of restaurants for each meal. The breakfast buffet was out of this world!! We had a party of 10 people and everyone loved the food ! Pros- beautiful views, pools and beach, all inclusive , great service Ferry available from hotel into town for small fee Spa was amazing! Pools have breath taking views Cons- no entertainment , difficult to get to beach a lot of steps to walk down to beach We can't wait to go back !!!

Our room view
30 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 6, 2012
Best resort on the island!

Great views, great staff, great food. Staff was always happy to help and answer any questions. Room was great, bed very comfortable. Food was excellent as were the drinks. The island is very expensive and the all-inclusive is a great option. Some ameneties and restaurant choices were limited due to the off-season.


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2014
Honeymoon

Things I liked about Marriott Frenchmen's Reef: The Inclusive package was worth it for us, which allowed us to dine at the 4 restaurants: Coco Joes, Auqaterra, Auquaterra Lounge & Seaside Grill. Inclusive package included 15% gratuity. We ended up spending $2200 for 6 days for food, drink and gratuity and we paid half that for the upgrade. The pool bar and the main pool were next to each other. The Morningstar beach was at the bottom of the cliff and it was private. The main hotel, pool overlooked the harbor of Charlotte Amalie. And also had access to excursions there, including the water taxi to downtown. Since the option for all inclusive was not necessary for the entire resort, it was nice that it didn't dilute the food or drinks since they have to cater to all. Things I didn't like or for others to consider: The rooms are older, we stayed in the main Island bldg, which was very convenient for access to amenities and staff. For example: our room didn't have a full length mirror. I recommend this; however, the Morningstar bungalows looked like if you get water view and there is a nice breeze. The inclusive package came with many caveats. Which is hard to keep up with since there is no identifier to staff; however, they were very accomodating. ex: You can have lunch at Seaside grill, but not dinner. Those kind of restrictions. Beer and wine restrictions. However, all the bartenders would just code it so that it worked for us. If you want to do off site excursions or island hop, you need to take a taxi to Red Hook, which is opposite side of the island. A >20minute taxi and usually $10 per person each way. Staff is not as friendly, unless its staff from the 50 states above. We checked in at 1 and were told our room wouldn't be ready until 4pm and were given a buzzer that never went off. Finally as we wrapped up a bill at the bar, our bartender told us a room was ready for us and this close to 5pm. And the front desk wasn't apologetic. After traveling by air and then having to make do for several hours lugging bags, it'd be nice to know when the room was ready. Overall, I still think pending time of year and what you're looking for...this is a good option. I think next time we'll try the Ritz; however, since there is no savings on food anywhere on the island...the inclusive package was ideal for us. We went during off season, so the amount of people and families were minimal.


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Arlington, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 2, 2013
Would Do It Again (minus American Airlines)

The trip was amazing. We traveled from Seattle to St. Thomas, all inclusive. The all inclusive was a little tricky at first as no one explained to us hot to use it. We tipped our cash for the first day and a half until a staff member told us they will bill us for the tips at the end of our stay. So we double tipped which is ok. The room was great, we only saw one giant flying roach on the last morning, thank goodness! The service is slow BUT that is Island Time so no worries. All in all the trip was fantastic. The major hiccup we had was American Airlines. We were delayed on EVERY flight by 1 to 5 hours, and that took a toll on us since we had such a long journey. Folks missed connecting flights on every delay but we ran and made it by the hairs of our chinney chin chin! I would definitely do it again MINUS American Airlines.

St. Thomas
15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 35-44